Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Great Value Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Great Value Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Keep your drinking water clean without spending a fortune on bottled water with these Great Value Pitcher Filters. These universal Water Filter Cartridges fit Brita, PUR, Culligan, GE and DuPont pitchers. One 40-gallon Great Value Pitcher Filter replaces 560 12-oz bottled waters. Available in a convenient 3-Pack, these Pitcher Water Filters reduce mercury, cadmium and copper, while improving the color, odor and clarity of your drinking water.
Average Customer Rating:
2.765 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation44%15 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Takes FOREVER for water to filter through

03/28/2013
By ,
Lindale, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After using the Brita brand filters for years, I decided to try the Great Value version to save a few bucks. It's true that Brita filter seem to get "stopped up" a bit once in a while and the water flow slows down, but these can be counted on to filter your water VERY VERY SLOOOOOOW!!!
They do give the water a cleaner taste, but no more so than the Brita filters do, but they basically don't let the water pass through, and almost immediately after installing a new filter each time!!
I did follow the proper preparation instructions for using the filters, and each of the three filters in the three-pack have behaved exactly the same. SLOW WATER FILTRATION! And by slow, I mean that you will want to pull your hair out while you sit and wish you had some fresh filtered water to drink, since you've already finished off what's left in your pitcher or reservoir while you wait for the water to take OVER AN HOUR to filter through.
I will never buy these again!! Using the Brita filters is worth the extra $3 to avoid the frustration.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

No difference! Great price

03/24/2014
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not sure if the filter would work after reading the reviews. Walmart has always done a great job at returns I thought I would try it.
I saw absolutely no difference in the product compared to Britta.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

poor filter

04/01/2014
By ,
minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live on a farm and have very hard water. I normally use a Brita water filter pitcher to remove the rust from the water, and the brita filters have always worked well for this. I purchased the Great Value filters because they were cheaper than the Brita and I hoped they would work just as well. They don't. They cannot fully remove the rust from the water. After one pass through the filter, the water is still yellow. I must send the water through the filter a second time to fully remove the rust.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Great filter! I'm not sure why it has bad reviews.

09/03/2013
By ,
Northwest, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great filter! A lot cheaper than the Brita filters too.
I'm not sure why people are giving them a bad review. I have bought several of these and never had a problem. One person wrote a review saying it doesn't fit all the way. Well, the only thing I can think of (because I did this in the beginning) is when they placed the filter into the pitcher, they inserted it the wrong way. There is a notch that you have to line up when you put it back into the pitcher.
As for it not draining all the way, I've never had that problem. Like I said, I have bought several of them. Maybe there was a defect in theirs. That happens with every product.
But if you are worried about trying it, just buy the one pack filter. If you don't like it, you can always take it back. Walmart backs all their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

wwhy pay for brand name?

04/13/2014
By ,
St. Petersburg, FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Work as well as the original ones at 1/3 the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Great Value Pitcher Filters

02/22/2014
By ,
Somerville Tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works as stated, well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Good price and good product

04/03/2014
By ,
Aspinwall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good price and good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Terrible!!!

03/03/2014
By ,
Roseville,Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I could give this zero stars I would!!! I had to throw away 2 because they wouldnt drain water through at all. The rest of them drain so slow like up to an hour and once its through the water tastes weird. DO NOT BUY THESE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Happy with purchase

03/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered these filters for my Culligan water purifier; They fit perfectly and work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Do not buy for Culligan pithers

03/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The package says it fits all pitchers. If you have a culligan pitcher like me the water only get filtered half way through. After I returned I saw that Walmart online had the 3pk culligan filter even cheaper, so I got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Poor

01/05/2014
By ,
Veedersburg,IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
These filters do not work. They take forever and as soon as the water reaches the bottom of the filter, it stops working. So poor, I plan to take them back and get a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Not a great value

12/16/2013
By ,
Allen, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy these filters. I bought the Great Value 6 pitcher filters in the store thinking I was being smart. Guess what? NOT IN THIS CASE!! These filters are smaller than the original Brita filters. Also, I noticed today that after adding water to the pitcher that there was a haze of debri in the water; I've been using it for several weeks now. Ewwwww! Pay the extra bucks and buy the original Brita filters. There is NO VALUE HERE!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Great Value Pitcher Filters

03/01/2013
By ,
Urbana, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Great Value Pitcher Filters are good enough for me. They make drinking water that tastes as good as the more expensive Brita filters. The only drawback is that the upper reservoir in my pitcher does not empty all the way when the water filters. A tiny little bit of unfiltered water remains in the upper reservoir when filtering is completed. It does not seem to mix with the filtered water when pouring. The other disadvantage is that my local Walmart does not carry these filters and they are not available for purchase online. I had to order them for in store pickup. I ordered them on line and they were delivered to my local Walmart and I picked them up there and did not have to pay any shipping charges.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Agree w/ Other Reviews

04/29/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I would have read the on-line reviews before I picked up these water filters in my local Wal Mart. I needed replacement filters for my brita pitcher and did not even know a generic alternative existed. I figured the price was right so I'd give them a try. As most of the other reviewers have noted, the water takes an awfully long time to go from the reservoir in the lid down into the pitcher itself. Another issue I had was that the first filter I opened was actually coming apart... the top plastic portion was unsnapped from the bottom, allowing the filter contents to spill out into the package. I was able to snap it back together, but that should have been my first hint that the quality was sub-par. Will not buy these again... cheaper is not always better!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Poor flow, takes over an hour to fill pitcher

03/24/2013
By ,
El Mirage, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price is right @ $3.33 per filter vs $4.75-$5.00 for the name brand "BRITA". However the Great Value brand is a poor performer. I bought a 3 pack on Friday 3/22/13 and within a few hours I had already given up on the first filter and opened another. The 2nd one does filter the water thru but as stated it takes about an hour. So for $10 I have one filter that is totally defective and one that takes at least an hour to perform a 4-5 minute task. Not worth it, I'm going back to BRITA.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Has a design flaw

05/12/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to try these out because they were much cheaper than the Brita water filters but after having them I can see why. These have a design flaw in them that causes the water to not drain all the way from the top reservoir. If it was just a little amount it would be no big deal but there is always a good inch of water left on top and it does mix with the filtered water when pouring so this flaw makes them dead in the water from the start. As far as the water taste, it seems to make the water taste better but it's hard to say with the unfiltered water mixing in with the filtered. I wish these worked like the Brita one because it would save money, but they don't and that's why I returned them and got a Brita filter which never disappoints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Quit working in less than a week!

04/14/2013
By ,
Forest Park, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"40 Gallon Filter Life (Up to 2 Months)" is a joke. Great Value replacement filtered less than 2 gallons before it plugged up and quit. Purchased only because Brita filter was not in stock, but no surprise, they are hard to find at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Does not fit Brita Color Series, 10-cup pitcher.

05/01/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Simply stated does not fit Brita Color Series, 10-cup pitcher. Would be a great value if they did!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

DO NOT BUY

10/21/2013
By ,
Durham, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the description on this product and it stated that it fits a Brita. I bought one, not this pack. So glad I only bought one.
It does not lock into my Brita pitcher
There are still granules in my water after 5 pitchers of water filtered through.
Sometimes you get a great deal with generic brands but not with this item. Spend the extra money and buy an actual Brita replacement filter for your Brita.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Good basic filter

02/13/2013
By ,
Bloomington, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This filter fits both Pur and Britta. I own the Pur pitcher. It's not a perfect match, it's shorter than the Pur filters, but it works. The filter said it's suppose to last 2 months. The package does not come with stickers, so you will have to track when to change the filter on your own. It's a great deal! just make sure to plan ahead because the stores do not carry this. It's an online product for my area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next