Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

iPhone 4s Features: Siri. The intelligent assistant that helps you get things done. All you have to do is ask. Dual-core A5 chip. The most powerful iPhone ever. 8MP Camera/Video All-new optics. Video recording. In 1080p. Amazing HD video recording. iOS 5. The world's most advanced mobile operating system. And the easiest to use. iCloud. Your content. On all your devices. Retina display. Clearly remarkable. FaceTime. It's even better face-to-face. AirPlay. From the small screen to the big screen. Two antennas and better data connection. Call it better, faster, and even more worldly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation94%104 out of 111reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Great phone!

11/10/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This appears to be a great phone so far. I've had it about a week. Very easy to setup, port number, etc. No problems. Be prepared to get someone at Straight Talk with an American Name ... But English is NOT their first language. I'm not trying to degrade anyone, just sayin' ... "Patience is a virtue"! Don't forget to purchase an extended warranty for the phone. AppleCare is probably one of the best around. You only have a limited amount of time to purchase a warranty. After that, well it's YOUR problem. AppleCare does not cover lost or thief. Others might, but they do not provide Apple techs! Get a good case like Lifeproof or Otterbox, but remember ... This thing has glass on Both sides! You plan to put in your back pocket and sit on it? Good Luck with that! Also, turn off any apps that you're not using, turn off location device until needed and get a good Battery Saver app. You won't regret it! Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
question
Posted 03/02/2014
If im getting a new number i dont have to call straight talk right?....been down that road it was a nightmare.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Don't scroll past this one...

09/21/2013
By ,
Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here's my short, honest opinion of the Apple iPhone 4s, 16GB:
My wife has the brand new iPhone 5 something-or-other. I've used it. I like my 4s phone MUCH better. Trust me on this and save a few(!) bucks too. Your phone is not who YOU are, your phone works FOR you - and the 4s seriously does everything you need or want a smart phone to do. Don't think you can afford it? Then sign up for Straight Talk and pay about HALF or even more than you're paying your service provider right now. That's what I did.
Nope - this wasn't written by an "ad guy" or anyone even connected with Apple or Walmart. I'm just a regular guy who goes to work every morning, mows the lawn on the weekends and enjoys a cold beer once in a while with good friends. I'm just trying to give you some honest, friendly advice. Take it or leave it.......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+47points
Review 3 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Awesome Product!

02/02/2013
By ,
St Pete, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have debated whether to purchase an Iphone directly from Apple and then purchasing a sim through straight talk or to purchase this phone directly from Walmart. I am so glad I chose to purchase the Iphone 4s from walmart directly. This product has all the features and capabilities of any other regular iphone from any other provider. Plus all features were functional including the visual voicemail and mms! (which I know users who brought their phones from other providers had issues with). This phone requires no Sim (although there is a slot for it) and has been running without any issues on StraightTalk (under Verizon's network). It took under 2 hours to port my number from my previous phone.
Overall I am pleased with this phone and it is everything you expect from Apple.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+128points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Apopka, FL
Verizon
Posted 06/10/2013
I live in Florida and i thought the Straight Talk iPhone uses Sprint but you said your's is Verizon. The reviewer before you said there's is on AT&T. Are you sure you are on Verizon? I love Verizon because we get cell service almost anywhere with Straight Talk but I was afraid to upgrade to a iPhone for fear of changing networks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Great phone.

02/01/2013
By ,
Marthasville, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my iPhone 4S. I actually bought mine unlocked straight from apple before Walmart started selling them for Straight Talk. The price is exactly the same.
The phone is more expensive than if you were to get a 2 year phone contract with ATT or some other company. But if you look down the road this ends up saving you money in the long run. Lets compare AT & T service for 1 iphone to Straight Talk with 1 iphone:
Straight Talk
-No Contract
-$549 for iPhone 4S
-$45 a month for unlimited data, text, and calling (can be cheaper if you buy more than one month at a time)
-In 2 years (if you pay one month at a time) you will have paid $1629 + taxes paid for phone at time of purchase
AT & T Individual Service Similar to Straight Talk Service
- 2 year Contract
- $99 for iPhone 4S
- $139.99 a month + tax for Unlimited calling ($69), 5GB data ($50), and Unlimited texting ($20)
- $36 Activation Fee
- So in 2 years you've paid $3494.76 + monthly taxes
So although it seems like a lot now, your really getting a great deal. You end up paying roughly half of what you would if you signed a contract with AT&T.
I would also like to make note of the fact that my iphone uses AT&T's network. So far I am extremely happy with my phone, the service and of course the savings.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+282points
Review 5 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

The phone & Straight Talk have met my expectations

03/14/2013
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew what to expect before my purchase, so my expectations have been met. Yes, the price of the phone seems high (compared to the cost to purchase through regular carriers, such as Verizon), but after doing the math it makes much more sense. The same plan on AT&T with 2 iPhones was much more costly. Including the cost of the phones and the plans on both, Straight Talk will cost me $1500 less for 2 phones over the course of 2 years (typical contract length), and over $900 savings compared to Verizon.
What are the downsides ? No visual voicemail (I've never had it, so I won't miss it - so, not really a "con" to me). The unlimited data is a muddy situation (read the fine print VERY carefully before you consider this plan !) The bottom line is it's basically 2GB at fast speeds, then you are throttled. You can still use the data, but it's slow. Again, for me, not an issue, since 2 GB is adequate for my needs. The biggest com for me is the lack of insurance. I invested in a really good case (waterproof, dustproof, etc. etc.), and I don't let me kids touch my phone, so I'm hoping that holds me !
All in all, I'm very pleased !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 6 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Goodbye AT&T Contracts!!

03/27/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had an iPhone 3G since it came out over 4 years ago. It got to where it would transmit data in the middle of the night and use a large amount of my plan. At my home I would have no service to one bar for text and calls. Several apps had become unstable with updates.
Heard about straight talk with no contract and unlimited call/text/data. First thought was it is expensive. AT&T wanted $100 for 4s where it was $550 at Walmart. AT&T was getting just over $100 a month for lousy service. Straight Talk is under $50. Initial cost is higher, but in 8 months I will be money ahead cutting my wireless bill in half along the way!
4s is much like my old 3g but much more stable and faster. I went on Verizon network and now have 4-5 bars at home. It sends texts in a mircosecond, where my old phone would take several seconds to send. Same with Safari lightning fast! The biggest advantage is Siri. Most phones now have voice recognizion software, but a lot do not recognize your command. The more you use Siri, the more it understands you. I have gone from 90% accuracy to near 100%. It's great to be able to speak a text or call a number without using keyboard. Only wish I had fired AT&T sooner!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 7 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract
01/31/2013
By ,
Mason City, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was averaging well over $120 a month for my cell phone bill but was getting a "free" or "discounted" phone every two years with my cell phone provider. Granted you have to pay full retail for the IPhone on Straight Talk but I only pay $49 a month with same exact service I had before. It is $24 a month paying full price for IPhone over two years compared to $5 a month on my old carrier. I am saving over $50 a month! And no contracts or all the made up extra charges on my old phone bill, just local sales tax on $45 a month fee.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+84points
Review 8 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Exellent phone; excellent service!

11/21/2013
By ,
Arvada, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family has been using Straighttalk service for 1-1/2 years with all of our unlocked android cell phones, and have been pleased with their service (we were longtime Verizon customers and wanted to lower our monthly expenses). My android phone broke, so upgrading to an Apple iPhone (with Straighttalk service) to replace it seemed like a solid choice. Words cannot describe how pleased I am that I chose the iPhone 4s...the apps have been amazing. And Siri has been especially amazing. The cellular coverage has been outstanding so far. Thank you Walmart for offering this choice to us. The next android cell phone we need to replace in the future will certainly be with an iPhone (with Siri), and with Straighttalk service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 9 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Great phone service and price

02/03/2013
By ,
Escanaba, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is what was expected. It is nice to be able to get an iphone and pay only a small fee for the month rather be locked into a long term contract at a much higher monthly rate. Yes, there is the initial cost of the phone but in my opinion, I'd rather not be held to a contract so that being said, the initial cost is not so bad. I was able to port over my # and still use the Verizon towers as always.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Review 10 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Straight talk is as good as Verizon

10/21/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having been a 20 year Verizon customer, I was concerned about the quality of the Straighttalk Network. Not a problem. I even got great reception amid the mountains around Shasta Lake. Good bye $90/month cell phone bills.
I've owned 3 droid phones and returned them all. The I-Phone 4s is so easy, and integrates via I-Tunes with my pc. I backed up my old Verizon 4s which, I'm now selling on Craig's, and just restored all my stuff into the Straightalk phone with nary a hitch. It synchs with my Live mail calendar and music. Waiting for a big screen I-Phone 6.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 11 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Yup Its a Iphone on verizon's Network!

02/16/2013
By ,
Simpsonville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a Iphone wich is a great phone, signal is great thanks to Verizons towers, and bill is half that of at&t and verizon.. Some pepole gasp at the fact that its $549 upfront however a 2yr contract with verizon with same data plan would cost you $2800 buying the iphone from walmart with straight talk over 2 yrs will cost you $1750 with purchase of the phone. Over 3yrs $4300 with verizon and $2350 with straight talk you do the math...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 12 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Best phone ever!!

11/15/2013
By ,
Redding, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The iPhone on straight talk truly is amazing! Very responsive phone, no hesitation whatsoever. Runs off Verizon's towers so great coverage! It is definitely worth paying full price for the phone to get straight talks unlimited plan for $45/month. You'll love this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 13 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract
03/14/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I am very happy with the Straight talk plan. For my family I was the guinea pig to test it out. We will all be moving to this plan. iPhone runs great on this network and was easy to set up. Initial cost was big but in long run we will save.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 14 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

My first iPhone. Super product!

10/30/2013
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm extremely pleased with my first iPhone! Perfect size. Great touch sensitivity. My normal data usage is only about 2MB per day (I don't play games or stream music. I do watch an occasional video clip....not movies). Perfect and practical for my purposes. Battery life could be a concern on a trip, so I also purchased a 'back-up' battery case, which extends the battery life about 75%. Love the phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 15 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract
02/17/2013
By ,
Loveland, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been very happy with Straight Talk so far and everything seems to work great with my Iphone 4S. If you can pay the upfront cost then I think this is the better way to go. I gave up on trying to get an AT&T Iphone to work on Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 16 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

My First Smart Phone :-)

02/19/2013
By ,
San Luis Obispo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paying up front for the iPhone 4S made more sense than getting it "free" from my previous carrier. Siri is very useful and understands my voice almost perfectly. It is quick and fun to talk text w/ Siri. Syncing with my contacts and calendar was a bit tricky, still dialing that in. The volume on the speaker is great and the clarity is too. The only thing I might have done differently would be to get a 64 GB, but that would have been more $$$. Apps are easy to get and Maps & Google Maps work really well. The camera takes very nice photos too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 17 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Great phone, wish I had manual, 73 and book help

10/10/2013
By ,
Anderson, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In my 70's and figured I can ask Siri what to do or do things for me. Always had a
a manual before, now hope I can get someone to teach me, because I need help
figuring things out or even being aware of features.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Mexico
Re: Wish I had a manual...
Posted 11/23/2013
If you get on the Straight Talk website (straighttalk.com) you can access the manual on their site. Find your phone under purchase phones and then click on details on that phone.This should get you to the manual and also on line training for the phone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Great phone for someone who needs simple!

11/10/2013
By ,
Polk County
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this phone for my husband and he loves it!! Solid design, great camera, GPS, Siri, etc. Everything is so simple and straight forward! Coming from Galaxy s3's with Sprint (excellent phones but terrible service), we thought we were stepping down-- BUT, we are very happy with the switch to the Apple family! Voice calls (Straight Talk service) sound a bit weird but I can live with it!! Not to mention the money we're saving monthly!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 19 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Amazing

02/24/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must buy! The best phone I have ever had. Great service for half the coast compared to a contract. Yes paying full price for the phone had my turning away but I'm glad I dident. in the long run you save a lot. So far no problems I'm very happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 20 for Apple iPhone 4S 16GB, Black, for Straight Talk No Contract

Everything I expected! Great phone.

02/25/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy setup and transferring of my old number. Unexpected surprises like iCloud which connects my music, contacts and calendars from my new phone with my Macbook. I haven't had any problems with this phone or with StraightTalk service. Happy customer here!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next