Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for General Tire General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR

General Tire General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR

Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation87%13 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR

Great Tires

01/05/2014
By ,
Riverview, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got these for my 2008 Ford Escape after having horrible Goodyear tires. These are a very nice tire, nice design, and much quieter than the Goodyear. So far, so good, I am glad I got these. I live in Sunny Florida, so I don't need 4x4 tires, or Snow Tires, and these are perfect for my daily interstate commute.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR

Darn Good Tires For The Money

04/25/2013
By ,
Midwest U.S.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Put 4 of these on my 2003 Escape. Due to the age of this car, I wasn't looking for tires with a real high mile warranty.
I search all over the internet and found these the best value for a BRAND NAME tire that can be warrantied pretty much anywhere should any problems arise (An important point for someone shopping tires. If you are out of town and you have a warrantied problem with some "off brand" tire... well now your are stuck#.
If you are going to purchase these, buy them on the internet and have them shipped "Site- To Store". There is no charge for freight and it took mine about 10 days to arrive at my local store. Also the price is a bit less than the "in store" price.
Like one of the other reviewers, I was a bit concerned about the higher load rating but any difference is insignificant.
I've put about 350 or so miles on these tires thus far. They corner nice, and also do well in rain and snow. The real test will be is to see how they perform after I have 30k+ miles on them.
I would recommend these tires for anyone looking for a 60k mile tire.
The only drawback is that General started a rebate #$50. on a set of 4# about 10 days after I purchased these. Rebate is non- retroactive..... My Bad!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR

Great tires!!

02/21/2014
By ,
wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very quiet ride and have been great in wisconsin winter on my 08 ford escape fwd. Like driving in the summer. Definitely would buy them again
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR

Great tire for the Price

02/02/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put this tire on my Ford Escape. It is much better than the Good Year Fortera's they replaced. It has better traction, better ride and quieter than the Good Year tires. Snow traction is also excellent so far. I was alittle concerned about the higher load rating of these tires would make a stiffer ride, but not at all.. The tires also have the rib guard to protect against curb damage which I also like, the slight nagative is that the raised white letting is a little small...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR

Initial Review is that this tire is great

03/17/2013
By ,
Bardstown, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I purchased my used Honda Pilot in 2009 it needed new tires immediately. I decided to get a mid-price tire from a familiar brand. I did not have any time to research my purchase so I just made a decision based on the guy selling tires and bought the Bridgestone RVT tires. They were designed to drive off-road and on the road. Since the majority of my driving was on a road they were not designed for me. Those tires lasted about 70,000 miles so I have no complaints there, but they did wear unevenly (even though I rotated and balanced with every oil change). They also were very loud, but quieter than the worn tires they replaced.
I ran over a nail on Friday and took the tire in to have it repaired and they told me that I needed to replace my tire. I decided to take advantage of the General tire rebate and replace all 4 tires at once. I have been doing my homework and the General Grabber tires seemed to be very good. I was also told that this is quite similar to the top rated General Grabber HTS. I have put about 100 miles on these tires so far through city and highway driving. Including driving in the rain today. These tires make my Honda Pilot as quiet as my Corolla with minimal road noise. With the Bridgestone Dueler RVTs I had to have the radio very loud just to drown out the road noise. These tires also seem to perform very well when driving around turns. As long as they hold up these tires are a great value. After the rebate these 4 tires will be $170 less (pre tax) than my previous Dueler RVTs and to me the pricing could be reversed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR

A great tire on my Explorer

01/03/2014
By ,
Land O Lakes, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely please with these tires so far. Their traction, in both dry and raining like crazy here in Florida, has been a big plus. The tires are very quite. I didn't realize how noisy my last tires were. With these tires on the vehicle we can have a conversation without having to yell over the tire noise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR

Smooth, quiet ride!

06/08/2013
By ,
Marquette, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just put four of these on my 2005 Ford Escape and all I can say so far is wow! I've never had such a smooth, quiet ride before. It may sound cheesy, but my first impression was it felt like I was driving on air. Driving down a decent paved road, I could barely hear or feel the tires underneath me and it feels like the car is floating on air while I'm driving. I'm used to some noise or feeling/hearing the tires grip the road. I've never had it feel this way, though... it's incredible.
Typically I'm weary of the "cheap tires," but after reading the previous reviews I gave it a shot and I'm glad I did, and you should, too! You won't be disappointed with these!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR
08/14/2013
By ,
Somerset PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've read the other reviews for this tire and I see they were all written this year 2013. I purchased these tires in Aug of 2012. They are a very quiet tire, however traction in deep snow was poor. They have a 60,000 mile tread warranty and I'm going to see how good that is because at only 14,000 miles they are worn down to the tread bar. I always get at least 2 years out of a set of tires but I barely got 1year out of these. I am very disappointed in the General tire brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Somerset PA
Posted 04/11/2014
Bravo3 here. Walmart did honor the treadwear warranty and replaced the tires. However, that was only 7months ago and the new Grabber tire they installed are already worn out. These tires are really terrible. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR

Great tire for the Price

11/23/2013
By ,
Ringgold,Ga But purchased in Greenville,SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was needing 4 tires for my 2004 Ford F150 Pickup and had got a lot of wild prices on all kinds of off brand tires I had never herd of be for finding these on Wal Mart.com. The price was well below the ones that I had never herd of before and was able to have them installed at my local store as I was going there to have my truck serviced there any ways. I would buy these tires again>
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR
09/04/2013
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought a full set of these tires in Pensacola (Creighton Rd). Tires are quiet and grip the road well and Manger (Tim) couldn't have been more helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR
07/25/2013
By ,
Carlsbad, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only a few miles so far but they seem to be as advertised. My 2006 Pilot is noticeably quieter on the highway(the Goodyears that came on it were very loud).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR

Too early to tell

08/28/2013
By ,
Saranac Lake, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased these tires as the price was great. Too early to tell how they will perform but WalMarts online ship to store worked perfectly. As a matter of fact I received the tires much sooner than promised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for General Grabber STX Tire 235/70R16 106T FR
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5