Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LeapFrog LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LeapFrog LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

The award-winning LeapFrog Leapster Handheld Multimedia Learning System makes it incredibly fun for preschoolers through grade-schoolers to develop reading, math, creative thinking skills and more. Its full-color screen and headphone jack make it an educational companion for trips as well as a smart alternative to ordinary video games. The full Leapster and Leapster L-Max library allows your child to play action-packed games while learning essential skills. Comes only with a sampler cartridge, so be sure to order extras! Leapster is also available in pink We recommend: Additional cartridges: Add hours of learning fun with a new cartridge. Look below, or see all cartridges to the right. Batteries: The Leapster requires 4 AA batteries (not included). Add batteries below by checking the "Include in order" box.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation86%75 out of 87reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

Never thought I'd miss Dora

01/31/2008
By ,
Bellevue,WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter received the original leapster for Christmas about 1 year back, along with a Dora game. It has been the best product I have found to keep the attention of a 5 year old child with ADD. By the end of Christmas day she had already figured every activity out and wouldn't stop playing with it. Unfortunatly, it will no longer read cartridges, no matter the amount of cleaning and begging that I do. So we will be upgrading to the L-Max soon.
My only problem with the original is the amount it eats through batteries, I believe by now I should own stock in Duracell or which ever one that pink pepto-besmol bunny works for. The five year old has learned tons of stuff from math to vocabulary and her 2 year old sister has learned as well from the looking over big sister's shoulder act. But if your not willing to buy stock in batteries, buy the l-max and the charger dock. The extra money you spend on that will make up for it when u don't have to buy batteries every two days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

Excellent Prodct

12/10/2007
By ,
Orlando,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very excellent product!! And it is also very sturdy. My 15 month old manages to get a hold of it and drops it everywhere but the product still works!! The games are a little expensive but my son learned all the sounds of his letters with one of the games. I think this is an excellent product for 4 year olds and up not really younger ones. If you buy the it I would recommend buying the case also because it has a pocket to hold games. Also, this toy really eats up batteries. But there is supposed to be a charger for it ( I have yet to get the charger myself but I will) I would recommend buying the charger because you can spend alot on batteries for this product. Overall EXCELLENT product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 3 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

Very entertaining and educational

11/23/2008
By ,
Whitney, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our daughter (5) for here birthday in April. She loved it! Also her little brother (2) enjoyed it as well. The games that come on it were more than enough to keep them interested. I think the extra cartridges for it are a little on the pricey side for us so it was a bonus that there are already 3 games on it. The only problem we had was about a month after we got it, the screen was so scratched you could not see it anymore. I spoke with friends who had them and they had never had that probem with theirs so it must have been just a problem with the stylus pen that we had. The perk thought is that I e-mailed Leapster about it and they sent me a prepaid mailing label to send it back to them and sent us a new one, this time with a screen cover for nothing! That was great! The only thing is now 7 months later, I'm having a hard time finding new games for it due to all the new stuff they have out.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

My 6 yr old loves this

12/29/2007
By ,
Anoka, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for our 6 yr old daughter this Christmas because she is slightly behind in reading skills. Because she has been exposed to computer games and regular handheld games I was not sure how she would react to it.
SHE LOVES IT MORE!! I can already tell she is learning and it hasnt been a week yet since she has had it. I played with it as well to actually see for myself how this would benefit our daughter and to be honest with you I am 33 yrs old and I enjoy playing this as well.
We bought the Pet Pals game to go along with it since those type of games seem to be the "in thing" these days. I would recommend this to any parent who is thinking of buying this for their child even if they are slightly older.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

My child loves it

12/04/2007
By ,
Ft. Campbell KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought the leapster today(early Christmas present), my son has yet to put it down. He is very happy w/it and so am I.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

Great Toy for Travel and Learning

01/04/2009
By ,
Cleveland TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this Leapster for our Twin 3 1/2 year old boys for Christmas. They LOVE them! It is perfect for travel or just to have around the house. Be sure to get the case or some sort of carrier for the games because they are little and expensive. The touch screen is pretty cool and the boys love to be able to have that option as well as the buttons. We love the educational games. You can also plug headphones in so you dont have to hear the noise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

Good Product...Not a long enough life

01/14/2008
By ,
Moline, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the first leapster for my eldest daughter two years ago and it just finally gave out on us. It wont turn on at all. I bought the second leapster not even a year ago for my second daughter and the middle of the screen doesn't work at all. I cant calibrate the screen or anything....This was on the Leapster L-Max. The toy is a great concept and my girls love to play them all of the time but I wished they would last a bit longer. So now I am on the hunt to buy two new leapsters...My recommendation is not to buy the L-Max it is a waste of $20 extra ....I will buy more of them because they have held up fairly well, not great though, and my girls absolutely love them. Even my two younger girls love them! Just know that you will probably end up replacing them if you plan on keeping them for more than a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

Santa brought me a dud

12/27/2007
By ,
Upstate, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My 5 year old son was really excited to finally get the much awaited for Leapster from Santa. After two hours of playing the game the LCD blew. So, we waited to find another until after the hussle of Christmas returns to find that no retailer within a 30 mile radius had one for replacement. Might I add, we had just gone to another store from which he had money to buy additional games and now has now game system for which he can play them on. Ofcourse manufacturers are just as human as the rest, but closer attention to quality and longevity should be payed when it comes to items for children. Certainly we will wait it out until the shelves are restocked, somewhere and hope for a sound replacement. However, I regret the money spent and wish that my son did not think that Santa brought him a dud
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 9 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

Great accessory for any kid.

03/05/2008
By ,
Whitmore Lake MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We got this for our 2 1/2 year old two months ago and he loves it.
He has two games which are a little on the expensive side. He loves to take it in the car on long trips and enjoys his color, shapes and matching.
The Cons.
The new system does not come with the matching game on it only the color coral and a bunny one. Which he doesn't like. They got rid of the chicken matching game. His uncle has the older system which persuaded us to buy him one. I do not know why they decided to take the chicken game off of it. For the life of me I do not understand it. My 2 1/2 year old still asks for the chicken game. You can not buy it separately.
Overall it is a amazing system for every kid to have. I will be buying one next year for my youngest.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

A wonderful product

11/22/2008
By ,
Covington, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My twin 4 year olds received this gift last Christmas. My husband and I wanted to work on letters to prepare for Kindergarten this year. These Leapster games were wonderful. Within three weeks my sons were recognizing all letters upper and lower case.
Having two 4 year old sons, the leapsters had to withstand A LOT of wear and tear. They have met those expectations. My boys have even dropped them in the driveway and they are still working. Other than the batteries running out quickly (we bought rechargeable batteries and saved a lot of money), we have had NO problems.
After having such a great experience, I recommended them to my principal for remediation time in school. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

Good product for learning & fun

12/18/2007
By ,
Ogden UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My granchildren love this. One household of grandchildren already had it and played with it a lot, so they bought a 2nd Leapster for the 3 1/2 year old. The software is fun and easy to figure out, and educational. This isn't college prep but good basic concepts for younger children. When I gave this to my 7 year old grandson this Christmas he was at first less than thrilled, not knowing what it was. A few days later he hugged me and said 'thank you for giving me this!' then went back to playing Math Baseball. Also it is very sturdy. Doesn't break, doesn't crash when kids shut it down incorrectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 12 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

WORTHY TOY

12/29/2007
By ,
Bentonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 5 year old son and he loves it! He already was given a DS but at 5 years old, he always misplaces his stylus. The Leapster has the stylus attached to the system and what a great idea! The interface is easy to follow for the newcomer. Game selections are wide-ranging so there is something for almost everyone and all are educationally worthy. The games help with basic concrete learning skills which is essential for children to master before they can attempt higher abstract learning. We are very pleased with this toy and it is well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

great system

03/24/2008
By ,
Dallas Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 3 yo got this for Christmas & ended up in the hospital a week later, this was a lifesaver! We love the bunny game, dad & I even play it. Go ahead & add a couple of games even if it is just in the closet for a rainy day. The games are expensive so try going to leapster world's web site & trying them out it will really help decide if you want to invest in them. In hindsight I would probably buy the system that you can use on the TV instead but it is ok either way. YOU MUST invest in the charger though, don't leave the store without it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

Educational and Fun

01/01/2008
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Leapfrog Leapster is even better than I expected. The grandkids love the games--and they're learning while they're playing! They were obsessed with their Gameboys, but the Leapster has taken over their attention. Because they spend their gaming time in learning activities, their parents and I let them play the Leapster more often without being worried about wasted time. I'm planning on getting Leapsters for the younger grandchildren when they get a little older.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

very cute

10/31/2008
By ,
mobile, Al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter for a christmas present so I have not opened it yet or used it. It got good reviews so that is why I bought it. The colors are really bright and pretty and I think she will love it. I bought the charger to go with it. It will be worth it I think because it runs on AA batteries. My son is getting a nintendo ds for christmas and this is compatible to that for my three year old. I gave it four stars because I have not used it yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

Fun and educational

01/09/2008
By ,
Thornton, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Leapster is great for both my great grandsons one of whom is Autistic. It's fun, educational, theraputic, easy to operate and the screen provides a good image. It even has internal games to play without the cartridge. I also purchase the V-Tech hand held system; of the two, I'd say the Leapster is the better buy.
Item has been dropped several times and seems not to damage easily which is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Gree

01/02/2008
By ,
Downers Grove,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love this...Santa delivered it and the kids have played non-stop with it...I have a 12yr w/Down Syndrome and finally a "game-boy" type product he can play with & learn, helps to re-enforce basic math skills!! my other son likes the more challanging games, like I-spy...my husband & I have actually had a chance to play it too..I really am glad Santa delivered this!!! it was a great choice!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

GREAT WAY TO LEARN

04/03/2008
By ,
SOUTH CENTRAL KANSAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WE PURCHASED OUR SECOND LEAPSTER FOR OUR 4 YEAR OLD, AND IT IS ONCE AGAIN A WONDERFUL WAY FOR HER TO LEARN. IT IS ENTERTAINING, FUN, AND LOVE THE AVAILABILITY OF DIFFERENT LEVELS SO OUR OLDER CHILDREN CAN USE IT TO.
THE ONLY DISAPPOINTMENT IS THAT THE CHARGER BASE FROM OUR OLD LEAPSTER DOES NOT WORK WITH THIS LEAPSTER. HOWEVER THE POWER CORD DOES ALLOW IT TO BE PLAYED WITHOUT BATTERIES.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

A Great Educational Product

11/09/2008
By ,
Dublin, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just bought this for our nephew, who is four years old, and he is completely in love with it. He hasn't put it down in hours. The screen quality is very high; it's bright and clear, and the backlight comes in handy in low lighted areas. This is a great teaching tool. The only downside is that the system itself did not come with any games, so be sure to pick one up when you buy one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for LeapFrog Leapster Learning System, Green

parent of 5 yr old

01/23/2008
By ,
chicago, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is great. he takes it everywhere we go and he is actually learning something unlike those other handheld games that parents are allowing their children to carry around. he is learning and entertain and it is very durable. he has dropped it a few times and it hasnt stop the progress of the game. i would recommend the carrying case and rechargable batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next