Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for L'oreal L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

L'oreal L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

Average Customer Rating:
3.143 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(824 Reviews) 823
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
319
4 stars
95
3 stars
72
2 stars
61
1 star
277
Customer Recommendation53%433 out of 824reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
319
4 stars
95
3 stars
72
2 stars
61
1 star
277
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

Oh how I wish I read the reviews first!!

08/02/2014
By ,
Outer Banks, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My nearly waist length hair is now PURPLE and black! It was a nice medium blonde color. I haven't dyed my hair in months as I was letting it heal, and I was so excited to go back to my bright red color. WHY is my hair now PURPLE??? Please don't use this hair dye, unless you're going for purple hair.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

love red!!!

09/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to follow instructions, comes with everything you will need.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

My Hair BLACK!

04/20/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am an avid user of Feria 68, however, it is becoming harder to find. So I was super excited to find this amazing fun color. Feria 48, Red Velvet, an Intense Deep Auburn, the name even sounds fun!
By no means is this my first time coloring my hair. (I usually color my hair every 3 weeks since reds fade sooooo fast.)
BUT... to my horror... my hair is now BLACK!!! My husband called it "black-black cherry."
While I will use Feria products still, there is NO WAY I will ever use this specific color AGAIN!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Huntington Beach, CA
I've used Feria since the day it came out, but..
Posted 06/29/2014
Buyer please beware of this hair color. I LOVE LOREAL and I love FERIA, do not get me wrong, but there is something wrong with this particular color. I have used the power reds by Feria for years and found them to be some of the more beautiful reds you can get in a box, however this color in particular caused my hair to turn a dark brown almost black color just like others have been stating. Loreal really needs to check into this, I left it on the exact time as it said and have been using their products for years, I know what I am doing. THe formula has an issue here. Boy would I be happy if they adjusted/corrected their formula and we all could enjoy the color on the box! I will look forward to something in the future.
I believe in Loreal, truly I do and I believe they will correct this problem, its so not like the brand at all. I will continue to trust them until something drastic happens. As far as the color being dark on me, it did wash out really fast, so it wasn't a traumatic situation like others have stated. Hope Loreal sees this and looks into it!
0points
Customer Avatar
Holden, MA
Yep, Me Too !! Black Cherry !!
Posted 04/27/2013
I used the Feria R48 Red Velvet last night and now I am sitting here with Black Cherry color. My natural hair is medium Auburn. Before coloring my hair, it was light Auburn. I used the Feria R48 and it is sooo dark. You can call it Black Cherry or Gothic Red. I Love Feria, but will never use this shade again. The Feria R57 seems to produce the same complaint of Black Red. Now, I need to buy a Light Auburn, to rid myself of this Black Red. I want medium Auburn again.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

Fantabulous Red! Love it!

02/06/2013
By ,
Pemberton NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a super great shade- it is my new favorite!
I had dyed my hair black about 6 months ago, and even though I have a shorter style and get it regularly cut(think Rhianna) I still had some black left on the tips. I had done a brown auburn shade about 6 weeks ago and it was just drab and the black ends was making it look darker than I wanted, so I lightened my hair(google soap cap)until it was a lovely orange shade all over and the black hair dye was gone and applied this color afterwards. All I can say is Va VA Voom! It is bright and vibrant without making me look like Ronald Mcdonald. Kind of like a darker red with cooler tones. I think you would definitely get a better result starting from a lighter shade (dark blonde to light brown) If you use it on hair that is darker you will likely get a more subtle result.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

My hair is black too!!

07/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had bright red hair that came from a box and I wanted to color it a deeper red and I had just gotten my hair cut and it's very short pixy cut so most of my hair was my natural virgin hair. This product even turned my natural virgin hair black not red at all. NEVER USE IT if you want RED hair!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

Very disappointed

08/03/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not bother buying this product if you want vibrate red hair. I dye my hair regularly so I'm not new at dying my hair. I just dyed my hair about an hour ago and my hair is black. I usually dye my hair black anyway but I wanted a bright red color for a change and I can't even describe how upset and disappointed I am. My roots are dyed a violet color but the rest of my hair is black. I thought it was my fault because I had left the dye in twenty minutes longer than I was suppose to because I had dozed off but after reading one bad review after another, I'm happy I'm not the only one who has had this result. I used Feria before and hated it but decided to give it try again because I fell in love with the color on the box and I now have another reason to never use Feria again. I'm definitely going back to my favorite hair dye because this is one of the biggest let downs I've had with any hair dye.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

NIGHTMARE!

02/06/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have dyed my hair a light redish brown for quite some time now, but wanted to go a bit more red and fell in love with the color on the box. I know the results are never really exactly like the picture, but for the most part, they come pretty close. I never expected to get the results I did though. I was mortified!!!! my hair looked black!!!!! I checked the bottles to make sure they were not switched with a different color, and they were not. I have no idea why or how it could result in such a color. my hair literally was Black!! I had to get a color remover immediately and a new hair dye. I like how this brand makes your hair feel soft after wards, but after this nightmare, I WILL NEVER use their dyes again!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
What color was your hair?
Posted 07/11/2014
What color was your hair when you did this? I was just wondering, because if you have brown hair this is likely but I have blond.
0points
Customer Avatar
Texas
Same Problem!
Posted 04/20/2013
OMG!!! I am freaking out... just finished using this color for the first time, I usually use Feria 68 (fun color), and when I finished and dryed my hair... IT'S BLACK!!! I am glad to know that I wasn't the only one, so sorry this happened to you too.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

Absolutely Wonderful

01/15/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My hair was a faded grown out fire engine red before I used this product, and the color went on evenly. It did come out a bit darker than on the box, if you are looking for a brighter red I reccomend using a lighter color than this one. My hair is VERY damaged and you can't even tell it. The color booster really made a difference as well as the shimmer serum and conditioner. It also did not stain my skin or scalp. Overall I am very pleased with Feria R48.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

Looks good on the outside

04/01/2013
By ,
South Gate, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My hair is dark brown , I used this dye for the first time my hair looks dark and didn't work on me. I'm really disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

PURPLE!

01/05/2014
By ,
West Virginia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have dyed my hair for years, both box and salon (costing upwards of $200!) My hair is naturally blonde (born with almost white hair now resting at lightest of dark blonde shades.) I haven't dyed my hair in three years and my hair is now ridiculously healthy and shoulder length.
I've gone red before with no issues. Mahogany is my go-to shade. This looked interesting to me. I've dyed my hair both natural and unnatural shades (including blue, purple, and silver.) I was looking forward to having the color on the box, given my naturally blonde hair and the fact that it picks up reds fairly easily. I was NOT expecting some weird, patchy purple color.
My hair looks like I used Manic Panic! Forget the slightly unnatural yet lovely shade on the box, this is straight-up the worst color of purple imaginable; this is murky, NOT shiny, and incredibly jarring looking. It washed out patchy (I shampooed twice as per instructions while rinsing the color and it REFUSED to stop bleeding) and it's just a mess. Blondes, dirty blondes, and perhaps even light brunettes beware. Even my sponge-like hair couldn't hold this dye and what it did turned out PURPLE!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL

04/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been a red-head for about 3 years, and my original hair dye was out of stock and my roots were too terrible for it to go on. So I matched the colors and this was the closest match. My beautiful red hair, was TURNED DARK PURPLE WITH BLACK HIGHLIGHTS. I don't even know how that's possible. Worst product I have ever dealt with. I had to color my whole head because my roots didn't match from the color, and now there's nothing I can do for 8 weeks until I can get someone to fix it without making my hair fall out. DO NOT TRUST IT.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

PERFECT

06/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this hair dye. I used it on (light) blonde hair, and it came out so bright and stunning, just like in the picture. I've dyed my hair a lot and this gave me one of the best results I've ever had. The only problem is that it faded, but hey it's not 100% permanent so I got what I asked for. It does fade nicely though (with blonde hair). If I dye my hair this color again, I will DEFINITELY buy this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

First and last hair screw up

08/06/2013
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been dying my hair for almost 2 years. I dye once a month and I'm a natural red head. I like to go a little more vibrant than my natural color and I've tried plenty of brands and I figured I would give this one a try. I've never once had a color I've hated.
I used this product thinking it would be red when I was done. It was black. Pure. Black. There was not even a hint of red to it, and it was dull. I've never had a color I've hated this much. The price isn't even worth it, as I was saving money and thought it would be a good buy. Now I'm spending money on color stripper and a new dye. I will never ever use this product again. Save yourself time and money, and do not get this unless you are looking for a blue/black
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

My hair turned black!

11/28/2013
By ,
Myrtle Beach, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I have been coloring my hair red for almost a year now. When I saw this color I thought it was really pretty and wanted to try it from what I normally used. After I colored it, my hair was black! I was very upset. I will never buy this color again!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

Does not dye hair like box...or even red

04/19/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like any other hair dye, I did not expect my hair to come out looking like the box, but something similar and darker (since I have black hair). I've been dying my hair different tones of red (mostly darker reds, never Rihanna scream-out-loud red# and have never used the same hair dye, so I know which hair dye I like, which one works best and which one lasts. I usually use Garnier but I decided to try this one even though it is a tad bit more expensive than Garnier. The Garnier ones always dyes my hair but some of them don't last. I thought that maybe Feria would last and dye my hair, I've never had a red hair dye that hasn't dyed my hair regadless of the fact that it is black.
This is the first time a red hair dye did not dye my hair red.
Before I used this dye, my hair was a bit of a mix of colors. My tips were light brown, my roots black and everything else was a dark red with some brown #where the red faded). My red hair dye was fading and even though my hair color sounds weird, I thought it was awesome because the brown was where my waves were which added highlights to the red and the black faded into my red/brown dyed hair so it didnt look weird.
After this dye, my hair was all one color, usually when I dye my hair, because of the different colors, some parts will turn out more red than others, and even then it still looked awesome. This hair dye turned my whole hair one color, a super dark red black. You can only see the red in the sun, as a tint, but overall, it just looks black.
At first, as I was reading reviews and after opening the box, there was warning that says that I want to have the color on the box, I need to mix in ALL contents. So I thought that the other reviewers didn't mix all of the contents in because it comes with the developing bottle/cream, general tinted hair dye bottle, oil mix, and another red hair dye tube. The red was not mixed in with the generally used hair dye bottle. This was a bit weird, as no other hair dyes had this, the hair dye was always mixed before hand and only came in one hair dye bottle. When I put in the hair dye from the bottle, I realized it looked like it was a brown hair dye....so it turned me off a bit but then I put in the red hair dye from the tube and it looked super red and saturated so I thought that it wouldn't be a problem. Well, the red didn't dye my hair, it seems like, more like just coated it with red mixed with brown to make my whole hair darker. Usually red hair dyes, lightens my hair and coats it with red color, not just coat it with both red and brown.
I was really dissapointed. I wouldn't recommend this hair dye, the company needs to revisit this formula because it just does not work like how it should. I will wait for this hair dye to fade then dye it with another brand, I will go back to Garnier unless I feel adventurous again and go try something else.
On another note, all of the 500+ reviews from the Loreal website, is not for this color. All of those reviews are for the every color in the Feria line, so even though this is still a bad hair dye, don't be offset by the mixed reviews from the other different colors. Walmart needs to change the Feria color reviews from Loreal to only have the one for the exact colors, not the whole Feria hair dye website.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

Waste of money big time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

09/23/2013
By ,
Winter haven, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This hair product turned my scalp and roots a super bright red like ronald mcdonald and the rest is black....looks so horrible and dont know what to do about....especially since I have to get up for work at 5am. Do not waste your time or money on this product. Not worth it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

Waste Of Money!!!

07/14/2013
By ,
Arcadia, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been wanting to dye my hair for such a long time.I was so excited when i was dying my hair but after i washed it I was so disappointed that it turned out black and it turns out that my hair only shows up a little bit of red in the sun.So unless you are an outside person I would NOT recommend this product at all because it is just a big disappointment and a waste of money!
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

Red, but not like the color on the box.

02/26/2013
By ,
Springfield, mo
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I started with a light colored brown and ended with a dark red (even darker than the black to brown red shown on the box). I thought that I had done a bad job when I was done drying my hair from the first dye and ended up dying my hair a second time with the same dye. When I was done the second time it was a little more vibrant, but it was still much darker and still looked brown in most lighting.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

Not like the on the box

02/02/2013
By ,
Barstow,CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I usually get garnier intense auburn which works amazing for dark hair. Saw this box and loved the color. Tried it and was pretty disappointed. It came out like a black cherry. My hair looks almost black with a red tint to it. Not happy at all. WOULDN'T recommend. Don't get me wrong,its a nice color but not the color that its advertising. Will be going back to Garnier for the bright beautiful red hair.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Paris Feria Power Reds Permanent Haircolour Gel, R48 Intense Deep Auburn

Um WHAT??

03/19/2013
By ,
SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just used this color to redye my hair red .... it was NOT red when it was done. Instead I know have BLACK HAIR ... Yes I said BLACK HAIR. This is what I get for using a new color. Not happy, even tho it doesn't look bad its not red. DO NOT use this if you want vibrant red hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next