Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Bissell Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

The Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop delivers a deep clean with a fresh scent. This Bissell Steam Mop, 1940, is designed to get deep down into grout and crevices to remove stubborn stains and grime. The steam mop, grout, features a removable water tank to make refilling at the sink a breeze. When used as directed, the Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop sanitizes with steam and kills 99 percent of germs on contact. This Bissell Steam Mop, 1940, will help keep your home or office clean and sanitary.
Average Customer Rating:
4.606 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(687 Reviews) 673
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
518
4 stars
124
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation95%401 out of 420reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
92 Questions | 371 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
518
4 stars
124
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Awesome steam mop

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2nd Shark steam mop didn't last again.. I decided to shop around and read numerous positive revues on the Bissell, so I bought it. I was amazed of how much easier and efficient this machine was. The design and mechanics of this mop are of a higher standard than the Shark. It should last a long time.. The issue with the Shark is it's design. The tubing for water flow to mop head is so small that corrosion will cause it to eventually snap. The Bissell design ensures steam throughout the entire mop head giving you a cleaner floor.. The results were phenomenal in a home with three dogs and all laminate flooring.. Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Works, but Not a Miracle

01/06/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have used the Bissell steam mop a few times since we got it. Note to purchasers - it does require distilled water, just like an older model iron. Also, the mop pads need to be washed separately following the washing instructions in order to preserve the elastic bands. That being said, it seems to work fairly well. The steam mop is not a miracle - you still have to scrub a bit, and it does not clean grout perfectly. The dirt is steamed onto the mop pad, which then has to be washed. Where it is more effective than a regular mop is that the amount of moisture is controlled and that it does not spread mud-water over other parts of the floor. It seems to work best on linoleum tile floors. Overall, probably worth the money - we will see how it holds up over time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Glad I read all the reviews!

07/05/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really need to take a second to write this review as my decision to purchase this item and from Walmart on line, was made by reading other reviews. I love this product. From the second it arrived (which was so incredibly fast; to my door!) I found it to be a no nonsense product. Easy to put together and easy to use. Yes, there is no "on/off switch"...so what? My entire down stairs of my home and the stairs themselves are wood. I realized after my grandson had been crawling around and his knees were black that I needed to do something about the floors that LOOKED clean, but obviously were NOT. This product worked easily, removed so much nasty business from floors that LOOK clean...they now ARE clean. Whole house smelled nice and not one streak or puddle of water left on the wood. LOVE this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Not a high pressure steamer

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to maneuver. If you want a lot of steam keep the setting on high. You will not see a lot of steam rise up like on most machines but it does a good job. I did make a complaint with the company that no carpet glider was included like the box said, so that is an extra fee if you want one and there was only one cleaning pad in the box which they did mail another one out. All in all it cleans the floors nicely with no streaks behind. The machine stands up without leaning it against the wall and heats up pretty fast.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Gest deal

01/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far I am very pleased with this steam mop. Works really well fir the price. Did use too much water at first but I believe that I kept the scrubber down too much of the time. Only thing a little frustrating is it having to cycle through when you have to move the plug. Would be great if there was a 30 second suspension for you to move the plug while machine still hot. However, I am learning to work around that issue with an extension cord. For the price it does the job well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Love it!

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mop is easy to assemble (1 screw), the mop pad is larger than most, it has 3 steam settings, and is light weight. I have tried 3 other steam mops. Each of them left me wanting. The Bissell 1940 gave me what I wanted. Easy to use. Does not leave streaks, and did a great job on tile and wood floors. My search for "the better steamer" is over. The Bissell 1940 does the job. I do wish it had the mop head flip feature, which allows both sides of the pad to be used, but the pros far outweigh the one con.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

CLEANING MACHINE

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS MOP! I decided to buy this mop when I found that my spray mop was not getting all the dirt mopped up from my floors.Now the grout lines on my linoleum floor looks clean. I can not believe the difference.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Love it!!!!

03/12/2013
By ,
Hawthorne, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got it today and gave it a test...I love it as did my mother whom I bought it for. Kitchen floor looked amazing and clean and FELT so clean too. This is the first time I even take the time to review an item I've purchased but I liked it a lot. This would be great for everyone but especially for those that have children who run around and kiss the floor all day...I don't have children but I would feel very comfortable knowing my kids are running around in a clean and disinfected floor. I am so happy I got this, I just hope it lasts very long. Thanks to all those that took the time to write a review, as my decision on this particular steam mop was based on reviews and ratings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

So far, so good!

02/21/2013
By ,
Cullman, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this steam mop a few weeks now and have been very satisfied. Very easy to use & lightweight. I have tried several brands including several original H20 mops, tried the Shark Professional (which was returned) I judge a mop on how dirty the pads get.
The H20 put out too much steam making the floors very wet. The Bissell seems to put out just enough steam, the floors dry quickly. I'm not sure if the grout scrubber actually does anything.
I would like the cord rounded and longer. I would also rather use tap water than to have to buy distilled and store it. I do like the scent disc that is inserted. I cut it in half so it isn't overpowering.
Overall, I am very happy with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Better than Shark

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item is so much better than the Shark and does not leave streaks!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Fast and Easy

01/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used my steamer one time so far but was very happy with the way it performed. I used it on ceramic tile in the kithchen. The floor was quite dirty since we had recently move into this house and I was waiting for the steamer for cleaning it. Our tile is not smooth and so the little crevices I literally had to clean out with a paring knife - that took a while - but the tile looked great when I was done.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

better than scrubbimg

09/20/2014
By ,
Coastal NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have only used once since we got it. First time showed marked difference on tough areas of vinyl kitchen floor tiles. Tiles have a textured stone like finish. Did not work as well as I had hoped on vinyl grout . Grout may take more application and some hand brush work to get it to look new. I suspect steam cleaner will go a long way to keeping it clean. Was exactly what I was looking for on oak floor. Cleaning ,in he past, seemed to leave a slightly cloudy surface look. This cleaned that and left floor looking real good. Both vinyl and wood floors look much better after first use. Wish unit had a better scrubbing device. Doesn't seem to apply enough pressure to remove dirt from some tough grout areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940
07/01/2013
By ,
jacksonville, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had this for two weeks and find that it cleans much, much better than the Shark I had, no streaking and the dog drool is effectively gone. I always pre-dust the laminate floors with a dry Swiffer pad, this gets up all the fine hairs and dust that a dog and 2 cats bring in from the yard. I like the larger head on this steamer, the cord length is fine for me. I do not mind that there is no off/on switch, one less thing to go kaput. I use distilled water, one filling should be enough to do the job for most households. I like that it will stand upright by itself. i give this steamer a five, and hope that it continues to make me happy as the months go by. will update if needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

love it!

01/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this mop. It smells so clean when I'm finished mopping and my ceramic tile shines and looks so clean! I tried another steam mop before this one with disposable pads and I had to use 2 when I mopped bc they would tear on my ceramics floors. I like that this mop has washable pads because they are stong and durable and I don't have to worry about buying the pads. I also like that I can just take the tank to the sink and fill it up without having to take the entire mop as with the other one. This is a great product and worth the investment!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Not a good Mop

11/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not been as happy with this mop as I was my shark. It did not clean as well and the steam was not as powerful as the shark
It's been 6 months and the machine just died on me. So I will not be purchasing more Bissell products, this is not the first time I have been disappointed with a product for hard floors.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Quick and Easy for Porcelain Tile

11/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This really gets the floor clean with no passing marks on tile. Steams lasts for a good while too. The little scrubber at the foot base is not particularly easy to use and is awkward. I personally think the scrubber was probably one of those add ons to make it seem more versatile. The head of the mop is so easy to manuever under and around. I have only a kitchen and utility room in tile but I feel it is worth it just for those areas. Just buy it with idea of replacing your mop and you will be very happy.
Boy, don't use it on wood that is not sealed and finished!!! I tried it just to see what would happen and it discolored the wood. The steam is very hot and penetrates surfaces that are not sealed quickly. All the reason why it does so good on my porcelain tile.!
I intend to try it next on a painted cement porch. I think it should do fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Fabulous steamer!

01/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always trusted Bissell for the best quality products and this steamer definitely upholds that view. I feel that this steamer cleans my kitchen floor much more thoroughly than typical mopping and it sanitizes it - a big plus! Plus, it was a breeze using it and it was able to get into tight spots with it's swivel head. Drying time was so much quicker, too. I would definitely recommend this to everyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Heavy , Harsh , Unreliable

01/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it when I first installed a very expensive top of the line laminate floor and it ruined it as the steam leaves puddles of water around
it stopped working in a week
very had to maneuver very heavy very ugly looking
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Love It

09/03/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940. My last steamer was a Shark and it left streaks on my laminate floors that caused me go over them a second time. I now enjoy cleaning my laminate floors with little effort. No Streaks and they dry fast. I do suggest you dampen the pads first as they are thick and only use 1/2 of the fragrance discs as they are very strong. Also I noticed that my floors dry shinier whereas the shark left them dull looking. I am so very happy that I made this purchase. Thanks to all the great reviews not only on the Walmart site but also on other review sites. For me it was worth every penny. I ordered it online and Walmart had it at my door in 3 days ... Great Service!! Great Product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Cleaning staple every home should have...

01/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this in time for the holiday season after our old steamer died. I have used it on tub and shower floors and walls. When the flu and a stomach bug hit our house, we used it to clean rugs and disinfect surfaces. I haven't used the scent disks yet and doubt I will. But the large size and the scrubber cover make this the best option for those with large spaces and lots of traffic. I would have given it a 5 if there were a way to get into smaller spaces.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 407 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next