Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Morton Salt Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

Morton Salt Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

Improve the quality of your tap water at home with the environment-friendly Morton Salt MSD34C 34m Water Softener Unit. This bypass valve water softener features a compact design to save space and for easy installation. With this water softener system you can get better lathering soaps, whiter and brighter laundry; and clean, spot-free dishes. With a grain capacity of 34,000, this water softener system can be used for larger households. This highly efficient bypass valve water softener saves salt and water by regenerating only when it is required.
Average Customer Rating:
4.568 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%34 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

Morton Water Softener Works Great!

02/04/2012
By ,
Pearland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great water softener and for the price it is hard to beat. I live in Pearland, TX and have city water so I don't have really hard water ..maybe 7grains. I bought it to remove the calcium carbonate buildup and after a year or so it seems to be working quite well. I use maybe 1.5-2 bags of salt a year at most depending on usage as it is demand dependent which is nice.
The size fit perfectly between my spare refrigerator and the washer and dryer in my utility room. anything bigger and it probably would not have fit in that space.
I would recommend it particularly if this unit goes on sale. I believe I had free shipping to home when I bought it and the price was closer to $414.80 before tax.
I am using the 1 inch connections tied into my PEX water line. I did the install myself and I would say it's not rocket science but you should know that it takes some time to install particularly if you do not have all the PEX parts. I shopped online and went to Lowes for the PEX fittings. I put in several valves to bypass the water softener when necessary. Additionally I put in a particulate filter ahead of the water softener using another valve as well.
Took me a few days total I would say to install it as I had to cut the water line in the attic and divert it down thru a wall in my utility room then thru the valves and filter and bypass and into the softener then back up the wall and back into the water line in the attic. Not rocket science thats for sure. Just avoid the attic when its hot.
Sure beats calling a plumber if you've got the time and the motivation.
I would definitely recommend the unit to anyone. I've had no problems whatsoever.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

A Quality Softener

04/29/2010
By ,
Tunkhannock,Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Morton softener is a quality product. It was easy to install and documentation was very good to excellent. I had to make one call for a question and the folks at Morton were very helpful, knowledgable and just nice to talk to. Programming was very easy and quick.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

Very happy

12/31/2010
By ,
Lake Panasoffkee,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had the softner for about a week.We are on City water. My hair is softer. My dishes don't have the white stuff on them when they come out of dishwasher. It takes less soap for bathing and washing clothes. Skin is not all dried out. I love it. I did a lot of research before purchasing,on product and sizes so I did go a little larger than we need. But it will save money in the long run. We only have 3 people most of the time. But we do have a lot of visitors sometimes.We did get a plumber for the water supply to the softner, because my husband doesn't like working with copper. Then we found out from the plumber about some new thing that fits copper to change over to cpvc I think it is called a shark bite.(No soldering required) and my husband and I could have done it. Anyone who is handy can do it. We did add some extra outside faucets before the softner, for washing cars etc and our fresh water fish tank can't have soft water(bad for fish)This is info that would been helpful for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain
02/22/2011
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in the country. I started with a Whirlpool RO system under the kitchen sink for safe drinking water and was going through filters too fast. I put in a Whirlpool Whole House Central Water Filter and had terrible water spots on everything, especially our dishes. My hardness was tested at 17 grains after going through the filter. I added this Morton Water Softner and now everything works together for spotless dishes, sinks and faucets. My whites laundry is getting white again after being greyish. My colored clothing is brighter and not fading from residue. Everything needing soap needs less soap.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

Great value

01/31/2010
By ,
Southeast Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have owned this softener for several years. It replaced a Culigan brand softener and has been far more efficient with salt consumption. It is also easier to fill and adjust.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

Great Softener

10/15/2007
By ,
OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Softener was easy to install and easy to set up – instructions easy to follow and complete -- 800 customer service number was very helpful --- highly recommend this item...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

very helpful

09/05/2008
By ,
midland ,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i had a culligan and it went out. they ask 2600.00 dollars for a new one . i bought this one for the price. this one does the samething. can buy six of this product for the price of one culligan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

Horrible customer service!

08/22/2011
By ,
AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading the reviews here and on other sites, I decided to try this water softener.
Against my better judgement,I ordered a Morton water softener which was well rated on-line. There were some broken parts in the box when I got it on 8/12/11, and I contacted Morton customer service on 8/16 for replacement parts. After dealing with an incompetent person named Allison, I called back and talked to Dandria, who promised that the parts would reach me by 8/19.
Today is 8/22, and still no replacement parts. I called Morton again, and after 3 transfers, I spoke with Mary, who had no record of my previous call, nor of the parts I need. I gave her all the info again, and she said the parts order would be processed tomorrow.
Had I known when I ordered the softener the problems I'd have with Morton C.S., I'd have bought elsewhere. If the parts are not here by 8/26, the softener is going back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

very good product

12/08/2009
By ,
Spiceland Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This water softener was fairly easy to install. I did it myself, the only real problem I had was getting the correct size couplings to connect to the supplied kit. The kit is for 1 inch piping and my house has 3/4 inch .
As far as value it was a fair price , We also replaced the water heater at the same time and noticed a big difference right away with the soft water , the water softener has been installed for about 3 weeks now and still no rust stains !! Our water is so hard and full of iron we usually see rust in just a couple days without the softener.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

Very nice water softener

09/07/2009
By ,
Congress, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first water softener I have ever owned. So far it has lived up to my expectations of what a water softener should do. It softens the water. So far I have used 5 bags of Morton Sytem saver II salt pellets. 4 bags were used for the initial system startup then the 5th bag was added two days later. The water softener is very easy to program. I have installed water softeners before (I used to be a plumber) so installation was no problem. I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

Very slick unit

04/18/2011
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High capacity machine, unit determines when a recharge is needed and it even has a low salt light.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

meets all expectations

11/30/2009
By ,
texas hill country
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
online only 10 days but so far so good. hardness down below 3 from starting point of 25. Easy to install and starup. clear instructions
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

I bought this softener to replace a 12 y o one

05/29/2011
By ,
Fort Myers , FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My 12-year-old famous make softener was very well built, the only repair costs I had in the 12 years was replacing some plastic timer gears cost me $6.95, I bought this Morton unit because the information I read about it was supposed to be much more efficient and less cost. I have had it 2.5 years and just had to pay $112.00 for a new electronic control board, I have also found the constant maintenance to be far more than my old better quality softener, the screens must be cleaned every30-45 days, so the next big expense that comes up for this softener I will just scrap it out, I hope to get one or two more years from it but I doubt it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

Works Great

11/18/2011
By ,
Marsing, ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have never owned a Softener so this is my 1st. It works great. We are on a shard well out here in the country and our water is very hard. 59gpg. Yuk! Our clothes after washing them felt like cardboard. No suds in the shower and the wife did the dishes by hand. She refused to use the dishwasher. When the Softener arrived, our neighbor was kind enough to help install it. He was a pump guy before retirement and knew more about these things then I did. Course, out here in the country we work on the barter system and I latter helped him paint his house :) It took about two hours to install and we had it all connected and running. This house never had a softener before. It took a few weeks before we finally settled on a setting of 70 for hardness (we experimented with different settings). What a difference. Dishes sparkle now that the little lady is using the dishwasher again. We use Finish and one cup of vinegar. Showers feel great with plenty of suds. One other thing I liked was the bypass valve that is included. When I water the lawn, I bypass the softener. No need to use salt un-necessarily. Speaking of salt, I'm not sure how long it lasts but we put it in about the 1st day of October and it has used some but it sure seems to save salt cause it hasn't gone down much. I like that. It will save me some money which is at a premium as a retiree :) I hope ya'll have as good a luck with your purchase as I have. I did by the extended warranty since I never owned one before.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

Excellent product!

09/07/2010
By ,
Buda, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000 grain unit, is excellent! I am on city water drawn from an aquifer with high limestone content and this little softener has cleared the water. My dishes are cleaner, my clothes are cleaner, and I feel cleaner with less soap and conditioner. I've set the hardness level to 30 and the unit uses very little salt. I had a plumber install mine, but the Morton people give step-by-step instructions as to how to install and set it up. Compared to the $6,000.00 quote I got from Home Depot or the $1,500.00 quote I got from Culligan, this unit is a bargain and functions just as well, if not better, than those more expensive units. Furthermore, Walmart shipped the unit to my front door and, while it isn't light (90 lbs.), it's small foot print is ideal in my garage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

Nice Product

02/03/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product! Its up running for 6 weeks already.
Easy to install if you have experience working with pipes.
Initially used 3 bags 50lb salt. Added one more bag after 6 weeks. Need regeneration once every 10 days for 6,000 gallon/month water usage with water hardness of ~17 gpg, making sense for the softener capacity 34,000 grain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Still good!
Posted 06/19/2011
The system is still good. The usage of salt is about 1 bag/month. Regeneration takes once every 10 days for two people in the house.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

water softener

05/25/2010
By ,
waterford,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far this water softener works great. I hired out to have it installed and I could tell within an hour the water was softer i grew up with a softener and I really liked the pro's of having one. I had the outside water tap by passed cause i like my regular water better for drinking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

great product

10/22/2009
By ,
marana az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install easy to set up time will tell if product is as good as rated. Walmart ship to site or store is very slow
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

MORTON WATER SOFTENER

08/12/2010
By ,
ALPENA, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'VE HAD IT TWO WEEKS AND IT WORKS WELL.
A VERY GOOD VALUE COMPARED TO OTHERS.
MY LOCAL WATER SOFTENER PEOPLE WANTED
$1,200.00 FOR ONE OF HALF THE GRAIN VALUE!!
THE PROBLEM I HAVE WITH MORTON IS THEIR HELP LINE. THE UNIT WAS DELIVERED BY FEDEX.
I HOOKED IT UP AND TURNED ON THE WATER AND IT STARTED LEAKING AROUND THE NECK OF THE BIG BOTTLE IN THE TANK. I TRIED TO TIGHTEN IT BUT THE CLAMPS WOULD NOT HOLD TIGHT.
WHEN I CALLED THE HELP NUMBER I GOT A SMART ALEC WOMAN THAT PUT ME ON HOLD FOR OVER 7 MINUTES WITH MUSIC SO LOUD YOU COULD NOT HOLD THE PHONE TO YOUR EAR!
I HUNG UP AND CALLED BACK COMPLAINING ABOUT THE PREVIOUS PERSON (FEMALE). THE MALE THAT ANSWERED THE PHONE THE SECOND TIME GOT THE PROBLEM SOLVED BUT WAS VERY SHORT AND CURT WITH ME. EVERY TIME I HAD ANYTHING TO SAY HE WOULD TALK OVER ME AND TELL ME I HAD TO LISTEN AS IF HE KNEW EVERYTHING AND I KNEW NOTHING. I'M THANKFUL I DON'T HAVE TO CALL THERE ANYMORE.
IF YOU DON'T HAVE TO CALL ANYONE THEN YOU SHOULD BE VERY HAPPY WITH THE UNIT AS IT IS A VERY GOOD VALUE.
I HOOKED IT TO MY HOT WATER SIDE TO USE IT IN THE DISHWASHER AS THE DISHES WERE COMING OUT FOGGY AND SPOTTED FROM THE HARD WATER. I HAVE TWO VERY EXPENSIVE FILTERS ($1,600.00) FOR THE WATER CONDITIONING BUT THE DISHES WERE TERRIBLE. NOW THEY ARE LOOKING PERFECT AND I DON'T HAVE TO DRINK THE NASTY TASTING SOFT WATER.
THANKS,
THE MICHIGAN GATOR
P.S. IF MORTON OR WALMART WOULD LIKE TO CONTACT ME THEY HAVE MY E-MAIL...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Morton System Saver Demand Water Softener, 34,000-Grain

Good

05/12/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product exactly as described, timely shipping, good price
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next