Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Bissell Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

The Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop delivers a deep clean with a fresh scent. This Bissell Steam Mop, 1940, is designed to get deep down into grout and crevices to remove stubborn stains and grime. The steam mop, grout, features a removable water tank to make refilling at the sink a breeze. When used as directed, the Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop sanitizes with steam and kills 99 percent of germs on contact. This Bissell Steam Mop, 1940, will help keep your home or office clean and sanitary.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(605 Reviews) 591
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
466
4 stars
105
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation96%331 out of 346reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
85 Questions | 362 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
466
4 stars
105
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Great floor cleaner

08/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with my Bissell Powerfresh Steam Mop. It met all my expectations and then some. I previously had a Shark Steam Mop for 4 years which broke. I replaced it with another
Shark which I used once and the head blew off, I then replaced that with another Shark and that
one also blew up on me. I then bought a different model Shark which I used for about a month
and my floors got progressively worse because the disposal pads did not evenly clean the floor so
I had clean spots and dirty sections and lots of streaking. I returned the mop. Then I saw the
Bissell advertised with great reviews so figured I would give it a try. Well, I was so excited the
first time I used it because my floor looked wonderful, even the grout which was really gross.
The more I use it the better my floor looks. I am glad I bought this Bissell. The only downside is
the price of the replacement pads. My floor was so gross that I have already had to replace the pads. I am sure that as this machine cleans my floor it will be easier to wash the pads & get them clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Glad I read all the reviews!

07/05/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really need to take a second to write this review as my decision to purchase this item and from Walmart on line, was made by reading other reviews. I love this product. From the second it arrived (which was so incredibly fast; to my door!) I found it to be a no nonsense product. Easy to put together and easy to use. Yes, there is no "on/off switch"...so what? My entire down stairs of my home and the stairs themselves are wood. I realized after my grandson had been crawling around and his knees were black that I needed to do something about the floors that LOOKED clean, but obviously were NOT. This product worked easily, removed so much nasty business from floors that LOOK clean...they now ARE clean. Whole house smelled nice and not one streak or puddle of water left on the wood. LOVE this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Bought a second for another home

10/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned and used this product regularly for 2.5 years. I have been so pleased with it's performance, ease of use, and overall design that I have recommended it countless times. I recently just bought another for my mother's home. I use it mostly on porcelain tile, but according to the description, it can be used on a variety of surfaces, including wood. Can't beat it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

So far, so good!

02/21/2013
By ,
Cullman, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this steam mop a few weeks now and have been very satisfied. Very easy to use & lightweight. I have tried several brands including several original H20 mops, tried the Shark Professional (which was returned) I judge a mop on how dirty the pads get.
The H20 put out too much steam making the floors very wet. The Bissell seems to put out just enough steam, the floors dry quickly. I'm not sure if the grout scrubber actually does anything.
I would like the cord rounded and longer. I would also rather use tap water than to have to buy distilled and store it. I do like the scent disc that is inserted. I cut it in half so it isn't overpowering.
Overall, I am very happy with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

So Far I love it better than the Shark

10/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its lightweight, easy filling tank, does a wider section when cleaning and heats up much faster than the Shark. If it holds up longer than my Shark did, I will buy one for my kids homes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

So easy!

10/20/2014
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived fast, easy to put together. Fill with water, there is no on/off button, just plug in, warm up, press the setting for strength of steam and you're off. Did both my laminate wood and tile floors. 2 pad styles. Did not use fragrance as I'm allergic to fragrances. Lightweight. Easy to wash mop head covers. Would highly recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

10/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bissell puts off a lot of steam and cleans the floors really well. The mop cover also stays on extremely well and does not come off during cleaning. The swivel neck makes it easy to get into narrow places. The long power cords allows me freedom to clean a large area without having to relocate the plug. It also is light weight and easy to use. I highly recommend the Bissell Power Fresh Steam Mop, 1940.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Love it!!!!

03/12/2013
By ,
Hawthorne, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got it today and gave it a test...I love it as did my mother whom I bought it for. Kitchen floor looked amazing and clean and FELT so clean too. This is the first time I even take the time to review an item I've purchased but I liked it a lot. This would be great for everyone but especially for those that have children who run around and kiss the floor all day...I don't have children but I would feel very comfortable knowing my kids are running around in a clean and disinfected floor. I am so happy I got this, I just hope it lasts very long. Thanks to all those that took the time to write a review, as my decision on this particular steam mop was based on reviews and ratings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Simplicity and Another Great Bissell Product

01/07/2014
By ,
Long Beach Island, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all...excellent delivery time from Walmart: ordered on 1-2-14 was promised by 1-13-14 but received it on the 6th, which was a good surprise.
I previously had a Shark steam mop, basic model, which has a tank attached to the unit. It had only one setting and it was activated by the mopping motion. I had accidentally left water in the tank overnight (you are not supposed to do that) and sure enough it stopped working.
So, I was on the quest for another steam mop and did not want all these fancy additional features that require purchasing more items. I just wanted something basic with a detachable water tank. I also wanted something under $100.00. I looked at all the Shark models and all the comparable Bissell ones.
I almost purchased another Shark, until I saw some negative feedback on it versus this simple Bissell PowerFresh Mop, 1940. The Bissell won my favor. I have used it for the first time and
like the fact that it has 3 settings, has a swivel mop head, a scrub brush, and it produces the steam very quickly without having to activate it with the mopping motion, like the Shark model. I have marble, granite and wood floors, and they all cleaned up well. It comes with another style mop head and some fresh scent discs, which I have not used yet. It was a breeze to put together, too.
I think that it cleans better than the Shark. I am very pleased with the purchase.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Love It

09/03/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940. My last steamer was a Shark and it left streaks on my laminate floors that caused me go over them a second time. I now enjoy cleaning my laminate floors with little effort. No Streaks and they dry fast. I do suggest you dampen the pads first as they are thick and only use 1/2 of the fragrance discs as they are very strong. Also I noticed that my floors dry shinier whereas the shark left them dull looking. I am so very happy that I made this purchase. Thanks to all the great reviews not only on the Walmart site but also on other review sites. For me it was worth every penny. I ordered it online and Walmart had it at my door in 3 days ... Great Service!! Great Product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940
07/01/2013
By ,
jacksonville, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had this for two weeks and find that it cleans much, much better than the Shark I had, no streaking and the dog drool is effectively gone. I always pre-dust the laminate floors with a dry Swiffer pad, this gets up all the fine hairs and dust that a dog and 2 cats bring in from the yard. I like the larger head on this steamer, the cord length is fine for me. I do not mind that there is no off/on switch, one less thing to go kaput. I use distilled water, one filling should be enough to do the job for most households. I like that it will stand upright by itself. i give this steamer a five, and hope that it continues to make me happy as the months go by. will update if needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Bissell steam mop good buy

10/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only problem is the price was lowered to $79.00 right after I ordered online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

good product got the job done

10/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does a nice job.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Great Steam Mop

09/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This steam mop met all my expectations, it is easy to operate and does a superb job on my floors. I like it much better than the Shark I had previously.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Better than the competitions

11/07/2013
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a different steam mop (won't mention the name, but it's a popular one) that broke after 1 year. It was not made as well as the Bissell appears to be made. It broken at the base with water spraying all over my new hardwood floors. The base of the bissell appears to have a much better connection so am hoping for better results. THe multiple steam setting is much nicer also and the cord is very long so you don't have to keep unplugging, waiting for it to heat up, etc. The scent discs are just ok, the aroma is a little overpowering.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Wonderful mop, easy to use, fun to use(for a mop!)

08/08/2014
By ,
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had this product into 2nd week and used it 3 times. Today is mop day again. It is living up to my expectations because it was the most highly rated of the steam mops at the most reasonably priced. I did a great deal of research over several days, over several online sites and phone calls. I read 100's of reviews and finally settled on this Bissell PowerFresh. It is easy to use, reaches corners and around toilets, light weight enough for arthritic hands of almost 70 yrs. Can be carried up and down stairs easily and mops them as well. The three steam settings make the work quicker, too; I believe. The heavy steam setting clean spots downstairs where grandchildren play and spill.
I actually can't be more satisfied---now, it must last. Water receptacle is small, but then machine isn't heavy either, not even an issue to refill as that is easily done. Don't leave the water dispenser in the mop during storage or let it rest on floors in off position as there is some residual water left when chores are done. User directions are clear there though as are the directions for all use. I am not hesitant to recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

The best there is hands down.

02/22/2013
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your looking to buy a steam mop, this is the one you want. I've tried many, read reviews on a ton, and researched endlessly prior to purchasing this mop. When it arrived I put it together (you just have to insert the handle and screw in one screw to hold it, ad put the head unit on# and I immediately used it on our living room hardwood floor. It worked awesomely!! Heats up in 15-20 seconds and leaves NO STREAKS!!!!. It is not flimsy in construction like others I've seen or used. Love that it has a removable water tank for easy filling, love the scent discs #you only need to use half of one disc in the under side of the pad#. Cord length is acceptable #5ft longer would be ideal). Would like the tank size to be about double, but its large enough to throughly do a very large room, or 2 medium size rooms before you need to refill. The biggest plus?? The warranty. 99.9% of all other steam mops only have a 1 year warranty, this has a 2 year, and I would suggest spending the extra $9.00 to get the extended waranty. I'm typically not a fan of extended warranties, however, it seems that the average life for a steam mop is 1-2 years max, and the extended warranty covers everything, including damage caused my yours truely. I also would suggest spending the extra $20 or so dollars to et the 2 extra microfiber pads and extra 4 scent discs. You won't believe how much dirt it gets up, and having 4 pads versus the 2 that come with it insure that you always have a clean one handy when you need it. It came down to this or a haan, and I am glad I chose this. Only downside is that if your wanting to do your carpets as well as hardwood, Bissell is out of stock on the carpet glider attachment and I've been told by them it would be mid march until they have any in stock.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Very easy to use and works well

08/06/2013
By ,
Phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't decide between this and the other Bissell with triangle head- but decided that the triangle head was too small. This one works great. It is easy to use, easy to fill, and easy to change out the pads. It is not a miracle worker- I have some spots on my floor that I thought it would clear up, but I guess a stain is a stain is a stain. :) I did not think I would use the little refresher tablets, but I love them. It is not overpowering, just a light scent. I run an in-home dog business, and there is always dog hair and paw prints on my tile. I vacuum first, and then use the steam mop, and it is waaaaaay better than mopping. My floors seem to stay cleaner longer, and it does get in the corners, and it the scrub brush is handy. This was worth every penny and does just what it says it will do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Great steam mop

09/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used Shark steam mop in the past, but every year, I had to replace it because it would just stop working. It would make a hissing sound, but there would be no steam coming out.
I only purchased the Bissell a month ago, but I feel like it cleans the floors a lot better than the Shark. I also like the small water fill better as it is very easy to refill. I am just hoping that it will last longer than the Shark. Only time will tell.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Weak Steam

07/07/2014
By ,
Englewood, Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this steam mop for 10 months. From the get go the steam was very weak even on the third setting. The more I use it the weaker the steam is getting. Is goes through it's "warm up" period for about 40 seconds for 5 seconds of steam and then goes into the warm up process again. Very frustrating. Basically I am cleaning my wood floors with luke warm water and floors are very streaked. My first mop was a shark and I liked it very much, great steam, but it stopped steaming after 8 uses. I used tap water with the shark and that could have been my downfall. I then purchased a Haan steam mop after reading their reviews, that broke after 20 minutes. I purchased the Bissell because Bissell has been around forever. I think I may go back to a shark again.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 333 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next