Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Snapper Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Snapper Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Better maneuverability on hills or uneven terrain from 11" rear wheels and front wheel drive system featured on the Snapper 21" self-propelled lawn mower. High-performance Briggs & Stratton 190cc, 725ex Series engine with ReadyStart" technology offers more durability and reduced noise levels for quieter operation. Versatile 3-n-1 mower deck lets you choose your cut and finish with side discharge, mulching or rear bagging options. User-friendly single-point height adjustment provides you with 6 grass cutting settings.
Average Customer Rating:
4.319 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(336 Reviews) 318
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
213
4 stars
75
3 stars
14
2 stars
10
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation88%292 out of 333reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 191 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
213
4 stars
75
3 stars
14
2 stars
10
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

This is a very fine mower, especially for a senior

05/13/2014
By ,
Cape Cod
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The instructions for assembling the machine are clear but make sure you read about adjusting the handle so that it will not interfere with the mower blade.
The machine started after only one pull. It mowed the lawn using the bag attachment and did a very nice job, no serious complaints here. However, it did not pick up all small sticks or pine needles as well as I would have liked. As I had previously owned a Snapper Hi Vac which required a separate mulching blade I assumed this mower would require the mulching blade listed as an accessory. I purchased the mulching blade and was surprised to see that it is identical to the blade on the machine. I now have an extra blade. I mowed the lawn today using the mulching feature and it did a very good job. A previous mower, a Craftsman, left a thin line of cut grass on the edge of each cut using the mulching feature, this Snapper did not. Without using the bag attachment the mower is lighter and easier to handle, thus my comment it being a good mower for seniors.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Snapper FWD Rear Bagger

03/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used this Snapper on Saturday March 15th 2014. Relatively easy to assemble w/o any complications. The instructions on engine oil additions were unclear as they don't tell you precisely how much oil to add to the engine. I suggest you add in small increments to avoid overfilling. Use a paper towel to clean the dipstick as you continually check the level. Additionally, you will need to pull back on the blade break in order to start the engine which is different. Traditionally the mowers I've used previously; "Toro and Honda" that procedure wasn’t necessary. The mower worked well cutting and it cut evenly and did a good job of vacuuming the lawn of leaves as well as picking up the grass. Wish the bag held a little more clippings to avoid emptying frequently. The FWD wheels are powerful so be cautious with soft ground as they can leave marks if you’re not careful. All in all, I find this mower to work well for my use. It started on first pull which was nice. I would have no reservations recommending this mower to a friend if they were in the market for a mower.
Recommends this product? Yes
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Enfield Ct.
Snapper
Posted 04/27/2014
I bought this last yr.In May 2013.In the fall I winterized it.Maybe ran it out of gas.Now it will not start.I changed the spark plug.Changed the air filter.& oil.Put new gas in it.Still will not start.Beat's me why it will not start.It goes like vthe blaze's when it did run.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

When the mower will not start

05/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this mower through Walmart online with good delivery time. After assembly with oil and gas added this mower would not start, the blade control handle was my first suspect that maybe the cable which seemed to have some excessive slack in it was keeping the mower from starting but their was no room for adjusting this. I checked for a fuel shut off petcock but their was none which would keep the engine from receiving fuel but their was none, their have been other reviewers from Amazon who have reported this problem but no one has posted a solution. After calling my local Walmart they suggested that I return the mower for a new replacement all that I needed was my receipt which I provided by going to Walmart's web site, log in to my account, go to my mower purchase, clicked the easy return link which was a complete receipt including a bar code to expedite the return. Going to my local Walmart I received a new boxed mower which now starts as it should on the first or second pull. I am very satisfied on how Walmart's handled this and kudo's to the web designers who made it possible to print out a bar coded receipt.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Fine if you don't need help from Snapper

05/31/2014
By ,
Utah
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good mower, starts first pull every time, has good power, and seems to be pretty well made. However, when it was shipped to me, the box was obviously damaged (they had taped large pieces of cardboard over the damaged areas). When I opened it up, there was a hole in the box and the carriage bolt and nut that secures one side of the handle was missing, probably fell out of the hole in the box. The other carriage bolt and nut were just loose in the bottom of the box, they were not even screwed into the handle. The big problem has been getting any response from Snapper. I sent them an email, and got a fairly quick reply asking what the model and serial were, which I then provided, and since then, crickets. I have emailed twice more, and wrote up another issue report on their website with no response. It's now been two weeks, and still nothing from Snapper. I guess sending a simple nut and bolt is too much trouble since they already have my money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

This lawnmower does all that it is supposed to do

04/23/2014
By ,
South Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The instructions were complete and easy to understand. I really like this mower, especially the front wheel drive and the bagger. I wanted a push mower to mow around shrubs closer and also wanted a bagger to catch the weed seeds to keep down weeds. I used my mower for he first time today and it works great. First pull and it started, no priming, nothing to turn on and no choke. Just hold down the running bar and pull the cord, it cranks first pull. Awesome. The high wheels make the mower easy to maneuver around shrubs and flowers in the yard. The front wheel drive makes it so easy to mow. I find myself forgetting to let go of the drive handle when backing up. It is a joy to mow and not have grass blowing all over you. Didn't even get grass in my shoes. I will recommend this mower to anyone looking for a good, reasonably priced, easy to use mower. It is a very good buy and does a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Excellent Mower

05/19/2013
By ,
Hilliard, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After spending the past 13 years or so using Craftsman mowers exclusively, I was pleasantly surprised to find this mower at Walmart. Got it thru site to store, picked it up the same day. Setup took about 15 minutes, and then I was out mowing. This mower performs excellently! The noise level is quite muted, the easy start works like a charm. A little pull is all you need and this mower starts up every time, no priming, no choking needed.
The mower is propelled by the front wheels, and I absolutely love being able to adjust the speed of the mower by pulling hard to go faster or easing up a bit to walk slower. Excellent feature! The included rear bag is useful and leaves your lawn clean, with no need to blow leaves back onto the lawn, but you do have to buy paper bags to hold your grass clippings.
The rinse port is a really nice feature and does a good job rinsing the underside of the mowing deck. The water doesn't get to the plastic parts in the rear, but the deck is metal and that's where the rising counts the most.
Overall, I am very pleased with this mower. Beats all my old Craftsman mowers any day. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Great Mower for the price! Well designed.

09/01/2014
By ,
Kingsport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 16 year old MTD self propelled finally gave up. I was unsure how to replace it, but this is definitely a more refined product. This mower is extremely powerful and cuts through high grass with ease. The mulching option can be used in even thick grass. The speed is variable, depending on how far the trigger is pulled and is fast and smooth. This is a quiet mower. I used it for hours the first day, even mowed part of the neighbors yard. Great Mower!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Name this "The Senior Lawn Mower"

08/13/2013
By ,
Bartlesville, Oklahoma - Green Country
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would definitely recommend this to every Senior who wants to continue mowing their own grass. I am 82 years old and still mowing my own grass. My 1988 Murray high wheel rear bagger lawn mower served me well, but I was completely worn out after using it this past year. I bought this snapper because it was resembled my old Murray push mower which I used the bagger with a lot. I got this little jewel home and quickly set it up for mowing. On the first pull of the start rope it started .... I tried it on my back yard with the grass catcher and was done in a jiffy, no problems of any kind. It cut great, with hardly any effort on my part. When I finished cutting I easily took the grass bag off and emptied it, just right size for an old guy like me to handle. I hooked my hose up to the deck port, turned on the water and started the mower, in a couple of minutes the under side was clean as new. Then I hosed off the top side and dried it off with a towel, very easy clean up and looks like it did when it first came out of the box. This machine is really maneuverable, cuts very well and the variable speed is perfect. Not enough words to say what a neat and functional machine this little Snapper is, I LOVE it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Engine Failure After 5 Cuttings

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this mower after I retired my Honda mower after 15 years. I bought it at Walmart and took it home, assembled it, put oil and gas in it and started it. It ran great for the first four times I used it. I was cutting my grass yesterday and the engine failed. It was 45 days from the date of purchase so I could not return it and took it to a Snapper service center. They looked it over and said that the engine was out of oil. They could tell that it had been full but was now empty. Snapper will not warranty engine failure due to this. The engine was full of oil and was empty by the 5th cut. There was no leak so the oil must have burned off. The service tech also told me that this was the third mower he had seen with the same problem. Be warned with this mower. It is made by MTD, not Snapper. I left the mower at the service store and bought a new Honda. Lesson learned.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Excellent Mower

02/16/2014
By ,
Tallahassee, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this mower for 1/2 acre of land and it is everything that it says it is. I put oil in it that came with the mower and non ethanol gas and it started on the first pull. The variable speed is great for the self propelled. I pull it all the way back and it is just the right speed for me. My wife pulls it a little way back and it is perfect for her. I would advise anyone looking for an inexpensive self propelled mower with big wheels in back and a bagger to purchase this mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

This mower is the bomb

04/21/2013
By ,
michigan city indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title says it all. I bought one of these three years ago (it hasnt changed much) at Sears to mow at my mom's house. She has half an acre. This mower's speed is fast (i can barely keep up with it) and it cuts really well. I use the mulch feature much more than anything else and it makes the grass look great. I would strongly recommend buying this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Awesome mower

10/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first push mower purchase in 15 years. Had to wait 2 weeks for delivery and yard already needed to be mowed. Took about 10 minutes to assemble and add the oil. Started on first pull and has every time since. Mowed that extra tall grass with no issues and that was using the bagger. Very well pleased and would absolutely buy it again. Great mower for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Overall performance is good. Drive not so much.

06/04/2014
By ,
Middletown Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is a significant learning curve in using this mower. The first time I used it I was considering bring it back. However, after thinking about it, I modified my procedure and the results were markedly better.
Likes:
1, No priming.
2. Engine power.
3. Excellent performanceExcellent cutting performance
3. Excellent mulching capability.
4. Excellent self cleaning capability.
Dislikes:
1. Weight. Mower is hard to maneuver on hills.
2. Variable speed drive is questionable. I would like to see a maintenance manual to see how
the drive works. If the principal of operation involves drive belt slippage I am skeptical.
3. It is difficult to see the adjustment positions on the rear wheels. I ended up measuring the
deck height to make sure it was equal front to back.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Disappointing

08/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This mower worked great out of the box and I was very pleased. After 90 days though, it became very hard to start and 10 days after that, it won't start at all. Basic troubleshooting indicates good spark and its getting fuel. Engine appears to have failed. At least it is still under warranty. Hopefully that process will prove to be a good experience.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Super easy to start, nice workmanship

06/28/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this today from Walmart. I was a bit concerned about the wheels and front construction of the mower due to the nature of the area that I will be using the push mower on. So far so good. What I didn't expect was how easy it was to start . Ready to start, no prime or choke. I was impressed. The deck wash out is a plus too. I'm curious to see how it handles as I put it to more consistent use and will update as needed. As one reviewer stated, it doesn't tell you how much oil to put in there, so I suggest adding a little at a time initially. Super easy to handle and not heavy. Glad I purchased. I have an OLDER Snapper riding mower that I wouldn't trade for a fancier, newer model, so I'm hoping this Snapper Push mower can hold up to my high expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

nice mower

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Findings after one use: easy to assemble. easy to crank. mows great. variable speed control if you want to crawl or motivate! Have been using snapper products for years with good results.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Good Product, Bad Delivery

10/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not sure if it was Walmart or FedEx, but the box arrived in terrible condition--walls ripped open and oil everywhere. Two parts were missing and the 18oz pouch of oil (not a hard plastic container) that was about as sturdy as a Kid's juice drink container had punctured and leaked over the entire contents of the box, including the instructions and the warranty card. I had to download the instructions from Snapper's website and went to the hardware store to replace the parts as it was too much trouble to call and wait for $5 worth of parts. The mower works great, but I am not at all happy about the inconvenience and poor shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

Blue Smoke and Flexible Steel Frame

06/06/2014
By ,
Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well I've tried to lay out the basic facts of this mower experience, without mentioning competitors, using bad language, etc., and I guess Walmart doesn't like what I'm saying, because it keeps telling me there is "sensitive language in the review".
So I'm a try one more time… just the facts.
Steel frame - flexes when I lift the front end. Old mower used cast aluminum, lasted 22 years.
Plastic wheel mechanisms - they are taking that same load that the steel frame takes, and I'm afraid they're going to break. Old mower used cast aluminum, lasted 22 years.
Blue smoke. Occasional puffs with simultaneous misfire, and now huge clouds at startup. I did the initial fill and was careful not to overfill the oil. I had it right at the "full" mark. It is now halfway to the "add" mark after three mowings.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY
Blue smoke
Posted 08/08/2014
The blue smoke is from pressing the primer bulb three or more times. I've had this snapper for 20 + yrs that I purchased from Walmart. It has a steel body and plastic wheels that have held up with no problems. I live in the country and use the mower to cut my 1 acre lawn weekly. Want a new one but this one won't die. I might give this to my daughter just so I have a reason to purchase new.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

User friendly for a senior female.

05/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Starts with one easy pull and handles easily. Slips a little on the hill in my backyard. If you have a hill or slope, it would probably be better to get the rear-wheel drive model. It's perfect for my flat front yard. Fast speed gives you the perfect walking pace for getting your exercise in while cutting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Snapper 21" Gas Front Wheel Drive High Wheel Self Propelled Mower with Side Discharge, Mulching, Rear Bag

don't buy these things online, hard for warranties

09/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
they finally delivered my snapper lawnmower, we filled it with gas and oil then mowed about 10 feet then the self-propelled handle broke, called snapper, supplied a number of a dealer, the dealer has had it for a week says it would be about 10 more days, will not buy anything like this online thru walmart again
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 158 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next