Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Easily trim your yard with the well-balanced Murray 17", 25 cc 2-cycle curved shaft gas string trimmer. Its lightweight, curved shaft design and 17" cutting swath gets in hard-to-reach areas and enhances balance for better handling and increased comfort. Assisted pull start technology makes the engine easy to start and the dual-line, bump-feed trims tall grass quickly.
Average Customer Rating:
3.793 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(174 Reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
60
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation80%140 out of 174reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 120 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
60
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great Weed Eater

05/05/2014
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this weed eater and expected the best and it delivered. Let it break in and be patient and you have yourself a great yard tool. Just make sure you mix the gas and oil properly and follow instructions and there you go. My yard looks great and I have a great weed eater for an excellent price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Nice little unit...

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shipping was fast, and the unit was exactly as shown. Took all of 5 minutes to assemble and have ready for the tank to be filled. Primed, choked, and started on 3rd pull - can't ask for more.
This unit is meant for lighter duty work. My first test was on some fairly thick and heavy weeds/grass, and it wasn't hard to drag down the 25cc engine. With a little patience, though, you can get through even the thick stuff. Standard tall grass and light weeds were no problem at all.
Also, the wire harness seemed a little too exposed, but a zip tie and a little electric tape wrapped around it did the trick. Not an issue. And I did not have any problem with the string head as mentioned in other reviews here, I disassembled it as a test and it was very quick and easy to disassemble and reassemble.
In all, and for the price, this is a great little weed trimmer. Very light and handy, easy to start, and runs great. Would definitely recommend and buy again...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Product is awesome even despite malfunction

10/07/2013
By ,
Kingman, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I spent some time researching these machines. I knew what I needed and this was it. It was exactly what I expected out of the box. Other reviews are correct in that it is a short machine. If you're tall or do not plan on using a strap, this is not for you, go with the straight shaft. I used a universal strap on this, it's not that it's that heavy, it's that it's so heavy in the engine. I found handling without a strap to be somewhat awkward. With the strap it was perfect. In fact I would recommend picking up a universal strap if you get this machine. It mowed through 3 ft tall wet weeds for hours. Zero hesitation on start up. Easier than most to respool. Will take commercial twisted line. Easy to fill. Compact. Took less than 5 mins from open of box to assemble.
My first one had a defect. There was malfunction in the spool that attaches to the shaft. It melted through in minutes of it's last use. I ordered a new one, returned the old one and have been on the right track ever since.
Seriously impressive machine for the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Excellent all around

07/06/2014
By ,
Hobart Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After purchasing a new electric Toro weed trimmer last summer (excellent buy), husband decided he wanted something lighter weight and with no extension cords to fight with(we've always owned an electric trimmer). With much searching and reviewing, we settled on this one and are definitely NOT disappointed. After assembling and filling with oil and gas, it started right up on the second pull. He loves it's light weight and how well it plows down weeds. Murray almost always has reliable and well made products and this one is no exception. Its light weight and easy to use. The one down side might be that it's a little shorter than what he's used to. He's 5"'9" and it is almost too short so if you're taller, this one might not be for you. Other than that, we have nothing bad to say at all!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great!

04/30/2013
By ,
kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 68 year old woman, an when my old weed eater finally quit for good, i thought oh my how will i find a weed eater as easy to start as my old one was, for as one reaches a certain age you cannot stand an pull and pull to get one started! I thought i do-not have alot of money so i purchased this one. well let me tell you it was a snap out of the box. two things to put togather which was nothing an they included the allen wrench! I followed the starting directions and boom started right up! I was elated! It is light weight, and performed beautifully. I cannot say enough good things about this product! I would have gladly paid twice what i did for it! Thanks Murray for a great product. I do read product revieves before i purchase and this one had a good one. I have not written a product recommendation before this, but i felt like other folks my age could relate to the issues with starting one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+255points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Not Recommended

07/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used trimmer one time. Trimmer would not stay running and had weak power. Contacted Customer Service at Murry and was told to take trimmer to a "service dealer" for inspection and/or repair.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Works perfect for my needs

07/22/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never heard of the Murray brand before so I did a lot of research looking into different products and read A LOT of reviews. I read both good and bad. My personal experience is that I have a yard that is mostly thick weeds (I live in the woods) and need to weed wack them down to keep the mosquitoes away. This week wacker worked great! Don't shove it into the long grass or it'll get tangled and if you just use the end of the string and take your time, it'll even knock down thicker items. I've used it many times since I've bought it and haven't had any issues. HOWEVER - there is a black cover on the . . . engine part I would say . . . that kept falling off. Easy enough to snap back on but it would fall off again. Doesn't affect the operation of the machine, just annoying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

STALLING THEN WONT START BACK UP!!!!

06/20/2013
By ,
huntsville, ar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FOUND OUT THE PROBLEM!!!........i quickly realized why it worked for about 3 minutes and died.............take the spark plug out and ( RE-GAP !!!!!).............(THE COMPANY MESSED THIS UP!!!).........It's not the brand or a defect!!..........just a simple fix..mine was gaped way to close to the electrode.....causing it to lose power and stall............if you don't it will not operate well if at all.......................i re-gaped the plug and the unit runs strong.......i used it on 1/2 acre of weeds and brush over an hour of constant hard use..............i hope this helps everyone out.......great price and a good unit but either re-gap the plug or replace the plug with a new one but either way you have to have the gap correct ..............otherwise it wont run.........IT WILL BE HARD TO RESTART and wont stay running with out you fixing the spark plug issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
memphis,tn
terrible buy
Posted 06/03/2014
i had to return the 1st one because i couldnt get the knob head off to replace the line. then i had to return the second 1 because i couldnt get the knob head off and it was leaking fluid. terrible buy.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Trimmer Met My Expectations

08/08/2014
By ,
Flint, Mi.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased with this string trimmer. Its very easy to use and most of its very light. Perfect for someone short as I am. Started right per the directions and so far so good. No complaints. I'm not too picky anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

weed wacker/trimmer

04/06/2014
By ,
Antioch, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was exactly what we were looking for. Come w/ required mixed oil ratio, trimming blade, and instructions on how to properly care for product. For an additional $9.00 we got the extended 2 yr warrenty
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Good product

05/05/2014
By ,
secane
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this for home use and does its job easy to start not to heavy good for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

This thing is a beast

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a cheap weed wacker with attachment capabilities and I stumbled on this guy at Walmart. I bought it around May of 2013 and it's been holding up amazingly well for the past year. I use it for everything. I have an edger attachment and a blower attachment so I run this thing every two weeks for about an hour or two straight and it hasn't faltered. By following the startup instructions (10 primer pumps, flip the choke, pull the chord) it starts up perfectly everytime after 5 tugs at most. I'm extremely impressed with the value and quality of this trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Won't start

07/23/2014
By ,
Wabash in
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't get it to start!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

not happy with string.

08/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the weed cutting string keeps getting stuck and I have to keep fixing it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Easy to handle.

09/20/2014
By ,
Northwestern PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is lightweight enough to handle easily, although I do use a strap from a previous trimmer since I trim for at least half an hour or more. There is no place to attach a strap so you just have to rig it up the best you can. It trims as well as can be expected for a lightweight trimmer. Overall, I am happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Save your money!

06/15/2014
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have yet to buy a string trimmer that was worth more then the box it came in and this one is no exception. The line doesn't feed properly, have to shut it off and manually "pull" the line out. I know the fuel mix is correct but seems like every time I use it, I fight to get it started and then have to run it full bore to keep it running. What a piece of junk. The only way it will run half way decent is to run it in the half choke position.
Frustrated with this thing and several times I've thought about giving it a fling across the yard!
Spend a little more and get something WORTH buying!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Joplin, MO.
Plug
Posted 06/23/2014
Did you gap your plug? Sometimes this is overlooked at the factory. I always check mine when I purchase a new item.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

murray gas powered weedeater

04/23/2014
By ,
mooresville in
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good tool at very reasonable price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Wish I had found this earlier

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have gone through 3 Poulon Weedeaters in the last 10 or so years. They worked well at first but always seemed to have issues. I could keep them running, but I had to jump through hoops to do it. My current one had a serious gas leak that would cost alot to fix so I decided to get a new one. Was seriously considering a Homelite because they seemed sturdy and professional and I was tired of the effort required to maintain my Poulons. I borrowed a friends Homelite to use and thank God I did beause it was too much machine for this 50ish female. I simply could not control it. Started looking for another basic weed trimmer because thats all I need for my purposes and decided to try this Murray after reading customer reviews on here. Thank you to all those who left reviews. It's the reason I am taking the time now to do this. It starts easily and reliably, uses up less trimmer line than I am used to, and most important for me it is easy to handle. It handled my 1-2 ft weeds easily and was powerful enough to eliminate grassy moss patches on my packed gravel driveway(could not attempt if gravel was loose). Time will tell how long it lasts, but so far it's just awesome! Perfect example of more expensive things not necessarily being better.The Homelite I borrowed cost twice as much and did not perform as well as this reasonably priced Murray. Never heard of the brand, but will definitely keep buying if it continues to perform as it is now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Trimmer falls apart and too short

05/17/2013
By ,
Riverton, Wy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Assembly was easy as others say. But 15 minutes into trimming for the first time, the head that contains the whipping wire just fell off. Yep, just fell off onto the ground. Double checked assembly instructions to make sure I didn't miss anything, but the instructions never mention anything to do with the cutting head. Mixed the gas and oil correctly (if that even matters to the readers). Head pin just slides into the trimmer shaft but there doesn't seem to be anything that keeps it in. Returning it tonight.
Also, after about 5 minutes of trimming I was already getting a back ache. I kept wanting the handle to be back closer to the motor for balance. I'm 6'2", getting old (46), but shouldn't be getting back aches this fast! Figured I'd keep it since my trimming work is very light (perhaps 20 minutes of work once every two weeks), that is until the trimming head fell off!
Good luck if you buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Murray curved trimmer

04/29/2014
By ,
Tomball, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for the money. I do not do alot of weed trimming, but this fits my needs just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 151 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next