Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Emerson Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Emerson Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

This Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill features nine pre-programmed recipes and a removable glass turntable for complete, even cooking.
Average Customer Rating:
2.808 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation44%23 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Best Microwave for the $; owned for > 3 years.

07/19/2013
By ,
Beaumont, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this particular Emerson 1100 watt microwave for well over 3 years and it is still like new. I use it every day several times a day. It is noticably more powerful than my 1000 watt countertop. I have not owned a more faithful microwave oven ... ever. I just looked at the current price and cannot believe you can buy this much with so little money. I thought that I'd paid more.
These are just the facts, not opinions, not my emotions talking.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gilbert, AZ
QUALITY NOT THERE ANYMORE
Posted 07/21/2014
Have had this model one week and its going back. Heats very unevenly, takes to long to
heat. noisy and the bell just keeps going way to long. Wish I'd read the reviews before I bought it. My first microwave was an Emerson and it was great (30 years ago). Still use
it in our barn to heat things up. Brands since then were different and most lasted about
7 years.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

So far so good!

04/24/2013
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a direct replacement for the microwave/browning element that came with my motorhome. It was very hard to find one that fit into the space but this one was perfect! It works quite well. So far I am very satisfied with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great Microwave

10/03/2014
By ,
Ione, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best Microwave I have ever owned and I have had at least 5 in the past 40 or so years.
It cooks everything evenly and it defrosts meat evenly and doesn't cook part of the meat like other microwaves I have owned with a defrost feature.
I just used the combo microwave/ grill feature and it cooks my piece of steak just beautifully. I really love this microwave. I would recommend it to anyone that is in the market for a new microwave. The grill browned my steak perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

avid user

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not so sure about some of these negative reviews, I purchased this microwave as my other had quit. I love it, especially the different settings for the popcorn and the fact that most of my stuff i put inthere now cooks in half the time it did in my other microwave. I love the fact it has the grilling feature as we like to grill but a little hard to in the winter and on rainy days as my deck does not have cover. I have recommended this microwave to others as i have had no issues with the paint peeling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Have owned this Emerson 6 yrs And Still LOVE IT!!

10/10/2014
By ,
K.C. Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have owned this Emerson Microwave/Grill for Six years and still works like new!! LOVE IT!!!!
Make sure you keep the inside clean especially the metal grill inside the microwave, as splatter from grilling will build up and cause smoke and or smell. Use liquid dish soap and Clorox to clean inside.
Taking into consideration you will have to learn to use this Excellent and very useful Microwave/grill with trial and error recipe's like all cooking utensils to find the right combinations!
Have used this everyday for cooking warming tea coffee and using this instead of oven or stove. for Popcorn use the time recommended on the package instead of the microwave button.
Keep the key pad, plate and plate holder turn table clean, don't use abrasive cleaners or pads.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Keypad Goes Bad

08/08/2014
By ,
Washington State
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought an Emerson microwave about 8 months ago. After 5 months, the key pad started going bad. Enough of the keys still work most of the time that the unit is usable, but still poor quality key pad electronics.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

WRITE TO THE COMPANY! This one is a major FAIL!

08/29/2013
By ,
East Coast
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sharing what I sent..Hope to have some resolution for others who are stuck with this thing and warn anyone else who plans to purchase this model!
Letter to Emerson:
Purchased this item as a replacement for an Emerson that had long out lived expectation. I did not need all the 'bells & whistles', however, my fiance insisted we go a bit higher in price and get "one that will last" I NEVER use the grill feature, rarely use it for more than heating tea or side dishes. Recently it began to arc, I assumed there must be a piece of food spilled...nothing. I cleaned it and the paint is peeling! I use 3 parts water to one part vinegar. Nothing abrasive! Upon checking reviews, I am not the first person to have the same results with this model. It is under a year old. We no longer have our receipt so exchange is not an answer. I, like so many others am disgusted with this durability and performance of this particular Emerson product. What a shame. I wondered if this was a know defect that you have taken measures to correct? Any suggestions on what I should do with this paperweight?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
GA
Emerson used to be synonymous with quality
Posted 02/26/2014
Emerson used to be synonymous with quality, this is why I purchased this microwave a couple of yrs ago. I did not plan and have never used the grill, but I too have had problems with the paint peeling and now it is smoky when I use it. I should have returned it when it first happened, but the "spot" started out small and I figured, no big deal. Now the entire "ring" where the for the turntable for the plate sits is cracked and constantly peeling. Thought it was just me, until today when I read similar complaints from others who bought this same item. I came online looking for a replacement. I know now, that it must be a defect in the product.
+1point
Customer Avatar
chicago burbs, il
sorry you had bad luck
Posted 11/14/2013
should have bought the extended warranty, probably would have cost you 15 bucks for 2 or 3 years
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Nice looking, lemon!

05/28/2014
By ,
Upstate, N.Y.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this oven in Aug. 2009. At first it was pretty decent. After about 6 month's, the inside white paint started peeling off, revealing an ugly rust stain. Kept using it for awhile, then the rusted area's started arching. I sanded all the rust off, and repainted. Worked OK, for maybe a year. Then the grill, started arching, for no apparent reason. Afraid to touch the cabinet, when this is happening. The newest problem, when in the cooking mode, it sound like the turntable is dragging a tow chain around, as it rotates. Not a joke. Going on 5 years, still works, but this would definately NOT pass any quality control tests.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great for the tech generation

10/10/2014
By ,
Vero Beach, Fla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am an elderly grandmother who uses the microwave not to cook with, but to warm up food. It does what it was made for and more. It actually does grill a hot dog. I'm not sure what all the bad reviews are about but if I use the instruction book I don't have any problems and if I need more I look it up on my pc. I love my Emerson and it was well within my budget and today that is a major factor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

We have 2 of them!!!

10/04/2014
By ,
bergen county nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best microwave we have ever owned. The power is great. Almost 2 years later and it still works like new. We love it so much we bought one for each kitchen. We have nothing negative to report and we were extremely shocked when we saw some of these reviews. We are actually going to buy one today for a housewarming party we are attending today. All we can say is we are loving it...!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Disappointed

05/05/2014
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this microwave about 6 months ago. I use it for just about everything and it has worked very well until about a month ago. Then in order to get it to register and cook we had to push the buttons hard in order to get them to work properly and now the only way to cook anything is by pressing one of the pre-programed buttons like the Popcorn one for 5 min or the Beverage one for 55 sec., etc. Being that it is over the store warranty period, I now have to go out and buy another microwave. I don't think I will buy another Emerson. I had a Sharp and it lasted me almost 15 years before it started going bad. The first microwave I had before that one was a Sharp too and it lasted me almost 20 years. The only reason I bought this one instead of another Sharp was that a friend recommended this one to me. Hers is still working good but is starting to have problems too. I don't use the grill part as often as I thought I would. I am thinking since so many people have problem with this particular microwave that maybe it is because of the grill feature that this microwave seems to have so many problems. I don't know, all I know is that for me it was a waste of good money and I won't buy another microwave with a grill in it. Even though it is a nice feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great Idea for a Microwave, model MWG9115SB

05/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked this up at WalMart because it was time to get a new microwave--we'd put it off long enough. I must say, I find some of these negative reviews extremely strange, if not highly suspect, to be honest--especially the ones about paint peeling and arcing and so on. I feel quite certain that WalMart has sold far more of these than the 32 reviews featured here (including mine at this date), and I can only think that maybe some folks got a lemon--but that happens with every product mass produced, unfortunately. If any of that happens to us with this product then so be it, but in thirty-five years of owning a wide variety of microwaves--and thirty-five years ago they were much more crude than they are today--I have never encountered anything similar, nor have I heard about it. Bluntly, I'll believe it when I see it...;)
At any rate, what attracted me to this model was the built in grill--it's not a "browner" by any description, it is a full blown grill--a mini-grill, no doubt, but still a grill. Calling it a "browner" is highly misleading. The grill has but three modes of operation: 100% grill (your grilling food revolves nicely on the carousel beneath the burner in all modes)--the microwave is off--and two "combo" modes of ~64% Microwave, ~36% grill; 64% grill & 36% microwave. Could be that in the combo mode of 64% mw, 36% grill, it might well "brown," but that is not its primary function. We're basically interested only in the 100% grill mode, but I'm sure that at some point we'll give the "combo" modes a shot. But for now, it's either operating as a 100% grill or else a 100% microwave.
We had intended just to pick up a larger-than-our-present 700W, 7/10 cubic-foot Emerson carousel microwave (the smallest we had ever owned, but one which functioned flawlessly for three years and is still serving its new owner well, I hear) and then buy a second, separate grill--but this product gave us both in one package, and has produced some delicious hamburgers and other grilled foods so far! We feel it is an excellent product. We plan to continue making good use of the grill.
The only other thing I can say is that of all the microwaves on display at or near or above the $89.00 price we paid, I didn't see a single one with a similar grill arrangement. If we do have any problems, however, I'll be sure to update this review--but I don't expect to have to. So far, an excellent product, great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great price and product

09/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did get this microwave oven a few days ago, is my first microwave grill and so far i prepared chicken and color was better than expected !!!
I am reviewing some recipes to optimize the use for this grill, price is excellent, capacity as described, so overall this product meet and exceed my expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

It's a cheapo microwave, not an investment.

06/06/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is a reason why other 1+ cubic foot and 1000w+ microwaves are generally in the $200 on up range. This one is a cheap temporary solution at best. I bought it about a year ago. The browning feature works but takes forever to heat up. It will smoke too since it will have food splatters on the burner. Well it started to arc on the screws that hold the heat shield inside. So it is self destructive. Last night it turns on and sounds like normal, but no heat. It is going in the trash. It is a piece of junk but you should figure that out based on the price / features.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Will try to pick a better one as a replacement.

09/25/2014
By ,
Huntington Beach, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this microwave about 1 1/2 yr ago. It is working fine but I have the same problem others report, the paint is peeling off the bottom. Am not experiencing arching yet, but it probably would eventually. Don't consider it safe at this point. I will definitely read the reviews for it's replacement before buying. Never used the grilling function, thought it was a good feature to have though.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Good but could be better

02/11/2013
By ,
Wahiawa, Hawaii
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have had this microwave since spring/summer 2009 it works good made 2 moves with it and last move got damaged still works good but only downsides to it is the grill part doesn't work that well and the turntable wheels rubbed the bottom of the microwave so bad the paint is completely gone but other than that it works great sadly it's time to get a new one that is bigger
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Millsboro, DE
Posted 07/02/2013
I had the same problem with my old microwave that I had to replace by the turntable causing the bottom to rub off the paint and it looked terrible. I'm assuming with lots of use this must happen with most microwaves with turntables.
0points
Customer Avatar
white plains md
worst microwave
Posted 06/29/2013
I bought this microwave last,,the microwave its not even a year old and its stop working it wont get hot no matter what we do.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

given as a gift to my elderly mother!

04/20/2014
By ,
Patterson, CA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a birthday gift for my 80 yr old mother. She is really enjoying it. She esp likes the fact that this micro is able to GRILL in it, like a bbq! What a concept and really easy to use! She loves it. If mamas happy, so am I!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great microwave

09/21/2014
By ,
SEVERN/MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my son and grandsons, they love it! Love the grilling features and all the quick and easy settings already programmed. Very roomy inside; I think this is one of the best gifts my son has received in a long time would recommend ,Oh price was great too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Price was excellent, good quality.Received

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice microwave, good quality, delivered two days sooner than promised. I've purchased several items always happy with my purcasesses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

don't do it not worth it

02/26/2014
By ,
Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From day one always made noise. It never cooked anything right, popcorn even cooked uneven. I will never buy one like this again. Lasted less then a year babied.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1 2 3 Next