Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

The Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic lets you connect on the go. Take pictures, surf the web and more.
Average Customer Rating:
3.509 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(218 Reviews) 187
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
53
3 stars
10
2 stars
24
1 star
45
Customer Recommendation67%145 out of 218reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
53
3 stars
10
2 stars
24
1 star
45
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

BEWARE (screen protecter)

02/24/2013
By ,
Sanford, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I sent this phone back because when I made a call the screen would go black and you couldn't cut it off or anything. I sent this phone back and recieved the same one again, and it did the same thing, come to find out it was the screen protecter, it wasn't the paper thin kind, but the other one that won't roll up on you. I took it off and my phone started working just fine. Just wanted to let everyone know, hope it will help.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+118points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Hamilton
Why they do that
Posted 08/27/2013
If you had read the booklet that came with the phone, it tells you that what it's doing is a safety feature so that you wouldn't accidentally call someone else or hang up during a call
0points
Customer Avatar
concord nc
screen protector
Posted 08/23/2013
I too run across this problem. Once the screen protector was on, it worked ok till I made a call and all of a sudden, the screen went "BLACK". I took the case off and peeled the screen protector off and all of a sudden, I had my phone back in working order. Forget the screen protector.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 22 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

AWESOME ANDROID

01/24/2013
By ,
Monroe, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though it runs on the Gingerbread Android 2.3 it's an awesome phone. I know a lot of people have had controversy over which tower it works off of because it is a CDMA phone. I think it depends on where you live. I am in Louisiana so it runs off of Verizon towers but if you live someone where Sprint is more popular or prominent then it would run off Sprint towers ;) DEFINITELY A GREAT Phone For An AWESOME Price !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+172points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NJ
Guess work
Posted 07/24/2013
Walmart is taking some of the guess work out of what carrier their phones work on. This one works off of Verizon towers the CDMA-V is verizon CDMA-S is Sprint
+2points
Customer Avatar
Baxley GA
STRAIGHT TALK GREAT - LG OPTIMUS DYNAMIC LACKING!
Posted 05/04/2013
This is my second smartphone. I am a newcomer to Straight Talk and absolutely love it. This particular phone is great EXCEPT for memory. I have a 4 gig SD card which barely has anything on it. I've had the phone less than 2 months and cannot download any more apps. It only has THREE which are in "System" Memory and there is no way according to online/phone help and reading online, to transfer those to "Internal" or SD. Three more went to "Internal" memory which is fine, although its capacity is only 1024MB. There is no way to send any app to the SD Card where there is an abundance of space! It will now NOT download any apps due to "lack of space". Great phone IF you don't want apps.
I did learn that everyone with this particular phone is in the same boat.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 23 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

Great Phone small flat nice, Run Of Verizon Tower

02/23/2013
By ,
las vegas nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is equivalent to iphone 3gs & iphone 3g, also iphone 1st generation.
Positive:
- Fast like 3gs
- Run of Verizon Tower Has 3G Signal
- Great Battery Life
- Light Weight
- It is a Smart Phone For Beginner.
Negative:
- Screen and the back light is too bright and glare. Very hard to read in certain angle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 24 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

Android without all the $$$$$$$$$

03/02/2013
By ,
Louisburg, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All I wanted was a phone that would do some of the things the way more pricey phones do. This L38G LG is that phone. I can send and recieve text, access the internet for E-mail or Facebook and Twitter. Because of the screen size I would recommend a stylus(capacitive screen) if you have large fingers, otherwise you will be sending alot of text with bad splg aiors. The sound quality is clear and more than loud enough for my old ears. As in all things that come with a manual, I recommend reading the one which accompanies this phone. I have been unable to find a snap on cover (Otter style) for this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 25 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

A very nice phone at a fantastic price point.

02/23/2013
By ,
Painted Post, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really am enjoying this phone, though I've yet to tap all of its capabilities. I purchased a 32 gb memory card, rubberized case, car charger, an additional AC adapter and USB cord from another vendor. You'll want to add a larger capacity memory card if you want to download additional applications.
I get excellent reception with no dropped calls thus far. I've used it to watch YouTube videos with no issues.
My wife likes the phone so much that she's going to get one as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 26 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

Memory System Killes Phone

05/10/2013
By ,
Dayton, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a neat little phone that I would like to keep but can't because of the terrible memory system. After spending much time with StraightTalk's (WalMart's prepaid service provider) and LG's customer support, I have concluded that there's no way to fix the memory system. The problem is that the memory quickly fills up and requires manual deletion of data and the clearing of caches several times a day. System memory fills up while leaving 5 GB's of internal and SD card memory completely unused. Uncontrollable updating of bloatware makes the problem even worse. The phone problem is made more frustrating by the lack of knowledge the very polite StraightTalk customer support personnel have. Tried two phones before giving up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 27 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

Great Entry level phone

01/20/2013
By ,
Roanoke, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not looking for a expensive phone and this fit the bill. I like that fact that it is small and the phone is fast enough for me, so that being said I would reccomend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 28 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

Good phone

04/15/2013
By ,
Fitzgerald, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The LG Optimus Dynamic phone seem to be a good phone thus far, I love the features it has to offer, even though it is a small LCD android powered smartphone. excellent coverage and service seem to be working good. No complaints about it. I'd recommend any of you out there to get one and see for yourself of how good it works right out of the package.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 29 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

not what i had in mind

12/12/2013
By ,
harlem, georgia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
So i bought this phone in mid october of this year and I've already had to perform 8 factory resets. the internet keeps crashing on it. it was compatible with my budget and my entire family swears by straight talk because they even get signal at the lake. i am so glad i got the 3 year product replacement warranty on this junker. i will invest in the next model up with a slightly higher dollar value and hopefully won't have the same issues...the biggest issue is the very limited amount of phone and internal memory and the fact tjat you simply CANNOT transfer anything other than pictures, music and downloads to the your sd card. i know it's $45 dollars a month unlimited everything...but come on, i want a product and service i can trust and depend on. this is how i keep in contact with family and friends and my son's teachers and doctors.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 30 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic
02/23/2013
By ,
Bellevue NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second smart phone and it blows away my old phone--this phone will last 2 days with my moderate use---my old phone was dead within hours,even when new. Its also waaaaay faster--no more waiting around for web pages to load. I do miss the keypad on my old phone though.
Once my VZN contract was up--it was a no brainer to go with a prepaid phone---I'm saving $60 a month and still using their towers. I can throw this phone away in another month and still save on what I was paying them. Had the phone a month now
The only apps I added were Vevo and the Weather Channel and have no problems with memory.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 31 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

apparently very durable

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have had this cheap smartphone for over 2 years. it has been dropped many times, including once from a second story balcony onto asphalt parking lot. it looks/works like new and has never given me a single problem. i also have straighttalk $45/month unlimited everything. yes this is a low end phone lacking in any bells and whistles but as a phone it has good call quality, and can access email and web browser. that is all i need. it has one feature that i love that you can not get with att/verizon/apple/samsung. that would be the $3000 sitting in my bank account thanks to this cheap solution for past 2+ years. thanks walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 32 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

Ok if you don't use any apps

02/04/2013
By ,
Salem, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I switched to Straight Talk when my last phone died. The service and phones are less expensive than my previous company. I bought this phone thinking it would do what I wanted. I've only downloaded one extra app (Facebook) and am constantly having issues with low memory on the phone. It comes with a lot of Google apps that cannot be deleted or moved.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+61points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tallahassee
Not Too Impressed
Posted 03/17/2013
I purchased this phone because of the style and I am having problems with these: apps (cannot put too many apps--when using them it will force you off and it continues to try and load all day long). The navigator works for a little while and will automatically close out. If you are using a SIM card with a lot on it--it is not worth using a preexisting card. If you have a lot of pictures and contacts at least you better add all the contact all at once (if done manually) because you will not be able to edit and save. Messenger works but if your internal memory is pretty full you won't be able to send messages. Battery life is descent. I think I will chose another phone.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 33 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

Nice phone at great price!

02/06/2013
By ,
LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got rid of my expensive AT&T plan and got this phone thru the Straight Talk Plan and looking forward to saving about $30 a month!!! It's a good size and has fast downloads and I like the fact that I was able to sync up a lot of music from my pc to this phone and use as an MP3 player! (I do a lot of walking/exercise#. Good phone at a great price #was on sale!)...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 34 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

Must have if you want a bad phone

12/01/2013
By ,
liberty, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this phone is a must have if you want a phone that will crash, use up memory more than a thirsty person drinks water. i have had this phone since nov 10 and for about 2 weeks if was ok, after that it went down hill faster than the economy, the keyboard crashes... when has a phones keyboard ever crashed?? it has now decieded that when im sending a text to close out and delete the message, it will randomly shut off, i havent dropped it i charge it when needed, im about to throw it at a wall and just say forget it, the only reason i dont have a new one is i lost the recipet, other than that i wouldnt have this dang thing, as of today ive had it for 22 days
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 35 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

Do not buy this phone if you like apps

05/01/2013
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is ok for someone that just needs to surf the net or check their email. But if you use apps for any reason, DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!! It only has 256 mb of system memory, and the operating system takes up 128 mb of that, so you are only left with 128 mb of app storage. I put the Facebook app, Catch notes app, and Weatherbug on it and I only had 28 mb of memory left. So stay away from this phone if you like to use apps, cause it will let you down!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 36 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

Good starter smart phone, but the memory is awful.

04/27/2013
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm surprisingly pleased with this phone! It uses the Verizon network, which is the best one in my area, so the service area is outstanding. I live in the middle of nowhere, and I always seem to have a signal now! It's really nice to have the internet along with social media at my fingertips. The built-in camera is handy in a pinch, but it's not going to replace your digital camera anytime soon. I doubt you could even print a nice 4x6 off of it, but you can upload images to Facebook, and that is fun. As for the battery, Android phones are notoriously bad for battery life, but thus far, I am even satisfied with how long it holds a charge. I use it all day on one charge, and I really do use it a lot. I've had it about a month now, and I can honestly say that this is a reliable little phone. I don't even need my Ipod Touch anymore, and I never thought I'd part with that handy little tool --imagine having all the neat features of a smart phone but without the monthly fees! With a credit or debit card, you can even set this up on recurring payments, so you don't have to bother with buying the 30 day service cards-- no contracts, cancel anytime. I even ported my old cell number over to Straight Talk, and that was fast and easy! For a cell service, this really couldn't be easier or cheaper-- go to StraightTalk.com for recurring payment info. On the downside, the memory on this device is pitiful. I knew that buying it, so I'm really not all that disappointed. You get what you pay for, and let's face it, this is a very cheap smart phone. Now I'm sure you're thinking what I did: I'll just get an SD card with lots of memory to make up for the lack of internal memory. My advice is not to. It comes with a 4GB micro SD card already installed when you get the phone, and the ONLY thing that goes on the SD card is the photos you take with the phone's camera, and believe me, you will never take enough pictures to fill that thing up! There is absolutely no way to move any content from the internal memory to the SD card. NONE. Zip. Zilch. Nada. That means that anything you download, be it an app, a book, a song, or a picture, goes on the barely existent internal memory. This is a pretty ridiculous failing in this phone if you ask me, because how hard would it have been for the designers to include the coding that would have allowed for transfer of data between internal memory and SD card?? I was genuinely shocked that it really wasn't possible. Anyways, if you use a smart phone like I do, and don't intend to run a lot of apps, this is a great phone! I mostly use the browser and don't download much. Right now, I have 3 apps downloaded, one of which is the Nook e-reader, and on that I have probably 20 books-- by the way, this is a tiny device to read on, but its compact nature also makes it handy, portable, and discreet as opposed to the bigger Kindles & Nooks. So far I haven't really run into any problems, and this is probably the extent of how much I plan to tax my phone's memory at any given time. So basically, if this is your starter phone, and you don't need to download tons of apps, or tons of games, then this is a great phone for you. Also, there is a very nice selection of cases available from Amazon-- mine was only $6.99 with a pretty flower design. However, if you're getting this for your teenager or if you're a twenty-something, then this phone's going to make you mad when you can't run more than a couple of apps. Do yourself a favor and get the I-phone. Sure, it costs more, but you're going to be a lot happier with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 37 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic
02/20/2013
By ,
Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LG phone is ok but I am having issues when dialing voice mail. The screen goes black and I can't press any of the keys. This also happens when I make a call, I am unable to end the call because screen is blacked out.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Screen Protector
Posted 03/08/2013
I have been reading this alot....Most have said that by removing screen protector it solves the problem
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 38 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

Worst smart phone I've ever had!

12/04/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1) Very slow unless you're on wi-fi
2) NO memory and even with 64 gig memory card cannot play games, store pics and constantly crashes! Also every day when it updates the Google aps it came pre-loaded with the system locks up because there is no memory. It's pretty bad when you can't even send a text or store a contact due to low memory! Constantly have to go into settings and remove the updates so the phone will operate.
3) No flash for camera and pictures are not good.
4) Straight Talk has the WORST customer service ever and treat you as though they could care less if they have your business.
Only think I DO like about the phone is the turn by turn vocal navigation which has been nice since we moved to a new city.
Be sure that I WILL be leaving Straight Talk ASAP!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 39 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

phone won't text to verizon users

03/21/2013
By ,
Huntington, WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this phone so I could text with my daughter and receive pictures of my grandchildren. For the first day it was fine and she received my texts but then couldn't receive them. My sister (who has a Ntelos phone) could receive them, my niece (who has a sprint phone) but not my daughter. Called customer service and they did something and it worked she could receive them for a couple of days but now she can't again. Called customer service back and they have no idea why she can't receive my texts. I'm going to try and return it. I have had the phone less than 30 days!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 40 for Straight Talk L38C LG Optimus Dynamic

very basic phone

09/03/2014
By ,
Central KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this about 3 months ago to replace an LG that I washed with my jeans !! Just recently found that this is one of only 2 "smart" phones that you can't download apps. Everything is saved to internal memory which has virtually no storage. Went back to Walmart to purchase expandable SD card but found that that will make no difference in download space for this phone. Grrrrr. Wish I'd found this out in time to return it. Even the instruction booklet gives directions on moving downloaded apps to the SD card, but in actual practice it does not work !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
21-40 of 188 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next