Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nextbook Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nextbook Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Nextbook 7" Tablet with Google Playmakes it easy to connect to your world on the go. Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System lets you complete any task on the 7" Android Touchscreen Tablet PC with WiFi.
Average Customer Rating:
3.702 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(3268 Reviews) 2873
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,216
4 stars
1,015
3 stars
342
2 stars
237
1 star
458
Customer Recommendation77%2,505 out of 3,268reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,216
4 stars
1,015
3 stars
342
2 stars
237
1 star
458
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Value Hard to Pass. One huge bummer.

12/31/2013
By ,
Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's hard to beat this with a stick as the cost is so low. It's not as speedy as some tablets, but for most tasks it is just fine.
I ordered three for the holidays.
One HUGE annoyance is that out of the box there is a problem with the sensor. Tilting the device does not give you the auto rotate behavior one desires.
Two out of Three of these I bought did not tilt correctly, making them useless in auto rotate mode.
Looking at the gsensor calibration tool showed that the X and Y values of the sensor were way off, (supposed to be zero.)
Supposedly you can lay the device on a flat table, hit the calibrate button and set the values to zero to fix the problem. NOT. The device spits this message at you. "Have you kept the device in a horizontal desktop? If so there must be something wrong with Gsensor."
Finally after much trial an error I managed to find a method that worked on those two tablets. You have to tilt the device until the X and Y values are near zero, then hit the calibrate button. Slowly keep tilting the device until it is flat on you desk or tablet pressing calibrate every few moments until you get it flat and X=Y=0.
On the third tablet, it's X and Y values were near zero, thus it auto rotated fine. However they are not zero and yet no amount of fiddling with the sensor gives anything but the error, "Have you kept the device in a horizontal desktop? If so there must be something wrong with Gsensor."
I am debating sending the third one back.
I am not sure whether to return it or not.
I would give it a higher rating but for this annoyance.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+229points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DAHLONEGA, GA.
Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory
Posted 04/07/2014
I BOUGHT THIS TABLET FOR MY HUSBAND AT CHRISTMAS TIME AND IT IS ALREADY CRASHED SO DISAPPOINTED IN THIS"BUYER'S BEWARE"
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Next book 7"tablet

12/01/2013
By ,
Charlotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great it does the same thing as my iPad and works great
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+478points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Saint Paul,MN
A good Buy
Posted 03/04/2014
Bought this tablet for my granddaughter and had problem from day one with connection problem and then losing connect from not being able to down load apps just one problems after another with this Nextbook 7 tablet return it back to the store to purchase a difference name brand for my granddaughter. It is a good buy but not a good tablet at lease not for me have not had a good experience with this tablet.
0points
Customer Avatar
Edison, Nj
love this
Posted 12/09/2013
I brought this for my dad...as a early christmas present...and he can not put it down...this is a great tablet and the price is amazing...just ordered one...for my 2yr old...
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

screen broke within 1 hour of use

12/25/2013
By ,
vista ca.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't recommend this for any one active
my son broke this with one drop (it was inside a case)
screen glass "very" breakable
I don't recommend this to anyone
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-11points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
orlando, fla
nextbook 7 inch android tablet
Posted 04/17/2014
I bought for granddaughter for Christmas . screen broke in 2 mos.
0points
Customer Avatar
VA
Screen broke too
Posted 02/02/2014
Same thing happened with my grandson
-2points
Customer Avatar
Dodge City, Ks
Screen broke after little use.
Posted 01/10/2014
I would not recommend this product because the screen broke shortly after Christmas. Plus, battery doesn't last very long.
Cheap product!
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Nextbook What?

12/29/2013
By ,
Kingman, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although this product is a great buy @ $59.99, I paid $69.99 + tax , and then 3 days later, the price dropped and they removed it from the store shelves because of the many returns because the buyers didn't know how to use it. It states in the manual that you cannot add a UBS Flash Drive to it, when in Fact, you can. It states that the unit cannot charge via the Micro-USB port, when in fact, it does, but at 1/3 the normal charge. And you MUST have the AC adapter plugged in if you connect your Nextbook to a HDMI TV, otherwise it WILL drain the battery. but otherwise, I find this unit to be very easy to use and I have lots of apps on it and have a 16 Gb Micro-SD card in it for added memory and have a 64 Gb Micro-USB Flashdrive connected via a Micro-USB A Male to USB A Female extension . I would purchase another one of these again, IF, I RECEIVE A DISCOUNT OF AT LEAST 25% OFF for the adjustment of price drop just 3 days after paying $74.04 for my 1st one. This Tablet is GOOGLE BASED.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+168points
Review 5 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

This is our first Tablet

03/18/2014
By ,
Burgaw, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my husband. This is our first Tablet and we didn't really know what to expect. We both really like it. You have tons of free apps to chose from. The only thing that I would like it a bigger GB memory. They have these already installed apps that say they have updates. If you update them all you only have room for 1-2 apps of your choosing. You go through their apps and if you don't want them and try to uninstall you get this message that says something like "if you uninstall this app it may make your other apps misbehave" Trust me it does. All kinds of stuff disappear. The only thing you really can do is uninstall updates for their apps to make room for what you like. I haven't tried to use the pictures or music apps. You'll probably need to get a mini SD card for extra Memory ( you can get a 8 GB SD with adapter for $6.99 here at Walmart.com). Maybe its our inexperience with tablets I'm not sure. My husband loves it and uses it multiple times a day. Hope this helps
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 6 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Great for the price!

05/30/2013
By ,
Abilene, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I purchased this I went thru and read all the reviews good and bad. It is a great product for the price. I had no problem getting Netflix to work, I had no problem getting any of the apps to work and I had no problem with the voice commands. I have been wanting one for the longest time and when I saw the price they wanted for this one I simply could NOT pass it up! For a start out reader this one is awesome. It was between this and the nook and since this does so much MORE I went with this. The only issue I have is that the battery only last 5 hours but all in all that still is not bad. If you turn off the wifi when not in use and you get an app killer app to handle the memory and such the battery last fairly well. My fingers have a hard time hitting the correct area at times but that is due to health issues and not the product and have to use pen. Buy it and enjoy it! Like everything you get a good one and your happy, sometimes you get a lemon and have to try again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+432points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
texas
can this play video through a hdmi port on a tv?
Posted 12/15/2013
I bought my first LED tv and am having a very hard time finding a way to hook up my laptop to watch tv programs/video on the tv. I don't have cable so a lot is available on the net. Can this tablet easily and smoothly send the signal to the tv's hdmi port? The converter cords for my old XP laptop or Vista desktop cost about the same as this tablet.
+1point
Customer Avatar
mocksville
Tablet pen
Posted 11/22/2013
Hi, Tablet pen will help. Dollar store where you are from may have one, but the tablet pen helps me for typing on a tablet. If your dollar store doesn't try game stop.
+1point
Customer Avatar
camera?
Posted 11/22/2013
It says front webcam, does it have a camera?
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 7 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Great Tablet

12/06/2013
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this Tablet as a Christmas gift to give my boyfriend who finally advanced into the tech world of the web, on the phone he finally updated. (We're in our 50's.) He complains about the amount of time I spend on my computer, so I got him his own Tablet - his own new toy! He gets so occupied, finding out what all the Tablet will do (like hook up to the TV to watch movies, build his own e-library, see what's out on social media, etc.), and I get to read, work and play on my computer. He has read the manual several times now, seeing what all his new Tablet can do. ~ I can say that the Tablet images are clear and crisp, and the 7" screen is big enough to display good photos. The sound quality for music is good. There are a lot of preloaded programs that are interesting and useful. ~ Important: Thank you for including in the Tablet's box a physical Manual to be hand-held and read, and re-read, and thank you for not requiring us to go online to download a manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+391points
Review 8 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Flawed, but still a great deal @ 80 bucks

01/13/2013
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've had this for about a week now and it has met our expectations. I did not expect a deluxe tablet experience for $80.
I haven't had any problems with the tablet yet. It isn't blazing fast, but the touchscreen is responsive enough and the volume isn't bad if you are in a quiet space. I tried several "name brand" tablets at BestBuy and the volume on this Nextbook is comparable to those.
I did have to use the "old" netflix link to get netflix to work. See other reviews or google for that...
I haven't tried porting it to my TV nor the web-cam yet.
The build quality seems a little sketchy (plasticy) but, hey, its pretty good for an $80 tablet. My 4-year old has dropped it a couple of times and no harm was done.
The two negatives are the: battery only lasts 4-5 hours; and the power plug is not micro-usb but rather a 5-volt, 2 amp plug which means it won't charge from your standard Android phone chargers.
For casual/child use, I can't see any reason to spend more on a 7" tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 9 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Great for kids

08/10/2013
By ,
Central Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these (one each for my 9 and 12 year olds). So far, so good. Battery life is around 3-4 hours. Many of the "free" games from Google Play either don't install or are a bit buggy when they run, but I believe it's not the fault of the tablet but more of a "what can you expect for a free game" thing. Some work, some don't. Since our intent with these tablets was to be used primarily for entertainment for our kids, I feel it was a VERY good buy. Works seamlessly with our home wifi router for internet access - had it up and running with our first downloaded game in under 10 minutes directly out of the box. Had to find a generic case for these since I could not find one made specifically for this brand and model. We bought the FINTIE for the Google Nexus 7" tablet cases and they fit perfectly and were under $6 online. Definitely look into buying a screen protector too. I'm actually thinking of getting one for myself to use as an e-reader, since these cost much less than a Nook or Kindle. I definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+302points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Colorado
won't connect
Posted 12/10/2013
Took back 1st one. Did not work at all. 2nd now going back. Will not connect to internet. Network screen will not pop in. I was 2 feet away from internet and got mssg saying out of range or authentication problems. Called company 4 times. They do not know what is wrong. Told me to take it back. Waste of time. I buying another brand
-1point
Customer Avatar
SC
FINITE tablet case
Posted 12/02/2013
Do you know if you purchased the 1st or 2nd Gen Google Nexus cases? Thanks. Also are your tablets still working?
-1point
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Is the Nextbook 7 still working?
Posted 12/02/2013
I have read some bad comments about the Nextbook 7. Can you tell me if it is still working for you and your kids? I bought mine for my 7 yr old grandson for Christmas. Any information is appreciated.
+5points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 10 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Complete waste of time and money

12/04/2013
By ,
Conyers, ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had medium expectations for this tablet because I knew the storage space wasn't that big, nor was the screen, nor was it a brand I'd even heard of... But I bought two of these for my parents for Christmas (figured they wouldn't need anything super flashy if they just wanted to surf the internet and play games on Facebook) and decided to open them early to set everything up for them. Thank goodness I did, because it only took about 15 minutes to realize that these tablets were NOT going to work. The screen view quality is very poor, and the touch sensor doesn't respond over half the time! One minute I'd be tapping the screen 5 times to click a link, and then the next second the keyboard would pop up and randomly start typing even though I never even tapped anything. I immediately took the tablets back, and the associate at the customer service desk said that she had seen several of these tablets returned already. I was hopeful that they would work decently enough, but I would've been embarrassed to have given these as gifts.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+172points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/23/2013
If you didn't have high expectations for the item then why purchase the item. It's common sense, just saying if you the item doesn't look like its going to be a great product then do not purchase it.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Good intro tablet

04/03/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First review, first tablet. I have had it for 6 months without any hardware issues.
Easy to use. The Google "Play Store" has lots of free programs to play with. I use the tablet browsing the web with Chrome and for email on the road. As a book reader using Freading. Card games. Scrabble. Facebook. Viggle when watching TV. It's not compatible with every APP (like the Weather channel and USA Today) out there, but that hasn't been a problem.
I also use it as a MP3 player for my car.
8 GB memory sounds big, but there is actually a partitioned section of data in your Internal SD (Internal Storage) partitioned for apps only and it only stores up to 401Mb of Application data, that section cannot be increased.
I bought the SD card hoping to add 32GB to the 8GB internal memory, but The SD Card will only work for Music, Videos and Pictures or Books and other miscellaneous files such as PDF. or other extensions readable by the tablet. It is not meant to store application data and will not allow the storage of any application data to the SD unless allowed specifically by the application.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 12 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Nextbook won't boot up past the 3rd splash screen

10/29/2013
By ,
Geneva, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm an electrical engineer who bought this tablet 2.5 months ago; it worked correctly (although *very* slowly) for about two months... Now, it won't boot up past the 3rd splash screen on startup. I've tried everything -- shutting it down completely and restarting, resetting via the "reset" pinhole in back (both with the tablet on and off), draining the batteries and re-charging -- over and over. I can't feel any "tactile feedback" when trying to reset through the pinhole, so I'm not sure the "reset switch" is working. I'm reluctant to take it back to WalMart or send it back to the manufacturer, since I've been receiving e-mail, and all my passwords are stored on the tablet. So... now, I'm stuck with a useless piece of electronics. Based on the other "1-star" reviews, I think this company's quality control is very poor; the low price looks attractive, but you're better off saving your money and getting a more reputable product, in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+374points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
New Jersey
There actually isn't a reset pin hole
Posted 03/22/2014
There actually isn't a pin-hole in the back that you use to reset this Next Book. The Instructions and there site say's that there is, but there isn't. The only way to factory reset this tablet is to hold down the power switch, while holding down the "volume down" button at the same time. This will allow you reset any system settings, and or bring the tablet back to the factory defaults. Useful if you have forgotten your password, it's the only way that you can reset it.
0points
Customer Avatar
Massachusetts
I have the same problem
Posted 02/22/2014
and worse I used my credit card to buy it... So beware!!! :(
0points
Customer Avatar
va beach. va
nextbook 7
Posted 11/20/2013
This notebook froze on 3rd splash screen... reset does nothing.. its not even fit for a coaster... do not buy
This info comes from a experience computer operator of 40 yrs
-3points
Customer Avatar
Missouri
Warrenty?
Posted 11/12/2013
They have a 1 year warranty just give them a call they will fix it or exchange it for you.
0points
Customer Avatar
Escondido
Nextbook 7 no good beware!
Posted 11/08/2013
Bought next book 7 for my daughter in sep.26 2013 and a month later started to have many issue. Volume button stop to work. It's real slow . You tube works some times. Downloading apps works sometimes. I found out can't watch nexflix. So I call the company that makes it for warranty and they said with out my recipe that they wouldn't help me . So beware spend a little more and get something better. I have the nextbook8 it's ok not that fast but works fine over all .
0points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 13 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Met My Expectations and more!....

01/08/2013
By ,
Victorville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't have been more happy with my purchase. I spent a lot of time looking for the right tablet and I am glad I made the right decision by choosing my Nextbook tablet.
The tablet includes cool apps such as google chrome, HDMI output and Google Play that others more expensive tablet lack. The screen responds great to the touch and the battery life is very decent, lasting up to 5 hrs without charging it. The only thing that I couldn't get to work at first was Netflix because the newest version does not work properly with android tablets( so if the App does not work at first, don't think is because there is something wrong with the tablet, all android tablets are having this issue with the newest app Netflix created). I was able to fix mine by downloading a previous version which is Netflix 2.2.
Overall, the tablet works great, even the kindle app works as if you were using a kindle instead of a third party tablet. Great purchase for personal used or to give as a gift. This little tablet is definitively a keeper:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Review 14 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Don't bother!

11/21/2013
By ,
Springfield, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tablet while it was still $79.00. We've had it for maybe 3 months. None of the apps I want are compatible with the device from the weather channel, to the WWE app, and many more. We kept it because it still served a purpose for my children. It stopped charging with wall charger. We started using the USB charger and that stopped working also. We went back to the wall charger and found that if you hold it just right, it will charge so now it charges all taped up though often it will read fully charged when it isn't and stops charging. We've had to master reset the device several times because it freezes up so badly. It constantly dismounts the multiple sd cards on it's own. It takes several tries to even get the thing to start up. The pictures and video are very sad. Buy earbuds because you WILL NOT be able to hear. At this price, you might buy it for a small child for entertainment but beyond that, do not waste your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+371points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
Bellevue, Idaho
Not worth it!!!!
Posted 01/02/2014
Purchased this for my 9 year old niece for her birthday. 6 months later it wont power on and all her downloads disappeared. Very disappointed!!!!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
Trotwood, OH
Increase the memory
Posted 12/12/2013
Once you add memory via the micro SD card, you will be able to download most apps that are available from the Google app store and others, including Skype. They should advise of this fact in the literature. I recommend getting a 32GB card which is the maximum this tablet can accept.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Amarillo, TX
buy the the Dual core, not single.
Posted 12/04/2013
The single core is slow, the dual core is just a few more dollars, and works great. This one is not what you want, it is last year's tablet with the old android operating system
+5points
Customer Avatar
MI
Charger problem
Posted 11/30/2013
Sounds like a typical problem people have with chargers usually not the device. Try buying a new charger and it will probably change just fine.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Edgewood, New Mexico
Hello
Posted 11/30/2013
YOU HAVE CHILDREN WHO THROW IT AROUND....ITS GONNA BREAK WITH KIDS. ITS A GREAT TABLET!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/23/2013
You can always sideload apps even if they say they aren't compatible with a phone/tablet
+2points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 15 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

WOW

01/09/2013
By ,
Ashland, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for a tablet and could not afford more than $100. This little thing has amazed me. And to find a tablet under $80?! I have to admit I was skeptical from reading some negative reviews, but after having the tablet and seeing what it can do I have been won over. I am an avid mac user so getting an android was a big deal for me. Set up was easy, downloading apps is easy. Right away I downloaded Youtube, Netflix, Facebook, Kindle, Nook.... I was even able to run a site through the browser that streams brand new movies and TV shows for free and it ran marvelously. I have been having issues with Netflix, only in that it wont fully load the video. It loads the app but it won't play the movie you choose. I've seen other reviewers have that problem and I'm sure I can fix it. With or without Netflix I have other ways to watch videos and TV on here. I'm still giving it 5 stars! Try this before you try something else expensive!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+55points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kindle compatible
Posted 05/03/2013
You said in your review that the kindle app was compatible. I want to buy my grandson a tablet but would also want the kindle app for books for him.
So you can download the kindle app right? Also is it working good for kindle?
Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

***DO NOT BUY***

11/20/2013
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my boyfriends mom as a gift after one of my colleagues bought one. I thought after for the price after reading the reviews, it would be a good gift. After 1 week, it froze up. You cannot reach anyone at the companies support, you have to email them or leave a message, and if you're lucky they respond after 48 hours. (BTW my colleagues tablet topped working too and she's is in the same situation.).
We were contacted and told that we had to send it back to them at our own expense and had to ensure that it was packed properly as they would not be responsible for any damage during shipping. After we paid $23 to pack and ship it, we received a proof of delivery that they received it. They did not confirm receipt for an additional two weeks, at which point they said they would take the issue to the next level. I bought the item in mid-September, as of today 11/20/2013, we have had no information, cannot contact anyone at Next, so all told we had one week of use out of the item. I am about to call Walmart and tell them I am disputing the charge .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+243points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brenham, Texas
Posted 12/15/2013
The walmart care plan is only $7 and would have been cheaper than you returning. alot of people should purchase the protection plan. They really are great with refunding money under $100 or replacing product of higher amounts.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

If you want to watch movies, don't buy this.

06/20/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was incredibly disappointed with this. It claims to have Google Play and run on the Android system. IT IS NOT CERTIFIED BY GOOGLE and will not play movies you buy at the Google store! On top on this, you can't buy movies on Amazon and play them on this system. It doesn't support Amazon.
This might be good for playing games and checking email, but don't be fooled by the statement on the front of the box that says, "Get it on Google Play." You can BUY movies on Google Play, but they won't actually run on this tablet. I needed it to play movies on long drives with the kids, so it exactly what I didn't need.
Also you can't use Pandora and many other popular apps that you'd expect to use if you have "Google Playstore". This is an unauthorized product and not certified by Google.
BTW, my husband is an IT director and he researched this tablet after I bought it. He said to return it and buy one that is actually certified by Google so we can buy movies and run them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 18 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Very disappointed

08/25/2013
By ,
Katy, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Really wanted the Kindle Fire HD but it was out of my budget. Was browsing on Walmart.com and came across this tablet. Thought it was a really good price and it had fairly decent reviews. Was very disappointed when I got it home. In some spots the touch screen would barely respond and others just lightly brushing it would do something that I didn't mean to do. Took twice as long to complete a survey on it just because of the touch screen not always responding properly. Tried downloading some apps from the GooglePlay store that was installed on the tablet. Every one I tried to install kept saying that it wasn't compatible with my operating system. Why in the world would they show apps if they weren't compatible? And last of all, there seemed to absolutely no way to adjust the clock. It was set for EST and I needed it set for CST. Tried every which way to set the clock and never did figure out how. The only good thing I can say is that it was easy to return to Walmart.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+26points
Review 19 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Find an alternative, even if it costs more.

11/28/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my wife. I read the reviews, and took my chances on getting an operational device. It is operational, but only just.
This thing is slow, sloth slow. Simply animating a live background causes this Nextbook to strain.
Loading apps, connecting to wifi, browsing the web, all of it exceedingly slow.
Additionally, there are other faults with this device; The camera seems to be misaligned, you can't point it directly at your subject and have to tilt the device to get a "straight" picture.
And when installing apps, the software forces all apps to a certain section of memory, requiring you to navigate the settings and move each app to the sd card. I found no way of increasing this allotted 'app space'.
In short, spend another $30-40 and get a more powerful product.
The few dollars you save on this isn't worth your frustration in using it.
I'll be returning this just as soon as black friday madness is over.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+77points
Review 20 for Nextbook 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

You get what you pay for....I returned the product

05/31/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first glance, the Netbook seemed like a decent entry level tablet for the money. I could get past the low resolution screen with poor viewing angle if the tablet operated for what was intended for. But it didn't. When holding the tablet, you could see the pressure from your fingers displayed on the screen. The internet seem to run pretty fast on my High Speed FIOS connection at first. After the tablet was revived from its sleep state, I was only able to browse the web and Google Play store at a snails pace. I hard shutdown and rebooted would cure the speed issue. This happened several days in a row. I ultimately decided to return this product a few days later when it completely froze on me. I put the table in its sleep state and walked away...several hours later when I returned the screen was on, the tablet was fairly hot, and in a frozen state. I had to hold the power button down to do a hard reboot. I returned this for a Nexus 7, which is an amazing product!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
1-20 of 2,874 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  144 Next