Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Murray Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

The Murray Gas-Powered Lawn Mower is ideal for mowing yards of various sizes. Using a 148cc Briggs & Stratton engine with 4.5 gross torque, this Murray Lawn Mower has plenty of power. The side discharge of the Murray Gas-Powered Lawn Mower sends cut grass out of your way. The wheels of the Murray Lawn Mower let you easily move over the grass and the steel deck makes it durable. With its five-position height adjustment, you can set the Murray 20" Lawn Mower to cut various lengths of grass, working best on flat terrain. Each of the Murray Gas-Powered Lawn Mower's four wheels has its own height adjustment handle. This allows you to find just the right setting for the height of your lawn's grass. The Murray 20" Lawn Mower also comes with a two-year manufacturer's warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.912 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(227 Reviews) 187
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
122
4 stars
53
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
44
Customer Recommendation81%185 out of 227reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
122
4 stars
53
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
44
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Great find

05/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great lawnmower easy to assemble,started right up,starts up every time i go to mow.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Great Mower

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light weight, with easy adjustable height for both front and rear wheels. Starts on first pull. I use it for trim work on my 3.5 acres around trees, and in ditches. When the yard is to wet for the riding mower, i use this one to push 1/2 acre near the house. Very happy with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

good machine for price

05/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good machine for small jobs
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Junk

05/10/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUT THIS LAWNMOWER if you have a decent size yard that needs cutting once a week. I bought this lawnmower last year in July and used it through August. Once the season was over I stored it in a cool, dry place and when i went to use it this year it will not start. I went to the Murray website for troubleshooting issues and there is no record of the instruction manuals, troubleshooting guides or anything that will show you how to repair anything on this mower. When you put in the model number all you get is "no results found" unless, of course, you intend to purchase another one then it takes you to all appropriate websites to buy, not repair, your mower. Upon taking the cover off the engine you will realize that it is sealed and there is no way to perform any maintenance on this mower yourself. After researching the engine only i found that it can be repaired at a shop for roughly 100.00. Of course a brand new one is 129.00 at my local Walmart. I cannot all other reviews i have read are positive but none stated use for more than a couple of times. Therefore not a good purchase for extended use.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Perfect if you don't need anything fancy

05/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first time I used it the grass and weeds were very long. This lawnmower cut right through it. It might be nice to have a grass catcher but not a big deal. Especially for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Does a Good Job for the Price

04/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Wife and I needed a mower and had never purchased one before. We wanted to get another model but they were all sold out. I figured it would be a nightmare but it turns out to be a great little mower. Easy to assemble and start! We have used it twice with no issues. It bogs down a little when you hit taller grass but with it being the first cut of the season, I expected it to happen.
Hopefully we won't have any issues out of it the entire summer!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Poor Quality Control

04/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Needed a replacement mower to trim around the house. I use a lawn tractor to cut the remaining 3 acres. Went to my local Covington, LA Walmart and purchased the Murray 20" mower. Brought the mower home, and added gas and oil. Briggs and Stratton mower engine (08P502 0085 F1) Manufactured 3/16/15 would not even start. I attempted to call the mower customer service number and was unable to speak with a human being. Returned mower to Walmart and received a refund. Purchased the same mower model again and brought it home While assembling the handle and installing the recoil rope in the proper location, I found that the Briggs and Stratton engine (08P502 0064 F1) manufactured 2/14/14 did not turn freely. Returned the second lawnmower to Walmart. I had not problem with Walmart customer service, but I find the quality control of the engine manufacturer to be less than I desire as a customer.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

This Mower May Be Small But It Handles Tough Jobs

04/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been needing a lawn mower for a long time. It is in my lease agreement with my landlord to keep the lawn trimmed regularly. I had been paying a neighbor or borrowing one for the past five years but a mower was not available enough. So I started asking around for a new lawn mower or used one for a good price that was easy to use.
A high school friend on Facebook recommended a Murray to me. My budget for a used mower was $100 or less then I saw this one. I figured I'm only paying $44 more for a new one than I had budgeted for a used one so I decided to buy it.
My dad had Murrays for years so I figured I could not go wrong. There were two other good selling points with this mower. It came with a bottle of the oil it would need, and it was made in the USA! I am thinking of repainting the deck pink, since I'm a lady but I won't. I actually like the silver color. LOL
It was also pretty easy to get out of the box, as it was already assembled. I actually had it gas and go right out of the box!
I know a lot of people tell me they don't have mowers last very long. I think they have to be careful about the kind of gas and oil they put in it. If they are mindful of the kind of gas and oil recommended by the manufacturer, their mower should last a long time.
Now keep in mind how much I have to mow! I have an acre for my yard alone and my landlord owns another acre right behind me. I don't actually have to mow that but my doctor said I had to lose weight and I discovered that an hour of mowing burns approximately 500 calories. I have had this mower less than a month and have already lost about six pounds! I enjoy mowing. My neighbor with a lawn tractor even said my yard put his to shame. The mower does not leave huge clumps of grass. Even though it's not a mulching mower it mulches the clippings pretty thoroughly.
So this mower has easily handled two acres a week. I can do this on about a tank of gas.
The only thing that bothers me is that it hangs up a bit on mole hills even when it is adjusted to the highest settings. But that's because moles are a problem and this isn't a problem with the mower itself.
Overall I am very pleased with my new "toy." So call this gal impressed by this lawn mower.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Very light, great cheap mower

04/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me first off say I wanted a self propelled mower, but they a bit pricier than I would like so I figured I would give this a shot. In deciding between the 22" and 20" I picked the 20" for two reasons: 1: the smaller cut-deck makes its a bit lighter, and 2: the engine is smaller as well. I would say the mower weighs around 40-50lbs, and it feels like you are pushing air when you mow. Because I mow my lawn quickly, the light weight of this mower is perfect. I can mow faster than a self propelled mower is capable of and the light weight makes the job easy. The engine is torquey and handles tall grass. I give it 4 stars because the engine has a bit of a stuttering idle running (this may be an imperfect burn or may simply be a "rev limiter" to keep the engine from running too high on idle); I will try 93 octane ethanol free gas and see if this improves performance. Will update in the future.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Reliable but oil change could be tricky.

04/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I cut my grass with a riding lawn mower and use a light weight mower for trimming. My last Briggs & Stratton mower lasted 22 yrs with annual oil changes. This one is off to a good start. Easy set up out of the box. And started right up. Also set to use ethanol containing fuel, E-10.
This model moves the gas tank to the top of the machine for easy access. But access to the oil gage/add is a bit difficult. It's under the hood. Access is tight. A typical funnel, or measuring cup or gravy separator won't reach it. Long neck oil bottle might work but its tricky to pour all 15 oz in. I bought a flexible oil spout at Walmart for $0.50. It worked fine. I'd say its necessary for this mower.
This model lacks an oil drain plug for oil changes. Manual suggests removing oil gage/ cap and tipping mower backward (spark plug up) to drain oil into a pan. Sounds complicated. Plastic oil gage cap was also easily cross threaded. Also no choke/throttle.
Making the rounds in my area, this was the lowest cost mower available.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

15 years

04/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this mower for 15 years and it started every time with only one or two pulls. This mower is light weight and great for trimming. Uses very little gas and I changed the oil only about 4 times over the 15 years.. I left this mower setting under my out building and it took the brunt of most of the weather. I would pull the carb off each spring and clean out the jets. Run like a top... Will buy another when needed...
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Great mower for the money!

04/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this exact mower 13 years ago for $99 at Walmart only then it didn't have easy adjust deck hight. We mowed for 13 years with only 1 oil change and tunup before it hydrolocked over the winter. It was cheaper to get a new one! We bought this one for $144., $45 more than the one 13 years ago, but if it lasts as well, its a great buy! We didn't hesitate going back with this mower.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Amazing Light Weight Lawn Mower!!

03/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lawn mower because my huge, expensive Toro lawn mower would not start (again), and it's far too heavy for me to place in the car alone. I just had neck surgery 2 months ago and I need to be careful not to lift anything heavy. Frustration!
I have a little over an acre and it has rained nearly everyday for the last week. Needless to say my grass/weeds were out of control. I cut my soggy yard anyway and this mower was Amazing. It worked like a champ!! I am so Pleased! By-the-way, I'm a woman.
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Easy as pie!

02/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised I started this mower myself. I've a rotator cuff injury but I attempted starting it myself before calling for assistance and found I didn't need any! I also like the small size for maneuverability.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Lawn Buddy

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Great Lawn mower. so thankful Walmart still carries it. We have had several of these over the years and my Husband cut things you would think impossible to cut with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Lite weight for an old man.

11/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My murray mower is light weight and easy to use on the hillside I call my yard. It is what I needed . Not too much to push and powerful enough to do the job.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Great mower at a great price

10/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were very happy with the mower and couldn't beat the price! Did a great job!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Shame on them

10/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed when I opened the box to see that one of the tires was crooked. I couldn't even use the lawnmower because the crooked wheel wouldn't let it go straight. Had to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

works great

10/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing power, starting on first try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Low cost does the job :)

10/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this lawn mower for my 1/2 acre lot works well simple to use cost efective. Entry level machine. Went to lowes home depot n local walmarts low end machines are gone for some reason, maybe holiday stock up or winter season who knows. Walmart.com saves the day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 188 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next