Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

There is a bit of something for everyone with the Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone. This phone features a 1.3 megapixel camera so you can capture all those exciting moments from day to day, and share them with friends. The camera also allows you to use various image-related applications. This Samsung phone has an alarm clock function as well, so you can be sure you keep your appointments and wake up on time. The Straight Talk Samsung smartphone is equipped with sophisticated mobile technology, giving you the ability to play your favorite songs, send out emails and browse the web at fast speeds. Stay connected in every sense as you go about your day. A built-in QWERTY keyboard makes emailing and texting a breeze. Featuring a simple and elegant design, this Straight Talk Smartphone has the ability to store up to 1,000 phonebook entries, so all your contacts can be as close as the push of a button.
Average Customer Rating:
1.969 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
60
Customer Recommendation27%26 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 80 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
60
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

Great basic phone

07/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This little phone works great. The text messages do alert but you have to turn the alert on. Everything works as a basic talk and text phone. Don't expect it to work as a smartphone. It is not. Text app takes some getting used to but works fine. Those of you complaining of only 160 char texts....it's a CDMA phone. That's how all CDMA carriers work. The mp3 player works fine. You can set all things to be stored on the SD card. Also if you format the card in the phone I've found a 32gb card will work well. People give this phone a bad review but you have to take time to learn the phone and not expecting miracles from a $10 phone. It's a good phone for talking and texting. That's pretty much it. You want more shell out some money. Straight talk works great for me. Def saves me so much money. Yeah i gave up a galaxy note 3 for this but times are tough. Work is scarce. If you just need the basics this is quite a bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

My phone works!`

09/01/2013
By ,
Auburn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I know that others... eight pages of them... have said that the ring on text doesn't work, but mine does!! I have a feeling that they've fixed the problem. My local store just got a new shipment of these so I decided to try it. I figured it the ring on text didn't work I wasn't all that concerned. Much to my surprise it works perfectly! I love all the features of this phone. I was worried that the buttons would be too small on the keypad, and that I'd have trouble getting used to the numbers being mixed in with the letters, but so far it hasn't been an issue. The way the buttons are positioned I've actually had better luck than I did with my last phone. I am so glad I switched to Straight Talk, too. Several friends and family recommended it and I am also a satisfied customer. With Verizon cell tower access, why pay 3 times as much for a plan. I would recommend this phone if you aren't interested in a smart phone, this is the one for you!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PA
My phone does not
Posted 02/22/2014
my husband just bought one 4 days ago.. and his ring tone for his alert does not work. Some may work and some may not in.. my case my husband's does not work.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone
01/28/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for a phone that runs off of a Verizon tower so I purchased this phone a few days ago. The service is good. I use the 30 dollar plan. It's a very basic phone- easy to figure out for the most part. However, the buttons are small so it can be difficult to text with, and that's mostly what I use my phone for. Also, I can't figure out how to make the phone beep or make a noise when I get a text! I changed the options, but it just won't work. That was a disappointment because I like to know when I get a text. If you want a phone that looks similar to a blackberry, and is a lot cheaper, I'd recommend this one. Or if you're looking for something that's basic and affordable. For me personally, I'm fine with the phone but I don't think I'd buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE

01/29/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE! I love the phone but it has a defect that is in a bunch of the phones of this model. It won't make the ding sound when you get any kind of message--all it will do is the message indicator appears on the screen but no sound. I know how to do all the settings for the phone. If you aren't looking at the phone you won't know if you get a message. I have tried 2 of these phones and it is the same problem. Straight Talk customer service says they have had other calls about this problem. Samsung is no help--they just refer you back to straight talk So now I have to get some other model cause I have to know when I get a text for my work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
The phone has a great text message notification.
Posted 04/11/2014
Go to messages scroll to #7 Msg settings, then general, then to 6 Message alerts and chose either , once, or every 2 min., or every 15 min..
You can chose a ringtone under settings to #3sound settings, to #2ringer type, to #2 messages, to#1 text message, pick ringer type.
Now it is not the phone.
0points
Customer Avatar
Clifton Park, N.Y.
text message alerts
Posted 02/20/2014
I have been a owner of this phone for about 6 months, the only complaint I have is, I cannot hear my text message alert tone. I have all my settings set up correctly. It is a inconvenience to always have to check for messages. It is a simple phone to use and the price is right. I will continue to put up with the minor nuisance since I can send and receive my messages eventually. The vibration works well if you have a pocket
0points
Customer Avatar
NY
Buyer beware
Posted 06/11/2013
I was told by Straightalk that this is their only model that does NOT have messaging notification, for text, or voicemail. Has all the set up features, but they are not usable with this model. I find it pointless, but some people might not mind. Am now going to have to return and find a nother model, but I can find no where in the specs where it says it does not have message notification available. Hope this helps.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

You do not know when a text message comes in!!!

02/02/2013
By ,
Camden, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is not in anyway as good as the previous phone that it took the place of....Ringer is not as loud....Sound quality is still good....Verizon service is great in my area, BUT as everyone else has said you have no way of hearing when someone sends you a message....I have tried all the settings and it just will not signal me with a sound that indicates I have received a message!!! Taking this phone back to Wal-Mart tomorrow....I wonder sometimes how products like this get released without even being tested first....I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PHONE FOR ANYONE WHO DEPENDS ON HEARING a signal WHEN THEY RECEIVE A TEXT!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Jackson County, FL
Posted 09/05/2013
I cannot believe that they are still selling this phone. Unfortunately I did not read all these comments about the no alert sound for text messages until after I had bought and activated the phone. I previously had a straight talk phone and was very happy with it, but they have known about this problem for quite sometime looking at the comments and yet they still have not fixed it or quit selling it. Still trying to decide what to do....
0points
CDMA
Posted 07/06/2013
There's nothing wrong with the phone.
This phone is a CDMA technology and it doesn't allow simultaneous notification when the telephone or the Internet is being used.
It could be made to work however Verizon has not done so. Again, It's not the phone.
If you switch to a GSM phone you would be able to get notifications.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

great litte phone

04/15/2014
By ,
ellijay, ga.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AS YOU KNOW THIS WAS MY 2ND PHONE I HAVE BOUGHT FROM YOU THE PHONE WITH STRAIGHT TALK AS YOU RECOMENDED DOSENT PICK UP HERE THE PHONE IS GREAT BUT I GET NO SERVICE UP HERE .MY FIRST PHONE I PHONE WAS A GOOD PHONE I PAID FOR IT IN OCT. I THINK. GOT NO SERVICE EITHER YOU GUYES RECOMENDED THESE PHONE . I HAVE SENT THE PHONE BACK BY MY FRIEND DONT KNOW IF SHE HAS MADE IT THERE WITH IT YET. SO I STILL HAVE NO PHONE AND LOT TO GET TO USE THEM. THE PHONE I GOT WAS A NICE PHONE BUT IT GETS NO SERVICE WHERE I LIVE . I THINK I AM JUST WASTING MONEY . I AM ON A FIXED INCOME AND THE MONEY I SPEND FOR AIR TIME AND SO FORTH IS A WAST . SO I THINK I WILL HAVE TO TRY AN AT&T LOW PRICED PHONE. NO CONTRACT PHONE SENCE I AM HAVEING SO MUCH TROUBLE , ITS THE TRUTH I THINK YOU SHOULD GIVE ME A BIG DISCOUNT ON ONE THATS PICKS UP REALLY GOOD . REMBER YOUR COMPANY SAID THESE PHONES WOULD GET GOOD SERVICE OUT. SO I STILL NEED SOME HELP BUT THE PHONE WORKS GREAT IT JUST DONT GET SERVICE OUT WHERE I LIVE. HAVE A BLESSED EVENING
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
get a straight talk GSM phone
Posted 07/23/2014
Phones ending in g work on at&t towers. Those ending in c work on sprint or Verizon. Get a phone with a g in the model number and you will get good cheap at&t service in your area.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

Same Problems as Everyone Else

02/02/2013
By ,
Weiser, ID
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just returned two of these phones that I purchased @ a week ago. Same problem with one of them - that being no sound file activated when tm's were received. That was the only issue with THAT one... The OTHER one (my phone) had problems from DAY ONE. First it wouldn't register the "Service Days left." Two days and several hours of calling ST Tech Support, THAT finally got fixed. The next day, I tried to make a call, and it told me "You don't have enough money on your account." I had just re-up'd 3 days before...... After TWO MORE days of talking to Tech Support and entering LITERALLY about 50 different 'codes' given by TS, it STILL wouldn't work. Online, it showed my account active and in good standing. Disappointed, because we both really liked the phones compared to our almost identical, (but smaller buttons) 355C's. We've gone back to those until we can find a reasonably priced, NON touch screen, NON 'smartphone.' We just want a good, decent, INEXPENSIVE & REGULAR phone to CALL and occasionally text with...... All the other "bells & whistles" are of no use to us.
Samsung needs to recall ALL of this model, get into the guts of it and do some MAJOR fixing!!
Summary: Buy this one if A) you're a gambler or B)you like to be FRUSTRATED!! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

Disappointed

08/23/2014
By ,
Indiana,USA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I never get any text alert sounds,regardless what tone I choose for my texts. Those who get their texts to work with sound are very lucky. I had went past the return period when I got my first text,so I lost out on getting a refund. The volume on it overall is pretty good. There wasn't a large selection of ringtones.The ringtones that came with it,I didn't care for personally.I didn't want to have to payout for a ringtone,especially when my cell doesn't get text alert sounds. I tried getting on the internet to google but it said not enough memory,so it wouldn't let me do the search I wanted. I don't like how you have to "unlock" it first to get the keypad/qwerty area to light up at all,especially if in a dimmer setting environment. I liked my Samsung R355C better but it started having issues receiving calls after a good few years of service.At least it worked as it was supposed to for a cell phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

Good Basic Phone

11/01/2013
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a basic phone for simply talking and texting as I have a smart phone with another line for email, web, etc. This Samsung S380C from Straight Talk fits the bill quite well. I had read lots of reviews about many different phones everywhere and decided on this one as the notification feature had been corrected and there are notifications which may be set for voice and text (which have several different tones/sounds for each). The only aspect I was concerned about was texting with the keyboard. I am happy to say that I actually do better on this S380C than on my smart phone virtual keyboard (i.e., less mistakes). The sound quality for talking has been excellent and I am solidly at 5 bars almost all of the time. Battery life is strong, lasting several days with fairly constant use. The hands-free speaker works as well as other phones I have owned, sometimes a little “fuzzy,” but I can live with that as I have with the others. There is a keypad lock so you won’t accidently call or message the world unknowingly. It can hold up to 1,000 contacts holding up to 4 numbers each, as well as email addresses and provides nine one-touch quick call keys for your most called numbers. And, it was fairly easy to set up. Porting my old number only took about three hours. Again, keep in mind, I bought this for talk and text only, not for photos or surfing the web, as I have other gear and devices for those activities. If all you need is talk and text phone, this is a solid choice at a good price point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

Do not purchase this phone!

02/05/2013
By ,
Canton OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You will not receive any type of alert tone when you receive a text message. Also, for some reason the phone "locks" all on its own. I am on my second phone, same problem. It will be returned as soon as the one I ordered comes in (different model.) I made the mistake of exchanging the phone at Walmart and they deactivated the returned phone. When trying to transfer to the exchanged phone, it could not be completed because of the deactivaction. Spent over an hour with two different Straight Talk techs before I could get my phone # reactivated. Same yourself some time and frustration - buy another model.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Illinois
One CAN Unlock, the lock feature, there is an opti
Posted 08/04/2013
Been reading your review. In the settings, there is a place, where it gives you a choice whether to use the Auto Lock, or Not use the auto lock. I didn't like my phone locking on me, after not using it, so I found the setting, and it IZ there, and now my phone never locks on me. Also, I do get a beep sound of sorts, when I get a text message. I don't know why, so many people, are having such simple problems, with this phone. It's fairly easy to navigate through the options. Believe me, it does not take a Rocket Scientist to figure this phone out. The only problem I had with it, some of it's features, are not shown in the manual, so I took it to the store, where I bought it, and spoke with a person in the Communications Department. They answered any and all the questions I had, there were 4 questions I had, and I have not had any problems with this phone at all. It connects to the Internet, very well too, without any errors.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

Phone does not tex well

01/28/2013
By ,
Pottsville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loved this phone as soon as I got it but relized I was getting tex messages and no alerts that I received them. Was on with straight talk tech support and it took 2 hours to relize it doesn't work.. duhh I knew that!!! So I returned it and got another one and guess what?!?! Same thing happened. Returning it and not buying another one!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

Great Phone easy to use

07/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this keyboard. Had a smart phone with swipe, love this better. Short learning curve, works well in our remote area. I've had it 1 month and it is better for my area than my former smart phone. Good value for a basic talk text.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

Great phone

08/06/2014
By ,
Elizabethtown, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read many reviews on this phone before purchasing. Many were not good as they did not have a (audible) notification for texts. Then I saw a couple of persons who did and so ordered it and am so glad I did as my phone has this feature. I absolutely love this product as it does what I want yet has no extra features that would clog this 74 year old's mind, so to speak. I love the keyboard and yesterday took pictures which turned out great. I am very pleased. Great phone for older persons such as myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

No Message Alerts for texts via this phone AT ALL!

03/01/2013
By ,
Great Falls, MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried everything with Straight Talk Techs to no avail! Do NOT buy this
phone buy the alternate one: Samsung R375C ! STAY AWAY... NO Fix
Available!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone
04/16/2013
By ,
Chepachet RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone and it would not activate or give me a phone number. I spent 2 days on and off with customer service people trying to help me activate this phone. I finally got a phone number from the phone and it still would not activate. One of the days I spent 2 hours on the phone with a customer service person. They had me enter all sorts of codes into the phone, take the battery out and keep replacing it. They tried everything. Finally they said they could not help me any further and to exchange the phone. I said if I exchange it, won't the same phone not work for me. They told me it was just that phone. Now after 2 days I have to go return the phone. Most horrible experience I have ever had with a phone or phone company.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

Not good

03/18/2013
By ,
whitewater WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone on Friday and took it back on saturday as I got no alert for texts. I got another one of the same kind so I could keep the same number and not lose my minutes. Well same thing happened.... no alert. I am on my third phone and they all have the same problem...no alerts for text messages. So I am going to either go with another company or buya pay as you go tracfone. This is absurd...why are they still on the market?
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

Not a good choice

03/18/2013
By ,
Statesville,NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just bought this phone yesterday. After having major problems transferring service ( no one at Straight Talk speaks clear English) it finally works. Browser won't open. I just get a error message. Ringer is not loud enough. Can't send a text, I get a error message. It is going back to Walmart tomorrow. It's been a major frustration dealing with Straight Talk and trying to get a phone that will work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

TEXT ALERTS tones don't work

03/29/2013
By ,
Curtice, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Straight for Company. Some phone opinions will not work. Even it the phone as that setting it will not work. I am a broke College student, I paid $110 for the phone and the Service $45.
I recommend the service plans. If I knew it before buying this brought I would have bought a different phone that would have Text alerts. You just have to keep on checking your phone to see if you get a text.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

message alerts wont work

02/15/2013
By ,
phenix city, AL.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this phone will not alert you when you get a text or voicemail. i was told by tec support that it is not made to. wow that was a new one on me. i then talked him through setting a msg alert tone on the phone and a vol level setting for alerts, he still says the same thing. now they have to ship me a new sim card for my old phone wich will take 3-5 days. you have 15 days to to get a refund from walmart. now that leaves me 1 day to get a refund, and 2-5 days that i will be without a phone untill the new sim card comes in the mail. all this took 2.5 hours on the phone. can we say not happy with the service?!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung S380C Smartphone

I like it!

02/21/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent a lot of time comparing phones before I decided to buy this one. I was worried about the keyboard being small, but it turns out I can fly while texting. I've downloaded text message sounds and ringtones and everything works. If you take a lot of photos this isn't the phone for you, very low rez. I went with the $30 plan which is a great deal for my budget and my needs. I'm not a high tech gal. I don't have a land line, this is my everyday communication with the world. I'm sorry the text message sounds don't work for the other people, guess I lucked out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next