Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Murray Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

The Murray Gas-Powered Lawn Mower is ideal for mowing yards of various sizes. Using a 148cc Briggs & Stratton engine with 4.5 gross torque, this Murray Lawn Mower has plenty of power. The side discharge of the Murray Gas-Powered Lawn Mower sends cut grass out of your way. The wheels of the Murray Lawn Mower let you easily move over the grass and the steel deck makes it durable. With its five-position height adjustment, you can set the Murray 20" Lawn Mower to cut various lengths of grass, working best on flat terrain. Each of the Murray Gas-Powered Lawn Mower's four wheels has its own height adjustment handle. This allows you to find just the right setting for the height of your lawn's grass. The Murray 20" Lawn Mower also comes with a two-year manufacturer's warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.921 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
41
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation82%146 out of 178reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
96
4 stars
41
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Gets the job done

07/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had no problems with this item. So far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Quick set up works as expected...

07/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not a bad mower for the price but I think that it's probably abotu 15% to expensive for the overall value. Other than that performs as expected...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Do Not Buy This Lawnmower

07/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read some bad stuff about this Murray but I've had great luck with Walmart mowers over the years so I bought it anyway. The mower does not start after the first usage or two. No combination of choking will keep it running. It may be starved for fuel or it may be more serious than that. I don't care. Walmart needs to discontinue this model!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Delivered ahead of schedule

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was completely assembled. Light way and starts easily. Price was right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Broke during 1st use

07/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I assembled the mower per the enclosed instructions and made sure the fuel and oil levels were correct. After making 3 or 4 passes on my very small lawn, the mower made a loud 'pop' sound, began smoking heavily, and hasn't worked since.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Great for older people

07/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very little assembly required (no tools). Very easy for me, a 58 yr old woman, to start. Well worth the price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

a nice push mower

07/20/2014
By ,
Lexington, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just add oil, adjust handle and height. Easy pull start, lightweight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

it was used and didn't work when I picked it up

07/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'd suggest opening the box before you get it home and realize it's used and doesn't start or is locked up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Good mower for the price

07/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Decent little can do mower with Briggs & Stratton Engine. A few more features than my old mower ( which was a weed eater with similar engine that I paid about $60 less for) Wish this puppy was cheaper, but will do the trick for now. We'll see how ling it lasts and how the oil change goes as I have just had this mower for 3 weeks or so.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

lawn mower

07/13/2014
By ,
omaha ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one just like it before for over 20 years and still running a friend borrowed it and did not return it so I had to buy anther one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

perfect size for my small back yard

07/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is just what we needed and works great. Easy to start and push around our nice Bermuda grass yard. Thanks...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Major problems-going back!

07/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have an old Murray so old it's all metal- no plastic- so I bought another one. This one absolutely, positively refuses to start! It's going back ASAP.. First one delivered was soaked in oil in the carton- oil everywhere didn't even take it out of box! Not sure whose fault. So in confidence i ordered a replacement. Now I have no mower and tall grass. Will I Murray again-Don't know- Right now I'm too upset!!!! Also the phone number for help on the MURRAY Features brochure is NOT right-WRONG NUMBER for this product. or company. Too bad- our old one worked extremely well. Maybe I can get it fixed?????
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Low quality

07/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Starts right up but stalls when cutting grass. Thankfully Walmart has an easy return policy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Great for trim work.

07/09/2014
By ,
Millville NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great mower for the money it cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Great for small yards

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Murray 20" Gas-Power Lawn Mower is great for small yards and much easier for a woman to use. It's not heavy and get the job done faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Great for my dads yard

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a Fathers Day gift for dad. He says it does a great job on his yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Excellent Lawn Mower for Small Yards

06/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The lawn mower is easy to start and maneuver. Runs beautifully lightweight and I am completely satisfied with the product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower

Check it over immediately

05/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this mower back in March when I had some extra money (tax refund) but living in Iowa I didn't need it until a couple weeks ago. When I finally took it out of the the box (fully assembled) it was missing the "Control Bar". I called what was listed as Walmart customer asst and got small engine repair shop; they sent me the missing part. I put it on, put in the oil that came with the mower (not enough to fill the crankcase so added more) I pulled the start rope out to get it where it hooks to the handle and it wouldn't recoil. I couldn't take the mower back because anything that holds gas must be returned in 30 days (I left it in the box longer than that). I found a local shop that does warranty work on Briggs&Straton engines. They couldn't warranty it because the shroud had been bent during packing. I'll pay the $40.00 shop bill and hope this (almost) 200 dollar mower lasts a good long time....VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 19 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Bad product

06/09/2014
By ,
Marion,il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Found it very difficult to add and check oil. Mowed my small yard twice and the engine started to cut out.Now it will not run at all. Plan to return this item .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Panama City, Florida
Posted 07/12/2014
I had the same problem with this mower suddenly dying on me and refusing to start after only mowing my lawn 3 or 4 imes . I replaced the spark plug,cleaned the air filter,checked the oil level and made sure the tank was filled with fresh gas. Then I decided to see if there was a problem with the carburetor. After removing the plastic air filter housing I noticed a very small black spring dangling from a lever next to the carburetor. I tried hooking the loose end of the spring to one of the 3 small holes just ahead on a metal plate fixed to the engine body then screwed the air filter case back in place over the carburetor. After priming the engine 3 or 4 times, I pressed down the control bar,pulled the cord and it started immediately! I've mowed my lawn a couple of times since then and haven't had any more problems. I think the spring might have popped loose when I mowed over a bumpy part of my lawn. If anyone else has had their mower suddenly refuse to start and stay running , try making sure the spring under the air filter hasn't come loose.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Murray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower
This review is fromMurray 20" Gas-Powered Lawn Mower.

Great mower

06/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mower is light-weight and easy to push. We have an old Murray 20" mower that we purchased from Walmart several years ago that is still going so that is why we purchased this mower. I like that the handle is longer on the this model; it makes it much easier to push. Also, the wheels adjust on this model; you can adjust how low or high you want your cut to be. We have a large yard that is not level and it does a great job keeping it mowed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 139 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next