Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Murray Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System

Mowing the grass of large yards won't be a problem with the 15.4 HP Murray 42" Riding Mower. This Murray Riding Lawn Mower with shift-on-the-go drive system features a seven-speed transmission. This Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower will make mowing your lawn easier and more enjoyable. The built-in headlights will allow you to mow your lawn at dusk or at dawn. Keep your lawn looking fabulous all summer long. The Briggs and Stratton engine in this mower will give you the power you need to get the job done.
Average Customer Rating:
4.149 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation85%40 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Cuts great

07/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used first time worked great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Great deal. Really needed it.

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bagger that is advertised for it does not fit it so my husband had to modify it to work which took him several hours and he is a mechanical guy. Other than that we are very happy with the mower.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Great mower and works fast to get job done

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this online with the inform me when available option since it was out of stock when I was first looking for a quality riding mower. It arrived at my local Walmart which saved me over $100 in fright charges alone. Picked it up with help of my dad in his Toyota pick-up, small one too. It's fitn not perfectly obviously but well enough and secured even better. Got it home 20 minutes later and tipped the crate out on end and then down on soft lawn without any issues at all. After the crate as off and discarded the battery and seat were attached easily in minutes. Gassed it up and checked the oil for piece of mind prior to starting and viola it started right up without any hesitation and ran like a champ too. After deciding on the correct height for my lawn I took it out and began the mowing process with minimal time to learn the right speed and settings that worked best for my lawn care needs. I chose not to get the additional bagging system as the lawn clippings only add to the lawns food source and health. Not to mention saving an extra $300 in the dual bagging system.
All in all this riding mower is well worth what I spent and am glad I decided to go with a beefier and bigger model over the slightly but much smaller cutting deck width model I had originally settled for. Good thing was I still was able to cancel prio to it actually being shipped to the store yet. I mowed the lawn with a very good and well known quality 40volt Lithium ion push mower that i borrowed and the whole lawn mowing process took over an hour not including the trimming. Now with this new riding mower I can get the entire lawn mowed in about 20 minutes and the trimming and blowing of debris takes another 20 minutes maybe. Very worth the money spent and I recommend it to anyone considering firing your current lawn service for what ever reason you wish. It's paid for itself after a year and a half of lawn service which was marginal at best.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Riding Lawn Mower

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our new mower beats walking 3 days aweek to get your lawn mowed in sections. Works excellently very pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Murray

06/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a Murray lawn mower before and that is the only reason a bought a second one ( the previous one ) went kaput. After 20 years. So, so far so good.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

As Expected

06/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mower is exactly what I expected. It fired right off the first time and I have had no problems at all with it. I've mowed my one acre four times with nary a hitch. One word of advice though. When circling trees be careful as the inside edge if the mower blade housing deck drops down, scalping a ring in your lawn the circumference of the circle. Now I don't get that close to the trees and finish up with the push mower to eliminate the possibility of circles. I got what I wanted and I am happy.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

good so far

05/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fast shipping 40 mins to put together cut the yard 1 arce no problems
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Murray Lawn Mower purchased ny Internet

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have owned Murray before and believe their a good riding mower.
This was the first time to purchase a large ticket item such as above from Wal-Mart.
I would recommend that anyone going this route look into delivery scheduling.
Took 4 weeks to get my mower after purchase because the Contractor delivering items to my area only came this way once a week on Mondays. What happened was the mower was received on their dock on a Friday and wasn't processed until Tuesday, which meant I had to wait another full week before delivery. This put me receiving my mower 4 weeks after purchase.
Mower arrived in good shape, started the first time. Very pleased with the mower.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Dont buy

05/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used it 3 times and already knocking had a friend who bought same mower and used it a month and motor blew.Don't buy this mower
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Does the job well.

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What little assembly that is required was quick and easy. Started first try. I have an acre of front and back yard to cut (all level) and the mower does it quickly and leaves it looking well.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Packed with power and ready to go

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Murray arrived ready to drive I added has and it took off the only negative is it will not cut in reverse. Light is on even on day with no way to turn off all on all an excellent bang for your bucl
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

good value for the money

05/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought one of these mowers just recently but i had one years ago. the one i had i kept it for 10 years without any problems what so ever. the only thing i ever did was change the oil and filters on a regular basis, and put one battery on it.
i bought this one about 3 weeks ago and so far it has performed just great. it has all the power i need with the 15.5 HP motor and cuts just fine.
i am very happy so far with this little mower and would recommend it to anyone who does not want to spend allot of money for a mower that performs well for small to medium size lawns.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

home ouwner

05/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its nice to mow my 1 arc. in less time up hills and down i like it very much
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Better Than I Thought

04/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tractor not being sure of what to expect. I have always in the past used another brand. The price is what attracted me to this one. I have two properties that I keep up so I bought this one for my home, so I don't have to pack one on a trailer from place to place. When this unit was delivered to my home it came in great condition, I just had to remove from the crate, install the steering wheel, hook up the battery terminals, put fuel in it , mowing deck was right on the money. This little rascal started right up. The first thing I noticed was the turning radius " It is awesome and tight!" I have used it about four times now and it mows my yard perfectly. The only downfall it had was the fact it does not mow in reverse. "Easy Fix!" I just simply unplugged the kill switch wire coming from the " F N R selector" on the left side. Now it mows in reverse.. Engine has plenty of power, it's not to loud, and operates smoothly. Fantastic deal for the money. I am surprisingly pleased with it. I would buy another one if I needed to.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

PIECE OF JUNK!!!

02/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had nothing but trouble with this mower since I bought it in March 2014. The mower keeps eating/destroying blade drive belts. The mower is currently in the shop for the 2nd time getting the same thing fixed and I'm not looking forward to getting it back. The first time the shop had the mower, it took about 1 1/2 months to get it back, because Murray/MTD was working on redesigning one of the parts and the shop also found that some of the deck parts were installed backwards. I got the mower back, and the first time I tried to use it, the blade belt still kept coming off---4 times in 2 1/2 hours of mowing. The mower is still in the shop getting fixed again and I should have it back next week----OH YEAH :-(
Keep away from any mower made by MTD!!!!----unless you have the patience to have it in the shop more than in your garage. One good thing about the mower is that you don't need much room to store it, because most of the time it doesn't have to be store at your house because it's in the shop being fixed more than in your garage.
Recommends this product? No
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

tool

10/19/2014
By ,
Simpsonville, Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not reliable
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Powerful mower!

08/19/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this as a birthday gift for my fiancé, he loves it and was surprised with the power it had. It mowed right through knee high grass and up a hill with on problems. My only complaint is the shipping it came about a week after it was supposed to arive and someone had to be there to sign for the delivery which was an inconvenice for me. It is shipped by seko worldwide which I heard is usually late with there shipments. But overall a great mower for a decent price very pleased
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Great mower

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cost was a dissappointment. It was on sale for 988.00 and before i got it ordered, the price went up to 1020.00. Would have liked to had a bagger for it, but I see they dont sell one with it.
Other than that, it is a very nice mower. We have ran one before we got this one and it lasted about 13yrs. It still runs but is starting to fall apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

Great Mower

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my mower Tuesday, put it together gassed it up and mowed 2 acres before I needed to refill the gas tank. Awesome is all I can say!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 42" 17.5 HP Briggs and Stratton Riding Mower with Shift on the Go Drive System
This review is fromMurray 42" 15.5 HP Riding Mower.

The engine locked up after less than 1 hour of use

08/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Decided to purchase this Murray riding mower because we had one before and we're very pleased with it. Used it for approx. 10 yrs. BUT THIS MOWER LASTED LESS THAN A HOUR. STOPPED AND WOULD NOT RESTART, AND THEN THE ENGINE LOCKED UP. MY WIFE AND I PUT IT IN THE BACK OF OUR PICKUP & RETURNED IT TO WALMART. ONLY GOOD PART REGARDING THE NIGHTMARE WAS THAT WALMART WAS VERY GOOD ABOUT REFUNDING OUR MONEY, ONCE THEY FOUND SOMEONE TO GET IT OUT OF OUR TRUCK!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next