Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Murray Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

The Murray Gas-Powered Lawn Mower is ideal for mowing yards of various sizes. Using a 148cc Briggs & Stratton engine with 4.5 gross torque, this Murray Lawn Mower has plenty of power. The side discharge of the Murray Gas-Powered Lawn Mower sends cut grass out of your way. The wheels of the Murray Lawn Mower let you easily move over the grass and the steel deck makes it durable. With its five-position height adjustment, you can set the Murray 20" Lawn Mower to cut various lengths of grass, working best on flat terrain. Each of the Murray Gas-Powered Lawn Mower's four wheels has its own height adjustment handle. This allows you to find just the right setting for the height of your lawn's grass. The Murray 20" Lawn Mower also comes with a two-year manufacturer's warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.913 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(218 Reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
51
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
42
Customer Recommendation82%178 out of 218reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
51
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
42
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Reliable but oil change could be tricky.

04/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I cut my grass with a riding lawn mower and use a light weight mower for trimming. My last Briggs & Stratton mower lasted 22 yrs with annual oil changes. This one is off to a good start. Easy set up out of the box. And started right up. Also set to use ethanol containing fuel, E-10.
This model moves the gas tank to the top of the machine for easy access. But access to the oil gage/add is a bit difficult. It's under the hood. Access is tight. A typical funnel, or measuring cup or gravy separator won't reach it. Long neck oil bottle might work but its tricky to pour all 15 oz in. I bought a flexible oil spout at Walmart for $0.50. It worked fine. I'd say its necessary for this mower.
This model lacks an oil drain plug for oil changes. Manual suggests removing oil gage/ cap and tipping mower backward (spark plug up) to drain oil into a pan. Sounds complicated. Plastic oil gage cap was also easily cross threaded. Also no choke/throttle.
Making the rounds in my area, this was the lowest cost mower available.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

15 years

04/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this mower for 15 years and it started every time with only one or two pulls. This mower is light weight and great for trimming. Uses very little gas and I changed the oil only about 4 times over the 15 years.. I left this mower setting under my out building and it took the brunt of most of the weather. I would pull the carb off each spring and clean out the jets. Run like a top... Will buy another when needed...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Great mower for the money!

04/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this exact mower 13 years ago for $99 at Walmart only then it didn't have easy adjust deck hight. We mowed for 13 years with only 1 oil change and tunup before it hydrolocked over the winter. It was cheaper to get a new one! We bought this one for $144., $45 more than the one 13 years ago, but if it lasts as well, its a great buy! We didn't hesitate going back with this mower.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Amazing Light Weight Lawn Mower!!

03/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lawn mower because my huge, expensive Toro lawn mower would not start (again), and it's far too heavy for me to place in the car alone. I just had neck surgery 2 months ago and I need to be careful not to lift anything heavy. Frustration!
I have a little over an acre and it has rained nearly everyday for the last week. Needless to say my grass/weeds were out of control. I cut my soggy yard anyway and this mower was Amazing. It worked like a champ!! I am so Pleased! By-the-way, I'm a woman.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Easy as pie!

02/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised I started this mower myself. I've a rotator cuff injury but I attempted starting it myself before calling for assistance and found I didn't need any! I also like the small size for maneuverability.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Lawn Buddy

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Great Lawn mower. so thankful Walmart still carries it. We have had several of these over the years and my Husband cut things you would think impossible to cut with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Lite weight for an old man.

11/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My murray mower is light weight and easy to use on the hillside I call my yard. It is what I needed . Not too much to push and powerful enough to do the job.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Great mower at a great price

10/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were very happy with the mower and couldn't beat the price! Did a great job!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Shame on them

10/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed when I opened the box to see that one of the tires was crooked. I couldn't even use the lawnmower because the crooked wheel wouldn't let it go straight. Had to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

works great

10/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing power, starting on first try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Low cost does the job :)

10/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this lawn mower for my 1/2 acre lot works well simple to use cost efective. Entry level machine. Went to lowes home depot n local walmarts low end machines are gone for some reason, maybe holiday stock up or winter season who knows. Walmart.com saves the day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Good lawnmower for 2nd home

10/11/2014
By ,
Jackson, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this to use at a 2nd home so we don't have to haul a lawn mower back and forth. Meets our needs and it's works well for the yard at this home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

good product

10/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It cuts grass pretty smoothly
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Worth the price!

10/10/2014
By ,
Holcomb, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was definitely worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Good Mower

10/06/2014
By ,
Ridgeway Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good! Have only used it once thus far but will be firing it up this afternoon. If there are any changes to my rating, I will post here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

I love my new Lawnmower!

09/29/2014
By ,
Toledo Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Great, light weight lawn mower

09/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was easy to assemble, poured in the oil, cranked right up and is super light weight. What's not to like!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

fantastic lawnmower

09/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic lawnmower for the price.It exceeded my expectations.Very durable,starts on the second pull(engine cold) and on one pull(engine warm)excellent on gas,cuts very cleanly and level.This lawnmower for the price exceeded some well known brands that i have had over the years.Even tho it is a light weight mower it can keep up with my 4-h.p. craftsman mulcher which i have had since 1978.It was fully assembled in the box and after cutting one end of the box,was able to roll it out and the handle unfolded and snapped into place without a hitch.No need to worry about your engine speed because you do not have to set it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

greet mower for cutting when grass is not too high

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to push, lightweight, easy to assemble which was just the handle,quiet cutting
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Awesome lawn mower!

09/20/2014
By ,
Athens, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Came completely assembled, just had to tighten a few bolts on the handle. Came with oil, filled it up, and put gas in it. Primed and stared with the first pull. Let it idle for a few minutes to get the oil flowing through it, then mowed our entire acre, only having to fill up the gas tank once. This thing is AMAZING on gas and cuts through tall glass easily, we know this because both of our mowers, push mower and riding both went out at the same time, leaving the grass to grow really tall waiting for the funds to purchase a new one, but it was a champ going through it. It looks great and the motor on it seems powerful. My only tip would be is to go slower in tall grass, as the discharge slot on the side gets blocked up somewhat easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next