Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Murray Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Mowing the grass of large yards won't be a problem with the 15.4 HP Murray 42" Riding Mower. This Murray Riding Lawn Mower with shift-on-the-go drive system features a seven-speed transmission. This Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower will make mowing your lawn easier and more enjoyable. The built-in headlights will allow you to mow your lawn at dusk or at dawn. Keep your lawn looking fabulous all summer long. The Briggs and Stratton engine in this mower will give you the power you need to get the job done.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation84%27 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

tool

10/19/2014
By ,
Simpsonville, Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not reliable
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Powerful mower!

08/19/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this as a birthday gift for my fiancé, he loves it and was surprised with the power it had. It mowed right through knee high grass and up a hill with on problems. My only complaint is the shipping it came about a week after it was supposed to arive and someone had to be there to sign for the delivery which was an inconvenice for me. It is shipped by seko worldwide which I heard is usually late with there shipments. But overall a great mower for a decent price very pleased
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Great mower

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cost was a dissappointment. It was on sale for 988.00 and before i got it ordered, the price went up to 1020.00. Would have liked to had a bagger for it, but I see they dont sell one with it.
Other than that, it is a very nice mower. We have ran one before we got this one and it lasted about 13yrs. It still runs but is starting to fall apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Great Mower

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my mower Tuesday, put it together gassed it up and mowed 2 acres before I needed to refill the gas tank. Awesome is all I can say!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

The engine locked up after less than 1 hour of use

08/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Decided to purchase this Murray riding mower because we had one before and we're very pleased with it. Used it for approx. 10 yrs. BUT THIS MOWER LASTED LESS THAN A HOUR. STOPPED AND WOULD NOT RESTART, AND THEN THE ENGINE LOCKED UP. MY WIFE AND I PUT IT IN THE BACK OF OUR PICKUP & RETURNED IT TO WALMART. ONLY GOOD PART REGARDING THE NIGHTMARE WAS THAT WALMART WAS VERY GOOD ABOUT REFUNDING OUR MONEY, ONCE THEY FOUND SOMEONE TO GET IT OUT OF OUR TRUCK!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Nice mower for the money

07/31/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've always thought Murray was a decent mower for the money. It's no JD or other name brand but its not their price either. It does have a Briggs motor and we all know those are solid. But for a 42" mower less than a grand, this one is plenty decent and it's been used a month now cutting our yard which is about an acre all together...no problems so far except it keeps running out of gas!! HAHA
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

It did a good job

07/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked good, had no problems with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Seocnd Murray I've had, couldn't kill the first 1.

06/17/2014
By ,
Central Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 hp is all most people need. Wish it mowed in reverse, last one did, safety item. Years down the line parts are ez to find and replace.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Is what it is.

05/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a low end riding mower which does the job as intended. works fine and performs very well. Purchasing and pick up at store was easy and inexpensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

does not cut

04/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the belt broke on first use
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Good mower - good price

03/10/2014
By ,
Miami, FLorida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything arrived as expected. Mower cranked right up after adding gas and I mowed 2 acres of tall grass efficiently. No complaints, all the reviews I read here helped make the decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

my first riding mower and it is great

04/04/2014
By ,
white castle, la
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
over all very good
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

GREAT MOWER

12/22/2013
By ,
WEST PALM BEACH, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE THIS MOWER. WOULD RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Fair product

10/24/2013
By ,
South Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My biggest problem with the mower is inability to go into reverse with blades engaged and it cuts too low even on the highest setting. Also I have noticed some scalping on uneven ground which could have been prevented by deck wheels. On my last mowing the brake locked up so there is a design flaw or I have a faulty part.
Power is adequate for medium thick lawns and it has an ok turning radius. The mower is alright for my needs but I will upgrade on the next purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Great value

10/15/2013
By ,
Miami Shores, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For half the price (of less) of a Toro riding mower (nothing against Toro, my previous and now back-up mower is a Toro self-propelled that has performed flawlessly) this is a great value.
Disassemble the shipping crate down to the bottom, connect the battery cables, seat and steering wheel, fill with gas and fire it up. Drove it off the crate bottom and mowed away at high speed. Tight turning radius. Starts when you turn the key the first time, every time.
Not being able to mow in reverse is a minor aggravation, but how often do you really need to do that? That feature isn't worth another grand or two more.
Twice as wide, twice or more as fast as walking -- you mow in 1/4 or less of the usual time. Drinks twice as much gas as the typical 6-8HP walk-behind, but you still wind up spending half as much on gas because of the 4+ times faster mow time.
You could mow a baseball outfield in less than an hour with this thing. Overall, a really great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Don't buy!

09/27/2013
By ,
Soap Lake, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Decided to purchase this Murray riding mower because we had one before and we're very pleased with it. Used it for approx. 10 yrs. BUT THIS MOWER LASTED 20 MINUTES. STOPPED AND WOULD NOT RESTART. MY WIFE AND I PUT IT IN THE BACK OF OUR PICKUP & TOOK IT TO AUTHORIZED REPAIR DEALER 55 MILES AWAY. THEY TINKERED WITH IT, FOUND IT HAD AN OLD USED SPARK PLUG WHICH THEY REPLACED. THEY RAN MOWER FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES AND IT APPEARED TO BE FINE. DROVE HOME, 55 MILES AGAIN. MY WIFE AND I NOW HAD TO TAKE IT BACK OUT OF TRUCK. (KEEP IN MIND WE ARE IN OUR 70'S) GUESS WHAT? IT WOULD NOT RUN AGAIN. DECIDED WE WERE DONE. WELL NOT EXACTLY! WE THEN PUT IT BACK IN TO THE TRUCK AND RETURNED IT TO WALMART. ONLY GOOD PART REGARDING THE NIGHTMARE WAS THAT WALMART WAS VERY GOOD ABOUT REFUNDING OUR MONEY, ONCE THEY FOUND SOMEONE TO GET IT OUT OF OUR TRUCK! WE WERE DONE WITH THAT JOB.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
08/29/2013
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mower. Started up first turn of key. Kind of hard to get off pallet. But I am pleased with product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

powerfull and fast

07/16/2013
By ,
port charlotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got the mower and took abt 20 mins to unpack u will need a few tools one to unpack and one to screw the seat and steering wheel on oil was already added so just had to put gas in it and started up real quick and for the first mowing all I can say is that wow its powerful it just blast the grass out like a champ. it has great speed and small turning radius no problems now after few uses
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
07/02/2013
By ,
Cloquet Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only used it twice seems to be working fine time will tell
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Good Value, well made

06/19/2013
By ,
Covington, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First I needed a Lawn Tractor that would fit inside my Dodge Caravan so I could take it home. With Walmart ramps (another purchase) it was easy for just my wife and I to get in and out of the Van. To prep for use, I had to connect battery, easy; position and tighten seat, easy; bolt on the steering wheel, easy; gas it up and check engine oil, easy. It then lit right off. Easily cut through grass that was 6" in some places and on uneven ground. Controlling forward speed was a bit challenging, a bit of tweaking the throttle and left petal break. Tractor came with no service manual or Walmart failed to offer me one. I plan to inquire about that on my next visit. Overall I was happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next