Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Quantum Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo

Quantum Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo

Designed exclusively for Walmart by professional B.A.S.S. angler Kevin Van Dam, the Quantum Baitcast Combo is a wonderful rod for experienced bait fishers. This baitcast fishing rod features an 11-bearing reel with an anti-reverse clutch, a strong aluminum frame that can withstand rigorous catches and a gear side cover to protect the reel. The Dual Cast Control System includes six internal centrifugal settings and external magnetic settings specifically designed to give you an accurate cast every time. Soft-touch EVA split grips allow you to have complete control of this lightweight fishing rod while casting the line into the water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation83%10 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo

dual cast control, 11 bearing + flipping switch

06/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dual cast control, ( magnetic & centrifugal ) Aluminum frame, 11 bearings + flipping switch on an IM8 Micro guide rod for $130. that is a definitely a good deal. I bought this combo primarily because I was looking at buying a reel ( only ) for flipping that cost more than this combo. IMO the best deal that u can get ( reels ) for the money is either a BPS Pro qualifier reel $79-99 depending on the sale, or a lews speed spool ( not laser ) ss1s, ss1h or ss1sh on ebay for around $80 shipped. If the pro qualifier isn't on sale, I would buy the lews. ( rods ) ABU Garcia Veritas micro guide for around $80 shipped on ebay. Thats a TOP NOTCH set up for around $160.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo

SHHHHHHH!!!! Don't want this to get out!

04/04/2013
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing deal. SHHH! don't want everyone to find out about it. You get a Quantum Burner 11 Bearing Dual Cast control Reel with a Flipping switch and a IM8 Micro Guide Rod for a $130. This can't be beat anywhere I went with a 6'8" MH. This real is almost identical to my 2013 Quantum Energy only difference in the feel is the Team KVD has Plastic grips instead of Hi Dens. foam, and it might be a little heavier. I totally agree with the other person who commented on this combo I think I will be looking at buying another one also. Check this thing out, I have had it out 4 times now and it has worked flawlessly. I put it up there right with my other Quantum Reels. I currently own a Smoke 150, 2013 Energy PT, and KVD Tour. but remember Don't tell everyone about this deal its too good!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo

Nice rod

05/03/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my 15 year old son for his birthday and he loves it. Nice rod good action and very smooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo

Best Combo

05/01/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 11 ball bearing real is very smooth casting,the 6'10! Rod is very sensitive.works very well with plastic worms. This has to be the best combo hands down I have purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo

Review from a baitcast beginner.. I love it!!

08/26/2013
By ,
Northern Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being new to baitcasters I was really hesitant about what to buy to get started. But after lots of shopping around, I was planning on picking up the medium/heavy Abu Garcia Silver or Black Max baitcast combo. Fortunately for me they were out of either in medium/heavy so decided on the slightly more expensive Quantum KVD.
And I couldn't be more pleased! Being a beginner with baitcasters, I was worried since this being sold as "professional" was something more than I could handle, but honestly I had no problems what so ever! All the youtube vids I watched to prep myself all applied lol. Casting was very smooth and easy, and the dual breaking system is great for beginners like me. But you still have the option to drop it down to 0 for the more advanced. The 7.3:1 gear ratio was an unexpected treat, the retrieve is extra fast though I need to slow it down for proper bait presentation.. just something else I need to adjust to.
And no complaints about the pole, very solid and well built.
The only issue I had was my own fault while adding braided line incorrectly. Didn’t realize that you need to spool it much tighter then mono, or else can risk jamming the line into the spool when pulling on it to set your drag. But since I’ve re-spooled and only smooth casting from here on out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo

Great Baitcast Combo

06/15/2014
By ,
west virgina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kevin Vandam combo you want the best here it is super fast retrieving.Quantum and kVD make a great team
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo
02/09/2013
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light and sensitive. The reel is very similar to the new Quantum Energy which sells for more than this combo. Reel cast controls are easy to set up and fine tune for different lures. First time using it, I was casting 1/4 oz to 3/4 oz lures. Used this rig the majority of the day to make sure I wanted to keep it. Thinking of buying another one just for the reel. Excellent outfit for the money. Buy it, you wont be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo

Could not cast!

03/29/2014
By ,
Greenwood
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was excited to get this new combo. Very nice and smooth. To bad I couldn't adjust the breaking to stop it from back lashing. Maybe more me than the reel? Regardless I was very disappointed. I have the silver max combo and love it. Guess I'll just stick with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo

Broken reel

05/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read reviews before buying, saw that someone was surprised that their pole was not destroyed while shipping due to lack of any packing in the box. Well my luck would have it I received a sketchy box with zero packing and the drag wheel on my reel was broken. I would suggest the ship to store and go over it in store to check for damage. Good luck finding this combo on the shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo

Great Combo Bought In SW Mo.

07/23/2013
By ,
Cassville Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the fact this combo not only does the reel stand out from the others because I love to cast out 8 inch plastic worms, Texas rigged. Also I like to FLIP out Hallow Frogs 1/2 ounce under trees and around logs. This reel is Perfect for fast switching between the two. Now the rod, It IS 6'10". Lol I taped it before I bought it. I LOVE the eyes, it has the same sized eyes all the way down the pole. I believe its the best baitcaster I'v bought from Wal-mart. I also bought the open reel, love it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo

Not the rod I expected.

05/23/2013
By ,
Louisville, Ky
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Got the combo yesterday and was dissappointed. What I expected was the 6'10" rod.
•Model# KVDC100610MH
What I got was a 6'6" rod. KVD tour edition. It does have micro guides on it. It's ok but I wanted the longer rod.
The reel is very nice though. Smooth!! I'll keep it but beware if you buy this your getting a 6'6" rod not the longer one as advertised.
It comes packaged with reel mounted on rod in a long square box with no packaging inside.
I was supprised it wasn't broke, but it wasn't.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Quantum KVD Baitcast Combo
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5