Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Emerson Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Emerson Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

This Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill features nine pre-programmed recipes and a removable glass turntable for complete, even cooking.
Average Customer Rating:
2.638 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation40%19 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Best Microwave for the $; owned for > 3 years.

07/19/2013
By ,
Beaumont, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this particular Emerson 1100 watt microwave for well over 3 years and it is still like new. I use it every day several times a day. It is noticably more powerful than my 1000 watt countertop. I have not owned a more faithful microwave oven ... ever. I just looked at the current price and cannot believe you can buy this much with so little money. I thought that I'd paid more.
These are just the facts, not opinions, not my emotions talking.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gilbert, AZ
QUALITY NOT THERE ANYMORE
Posted 07/21/2014
Have had this model one week and its going back. Heats very unevenly, takes to long to
heat. noisy and the bell just keeps going way to long. Wish I'd read the reviews before I bought it. My first microwave was an Emerson and it was great (30 years ago). Still use
it in our barn to heat things up. Brands since then were different and most lasted about
7 years.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

So far so good!

04/24/2013
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a direct replacement for the microwave/browning element that came with my motorhome. It was very hard to find one that fit into the space but this one was perfect! It works quite well. So far I am very satisfied with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

avid user

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not so sure about some of these negative reviews, I purchased this microwave as my other had quit. I love it, especially the different settings for the popcorn and the fact that most of my stuff i put inthere now cooks in half the time it did in my other microwave. I love the fact it has the grilling feature as we like to grill but a little hard to in the winter and on rainy days as my deck does not have cover. I have recommended this microwave to others as i have had no issues with the paint peeling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

WRITE TO THE COMPANY! This one is a major FAIL!

08/29/2013
By ,
East Coast
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sharing what I sent..Hope to have some resolution for others who are stuck with this thing and warn anyone else who plans to purchase this model!
Letter to Emerson:
Purchased this item as a replacement for an Emerson that had long out lived expectation. I did not need all the 'bells & whistles', however, my fiance insisted we go a bit higher in price and get "one that will last" I NEVER use the grill feature, rarely use it for more than heating tea or side dishes. Recently it began to arc, I assumed there must be a piece of food spilled...nothing. I cleaned it and the paint is peeling! I use 3 parts water to one part vinegar. Nothing abrasive! Upon checking reviews, I am not the first person to have the same results with this model. It is under a year old. We no longer have our receipt so exchange is not an answer. I, like so many others am disgusted with this durability and performance of this particular Emerson product. What a shame. I wondered if this was a know defect that you have taken measures to correct? Any suggestions on what I should do with this paperweight?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
GA
Emerson used to be synonymous with quality
Posted 02/26/2014
Emerson used to be synonymous with quality, this is why I purchased this microwave a couple of yrs ago. I did not plan and have never used the grill, but I too have had problems with the paint peeling and now it is smoky when I use it. I should have returned it when it first happened, but the "spot" started out small and I figured, no big deal. Now the entire "ring" where the for the turntable for the plate sits is cracked and constantly peeling. Thought it was just me, until today when I read similar complaints from others who bought this same item. I came online looking for a replacement. I know now, that it must be a defect in the product.
+1point
Customer Avatar
chicago burbs, il
sorry you had bad luck
Posted 11/14/2013
should have bought the extended warranty, probably would have cost you 15 bucks for 2 or 3 years
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Keypad Goes Bad

08/08/2014
By ,
Washington State
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought an Emerson microwave about 8 months ago. After 5 months, the key pad started going bad. Enough of the keys still work most of the time that the unit is usable, but still poor quality key pad electronics.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Nice looking, lemon!

05/28/2014
By ,
Upstate, N.Y.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this oven in Aug. 2009. At first it was pretty decent. After about 6 month's, the inside white paint started peeling off, revealing an ugly rust stain. Kept using it for awhile, then the rusted area's started arching. I sanded all the rust off, and repainted. Worked OK, for maybe a year. Then the grill, started arching, for no apparent reason. Afraid to touch the cabinet, when this is happening. The newest problem, when in the cooking mode, it sound like the turntable is dragging a tow chain around, as it rotates. Not a joke. Going on 5 years, still works, but this would definately NOT pass any quality control tests.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Disappointed

05/05/2014
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this microwave about 6 months ago. I use it for just about everything and it has worked very well until about a month ago. Then in order to get it to register and cook we had to push the buttons hard in order to get them to work properly and now the only way to cook anything is by pressing one of the pre-programed buttons like the Popcorn one for 5 min or the Beverage one for 55 sec., etc. Being that it is over the store warranty period, I now have to go out and buy another microwave. I don't think I will buy another Emerson. I had a Sharp and it lasted me almost 15 years before it started going bad. The first microwave I had before that one was a Sharp too and it lasted me almost 20 years. The only reason I bought this one instead of another Sharp was that a friend recommended this one to me. Hers is still working good but is starting to have problems too. I don't use the grill part as often as I thought I would. I am thinking since so many people have problem with this particular microwave that maybe it is because of the grill feature that this microwave seems to have so many problems. I don't know, all I know is that for me it was a waste of good money and I won't buy another microwave with a grill in it. Even though it is a nice feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great Idea for a Microwave, model MWG9115SB

05/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked this up at WalMart because it was time to get a new microwave--we'd put it off long enough. I must say, I find some of these negative reviews extremely strange, if not highly suspect, to be honest--especially the ones about paint peeling and arcing and so on. I feel quite certain that WalMart has sold far more of these than the 32 reviews featured here (including mine at this date), and I can only think that maybe some folks got a lemon--but that happens with every product mass produced, unfortunately. If any of that happens to us with this product then so be it, but in thirty-five years of owning a wide variety of microwaves--and thirty-five years ago they were much more crude than they are today--I have never encountered anything similar, nor have I heard about it. Bluntly, I'll believe it when I see it...;)
At any rate, what attracted me to this model was the built in grill--it's not a "browner" by any description, it is a full blown grill--a mini-grill, no doubt, but still a grill. Calling it a "browner" is highly misleading. The grill has but three modes of operation: 100% grill (your grilling food revolves nicely on the carousel beneath the burner in all modes)--the microwave is off--and two "combo" modes of ~64% Microwave, ~36% grill; 64% grill & 36% microwave. Could be that in the combo mode of 64% mw, 36% grill, it might well "brown," but that is not its primary function. We're basically interested only in the 100% grill mode, but I'm sure that at some point we'll give the "combo" modes a shot. But for now, it's either operating as a 100% grill or else a 100% microwave.
We had intended just to pick up a larger-than-our-present 700W, 7/10 cubic-foot Emerson carousel microwave (the smallest we had ever owned, but one which functioned flawlessly for three years and is still serving its new owner well, I hear) and then buy a second, separate grill--but this product gave us both in one package, and has produced some delicious hamburgers and other grilled foods so far! We feel it is an excellent product. We plan to continue making good use of the grill.
The only other thing I can say is that of all the microwaves on display at or near or above the $89.00 price we paid, I didn't see a single one with a similar grill arrangement. If we do have any problems, however, I'll be sure to update this review--but I don't expect to have to. So far, an excellent product, great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great microwave

09/21/2014
By ,
SEVERN/MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my son and grandsons, they love it! Love the grilling features and all the quick and easy settings already programmed. Very roomy inside; I think this is one of the best gifts my son has received in a long time would recommend ,Oh price was great too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Price was excellent, good quality.Received

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice microwave, good quality, delivered two days sooner than promised. I've purchased several items always happy with my purcasesses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

It's a cheapo microwave, not an investment.

06/06/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is a reason why other 1+ cubic foot and 1000w+ microwaves are generally in the $200 on up range. This one is a cheap temporary solution at best. I bought it about a year ago. The browning feature works but takes forever to heat up. It will smoke too since it will have food splatters on the burner. Well it started to arc on the screws that hold the heat shield inside. So it is self destructive. Last night it turns on and sounds like normal, but no heat. It is going in the trash. It is a piece of junk but you should figure that out based on the price / features.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great price and product

09/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did get this microwave oven a few days ago, is my first microwave grill and so far i prepared chicken and color was better than expected !!!
I am reviewing some recipes to optimize the use for this grill, price is excellent, capacity as described, so overall this product meet and exceed my expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great for Everbody

09/09/2014
By ,
Santa Monica CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best microwave anyone can have. Has Power, Has Browning Grill with Power and two browning settings . This is my second one , and I baked a cake on that one in 14 min.
Just add frosting and no one could tell , except it was moist and not as crumbly .
Frozen dinners cook faster and evenly . Price was same as my last one five years ago
or longer . Highly recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

given as a gift to my elderly mother!

04/20/2014
By ,
Patterson, CA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a birthday gift for my 80 yr old mother. She is really enjoying it. She esp likes the fact that this micro is able to GRILL in it, like a bbq! What a concept and really easy to use! She loves it. If mamas happy, so am I!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Good but could be better

02/11/2013
By ,
Wahiawa, Hawaii
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have had this microwave since spring/summer 2009 it works good made 2 moves with it and last move got damaged still works good but only downsides to it is the grill part doesn't work that well and the turntable wheels rubbed the bottom of the microwave so bad the paint is completely gone but other than that it works great sadly it's time to get a new one that is bigger
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Millsboro, DE
Posted 07/02/2013
I had the same problem with my old microwave that I had to replace by the turntable causing the bottom to rub off the paint and it looked terrible. I'm assuming with lots of use this must happen with most microwaves with turntables.
0points
Customer Avatar
white plains md
worst microwave
Posted 06/29/2013
I bought this microwave last,,the microwave its not even a year old and its stop working it wont get hot no matter what we do.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

don't do it not worth it

02/26/2014
By ,
Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From day one always made noise. It never cooked anything right, popcorn even cooked uneven. I will never buy one like this again. Lasted less then a year babied.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

just purchased this product

08/24/2014
By ,
buffalo ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
looks great and works way better then any other i have had in the past..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Poorly Made Microwave

03/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This microwave is poorly made. I had this microwave for 6 months and the inside of it start peeling. It resembles paint coming off. So then I call Emerson, and complained, they shipped me a new one, exact same microwave, well, this microwave also started peeling again and also would continue to run after it was off, we have to unplug it to get it to turn off, even after the timer went off. This microwave is no good. Sometimes it would turn itself on also, the timer wasn't on, it would just start by itself. I would not recommend to buy this. You are just wasting your money if you buy this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

vey simple to use and does a great job

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a great price , has great features and is very easy to use. Extremeely dependable and is perfect for all my needs at home
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black
03/06/2013
By ,
Apopka, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlike other reviewers I have not had any problems with my unit..I suspect damage was caused by
carelessness of handling by owners..also comments this unit does not work properly I also believe is the fault of the owners..my food comes out perfect everytime..no paint chipping, handle is ideal...the last unit I owned did not have a handle which annoyed me completely..I love this microwave..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Worst microwave ever made
Posted 04/21/2014
Operator error? Not hardly. It doesn't take a genius to use a microwave. There was no carelessness on my part and more than likely the rest of the reviewers. It was 100% manufacturing defect and terrible quality. When a microwave stops running because it is too hot, even to the touch on the outside after running only 5 minutes, I don't consider that to be any ones fault other than having a faulty unit. Read the reviews online by searching the model number. You might start to wonder if that "wonderful" unit you have is worth having. I am on my 3rd replacement from this company and they admitted the arcing was caused by a screw on the grill plate. But they had no comment as to why it would over heat and cut off. Well, good luck with your microwave. I just bought a different brand. In less than a years time, you will need to search for Emerson radio corp. to request a replacement.
0points
Customer Avatar
Tucson, AZ
Posted 10/23/2013
I agree, i haven't had any issues with my microwave and i've owned it for 2 yrs now :).
-1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/18/2013
i really hope you the best on your microwave to. like you i thought maybe the misfortune of the microwave was due to operator error. well i was wrong. after only 7 months of use the microwave now take 2.5 mins to heat 8 oz of water. i now have a nice paperweight on my counter top. plus side is the microwave light still works so at nighttime we have a nightlight in the kitchen...............
+1point
Customer Avatar
Millsboro, DE
Relieved
Posted 07/02/2013
I am so relieved to see your review. I just bought this a couple days ago. I have so far had no issues with it. :)
0points
Customer Avatar
Florida
Posted 05/31/2013
Give it some more time....mine didn't last a year and the one I bought my sister-in-law at the same time died before mine did. I bought it to replace the one I had for more than 6 years (still working, but wanted a larger microwave). I am very careful about any and all of my kitchen appliances, and still am using some that are many years old. Nothing on the thing broke...one day it just stopped working.
0points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next