Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Straight Talk Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

iPhone 5 features a 4" Retina display, thepowerful A6 chip, an 8-megapixel iSight camerawith panorama, ultrafast wireless, iOS 6, andiCloud. Yet it's the thinnest, lightest iPhone ever.
Average Customer Rating:
4.127 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(142 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
19
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation81%115 out of 142reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
212 Questions | 346 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
19
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Good for $45 but...

02/13/2013
By ,
Defiance, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well the iPhone 5 is just a great phone. It is one of the best, but not the best phone out there. I like the phone a lot though, and it feels great in the hand and works very well. The 3G, according to the speed tests I did, is full speed on Straight Talk. However, it appears there is some blocking going on with certain services. I cannot access Facebook or Twitter on the 3G connection. I can access YouTube but can not stream a video even at low quality. I couldn't post any status updates on Facebook while I was out, or update my feed. Not that it's a big deal to me, but if you like doing that stuff, you might run into the same problem and be upset about it especially since no where did I read anything about certain services being blocked. I haven't found anyone saying they have the same issue, so maybe it is just me. It's just odd that only 3 things won't load but my internet browser loads google, my searches, and other websites very fast while I'm on 3G...siri even works fine. So who knows.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Don't Mess With Android

07/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had Ipads and I pods before, and should have known better, but after 2 Android devices, got this Iphone.
No comparison to the 2 operating systems.
This is a great phone
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Exceeds my expectations!

01/27/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone about 2 weeks ago at my local Wal-Mart. It comes in the original iPhone box just as you would get from the Apple store with no Straight Talk branding on the phone or box whatsoever. There is activation information attached to the outside of the box. Essentially this is the unlocked Verizon iPhone 5. It doesn't have a sim card in it so it runs off of Verizon's 3G network, which for me, was surprisingly fast.
I get a great signal everywhere I go and the call quality is crystal clear. The iPhone 5 is a really great phone. Using it with Straight Talk is the same as any other carrier as long as you follow Straight Talks Terms of Service.
I give the iPhone 5 along with Straight Talks service 5 stars as I am extremely pleased with it and only pay $45/month! The upfront cost ($650) for the phone is a little pricey but with the no interest finance plan Wal-Mart currently offers this is a great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+270points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Great purchase

07/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To my knowledge, this is the latest straight talk phone that connects to a CDMA network. Excellent for rural areas; similar to Verizon's coverage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

A little expensive, but an excellent phone

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone to replace my Samsung Proclaim. I had no problem transferring my Straight Talk plan from one phone to the other, it took a matter of minutes. This phone is everything I expected it to be...great battery life, excellent camera, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Not with straight talk

02/08/2013
By ,
Neptune, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The phone is great I just wouldnt getit through straight talk. They tell you that you can get att service but u end up with verizon. Which is still cool but the internet doesnt work at all. I been trying to get through to customer support for at least 4-5 hours and have yet to connect. I got through once and the told me to call them back from a different phone other than my cell ok. So not the wait game begins again. I get through again only because i said something other than what the problem was and they bounce you around cause none of them no how to work the iphone service. So I get a guy he tells me to cut the phone off and turn it back on. Then to connect to the internet. I tell him it didnt connect and he says ok now your connected. No i'm not connected ok sir he says and i'm going to connect you to a different department. We all know all these people siting in one room amongst each other cause you can hear the other agents in the background. Besides for the internet issue i like the phone but to pay 742 for the phone and monthly mintues is it really worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

No Internet Through 3G Warning! Please Read

03/02/2013
By ,
Salem, Il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Iphone 5 is a nice phone, but as soon as I activated it, it had no internet through 3G, you can use it through a wifi like a Ipod touch. I can call and text with it only, but I got this to use with Itunes and surf the web, if I just wanted to text, and call only I would have saved my 650.00 and got a cheap tracfone. I cannot find a fix anywhere on the internet, I called customer service for hours and hours, their English is very poor and hard to understand, so I have to keep asking them to repeat and they are rude, one asked me to take out the battery, you can't on this phone, and what they do tell you to do does not work, I tried it all over and over and over again. I'm am not the only one with this problem, if you search on google this is a big issue not being addressed by Straight Talk. If you really want an Iphone go to a big carrier, and it will cost you but at least you 'll have 3G/ 4G LTE guaranteed data!, I'm paying 45 dollars just to call and text with no data, and I don't know if I will get this solved or not, I'm gonna keep trying but it looks like a hopeless cause,
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alexandria,Va
Might Solve Your Issue
Posted 11/23/2013
While still on wifi, go to 1)www.unlockit.co.nz
2) select the "create apn option"
3) on the next screen select "United States" and "Net10 (tfdata)"
4) click OK
5) Install the profile
6) restart your cellphone
7) turn off wifi, and turn on 3g and check if your 3g works
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Apple products-Highly Over-rated!

06/29/2014
By ,
Lecanto, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Have been an Android user forever. Switched to an iphone to be able to Facetime w my husband while he's OOT working. Nice feature...the rest, The rest-HATE IT! Such a waste of time....no back button, you have to start whatever process you're trying to do over if that particular app doesn't have a back option. No swipe option to type...I have long nails and just doesn't work well with such a small screen. You'd think Apple would be on top of every APP out there and offer everything to their customers. NO, not at all! Yeah, you can speak your text, but it's wrong 1/2 the time. Just VERY AGGRAVATING. NOT user friendly at all! I hope to god I can return this thing. No perk for me...they can keep they're Apple everything. Highly Over-rated!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Awesome phone! Love it!

10/10/2013
By ,
Norwich, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was on a Verizon contract paying $90 a month for minimal minutes, minimal texts, but grandfathered into unlimited data. Then Straight Talk came out with the iPhone, my choices were 4 or 5 and I really wanted Siri.
I blew most of my tax return on it and haven't looked back since. I've had it since Feb 2013 and the first month the data was sketchy at best but they worked their bugs out and now it works great!
The phone operates on Verizon cell towers, but it's locked down to 3G speeds which is all I've ever used so I guess I don't know what I'm missing. but even with 3G speeds, it's still pretty fast. I use my phone all the time and would be lost without it!
I got mine at $649.00, buying an iPhone from verizon would have been $700 (only way to keep my data as unlimited would be to buy it at full price) but I would still be paying $90 a month. I've already saved so much money with straight talk...
It takes stunning pictures and videos
16 GB of space is not a whole lot but it's enough for me to put about 500 songs, a full movie, about 30 apps, and I have about 200 pictures on there right now.
I only gave it 4 out of 5 for Value because it is a VERY expensive phone
I only gave it 4 out of 5 for Meets Expectations because it is a 4G phone locked to 3G speeds.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Belkin TuneCast Auto Live
 
 
 
Scosche Universal Mounting Kit
 
 
 
 
 
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Buyer beware... this is NOT an unlocked phone!

02/26/2013
By ,
Tuscaloosa, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this phone online from Walmart and received it on 2/5/13. After an exhausting 2+ hours on the phone with Straight Talk to get the phone activated, I thought we were "all set." The service is good, even in rural areas; however, after finding out that Straight Talk considers free text messages such as credit card alerts, etc., to be premium messages, I elected to take my "unlocked' phone to another service. Imagine my surprise when I found out this phone cannot be used by any other service -- only Straight Talk! I am returning the phone to Walmart for a refund. I will say that the online representative from Walmart could not have been more helpful. Straight Talk's customer service is horrible!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

The Straight Talk Data Service

04/16/2013
By ,
Chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
is what I'm rating. The phone was terrific and coverage seemed pretty good at least in regards to voice/text. It did not work right out of the box but eventually after hours on the phone with Straight Talk they were able to activate the data portion of the service. However the speeds of the data service were very slow. I wasn't expecting 4g speeds but hoped for something closer to 3G. Actual speeds were argue-ably less than 2G. With the Speedtest app, I averaged 0.25 Mbps for both upload and download in densely populated parts of Chicago. I called Straight Talk to see if I could expect better and they said no. I've returned the phone and canceled the rest of my service. If data speeds are not important then Straight Talk is a good bargain. However with the Iphone 5, it felt like driving a Ferrari on a dirt road.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Phone Great, Service Horrible

03/02/2013
By ,
Staunton VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the iPhone and the coverage is as advertised so far...BUT, setting the phone up with straight talk and importing my number from my previous carrier was a nightmare! The process of setting up the phone took 6 days and many many phone calls and literally HOURS on hold. Not once did I speak to a service rep who didn't have trouble with English or who really knew what they were doing. I was constantly transferred and placed on hold and given contradictory information as I was passed from rep to rep. It is far and away the worst customer service of any company I have ever dealt with. The phone and coverage are great on the CMDA network (which you only get when you buy the phone from walmart) just know what is in store for you in order to get it up and working.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Lovin my new iPhone

07/21/2014
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is just as stated. An iPhone 5 for straight talk. I love it! And is A LOT cheaper than certain carriers!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Good Phone beware of upgrading iOS

03/05/2013
By ,
Tracy, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this phone with Walmart's special financing deal ($25.00 / month no interest# and bought a $45 service card. The phone was working great: good call quality, good web/data speeds, mms, and texting were great. Then I updated the phone to iOS 6.1.2, that is when I had problems. I was no longer able to send or recieve MMS texts, and I had no web capabilities. So after many attempts to reset, reboot, clear all data and settings, erase all data and setting, fresh installs and *22890's nothing worked EXCEPT stayin on the line with customer service
I talked to the first operator who then elevated me to technical support. After a few minutes he had me tell him the version of the phone and PRL of the phone #go to settings>general>about>then you will see the line that says Carrier. well you have to physically tap on the word Carrier to show your PRL, as soon as you take your finger and press the word Carrier it will turn to PRL). After about five minutes they had me restart the phone
The version changed and the phone was working again. It took a while but there is a solution. Other than the problem of 6.1.2 the phone and the service have been great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Better than android

08/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I tried all other straight talk smartphones even though it's 4x's the price it's 10 x's the phone. Just make sure you get the 2 yr plan
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Great Alternative For Tmobile Customers

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am under my parent's plan with tmobile, and as we all know, tmobile doesn't do contracts. Therefore, customers get great deals on plans, but have to pay full price for phones. The iPhone 5s would have been 650 through tmobile (financing with no interest plans available), and the 5c would have been 550, both of the prices not including tax. We all know iPhones are the top, or at least one of the top, smartphones available for a reason. As a result, they are quite expensive. Buying non-contract was the best choice I've made in terms of purchasing technology. The price is completely fair, and the phone is awesome! Works perfectly. Very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Straight Talk iPhone 5

02/13/2013
By ,
Bensalem Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First I love the iPhone 5. It is a major upgrade from my AT&T iPhone 4. At first I had issues with the data working. I called straight talk and they helped me thru it. I can tell anyone who buys this if your Internet isn't working go into settings, general, and reset network settings and that will fix your problem. It was expensive but it will pay for itself in less than a year since straight talk is so cheap per month.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Nice phone

08/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good deal on a great phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Nice product, just not quite used to IOS

07/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unlocked GSM, compatible with At&t, Tmobile or any other GSM carrier service. Nicely designed, but it's hard for me to make the transition from android to IOS. Would be better if the screen is bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Apple iPhone 5 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk, No Contract

Great Phone! Great buy!

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 1st Smartphone purchase & I decided to buy the iPhone 5.
The phone is excellent quality and brand new.
I paid about &430.00 dollars for the no-contract Straight Talk plan and tax.
The ordering and shipping process was easy and well done.
Love the phone, so glad I bought it here online at Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next