Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Emerson Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Emerson Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

This Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill features nine pre-programmed recipes and a removable glass turntable for complete, even cooking.
Average Customer Rating:
3.323 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation58%59 out of 102reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 44 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Best Microwave for the $; owned for > 3 years.

07/19/2013
By ,
Beaumont, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this particular Emerson 1100 watt microwave for well over 3 years and it is still like new. I use it every day several times a day. It is noticably more powerful than my 1000 watt countertop. I have not owned a more faithful microwave oven ... ever. I just looked at the current price and cannot believe you can buy this much with so little money. I thought that I'd paid more.
These are just the facts, not opinions, not my emotions talking.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+178points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gilbert, AZ
QUALITY NOT THERE ANYMORE
Posted 07/21/2014
Have had this model one week and its going back. Heats very unevenly, takes to long to
heat. noisy and the bell just keeps going way to long. Wish I'd read the reviews before I bought it. My first microwave was an Emerson and it was great (30 years ago). Still use
it in our barn to heat things up. Brands since then were different and most lasted about
7 years.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

So far so good!

04/24/2013
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a direct replacement for the microwave/browning element that came with my motorhome. It was very hard to find one that fit into the space but this one was perfect! It works quite well. So far I am very satisfied with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

GREAT MICROWAVE!

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the exact same microwave before and just bought a new one because I THOUGHT the other one just stopped working (come to find out, there was a bad plug, but I had already thrown out my other one - even the manager's son who realized this told me "Your other microwave is probably working fine."
I LOVE this microwave, it has one-touch start, like if you hit the "5" it will start and go for 5 minutes, it's big and spacey inside, it has an alarm time setting, defrost mode, easy to clean, even my cats like to sleep on top of it they like it so much! LOL
Truly, I have never, ever had a problem with this microwave. The old one that was actually working but that I threw out I had for many, many years. GREAT MICROWAVE!! YAY!! You can count on it to work for sure!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

WRITE TO THE COMPANY! This one is a major FAIL!

08/29/2013
By ,
East Coast
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sharing what I sent..Hope to have some resolution for others who are stuck with this thing and warn anyone else who plans to purchase this model!
Letter to Emerson:
Purchased this item as a replacement for an Emerson that had long out lived expectation. I did not need all the 'bells & whistles', however, my fiance insisted we go a bit higher in price and get "one that will last" I NEVER use the grill feature, rarely use it for more than heating tea or side dishes. Recently it began to arc, I assumed there must be a piece of food spilled...nothing. I cleaned it and the paint is peeling! I use 3 parts water to one part vinegar. Nothing abrasive! Upon checking reviews, I am not the first person to have the same results with this model. It is under a year old. We no longer have our receipt so exchange is not an answer. I, like so many others am disgusted with this durability and performance of this particular Emerson product. What a shame. I wondered if this was a know defect that you have taken measures to correct? Any suggestions on what I should do with this paperweight?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
GA
Emerson used to be synonymous with quality
Posted 02/26/2014
Emerson used to be synonymous with quality, this is why I purchased this microwave a couple of yrs ago. I did not plan and have never used the grill, but I too have had problems with the paint peeling and now it is smoky when I use it. I should have returned it when it first happened, but the "spot" started out small and I figured, no big deal. Now the entire "ring" where the for the turntable for the plate sits is cracked and constantly peeling. Thought it was just me, until today when I read similar complaints from others who bought this same item. I came online looking for a replacement. I know now, that it must be a defect in the product.
+1point
Customer Avatar
chicago burbs, il
sorry you had bad luck
Posted 11/14/2013
should have bought the extended warranty, probably would have cost you 15 bucks for 2 or 3 years
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great Microwave

10/03/2014
By ,
Ione, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best Microwave I have ever owned and I have had at least 5 in the past 40 or so years.
It cooks everything evenly and it defrosts meat evenly and doesn't cook part of the meat like other microwaves I have owned with a defrost feature.
I just used the combo microwave/ grill feature and it cooks my piece of steak just beautifully. I really love this microwave. I would recommend it to anyone that is in the market for a new microwave. The grill browned my steak perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Very nice microwave!

06/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This microwave looks great on our counter. We did cut a non-slip piece of material and placed it under the back legs of the unit to help keep it from sliding on the counter when the door was opened. Now, the microwave sits very secure.
As for the grill and defrost, we haven't used those features and most likely will not. We primarily use microwaves to heat food/coffee and cook popcorn, and it does that well and evenly. This unit does beep five times at the end of the cycle. Although it's not a problem, it would be nice if that function could be shut off.
We give this microwave five stars because so far it has worked well for what we use it for.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Wonderful value!

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far no problems and has more features than other microwaves that cost much more! The only negative point is that it seems to be somewhat louder when running than my last microwave, but I'm still glad I bought it and would recommend it as a wonderful value!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Microwave

06/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good. Still early on in the life of the unit... Only been a week.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

A True Disappointment @ the End

01/19/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this microwave because I was in need of a new one but after 3 years of use this microwave has started having some problems. The problem I'm having with the microwave is the bottom of the microwave where the carousel rolls now have a hole in it, i'm lost for words because when I cleaned the microwave earlier this week didn't see a hole under the glass plate. This morning I was using the microwave and it started shutting off and I was wondering why and that's when I noticed the hole where the carousel spin around. Some of these other reviews about the paint and rust inside the microwave is true because I have some in the bottom of the microwave. I love this microwave until I seen the hole but I have used it for 3 years so it was worth the price. That is my only complaint it cooks your food good!!!
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great for the tech generation

10/10/2014
By ,
Vero Beach, Fla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am an elderly grandmother who uses the microwave not to cook with, but to warm up food. It does what it was made for and more. It actually does grill a hot dog. I'm not sure what all the bad reviews are about but if I use the instruction book I don't have any problems and if I need more I look it up on my pc. I love my Emerson and it was well within my budget and today that is a major factor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Smoke in M W

06/13/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am Quite disappointed the finish is failing on the bottom , it's all rusted and smokes when ever you use the Micro Wave ,I won't get a Emerson again!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Have owned this Emerson 6 yrs And Still LOVE IT!!

10/10/2014
By ,
K.C. Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have owned this Emerson Microwave/Grill for Six years and still works like new!! LOVE IT!!!!
Make sure you keep the inside clean especially the metal grill inside the microwave, as splatter from grilling will build up and cause smoke and or smell. Use liquid dish soap and Clorox to clean inside.
Taking into consideration you will have to learn to use this Excellent and very useful Microwave/grill with trial and error recipe's like all cooking utensils to find the right combinations!
Have used this everyday for cooking warming tea coffee and using this instead of oven or stove. for Popcorn use the time recommended on the package instead of the microwave button.
Keep the key pad, plate and plate holder turn table clean, don't use abrasive cleaners or pads.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Good price, works well

05/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recd very quickly. Easy to operate. Works well
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

We have 2 of them!!!

10/04/2014
By ,
bergen county nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best microwave we have ever owned. The power is great. Almost 2 years later and it still works like new. We love it so much we bought one for each kitchen. We have nothing negative to report and we were extremely shocked when we saw some of these reviews. We are actually going to buy one today for a housewarming party we are attending today. All we can say is we are loving it...!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great buy

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The preset cooking buttons are great and everything so far has come out just right.
This one is larger than my last one and seems to cook faster.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

mixed feelings

05/07/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got it because my stove didn't have a broiler... It sat on my counter for about a year, I used my old microwave until it broke. I was scared to use it because of the fixture I got it for. IT was to me confusing. HARD TO CLEAN, The men in my life do not believe in covering the chili, etc that splatters. I bought a microwave cover they still did not use it. the roof got REALLY DIRTY FROM CHILI, ETC. I tried to clean it and it was not hard.... I would never buy another microwave with a grill top because of that reason. Confusing on the putting also... Never had any problems besides that. Cooks well, heats up well. but to me I would not get another, in fact I am looking for another Microwave now....
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Good but could be better

02/11/2013
By ,
Wahiawa, Hawaii
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have had this microwave since spring/summer 2009 it works good made 2 moves with it and last move got damaged still works good but only downsides to it is the grill part doesn't work that well and the turntable wheels rubbed the bottom of the microwave so bad the paint is completely gone but other than that it works great sadly it's time to get a new one that is bigger
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Millsboro, DE
Posted 07/02/2013
I had the same problem with my old microwave that I had to replace by the turntable causing the bottom to rub off the paint and it looked terrible. I'm assuming with lots of use this must happen with most microwaves with turntables.
0points
Customer Avatar
white plains md
worst microwave
Posted 06/29/2013
I bought this microwave last,,the microwave its not even a year old and its stop working it wont get hot no matter what we do.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

given as a gift to my elderly mother!

04/20/2014
By ,
Patterson, CA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a birthday gift for my 80 yr old mother. She is really enjoying it. She esp likes the fact that this micro is able to GRILL in it, like a bbq! What a concept and really easy to use! She loves it. If mamas happy, so am I!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Grill did not work

05/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to return this because the grill did not work which is the reason why I bought this model.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

HORRIBLE

05/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product completely failed after two-months with little use. Exchanged for a new one, and after about 6 -months of use, proper cleaning and usage, it started failing to heat and will turn off and not work for a few hours, then back on, etc, etc.... Now it has completely failed after a week of power issues... I know someone else that had issues with the same model. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS BUY!!!!
You get what you pay for...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 102 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next