Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Generic Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Engineered for strength, the Ultra Frame Pool is supported by strong, durable steel frames, which are powder-coated for rust resistance and beauty. Triple strong, SUPER-TOUGH laminated sidewalls are reinforced with an all-around band to keep frame legs firmly in place. Your backyard will be the place to be all summer as your family can relax and play. Connect the Krystal Clear Cartridge Filter pump to enjoy clear, sparkling water. Equipped with the Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter, which is an added safety feature that shuts off the pump if electrical current is exposed to water. This Intex pool will hold 6,423 gallons at 90-percent capacity. Ready for water in 45 minutes — follow the instructional DVD for easy set up, and enjoy the fun!
Average Customer Rating:
4.265 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(535 Reviews) 489
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
335
4 stars
110
3 stars
31
2 stars
15
1 star
44
Customer Recommendation89%470 out of 530reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
157 Questions | 400 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
335
4 stars
110
3 stars
31
2 stars
15
1 star
44
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Excellent pool!

05/23/2014
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our second Intex Ultra Frame Pool. we had a 16' and loved it for 3 seasons before deciding to upgrade to a bigger one. We sold the 16' and it was still in good shape. Never leaked or had a problem. We bought a entry system for ours and also got the sand filter pump and krystal clean salt water system. Cant say enough about it, no chemicals needed, keeps the water great. We love it. I highly recommend these pools.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
New Milford, CT
entry system?
Posted 06/18/2014
interested in an entry system, which did you choose?
0points
Customer Avatar
virginia
Question regarding your pool
Posted 06/05/2014
Hi! Looks like you may have used well water to fill up your pool.
Did you have any problem with it turning brown/red from the saltwater system?
Just wondering, because when we used the regular chlorine system, ours turned
red/brown and we had a hard long road to get it out. I think it was iron.
So we have bought a new pool since then, and will use the saltwater like you,
but just wondering if we may run into the same problem?
Thanks! Enjoy your pool!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

great pool

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
would absolutely recommend this to any one wanting a cheaper alternative to those expensive pool options took no time to set up leveling took the longest the only thing is to make sure your legs have something under them because you will have to relevel once they get wet and will start to sink I will have to do this in the winter but overall wonderful pool kids love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Our 18 foot round intex pool

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love it
It is just what we hoped for
It came with the under Matt
The top cover the vaccume
It was so easy to it together
We also changed from chlorine
To the salt generator
We love it
Less work and lot less economical
Love it
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Easy and Durable and overall a good value!

06/14/2012
By ,
Hamilton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had my landscaper level and sand the ground before I started, a LEVEL ground is the KEY! I would also recommend a liner pad too, a Gorilla or Elephant pad, it prevents rocks and other debris from the poking the bottom, plus its a good outline where the pool will be set up.
It set this up with the help of my 5 year old daughter, it took about an hour and half. Easy! Watch the videos first, they did provide nice little tips.
The pool is self is made of excellent material. The liner and framer 5 out of 5! The filter/pump is a 3 out of 5, I will be upgrading to an Intex 2650 Sand Filter. The ladder provided is a 1 out of 5, good for kids but adults kind of shaky, I did not install it and purchased a ladder with a closing door. The skimmer is a 3.5 out of 5, I will be converting and installing a true side skimmer.
So, if you want a good value pool and frame this is it! The pump, skimmer, ladder, and vacuum all need to be upgraded if you want less maintenance. So instead of being a $500 pool and ready to go, it has been a $1000!
It is a fairly large pool, it does need the above mention upgrades to maintain it. Stll my opinion still a good value!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Port Richey, FL
ladder
Posted 06/20/2014
Where did u purchase the ladder?
0points
Customer Avatar
Louisiana
Where did you get your ladder with the door?
Posted 06/19/2012
I was trying to find a ladder like you show in your pic with the door, but don't see it anywhere. Can you tell me where you found yours? Also what is the weight limit on it? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Best Money I Spent

06/12/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best money i have spent on an item in a long time. The pool arrived earlier than expected which was great. After unpacking and checking the parts I found everything there, even a DVD on how to set the pool up. Setup was a breeze for two people, the design was simple but well built and I had the hose in the pool in 1 1/2 hrs. Next day I was swimming. I tell everyone how great I think the Intex Pool is. I highly recomend this pool to anyone looking for an above ground pool. Intex got it right.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

so much more than i expected

06/22/2014
By ,
suffolk county
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Expected delivery date was june 30, but on 6/21 I got the email to go pick up the pool. Went to walmart very helpful staff. In and out the store in minutes. On 6/22 started set up. U need 2 or more ppl to set up takes about an hour. Now filling up with water. Will probably take most of the night. Pool is very big very big great deal for $419. Choose optin. To pick up from store and u only pay tax no shipping or freight charge. Very very happy with this purchase. I am 5'8" tall and the top of pool is a little above my armpit. As for how durable, it feels like it will be but time will tell. The box is very heavy 2 men. It comes in a short fat box. I have a dodge durango and it fit in with ease and room to spare. Hope this info is helpful. It also came with a vac & cleaning poll thingy, which i do not recall being listed. It does come with filter, under liner, cover & ladder.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool
06/17/2013
By ,
Southeastern, Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our third Intex above ground pool. We started with the one that has the blow up ring, upgraded it to a metal framed 15x48 and after 4 summers & now older kids we upgraded to this Ultra Frame 18x48. This is the easiest of the three pools to put together even though it is the largest. My husband is extremely pleased with the sturdy frame and wonderful construction. It took him and my brother to put it up and together but is was very quick (less than 2 hours total). The only tip I have is to use spray on baby oil to help insert the legs into the white loops. This aided in the easy installation. We really liked the much better locking system in the railing because it isn't like the white clips from the 15x48 metal Intex pool we had. I have to say both pools we owned are in good shape and have been patched from wear and tear. My brother's kids are enjoying the 15x48 hand me down this summer. I only hope we will get even more use out of this new pool.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Great value

07/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price was excellent! I got the pool on walmart.com. It is exactly what we wanted for our yard--18 ft diameter. It was a little harder to set up than we had been told, but not too bad. It was done in one evening after my husband got home from work. Be sure to level the ground where the pool will be. We had a landscaper level ours, and it still is about 4 inches lower on one side. I don't know about durability yet. I have a concern that there is nothing protecting the plastic on the sides from the sun. There is a cover for the top, but no siding to go around the outer perimeter to keep the sun from eroding it. It came with a pump, a vacuum and a net. A ladder also came with the pool, but it is a cheap one. After researching better ladders, we found that they are quite expensive. Over all, we are very happy so far!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

great pool

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
set the pool up today and was very happy with quailty of the pool. set up time was about 1hr with 4 adults set up was easy and all parts are heavy duty. pool is alot bigger than i thought it would be, so far could'nt be happer with it glad i went with this pool. I put ground cloth down first to help prevent grass growing, then added about 2tons of sand to protect pool liner from rocks. pool came with ground tarp. Filling pool using garden hose going to take a couple of days at this rate.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Box damaged

07/05/2014
By ,
Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just received the pool on July 3rd and I haven't had the time to even finish opening the box. The reason I say finish opening the box is because the box was tore up when I received it. I had to take pics of the pool and file a complaint with the shipping company. I paid the delivery fee to have it shipped to my home. Of course the driver couldn't bring it all the way to my house. He said he didn't want to take a chance of not being able to turn around. I explain to him there are many drivers that do it all the time....We had to meet him in town. When we arrived the box was just laying in the back of the truck. It wasn't on no pallet or nothing. The truck wasn't equipped with any type of lift. So my husband and a friend had to unload it from the truck. The driver was a older guy and he wasn't able to help unload it. On my delivery paperwork it states pallets and lift gate delivery charge which this truck had neither of these.i was charged for these things. We are hoping we can start putting the pool up this weekend if the rain stops but living in Florida you never know. I really hope there is no damage to the pool...On the bright side the price for the pool was great!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Great Cooling Summer fun

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this pool two summers now and it's been worth the $400. We invested in a pool deck (5x5 platform with locking ladder). this makes a big difference in how much we've enjoyed the pool. The pool itself is so easy to setup that I did this myself multiple times (since I didn't have the location completely level on the first setup). I also invested in a saltwater pump, which is so easy to use and keeps the pool sparkling clear with no chemicals. In addition we got a gorilla pad to soften the ground under the pool.
the pool comes with everything out of the box, but you can upgrade different things over time.
we will not spend thousands on another above ground pool when this one seems very durable and easy to maintain.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Love it

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up. Perfect for a temp. Pool.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Highly Recommend

06/23/2013
By ,
Glennville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this pool 2 weeks ago. Set up by 2 adults took about 90 minutes. Two hoses running into it, took approximately 10 hours to fill. I cannot say enough about the quality of the metal railings and poles, the pool is extremely sturdy. Leveling the pool is essential. I will say, after the pool was full and I was walking around it, I noticed a very small hole. Following the directions and using the PVC glue, it was fixed in no time. I have a floating container for the chlorine/stabilizer tabs. At the base of the ladder I set a shallow container with water for people to wash their feet off before entering the pool. This has kept debris out of the pool. I run the pump approximately 5-6 hours a day and put the cover on each evening. The water remains sparkling and clear. I highly recommend this product. Our family is enjoying it very much.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Great pool for the price

05/26/2012
By ,
Newport AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The frame pieces slide together and are held together buy a plastic button that pops into a hole. Do yourself a favor and get some half inch self tapping sheet metal screws to fasten the top rail together as the button will shear off if the pool is even a little off level. Having to fill the pol twice is a real pain. The screws are cheap and will prevent a frame failure.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Love it

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family and friends love this pool
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Great Pool

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pool assembly was extremely easy. Great value for the price
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Great pool!

07/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up! Great size! Very steady.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

18' x 48" Ultra Frame Pool - HEAVEN

07/10/2012
By ,
Peaster, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought soft side pools in the past and decided this year I was going to invest in a larger more durable above ground pool. This one is by far MUCH better quality, beautiful and quite frankly, pure heaven! Unbelievably easy to set up. My husband laid out the pieces while I started putting them in place and I almost had it put together before he finished up and began helping me! I spend every moment I can in it when I am not working. The hardest part about setting up this pool was the 12 tons of river rock we had brought in to spread around it! But now we spend endless hours on our own private oasis. I could not be happier!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ultra frame pool
Posted 02/25/2014
I PURCHASE THE ULTRA FRAME POOL AND I REGRETTED IT, FROM THE FIRST DAY I FILL THE POOL WITH WATER IT LEAKED AND GOT WORSE I HAD TO DISMOUNT IT AND DISCARD IT. I HAD A METAL FRAME ONE IT WAS GREAT. BUT I DONATED THAT POOL FOR THE CHILDREN ON THE LOCAL SWIM TEAM, i DO NOT HAVE A POOL . I AM NOW LOOKING TO PURCHASE A METAL FRAME POOL FOR MY HOME, MY GRANDCHILDREN ENJOYS THAT POOL YEAR ROUND.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Only had it 2 weeks so not sure on durability yet.

07/02/2014
By ,
Gaston,SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and looks great. Seems well made and should last a long time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Intex 18' x 48" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool

Assemble it LEVEL!

04/12/2012
By ,
Fountain Inn, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing that kept me from giving this 5 stars across was the pool had a nickel-sized hole that I first noticed AFTER I unrolled it from the box onto the optional ground cover (just so you know I did not put the hole there by dragging it across the ground). I patched it using the included patch and it's holding up just fine.
We assembled it with no trouble after leaving it in sunlight for a couple of hours to loosen it up, making it easier to handle. VERY EASY. Once it was done, I couldn't seem to get the tarp to straighten up on the ground beneath it, so I just removed it from beneath the pool. It produced no new holes, though, as I have very smooth ground with zero debris.
I used an Intex pool in this very same spot a couple of times before and had no leveling issues like I did when I moved that same pool elsewhere in the yard and found them tilting a lot. So I knew the spot I was using was level. One thing I did not consider was how much bigger this pool is than those others. After spending nearly 24 hours filling it with water (call your local water company... they might give you a break for a one time pool filling :), I noticed it was full on one end and 5 inches from full on another end. Shoot! But I figured (hopefully not incorrectly!) that it wasn't that bad since it spans 18 feet. 2 days of swimming and it's still standing, though I admit the constant movement of the top of the hoop makes me nervous even though I know it's normal shaking. So I like it a lot and even if something goes wrong, it'll likely be my fault for it not being 100% level. Assuming it stays standing, when I put it together next time, I'll level the ground better.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+145points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
memphis
HELP !!!!!
Posted 06/10/2013
we bought this pool at the end of last season.. we also bought the saltwater system ( cs8110) everything was fine for about 2 weeks, then we started getting Low Flow messages on saltwater system.. We called intex, they said we had a faulty filter pump, and replaced it.. By then the season was over, so we set it about again this yr, with the new pump..It worked for 2 weeks, and now the same Low Flow warning.. Anyone else have this issue?? and advice to fix it??? is it possible the filter pump isn't large enough to run the saltwater system??
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 490 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next