Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Bissell Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

The Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop delivers a deep clean with a fresh scent. This Bissell Steam Mop, 1940, is designed to get deep down into grout and crevices to remove stubborn stains and grime. The steam mop, grout, features a removable water tank to make refilling at the sink a breeze. When used as directed, the Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop sanitizes with steam and kills 99 percent of germs on contact. This Bissell Steam Mop, 1940, will help keep your home or office clean and sanitary.
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(384 Reviews) 384
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
50
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation92%72 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
111 Questions | 407 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
50
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Lots of Steam!

05/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally, after going through 3 other steamers, i found one that really steams. It also holds enough water to get through a lot of ceramic tile flooring before I have to refill. The steamer is the only way to get into the grout and the grooves of the tile where dirty Swiffer water accumulates.
I love this steamer, it's a joy to use and my floors actually look clean and un-streaked when I'm done. Hoping that this Bissell outlives the Eureka and 2 Sharks I had before which only lasted about 2 years each.
Recommends this product? Yes
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Good value

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously owned a Shark cleaner until it stopped working after about a year. The Sharp always left water drops on my hard wood, water tank was too small and the electric cord too short. My Bissell cleaner was a great surprise! It's made much sturdier than the Shark, doesn't leak during cleaning floors, electric cord is a good length to allow cleaning of large rooms without moving to different outlets and it has a removable water tank for easy filling! I was concerned that the water tank was small but found that it did not require as many refills during cleaning as the Shark. And it does a great job cleaning the floors! Great value and very good product. I would certainly buy again.
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Not impressed for laminate flooring

06/07/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading the reviews, I thought this product would be great for my floors. It leaves horrible streaks all over my laminate wood flooring throughout the main level of my house. Cleans tile floor, kitchen laminate, and hardwood alright. Still stays wet for awhile after steaming, even on the lowest level. I needed something to sanitize and clean my laminate wood flooring. I am disappointed as the floors look terrible after cleaning. Hoping to find a better product for that purpose. I also don't like that it does not have an ON/OFF button. In order to begin using the product you just plug it in so when you are finished you just unplug it - don't really like pulling the plug out of an outlet with the appliance still on - seen a couple of sparks too. Don't think it would have been hard for them to install a button here.
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Not as advertised

07/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just picked up this item today and used it on my hard wood flooring. It left streaks/scrape marks. I could not believe it. My hard wood flooring is an oak color and
has a polyurethane finish. I contacted customer service and went through the same experience as another reviewer . Wipe the area with a damp cloth and then try with white vinegar. After repetitive questions my husband took over and requested a supervisor. Again, same questions were asked and advised that a return label would be mailed and that corporate would determine action in regard to the damage to the floor. The bottom line is we have an old Shark steam mop that we have never had a problem with and the padding is thicker although the velcro does not last long. I'm really disappointed because I bought several gallons of distilled water and additional pads and scent discs. I would not recommend this product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Great little mop

06/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lightweight, easy to use and refill with water, gets under counters nicely. Works great too and lifts up dried messes nicely...cleaning the floors is a breeze!
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Wish I bought years ago!

06/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing steam mop! I love how it cleans and the scent disks are amazing! Wish I bought this way sooner! I have 2 dogs that shed hourly so I vacuum first and then steam mop with this after. Makes my floors shine like brand new! 100% happy!
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Great Product

06/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am giving it 4 stars only because to me the best way to get your floors clean is scrubbing on your hands and knees! Other than that it works great! Love the scent pod and that it dries so fast. Also love how it disinfects the floors. Would definitely recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT!

06/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT! They can ruin your floors and the customer service is TERRIBLE! I heard such great things about the Bissell Steam Mop so I had to get one to try it for myself. I received the product on May 7th and I tried it 2 days later. The steam mop seemed to be working fine, but when my floors started drying up, I noticed a white residue on the floor. It was ALL over my living room hard wood floors when dried. I called customer service immediately and was left talking to someone for 30 minutes. He kept asking me the SAME questions over and over again, and it was getting no where. Finally, he told me that this has happened before and to try to get the residue out with vinegar and water. That did not work. He then transferred me to a supervisor that didn't answer the phone! I left a VM and got a call back and spent 30 minutes on the phone again answering the SAME questions! She then told me that she couldn't help me and that I would need to send the product in for an inspection at their corporate office.
It took 1 week for the label to arrive, and then I mailed back the product with my explanation and pictures. NO RESPONSE. I called back 2 weeks after I returned the product and the same customer service guy was on the call and I had to reexplain the situation again. He told me that they were still inspecting it. I told him to rush this issue through (My floors are still ruined and I often host events at my home). He transfers me to someone who can help and I was direct to another VM. I left a message and have not heard a response in a week.
I am not only disappointed in this product, but I am outraged at the customer service! They have been completely unhelpful, un-attentive. To this day, I still do not have a refund on this product and have not received a call on what they can do to accommodate my ruined hard wood floors. I just moved into a new home 7 months ago, this is ridiculous!
Don't purchase any Bissell products in the future! Their products and customer service team are terrible.
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Great product!

05/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is very easy to operate and does a great job on my tile.
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Excellent

07/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok. I've only used it once but that one time really impressed me! I searched for quite awhile before purchasing a steam mop, read lots of reviews, and am very satisfied with my purchase. I bought from Walmart because they have the best price. I have a fairly large home with the entire bottom floor being porcelain tile. I use to use mop and bucket method. What a difference with a steam mop. Tile looks beautiful afterwards. No water spots like with regular mop. I love how it dries so quickly too!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Mopping Not A Chore

07/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very simply, it is one of the better purchases that I've made in a long time. Not the least bit disappointed. Well, maybe one disappointment. There isn't any on/off switch which I did know about before I bought it and it is a little annoying. I will ignore that since the mop itself was so easy to assemble and it is so easy to use. I have a huge kitchen and it is clean in no time. By the time I go into the bathroom and do that floor the kitchen floor is dried. This is by far the BEST floor mop I have ever used and I've tried too many to count! I actually don't mind knowing it is time to clean the floors because it is so quick and easy and the results are fantastic. I did a lot of research and glad I chose this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

07/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently moved into a home with ceramic tile. For a few months beforehand, painters, plumbers, you name it, had been working in the home and the tile floor was terribly dirty. So we headed to Home Depot and bought some floor cleaner and a scrub brush. we scrubbed and mopped the entire home. The tile looked remarkably cleaner but didn't feel clean to the touch. That is when we decided to purchase the Bissell steam mop. It operates incredibly easily and efficiently and the floors are immaculate. You can walk throughout our home with bare feet and never have a scrape of dirt on them. Make sure to use distilled water to prolong the life of your steam mop. This is by far the best floor cleaning product I have ever used.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Bissell Steam Mop

05/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great. I like the washable pads. Easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

This is so much better than the shark I had.

06/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that you don't have to pump the handle to have it start steaming. The Bissell is a great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Leaks like crazy!

06/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I researched a lot of steam mops before making my purchase. I previously had a eureka steam mop for years that finally gave out so I thought I'd try something new. The first time work great, I loved the design. The second time I used it it started leaking out of a small hole in the back (pressure relief valve) and would leave the floors a little wet. I tried using it a couple more times and every time it leaked more and more until it was practically pouring out the back. I called bissell and they said I could send it in for a replacement but I decided to return it since I was in the return period. I only found a handful of other reviews of people saying it leaked so maybe I just got a bad one. Not sure if it's worth trying to purchase another one though.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Excellent quality

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this floor steamer with the swivel head it fits around the toilet. Lightweight makes it easy to use on different floor levels. Not a big deal to take out to the RV. The pads are machine washable and are a good quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Does the job, but not the best!!

07/17/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I literally looked through all of the reviews and even searched for YouTube videos and I was convinced it was the best steam mop out there...well I bought it, used it and the mop was ok! It was steaming up really nice but as I started to mop, it was a little hard to menouver around and after I was done I noticed streaks all over my hardwood floors, but then I tought maybe the steam was set on too high so I lowered it the next time I steamed, it wasn't so bad the next time, but it did still left some streaks and made my floors less shiny...now I just have to use a floor polish after I steam mop!! I think it's ok but they could do better!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Bissell steam mop and stick vacuum.

06/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this product very much. The price was amazing for the products. The mop is a little bulky for narrow areas. I also would have liked to see a little longer cord. It cleaned the floors a lot better than the previous brand I owned.
The vacuum is a little flimsy but for the price I can't complain. It has great suction and I don't have to worry about recharging the battery
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Love using a steamer !!!

07/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using a steamer on my floors for the past 3 years. I can only compare this to my last steamer which was a Haan. This one is much easier to use, gets around corners easier, and has 3 steam levels. The only reason I gave it 4 stars, is that I have trouble pulling the water vessel out. It is definitely more difficult to remove then my old Haan. Overall, I do like the Bissell more!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bissell PowerFresh Steam Mop, 1940

Great Steam Mop

07/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned two Shark steam mops in the past and they both didn't last over a year. Although I haven't had this one quite that long, thus far it performs better than the Sharks. Has a wider head, doesn't feel flimsy and the adjustable steam output is great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next