Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Griffin Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Griffin Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

Ridiculously over-engineered? Or the perfect case for your iPod touch no matter where you're headed? Maybe it's a little bit of both. Simply put, the Griffin Survivor Case For iPod Touch 5G is likely the most protective case out there. Griffin's Survivor extreme-duty case is designed from inside out to protect your iPod touch from extreme conditions. Survivor is built on a shatter-resistant, polycarbonate frame clad in rugged, shock-absorbing silicone. A built-in screen protector on the Griffin Survivor Case seals your multi-touch display from the elements, and hinged plugs seal the dock connector, camera lens, headphone port, hold switch and volume controls. A detachable heavy-duty clip secures your iPod touch to a belt or bag strap. Survivor is independently tested and verified to meet or exceed environmental testing standards for blown rain, blown dust and grit, vibration, shock, temperature and humidity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%24 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

Great case, more durable than otterbox.

12/29/2012
By ,
Woodbourne, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the griffin survivor case for ipod touch 5th gen protects your ipod very well. it has three layers of protection, and a built-in screen shield. it fits your ipod touch 5th gen very well and tight, but is still very easy to put on your ipod. it has a lens cap, and covers for all the ipods ports, which I thought would be irritating, but they worked very well. Everything is just so tightly fitted to the device and it prevents any dirt from getting onto the device, without damaging the device. Not one part of the ipod is exposed except for the facetime camera, but no dirt gets under the built-in screen shield. The touch screen works so fluently through the screen shield just like it would without it installed. the case feels great in your hand and doesnt add much weight or depth to the ipod at all. Otterbox is a great case but the silicone doesnt stay attached and it stretches, and so much dirt gets under the screen shield. The Griffin survivor case doesnt do that, everything stays tight around the device. the case comes off without much effort, but isnt going anywhere unless you want it to. This case is a total steal for the price and just is so much better than otterbox. This is by far the best case for the ipod touch 5th generation, and you wont find a better one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Review 2 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black
01/23/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Griffin Survivor case fits perfectly over the IPOD5. The screen shield does not interfere with the operation of the touch screen. The hard inner shell secures the device firmly and the outer rubber casing makes it easy to handle and to operate the Volume, Home, Up/Down, and On/Off/Wake functions. Con: The belt clip does not allow you to charge the device when it is attached.
Overall : This is a great piece of equipment to protect your investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 3 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

Better than expected

02/21/2013
By ,
Diamondhead, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price was great and the case fits even better than expected. I was worried that the screen protector would detract from the clarity, but it doesn't. I don't even notice that there is a protective screen. This case is well made and protects the ipod perfectly. I like that the belt clip can come off, but I do use it on occasion and it works very well. Would also recommend it for kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 4 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

When fat is Phat

02/16/2014
By ,
Fargo,ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cover is great, fitting like a skin and giving the otherwise thin iTouch a more beefy look and feel. I put it on the iTouch gen 5 16gb, and liked this cover because it was one of the only ones that does not have the hole for the outside camera. The iTouch 16gb does not have an outside camera so I did not want a cover with a hole. Now if you have the outside camera there is a piece that easily pulls away to reveal the camera lens. The case is very well made, but it does make the iTouch look like it has been in the gym, as the cover takes away all the efforts of Apple's design to make a thin device. However, it is so nice to handle as it grips your hand and it looks great. Kudos to Walmart, as they were so much faster to ship than Amazon, and I got it well before my trip. It also fits my Podprop (a foam stand) much better.
I highly recommend this cover and buy it from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

works good

04/21/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the case very much. Just wish walmart would have offered it in different colors. I like that it has a built in screen protector and everything is protected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

best price for this product

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my griffin survivor case for my iPod touch. I used the iPod w/o a case for a while but feel much safer w/ it on. The levels of protection fit the name 'survivor' and though I have not dropped it (yet) I am confident it will be okay when I do. This case also makes it much easier to hold/grip to iPod which adds to it's safety and comfort as well. I searched several places for this product and Wal-Mart had the best price. Store to store shipping also saved me the shipping cost! I have found the clip difficult to use - mostly I think because it is so stiff, that will keep it safe but it makes it challenging to open. Also, not regarding to actual product, the case was pretty 'dusty' when I took it out of the box which made putting the screen protector on annoying. I still have a piece of something underneath it - but that is a small thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 7 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

VERY IMPRESSED

07/22/2013
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cover over exceeded my expectations. FANTASTIC purchase. Will MAKE my daughter get one as well! Fits perfectly.
If I had to have a negative-you have to take it apart if you want to put it onto an ihome type of machine-although you can just use the USB to hook it up so it really shouldn't matter.
Very impressive, and will definatly keep from damaging the ipod.
LOVE it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

Good looking and functional

08/31/2013
By ,
Aldan, pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this on a chance because I was looking at the otter box which was nice but in my opinion a bit over priced and I had only one choice so I checked the griffin out and found exactly what I was looking for in it I think if you are thinking about a case you should definitely check the griffin as well before you make any purchase well worth the price
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

love this product!!!

05/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are the best cases for ipods
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 10 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

Excellent protection for your iPod Touch!

04/11/2014
By ,
Bismarck, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing the overpriced iPod Touch - but that's another story - I decided that to get my moneys worth it was going to be used on a regular basis. Much of that time would be outdoors, so I wanted a case that would offer better than average protection for the device. After spending a considerable amount of time checking out various cases, I found I kept coming back to the Griffin Survivor Case and ultimately made the purchase. I would describe it as more functional rather than stylish. If you want 'cute' this one probably isn't for you. The iPod Touch fits snugly inside the case, in fact it was a bit difficult to get it installed. The tight fit, however, is what will keep the dirt and rain out. The removable belt/strap swivel clip is a nice feature in that you can carry it most anywhere without worrying about it falling off. The clip has a locking feature that will keep it securely attached to your belt or backpack strap. All the unused ports are sealed with their own retractable covers, only time will tell if they'll survive multiple openings and closings before breaking off. The camera lens cover even swivels out of the way so it won't interfere with photo shots. The case also meets U.S. Mil Specs which probably accounts for some of it's heavy duty construction and style. You can do some web searching and find the testing that was done with the case as well. For example, you'll find the iPod can survive six foot drops onto concrete without damage while encased in the Griffin Survivor. The touchscreen cover is sensitive and doesn't cause any problems while making selections. On/off, volume, etc. control buttons are covered, but function normally. If you're going to put your iPod Touch to some heavy use, this would be the cover for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 11 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

Good alternative to Otterbox...

03/16/2013
By ,
Savannah, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good case in general. The only issue I have is the soft rubber shock absorbing material on the outer case. I feel that it won't last and will eventually come apart from the case itself. Only time will tell. Otherwise, it's a good case for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

GREAT PRODUCT

06/25/2013
By ,
Cambria Heights, Queens County, N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Griffin Survivor Case for the Ipod Touch 5th Generation is awesome. Love it, recommend anyone who has one, get one. You won't be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

Very versatile and lives up to expectation

06/25/2013
By ,
Valley, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is very versatile and solid. The clip will rotate so that you can clip it in different positions. It will also "lock out" so that it acts as a stand if you have it on a flat surface for viewing. Touch screen works without any problem through the protective cover. Only issues I have experience are the sleep/off button on top of the iPod will not react when pressing the elevated spot designed into the case. Also I was unable to charge my iPod with it in the case. Could not get the connector in far enough. Other than that, no issues. I would recommend it as an additional way to keep an expensive iPod 5th gen a little safer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

I feel safe

06/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom picked this out because she didn't want my new iPod to break. I think it looks good, it was easy to put on and it will protect my iPod when I drop it ( not if)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

Great protective case

09/12/2013
By ,
Silver Spring, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This case is great for protecting your iPod! The rubber cushions and the screen protector is pretty thick to take a lot of abuse. As fragile as Apple products are a case like this is a must have! Bought for my son kept dropping his iPod. This is much cheaper than replacing the screen or buying a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black
08/18/2013
By ,
fort lauderdale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No more worries about dropping my i pod lol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

Well protect my ipod

03/09/2013
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's perfect fit my iPod. My iPod is well protected. And it's light to. I recommend to order it online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

Crash case

04/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Second survivor case ... Not tested but looks like it will do the job when needed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Review 19 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

GREAT case

02/01/2013
By ,
Braselton Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never had the case for the iopd 5 but i did have a ipod 4 and i got a case like it. For christmas i got a ipod 5 and i will be getting a case. the case that is here. the one that i had the ipod4 case it was awesome and i dropped it alot and nothing happend. but then one day i got a nother case it got washed and like i said i got the ipod5 so i will recomend the case. and i think u will need the LOOP.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 20 for Griffin Survivor Case for iPod touch 5G, Black

really nice case

09/19/2013
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This case does everything it says it should. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is because it makes it difficult to use the edges of the touch screen. Other than that, I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next