Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Masterbuilt Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

The Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window makes it easy to smoke your favorite meats. The included radio-frequency remote controls the temperature, cooking time and more, so you can set it and forget it. The Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window comes with 973 sq in of cooking space and four chrome cooking racks. The exterior of this Masterbuilt Smoker with Window is made of a durable, stainless steel body and a door that has a viewing window. The thermostat temperature control on this Masterbuilt Electric Smoker allows for even cooking from 100 to 275 degrees F, based on your individual needs. Other features of this Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window include an internal light, a built-in meat temperature probe, a fully insulated body and door, a removable drip pan and a convenient side wood chip loader.
Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%20 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Very satisfied.

04/04/2014
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I have only used the smoker 1 time. Plan on smoking some pork again this weekend. Worked great. Received after 3 days. Great shipping time. Would recommend.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Bring Smoked Food Into Your Home...

05/24/2014
By ,
Ellsinore, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When received, this unit requires very little in the way of assembly, and after a couple of hours to "season" the unit, you are ready to bring in unbelievably good food into your home. On my first attempt with the smoker, I did two racks of Pork Ribs, 6 Pork Steaks and two Chicken halves. I set it for 215 Deg. and 4½ Hrs. and came back every hour to put in fresh soaked Mesquite & Apple Wood chips in the smoker. At the end of the time, the food was perfect. the pork rib bones with a twist came out of the meat cleanly and the chicken was completely cooked to the bone and moist.
This is the easiest way to smoke cook your meat!
Note: The smoker was set up to be perfectly level and the built in drain system did not work well. The pan that is used to add moisture to the smoker actually caught 99% of the oils and water vapor, which was ok, as it increased the flavor of the meat by being basted by it's own juices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Very nice but some areas lacking

07/06/2014
By ,
Rockford IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First the good... Very easy to assemble and the wheels are a great feature. The unit heats up fast and really makes smoking foods easy for anyone. The temp probe is a fantastic feature ! I made chicken tonight it was juicy and tasty. Earlier I made venison jerky and that turned out great. The electronic temp gauge is the best feature of this unit. So nice to know the temp is regulated,
unlike my previous propane smoker. NO more throwing away over cooked or burnt jerky !!
It would be nice if the unit could go higher than 275, especially when doing chicken. Also the smoker tray seems to be a somewhat flimsy cut of sheet metal. I had to bend mine from the start just to get it to fit. Filling the smoker tray from the side is a great idea, but again the parts just seem a bit flimsy as they don't fit together all that well. Not sure how they could let such an important part of the system be so flimsy.
All in all I would still buy this unit again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Wonderful product ! Hassle free smoking.

03/22/2013
By ,
Blair, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard to find Masterbuilt 40 inch smokers, let alone at the price Wal-mart.com had it for. I paid $60 below Cabela's sale price and the site to store free shipping was outstanding. It was delivered 1 day ahead of schedule. It is easy to see why this smoker is hard to find. Set the temp and time and add the chips and away you go. A cup of soaked chips will last 2 hours. I've been smoking food for 25 years now, with many different smokers. I used to enjoy hovering over my smoker, but now there are just too many other things to have to squeeze in a weekend. I have had it for 7 days now, and smoked with it twice. The results are fantastic. I have noticed that it is very humid, so the water pan doesn't need nearly as much water as I used to put in. Clean-up is very easy, just wipe it down. Definitely would recommend for beginner or busy experts. Side note to Wal-Mart.com : PLEASE start carrying other Masterbuilt accessories such as cold smoker attachment and add-on shelves. Thank you for a great shopping experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Great smoker for beginner

07/20/2014
By ,
Buckeye
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking at smokers for a few years and finally made a decision. I purchased this on line and was told it would be a little over a week for delivery to my home. It was here in 2 days!! couldn't believe it. Shipped out of CA to AZ so that was great. Got it put together--a snap--only took 20 minutes max. I have used it twice already on baby back ribs and brisket. This smoker works great--it is very simple and allows me to hang out with my guests while it is smoking. Its great for a beginner and easy clean up. I have a new hobby--I love looking up new recipes and trying them out. So far so good and great for the price. Recommend this product to anyone that like smoked foods. All i can say is if you get one ENJOY!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Great smoker for beginners

04/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first smoker and I love it. Assembling was very easy as well as using it. Smoked chicken and ribs and both were great. Smoker keeps temperature without any problems. Just be careful when loading wood chips. Load max 1 cup. It will last around 45 minutes. Generally, I am very satisfied, only would expect this smoker to be built with better precision.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Great for a beginner.

04/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband wanted a smoker for his birthday. After much research we decided on this one and it has proven to be exactly what he wanted. It has been very easy to use and does a great job. The meat he smoked has been very tasty. We would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Works great

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it two times, ribs & chicken both came out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Performed Better Than Advertised...THUSFAR!

04/09/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read many reviews of this smoker on many websites, especially those reviews with one or two stars, before making this purchase. To be cautious, I went with Walmart because of their extended warranty (for purchase) that would lessen some of the anxieties I had from having read the one and two star reviews. Realistically, about 25% of the reviews have been problematic. Because those having a negative experience tend to be more likely to offer their review than those having a good experience, I calculate that probably only 10-15% of the smokers are actually having significant problems. Based upon this, the four to five star reviews, and the experience of a close friend with a Masterbuilt smoker, I decided to make the purchase over the internet.
I was told to expect a two week delivery date, but the smoker arrived in less than one week. Great! The smoker arrived all in one piece without any damaged, broken, or missing parts. Relief! It was simple to assemble. Expected. The theromostat was rated to operate within a 15 degree temperature range (plus or minus) of the desired temperature, however, I found that my theromstat kept the desired temperature with only about a four degree range (plus or minus). Wonderful! I checked the temperature by the thermostat, the meat themometer, and my own wireless meat thermometer. All were within 2 degrees of one another. Important. I seasoned the smoker as directed and smoked lamb chops on my maiden voyage with my Smokehouse. Deeeeelicious! There was plenty of smoke with amazingly few chips. Happy. It was wonderful NOT having to devote so much attention to the smoking process as I have had to do with both my ole faithful Smoky Mountain gas smoker and my fire pit smoker. Estatic!! I am very, very happy with my smoker THUSFAR. Let's see how well it holds up going forward. I have a close friend whose Masterbuilt smoker has done exceptionally well for just over two years now. I have high hopes that mine will do likewise. If this unit holds up, I will be very, very pleased to recommend it to all my friends. BTW, you CAN use an extention cord with this unit, but be sure that the cord is properly rated to handle the electrical current your smoker will be using. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Load it and leave it smoker......A+!

05/04/2013
By ,
Niceville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smoker arrived to the store sooner than expected. Only minor assembly was required to get some small parts attached and should take less than an hour. The unit seems to be well built and the stainless body should last for years in our humid climate. Seasoned the smoker as per the instructions and then popped some ribs in the very next day. With the remote it is a breeze to monitor your smoker temp and also with the meat probe the internal temp of what you are smoking. Results of the smoking was perfect and my wife and kids left no left-overs! Cleaning isn't too bad either. This morning I have a boston-butt smoking and I know the neighbors are loving the aroma. This smoker is large enough to smoke food for a good sized group and will accomodate just about any cut of meat I can think of.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Great Smoker

05/27/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only seasoned it so far and set it up but so far so good everything works great with no problems what so ever , everything functions like it is suppose to so I will try it out tomorrow and see how my food turns out . I purchased a cover to keep out the dust when not in use ,followed the Mfg set up and how to use it so I shouldn't have any problems , lots of times people don't follow instructions and misuse the product and eventually destroy there own purchase . but other than that I would recommend this Masterbuilt Smoker ,it has lots of good features and the appearance is good as well so hopefully I can turn out some great smoked food , now it is up to me .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

I don't think you can make smoking any easier!

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't think you can make smoking any easier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Great Smoker! for the beginner

06/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great smoker works well, can't wait for the next use. Look forward to cooking more with it.
If you are on the fence about buying one, get off and place your order you will be glad you did.
You will surely make your neighbors hungry!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

It smokes beautifully! My hubby loves it!'

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this product delivered by WalMart. The product was defective so we had to pack it up and take it back to our Walmart. We got our money back and purchased it from Academy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

BBQ Must-Have!

06/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a beginner in the world of BBQ & smoked meat, I wasn't sure how or if things would go according to plan. I smoked a rack of ribs along with a small brisket and the smoker performed great! The meat was tender and very flavorful. Now I need to figure-out how to do it for about 50 on the 4th of July.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window
07/08/2013
By ,
Moore, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this smoker for over 3 years with very good results. This smoker performed much better than I expected. I have smoked brisket, turkey, leg of lamb, beef ribs & chicken all with exceptionally good results, voice by those that have eaten the food. I have used mesquite, hickory, apple, peach, cherry, pecan, oak and grape woods to smoke with, outstanding results. I recommend that you go very easy with grape as it is a very heavy smoke flavor. Only one thing has broken and that was the handle on the chip holder. I highly recommend this smoker. Well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window
04/08/2013
By ,
Clayton, De.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this product twice since I purchased it. I used an offset smokey before and constantly had to tend the fire to maintain temperatures. This was ok if you had nothing else to do but don't know anyone like that. This smoker is truly set it and forget it. I cooked a pork shoulder this weekend to perfection in it. I have had no problems so far as I would expect with a purchase such as this. Walmart delivered as expected without a hitch. Great experience so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

Quality Smoker

03/31/2013
By ,
Bedford,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good smoker! Much cheaper here than ANYWHERE else! I am a bargain shopper and checked everywhere. Very easy to use and has enough room for just about anything!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

MY FIRST ELECTRIC SMOKER

10/24/2013
By ,
WISCONSIN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I PURCHASED THE SMOKER A FEW DAYS AGO. I HAVE ALWAYS USED THE CHARCOAL SMOKER SO I WAS UNSURE HOW THIS PRODUCT WOULD WORK. WHEN I USED IT, I WAS AMAZED AT HOW NICE IT WORKS. IT IS AN EASY PRODUCT TO USE. I REALLY LIKE IT...THIS WAS A VERY NICE BUY..I SMOKED RIBS. I CANNOT WAIT TO SMOKE OTHER MEATS..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Masterbuilt 40" Electric Smoker with Window

very good two work with

12/20/2013
By ,
memphis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.