Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Bissell Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

The Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop delivers a deep clean with a fresh scent. This Bissell Steam Mop, 1940, is designed to get deep down into grout and crevices to remove stubborn stains and grime. The steam mop, grout, features a removable water tank to make refilling at the sink a breeze. When used as directed, the Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop sanitizes with steam and kills 99 percent of germs on contact. This Bissell Steam Mop, 1940, will help keep your home or office clean and sanitary.
Average Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(540 Reviews) 526
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
418
4 stars
88
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation95%282 out of 297reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
77 Questions | 320 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
418
4 stars
88
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Love It

09/03/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940. My last steamer was a Shark and it left streaks on my laminate floors that caused me go over them a second time. I now enjoy cleaning my laminate floors with little effort. No Streaks and they dry fast. I do suggest you dampen the pads first as they are thick and only use 1/2 of the fragrance discs as they are very strong. Also I noticed that my floors dry shinier whereas the shark left them dull looking. I am so very happy that I made this purchase. Thanks to all the great reviews not only on the Walmart site but also on other review sites. For me it was worth every penny. I ordered it online and Walmart had it at my door in 3 days ... Great Service!! Great Product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Great job Bissell!!!

04/02/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the PowerFresh as a replacement for a Bissell steamer I had used for 5-6 years. Initially I thought I wanted to try another brand which I did purchase but returned it because of its poor design. Am so glad I returned to a Bissell. They have improved so many things in my new model- the cord is longer, the pads have improved, you no longer have to hold the steam trigger, the steam head is larger so takes less time to clean, and they have added the brush and scent options. I was a little concerned that the water reservoir was smaller, but I was easily able to clean my two bathrooms, kitchen and dining area without a refill. The choice of steam power is also nice. I choose the medium level and it cleaned my floors well. It is so easy to order from Walmart and the delivery came 10 days ahead of schedule!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Very pleased so far.

07/02/2014
By ,
Quad Cities, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked my Shark steam mop that I had prior to this unit, but it didn't last - quit working way too quickly. Using a steam mop on my hard floors has made a HUGE difference in how shiny and clean they are, plus it's incredibly easy to use a steam mop. I wanted to replace my dead Shark with (hopefully) a durable substitute, so I did a lot of research. I finally settled on this PowerFresh unit based on the positive reviews, features and price. Walmart had by far the best price, and their home delivery was lightning fast. I feel very satisfied with my purchase and so far love the PowerFresh 1940. It cleans really well, in fact I feel it cleans even better than the Shark did. The removable water reservoir is a great feature. I saw some reviewers that were frustrated with how hard it was to remove the tank -- I could see that being an issue if you have weak hand strength, but would suggest applying a sticky velcro strip or something to grab onto if necessary. For me, removing the tank hasn't been an issue, and it is so much easier to just be able to take the little tank to the sink rather than find a funnel to take from the sink to the unit to fill it. I also really like how the PowerFresh stands up on its own ~ it doesn't have to lean against something like my old Shark did. This unit has three steam settings just like the Shark did, and that's a feature I really like. The cord length is ample. I've used it about 3 times so far and have been pleased with the results! I've seen some reviews that were critical of too much water and streaking left behind so I was watchful for that. The highest steam setting will eventually make the pad pretty soggy. My observation is that the PowerFresh pad is thinner than the Shark's version, but ultimately I get a cleaner floor with the PowerFresh unit. I feel that the thinner pad helps get more hot moisture to the floor, but eventually it can't pick the moisture back up ~ the pad design might be something Bissell can continue to work on. However, I've found that laying a microfiber cloth down on the floor, placing the steam mop on top of it and then swiping over any areas that seem to have a bit too much water left behind helps make sure the floor dries quickly and I get maximum shine. I'm glad I purchased the PowerFresh 1940.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

I love this steamer!

07/20/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this steamer. I have had a shark steamer and an h20 and the bissel is hands down the best!!! The others do not last and are very hard to push and also the cords are short. This bissel is so easy to push with a very nice large head and the cord is so long I don't have to keep unplugging and find a new outlet. Very pleased!!! I have a cleaning business so I use it every day, finally found a really good one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Love it!!!!

03/12/2013
By ,
Hawthorne, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got it today and gave it a test...I love it as did my mother whom I bought it for. Kitchen floor looked amazing and clean and FELT so clean too. This is the first time I even take the time to review an item I've purchased but I liked it a lot. This would be great for everyone but especially for those that have children who run around and kiss the floor all day...I don't have children but I would feel very comfortable knowing my kids are running around in a clean and disinfected floor. I am so happy I got this, I just hope it lasts very long. Thanks to all those that took the time to write a review, as my decision on this particular steam mop was based on reviews and ratings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Steamsational

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the fact that you get three steam option settings. I used it once and the floors looked fabulous instantly. Plus, I don't have to worry about chemicals getting on my dog's paws since she follows me around as I clean. Bonus number two are those great smelling scent disc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Love this for so many reasons, almost no cons

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely love this steam mop. After the white glove inspection, I was hooked. I did prep my floors well with a detailed brush/vacuum and the bathrooms, I mopped first with a disposable (only because I am OCD). It was much easier than a mop and it was much cleaner. Loved the water not getting dirty. I did hand wash the mop pad a couple of different times just to keep it clean. The water tank lasted a pretty long time in spite of me having the mop on high steam. I was mopping tile. If there are any cons to this mop, it would just be that, on high steam, the mop pad gets pretty soaked but since I wash it out, it was no problem for me. Just to check, I went back over my floors with a white brand clean cloth and got zero dirt/grime/dust off of the cloth. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Works great!

07/06/2014
By ,
Mobile, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my mother on Walmart.com when it was 20% off and was out of stock in her local store. She is in LOVE with this steam mop! She had hairspray caked up on the vinyl flooring in her bathroom and the steam helped lift it. She has laminate flooring in the rest of the house and loves the job this machine did on them (she used the lowest heat setting on the laminate and the highest on the vinyl, and only used pure water in it - no cleaners that would streak). Only problem is she wants more of the mop heads and the website is out of stock.....will have to try another retailer for those. I'll be buying my own mop soon when they are back in stock.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940
07/01/2013
By ,
jacksonville, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had this for two weeks and find that it cleans much, much better than the Shark I had, no streaking and the dog drool is effectively gone. I always pre-dust the laminate floors with a dry Swiffer pad, this gets up all the fine hairs and dust that a dog and 2 cats bring in from the yard. I like the larger head on this steamer, the cord length is fine for me. I do not mind that there is no off/on switch, one less thing to go kaput. I use distilled water, one filling should be enough to do the job for most households. I like that it will stand upright by itself. i give this steamer a five, and hope that it continues to make me happy as the months go by. will update if needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

EASY

07/24/2014
By ,
SAN LEON, TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My floors look better and sanitary. 2 dogs. Successful solution.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Really Like

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I really like it. Just started using it. Floors cleaner than I can ever remember.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Simple to operate and it does the job

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to operate and it does the job
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

a man can even do it!

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great,fast,easy.no buckets,soaps or wax.just water,steamer and a man."poof" DONE!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Better than the competitions

11/07/2013
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a different steam mop (won't mention the name, but it's a popular one) that broke after 1 year. It was not made as well as the Bissell appears to be made. It broken at the base with water spraying all over my new hardwood floors. The base of the bissell appears to have a much better connection so am hoping for better results. THe multiple steam setting is much nicer also and the cord is very long so you don't have to keep unplugging, waiting for it to heat up, etc. The scent discs are just ok, the aroma is a little overpowering.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

good product

07/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
even though walmart had the best price around for this product- i still think it's a little expensive, but it gets the job done. Even the kids don't mind mopping now. I live in a 2bd/2ba townhouse and on the low setting when i'm doing the weekly clean - i can get through the entire house without refilling the water. I'm not looking forward to buying the scent refills, but I definitely think I want to use them everything i use the mop.
Overall, i'm happy with my purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

High Marks

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for this Bissell Steam Mop. I was injured a few months ago and needed a floor cleaner that was easy to use and lightweight. I looked at all the Steam Mop products and read all the reviews before deciding this product was likely to be the best one for me. I comment Walmart for timely delivery.
I ordered a box of extra cleaners and glad I did. In fact wish I had ordered another box so I could keep rotating them while still cleaning so as to not spread dirty wet pad. I have several pets, and the tile floors get very dirty fast. I was looking for directions and finding none, looked on the back of the box and what I needed was there. The rest was easily figured out.
The water chamber cleans about 800 sq ft before needing a refill. And this is fine with me because I'd rather refill than have a more cumbersome product from a big chamber. The water chamber was a bit tricky to pull out with only one arm but not impossible. I was impressed with the cleaning after the first couple of passes. It's not that awkward to use with one arm either, and I notice that the higher the steam level the harder to push so that can easily be controlled.
I like that the cord sticks on itself, and it is long enough. I'm glad I bought the Bissell, and recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

The steam is consistant and it is easy to operate.

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used the shark and a few other brands. For every day cleaning it works very well. The head is easy to manover and the refill take holds enough to do about 600 sqft of floor or more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Steam mop

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So have had it for a week and really works well. Easy to use and clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Good for what it is

07/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My house has tile, wood, and vinyl floors. I wanted something that would clean floors easily so that my children can help with the chore. We have only used it for a while but I'm pleased with how it cleans the tile which is in our most heavily trafficed areas including kitchen. I used it on a section of my wood flooring and it appeared somewhat streaky/cloudy and I'm concerned about possible damage from the steam so I've decided to use other cleaning options there. However, I'm pleased with the results elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Steam mop that gets the job done.

01/21/2014
By ,
Houston, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I shopped around for a steam mop and decided to purchase the Bissell Power Fresh steam mop, after I had read all of the reviews on line for several different brands. I was so excited when the mop arrived so quickly and could hardly wait to put it together and try it out. I found it easy to put together by following the instruction manual.
The mop is perfect for my needs, as I have 2 dogs and 2 grandkids. After using the steam mop for the first time, I was surprised that it was so easy to use and was pleased with how it cleaned my ceramic tile floor. The mop also has a long cord on it so you don't have to keep stopping to switch to a different plug in, which is a plus for me.
The only thing that I do not like about this mop is that you can't turn the steam off and on when you want to. You just add the water to the mop and then plug it in and wait about 20 to 30 seconds for it to heat up and then it provides a steady steam as you mop, which after a while causes the mop pad to become saturated and the floor is pretty wet. This is really not a big deal to me considering the price I paid for the mop. I have ceiling fans through out my house that I just turn on after mopping and the floors dry in no time.
I am glad that I purchased this mop and only wished that I had purchased one sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 284 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next