Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

The Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window makes it easy to smoke your favorite meats. The included radio-frequency remote controls the temperature, cooking time and more, so you can set it and forget it. The Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window comes with 973 sq in of cooking space and four chrome cooking racks. The exterior of this Masterbuilt Smoker with Window is made of a durable, stainless steel body and a door that has a viewing window. The thermostat temperature control on this Masterbuilt Electric Smoker allows for even cooking from 100 to 275 degrees F, based on your individual needs. Other features of this Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window include an internal light, a built-in meat temperature probe, a fully insulated body and door, a removable drip pan and a convenient side wood chip loader.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%9 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Very satisfied.

04/04/2014
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I have only used the smoker 1 time. Plan on smoking some pork again this weekend. Worked great. Received after 3 days. Great shipping time. Would recommend.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Wonderful product ! Hassle free smoking.

03/22/2013
By ,
Blair, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard to find Masterbuilt 40 inch smokers, let alone at the price Wal-mart.com had it for. I paid $60 below Cabela's sale price and the site to store free shipping was outstanding. It was delivered 1 day ahead of schedule. It is easy to see why this smoker is hard to find. Set the temp and time and add the chips and away you go. A cup of soaked chips will last 2 hours. I've been smoking food for 25 years now, with many different smokers. I used to enjoy hovering over my smoker, but now there are just too many other things to have to squeeze in a weekend. I have had it for 7 days now, and smoked with it twice. The results are fantastic. I have noticed that it is very humid, so the water pan doesn't need nearly as much water as I used to put in. Clean-up is very easy, just wipe it down. Definitely would recommend for beginner or busy experts. Side note to Wal-Mart.com : PLEASE start carrying other Masterbuilt accessories such as cold smoker attachment and add-on shelves. Thank you for a great shopping experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Load it and leave it smoker......A+!

05/04/2013
By ,
Niceville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smoker arrived to the store sooner than expected. Only minor assembly was required to get some small parts attached and should take less than an hour. The unit seems to be well built and the stainless body should last for years in our humid climate. Seasoned the smoker as per the instructions and then popped some ribs in the very next day. With the remote it is a breeze to monitor your smoker temp and also with the meat probe the internal temp of what you are smoking. Results of the smoking was perfect and my wife and kids left no left-overs! Cleaning isn't too bad either. This morning I have a boston-butt smoking and I know the neighbors are loving the aroma. This smoker is large enough to smoke food for a good sized group and will accomodate just about any cut of meat I can think of.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Performed Better Than Advertised...THUSFAR!

04/09/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read many reviews of this smoker on many websites, especially those reviews with one or two stars, before making this purchase. To be cautious, I went with Walmart because of their extended warranty (for purchase) that would lessen some of the anxieties I had from having read the one and two star reviews. Realistically, about 25% of the reviews have been problematic. Because those having a negative experience tend to be more likely to offer their review than those having a good experience, I calculate that probably only 10-15% of the smokers are actually having significant problems. Based upon this, the four to five star reviews, and the experience of a close friend with a Masterbuilt smoker, I decided to make the purchase over the internet.
I was told to expect a two week delivery date, but the smoker arrived in less than one week. Great! The smoker arrived all in one piece without any damaged, broken, or missing parts. Relief! It was simple to assemble. Expected. The theromostat was rated to operate within a 15 degree temperature range (plus or minus) of the desired temperature, however, I found that my theromstat kept the desired temperature with only about a four degree range (plus or minus). Wonderful! I checked the temperature by the thermostat, the meat themometer, and my own wireless meat thermometer. All were within 2 degrees of one another. Important. I seasoned the smoker as directed and smoked lamb chops on my maiden voyage with my Smokehouse. Deeeeelicious! There was plenty of smoke with amazingly few chips. Happy. It was wonderful NOT having to devote so much attention to the smoking process as I have had to do with both my ole faithful Smoky Mountain gas smoker and my fire pit smoker. Estatic!! I am very, very happy with my smoker THUSFAR. Let's see how well it holds up going forward. I have a close friend whose Masterbuilt smoker has done exceptionally well for just over two years now. I have high hopes that mine will do likewise. If this unit holds up, I will be very, very pleased to recommend it to all my friends. BTW, you CAN use an extention cord with this unit, but be sure that the cord is properly rated to handle the electrical current your smoker will be using. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window
07/08/2013
By ,
Moore, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this smoker for over 3 years with very good results. This smoker performed much better than I expected. I have smoked brisket, turkey, leg of lamb, beef ribs & chicken all with exceptionally good results, voice by those that have eaten the food. I have used mesquite, hickory, apple, peach, cherry, pecan, oak and grape woods to smoke with, outstanding results. I recommend that you go very easy with grape as it is a very heavy smoke flavor. Only one thing has broken and that was the handle on the chip holder. I highly recommend this smoker. Well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window
04/08/2013
By ,
Clayton, De.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this product twice since I purchased it. I used an offset smokey before and constantly had to tend the fire to maintain temperatures. This was ok if you had nothing else to do but don't know anyone like that. This smoker is truly set it and forget it. I cooked a pork shoulder this weekend to perfection in it. I have had no problems so far as I would expect with a purchase such as this. Walmart delivered as expected without a hitch. Great experience so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Quality Smoker

03/31/2013
By ,
Bedford,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good smoker! Much cheaper here than ANYWHERE else! I am a bargain shopper and checked everywhere. Very easy to use and has enough room for just about anything!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

MY FIRST ELECTRIC SMOKER

10/24/2013
By ,
WISCONSIN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I PURCHASED THE SMOKER A FEW DAYS AGO. I HAVE ALWAYS USED THE CHARCOAL SMOKER SO I WAS UNSURE HOW THIS PRODUCT WOULD WORK. WHEN I USED IT, I WAS AMAZED AT HOW NICE IT WORKS. IT IS AN EASY PRODUCT TO USE. I REALLY LIKE IT...THIS WAS A VERY NICE BUY..I SMOKED RIBS. I CANNOT WAIT TO SMOKE OTHER MEATS..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

very good two work with

12/20/2013
By ,
memphis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.