Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

The Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style) offers a durable, reliable and comfortable shelter for a variety of long outdoor trips. This Instant Cabin Tent is capable of sleeping up to eight people and offers a quick and convenient 60-second setup with no assembly required; the sturdy steel support poles come pre-attached to the tent. This Ozark 8-Person Tent can fit up to 2 Queen-sized airbeds and offers two separate rooms with five total windows. The Ozark Trail 13' x 9' Tent also features a tough and sturdy rainfly with factory-sealed seams to keep water and other elements out of the tent. A free-standing frame design means that no central support pillars are needed, allowing for maximum space and convenience, and a welded tub floor helps to prevent insects from entering. This Ozark 8-Person Tent also features electrical cord access, and comes complete with a carrying bag and tent stakes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.411 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation95%53 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
61 Questions | 217 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Good tent for the money.

03/19/2014
By ,
Brenham, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
More tent for the money than with other brands of instant tent. Sets up easy. Lots of room. Adequate shelter. The screened roof is covered with the rain fly. This design results in no condensation on the ceiling of the tent.
We've used the tent several times in Texas, New Mexico and Colorado. It has kept us dry and comfortable in some very adverse weather. Before using we sprayed it down with several cans of silicone water proofing. During the September 2013 floods in Colorado we were camping at Pagosa Springs. Although it did not rain as much there as in other parts of the state, it did get heavy at times. The tent leaked a little at the corners but not a drop from any where else. Between showers we tried drying the corner seams with a towel and applying seam sealer. This helped but did not stop the leaks entirely. In the Sam Houston National Forest of East Texas we again encountered torrential rains in late October of 2013. Again the corners leaked but not a drop from walls or roof. A tarp over the top took care of the problem. The only real wind was in New Mexico during a brief storm that had the tent flapping and rattling but suffering no damage.
Other than the leaky corners, the only other problem we have had is that twice straps on plastic hooks that connect the tent to the poles have pulled out of a corner seam. Nothing tore or ripped, they just pulled free from the stitching. Each time was during set up. No big deal. Easily repaired with needle and thread.
All things considered, the tent is a good buy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Great Tent for Amatuer

03/26/2014
By ,
Dunedin, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a tent to possibly use a couple times a year, as my daughter gets older and can appreciate a camping trip with her father.. The price was for this one was right and it had some features I was attracted to, such as ease of set up, inside height, and a mesh/screen ceiling, I saw as a benefit for air flow. Each Walmart in my area were out of this model in particular. I ordered online, buying also, two queen sized air mattresses Walmart bundled with the tent for a few extra dollars. Having not camped in several years, my 7 year old daughter and I were very pleased with the ease of setting up and the features. Compared to other name brand products, there is a slight difference in thickness of the nylon material, with this brand being thinner, however, with care and correct storing, I expect to have this tent serve my needs for years to come. Spacious and comfortable, I would recommend it to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Awesome tent, quick and easy to put up.

03/12/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this tent for the first time last fall in the mountains in a primitive camp site. I practiced on my lawn at home first before I left. It was a five hour drive to arrive and was getting dark fast. But just like the video it went up in less than a minute! The temps that trip dropped into the 30's at night. I zipped the windows closed, and lined the floor of the tent with a quilted moving blanket, and one of the blue roll up exercise matts under my air mattress. My sleeping bag was a zero degree rated bag. I was comfortable and warm. You should be careful with the HUB on the top center of the tent, the rivets appear to be fragile that hold it together. I also sprayed it with water sealer before I left home and let it dry and air out in the sun before I put it back in the bag.. I was able to put it up by myself with no problems. I will put the tarp on it next time before I stand it all the way up, I'm 5'5 and it was hard to attach it. Did I say I love this tent?? Oh and un zip the windows when you take it down, to get the air out and back in the carry bag! The door zipper, never failed!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Great Value!

07/29/2014
By ,
Naperville IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family camps a couple a times a year for 2-3 days. So, it's important that the tent set and take down process is simple. The Ozark Trail 8 person was a breeze! Took about 2-3 minutes to set up. minus the staking and the same time in taking it down. We have another brand of tent, a 10 person 2 room tent with a screened porch. Great tent if you don't mind the 30 minutes to set up and 30 minutes to take down. That is why we love this tent -- so easy and roomy. We opted for the 2013 Ozark Trail version vs 2014 since the 2013 floor bottom is a tub bottom - we like this feature to help eliminate possibility of water leak. In addition we liked the additional 4 in. of head room. Of course if you have done any camping you know that what ever the capacity for number of people a tent will sleep you must remember this is calculated based on sleeping bags side-buy-side like sardines. In reality a 8 person tent sleeps comfortably 5 people with room to move around and to put gear. This is especially if you are using air mattresses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

A well designed tent

05/25/2014
By ,
Chicago, il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this instant tent to cut down on the camping set up time (for the past 10 years, we've used an older Ozark tent that has been all over the country in all weather conditions and has endured except for wear and tear). This tent was easy to set up even for 1 person. Folding it back up took more effort and would definitely get the camper much dirtier than with our old tent that we used to roll up on the ground. The tent has decent space, lots of useful loops and hooks and is spacious enough for 2 queen size mattresses. The opening at the bottom middle of the tent for air is useful, but should include a zipper for those colder nights. There also should be a spot for a stake below the door opening to allow for easier opening. The door mat is detachable but shoul be built in, like on our older Ozark tent. The attachable utility pockets inside would be useful.
We are yet to camp in it yet, but we'll do it in a couple of weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Easiest tent set up ever!

03/28/2014
By ,
Delray Beach, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent came as a package deal with 2 Intex queen size mattresses. The price was UNBEATABLE. Believe me, I shop around to make sure I get the best deal. I had it shipped to home (which is free for standard shipping) and for an extra $3 it got here in 2 days. No kidding, it took 60 seconds, or less, to put up. It is super sturdy and comfortable and came with nice amenities like a room divider, 2 large hanging supply pockets, and a door mat! My 2 teen girls shared it on our last camping trip and they LOVED IT! It was like having their own bedrooms while camping. Since we have only used it once, I cannot comment on the durability, but I can tell you that I am shopping for a second tent for me and my husband to replace our 10 person tent and we are definitely purchasing an Ozark instant cabin tent from Walmart.com!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Bigger than we thought! Made a great gift!

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter and her family for her birthday. I was looking for something that you can stand up in and was roomy for 2 adults and 2 kids. I know from experience when they say sleeps four on the box, that it mean small skinny people sardined together. You should always get more than the recommended person. I also didn't want something that had a million poles and was difficult to set up. By the time you get to your destination, you do not feel like fumbling with poles and directions. Well I have to admit that everything that I read was true. The set up has 60 seconds. INCREDIBLE! It is large and roomy and well vented for those hot summer nights.My grandkids were so excited. My daughter loved the gray and orange colors, it looked nicer than on the box. They have not slept in it yet but are looking forward to a trip in a couple weeks. I do not know how well it will hold up in a nasty rain storm but gave it 5 stars for durability since the quality seemed great. The price was great as well. I ordered it with 2 queen air mattresses as a bundle for even better pricingas a package deal. Delvery was on time. Very Happy Camper!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Perfect for our family of 5!

03/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent holds two queen air mattresses with room to spare. Tall ceilings allow room to stand up and get dressed, even for 6' tall husband. Plenty of windows for ventillation, but thick enough to hold warmth inside. More than we expected!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Great Big Tent, but Set up is not 60 seconds.

04/01/2014
By ,
Miami, FL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My family and I used this tent when we went up to Fort Wilderness Campgrounds. The tent is definitely big and spacious. Great ventilation, seems sturdy, but won't know until it meets the test of time. It is easy to set up the tent itself, but a little longer to set it up as shown in the picture. Once you get use to it I can see it taking 60 seconds to fold up as advertised by the manufacture, but putting it completely away is longer, but I guess shorter then most. Great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

easy set up

03/17/2014
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was easy to set up. I was kind of leary as it was my first camping trip without my partner. I was surprised that I as a 65 year old female could do it myself. The only problem I have is that it is advertised as a two room tent and it is only one room...big enough to be two rooms but there is no divider..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Perfect for a Single Mom!!!

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this tent!!! I couldn't believe how easy it was to set-up. Being a single mom, I knew I would be responsible for setting up our tent on my own... I never expected an 8 Person tent to be so easy to set-up. I had the tent up and ready for our camp-out in less than 5 minutes! The only recommendation I have is to drive the stakes through the plastic area the nylon hooks are looped through on the legs of the tent, rather than driving them through the nylon hooks themselves, the tent will hold better through strong wind if you do. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Tent pole broke 2nd time tent was used

06/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tent goes up very easily & quickly. More than 60 seconds but easily less than 5 minutes for one person working alone.,
It worked great for a weekend camping trip in September 2013 and was taken for a week long camping trip in June 2014 and was good in sun and in rain although a little rain got in somehow despite the tarp underneath, but not bad. I think it gets in through the vent and the built-in hole for electric cords. Seemed like a lot of creepy crawlies got in as well, probably also through the electric cord opening; this could have been duct taped shut if I had realized the amount of water & bugs that would come through.
However, the tent pole broke easily while it was being put away from the 2nd camping trip, despite gentle handling and this expensive, nearly new tent is now worthless. So I cannot recommend the tent due to flimsy construction & lack of durability.
I am really disappointed with the tent overall since I had splurged to have a bigger tent and one that that would be easier to set up alone. The old style tents, I could have rigged or replaced a pole but with this kind of tent, I see no way to do that so it is now an expensive piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Great tent for the money

06/17/2014
By ,
Asheville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent was so easy to set up once one little problem was fixed. One of the telescoping upper arms had not been properly aligned at the factory and required a vise to pull the two sections apart. Once that was corrected, the setup proceeded quickly. During a brief but heavy rain, the tent did leak a total of one-quarter cup of water on each side at the bottom of the zippered entry door, but it really wasn't a problem. I recommend that you set up this tent in a trial run before you plan to take it somewhere because of potential problems with frozen telescoping arms. The tent holds our two queen air mattresses with space between for a table and room to get to the door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Just got it

04/22/2014
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In typical Walmart fashion they have asked me to review the tent i purchased one day after receiving it in the mail. The only thing that I can say at this point is that it does set up very fast but trying to get it back in the bag it came in was very difficult. You can get it in there but it will take some time. Looking at the tent, I am wondering if it is raining how will I keep water out of the tent if I need to exit or enter the tent? The rain fly covers the bare minimum and I feel if we have strong winds with the rain, we will probably see some leaks because of lack of coverage with the rain fly. I will bring a regular tarp with me just in case of predicted severe storms. Looks like plenty of room for two with gear and room to move around. I will review this tent again after our first outing.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent

06/06/2014
By ,
Fremont,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used it for backyard camping, will use the tent for real camping in about 2 weeks.
The tent is good size. Instead of sleeping down, we used 4 camping cots. We could fit 4 cots next to each other. You can stand inside the tent, its tall enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Great Easy-Up Tent

08/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled with my new tent. I'm not sure I'd call it an 8-person tent, maybe if 4 of them were small children. It is truly "instant" set up, and tall enough to stand and walk around inside, worth the extra money. There are no inside loops for hanging lanterns or clothes. The door zippers meet and have holes in them so you can use a small lock if you need to leave your tent unattended. The lower door flap is rather high, which is good for keeping out unwanted dirt, sand, water, critters; but increases the possibility of tripping so I used a door mat on top of it during the day when going in and out a lot. Also the on-line ad said it came with two air mattresses. They weren't in the box and I'll be contacting the vendor so ask about that. I was very happy with the speedy service, the tent was delivered 3 days earlier than the original estimate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

So easy!

05/29/2014
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is by far the easiest tent to set up. It was up in less then 2 minutes and I was able to set it up myself. I've only used it once so far but the quality seems to be equal to that of other brand name tents. The tent is roomy, we had 2 queen air mattresses with plenty of room for all our gear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Seems Great But Arrived Broken

05/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased this based on the many positive reviews. During our initial test setup, we had a little trouble fully understanding the directions. But once we "got it", the setup seemed quite fast. Unfortunately, one of the telescoping poles did not lock properly and on further inspection we found the pole appeared to be assembled (by the manufacturer) incorrectly. There either was no lock or the lock was in the wrong place inside the pole. As a result, we couldn't finish setup or collapse the tent completely.
Kuddos to Walmart however, as returning it to my local store was a breeze.
I may re-order this tent and give it another try, again based on the reviews here and elsewhere. Hoping I just received a lemon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Good and big tent

05/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty huge for my small Prius, but nice to stay in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 8-Person Instant Cabin Tent (2013 Style)

Excellent pop up tent

06/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use popup tent with loads of space and windows all round. We got this to use as an extra room with our camper van (rv). The only difficulty is that while the tent goes up and comes down very easily getting it back into the bag is another story - but then that's always the case with tents right? For the price you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next