Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Great Value Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Great Value Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Keep your drinking water clean without spending a fortune on bottled water with these Great Value Pitcher Filters. These universal Water Filter Cartridges fit Brita, PUR, Culligan, GE and DuPont pitchers. One 40-gallon Great Value Pitcher Filter replaces 560 12-oz bottled waters. Available in a convenient 3-Pack, these Pitcher Water Filters reduce mercury, cadmium and copper, while improving the color, odor and clarity of your drinking water.
Average Customer Rating:
2.933 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation49%22 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Why all the bad reviews?

05/24/2014
By ,
Silver City, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm so glad I decided to try these. I've used Britas for years and they are just way overpriced for simple charcoal filters. These work fine. I drink black tea in white porcelain cups, and if the water filter stops filtering, the tea starts staining the cups - its that simple. These last as long as the Britas before this happens, about the specified 40 gallons, even here where we have lots of calcium in our water.
There is one problem. These filters have a tendency to airlock when first installed, even when properly prepped. This has caused a lot of bad reviews as the water filters very slowly when this occurs. The simple solution to this is to fill the upper reservoir over the top of the filter, then simply use a spoon to tap on the top of the filter to release the locked air. Bubbles will come shooting out. After that, the filter flows as well as the Brita filter without having to tap again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brooklyn, NY
Thanks for the tip!
Posted 07/22/2014
Tapping on the top of the filter worked perfectly! Just as you directed, I covered it with water, tapped a few times with a spoon and many bubbles came out. I tried again and no bubbles came out, so I knew it was a one-time thing. Thanks so much!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Takes FOREVER for water to filter through

03/28/2013
By ,
Lindale, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After using the Brita brand filters for years, I decided to try the Great Value version to save a few bucks. It's true that Brita filter seem to get "stopped up" a bit once in a while and the water flow slows down, but these can be counted on to filter your water VERY VERY SLOOOOOOW!!!
They do give the water a cleaner taste, but no more so than the Brita filters do, but they basically don't let the water pass through, and almost immediately after installing a new filter each time!!
I did follow the proper preparation instructions for using the filters, and each of the three filters in the three-pack have behaved exactly the same. SLOW WATER FILTRATION! And by slow, I mean that you will want to pull your hair out while you sit and wish you had some fresh filtered water to drink, since you've already finished off what's left in your pitcher or reservoir while you wait for the water to take OVER AN HOUR to filter through.
I will never buy these again!! Using the Brita filters is worth the extra $3 to avoid the frustration.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Great filter! I'm not sure why it has bad reviews.

09/03/2013
By ,
Northwest, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great filter! A lot cheaper than the Brita filters too.
I'm not sure why people are giving them a bad review. I have bought several of these and never had a problem. One person wrote a review saying it doesn't fit all the way. Well, the only thing I can think of (because I did this in the beginning) is when they placed the filter into the pitcher, they inserted it the wrong way. There is a notch that you have to line up when you put it back into the pitcher.
As for it not draining all the way, I've never had that problem. Like I said, I have bought several of them. Maybe there was a defect in theirs. That happens with every product.
But if you are worried about trying it, just buy the one pack filter. If you don't like it, you can always take it back. Walmart backs all their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Abilene, Tx
Very Satisfied
Posted 05/07/2014
I have been using Brita filters since I bought my Brita Pitcher several years ago. I was glad to see the Great Value filters at a lower price. I have installed the first one according to the instructions and it works great! The rate of water being filtered was definitely comparable to that of Brita. Definitely a "win" for me!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

They are fine and worth it

01/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really don't get the negative reviews about how long it takes the water to filter through. Common sense should tell you that you DON'T WANT the water to get through fast. It would mean it wasn't being filtered. Granted, this doesn't mean that the longer it takes the better it is filtered but it certainly it not a bad thing. You are supposed to keep the pitcher filled anyway, so I don't see a problem with it taking awhile unless you tend to drink several glasses of water in a row. Pour a glass...refill it..stick it back in the fridge while it filters, and when you go to pour a new glass, it will be ready.
As far as the quality of the filtering is concerned, I have never noticed any difference between it and the actual Brita. Now, I live in a city where the water isn't terrible to begin with, so I can't say what it is like for people with bad water. But if your water is coming out yellow, you need to fix it at the source, not put a Brita band aid on it. Personally, I think for most water in cities, the main effect of the filter is psychological. You know it is filtered so you think you can taste the difference. Plus, people put the filtered water in the refrigerator which makes it colder than straight out of the tap. This will also make it seem to taste better. So, with that in mind, why not pay almost 50% less?
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Agree w/ Other Reviews

04/29/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I would have read the on-line reviews before I picked up these water filters in my local Wal Mart. I needed replacement filters for my brita pitcher and did not even know a generic alternative existed. I figured the price was right so I'd give them a try. As most of the other reviewers have noted, the water takes an awfully long time to go from the reservoir in the lid down into the pitcher itself. Another issue I had was that the first filter I opened was actually coming apart... the top plastic portion was unsnapped from the bottom, allowing the filter contents to spill out into the package. I was able to snap it back together, but that should have been my first hint that the quality was sub-par. Will not buy these again... cheaper is not always better!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Great Value Pitcher Filters

03/01/2013
By ,
Urbana, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Great Value Pitcher Filters are good enough for me. They make drinking water that tastes as good as the more expensive Brita filters. The only drawback is that the upper reservoir in my pitcher does not empty all the way when the water filters. A tiny little bit of unfiltered water remains in the upper reservoir when filtering is completed. It does not seem to mix with the filtered water when pouring. The other disadvantage is that my local Walmart does not carry these filters and they are not available for purchase online. I had to order them for in store pickup. I ordered them on line and they were delivered to my local Walmart and I picked them up there and did not have to pay any shipping charges.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

they taste like melted plastic do not buy

08/11/2014
By ,
ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Honestly I bought these because they were cheaper than the Brita filters and I've used them before and never had a problem but this time they tasted a little off like melted plastic I thought it was because I'm pregnant and maybe my taste buds are alittle off but after I read the reviews I realize it's not just me they do take bad I suggest spending a little extra money on name brand and buy them. this is my second filter I thought the first one went bad but no they both taste bad
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

poor filter

04/01/2014
By ,
minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live on a farm and have very hard water. I normally use a Brita water filter pitcher to remove the rust from the water, and the brita filters have always worked well for this. I purchased the Great Value filters because they were cheaper than the Brita and I hoped they would work just as well. They don't. They cannot fully remove the rust from the water. After one pass through the filter, the water is still yellow. I must send the water through the filter a second time to fully remove the rust.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Poor flow, takes over an hour to fill pitcher

03/24/2013
By ,
El Mirage, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price is right @ $3.33 per filter vs $4.75-$5.00 for the name brand "BRITA". However the Great Value brand is a poor performer. I bought a 3 pack on Friday 3/22/13 and within a few hours I had already given up on the first filter and opened another. The 2nd one does filter the water thru but as stated it takes about an hour. So for $10 I have one filter that is totally defective and one that takes at least an hour to perform a 4-5 minute task. Not worth it, I'm going back to BRITA.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

No difference! Great price

03/24/2014
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not sure if the filter would work after reading the reviews. Walmart has always done a great job at returns I thought I would try it.
I saw absolutely no difference in the product compared to Britta.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Has a design flaw

05/12/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to try these out because they were much cheaper than the Brita water filters but after having them I can see why. These have a design flaw in them that causes the water to not drain all the way from the top reservoir. If it was just a little amount it would be no big deal but there is always a good inch of water left on top and it does mix with the filtered water when pouring so this flaw makes them dead in the water from the start. As far as the water taste, it seems to make the water taste better but it's hard to say with the unfiltered water mixing in with the filtered. I wish these worked like the Brita one because it would save money, but they don't and that's why I returned them and got a Brita filter which never disappoints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

You get what you pay for.

09/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a Pur pitcher and used to buy the Dupont replacement filters. Those filters worked great and lasted just as long as the Pur filters. My local store decided to quit selling the Duponts and start pushing the Great Value filters so I figured I would give them a try. These are so cheap. They only last about two weeks and leave granules at the bottom of the pitcher after every fill, from the very beginning to the very end of their life. The taste of the water starts off fine but you can tell the filter is about done after a week or so. I used a box of three of these and all three were the same, so now I just buy the more expensive Pur filters.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Does not fit Brita Color Series, 10-cup pitcher.

05/01/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Simply stated does not fit Brita Color Series, 10-cup pitcher. Would be a great value if they did!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Quit working in less than a week!

04/14/2013
By ,
Forest Park, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"40 Gallon Filter Life (Up to 2 Months)" is a joke. Great Value replacement filtered less than 2 gallons before it plugged up and quit. Purchased only because Brita filter was not in stock, but no surprise, they are hard to find at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

not so good

04/30/2014
By ,
maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ok.i bought these at my local walmart.. and the price was cheaper like 5 bucks cheaper. i always use the brita filter. this time i'am going to try great value... i agree with others it does take longer to fill the pitcher. also i notice when u shake the filter it seems like it is filled with chorcoal pellets... brita does not do that... so i let it set in water to get the charcoal stuff out . then i filled my pitcher . also i filled a glass . and let it set... i notice that the glass water setting for a hour smelled like clorine. i don't think that the great value has 2 filtration inside the filter... so i will pass the great value .i rather spend the extra 5 bucks . this way i know iam getting better water...thats what its al about.!...i think great value products are good!!! don;t get me wrong but for this product it;s a NO.....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Good basic filter

02/13/2013
By ,
Bloomington, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This filter fits both Pur and Britta. I own the Pur pitcher. It's not a perfect match, it's shorter than the Pur filters, but it works. The filter said it's suppose to last 2 months. The package does not come with stickers, so you will have to track when to change the filter on your own. It's a great deal! just make sure to plan ahead because the stores do not carry this. It's an online product for my area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Significantly cheaper than Brita, they seem to wor

04/29/2013
By ,
Iron Mt., Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Significantly cheaper than Brita, they seem to work just as well.They remove water hardness elements better than Brita. Initially the water does run slow, but this improves as the filter is used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Box was smashed at 3 corners.

08/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
One of the filters has a small hair line crack where the box (the original "Great Value" box).
We just thru it out and are using the other ones. They are fine. Making us rethink online shopping....however the clothing was perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

Not a great value

12/16/2013
By ,
Allen, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy these filters. I bought the Great Value 6 pitcher filters in the store thinking I was being smart. Guess what? NOT IN THIS CASE!! These filters are smaller than the original Brita filters. Also, I noticed today that after adding water to the pitcher that there was a haze of debri in the water; I've been using it for several weeks now. Ewwwww! Pay the extra bucks and buy the original Brita filters. There is NO VALUE HERE!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Great Value Pitcher Filters, 3-Pack

DO NOT BUY

10/21/2013
By ,
Durham, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the description on this product and it stated that it fits a Brita. I bought one, not this pack. So glad I only bought one.
It does not lock into my Brita pitcher
There are still granules in my water after 5 pitchers of water filtered through.
Sometimes you get a great deal with generic brands but not with this item. Spend the extra money and buy an actual Brita replacement filter for your Brita.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next