Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Poulan Pro Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

The Poulan Pro 18" Gas Chainsaw comes with premium features at a great value. The 42cc engine provides ample power to drive the 18" bar and chain, allowing you to cut trees up to 18" in diameter. The effortless pull system reduces pull effort to start the saw by 30 percent. Creature comforts make the difference in any saw. The Poulan Pro 18" Gas Chainsaw comes standard with an anti-vibration handle and soft grip, which reduces user fatigue for the big jobs. The automatic oiler and inertia-activated chain brake are also standard features. As an added feature, the Poulan Pro 4218 comes standard with a carrying case, scrench, two-cycle oil and bar and chain oil. The Poulan Gas Chain Saw 4218 is best suited for storm clean up and cutting medium sized trees.
Average Customer Rating:
3.703 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
35
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation75%94 out of 126reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
35
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Good Saw for the Money

07/26/2013
By ,
Jacksonvill AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had some large trees in the yard that were dying and needed to be cut down. I have a Polan 16" saw that is 12 years old but it was too small for this job. I purchased this 18" saw sight unseen but was hopeful that it would be good based on a few other reviews and my 16" Polan saw has been so good. There are many things that impressed me about this saw so let me begin. First it comes with a nice plastic carrying case that looks like it will last for a long time. It comes with a nice chain/bar all in one adjusting tool. Very handy! It also came with a quart of bar oil and a small container of 2-cycle oil to mix up one gallon of gasoline. Polan has improved this saw from my 16 inch model of over a decade ago. It has an rubber isolator that absorbs the vibration of the saw engine from the handle/body of the saw. The lack of after sawing arm buzzing is fantastic! There is also detailed instructions about starting the engine cold, hot, or in between. This is a big help when the engine is hot and you need to stop it to refuel. Follow the instructions as they actually work! No problems starting it cold or hot. I do have one negative item and that is the chain. The chain is not as heavy duty as my 16 inch model. It will not forgive you if you let the chain become loose in the slightest bit. I let it get just a little bit loose and the gear cogs on the inside of the chain stripped ruining my first chain with just a little over one hour of use. Bought a 2-pack chain set at Lowes (my Walmart store didn't have any spare 18 inch chains) installed a new chain in a matter of minutes and was back in business. Checked my chain every 10-15 minutes of use and had no more problems. With any small engine driven device it is possible to get a lemon but as it stands right now I am a very satisfied Polan brand repeat buyer. I attached a picture of this saws first job (if it attaches)
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Great Chainsaw

02/22/2013
By ,
Waco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd Poulan Chain Saw owned. The first was purchased about 6 years ago and still works great, but needed an 18", the old one being only 14". Purchased this from Wal-Mart online, picked up in store. My husband was using this within 20 minutes of my arriving home with it and has been using it every week at least twice, generally three times a week since last spring. We also heat our house with wood, so my husband cuts a lot of wood. Plus, in his spare time he does tree trimming and removal so this chain saw has had almost a year of extensive wood cutting and it is still performing excellently.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Great saw

05/14/2013
By ,
Camden, Ar.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The saw performed perfectly right out of the box. Assembly of the bar/chain was simple. After following the starting instructions (IMPORTANT! as with all 2 cycle engines) it fired right up and cut several trees into firewood.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Powerful But Lower Quality and Leaks Bar Oil

05/28/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Got this saw out the door for 160 bucks. I usually buy top notch tools but due to only using a chainsaw twice or 3 times a year, I went the money-saving route. Saw did not come assembled. Attaching the bar is a pain. Gassed it up, added some bar oil, and off I went. The saw runs great; good power, idles well, but leaks bar oil like a siv. Not only when running, but after turned off too (after removing cap and re tightening to release the vacuum)...I had bar oil all over me, all over the saw, and all through the case after about 1 hour of use. Its a shame, as the saw runs like a champ. Chain, even after an hour of use, still kept loosening.....chain tightening is a pain via the soft-headed screw butted up against the bar (hard to get to). Unfortunately, the 'oil leak' is deemed normal by Poulan. It also causes sawdust to cling and cake all through the saw. Not uncommon for saws to leak a little bar oil, but this saw leaked like thats what it was made for. Heading to the Stihl dealer tomorrow to get a good saw. This one has power and runs great, but it will be sitting in the back of my garage from now on while I use my Stihl.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Don't purchase

07/21/2013
By ,
KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrid product, warning you, this is not a long term use chain saw. I have owned two of them and both ended the same way. The assembly clutch drum on the saw is cheap metal, the chain will eat away at the drum causing a groove which damages the chain, once these grooves start then its over. It will damage every chain and will not fit in the bar properly. Not sure how others can rate this as a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Not what I expected

10/21/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The saw motor itself runs great, however the first bar and chain didn't last long at all, at 40 bucks each for new bar and chain that can get expensive. I dunno if they put cheapo blades on them new, but after about two weeks of light cutting the chain and blade are shot, I used the bar and chain oil as specified, I can't see this being a viable option if the chains and bars wear out so fast.
If you wanna do a fair amount of cutting go with Stihl or Echo.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
East TX piney woods
Same result
Posted 11/18/2013
My sprocket is now worn out after three chains, so another cost of $15. I will add that the Oregon bar is holding up great the chain did not seem to hold sharpness as much as the Poulan but it didn't stretch as much. I just hope the replacement sprocket lasts longer, if not I will be selling it.
Also make sure you get grease for the bar sprocket at the nose, they are like $5.
If I had known about the cheap bar, chain, and sprocket I would have reconsidered purchasing this chain saw.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Major disappointment from Poulan

02/02/2013
By ,
NW Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been an exclusive Poulan user most of my life. When my last Poulan finally gave up the ghost 3 weeks ago I decided I would just go ahead and buy a new one. I chose the PP4218A as it was the closest to the saw that I already had that had served me so well for so many years. So I bought my new saw on Friday night. Saturday morning assembled it and headed out to cut firewood to heat my home. 30 minutes into cutting the saw let out a clank and died. Never to start again. I returned it and exchanged for another one just like it. Thinking the first was just a fluke. Next morning I grab my new saw ( still in the box) to assemble it. Open everything up and there is no bar or chain. Now I have another 20 mile drive to go and return this one and yet another day of no wood cutting. I highly doubt I'll be buying another Poulan from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Junk. Expensive junk. Beware. Total junk.

06/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this model on a Saturday morning to remove a tree that had fallen onto the drive way. Ran well first hour. Then began shutting off due to no idle. Let it cool down. Cleaned and refilled bar/chain oil and gas mixture. Would not start. Followed instructions in troubleshooting section of manual. Still would not start. Called Customer Service number provided. No answer. Only work weekdays. Returned unit to store. Exchanged for same model/new machine. Assembled. Added fluids. New gas/oil mixture. Started immediately. Ran for about two hours. Same problems repeated. Cut off due to no idle. Would not start. Called it a day. Cleaned machine again. Next day would not start.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Great!!!

05/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This saw works excellent. Fires right up every time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Dbobby0218

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cut 16plus inch red oak! Never stalled bogged down etc Cut it all up! Started right back up no problem! Keep it it clean take care of it good saw!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Don't waste your money on junk.

05/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have owned a Poulan Pro 4218 a little over 7 weeks. Using it to cut dead branches from some trees and take down some bushes on a 1/5 acre property. Right out of the box saw was hard to start and did not want to to stay running, finally got it started but does not idle, as soon as trigger is released it stalls. Have used this saw less than two hours total (intermittent cutting time), constantly stalls, will not idle, hard to start even when warmed up, have spent more time trying to start it than actually using it. Saw will not start at all now (used my battery operated reciprocal saw to finish up), I'll take it in for service but from other reviews I'm reading doubtful things will change.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

good

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Works just as advertised

06/12/2014
By ,
Montrose, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good, stout piece of equipment. I expect it to last beyond the warranty period.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Home Handy

05/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Start up and assembly easy. Works great for my needs. Tree tromming & I'm taking down a deck on behind my house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw

Great Chain Saw for a beginner.

12/08/2013
By ,
Bonne Terre, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a wind storm and several huge branches broke off of one of our trees. It fell on the neighbor's fence and was so heavy it couldn't be budged. We used the chain saw to take off the branches and it made it manageable so that we could remove it from the fence. We also used it to cut all the branches into smaller pieces. It worked great, started up easily and easy for a female to use. I would recommend it for this type of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw
03/19/2013
By ,
ashdown, ar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I hope it works good, no man to run it for me yet. Thats all..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NE Georgia
"no man to run it..."
Posted 04/24/2013
Keep looking, don't give up - there are still a few of us left. When operating the saw, be certain to first read the manual, start out small, and be absolutely sure to use your protective equipment.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for Poulan Pro 18" Gas-Powered Chain Saw
Based on the average of (112) ratings-only reviews
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5