Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Easily trim your yard with the well-balanced Murray 17", 25 cc 2-cycle curved shaft gas string trimmer. Its lightweight, curved shaft design and 17" cutting swath gets in hard-to-reach areas and enhances balance for better handling and increased comfort. Assisted pull start technology makes the engine easy to start and the dual-line, bump-feed trims tall grass quickly.
Average Customer Rating:
3.716 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation81%71 out of 88reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Product is awesome even despite malfunction

10/07/2013
By ,
Kingman, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I spent some time researching these machines. I knew what I needed and this was it. It was exactly what I expected out of the box. Other reviews are correct in that it is a short machine. If you're tall or do not plan on using a strap, this is not for you, go with the straight shaft. I used a universal strap on this, it's not that it's that heavy, it's that it's so heavy in the engine. I found handling without a strap to be somewhat awkward. With the strap it was perfect. In fact I would recommend picking up a universal strap if you get this machine. It mowed through 3 ft tall wet weeds for hours. Zero hesitation on start up. Easier than most to respool. Will take commercial twisted line. Easy to fill. Compact. Took less than 5 mins from open of box to assemble.
My first one had a defect. There was malfunction in the spool that attaches to the shaft. It melted through in minutes of it's last use. I ordered a new one, returned the old one and have been on the right track ever since.
Seriously impressive machine for the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

weed wacker/trimmer

04/06/2014
By ,
Antioch, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was exactly what we were looking for. Come w/ required mixed oil ratio, trimming blade, and instructions on how to properly care for product. For an additional $9.00 we got the extended 2 yr warrenty
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great!

04/30/2013
By ,
kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 68 year old woman, an when my old weed eater finally quit for good, i thought oh my how will i find a weed eater as easy to start as my old one was, for as one reaches a certain age you cannot stand an pull and pull to get one started! I thought i do-not have alot of money so i purchased this one. well let me tell you it was a snap out of the box. two things to put togather which was nothing an they included the allen wrench! I followed the starting directions and boom started right up! I was elated! It is light weight, and performed beautifully. I cannot say enough good things about this product! I would have gladly paid twice what i did for it! Thanks Murray for a great product. I do read product revieves before i purchase and this one had a good one. I have not written a product recommendation before this, but i felt like other folks my age could relate to the issues with starting one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+163points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

STALLING THEN WONT START BACK UP!!!!

06/20/2013
By ,
huntsville, ar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FOUND OUT THE PROBLEM!!!........i quickly realized why it worked for about 3 minutes and died.............take the spark plug out and ( RE-GAP !!!!!).............(THE COMPANY MESSED THIS UP!!!).........It's not the brand or a defect!!..........just a simple fix..mine was gaped way to close to the electrode.....causing it to lose power and stall............if you don't it will not operate well if at all.......................i re-gaped the plug and the unit runs strong.......i used it on 1/2 acre of weeds and brush over an hour of constant hard use..............i hope this helps everyone out.......great price and a good unit but either re-gap the plug or replace the plug with a new one but either way you have to have the gap correct ..............otherwise it wont run.........IT WILL BE HARD TO RESTART and wont stay running with out you fixing the spark plug issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Loud and short

04/11/2014
By ,
Spanish Fort, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Man this thing is loud you'd think it had glass packs. I'm 5'10" and this would work great if I were 6" shorter. My back definitely pays the price. Gets the job done so can't complain about the power and function.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Trimmer falls apart and too short

05/17/2013
By ,
Riverton, Wy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Assembly was easy as others say. But 15 minutes into trimming for the first time, the head that contains the whipping wire just fell off. Yep, just fell off onto the ground. Double checked assembly instructions to make sure I didn't miss anything, but the instructions never mention anything to do with the cutting head. Mixed the gas and oil correctly (if that even matters to the readers). Head pin just slides into the trimmer shaft but there doesn't seem to be anything that keeps it in. Returning it tonight.
Also, after about 5 minutes of trimming I was already getting a back ache. I kept wanting the handle to be back closer to the motor for balance. I'm 6'2", getting old (46), but shouldn't be getting back aches this fast! Figured I'd keep it since my trimming work is very light (perhaps 20 minutes of work once every two weeks), that is until the trimming head fell off!
Good luck if you buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Works well

04/21/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got this because my other weedeater finially went. Did not feel like spending over 100 dollars so got this. It works as expected and trims as well as my other more expensive trimmer. Starting is a bit of a task but if you follow steps it fires up without a problem. Would reccommend getting ethonal removal addiative, ethonal killed my other trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
03/24/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Turns on easily and does not weigh much.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Excellent machine!!!

05/12/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 8 years of use my weed-eater finally died. I was very happy when i received this trimmer mainly because it was easy to assemble (only took 5 minutes). I mixed the correct oil with the correct gas and it started up on the 5th pull. Once it is warmed up it will start the 1st pull. It cut great and it is very durable. It has very durable plastics and metals. I don't have a single flaw to mention. Please remember this is a TWO cycle engine so you have to mix gas and oil.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

great procduct

02/25/2013
By ,
BLACKSBURG,SC 29702
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got this for my husband didn;r know if he would like it or not. but as soon as he got it he had to see if it was ok. he said that it cut good and was so light. and easy to handle. other that he had was to big. and hurt his back when he used it. but he like this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Piece of junk

06/12/2013
By ,
Birmingham, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price seemed good, and I thought Murray was a decent brand. Maybe I just got a bad one, but I was horribly disappointed with this. Within moments of starting it the first time, I noticed the air filter on the ground at my feet. I thought, maybe, something had bumped loose while in the box, so I wasn't overly concerned at this point.
Then, about 5 minutes after running it, the line stopped feeding. I opened it up, and the the two lines had actually melded together. I was getting frustrated, but still thought maybe just a fluke with the stock line. I fixed that, and after about 5 minutes, it became gummed up again. I used a fresh line, and it seemed to work better...
... Except that the air filter cover keeps popping open. Within about 30 seconds of starting it up, the vibrations shook the cover loose, and the filter fell down at my feet again. It's new, so I thought maybe I just had to get the feel for it, but 2 more times, after ensuring the tab clicked snugly, after running for about 30 seconds, it would fly open again, and the filter would fall out.
The only thing I know to do at this point is to drain the gas and package it back up for a return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Very pleased

05/31/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, Pa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After 25 years I was forced to retire a pair of Homelite Bandit trimmers, I got way more than expected from them but the fuel hoses rotted off and everything else was worn beyond repair. I did not want to spend a lot of money even though I do quite a lot of trimming over 2 acres, 4 buildings, garden, shrubs, sidewalks, roadside, fruit trees, you get the picture. I picked this Murray M2500 based on reviews, and the PRICE. It arrived in about 5 days (free shipping), I settled in on the back porch to unpack and assemble. IT was VERY simple, and VERY easy. My initial impression was this unit is much heavier than my old Bandits which I bought for my kids to use, but the weight seems to speak to the quality of the motor and parts. It came in 2 pieces that just snap in place, and are tightened with the included allen wrench. All the features are well paced and easy to understand and operate. Today I filled up the fuel tank, hit the primer, set the choke as instructed, and it fired up like a champ. 2 hours later I am getting used to the weight, and 1/2 caught up on my trimming. I could balance some of the motor weight against my forearm with NO heat issues. I could NOT be more pleased with my purchase. The only "improvement" I would make on this trimmer is a 50% larger fuel tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Air Filter Cover will not stay closed

04/27/2013
By ,
Portsmouth, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was really happy with this at first. Fairly light and cut good. However, due to the vibration the cover to the air filter will not stay closed. First time I used it, was about half way around my fence with it died. looked down and the air filter and cover were on the ground. Though maybe I did not close it correctly. I let it cool and tried again. Did not make if 3' and the cover was open again.
I will be returning it and looking for a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Works like a charm

03/26/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No complains. works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

made for short people

05/03/2013
By ,
Springfield MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product works fine in the sense that it cuts, but the length of the shaft is too short.
Would be nice that if I didn't have to stoop over so much.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great product at a low price

05/08/2013
By ,
colmesneil
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not 100 % sure that this product would work for what we were needing it for, but it surpassed my expectations and we are 1000 % satisfied...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Fast Start, works great

05/11/2013
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together. Started fast. Simple and easy to use. You can even buy attachments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Works great

03/08/2014
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Piece of junk

06/16/2013
By ,
Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked good for about a month, then the trimmer head screw started spinning freely so it will not come off. Can't replace the line now so it is worthless! I will NEVER buy another Murray product!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Piece of junk

03/05/2014
By ,
Kissimmee fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a piece of junk. It started smoking and burned out on the first day. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next