Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

iPhone 5 features a 4" Retina display, thepowerful A6 chip, an 8-megapixel iSight camerawith panorama, ultrafast wireless, iOS 6, andiCloud. Yet it's the thinnest, lightest iPhone ever.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation84%16 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Outstanding

03/07/2013
By ,
Sheboygan, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this phone due to all the negative reviews listed below. I decided to ignore them and purchase it anyway, I'm so glad I did.
My phone arrived 4 days after ordering, I opened the package and found the Straight Talk activation instructions attached to the box. I decided to call Straight Talk to activate my phone and within 10 minutes I had purchased a phone plan and started the porting process for my current phone number. I was told it might take up to 2 days to complete the port process, but 20 minutes after hanging up with the representative I got the "service activated" alert on my phone.
Coverage has been outstanding, absolutely no calls have been dropped and my data speeds are great for 3G. iMessage, Visual Voicemail, and all the other great features of the iPhone work great on this network.
Bottom line: I had absolutely NONE of the issues other customers had after buying this phone, coverage is outstanding, and my phone bill dropped $72 per month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 2 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

This iPhone 5 and other ST ones don't work!

02/06/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received my iPhone 5 almost one week and attempted to activate it. After spending almost two days trying to get through to Straight Talk (ST) support, I was finally able to get the phone's voice service working. However, I could not get data service to work. After one more day calling for support, I was able to get the data service working intermittently.
Now, it works sometimes and only for some applications. My email data service seems to be fine, while the Safari browser rarely works. However, I can get Chrome and Dolphin browsers to work more reliably. I am very disappointed with both ST and their use of the Verizon CDMA network (on which they act as an MVNO).
I have had another iPhone on ST for about a year a half using their SIM solution. It has been very reliable. ST MVNOs AT&T in that case and the data worked consistently well for all applications. I am now considering returning this phone and asking ST for a replacement SIM unless they can get data working on it ASAP.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 3 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract
02/05/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am only giving the one star based on the straight talk service, NOT the iphone. I LOVE the iPhone. The straight talk service was good if you only want to talk and text. I didn't have data. I wasted about 3 hours on the phone with tech support. They kept having me do the same things over and over again. Restore the phone back to factory settings, turn the phone off and then back on again, call the number to update the phone, change my settings around. Over and over and over they had me do the same things that didn't work the time before. I talked to an ATT rep and he said that apple has blocked data usage on prepaid iPhones. I do not know how accurate this is. I just know that I was NOT able to get data. I know people who have jailbroken them and had them work just fine. Also, I have wasted the 45.00 for the plan I just bought yesterday. Straight talk will NOT refund your money. Even though the service doesn't work as advertised. I am returning this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+24points
Review 4 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Sooo Much Better Than I Expected :)

02/07/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me tell you...I am new to Straight Talk and all of it's products and services. I have friends and have spoken with people in passing that are happy with Straight Talk. However, I was very apprehensive and reluctant to purchase my iPhone5 32gb (black# after reading some of the reviews but eventually decided to because of the return policy. I must say...sometimes you have to try things out for yourself. Not everyone will have a wonderful customer experience but I am glad to report that I DID!
Although I've only had this product for a week with a 15 day return policy, I decided to put it to the test. I traveled from NC to SC to visit some relatives which is about a 3 1/2 hr drive. I NEVER lost signal and kept at least 3 bars or more the entire time. I connected the bluetooth feature for hands-free communication and it has been absolutely reliable throughout. The data speed is much better than I have had on previous iPhones while using a 3G network and the product itself is great! As for Customer Service, I can't really speak on their behalf because I processed everything online.
The only thing I could say that would influence someone not to buy is... if you plan on using data on a regular basis and do not have wi-fi capability, you would more than likely be throttled down and eventually cut-off, including tethering as well. PLEASE READ THE TERMS OF CONDITIONS BEFORE PURCHASING #preferrably #6 & 7). IT COULD POSSIBLY SAVE YOU FROM A HORRIBLE CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE!
I would definitely recommend to others due to my very own personal experience as everything was excellent from beginning to present. I will update my review in about three months according to my overall experience. Hope that this was helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+72points
Review 5 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

The Apple bug has bitten me!!!

02/17/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was VERY hesitant to buy this phone because of the price and the terrible reviews of the service. (I do not have a Walmart card, so I had to drop $749 plus tax up front). I also had reservations about the "unlimited" data that others had discovered isn't truly "unlimited". After some research, I discovered that all prepaid unlimited services have some type of limit on the amount of data you can use each month. I also remember that on contract plans I've had, they charge if you go over a certain data usage each month, so Straight Talk isn't any different. I figured that the most I would lose is $45 spent on the airtime card because I would return the phone within the proper time frame if I wasn't pleased, but this phone is a keeper!! Like other people have stated, the text and talk work wonderfully! Voices are clear and no dropped calls yet. But like others, I too encountered issues with the internet. I tried using itunes and google, but they would never load. I would get pop-up messages that would say something about not having internet access or the internet was not activated. I finally broke down and called Straight Talk's customer service. I was transferred to their "iPhone" dept, ask for this dept at the beginning of your call. The female representative did help me troubleshoot from her "script". When all of the steps didn't work, she finally "reset" my phone. She told me I would lose all photos, texts, downloads, contacts, etc. I only had 1 photo and no other data since my phone was only 2 days old, so I didn't care. After the reset, my internet was working! I was on the phone 1 hour and 5 minutes from start to finish. Of course I was upset to spend an hour on the phone with cust. svc, but it was worth it! No more isues! The internet works faster and better on my phone than my home's "hotspot" internet! I would suggest that you contact cust svc as soon as you discover your internet isn't working on day 1, so that when they "reset" your phone, you won't lose any info. You will need to call from a separate phone line and you will need to also have wifi access from a computer other than your phone, or have the iphone's lightning connection cable to run from the computer to your phone when you are on the phone with the representative. Although I activated my phone on my own, the internet did not activate, which is why I had encountered this problem. If you want to try it and you can part with the money, do so. It is wonderful to have an iphone 5 paid-in-full, and wonderful talk, text, and data capabilities contract-free for $45 monthly! If it doesn't work for you, you'll only lose $45.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 6 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Excellent value, very happy so far.

02/21/2013
By ,
Central Coast California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been an iPhone contract user for many years, originally on AT&T Network and for last 2 years on Verizon. I recently had a Verizon contract iPhone 5 that was costing me $110/month. I read about Straight Talk and decided to try it out. I got the IPhone 5 32 Gb last week from Walmart directly. I activated it but kept my Verizon contract Iphone activated in the mean time to compare and to test it out. This Straight Talk iPhone also uses the Verizon Network.
I drove 4 hours up the 101 Freeway from Southern California and had strong signal last weekend. It even shows full bars inside my work, just like the contract Verizon iphone (my old AT&T iphone had extremely poor signal at my work). The phone works exactly like my contract iphone; applications, iMessaging (blue), email, cloud, etc. The only difference is it uses the 3G network and not the LTE Verizon network. However, I am getting between 1.5-2.5 MB/s download and .75-1.5 upload using Speedtest which was higher than I got with my old 3G iphone 4 on Verizon contract (1 mb download max on 3G). The iPhone 5 renders the pages much quicker so the speed is hardly noticeable for web pages. The other difference I noted is that there is no visual voicemail, just the traditional dial up to check. All in all this is still a tremendous value. I went ahead and ported my old number over today and cancelled my Verizon contract. I look forward to saving over $700/yr with only giving up minor features from my Verizon contract phone.
The only negative so far was the wait time for customer service to deactivate and port my old number over. Took about 50 minutes on hold. However, the representatives were clear and helpful once I got them on the phone. The time to port my old number over and reactivate was less than ten minutes even though I had already assigned a number and used my Straight Talk iPhone for a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Raleigh, NC
FYI: Visual Voicemail Feature
Posted 03/21/2013
I would just like to inform you that Visual Voicemail does work and should be active on your phone. Should you have any issues with this feature please contact Customer Service or reset/restore your phone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract
02/26/2013
By ,
Central Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using ST for a few years now, and I have had 3 phones and used a ST sim card for my GSM phone. The iphone 5 is pricey, but so far it has performed well, and I have been pleased with it! It uses Verizon, so if you live in an area where Verizon does not work very well--Don't buy it!
I was transferring my service from one ST phone to another, so setup was easy for me! Good quality product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract
02/25/2013
By ,
Canton, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had absolutely no trouble porting my number or setting up the new phone. My only issue is calling customer service. It's always busy and you can't get thru. If you have a question and can wait a day or two for the answer then submitting a question via email is your best bet. If you have an issue that requires immediate attention then good luck. The network is great and the phone works exactly as I expected. The price is half of what I was paying at Verizon and the poor phone support is almost worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Be Prepared For Ardous Activation

03/28/2013
By ,
Prescott, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
5 for the iPhone, -1 for the activation process which took 6 days and then still had a bump. Straight Talk help is off-shore and needs improving. Need to talk slower and louder then I can handle to accent. Bigger problem is responses are formulaic and repetitive, difficult to break through that and get some real help. Some specifics: first porting didn't go through as I found out on my follow-up a day or so later -- probably errors on my part. Second effort couldn't get any credit card to work. They finally gave me a free day then pay after activation. Long delay completing second porting attempt, even with correct info. After six days, horray, activated. But had noticed there was a charge on my credit card four days earlier. Called to make sure all OK. Yes, we have the charge; yes, charge period starts today; yes, on automatic renewal. Then, two days after activation: your phone has been deactivated! Called (from another phone). We'll be glad to sign you up for automatic renewal. But what happened to the charge already posted? Ohhhhh, well, that didn't go through our system to your phone. OK, all fixed up now, thank you, do you need anything else? Noooo! So, actually eight days to finally get it all done. And now, so far, iPhone5 is great. Good Luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

LOVE Straight Talk and My iPhone 5

06/15/2013
By ,
Johnson City, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered phone for free "instore" pick up and got text about 2 days later it was ready to be picked up. Went to the store got phone walked straight to their phone area and asked if anyone used iPhone and the fellow that did completed my entire process including "porting" in about 20 minutes. Wonderful experience with both ST and my first iPhone. Had been over paying Verizon for about 12 years and apparently ST uses Verizon in my area anyway so only difference I have noticed is my phone bill is now less than half. The ONLY thing I do not understand is how or why my visual voicemail quit working? I know for sure it did at first but no longer does. Reading online articles proves this has happened to others as well. Apparently IF you get Lucky and get the right customer service person they can do something to solve or fix this inconvenience. Going to take a "nerve" pill and call in about 30 minutes...Wish me Luck...However do NOT hesitate to use ST or purchase your iPhone from Walmart. BOTH have been great...Just let Walmart's Real Live Customer Service People at their store complete the entire process for you. These young people were Great..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract
05/06/2013
By ,
Spring Lake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks. Great experience shopping with Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

your pre-configured phone isn't pre-configured

05/10/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i've spent over 6.5 hours in tech support with straight talk. i still don't have SMS & internet. they have a trouble ticket in with verizon that has been escalated & it's still not fixed. $817 for a phone that doesn't work properly. thanks guys.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 13 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract
03/12/2013
By ,
Atlanta Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The service was better than expected. The product is excelent. BUT I have a 4G Apple iPhone with 3G service. What's with that?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 14 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

iPhone 5

06/24/2013
By ,
Rialto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is great!!! The text messaging is fast and easy. GPS is simple to use which I use a lot. Phone calls are awesome haven't had a drop call in San Bernardino county area. The one thing that I was worry about was the 100mb a day use-age. Which didn't make seance. But overall legit plan..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract
05/12/2013
By ,
Malone, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the features, but at times and during certain tasks I thinks android was faster
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Apple iPhone 5 32GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5