Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

Generic ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

The highly efficient ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer in Espresso will help you keep your home neat, tidy and organized. This versatile cube organizer is perfect for storing books, folded clothing, toys and other household necessities. The ClosetMaid Cubeicals is extremely easy to assemble, as all essential hardware is included. Plus, the espresso cube organizer is quite sturdy and allows you to stack up to two units — or place them side-by-side, depending on your personal needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.724 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
26
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation82%80 out of 98reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 47 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
26
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

It is ok

11/27/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The box it can in appeared to have been ripped open and taped back up. There were chips and scratches that for the most part I could hide by putting those sides in the back. The covers for the screws were a joke and when placed on the bottom just make the whole unit rock. The holes should be drilled so the screws can be tightened flush with the surface. I wasn't thrilled with the over all organizer but it's for my son's playroom so it will do.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

good product!

07/05/2013
By ,
Highland park, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price was important when choosing this item. At the price I paid, I didn't expect much. I am actually impressed with the item. good quality, appears to be very sturdy. it arrived with a couple of scratches but not to much of a big deal. the item has 9 cubes but only brings 5 backs instead of the full nine. I decided against the backs. it was very easy to assemble, I have an electric drill and I put it together in 10 min max. if you are using a screw driver it will take longer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

Love this!!

09/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this organizer for almost a month now. The assembly was easier than I thought it would be ( especially since I'm not the handiest person). I even have my 42" inch tv sitting on top. No problem! This product exceeded my expectations, I just wish it was a little bigger is my only complaint.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

Great storage solution

09/22/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was very heavy and my husband did have to help with lifting and had to use a drill with a screwdriver bit to get the screws in. But for this price it offered a great storage solution for my fabrics which were just sprawled out on a bed. I even found a kitty when I organized them(ha ha). Now I can see everything.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

Looks good

08/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using it for our son's play room. The material is cheap but will do its job.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

My son love it !!!

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, perfect color... I couldn't ask for anything better... Love it
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

Great Design and Function, Rough Around Edges

04/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered two of these and just finished assembling them. Several of the side panels came slightly dented in on the corners (barely noticeable after assembly). I can definitely see how other reviewers are complaining about handling/packaging of the box. Also, in both packages I received two bottom panels instead of a bottom and a top. I had to punch through several holes with a nail to get the dowels to line up. This did not end up significantly affecting the appearance or integrity though.
I opted not to use the tacky looking screw covers - I think the unit looks great without them.
I am very impressed with the overall design and ease of assembly. The assembled unit feels very sturdy and heavy, despite the material being particle board. I am planning to use these as book/display cases and am quite confident they will perform admirably in this role.
The color is a very dark brown and is easily mistaken for black in low level lighting.
Note: these appear to be designed to be stacked, and come with two extra dowels to secure a stacked configuration. I am using my two side-by-side however.
Bottom line: if you are looking for a mint condition product - look elsewhere. You should expect this product to arrive a little rough around the edges. If you just want something that is extremely affordable and gets the job done you can do no wrong with this organizer for $40. I think the design looks really cool too - and I don't mind the minor imperfections. I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

07/02/2013
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a beginner piece of furniture, you can't beat the price. If constructed properly, by taking your time & having an extra set of hands, this piece goes together rather quickly. In addition, to the provided supplies, I also used wood-glue, on exposed seams & dowels. Just have a damp-cloth for any excess.
If you also purchase the Closetmaid Fabric Baskets (Drawers) they fit very nicely, into the slots, as they are made for this unit, or anything ClosetMaid. The color of this piece, isn't a true flat-black. It is what it says it is, "Espresso," a darker-brown.
Again, for the money, you can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso
05/22/2013
By ,
ROCKFORD IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PERFECT FOR WHAT I WANTED IT FOR, SMALL APT SO MADE AN ENTERTAINMENT CENTER OUT OF IT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New York, NY
Small Apartment Also
Posted 09/27/2013
Hi, I was thinking of buying this as well for my apartment. I wonder if a 40" LCD HD TV would be OK to place on top? The shelves would be weighted down w/ magazines and books and possibly 3 of the cloth cube drawers will also be used. Thoughts? Thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

Perfectly fits in living room

07/20/2014
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these to use as storage for each side of he entertainment center in my living room. They were extremely simple to put together! I did them on my own in less than 20 minutes each.
The color is great.
There were no chips in any part nor were there any pieces missing (which has happened to me many times with other products)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

Good value for better than average quality

12/26/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only real complaint is the use of cheap particle board which is typical of these types of furniture items.
That being said, the quality is quite good. We bought it as a toy organizer for the living room. It's perfectly suited for that function, and it looks very nice.
Pros:
- Uses actual screws instead of those terrible cam nuts and bolts which tend to be brittle, ill fitting, and loosen over time
- Screw holes lined up well, keeping shelves close to flush
- Easy to assemble
Cons:
- Product will not fit flush against a wall with baseboard making anchor installation more difficult but still possible
- Particle board
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

Great piece of furniture to keep toys reachable &

11/05/2013
By ,
Greenville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of furniture to keep our toys reachable for the children and organized
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

lousy product

03/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all, this product has too many pieces to put together. Secondly, it was missing some of the holes with which I was supposed to screw pieces together and I had to try to drill holes on my own. Thirdly, at least two places broke when I tried to use screws in the holes I drilled, and in disgust I threw the entire mess into the garbage can. I went to Walmart and bought an entirely different brand of cube storage.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

Do not order online

07/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product was great and meets expectations. It was easy to set up. When package arrived, item was damaged. All of the corners were smashed. I ended up having to go into the store to return the item. The item in store was in perfect condition. If I had to do it over again, would not waste time ordering online!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

nice but directions bad

03/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some parts werent marked so we had to guess what they were then once had to take a piece off and rearrange it because it was the wrong part other than that its cute and looks finebut some beige fabric drawers for it and they look really nice
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

Price is right, you get what you pay for

06/27/2013
By ,
Prosper, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price was right & the unit had the size cubeicals that I wanted. I didn't bother putting the faux wood on the back of the 5 openings as I have cloth baskets in all 9 of the openings to store kids toys & books & others reviews led me to believe that in my case it wasn't worth the trouble. If I ever decide to install them I'll probably try my staple gun before I try those awful teeny nails! No problems with assembly except that the caps provided to cover the screws didn't want to stay on. They don't show because of where the organizer is located in my home, but if they were showing I'd probably just super glue or hot glue them on. It's your typical wood-like finish which has scratched already (we've owned less than a month). Overall I got what I expected for the price I paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

Please buy something better

11/30/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought four of these to make a room divider shelf system as a Christmas gift to my brother. The instructions were a joke, showing the same board for the bottom as the sides. Someone got a bit happy drawing dots where holes should be.
Instructions are a minor thing compared to how easily these things chip and scratch. If you buy one, be super careful when tapping dowels in. If you push too hard, they'll go right through the "wood" (seriously lightweight sawdust board). As for being easy to scratch, I am not kidding. Thin, non-wood veneer is par for shelving like this, but, whoa... this is covered in *very* thin paper. Yes, paper.
I sincerely hope that other furniture items these days that are made using fiberboard are of much better quality than this organiser by ClosetMaid. Otherwise, I'll just start making my own.
Please, do yourself a big favour and buy something else.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

Looks pretty!

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the 9 cube organizer. I bought the dark color organizer. I am very pleased with the product. All screws are covered with a little colored circle matching your organizer. Easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

decent

03/05/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I liked it was way cuter than i thought it would be. But the little cubes they sell to put in it my walmart doesn't carry the ones that fit inside it and it is very frustrating because that is why i got it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ClosetMaid Cubeicals 9-Cube Organizer, Espresso

Perfect for its purpose.

02/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this cube organizer to use as cubbies in a semi-professional setting. Construction was simple enough, it is made from particle board but it looks nice when completed. I was expecting sturdier backing on the 5 cubes with solid backs, but for the price its hard to complain. This is not a rock solid piece of furniture, but it looks good and does exactly what it is made for.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next