Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

The Murray 17", 25 cc, 2-cycle straight shaft gas trimmer provides you with extended reach to trim under bushes, decks and around obstacles to complete light trimming chores. Featuring a powerful, 2-cycle engine with assisted pull start technology, the straight shaft gas trimmer is simple to start and convenient to use with its dual-line bump-feed trimmer head.
Average Customer Rating:
3.43 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation65%65 out of 100reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 66 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

great value for the dollar

06/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the only improvement I would make, the shaft needs to be about 6 inches longer. great weed eater for the money, great value. my second purchase of the same product.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

heavy shaft, short-price to value excellent

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As some reviewers stated it has a short handle and is heavy.Thank the lawyers. The guard is most of the weight thanks to people complaining and suing over injuries.I think it may be bullet proof. IF you follow directions it is wonderful. line clogging all the time?Go from the left to the right throwing the grass and dirt away from you and keeping the string feed clean.Starting is full choke,full throttle,pull till it sounds like its trying to start,then full throttle half choke,start and warm up. All 2 strokes need full throttle to start. Some do it for you this does not. I can not,absolutely can not buy an electric string trimmer,a proper 12 gauge cord,a cord reel, for the price of this trimmer. I am very happy with this purchase and have had zero problems.I like the fact it is not carb compliant. California air resources board ruins all good motors and carbs.
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

GOOD DEAL

06/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
so far so good cranks fairly easy second or third try so far I haven't used it but a few times but I did have a Murray weedeater before it was good lasted a while. It was curved shaft so them are not the best for prolong usage . This would not be to good for a tall person as I'm 5'8' and it's just long enough for me
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

I love it

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's working well
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

works great, but...

06/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is a bit short, im 5'11" and have to hunch over the whole time while using this, not good for my back.... great machine though no problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Grass wraps around head

06/07/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Worst I have seen for wrapping grass around the head. I never got it all out. Seems to be to much space between head and shaft. Also seemed hard to start and not as much power as my Weedeater brand 25cc. All boxed up and ready to return to Wal-Mart.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

NICE

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fired right up first pull runs great great purchase
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Use the PRE-MIX gas oil off the shelf!

04/10/2013
By ,
Columbia, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having many problems with power equipment that wont start or wont run properly when it does. I find myself again looking for another trimmer this spring,my previous weedeaters,some I have used and mixed my own gas and oil for 15 yrs and I never had a problem.now I have purchased 3 in the last 3 years! same problems run good when new 2 months old,they become hard to start or wont start,if they do start they wont run long enough to get any thing done. this has happened with 2 stroke blowers also. Everyone says its the ETHANOL FUEL causing all the problems.and waranty folks will tell you its YOUR FAULT whatever happened to your unit,I been mixing gas/oil over 40 years with a ratio rite, never had problems like this until recent years. I read reviews at all the big online retailers, and If you go straight to the worst reviews instead of the highest you will find the same complaints and problems on all manufactures products! except the ultra high price models! so I chose to roll the dice on this one it had the straight shaft I wanted, it could be a little longer,Im 6 feet tall but it is no big problem. the price sealed the deal AT $80 it was $20 cheaper than the comparable Weed Eater at tractor supply, which I already have 3 of that wont run. I m going to use the premix fuel for the rest of season in this one. to see if it really makes a difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
McPherson, KS
Pre-Mix gas isn't necessary
Posted 08/30/2013
You see, the quality of gas isn't what it used to be. I suggest you put STABIL in your gas, and it will last a lot longer, and your machinery will work better.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Trimmer

05/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer was still under 30 day warranty when I was using it too trim some grass and it quit running and never started back.I took it back to Wal-Mart and they refunded my money and bought a Snapper weed eater and it has preformed wonderfully.I may have got a bad one,but I'll just stick with Murray lawnmowers for now,which preform very well and the Snapper weed eater.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Good deal

06/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a half acre lot an it does great for what I needed
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great product

05/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Starts easily if you follow the simple instructions and runs quite well. Good value and I'd happily refer it to a friend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Should have done some research

05/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this for about a month. I've used it twice, and now it won't run properly. I have used the oil gas mix using premium gas and it won't run. I'm going to return it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Murray weedeater

05/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to start and use. What I don't like is that it burns more gas than the Weedeater that I had. And the weedeater seems to have more power.
But it's a good weedeater and a good buy for the money!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Awsome trimmer

06/26/2014
By ,
pittsburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves this trimmer. He is very tall and was impressed that he didnt have to hunch over while using. He is also thrilled that he can get the universal attachments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Works awsome

05/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading reviews from all stores...Theres pretty much the same with all trimmers. However what makes this trimmer is the price and a straight shaft. If you have shoped around like I did, Straight shaft trimmers are more expensive by about 10.00 to 20.00 more. Not this one. The price is cheaper than most in comparison of all 2 cycle 25cc. My grass edge was about knee high and 2 feet deep to the fence. assembly and prep was very easy, start up was great, and this Murray powered through the high grass without skipping a beat. And walmart sells attachments that do fit, but for the most part, it worked great, job well done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Impressed!

03/07/2013
By ,
Nor Cal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm on a tight budget so I had to stay under $100 (I know, I know). So far I'm impressed with the Murray. I was surprised with the power and the cutting ability. I had a $69 Homelite UT32605 from HD that I abused for years. The bushing above the head finally gave out. It's not replaceable because it's crimped on. I would have had to buy a new, complete shaft for $50+ shipping. The current reviews on the Homelite that I had were not good, so I stayed away. There were no reviews on this Murray but I thought I would give it a shot.
I decided to go for a straight shaft (despite some reservations) because you can replace/repair the bearing at the end of the shaft if it goes out and I have read they seem to be a bit more durable. I use trimmers for household use and at my rental to clear 1-2' weeds and along fences. I liked the extra reach of a straight shaft and it gets debris a bit further away from you. I thought it was a little easier to handle than a curved shaft for weed clearing. I'm glad I went with the straight shaft.
The bump feed (at least with the factory loaded line) worked VERY well. In fact, I had to be a bit careful because if I touched the spool at all it would feed line .... be sure to not inadvertently touch the head to the ground like I do while you're trimming.
I gave it 4 stars only because I haven't had it long enough to know if it's durable or what problems it might have later. So far, it's been great.
PROS: lots of power, good balance, nice reach, very good bump head for line.
CONS: I liked the large shield and it worked well, but it does not rotate so it's a bit difficult to see the head if you're edging. I may put on a shield that goes on the shaft so I can rotate it for different uses. It seemed to bog down sometimes when on it's side for edging.
I WOULD recommend this to a friend or someone else.
I think like all these two stroke engines, they're a little hard to start. I'm in Nor Cal so it's not very cold here. I have a little different starting technique than what they explain in the manual. I do press the primer several times and the throttle. Then I hold the trimmer by my left hand, put the choke in position 1, place one of my left fingers under the throttle and hold it half way down and pull the cord. As soon as I hear it wanting to start I put the choke on 2, keep the throttle half way down and pull the cord. I noticed on this one that it needed to warm up for a several minutes on position 2 choke and I started trimming with it in that position. Then I went to no choke. After you shut it off for a bit you may have to repeat the steps, but it starts easier. With this one and the others I've owned it seem holding the throttle in half position makes it a bit easier to start.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Works----but.

06/08/2014
By ,
MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Everything you've read about the shaft being too short is true---by about 8 inches. Assembly and start up was quick, simple and easy. Louder than expected, my neighbor said it sounds like a chainsaw. On the initial run and use, about 1/2 hour, it seemed to get overly hot and bog down. When I let off the throttle it stalled and would not restart. Once cooled, however, it started easily and has since, hot or cold. The elbow between the straight shaft and the cutting head quickly becomes very hot---poor lubrication? Now each time the trimmer is started the cutting head drags and is very slow to reach cutting speed---problem with the elbow? Carburetor mixture is too lean and the unit will only run well at about 1/2 choke. I've not figured out how to adjust the low and hi-speed screws. The trimmer does tangle easily in very tall, fine grass and is time consuming to clear. I've solved that by taking off the top 1/3 to 1/2 of such grass first and then coming back for the rest. My Homelite lasted 22 years. I'll be surprised if this one makes 2 years. But, it was under $70, even with the 2 year policy, which I expect to be using. Be prepared.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great product with an excellent value price.

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not to sound cliche, but I read all the reviews about this product and felt comfortable enough to purchase it.I wanted a straight shaft for my husband that had a reasonable price. He has health issues so this type of trimmer was much better for him than a curved one. Meaning he doesn't have to bend and reach as much. It is working out great for him in that aspect. One thing I think I should address is what kind of made me hesitant a little, some of the reviews stated there was a problem starting the trimmer. I asked my husband about this showed him the reviews and he said that is not a problem. He said if most men have used a 2cycle gas ignition system this trimmer would work just fine. Starts on the 2nd pull,cuts with power,and is easy on his back. Line feeds with ease. I would recommend this product. Have a great day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

POOR DESIGN

04/27/2013
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this trimmer at my local Wal Mart and it was a big mistake on my part. It is a very poor design. While it does have plenty of power and uses a thick cutting line it is extremely difficult to use. It is much heavier than any other trimmer I've owned and it is not properly balanced so it is a constant challenge to keep it at the proper angle for trimming without tearing up the ground. I've tried adjusting the handle but that does not work for me so I am in as constant "stoop" using it. It is impossible for me to do any close detail trimming without hitting the ground or what I'm trimming around. It appears to me the shaft it to short. You would think the company that makes these would put a little more thought and R&D into its product before it goes on the market. The only reason I gave it 1 star is because I could not go any lower. I am totally disgusted with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Don't buy

07/04/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quit three months after I purchased it. Still under warranty. Took it to an anthorized service center. Trouble was a defect in the carburetor. Cost $30 to repair. Warranty would not cover the defect because the manufacturer blames the problem on the ethanol in our fuel. It eats up the rubber fuel lines used on the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next