Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Easily trim your yard with the well-balanced Murray 17", 25 cc 2-cycle curved shaft gas string trimmer. Its lightweight, curved shaft design and 17" cutting swath gets in hard-to-reach areas and enhances balance for better handling and increased comfort. Assisted pull start technology makes the engine easy to start and the dual-line, bump-feed trims tall grass quickly.
Average Customer Rating:
3.644 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
67
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation76%153 out of 202reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 130 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
67
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great Weed Eater

05/05/2014
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this weed eater and expected the best and it delivered. Let it break in and be patient and you have yourself a great yard tool. Just make sure you mix the gas and oil properly and follow instructions and there you go. My yard looks great and I have a great weed eater for an excellent price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Nice little unit...

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shipping was fast, and the unit was exactly as shown. Took all of 5 minutes to assemble and have ready for the tank to be filled. Primed, choked, and started on 3rd pull - can't ask for more.
This unit is meant for lighter duty work. My first test was on some fairly thick and heavy weeds/grass, and it wasn't hard to drag down the 25cc engine. With a little patience, though, you can get through even the thick stuff. Standard tall grass and light weeds were no problem at all.
Also, the wire harness seemed a little too exposed, but a zip tie and a little electric tape wrapped around it did the trick. Not an issue. And I did not have any problem with the string head as mentioned in other reviews here, I disassembled it as a test and it was very quick and easy to disassemble and reassemble.
In all, and for the price, this is a great little weed trimmer. Very light and handy, easy to start, and runs great. Would definitely recommend and buy again...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Product is awesome even despite malfunction

10/07/2013
By ,
Kingman, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I spent some time researching these machines. I knew what I needed and this was it. It was exactly what I expected out of the box. Other reviews are correct in that it is a short machine. If you're tall or do not plan on using a strap, this is not for you, go with the straight shaft. I used a universal strap on this, it's not that it's that heavy, it's that it's so heavy in the engine. I found handling without a strap to be somewhat awkward. With the strap it was perfect. In fact I would recommend picking up a universal strap if you get this machine. It mowed through 3 ft tall wet weeds for hours. Zero hesitation on start up. Easier than most to respool. Will take commercial twisted line. Easy to fill. Compact. Took less than 5 mins from open of box to assemble.
My first one had a defect. There was malfunction in the spool that attaches to the shaft. It melted through in minutes of it's last use. I ordered a new one, returned the old one and have been on the right track ever since.
Seriously impressive machine for the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great!

04/30/2013
By ,
kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 68 year old woman, an when my old weed eater finally quit for good, i thought oh my how will i find a weed eater as easy to start as my old one was, for as one reaches a certain age you cannot stand an pull and pull to get one started! I thought i do-not have alot of money so i purchased this one. well let me tell you it was a snap out of the box. two things to put togather which was nothing an they included the allen wrench! I followed the starting directions and boom started right up! I was elated! It is light weight, and performed beautifully. I cannot say enough good things about this product! I would have gladly paid twice what i did for it! Thanks Murray for a great product. I do read product revieves before i purchase and this one had a good one. I have not written a product recommendation before this, but i felt like other folks my age could relate to the issues with starting one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+382points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

STALLING THEN WONT START BACK UP!!!!

06/20/2013
By ,
huntsville, ar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FOUND OUT THE PROBLEM!!!........i quickly realized why it worked for about 3 minutes and died.............take the spark plug out and ( RE-GAP !!!!!).............(THE COMPANY MESSED THIS UP!!!).........It's not the brand or a defect!!..........just a simple fix..mine was gaped way to close to the electrode.....causing it to lose power and stall............if you don't it will not operate well if at all.......................i re-gaped the plug and the unit runs strong.......i used it on 1/2 acre of weeds and brush over an hour of constant hard use..............i hope this helps everyone out.......great price and a good unit but either re-gap the plug or replace the plug with a new one but either way you have to have the gap correct ..............otherwise it wont run.........IT WILL BE HARD TO RESTART and wont stay running with out you fixing the spark plug issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
memphis,tn
terrible buy
Posted 06/03/2014
i had to return the 1st one because i couldnt get the knob head off to replace the line. then i had to return the second 1 because i couldnt get the knob head off and it was leaking fluid. terrible buy.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Terrible product, warranty, and customer service

06/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this trimmer at the end of the summer 2014, used it once, emptied it and stored it for the winter. When I got it out in the summer of 2015, it would not start. I did all the trouble shooting, readjusting the spark plug worked temporarily, but then shut off after less than a minute. I contacted Murray via the contact page of their website twice, with no response, so I called. They said they could refer me to a repair place, but it would cost me $30 just to diagnose. If it is defect it would be reimbursed. I will never buy another Murray product again!
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

weed wacker

06/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we bought it online but have to say that it works great and would get another one if we had to......
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Excellent all around

07/06/2014
By ,
Hobart Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing a new electric Toro weed trimmer last summer (excellent buy), husband decided he wanted something lighter weight and with no extension cords to fight with(we've always owned an electric trimmer). With much searching and reviewing, we settled on this one and are definitely NOT disappointed. After assembling and filling with oil and gas, it started right up on the second pull. He loves it's light weight and how well it plows down weeds. Murray almost always has reliable and well made products and this one is no exception. Its light weight and easy to use. The one down side might be that it's a little shorter than what he's used to. He's 5"'9" and it is almost too short so if you're taller, this one might not be for you. Other than that, we have nothing bad to say at all!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

weed wacker/trimmer

04/06/2014
By ,
Antioch, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was exactly what we were looking for. Come w/ required mixed oil ratio, trimming blade, and instructions on how to properly care for product. For an additional $9.00 we got the extended 2 yr warrenty
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Trimmer falls apart and too short

05/17/2013
By ,
Riverton, Wy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Assembly was easy as others say. But 15 minutes into trimming for the first time, the head that contains the whipping wire just fell off. Yep, just fell off onto the ground. Double checked assembly instructions to make sure I didn't miss anything, but the instructions never mention anything to do with the cutting head. Mixed the gas and oil correctly (if that even matters to the readers). Head pin just slides into the trimmer shaft but there doesn't seem to be anything that keeps it in. Returning it tonight.
Also, after about 5 minutes of trimming I was already getting a back ache. I kept wanting the handle to be back closer to the motor for balance. I'm 6'2", getting old (46), but shouldn't be getting back aches this fast! Figured I'd keep it since my trimming work is very light (perhaps 20 minutes of work once every two weeks), that is until the trimming head fell off!
Good luck if you buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Works well

04/21/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got this because my other weedeater finially went. Did not feel like spending over 100 dollars so got this. It works as expected and trims as well as my other more expensive trimmer. Starting is a bit of a task but if you follow steps it fires up without a problem. Would reccommend getting ethonal removal addiative, ethonal killed my other trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fairmont WV
Hard to start.
Posted 04/26/2014
Just got this item started ok first time. but after that had to pull and pull til i got blisters. once you get it started it runs great. i would never get another one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Do not buy

06/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had for less than a month. MIsfires, dies, will not idle.
Currentyl in dumpster awaiting next trash pickup.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Very pleased

05/31/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, Pa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After 25 years I was forced to retire a pair of Homelite Bandit trimmers, I got way more than expected from them but the fuel hoses rotted off and everything else was worn beyond repair. I did not want to spend a lot of money even though I do quite a lot of trimming over 2 acres, 4 buildings, garden, shrubs, sidewalks, roadside, fruit trees, you get the picture. I picked this Murray M2500 based on reviews, and the PRICE. It arrived in about 5 days (free shipping), I settled in on the back porch to unpack and assemble. IT was VERY simple, and VERY easy. My initial impression was this unit is much heavier than my old Bandits which I bought for my kids to use, but the weight seems to speak to the quality of the motor and parts. It came in 2 pieces that just snap in place, and are tightened with the included allen wrench. All the features are well paced and easy to understand and operate. Today I filled up the fuel tank, hit the primer, set the choke as instructed, and it fired up like a champ. 2 hours later I am getting used to the weight, and 1/2 caught up on my trimming. I could balance some of the motor weight against my forearm with NO heat issues. I could NOT be more pleased with my purchase. The only "improvement" I would make on this trimmer is a 50% larger fuel tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Run from this

06/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought two of this under one year and they both broken. Call warranty and no repair and refund was made.
Will never buy a warranty or recommend a warranty purchase from walmart
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

OK Trimmer

05/27/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this last summer for trimming my 3/4 acre property. Never really ran right out of the box, have to keep it on half choke to get full power. Parts are what you'd expect from this price range - OK but not great. Cant hang it in my garage as it leaks fuel everywhere.
Eats gas pretty quick, although I'll give it credit, it has some power once its moving. Not instant though, it takes a while to spin up and get its power.
I had enough of fiddling with the choke and leaks this year; not worth paying 40 bucks for a tune up....went and bought a Stihl. Should have done that from the get go.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Don't waste your money.

06/09/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this about a month ago and used it for 3 weeks. It ran fine until this last week. Now it will start but it won't stay running at all. Next time I'll spend the extra to get a decent weedeater.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Only lasted two years

05/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Out of the box this trimmer was easy to set up. It fired right up and worked ok. I always used premixed premium fuel in the machine as I was hoping to make it last. I also never left gas sitting in the machine unattended.
Problems:
1) the spool always jammed and I was always spending ages trying to respool the line. (yes I used the proper diameter)
2) After the first season of use the carburetor was so gunked that the machine wouldn't start at all. When I finally did get it running, it would not idle. I removed the carb and cleaned it piece by piece.
3) Season 2 arrives and I was out weedeating when the bottom of the head began to smoke. The plastic that goes around where the bumphead attaches had completely melted off. It had become too hot and melted.
4) The springpin that holds the bottom half of the trimmer on to the top half had become loose and stopped holding it together. I was constantly having to push the two ends back together while trimming.
5) After season 1 the gas cap sprung a leak and I ended up having to order a new one.
The bottom line is that you get what you pay for. I see that other people have had positive experiences with theirs. I only wish mine had been the same. I'm sure you can replace the part that melted, but instead I'll just replace the whole machine.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

CHEAP MACHINE!!!!

06/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If WalMart wanted to change their weed eater brands this season, they should've chose a better brand than this HOT MESS. Had mine one month, worked great at first, now it want crank!!!!!!!They should've had kept the WEED EATER brand in stock!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
03/24/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Turns on easily and does not weigh much.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Good product

05/05/2014
By ,
secane
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this for home use and does its job easy to start not to heavy good for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next