Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ruger Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

Ruger Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

The Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope is a 1200 feet per second pellet rifle with an included 4x32 scope. The spring piston break-barrel rifle is durable with its built in all weather composite stock. The 1200 feet per second that is attained is high for this class of spring piston break-barrel rifle. The Air Magnum features a blued barrel and receiver and a rifled all steel barrel. The adjustable fiber optic rear sight allows for easy sighting adjustments and the fixed fiber optic front sight allows for quick focusing on the intended target. An automatic safety, rubber recoil pad for comfort and adjustable trigger are all features of this quality gun.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation86%12 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

wow!

11/23/2013
By ,
fairfax
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a serious pellet gun. Do not underestimate a few things, how heavy it is, how loud it is, or how well it shoots. I shot this a few times, and ran inside my house, afraid my neighbors might call the cops thinking I was firing a riffle. I wanted to talk to them first and let them know it is just a noisy air gun. I have read that the noise is caused by the pellet breaking the sound barrier, in other words, there is nothing you or the manufacturer can do to make it quieter. Not absolutely sure that is a fact but that is what I have read. To put it in perspective, this gun is just as loud as a real .22 riffle, not kidding, and yes I have shot many real .22s. It kicks in line with what a real .22 does too. I have read that a pellet from this gun will make a clean hole through a 2x4. I will find out if that is true today, when I site it in. I will also let you know how the scope is…I’ll be back
Special thanks to walmart, I could not find this gun anywhere else, that is, the .22 version of this gun. Also, walmart is finally improving their online shopping experience to make it more in-line with other online vendors, in my opinion, way overdo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
USA
pellets,
Posted 08/12/2014
the reason ur gun is so loud is ur using light pellets. light pellets are also inaccurate . try using heavy pellets.. ps, the gun will not shoot threw a 2x4.. i dont know of any break barrel air rifle that will. its a good gun for the price. lots of fun ...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

Powerful, accurate and loud.

06/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The open sights are dead nuts on. Everybody seems to gripe about the scope that comes with the package but I found it easy to sight in and it stayed accurate after a few hundred shots. If there is some deviation in the shot it is most likely the fault of the pellet. It's not, after all, a rim fire gun that is markedly more accurate. Oh, and it heavy as heck. Better be well supported or have Popeyes arms to hold it steady or you'll get sea sick and puke looking through the scope at your target.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

Not a gun for a beginner.

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great air riffle, little heaver then I expected. I think I'll return it for a lighter .177 air riffle. The air riffle has a lot of real good qualities if you like a heavy riffle.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

with alittle patient this gun is an excellent gun

07/31/2014
By ,
bakersfield, california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
at first, this gun was so hard to pump and shoot. I almost give up, but I thought this is my first springer so I should be more patient and ride it out. after break-in about 100 shots and several scope calibrations it is perfect. the scope is decent not great nor bad, first calibration i use a laser bore sighter and then with paper target outside 2-3 times on different days. to tame the hop-up recoil tug the stock tight to your shoulder and slowly squeeze the trigger while keep your eye on target without blinking. once it tunes in, I can hit a quarter everytime 35 yrds out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

More than what I expected

04/19/2013
By ,
Alden, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I unboxed my Ruger Air Magnum .22 and put the included scope on it. I took the Rife into my basement, set a 1x 5 pine board up in the corner, stepped back 30ft and fired ( off hand) three Crosman Premier Hollow point pellets at a spot I drew with a marker that was about the same size as the hole a 22 pellet would leave. After adjusting the scope, I shot 3 more pellets, all three touched each other! I inspected the back side of the board I shot and sure enough..all pellets passed through! I took the rifle back upstairs and after sliding open the patio door (it's raining in Alden NY)..I took 4 shots at a 2 liter Pepsi bottle that I had floating in my pond as a target for a Benjamin trail xp .22 which was the biggest disappointment I've ever experienced (I took it back to Walmart and ordered the Ruger online) Anyway...I hit the pepsi bottle 3 of 4 shots...at 100 yds plus!.. off a rest ( Chair from kitchen table) The scope is....not so great...but it works, I'll be upgrading the scope, I would not buy the combo package..buy just the rifle and pick out a better scope if you are a serious shooter. Use the artillery hold and don't give it to a child....this thing has some power.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

Did Not Meet My Expectations

07/08/2014
By ,
Placitas, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After 25 shots I bumped the front sight on my table and the casting retaining the fiber broke, and the fiber fell to the ground. It is very fragile.
I have been sighting it in, and found the sights way off, but adjustable. However, the accuracy is erratic. The rear sight adjustment mechanism is flimsy. I haven't tried the scope, and probably won't use it.
It takes a lot of force to pump the gun, which requires a great deal of strength. Kids and most women will not be able to pump it. I don't think it would take much design effort to redesign the rifle so it would take 2 or 3 pumps on the mechanism with much Less force...
I expected more from a product with the Ruger name on it. I ordered a replacement for the front sight, and after a few more shots, I will decide if I want to return it.
Finally, it was as so poorly packed into the shipping box, the shipper had to repack it. The packer put the rifle into a huge box with no packing material under it, and very little over it. The shipping company filled the huge box with sheets of used plastic wrapping material. The shipping box looked like a compressed acordian when I got it, which wasn't a surprise after discovering how little packing paper was originally packed in the box. This is my first pellet gun, so maybe I shouldn't be expecting anything more than toy quality. However, I own four other Ruger products, pistols and rifles, and the quality of these is outstanding.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

Gun is ok

07/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FedEx was slow----should have been shipped UPS they are always on Time !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

Great value!!

12/03/2013
By ,
Childress, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun more than met our expectations! My husband bought it as a gift to himself and he hasnt put it down since! Only complaint is the scope but you still cant beat the great gun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

Well made rifle

06/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The rifle is very well made, but it is heavy... Make sure when you buy this rifle it is for an adult because it is way to heavy for a child.
The rifle has great power, and shoots with good accuracy. The scope adds to the accuracy. Will definitely kill small game within range.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

TOO HEAVY; HARD TOO CRANK OPEN; COULDNT INSTALL S

07/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
GUN IS MUCH HEAVIER THAN I ANTICIPATED
DIFFICULT TO USE
VERY HARD TO PUMP; HAD TO PUT STOCK ON GROUND & USE FULL WEIGHT TO CRANK.
SCOPE DID NOT FIT ON MOUNT; COULD HAVE BEEN WRONG SCOPE
RETURNED TO LOCAL STORE & BOUGHT CROSMAN .177 W/SAME SCOPE
VERY HAPPY WITH IT
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

Little heavy but very powerful

04/07/2014
By ,
Streamwood
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you shoot has little kick. Certainly recommend to install a bipod, because the weight. It measures around 9 lb. Scope is nice up to 100 Ft. Perfect for target practice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope
09/24/2013
By ,
Bama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is heavy for a pellet gun. Without bracing the gun for a long distance shot, it is very difficult to hit your target. However, if you do brace the gun, it is a very accurate rifle. I use Umarex ( the gun manufacturer ) .22, 5.5mm, 14.2 gr. ammo and have had no problems with it. The scope is fine with me - sure it could be better, but it does the job for me.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope

Exceeded my expectations

11/01/2013
By ,
massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This airgun is long, solid and powerful.
It's like a full fledged firearm, only it's a pellet gun.
It's not a youth plinker, it's an adult rifle with a heavy spring to compress.
This can be a target shooter or one could do some small game hunting.
It has a higher power than typical .22 pellet shooters.
I'm impressed with how accurate I could shoot with just barrel sights, I can't wait to get the scope zeroed in.
The first few shots were loud, but it calmed down a bit after a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Ruger Air Magnum .22 Pellet Rifle with Scope
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5