Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Murray Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Mowing the grass of large yards won't be a problem with the 15.4 HP Murray 42" Riding Mower. This Murray Riding Lawn Mower with shift-on-the-go drive system features a seven-speed transmission. This Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower will make mowing your lawn easier and more enjoyable. The built-in headlights will allow you to mow your lawn at dusk or at dawn. Keep your lawn looking fabulous all summer long. The Briggs and Stratton engine in this mower will give you the power you need to get the job done.
Average Customer Rating:
4.051 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation82%32 out of 39reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Dont buy

05/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used it 3 times and already knocking had a friend who bought same mower and used it a month and motor blew.Don't buy this mower
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Does the job well.

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What little assembly that is required was quick and easy. Started first try. I have an acre of front and back yard to cut (all level) and the mower does it quickly and leaves it looking well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Packed with power and ready to go

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Murray arrived ready to drive I added has and it took off the only negative is it will not cut in reverse. Light is on even on day with no way to turn off all on all an excellent bang for your bucl
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

good value for the money

05/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought one of these mowers just recently but i had one years ago. the one i had i kept it for 10 years without any problems what so ever. the only thing i ever did was change the oil and filters on a regular basis, and put one battery on it.
i bought this one about 3 weeks ago and so far it has performed just great. it has all the power i need with the 15.5 HP motor and cuts just fine.
i am very happy so far with this little mower and would recommend it to anyone who does not want to spend allot of money for a mower that performs well for small to medium size lawns.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

home ouwner

05/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its nice to mow my 1 arc. in less time up hills and down i like it very much
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Better Than I Thought

04/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tractor not being sure of what to expect. I have always in the past used another brand. The price is what attracted me to this one. I have two properties that I keep up so I bought this one for my home, so I don't have to pack one on a trailer from place to place. When this unit was delivered to my home it came in great condition, I just had to remove from the crate, install the steering wheel, hook up the battery terminals, put fuel in it , mowing deck was right on the money. This little rascal started right up. The first thing I noticed was the turning radius " It is awesome and tight!" I have used it about four times now and it mows my yard perfectly. The only downfall it had was the fact it does not mow in reverse. "Easy Fix!" I just simply unplugged the kill switch wire coming from the " F N R selector" on the left side. Now it mows in reverse.. Engine has plenty of power, it's not to loud, and operates smoothly. Fantastic deal for the money. I am surprisingly pleased with it. I would buy another one if I needed to.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

PIECE OF JUNK!!!

02/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had nothing but trouble with this mower since I bought it in March 2014. The mower keeps eating/destroying blade drive belts. The mower is currently in the shop for the 2nd time getting the same thing fixed and I'm not looking forward to getting it back. The first time the shop had the mower, it took about 1 1/2 months to get it back, because Murray/MTD was working on redesigning one of the parts and the shop also found that some of the deck parts were installed backwards. I got the mower back, and the first time I tried to use it, the blade belt still kept coming off---4 times in 2 1/2 hours of mowing. The mower is still in the shop getting fixed again and I should have it back next week----OH YEAH :-(
Keep away from any mower made by MTD!!!!----unless you have the patience to have it in the shop more than in your garage. One good thing about the mower is that you don't need much room to store it, because most of the time it doesn't have to be store at your house because it's in the shop being fixed more than in your garage.
Recommends this product? No
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

tool

10/19/2014
By ,
Simpsonville, Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not reliable
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Powerful mower!

08/19/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this as a birthday gift for my fiancé, he loves it and was surprised with the power it had. It mowed right through knee high grass and up a hill with on problems. My only complaint is the shipping it came about a week after it was supposed to arive and someone had to be there to sign for the delivery which was an inconvenice for me. It is shipped by seko worldwide which I heard is usually late with there shipments. But overall a great mower for a decent price very pleased
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Great mower

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cost was a dissappointment. It was on sale for 988.00 and before i got it ordered, the price went up to 1020.00. Would have liked to had a bagger for it, but I see they dont sell one with it.
Other than that, it is a very nice mower. We have ran one before we got this one and it lasted about 13yrs. It still runs but is starting to fall apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Great Mower

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my mower Tuesday, put it together gassed it up and mowed 2 acres before I needed to refill the gas tank. Awesome is all I can say!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

The engine locked up after less than 1 hour of use

08/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Decided to purchase this Murray riding mower because we had one before and we're very pleased with it. Used it for approx. 10 yrs. BUT THIS MOWER LASTED LESS THAN A HOUR. STOPPED AND WOULD NOT RESTART, AND THEN THE ENGINE LOCKED UP. MY WIFE AND I PUT IT IN THE BACK OF OUR PICKUP & RETURNED IT TO WALMART. ONLY GOOD PART REGARDING THE NIGHTMARE WAS THAT WALMART WAS VERY GOOD ABOUT REFUNDING OUR MONEY, ONCE THEY FOUND SOMEONE TO GET IT OUT OF OUR TRUCK!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Nice mower for the money

07/31/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've always thought Murray was a decent mower for the money. It's no JD or other name brand but its not their price either. It does have a Briggs motor and we all know those are solid. But for a 42" mower less than a grand, this one is plenty decent and it's been used a month now cutting our yard which is about an acre all together...no problems so far except it keeps running out of gas!! HAHA
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

It did a good job

07/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked good, had no problems with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Seocnd Murray I've had, couldn't kill the first 1.

06/17/2014
By ,
Central Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 hp is all most people need. Wish it mowed in reverse, last one did, safety item. Years down the line parts are ez to find and replace.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Is what it is.

05/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a low end riding mower which does the job as intended. works fine and performs very well. Purchasing and pick up at store was easy and inexpensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

does not cut

04/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the belt broke on first use
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Good mower - good price

03/10/2014
By ,
Miami, FLorida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything arrived as expected. Mower cranked right up after adding gas and I mowed 2 acres of tall grass efficiently. No complaints, all the reviews I read here helped make the decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Review 19 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

my first riding mower and it is great

04/04/2014
By ,
white castle, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
over all very good
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

GREAT MOWER

12/22/2013
By ,
WEST PALM BEACH, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE THIS MOWER. WOULD RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next