Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Bissell Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

The Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop delivers a deep clean with a fresh scent. This Bissell Steam Mop, 1940, is designed to get deep down into grout and crevices to remove stubborn stains and grime. The steam mop, grout, features a removable water tank to make refilling at the sink a breeze. When used as directed, the Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop sanitizes with steam and kills 99 percent of germs on contact. This Bissell Steam Mop, 1940, will help keep your home or office clean and sanitary.
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(744 Reviews) 730
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
563
4 stars
133
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation96%437 out of 456reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
98 Questions | 380 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
563
4 stars
133
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Love it!!!!

03/12/2013
By ,
Hawthorne, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got it today and gave it a test...I love it as did my mother whom I bought it for. Kitchen floor looked amazing and clean and FELT so clean too. This is the first time I even take the time to review an item I've purchased but I liked it a lot. This would be great for everyone but especially for those that have children who run around and kiss the floor all day...I don't have children but I would feel very comfortable knowing my kids are running around in a clean and disinfected floor. I am so happy I got this, I just hope it lasts very long. Thanks to all those that took the time to write a review, as my decision on this particular steam mop was based on reviews and ratings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Love this steam mop!!

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a Bissell Steam mop for approximately 13 years and it just died recently. I loved it.
I wanted to replace it with another Bissell and found this upgraded version. I ordered it, received it in two days and absolutely love it. It has a larger mop head surface that the older one. The cord is longer, which is great - by the time you finish an area, it is almost dry to go back and unplug. I normally just move the plug to another area prior to mopping (referring to the person who was unhappy with the fact that there isn't an on/off switch.)
I also love the fact that it has three steam levels. I have one year old wood and had been afraid to mop it in the past. With the new mop, I used the lowest steam level and it was wonderful. It dried very quickly, left very little mop marks (we have a satin finish, not shiny on our wood).
If this mop lasts as long as my old one, I'll be even more happy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

So far, so good!

02/21/2013
By ,
Cullman, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this steam mop a few weeks now and have been very satisfied. Very easy to use & lightweight. I have tried several brands including several original H20 mops, tried the Shark Professional (which was returned) I judge a mop on how dirty the pads get.
The H20 put out too much steam making the floors very wet. The Bissell seems to put out just enough steam, the floors dry quickly. I'm not sure if the grout scrubber actually does anything.
I would like the cord rounded and longer. I would also rather use tap water than to have to buy distilled and store it. I do like the scent disc that is inserted. I cut it in half so it isn't overpowering.
Overall, I am very happy with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Love It

09/03/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940. My last steamer was a Shark and it left streaks on my laminate floors that caused me go over them a second time. I now enjoy cleaning my laminate floors with little effort. No Streaks and they dry fast. I do suggest you dampen the pads first as they are thick and only use 1/2 of the fragrance discs as they are very strong. Also I noticed that my floors dry shinier whereas the shark left them dull looking. I am so very happy that I made this purchase. Thanks to all the great reviews not only on the Walmart site but also on other review sites. For me it was worth every penny. I ordered it online and Walmart had it at my door in 3 days ... Great Service!! Great Product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940
07/01/2013
By ,
jacksonville, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had this for two weeks and find that it cleans much, much better than the Shark I had, no streaking and the dog drool is effectively gone. I always pre-dust the laminate floors with a dry Swiffer pad, this gets up all the fine hairs and dust that a dog and 2 cats bring in from the yard. I like the larger head on this steamer, the cord length is fine for me. I do not mind that there is no off/on switch, one less thing to go kaput. I use distilled water, one filling should be enough to do the job for most households. I like that it will stand upright by itself. i give this steamer a five, and hope that it continues to make me happy as the months go by. will update if needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Love this Mop! What a time saver.

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop 1940 for a week now and absolutely love it! I don't know how I've lived this long without it. I actually enjoy washing my floors now. I have tile, laminate, and hardwood floors throughout my home so my Bissell gets a workout. I love the fragrance disks and the cord is long enough; however, I attached an extension cord to mine. I recommend spending the few extra dollars to purchase the protection plan. I did buy the plan as I know my mop is going to be used a lot. The mop heats up well and I really like the multiple settings that let me decide how much steam/water to use. I have a sunroom with artificial hardwood so I use the lightest setting on that floor. The mop cleans well, is easy to maintain, and uses much less water on my delicate flooring than I did when I would clean them on my hands and knees. I LOVE THIS MOP!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Will not disappoint

02/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace my Shark Steam and Spray from Costco. It did not work well: water amount was not adjustable, left streaks and dirt. Water consumption was not consistent because first it dumped too much water then few weeks later not enough to even clean the floor. I returned it and started researching for the best steam mop. I found the best reviews for this Bissell mop. It was not sold at my WalMart so I ordered online (free shipping) and it was at my front door in 3 days! This is a simple mop with no bells and whistles but it works! I like that it is light weight, the tank is detachable for easy filling, and it comes with 2 pads. The lightest setting is perfect for my bamboo floors. It cleans perfectly and dries within 2 minutes with NO streaks. I don't love the smell of the disk but it is optional anyway. It would be nice to have the option to have spray cleaner on it but I can use a spray bottle of Bona right before so that is ok with me. I think simple is better with a steam mop because the more accessories it has, the bulkier it gets so simple is best. It cleans and that all that matters.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Very easy to use and works well

08/06/2013
By ,
Phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't decide between this and the other Bissell with triangle head- but decided that the triangle head was too small. This one works great. It is easy to use, easy to fill, and easy to change out the pads. It is not a miracle worker- I have some spots on my floor that I thought it would clear up, but I guess a stain is a stain is a stain. :) I did not think I would use the little refresher tablets, but I love them. It is not overpowering, just a light scent. I run an in-home dog business, and there is always dog hair and paw prints on my tile. I vacuum first, and then use the steam mop, and it is waaaaaay better than mopping. My floors seem to stay cleaner longer, and it does get in the corners, and it the scrub brush is handy. This was worth every penny and does just what it says it will do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Simplicity and Another Great Bissell Product

01/07/2014
By ,
Long Beach Island, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all...excellent delivery time from Walmart: ordered on 1-2-14 was promised by 1-13-14 but received it on the 6th, which was a good surprise.
I previously had a Shark steam mop, basic model, which has a tank attached to the unit. It had only one setting and it was activated by the mopping motion. I had accidentally left water in the tank overnight (you are not supposed to do that) and sure enough it stopped working.
So, I was on the quest for another steam mop and did not want all these fancy additional features that require purchasing more items. I just wanted something basic with a detachable water tank. I also wanted something under $100.00. I looked at all the Shark models and all the comparable Bissell ones.
I almost purchased another Shark, until I saw some negative feedback on it versus this simple Bissell PowerFresh Mop, 1940. The Bissell won my favor. I have used it for the first time and
like the fact that it has 3 settings, has a swivel mop head, a scrub brush, and it produces the steam very quickly without having to activate it with the mopping motion, like the Shark model. I have marble, granite and wood floors, and they all cleaned up well. It comes with another style mop head and some fresh scent discs, which I have not used yet. It was a breeze to put together, too.
I think that it cleans better than the Shark. I am very pleased with the purchase.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Better than the competitions

11/07/2013
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a different steam mop (won't mention the name, but it's a popular one) that broke after 1 year. It was not made as well as the Bissell appears to be made. It broken at the base with water spraying all over my new hardwood floors. The base of the bissell appears to have a much better connection so am hoping for better results. THe multiple steam setting is much nicer also and the cord is very long so you don't have to keep unplugging, waiting for it to heat up, etc. The scent discs are just ok, the aroma is a little overpowering.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

better than scrubbimg

09/20/2014
By ,
Coastal NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have only used once since we got it. First time showed marked difference on tough areas of vinyl kitchen floor tiles. Tiles have a textured stone like finish. Did not work as well as I had hoped on vinyl grout . Grout may take more application and some hand brush work to get it to look new. I suspect steam cleaner will go a long way to keeping it clean. Was exactly what I was looking for on oak floor. Cleaning ,in he past, seemed to leave a slightly cloudy surface look. This cleaned that and left floor looking real good. Both vinyl and wood floors look much better after first use. Wish unit had a better scrubbing device. Doesn't seem to apply enough pressure to remove dirt from some tough grout areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

nice mop

04/28/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice steam mop.. My old mop quit working so needed new one.. it steams the floors nice.. I like steam mopping much better than the old mops... leaves the floor much cleaner.. and no cleaners to buy.. I steam the floor with water and white vinegar... steam mop is very good at taking off stuck on things...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

The best there is hands down.

02/22/2013
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your looking to buy a steam mop, this is the one you want. I've tried many, read reviews on a ton, and researched endlessly prior to purchasing this mop. When it arrived I put it together (you just have to insert the handle and screw in one screw to hold it, ad put the head unit on# and I immediately used it on our living room hardwood floor. It worked awesomely!! Heats up in 15-20 seconds and leaves NO STREAKS!!!!. It is not flimsy in construction like others I've seen or used. Love that it has a removable water tank for easy filling, love the scent discs #you only need to use half of one disc in the under side of the pad#. Cord length is acceptable #5ft longer would be ideal). Would like the tank size to be about double, but its large enough to throughly do a very large room, or 2 medium size rooms before you need to refill. The biggest plus?? The warranty. 99.9% of all other steam mops only have a 1 year warranty, this has a 2 year, and I would suggest spending the extra $9.00 to get the extended waranty. I'm typically not a fan of extended warranties, however, it seems that the average life for a steam mop is 1-2 years max, and the extended warranty covers everything, including damage caused my yours truely. I also would suggest spending the extra $20 or so dollars to et the 2 extra microfiber pads and extra 4 scent discs. You won't believe how much dirt it gets up, and having 4 pads versus the 2 that come with it insure that you always have a clean one handy when you need it. It came down to this or a haan, and I am glad I chose this. Only downside is that if your wanting to do your carpets as well as hardwood, Bissell is out of stock on the carpet glider attachment and I've been told by them it would be mid march until they have any in stock.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Disappointing.

02/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really wanted to be impressed with this mop. With such great reviews, I thought I couldn't go wrong. Assembly was easy and straightforward. I followed the directions to fill the tank and turn the mop on. It did not produce steam, and leaked profusely from the back of the machine. Customer service at Bissell was a joke. I got a woman who I could barely understand, did not speak clear English, and after troubleshooting several possibilities, she wanted me to do the same things over again. All I ended up with was a giant water puddle in my kitchen floor. :( I finally got tired of it and hung up, disassembled the mop, and put it back in the box. It will be returned asap and I will go back to my Shark mop.
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

wow!

06/10/2013
By ,
Colonial Heights, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had bought a Shark steam mop and *thought* it did a good job, but when the Shark broke soon after purchase, I bought this Bissell. Oh, brother, now I see how poor a job the Shark actually did.
This is a really good steam mop. But it does take some effort to push it around. I *love love love* the removeable water reservoir. It's so much easier to refill a small cup than my old steam mop. And the small amount lasts through a lot of cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

In love!

03/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item based on the number of awesome reviews and I was not disappointed! I was in need of something to clean almost 800sqft of high traffic hardfloor living space (my entry way, hallway, bathroom, kitchen, and dining are all tile) as using a mop and bucket was way too much work. I used the steamer yesterday and the microfiber pad was filty! Only took about 30 seconds to heat up and the scent disk made my home smell amazing! Great buy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Quick clean up

12/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this steam mop because my sister has the same one and loves it. I got it at Walmart online for a great price compared to other stores. It was easy to put together, just pop a few things in place and one screw to tighten. It takes a minute or two to warm up then the steam comes out very strongly on the high setting. I vacuumed my floors before steaming because we have lots of pet hair. Then I steamed my whole kitchen, dining room and living room.(It is all ceramic tile) It took a little while to dry. I just needed to keep the pets and husband off the floor for 15 minutes. I looked at the mop and it definitely was dirty, even though I had cleaned my floors two days before. So I guess it works. I have only used it twice so far but it looks like it is a winner. I couldn't give it a five star because I have only used it twice and the cord is a bit short for my liking.
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Not a good Mop

11/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not been as happy with this mop as I was my shark. It did not clean as well and the steam was not as powerful as the shark
It's been 6 months and the machine just died on me. So I will not be purchasing more Bissell products, this is not the first time I have been disappointed with a product for hard floors.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

GREAT and EASY

02/25/2014
By ,
long island,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a GREAT Product!!! I have always Hated mopping and aftereading the reviews I got it and really love it!! I used it a few times this week and it is everything everyone said and more! It's almost Fun to use, I have never mopped more than 2x a month , and now I can't wait to use it. I've told all my friends and I wish I bought one 10 years ago! I love how clean my floors are and how fast it dries. Please get this if you are undecided, it's one of the best items I have ever bought and believe me, I have bought ALOT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Efficient Steamer

01/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really do recommend this steamer. It heats quickly, and cleans all of our tile floors just as fast. The mop head swivels which is handy to change angles around toilets, sink bases, bathtubs, walls, etc. You can only adjust the amount of steam received on the main on/off button, meaning the steam is not controlled by pulling a trigger, which I would prefer. Because of this lack of feature, the pad does get super wet in a pretty short period of time, but the floor seems to dry very quickly. I did purchase extra pads so I wouldn't have to stop and wring out the pad. I currently have, and have had a lot of floor/carpet cleaners made by Bissell, and I always rate them by one test, if I put on a pair of white socks and those socks are clean when walking on either tile or carpet, I'm a happy girl. Bissell has always passed my sock test.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 443 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next