Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Emerson Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Emerson Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

This Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill features nine pre-programmed recipes and a removable glass turntable for complete, even cooking.
Average Customer Rating:
1.889 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation19%5 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Best Microwave for the $; owned for > 3 years.

07/19/2013
By ,
Beaumont, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this particular Emerson 1100 watt microwave for well over 3 years and it is still like new. I use it every day several times a day. It is noticably more powerful than my 1000 watt countertop. I have not owned a more faithful microwave oven ... ever. I just looked at the current price and cannot believe you can buy this much with so little money. I thought that I'd paid more.
These are just the facts, not opinions, not my emotions talking.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

So far so good!

04/24/2013
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a direct replacement for the microwave/browning element that came with my motorhome. It was very hard to find one that fit into the space but this one was perfect! It works quite well. So far I am very satisfied with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

WRITE TO THE COMPANY! This one is a major FAIL!

08/29/2013
By ,
East Coast
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sharing what I sent..Hope to have some resolution for others who are stuck with this thing and warn anyone else who plans to purchase this model!
Letter to Emerson:
Purchased this item as a replacement for an Emerson that had long out lived expectation. I did not need all the 'bells & whistles', however, my fiance insisted we go a bit higher in price and get "one that will last" I NEVER use the grill feature, rarely use it for more than heating tea or side dishes. Recently it began to arc, I assumed there must be a piece of food spilled...nothing. I cleaned it and the paint is peeling! I use 3 parts water to one part vinegar. Nothing abrasive! Upon checking reviews, I am not the first person to have the same results with this model. It is under a year old. We no longer have our receipt so exchange is not an answer. I, like so many others am disgusted with this durability and performance of this particular Emerson product. What a shame. I wondered if this was a know defect that you have taken measures to correct? Any suggestions on what I should do with this paperweight?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
GA
Emerson used to be synonymous with quality
Posted 02/26/2014
Emerson used to be synonymous with quality, this is why I purchased this microwave a couple of yrs ago. I did not plan and have never used the grill, but I too have had problems with the paint peeling and now it is smoky when I use it. I should have returned it when it first happened, but the "spot" started out small and I figured, no big deal. Now the entire "ring" where the for the turntable for the plate sits is cracked and constantly peeling. Thought it was just me, until today when I read similar complaints from others who bought this same item. I came online looking for a replacement. I know now, that it must be a defect in the product.
0points
Customer Avatar
chicago burbs, il
sorry you had bad luck
Posted 11/14/2013
should have bought the extended warranty, probably would have cost you 15 bucks for 2 or 3 years
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

don't do it not worth it

02/26/2014
By ,
Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From day one always made noise. It never cooked anything right, popcorn even cooked uneven. I will never buy one like this again. Lasted less then a year babied.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Very Disappointed

03/28/2014
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this microwave because my last Emerson microwave lasted a very long time. As soon as I tried it, I knew that I had made a bad selection. The microwave worked, but it was really noisy. It was so noisy that I took it back to the store and exchanged it for a different brand. No microwave should not sound like a plane taking off. I'll definitely think twice about ordering/purchasing any Emerson product at this point.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Noisy & poor ventilation

04/17/2014
By ,
Camas, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Noisy. You don't want to be in the kitchen when this thing runs. A variety of noises and vibrations, all loud and annoying.
Heated water for two minutes. The inside was dripping. Pooled under the turntable.
Had it 2 days. It's going back today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Poorly Made Microwave

03/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This microwave is poorly made. I had this microwave for 6 months and the inside of it start peeling. It resembles paint coming off. So then I call Emerson, and complained, they shipped me a new one, exact same microwave, well, this microwave also started peeling again and also would continue to run after it was off, we have to unplug it to get it to turn off, even after the timer went off. This microwave is no good. Sometimes it would turn itself on also, the timer wasn't on, it would just start by itself. I would not recommend to buy this. You are just wasting your money if you buy this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

emerson microwave

03/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Good but could be better

02/11/2013
By ,
Wahiawa, Hawaii
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have had this microwave since spring/summer 2009 it works good made 2 moves with it and last move got damaged still works good but only downsides to it is the grill part doesn't work that well and the turntable wheels rubbed the bottom of the microwave so bad the paint is completely gone but other than that it works great sadly it's time to get a new one that is bigger
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Millsboro, DE
Posted 07/02/2013
I had the same problem with my old microwave that I had to replace by the turntable causing the bottom to rub off the paint and it looked terrible. I'm assuming with lots of use this must happen with most microwaves with turntables.
0points
Customer Avatar
white plains md
worst microwave
Posted 06/29/2013
I bought this microwave last,,the microwave its not even a year old and its stop working it wont get hot no matter what we do.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Stopped Working!!

03/23/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had this microwave less then a year and yesterday it stopped working suddenly. It lights up and acts like it is working, but it doesnt heat ANYTHING! A total waste of money!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black
03/06/2013
By ,
Apopka, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlike other reviewers I have not had any problems with my unit..I suspect damage was caused by
carelessness of handling by owners..also comments this unit does not work properly I also believe is the fault of the owners..my food comes out perfect everytime..no paint chipping, handle is ideal...the last unit I owned did not have a handle which annoyed me completely..I love this microwave..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Tucson, AZ
Posted 10/23/2013
I agree, i haven't had any issues with my microwave and i've owned it for 2 yrs now :).
-1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/18/2013
i really hope you the best on your microwave to. like you i thought maybe the misfortune of the microwave was due to operator error. well i was wrong. after only 7 months of use the microwave now take 2.5 mins to heat 8 oz of water. i now have a nice paperweight on my counter top. plus side is the microwave light still works so at nighttime we have a nightlight in the kitchen...............
+1point
Customer Avatar
Millsboro, DE
Relieved
Posted 07/02/2013
I am so relieved to see your review. I just bought this a couple days ago. I have so far had no issues with it. :)
0points
Customer Avatar
Florida
Posted 05/31/2013
Give it some more time....mine didn't last a year and the one I bought my sister-in-law at the same time died before mine did. I bought it to replace the one I had for more than 6 years (still working, but wanted a larger microwave). I am very careful about any and all of my kitchen appliances, and still am using some that are many years old. Nothing on the thing broke...one day it just stopped working.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 12 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Dont waste your money

10/29/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worked great for about 4 months. then one day it just quite heating food. it was cleaned daily and taken care of. Dont waste your time on this product. It not worth it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

I would not recommend this to anyone

10/10/2013
By ,
Blasdell, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This microwave was a gift for Christmas 2012. As of October 2013 the microwave stopped heating food. It turns on and sounds like it is working, but it does not heat anything. It was not a gradual decline, it just stopped heating one day. We hardly ever use it, mostly to cook frozen veggies, so it not over used. After reading reviews on other sites, this appears to be a common problem with emerson microwaves. Please do not waste your money on this. TY
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black
01/21/2013
By ,
Montana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice looking microwave that works well but is built cheaply. The handle on ours snapped at the bottom after little use. We of course tried to be resourceful snd applied super glue for a temporary fix, and then it snapped at the top of the handle. Cheap plastic that is easily broken. The rest of the microwave seems to be fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

HORRIBLE.... DO NOT BUY

02/26/2013
By ,
New Albany, indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because it looked good and matched everything else. However in less then 3 months the paint inside started chipping, the top burned up, and it smells funny inside. I keep it cleaned and I have tried everything. It is the worst microwave I have ever owned in my entire life.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Menomonie, WI
Sounds familiar
Posted 09/20/2013
I have this same microwave, this review is spot on! I have the same problems, out of warranty now going to go pick out a different one and junk this pile!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Sizzle and burn

03/12/2013
By ,
Oldsmar, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this model two years ago. Thought it was great at the beginning. For the last year it has been very, very loud. This week it sparked, sizzled, flashed and left the burning smell throughout my home. I was standing near so I immediately unplugged it. Double checked again today. Same experience within 3 seconds. Always kept it sparkling clean. It still looks like "new" except for the new burn mark on the inside roof. I read and followed manufacturer's instructions. Always kept food covered. Nothing ever was able to splatter on the grill unit. Will never buy another Emerson. My last microwave lasted 10 years before it died and that wasn't a painful or startling experience. Back to Kenmore for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

take your money, walk into the bathroom and flush

07/18/2013
By ,
fort hood, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
throughout the 7 months of owning this microwave it slowly started taking longer and longer to heat food until one day it just took 2.5 mins to heat 8oz of water. cant say that me or the wife were happy about this. it took over a month for emerson to warranty the item and on top of that you have to pay for all the shipping costs. try going a month with no microwave when you have a baby........ anyways if you want a massive nightlight for your kitchen this thing is perfect for that. if you feel the need to flush a 100 dollars on this please mail me that money because i sure could use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Not worth the money

11/05/2013
By ,
Havelock NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this microwave for about 6-7 months. First the clock stopped working and then I went to heat something up and it tripped the breaker. The next day I tried to heat something else and it tripped the breaker again. After the second time of tripping the breaker I unplugged it and got it out of my house.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Horrible Product!

08/24/2013
By ,
Rockwell, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned this product for almost a year & it's full of problems. The paint is chipping off the inside, the light no longer works & the burner unit in the top is rusted and drops paint onto the food i'm microwaving. I just don't understand how a product can be made so cheaply as to only last a year. NEVER ever again will I purchase a Emerson product!!! Cheap, cheap, cheap!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

STOP.... Walk away....fast

10/29/2013
By ,
Upstate New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this 2 months ago and the grill function never worked. The microwave part no longer heats up anything. I woke up today and tried to heat up a cup of water and no heat. I tried to heat up a 6 oz cup of water for over 5 min, nothing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next