Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for TomTom TomTom START 50 5" GPS

TomTom TomTom START 50 5" GPS

Navigate where you need to go with the TomTom START 50 GPS Unit. This TomTom GPS Unit features a 5.0" color touchscreen. This 5.0" GPS Navigation Unit provides more than 7 million pre-programmed points of interest. The EasyPort mount on this device can be placed on the dash board of your car so that you can navigate while driving. The TomTom START 50 GPS Unit features a text-to-speech voice control, so all you have to do is say where you want to go, and it will bring up the easiest route to follow. The TomTom GPS Unit will save time when going on long road trips or family vacations. TomTom Fuel Prices are also programmed into the device, so you can enjoy your trip without having to spend a fortune on the gas to get there.
Average Customer Rating:
4.17 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation87%41 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 62 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

Great for beginners

12/09/2013
By ,
Livingston, La.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first auto GPS. It is very easy to learn. I'm not a tech savvy person, so I was hesitant to purchase an expensive unit. For the price and the ease of use, I would recommend it to someone who needs to get from point "A" to point "B". I have had my unit for about 3 weeks and learned that several roads in my area are not in the system, even after I complete the "Free Updates" on line. I tried to find a road in my area which I know has been established in the last 5 years and it was not in the units program. Therefore, the statement that the unit comes with "Free Updates" is false for COMPLETE UPDATES. Case in point, if I were from out of town and I needed to find this road, I would have to seek alternate means to locate it. So if you plan on using this unit for all up to date road travel, you will have to purchase the $60 update package from the "Tom Tom" web site. This is my only complaint about the unit. Otherwise, I use it for major road systems when I travel in my RV. For the price it is all I need for now!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

Very easy to use and accurate for most destination

09/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good aid to driving in unfamiliar areas with clear commands. It did have some difficulty finding addresses in my home county though. I would like to see better examples of using my tom-tom like step by step instructions. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

Great buy!

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it as an upgrade to our old one...love it! Quick delivery also and can't beat free shipping!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

Research and Hands onTest first.

03/04/2013
By ,
Freeport, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received my Tom Tom 50 GPS as per Walmart,s proposed delivery date. I really like this Unit, it's. Really easy to use too. I input the addresses we needed to get to and off you go with easy to read and understand directions. I got the Packaged kit with the weighted Pad and case for the GPS Unit. A great deal at the time for $89.95. I got turned out of the way but the Tom Tom rerouted me and got me right to the door. I like this unit for the following reasons, (1.) Price (2.)Quality and ease of use (3.)Easy to read screen easily and the bottom of the screen. Everything works as needed so I can't complain, every GPS has it's own special feature or application, so to each person his or own choices are there. Just choose wisely!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

Great GPS, but for updating

10/22/2013
By ,
Ada, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this item in the local store, prior to taking a trip. As for the trip the GPS was flawless and directed me everywhere I wanted to go. The lane assist was very valuable, it saved me from trying to make last minute lane changes. The only real complaint I have, was the inital update took forever and a little determination on my part. Be prepaired to spend several hours trying to get the inital update, after that it seems to work without any real hicups. One other suggestion and this may well be true of all brands, go ahead and buy a dash mounting pad. The last day of my trip the GPS did not want to stay stuck to my windshield, finally did after several stops to re-mount it. Again, I suspect this might be an issue with most any GPS.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

poor

10/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
operating instructions are nil. can't get anything when hooking to computer. have a Magellan. will probably return Tomtom. called for help, told me to connect to compute.r
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

Great Global Positioning System for a beginner.

12/11/2013
By ,
Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product, indeed has the mobility to make everything available for you. When you put in any address or city you want to go to it directly take you their with no questions done I will of course prefer this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

lacking intructions

10/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tomtom meets expectaions but we sure could use better documentation on how to operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

Is easy to use and set up

03/19/2013
By ,
Grandy, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not tech savvy and own nothing touchscreen so I was nervous about this purchase. I had a little bit of trouble at first because I tapped the wrong language and couldn't figure out what to do next. I had my daughter help me with googling the problem and we found out what needed to be done to reset the device. Once I got the language it was easy to use. I only have two complaints right now; 1) There is only one voice that does the turn by turn and 2) The dashboard mount is not what I thought it would be. We have 2 vehicles and the mount is not removable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

Good price, easy for first time user

05/31/2014
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned my tomtom for a week now and used it several times while travelling. Easy to set up and program for 1st timers. I have had a few problems receiving the gps signal, guess it has dead areas like cell phones. Other than that I have had no problems with the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

typical GPS

10/10/2014
By ,
Springfield, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had it 3 weeks and I've had no problems with it. I hate to sync it up you need to download to pc
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

Nice product and works well

02/17/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dash mount works good and case that comes with bundle is very nice too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

Great GPS

02/05/2013
By ,
Fairfax
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This a good product, the size from the display is excellent, gives the complete information that you need. The little problems, in my opinion, pay for update maps and doesn't support for example the application lowest gas price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

I love this GPS is the best!!!!!!

04/15/2013
By ,
South Orange
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with it, please try to get one of this, don't ever buy a car with an integrated Navigation system, when u can just by one of this so cheap!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS
02/07/2013
By ,
Fairfax, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All that I expected. Thank you. Excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

great gps for money

11/29/2013
By ,
ROANOKE, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I will not be able to fully rate this gps till after Christmas, since it is a Christmas gift for family member. I did alot of research up to this point on this gps short of using it. I love the garmin but I think this speak to for your routes is awesome. and the price is more than fair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

a poor product

04/28/2014
By ,
Nyc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It takes a long time to response when I am driving, and the online website setting is very confusing, I would recommend the tomtom via serial which my husband uses. I thought the start serial would be simple for new drivers, in fact I am wrong. But tomtom's products are easier than garmin to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

It sure isn't a Garmin!

06/26/2014
By ,
Wallingford, CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My biggest disappointment with this unit is, it must be powered on and off manually. It doesn't turn off when you turn off your ignition, even though power is cut to the lighter plug. The menus are also confusing and don't seem to follow any logic. It will take some getting used to. Again the biggest problem is remembering to turn it off when exiting the auto.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

Better than expected

06/18/2014
By ,
Cherokee, iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I expected the Tom Tom to take me on the main routes (state highways & interstates) but was surprised to see that it took me on the exact shorter route that I had planned. Pretty amazing device.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for TomTom START 50 5" GPS

Great value for the price

04/16/2014
By ,
Kingsport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't travel a lot so only needed something for when I drive rental cars or travel. This was perfectly priced for my needs, but has all the features that I could want.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next