Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Emerson Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Emerson Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

This Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill features nine pre-programmed recipes and a removable glass turntable for complete, even cooking.
Average Customer Rating:
3.027 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation49%37 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Best Microwave for the $; owned for > 3 years.

07/19/2013
By ,
Beaumont, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this particular Emerson 1100 watt microwave for well over 3 years and it is still like new. I use it every day several times a day. It is noticably more powerful than my 1000 watt countertop. I have not owned a more faithful microwave oven ... ever. I just looked at the current price and cannot believe you can buy this much with so little money. I thought that I'd paid more.
These are just the facts, not opinions, not my emotions talking.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+108points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gilbert, AZ
QUALITY NOT THERE ANYMORE
Posted 07/21/2014
Have had this model one week and its going back. Heats very unevenly, takes to long to
heat. noisy and the bell just keeps going way to long. Wish I'd read the reviews before I bought it. My first microwave was an Emerson and it was great (30 years ago). Still use
it in our barn to heat things up. Brands since then were different and most lasted about
7 years.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

So far so good!

04/24/2013
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a direct replacement for the microwave/browning element that came with my motorhome. It was very hard to find one that fit into the space but this one was perfect! It works quite well. So far I am very satisfied with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great Microwave

10/03/2014
By ,
Ione, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best Microwave I have ever owned and I have had at least 5 in the past 40 or so years.
It cooks everything evenly and it defrosts meat evenly and doesn't cook part of the meat like other microwaves I have owned with a defrost feature.
I just used the combo microwave/ grill feature and it cooks my piece of steak just beautifully. I really love this microwave. I would recommend it to anyone that is in the market for a new microwave. The grill browned my steak perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

A True Disappointment @ the End

01/19/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this microwave because I was in need of a new one but after 3 years of use this microwave has started having some problems. The problem I'm having with the microwave is the bottom of the microwave where the carousel rolls now have a hole in it, i'm lost for words because when I cleaned the microwave earlier this week didn't see a hole under the glass plate. This morning I was using the microwave and it started shutting off and I was wondering why and that's when I noticed the hole where the carousel spin around. Some of these other reviews about the paint and rust inside the microwave is true because I have some in the bottom of the microwave. I love this microwave until I seen the hole but I have used it for 3 years so it was worth the price. That is my only complaint it cooks your food good!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

WRITE TO THE COMPANY! This one is a major FAIL!

08/29/2013
By ,
East Coast
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sharing what I sent..Hope to have some resolution for others who are stuck with this thing and warn anyone else who plans to purchase this model!
Letter to Emerson:
Purchased this item as a replacement for an Emerson that had long out lived expectation. I did not need all the 'bells & whistles', however, my fiance insisted we go a bit higher in price and get "one that will last" I NEVER use the grill feature, rarely use it for more than heating tea or side dishes. Recently it began to arc, I assumed there must be a piece of food spilled...nothing. I cleaned it and the paint is peeling! I use 3 parts water to one part vinegar. Nothing abrasive! Upon checking reviews, I am not the first person to have the same results with this model. It is under a year old. We no longer have our receipt so exchange is not an answer. I, like so many others am disgusted with this durability and performance of this particular Emerson product. What a shame. I wondered if this was a know defect that you have taken measures to correct? Any suggestions on what I should do with this paperweight?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
GA
Emerson used to be synonymous with quality
Posted 02/26/2014
Emerson used to be synonymous with quality, this is why I purchased this microwave a couple of yrs ago. I did not plan and have never used the grill, but I too have had problems with the paint peeling and now it is smoky when I use it. I should have returned it when it first happened, but the "spot" started out small and I figured, no big deal. Now the entire "ring" where the for the turntable for the plate sits is cracked and constantly peeling. Thought it was just me, until today when I read similar complaints from others who bought this same item. I came online looking for a replacement. I know now, that it must be a defect in the product.
+1point
Customer Avatar
chicago burbs, il
sorry you had bad luck
Posted 11/14/2013
should have bought the extended warranty, probably would have cost you 15 bucks for 2 or 3 years
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

I should have known it was trouble.

11/21/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well.. 3 months after purchase, and the plug started sparking. Turns out, there were exposed wires touching some metal plate on the bottom of the microwave. Husband fixed, and spliced a new, heavy duty plug onto the unit. Fast forward two months, it begins arcing. Grill unit is acting up. We talk to Emerson, we get our money back, we buy another one, thinking we had just received a faulty unit. Fast forward about a year, we have plugs sparking again - husband fixes again (we're out of warranty). Grill unit starts arcing. The paint is peeling. Let me tell you - the longer you have this microwave, you'll notice that the "wheels" underneath the turn table will essentially scrape the paint right off the tracks, and then the paint will bubble and turn brownish. Today, for some reason, our microwave comes on automatically when we close the microwave door. No light, I'm unsure if it heats, but it turns on.. I can hear it from a mile away! It's trash, trash, trash, and I feel embarrassed that I spent $100+ on this piece. But, hey, when it works, it heats things up real fast!
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Noisy and weak

01/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought in December 2013 to replace a Westinghouse unit of same size and power.
Unit makes a lot of noise when running, cabinet vibrates badly.
Old unit took 30 seconds to heat coffee cup, this thing takes 60+ seconds to do the job. Cup of water for instant grits took 1-1/2 minutes in old unit, 3 minutes in new. Old unit took just less than 2 minutes to pop a bag of popcorn. This thing takes almost 3 minutes. Not a lot of difference but noticeable. Controls are harder to work
out. Would not buy another one. Wish I had read on-line reviews before buying.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Micro

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good , does just what I bo it for and a fair price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Great for the tech generation

10/10/2014
By ,
Vero Beach, Fla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am an elderly grandmother who uses the microwave not to cook with, but to warm up food. It does what it was made for and more. It actually does grill a hot dog. I'm not sure what all the bad reviews are about but if I use the instruction book I don't have any problems and if I need more I look it up on my pc. I love my Emerson and it was well within my budget and today that is a major factor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Monster Microwave

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great unit, dual purpose microwave / broiler high power and the add .30 second feature sold me...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Nice looking, lemon!

05/28/2014
By ,
Upstate, N.Y.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this oven in Aug. 2009. At first it was pretty decent. After about 6 month's, the inside white paint started peeling off, revealing an ugly rust stain. Kept using it for awhile, then the rusted area's started arching. I sanded all the rust off, and repainted. Worked OK, for maybe a year. Then the grill, started arching, for no apparent reason. Afraid to touch the cabinet, when this is happening. The newest problem, when in the cooking mode, it sound like the turntable is dragging a tow chain around, as it rotates. Not a joke. Going on 5 years, still works, but this would definately NOT pass any quality control tests.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Have owned this Emerson 6 yrs And Still LOVE IT!!

10/10/2014
By ,
K.C. Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have owned this Emerson Microwave/Grill for Six years and still works like new!! LOVE IT!!!!
Make sure you keep the inside clean especially the metal grill inside the microwave, as splatter from grilling will build up and cause smoke and or smell. Use liquid dish soap and Clorox to clean inside.
Taking into consideration you will have to learn to use this Excellent and very useful Microwave/grill with trial and error recipe's like all cooking utensils to find the right combinations!
Have used this everyday for cooking warming tea coffee and using this instead of oven or stove. for Popcorn use the time recommended on the package instead of the microwave button.
Keep the key pad, plate and plate holder turn table clean, don't use abrasive cleaners or pads.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

WOW!!!!!!!.......MICROWAVE AND GRILL

01/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far this microwave and grill works great. I used the grill to cook hamburgers and they turned out wonderful. I like the preset cook times. I gave it 4 stars because it does not have a hold button to keep food warm while you are getting other food ready. Other than that I really like the microwave. It is also a great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

avid user

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not so sure about some of these negative reviews, I purchased this microwave as my other had quit. I love it, especially the different settings for the popcorn and the fact that most of my stuff i put inthere now cooks in half the time it did in my other microwave. I love the fact it has the grilling feature as we like to grill but a little hard to in the winter and on rainy days as my deck does not have cover. I have recommended this microwave to others as i have had no issues with the paint peeling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

One year and it is trash!

01/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I researched before buying a new microwave. The old one had been with us about 12 years before breaking down, I was looking forward to a new one! When I got to Walmart, they were out of the one we had chosen, and I didn't want to wait to order one. I carefully read all the info with the microwaves in stock. Unfortunately, I did not read the manuals.
I decided on this one because of size, wattage, price, turntable, and the added benefit of the grill. It worked just fine as a microwave. The grill is absolutely useless. It only "cooks" with a small percentage of its capacity, and that is not enough to cook anything. It defrosts well. I have no complaints about that.
The problem is that the white paint (perhaps it was supposed to be a coating of some sort, but it flakes off like bad paint) became scratched up within a couple of months due to the turntable doing what it was designed to do- turning. The scratches swelled up due to the humidity in the microwave- boiling water for tea, warming broth, etc. The swollen scratches began leaking rust, and when I cleaned them, the coating began to come off in patches. Everywhere under those patches is uncontrollable rust. I clean it, dry it, and as soon as I warm something it is back.
This is gross, messy, unsightly, and unappetizing. I have had the microwave for 13 months, and am trying to save enough to buy another microwave.
I am absolutely underwhelmed by the quality of this microwave, and would recommend it to no one.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Need recipes

01/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Am really excited when I received this by was stymied by the lack of recipes for using the grill part. Other than that, am really thrilled with this microwave/grill.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

We have 2 of them!!!

10/04/2014
By ,
bergen county nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best microwave we have ever owned. The power is great. Almost 2 years later and it still works like new. We love it so much we bought one for each kitchen. We have nothing negative to report and we were extremely shocked when we saw some of these reviews. We are actually going to buy one today for a housewarming party we are attending today. All we can say is we are loving it...!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Disappointed

05/05/2014
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this microwave about 6 months ago. I use it for just about everything and it has worked very well until about a month ago. Then in order to get it to register and cook we had to push the buttons hard in order to get them to work properly and now the only way to cook anything is by pressing one of the pre-programed buttons like the Popcorn one for 5 min or the Beverage one for 55 sec., etc. Being that it is over the store warranty period, I now have to go out and buy another microwave. I don't think I will buy another Emerson. I had a Sharp and it lasted me almost 15 years before it started going bad. The first microwave I had before that one was a Sharp too and it lasted me almost 20 years. The only reason I bought this one instead of another Sharp was that a friend recommended this one to me. Hers is still working good but is starting to have problems too. I don't use the grill part as often as I thought I would. I am thinking since so many people have problem with this particular microwave that maybe it is because of the grill feature that this microwave seems to have so many problems. I don't know, all I know is that for me it was a waste of good money and I won't buy another microwave with a grill in it. Even though it is a nice feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Macrowave for a microwave

01/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I especially like the rotating glass turntable, which makes the food heat more evenly, imo. There's plenty of internal space, so most plates fit easily inside. I have not, as yet, tried the grill feature.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave with Grill, Black

Christmas present 2015

01/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This microwave is a good one for basic uses. I haven't used all the features it offers, but so far it's been very easy and works wonderfully.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next