Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coby Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coby Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

Connect to the world with the touch of a finger and the Black Coby Kyros MID8048-4 8" Tablet PC. The tablet is a powerful and flexible Internet solution, featuring the 8" capacitive touchscreen and Android 4.0 operating system. This operating system, known as Ice Cream Sandwich, gives you access to thousands of applications from the GetJar marketplace with plenty of games, social media and productivity tools to meet the needs of today's users. Whether surfing the web or answering email, this tablet helps you stay connected. The sleek Coby Kyros Tablet with Wi-Fi and an 8" touchscreen with 800 x 600 resolution lets you enjoy your favorite content on a quality screen. You can capture that special moment with the 0.3MP front webcam or connect with family and friends. Ports on the Android 4.0 tablet PC include a USB 2.0, a mini-HDMI, a 3.5mm headphone jack and a dock connector.
Average Customer Rating:
3.072 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
14
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation56%54 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
14
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

I wouldn't recommend it.

12/25/2012
By ,
NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The tablet seemed okay until I realized it didn't have the Google Play app store. And I could barely get the GetJar app store to work. I tried a search for Angry Birds on it and it said the page was temporarily unavailable.
It is an unsupported Google device and an unsupported version of Android so you can't even download apps using the Google Play website! Very frustrating.
I knew I should've steered clear of a no-name brand. I'm going to pay an extra $20 and get a refurbished Vizio instead that has the Google Play store and is at least a brand I recognize. I'm mad because I thought it had Android so that's all that mattered but nope, on Christmas day I had to tell my 13-year-old stepson we have to return his present and he has to wait a week for a replacement. Not a nice surprise.
If you want good apps, don't buy this. You get what you pay for!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+11points
Review 2 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

not horrible, but not good.

12/19/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i bought this because 8 inches would be a good size for what i was needing. not many companies make the 8 inch so figured id give this a shot.
the worst thing about this is the screen. it is brutal. grainy. 800x600 looks horrible. spend the extra and get the higher res. no
no google play store.
laggy, choppy.
only thing id recommend this for is to browse the web and read/edit documents.
but if thats all youre going to do, go buy an old gingerbread device for a lot cheaper and will get the same functions and probably a better screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+61points
Review 3 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

Just what we wanted...

12/21/2012
By ,
Wichita, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I were looking for tablets for our three boys for Christmas. They are relatively young (8, 9 and 11 years old) and we knew we didn't want to spend several hundred dollars each on a tablet. We found these and purchased three of them. Each of them started right up and is preloaded with basic features (camera, calendar, etc.). Now obviously the camera is not the best quality I've ever seen, but let's be real...it's not a Canon. There is no Google Play app, but I knew that from the item description. The GetJar app store is more than sufficient for our needs. The screen resolution is standard for this size and touchscreen works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 4 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

awful app store NO access to google play store

12/27/2012
By ,
Lebanon,Mo
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Tablet is a good value but has no access to goole play store. Also the app store pre loaded on the tablet isnt working per the Coby web site and they want you to download another app store instead and it has none of the android apps you want like Scrabble, and Words with friends. I also had lots of trouble getting the email accounts to work on it.
The tablet itself worked good and had a very nice display but it just wouldnt work ,once you try to use the internet, properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 5 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4
01/01/2013
By ,
Little Rock, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Me and my sister purchased these tablets for our kids and all four stop working within a week. One didn't not turn back on after my son played it the first day and the other one started turning on and off by itself. The same thing happen with the ones my sister bought. Getjar apps are horrible!!!!! I downloaded several and some were not what I downloaded. Ads continued to pop up and it kept going on the Internet. I returned it to the store with no problems because the customer service rep stated that alot of people was returning those tablets because of the same problem i was having. I don't recommend this product to anyone it is a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Review 6 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

Not worth it!

01/03/2013
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these for a Christmas gift for each of my twin daughters... They both do not work at all. One of them has frozen up completely, will not shut down or change screens, it has lines through it and the other will not pull up the "Getjar" that is there for app downloads and the amazon app store I downloaded won't work 80% of the time. There are no parental controls on it whatsoever and no toggle switch for easing of the sliding of fingers for touch, which makes the few games they were able to download harder to play. I am going to attempt to take them back today to Walmart... Not sure what is going to happen since I received them through mail on November 27th. Look elsewhere for your tablets... Think we're going to spend the extra 50+ a piece to get a Kindle. So disappointed, even moreso if I don't get my money back... Will attempt to contact COBY then.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

Not good products

01/01/2013
By ,
Winnebago, Ne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
purchased 2 MID 8048-4 s and one went down the 2nd day and the other less than a week. Product support does not answer emails or the 800 number do not answer and only place u on hold. I waited for over 30 minutes and was hung up on. SOMEONE HELP.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

Not the best

01/20/2013
By ,
Utah
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these for my boys for Christmas. Get jar is not the best app store, most of the time it said that could not connect. 2 of the 3 have already broke. I would suggest that you spend a little bit more money and get a better one. But if you do get this one make sure to purchase the cracked, broke screen warranty as that was the issue with both broken ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

Best value for the money

01/21/2013
By ,
Independence, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 22 yo daughter for Christmas. She loves it and takes it with her everywhere! Perfect size because it fits in her purse but the screen is big enough to comfortably watch a movie or a play a game. It's absolutely perfect for her needs, ready to go right out of the box on Christmas morning and, so far, has been absolutely trouble free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

Great value for money

12/31/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 3 Coby Kyros MID80848-4 units, one for each kid. They love it. Downloads of apps are easy and tons of free apps available for them to use.
Highly recommend it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

average at best

01/04/2013
By ,
Memphis, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought 2 of these tablets for our 4 and 7 year old for Christmas.
Pros
1. I like the 8" screen. nice size
2. I like the amazon apps
3. I like the USB connections
Cons
1. You have to constantly uninstall and reinstall the amazon apps store. It will work for a few days and then just stop working.
2. GetJar appstore - it's ok but it's very limited. we downloaded some of the Google Play apps like Subway Surfers but they didn't work on this android tablet.
3. The music player stopped working. We loaded some disney songs on the tablet and they played the 1st day. The next day, the tablet didn't recognize the songs and gave us a USB error.
4. No updates on the Coby USA website. I'm going to contact tech support but they have limited hours. We've got issues that we need to get solved.
5. The battery drains fast! you have to keep the charger in your pocket because you will need it.
6. Try finding a case for an 8" screen. Good luck.
7. my computer does not recognize the tablet when I connect it. why, I don't know.
This is a decent tablet. We also bought an iview tablet for $199 for my older son and it works better without all of the problems. If I could afford it, I would have bought all 3 of the kids the iview tablet. We took a chance on the Kyros because they were cheaper. Be sure to get a tablet that has Google Play apps. If not, you are limiting yourself. The next tablet I purchase will have to have Google Play. Amazon appstore is nice but still nothing like Google Play.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

Not Worth it.

01/03/2013
By ,
Kennesaw,ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my son (12), he loved it! For his age and what he would use it for it wasnt a bad buy until it started freezing, then two days later it wouldn't even turn on anymore and it wouldn't charge. I immediately returned it back to the store for a refund. After the other reviews with people having same issues I rather not get a replacement rather go with a different brand of tablet even if it is a little more. Not worth the $ if its only going to last a few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

Baaaaahhhhh!!

01/01/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this tablet and was super excited! Nice screen resolution and the size was perfect. Played around with it for a while, just getting to know what everything was all about then put it on the charger overnight. Next day, everything was fine then the screen went blue and never came back. Couldn't turn off and wouldn't turn on. Maybe I just got a lemon but I wouldn't take the chance on another tablet of this brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 14 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

This tablet worked one day and died.

12/28/2012
By ,
Wallyworldownsme
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tablet got good reviews but ours lasted less than a day and died. We plugged it in to charge it before the battery ran down. There were no signs of charging. When the battery went down, it wouldn't restart. It has been plugged up for some time and still nothing. I will be returning this for a refund. I also found out afterwards that GetJar is no longer available for this tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 15 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

Horrible!!!

12/30/2012
By ,
king nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this has a Christmas gift and had it 12 hours and it worked great then let it charge overnight and went to use again it would not turn back on (like it was completely dead) I tried to get on the website for Coby and it did not work and the call center was never opened despite the hours clearly noted on the pamphlet in the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 16 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

Terrible.

12/30/2012
By ,
Gulfport,MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My sons and I got 3 of these tablets as Christmas gifts. they worked for 5 minutes and then it started to go downhill. it kept dropping the internet connection,couldn't access getjar, kept failing to download any of the apps we wanted to try. The apps that did manage to download were constantly crashing. we returned them asap.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 17 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

great screen size

12/27/2012
By ,
Nashville, Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got the tablet for my daughter for a Christmas gift it worked for 2 days and the screen frozen could not turn the tablet off it just stop working all together. My 13 year old daughter was very upset. I got a refund and purchased a better tablet. I would not suggest this tablet. The price is good but not a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

Really bad product

12/28/2012
By ,
Ph, az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a really bad product compared to all the other ones this is the slowest and even seems like it's so outdated that it could be something made more than a few years ago. Unable to get any good apps for this productcompared! Is Android power system that is not allowed to use Android apps.go figure!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4
12/29/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i am so disappointed with the "Get Jar" app store!!!! Wish i would of gotten one that had the google play on it. My daughter's other tablet has the Google play apps and it has soooo many more good apps and the Get Jar are cheap looking apps and half of the time the downlaods fail!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Coby 8"Tablet with 4GB Memory - MID8048-4

Both stopped working after barely using them!

01/18/2013
By ,
willow lake, sd
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these for my kids, they were very disappointed because they couldn't get the apps they liked. Then they stopped working! I am ordering the Filemate for 129.00 that has better graphics, memory, and googleplay. Very dis.appointing
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next