Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for General Tire General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR

General Tire General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR

Average Customer Rating:
4.516 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation87%27 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 225/70R16 103S FR.

Beats Michelin

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Formerly had Michelins on my SUV but I thought I'd try the Generals since I had an Olds Cutlass with Generals on them 35 years ago and thought they were great tires. I'd been buying Michelins at about $180 a pop plus instillation but because my SUV had high miles, I didn't want to spend that much on tires. Bottom line, I couldn't be MORE HAPPY with these Generals. Just returned from a 300 mi trip to Ashville, NC and I think these Generals ride QUIETER and SMOOTHER than the Michelins. I think the handling is better as well, albeit we only ran on dry pavement. Would I buy them again??? In a New York minute!! I was also impressed by the quality of the installation at Wal-Mart -- they torque wrenched the lugs down then drove the car and re-torqued the lugs again. These tires won't disappoint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR.

good value, hit and miss installers & product

06/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bought a set of these for my honda pilot. after about 100 miles the car developed a vibration. i took the car in to a mechanic who informed me the right rear tire had a separated belt, and that the tire guy had used too much weight on that tire. he said that amount of weight should have been an indication of a tire issue. took the car back to a different wal mart where they promptly changed both back tires with new ones, no questions asked. the car rode very smooth for a day at which point the vibration came back. i noticed that the back left tire now has the exact same amount of weight as the the previous right rear tire. im contemplating taking the car back and getting a whole different brand as i dont have the time to keep taking it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR.

Great Tire at a Great Price!

06/07/2014
By ,
Olive Branch, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just replaced my Goodyear Tracker II set with these because Walmart doesn't carry the Tracker II's in this size anymore. These are on a 2005 Ford Escape. They do well in the rain and are very quiet on the highway. Walmart even prorated two of my Tracker II tires bringing my out-the-door price to $227 for 4 General Grabber tires with the road hazard warranty. Not bad considering the Tracker II's were over five years old.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 245/75R16 111S FR.

Excellent Tires

02/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazingly good tires after 15,000 miles. They hold balance well and show minimal treadwear. They are quiet, smooth and are perform well on pavement as well as gravel/dirt. Very good in slush and loose snow. Not so good on ice, but no all-season/AT tire is. I'd buy another set in a heartbeat. General is a serious player these days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR.

Great tires!!

02/21/2014
By ,
wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very quiet ride and have been great in wisconsin winter on my 08 ford escape fwd. Like driving in the summer. Definitely would buy them again
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 265/70R16 112S FR.

Trusted another reviewer and was pleased

02/13/2014
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed new tires for my 1997 4Runner as it was time and I wanted a good highway tire for towing a 3500lb Pop Up Camper I recently purchased. I read the other review here stating they were on the Consumer Reports best list in 2011. Michelin has topped the 2013 and 2014 list but are just too expensive for me at this time. Ive had these General Grabbers for about 4000 miles and we've had some crazy weather here lately in South Texas (Dec '13-Feb '14), as Im sure the whole country has, lots of misty wet roads and some ice. Wonderful traction, stopping ability and VERY quiet compared to my previous tires. My previous set was a BFG Rugged Trail, and although I liked the way they looked better (slightly more aggressive tread and the solid white lettering) I am not disappointed in the least. Price was on Rollback so I couldn't turn them down. I also noticed a slight MPG increase, almost 1 MPG in city and almost 2 on the highway. Towing is no problem on or off road. Warranty is a plus but I doubt I will need it. Hope this helps.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR

Great SUV tire

11/25/2013
By ,
Montgomery, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These tires were recommended when I was looking to replace a worn out set. In 18 months I put over 60,000 miles on them and they are still good for a few thousand more. I will buy a new set as soon as they get closer to the tread wear indicators. Very happy with the value, comfortable ride and solid handling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR.

Great Tires

01/05/2014
By ,
Riverview, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got these for my 2008 Ford Escape after having horrible Goodyear tires. These are a very nice tire, nice design, and much quieter than the Goodyear. So far, so good, I am glad I got these. I live in Sunny Florida, so I don't need 4x4 tires, or Snow Tires, and these are perfect for my daily interstate commute.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR.

A great tire on my Explorer

01/03/2014
By ,
Land O Lakes, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely please with these tires so far. Their traction, in both dry and raining like crazy here in Florida, has been a big plus. The tires are very quite. I didn't realize how noisy my last tires were. With these tires on the vehicle we can have a conversation without having to yell over the tire noise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 265/70R17 115S FR.

Good Ride

12/04/2013
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put these on my 2010 Chevy Silverado and they look good and ride smooth. Low road noise compared to the last set of tires that were on the truck. White letters did have some fading other than that they look good on the truck and drive great in the rain.
No regrets!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR.

Great tire for the Price

11/23/2013
By ,
Ringgold,Ga But purchased in Greenville,SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was needing 4 tires for my 2004 Ford F150 Pickup and had got a lot of wild prices on all kinds of off brand tires I had never herd of be for finding these on Wal Mart.com. The price was well below the ones that I had never herd of before and was able to have them installed at my local store as I was going there to have my truck serviced there any ways. I would buy these tires again>
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 265/70R16 112S FR.

Best of 2011 still hits the mark...

09/17/2013
By ,
Gainesville, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased a 2006 Nissan Frontier that was in the need of tires. The truck had Yokahoma Geolanders which I had used in the past; however, after reading several reviews on several tires, I chose to go with the General Grabber, which was voted best Light Truck/SUV tire in 2011 by Consumer Reports. I am not disappointed. Ride is very smooth even on stiff truck shocks and struts; almost no road noise and the handling is great. The 60,000 mile warranty is a plus also. I looked at Michelin's but I felt the General had essentially the same features for a lot less money. So here are my ratings based on a 1-5 scale:
Handling - 4
Wet Traction - 4
Dry Traction - 5
Road Noise - 4
Stopping Distance - 3
Overall performance - 4
If you have the money and like Michelins buy them. If, however, you're value conscience, buy the Generals; I'm sure you'll be pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 245/65R17 107T FR.

Rapid tread wear for a 640 rated tire

09/15/2013
By ,
Omaha, NE
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought a set of four (4) 245/65R17 General Grabber STX tires on 12/02/11. Since then, I have run them for 35,528 miles and have had Wal-Mart rotate them about every six thousand miles. I had expected to get around three years or approximately fifty thousand miles out of them, but the tread is wearing so rapidly that I am not sure then will make two years or forty-two thousand miles and still have safe tread depth. Although they weren't particularly expensive tires, $123 per tire, they have a tread wear rating of 640, so my expectations were for a longer tread life than I am actually seeing. Much of my driving is on concrete road surfaces that are likely to be more abrasive than asphalt road surfaces. The tires are mounted on a 2005 Mercury Mountaineer AWD, a typical suburban "soccer mom" daily driver.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wi
General grabber
Posted 11/28/2013
Your particular vehicle in awd is known to be hard on tires as is any awd vehicle. Toyota highlander also extremely hard on tires in awd form.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR.
09/04/2013
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought a full set of these tires in Pensacola (Creighton Rd). Tires are quiet and grip the road well and Manger (Tim) couldn't have been more helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR.

Too early to tell

08/28/2013
By ,
Saranac Lake, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased these tires as the price was great. Too early to tell how they will perform but WalMarts online ship to store worked perfectly. As a matter of fact I received the tires much sooner than promised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR.
08/14/2013
By ,
Somerset PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've read the other reviews for this tire and I see they were all written this year 2013. I purchased these tires in Aug of 2012. They are a very quiet tire, however traction in deep snow was poor. They have a 60,000 mile tread warranty and I'm going to see how good that is because at only 14,000 miles they are worn down to the tread bar. I always get at least 2 years out of a set of tires but I barely got 1year out of these. I am very disappointed in the General tire brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Somerset PA
Posted 04/11/2014
Bravo3 here. Walmart did honor the treadwear warranty and replaced the tires. However, that was only 7months ago and the new Grabber tire they installed are already worn out. These tires are really terrible. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 265/70R18 116S.

Great Value and Ride Quality

08/01/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced some not-so-great Michelins with a new set of these. Drove across country and they were quieter, smoother and provided much better value than the Michelins did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR.
07/25/2013
By ,
Carlsbad, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only a few miles so far but they seem to be as advertised. My 2006 Pilot is noticeably quieter on the highway(the Goodyears that came on it were very loud).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR.

Smooth, quiet ride!

06/08/2013
By ,
Marquette, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just put four of these on my 2005 Ford Escape and all I can say so far is wow! I've never had such a smooth, quiet ride before. It may sound cheesy, but my first impression was it felt like I was driving on air. Driving down a decent paved road, I could barely hear or feel the tires underneath me and it feels like the car is floating on air while I'm driving. I'm used to some noise or feeling/hearing the tires grip the road. I've never had it feel this way, though... it's incredible.
Typically I'm weary of the "cheap tires," but after reading the previous reviews I gave it a shot and I'm glad I did, and you should, too! You won't be disappointed with these!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for General Grabber STX Tire 245/70R16 107S FR
This review is fromGeneral Grabber STX Tire 265/70R18 116S.

Best tires I have owned.

06/06/2013
By ,
Kansas City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decided to try out these General Grabber STX tires. The price was great and I have them on 3 trucks at the moment. I have no complaints at all. Wet traction is Very Good, quite and I am very happy with these. I have had many tires on these trucks, Goodyear, Micheline, Firestone, etc... These are better than all the rest. Best wet traction tire I have used and very good in the snow. I recommend these to anyone, you won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next