Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

Introducing the E-series slim frame design. The Vizio 3.2" Ultra-Slim LED HDTV, E420-A0 is shattering the mold in a way only Vizio can, with high-quality design and picture at the best value. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Vizio 3.2" Ultra-Slim LED HDTV, E420-A0. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.673 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
23
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%106 out of 110reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
23
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

Great upgrade choice!

05/09/2013
By ,
Crawfordsville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had a Vizio 26" (Model: va26lhdtv10t) for the past three years and thought it was about time to go with a more modern TV. On my old TV, there was a least an inch of edge (no picture) on 3 sides of the TV and 2 inches of edge on the bottom. This TV has less than an inch on all four sides as you can see in the picture. That may be minor to some, but I sure enjoy it. The picture is great as well! I no longer have to sit at a certain height to see the picture as how it was meant to be seen. There's no gray fade when sitting at an angle and the colors are a lot crisper even without HD programming. The size is perfect for my bedroom. Now I just need to check out the HD if only I had an HD cable box. I do, however, have an HDMI cable I will hook up to my Xbox 360 and i'm sure I'll be impressed.
Overall, a great upgrade choice at a decent price. Wal-Mart had the lowest price I could find both online and off. I did some extensive research on which TV to by and I must say that I'm very pleased with my decision. Definitely worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 2 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

Perfect TV for us!

07/25/2013
By ,
Salisbury, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did A LOT of research for a replacement HDTV, and the reviews for Vizio are usually quite good, so that's where we went. It took about 15 minutes to install, really simple operation. 42 inches is really a good middle of the road size, not too big, and not as small as the 30 inch TV we replaced.
The picture quality is excellent, great for gaming and HDTV. I also like it has a component cable hookup so I can play my PS2 and Wii on it, along with my 360 on the multiple HDMI hookups. The basic sound is also pretty good for a flatscreen (I've read some people complain, but the basic stereo sounds great to me. It's not as good as my surround sound, but for basic audio it works fine).
I know some TVs have a lot of bonus stuff (like Wifi for Netflix, higher HZ rates, or 3D), but I find all of these things overrated. If you treat your TV as one would use a computer monitor, or just to show quality video for sports and TV shows, this is the right TV for you! I would recommend this TV to anyone looking for a good quality HDTV (and Walmart had the best price for this size and brand).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Review 3 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

Great viewing angle!

03/12/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Viewing angle -- Great! With the way my living room is set up, someone will inevitably be sitting off to the side of the TV instead of getting a straight on view. I spent the first six hours of ownership sitting on the floor, off to the side, writing report cards and there was no distortion to the picture. Everything and everyone looked just like they should.
Oh, and my living room gets A LOT of afternoon sun. No glare off the screen and it adjusts to the lighting in the room. I turned off my lights and the picture/lighting adjusted on screen so the picture was clear as could be.
Sound -- Excellent! I don't need theater sound but I didn't want it to sound tinny either. It meets my needs as an average TV viewer. Good, rich sound.
I love this Vizio!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Review 4 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

A sleek TV to bragg about !

04/05/2013
By ,
Newark, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is our first LED-HDTV from Vizio. No wonder why everyone braggs about it !; Its a sleek model; low weight; thin frames and less messy with regards to setup. It got very crisp image at HD and the light/contrast is evenly distributed and is not overpowering to hurt the eyes. The sound quality is good too; no "hissing noise" even at a very low volume for prolonged duration. One thing i am not sure about if its the TV or the cable service, is that each channel got a different volume level !. I'm sure there's a way to fix that !. Then, the TV looks much wider than I thought; so getting appropriate stand was a challange ! Price-wise, initially I thought its a bit expensive, but thats a matter of time ! Other similar model TV by different companies didn't attract us, though they are less by about $30-100 at this time. Either they are too bulky, heavy, moderate picture quality and poor rating. So I by-pass the price concern! The reason for 4 stars is that we got the TV only recently and yet to explore all the technicalities to assess better !
Overall, I strongly recommend this TV as a top candidate in this category (i.e., LED-HD/42")
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 5 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

not enough quality - too much hype

06/26/2013
By ,
Indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this Vizio 42” television because my wife thought we should give it a try. It was a new company and she wanted something ‘different’. I let this be her decision about a TV. BIG MISTAKE!! We had a hard time reading the info window (because of its small size), there is NO clock (this eliminates some functions – like sleep timer), there’s no way to check signal strength for reception. This set didn’t even have a way to adjust sound other than up and down – right to left. As a basic TV, it seems okay.
When it starting having sound problems (people starting talking very low and graduating into a normal tone by mid-sentence – but not all the time). I did not like the decision of buying a Vizio. There are too many dislikes and the starting of problems after only two weeks, so back to Walmart it went.
I then went to Best Buy and bought another Samsung. I say another Samsung because that’s want we had before. I haven’t even taken it out of the box yet, and I’m happier with my new TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-45points
Review 6 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0
02/22/2013
By ,
Hoquiam, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I, of course like to read peoples reviews about things before I buy them. I was certainly not disappointed with this TV. What a great value for a great product. First off, This TV was very easy to set up, putting together just 3 screws to get the stand on. After setting up, connecting wires, turned it on. The HUD to set up programming, screen setting, etc. a cinch! Has great picture and sound. I was really worried about the sound on the slim hdtv, was really impressed with this one! I highly recommend this TV for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 7 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

Nice LED

01/08/2014
By ,
Ft Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice LED TV for the price. Easy to attach base and light enough and small enough to get into back seat of car for ride home from Walmart. Nice picture especially in a dark room. A little more glare on the screen than I was hoping for which reflects the lamps in our den back to the viewer. This makes viewing from certain angles difficult if the scene is fairly dark. Light scenes or darkened room is great. Other than that, it meets my expectations and is a nice TV. It was easy to connect to cable and DVD recorder and looks good on our TV stand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 8 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0
03/04/2013
By ,
Nitro, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV was given as a gift to a disabled family member. It has a Beautiful Picture. Had a problem programming Directv Remote with this model. Called Directv, they couldn't give me a code for the remote to work properly with the Vizio. So, I contacted Vizio and they recommended that I use the LG tv or the Goldstar tv codes in the Directv Remote setup book. I used the LG and the code worked. If anyone has this problem try the LG codes. The Remote works properly now with this tv. I'm so happy I could give a great gift to someone who truly appreciates it. I highly recommend Vizio to everyone. I personally have owned one for several years now and some of my friends own one and they are truly happy with theirs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 9 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

Great for sensitive eyes

01/31/2013
By ,
Kennewick, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both my wife and I are a little bit sensitive to TV lighting, so it was tough to find one we were both happy with. This was it.
What I like:
The full backlit LED - this produces a much smoother picture over edge-lit, in my opinion. The smart-dimming on this TV is really great. LED vs LCD, I can't really tell the difference as long as it's full back-lit LED.
The 60hz refresh - I wanted to get a 120hz for sports, but after I got it (a beautiful LG# I realized that twice as many pixels were just a little bit too many for my brain and eyes to handle and still be relaxed. There is actually a model almost exactly the same as this one with 120hz but i prefer this one. And NFL Redzone looks fantastic on it, no problem at all.
The design - looks great in the room, love the slim frame.
Unique settings for each input - Whatever settings you have per input remain saved. So you have to set each one up initially, but I have my xbox #HDMI2# set up a little differently than straight cable #HDMI1#, which I like. This is probably a common feature these days but I had never noticed it before.
What I don't like - only 2 HDMI ports #I really wanted 3 but I just couldn't find a TV i wanted with everything), and with one on the side, it is hard to bend the cord so that it doesn't stick out from the TV. But it can be done.
In Summary - This TV is great if you are a little bit more sensitive to light and want a TV that is truly relaxing on the eyes while you watch it. I don't get eye strain from this TV and neither does my wife. It's a beautiful picture, setup is simple, and I trust Vizio to take care of me since they have in the past.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Review 10 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

A Very Pleasant Surprise

03/23/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this LED Tv for the bedroom using the ship to store option. It arrived 3 days early, and was easy to set up. I set the picture mode to the Golf setting, shut off the ambient light sensor, and the picture is just perfect. The thin bezel allowed me to get a bigger screen into the space I had, and the sound is good too.
I really didn't expect a tv at this price point to be this good. I am very happy.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 11 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

Good TV

02/10/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound is good, look is good with small frame, brightness is good as well as controls. Very light and good resolution for the picture. Overall I would definitely recommend it especially for the cost. It is overall better than a Sony Bravia 42v40100 that I brought for 950 dollars, but that was back in 2009.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 12 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

You'll need a newer cable for best quality picture

09/29/2013
By ,
Watonga, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our home is 8 years old and has a coax cable built in. It is not a HD cable. It is going to be a major ordeal to replace this. The picture is not the same quality as with a newer cable. So Walmart is not to blame but it would have been helpful to know ahead of time that the cable is going to be an issue. But Walmart shipped and delivered the Vizio tv in great condition and very quickly. I appreciate the free shipping! We live far away from a Walmart and the gas expense makes ordering on line very favorable for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 13 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

Great Value for the Price

05/18/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needing a new TV for our den and being an engineer, I took considerable time to evaluate and compare a number of options. I read reviews from Consumer Reports and a large number of other online sources. My first step was to narrow my search to LED units in the 46-inch range. I was open to either edge-lit or back-lit LED units, but the "ultra thin" aspect of the edge-lit units was not worth the additional cost for our application. I also determined that we did not need a "smart" TV.
Having narrowed the selection, I considered various brands. I opted not to seriously consider the "lesser known" brands. I considered Samsung and some other high-end brands, but ended up settling on Vizio, in part because I had purchased another Vizio unit within the last 12 months and was pleased with that unit. I believe that Vizio provides good value.
Initially, I ordered the selected model from Amazon, but their delivery time was going to be 30-60 days. I checked Walmart Online and found that their price was the same as Amazon's. I placed the order in the afternoon and picked up the unit yet that evening at my local store.
Installation and setup were easy. We think the picture quality is outstanding and the features are convenient. I noted that several other reviewers had commented on the audio quality, but it is fine for our application.
Overall, we think the Visio unit is a great value, and are very pleased with our Walmart Online purchase experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 14 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

Very easy setup and installation -

01/28/2014
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to put together and install. Excellent unit. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 15 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

Excellent for the Price

01/26/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful picture. Easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 16 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

great value

01/12/2014
By ,
vancouver,WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great picture very light weight excellent high def. picture excellent with bluray but... poor at broadcasting in 480i or low def.very grainy faded hard to watch at first, after awhile you adjust. it also has high screen reflection, meaning sunlight,lamps or any light will glare badly not a deal breaker something to be noted. sound is ok gets loud but is not full range tinny. sound bar or surround sound is much better. set up is a breeze wish it had 3 hdmi inputs but at the low price point 2 is better then one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 17 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

Great TV

06/07/2013
By ,
Aurora, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased about a month ago. Setup is a breeze. I bought a HDMI cable and works perfectly as a monitor also. My brother-in-law is a TV junkie and has had his set for 4 years with no problem. It is all I could ask for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 18 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

Good Value

09/17/2013
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We chose this TV due to size limitations for width in the space the TV was going. Due to the very thin frame and the proportions of the screen this 42" TV fits in the space (width-wise) where only 37" TV's of other manufacturers fit. It also looks good with a thinner frame and actually makes the screen seem larger. The picture is very bright on this set, we have it in our family room which has a lot of ambient light which drowned out the picture on our previous LCD. The sound quality is also very good. Using Zoom mode on this set does deteriorate the picture quality noticeably, but I'm sure it's that way on any TV. No complaints about this TV, it's a good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0

Very great product

05/01/2013
By ,
Mesquite, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product, the only two "issues" with this tv is trying to find the right settings for the picture quality. I took off the light sensor and smart diming since I'm a gamer and when I play some games it dims too often and can get annoying. I don't know if it's just me but I sometimes have to turn up the volume on my game because it seemed to have gotten lower. Sound is still pretty loud though, haven't taken it passed 24. Love this LED tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for Vizio 42" 1080p 60Hz Class LED (3.2" ultra-slim) HDTV, E420-A0
06/29/2013
By ,
Delaware, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like my new VIZIO flat screen TV, it does have a great picture and sound, only thing I don't like is that it is not compatible with my laptop. It does not have a plug in (VGA I believe it's called) for my cable to my computer so I can watch movies from the laptop. Nothing is available to hook up either except an adapter which costs over a hundred dollars! But, all in all a great TV so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next