Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

The Murray 17", 25 cc, 2-cycle straight shaft gas trimmer provides you with extended reach to trim under bushes, decks and around obstacles to complete light trimming chores. Featuring a powerful, 2-cycle engine with assisted pull start technology, the straight shaft gas trimmer is simple to start and convenient to use with its dual-line bump-feed trimmer head.
Average Customer Rating:
3.393 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
15
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation64%54 out of 84reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 64 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
15
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

heavy shaft, short-price to value excellent

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As some reviewers stated it has a short handle and is heavy.Thank the lawyers. The guard is most of the weight thanks to people complaining and suing over injuries.I think it may be bullet proof. IF you follow directions it is wonderful. line clogging all the time?Go from the left to the right throwing the grass and dirt away from you and keeping the string feed clean.Starting is full choke,full throttle,pull till it sounds like its trying to start,then full throttle half choke,start and warm up. All 2 strokes need full throttle to start. Some do it for you this does not. I can not,absolutely can not buy an electric string trimmer,a proper 12 gauge cord,a cord reel, for the price of this trimmer. I am very happy with this purchase and have had zero problems.I like the fact it is not carb compliant. California air resources board ruins all good motors and carbs.
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great Trimmer

06/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this trimmer about 2 weeks ago (My other one got stolen off my patio) and man this thing can put out some power, I cut the edges of my back yard that had grass about 3ft tall (to my knee) and this thing just blasted through it.
I did buy some Professional Trimmer String, which is very thick, and allows this trimmer to cut very thick brush.
I don't understand why there are so many 1 star reviews, I'm assuming they don’t know how to work a gas trimmer (They got Electric Now-a-days if you can't handle gas#.
When you first start it #Brand New#, OF COURSE it's going to run a little odd #It's never been started before#. All I did was after I put everything together I started it and let it sit in the yard running for about 10 minutes #To start breaking it in#, after that it runs like a CHAMP, and you don’t need to let it sit every time just that one time when you first start it out of the box.
I took it to my dad’s last week and showed him and this thing ripped through weeds his Troy Built was struggling on. I went over there the other night and guess who went to Wal-Mart and got them one #My dad did# and is loving it.
Great, Great Trimmer, Ignore the 1 star reviews; they either don't know how to use a 2 cycle trimmer or promoting some other brand.
Mine usually starts in 3-5 pulls, First you prime it #4-8 pumps#, then you put in #1 #Full Choke#, While in full choke pull it 2-3 Times until it tries to start up, then put it in #2 and pull again, mine usually starts after about 2 pulls on #2.
Also the trimmer that got stolen was the Curved Shaft Version of this Trimmer, I had it for 2 years #Before it got stolen) and it still ran like it did the first day I bought it, so this trimmer will stand the test of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great product with an excellent value price.

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not to sound cliche, but I read all the reviews about this product and felt comfortable enough to purchase it.I wanted a straight shaft for my husband that had a reasonable price. He has health issues so this type of trimmer was much better for him than a curved one. Meaning he doesn't have to bend and reach as much. It is working out great for him in that aspect. One thing I think I should address is what kind of made me hesitant a little, some of the reviews stated there was a problem starting the trimmer. I asked my husband about this showed him the reviews and he said that is not a problem. He said if most men have used a 2cycle gas ignition system this trimmer would work just fine. Starts on the 2nd pull,cuts with power,and is easy on his back. Line feeds with ease. I would recommend this product. Have a great day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Works----but.

06/08/2014
By ,
MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Everything you've read about the shaft being too short is true---by about 8 inches. Assembly and start up was quick, simple and easy. Louder than expected, my neighbor said it sounds like a chainsaw. On the initial run and use, about 1/2 hour, it seemed to get overly hot and bog down. When I let off the throttle it stalled and would not restart. Once cooled, however, it started easily and has since, hot or cold. The elbow between the straight shaft and the cutting head quickly becomes very hot---poor lubrication? Now each time the trimmer is started the cutting head drags and is very slow to reach cutting speed---problem with the elbow? Carburetor mixture is too lean and the unit will only run well at about 1/2 choke. I've not figured out how to adjust the low and hi-speed screws. The trimmer does tangle easily in very tall, fine grass and is time consuming to clear. I've solved that by taking off the top 1/3 to 1/2 of such grass first and then coming back for the rest. My Homelite lasted 22 years. I'll be surprised if this one makes 2 years. But, it was under $70, even with the 2 year policy, which I expect to be using. Be prepared.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Price ok, product only so so.

08/23/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this because we read that straight shafts were easier on the back but shaft really lacks about 6-8 inches in length, hence still needing to lean over slightly and i am 5ft 9 in. tall. In addition, it idles perfectly, but throttle is way to touchy. when in proper operating mode (no choke) you would think that if you squeeze the throttle fully that it would accelerate to full speed however, this is not the case! It actually bogs the engine and slows down! I can only squeeze the throttle 35-40% to get full speed properly and the slightest movement of your finger in either direction bogs or slows it down which makes it extremely hard to keep at full speed!!! Another issue when operating is, if you get into even the slightest bit of high grass or weeds (even stuff roughly 5-6 in. high) the thing slows down and you have to back away from it to get it to speed up again. That's just ridiculous! Save your money and buy a higher quality trimmer!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Works awsome

05/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading reviews from all stores...Theres pretty much the same with all trimmers. However what makes this trimmer is the price and a straight shaft. If you have shoped around like I did, Straight shaft trimmers are more expensive by about 10.00 to 20.00 more. Not this one. The price is cheaper than most in comparison of all 2 cycle 25cc. My grass edge was about knee high and 2 feet deep to the fence. assembly and prep was very easy, start up was great, and this Murray powered through the high grass without skipping a beat. And walmart sells attachments that do fit, but for the most part, it worked great, job well done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Awsome trimmer

06/26/2014
By ,
pittsburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves this trimmer. He is very tall and was impressed that he didnt have to hunch over while using. He is also thrilled that he can get the universal attachments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Starts Right Up

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Went through many Troy Bilt models, became discouraged by how little was out there, even the Stihl that fit my budget was poorly rated. This one was 4-5 stars and everyone seemed to like it. I gave it a try, and for the last few times I have used it, it starts up like the much more expensive models.
I would definitely suggest using either the pre-mix 40:1 fuel that has no ethanol or use the synthetic oil with high octane to make sure that this machine keeps going strong. This was advice given to me by my neighbor who is a professional landscaper, seems to work for him seeing as how his machines seem to run with little problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Use the PRE-MIX gas oil off the shelf!

04/10/2013
By ,
Columbia, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having many problems with power equipment that wont start or wont run properly when it does. I find myself again looking for another trimmer this spring,my previous weedeaters,some I have used and mixed my own gas and oil for 15 yrs and I never had a problem.now I have purchased 3 in the last 3 years! same problems run good when new 2 months old,they become hard to start or wont start,if they do start they wont run long enough to get any thing done. this has happened with 2 stroke blowers also. Everyone says its the ETHANOL FUEL causing all the problems.and waranty folks will tell you its YOUR FAULT whatever happened to your unit,I been mixing gas/oil over 40 years with a ratio rite, never had problems like this until recent years. I read reviews at all the big online retailers, and If you go straight to the worst reviews instead of the highest you will find the same complaints and problems on all manufactures products! except the ultra high price models! so I chose to roll the dice on this one it had the straight shaft I wanted, it could be a little longer,Im 6 feet tall but it is no big problem. the price sealed the deal AT $80 it was $20 cheaper than the comparable Weed Eater at tractor supply, which I already have 3 of that wont run. I m going to use the premix fuel for the rest of season in this one. to see if it really makes a difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
McPherson, KS
Pre-Mix gas isn't necessary
Posted 08/30/2013
You see, the quality of gas isn't what it used to be. I suggest you put STABIL in your gas, and it will last a lot longer, and your machinery will work better.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Excellent Trimmer

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first gas trimmer that I have ever owned.
I assembled the trimmer in about 5 minutes, followed the instructions and it started right up.
The power of this trimmer really caught me off guard.
There is a night and day difference between this trimmer and electric trimmers.
With my electric trimmer I would have to go over the same spot a few times to cut the weeds in my yard and sometime the weeds would just get pushed over without being cut.
With this Murray gas trimmer you only need to go over a spot once and it cuts everything in its path.
The string that this trimmer comes with is very durable.
I used very little while trimming my yard.
Murray brand replacement spools of string are reasonably priced, around $7 at my local Walmart.
The curved shaft model of the Murray trimmer is $10 cheaper, but I decided to go with the straight shaft because I read that the straight shaft model is easier on your back if you are taller, I am 6'2".
The trimmer is very easy to maneuver and it's feels lighter than the electric trimmer it replaced.
The freedom of this gas trimmer is great. No more wrangling a hundred feet of extension cord for me. I don't think I will ever buy an electric trimmer again.
Will purchase this brand of trimmer again when the time comes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Don't buy

07/04/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quit three months after I purchased it. Still under warranty. Took it to an anthorized service center. Trouble was a defect in the carburetor. Cost $30 to repair. Warranty would not cover the defect because the manufacturer blames the problem on the ethanol in our fuel. It eats up the rubber fuel lines used on the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Impressed!

03/07/2013
By ,
Nor Cal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm on a tight budget so I had to stay under $100 (I know, I know). So far I'm impressed with the Murray. I was surprised with the power and the cutting ability. I had a $69 Homelite UT32605 from HD that I abused for years. The bushing above the head finally gave out. It's not replaceable because it's crimped on. I would have had to buy a new, complete shaft for $50+ shipping. The current reviews on the Homelite that I had were not good, so I stayed away. There were no reviews on this Murray but I thought I would give it a shot.
I decided to go for a straight shaft (despite some reservations) because you can replace/repair the bearing at the end of the shaft if it goes out and I have read they seem to be a bit more durable. I use trimmers for household use and at my rental to clear 1-2' weeds and along fences. I liked the extra reach of a straight shaft and it gets debris a bit further away from you. I thought it was a little easier to handle than a curved shaft for weed clearing. I'm glad I went with the straight shaft.
The bump feed (at least with the factory loaded line) worked VERY well. In fact, I had to be a bit careful because if I touched the spool at all it would feed line .... be sure to not inadvertently touch the head to the ground like I do while you're trimming.
I gave it 4 stars only because I haven't had it long enough to know if it's durable or what problems it might have later. So far, it's been great.
PROS: lots of power, good balance, nice reach, very good bump head for line.
CONS: I liked the large shield and it worked well, but it does not rotate so it's a bit difficult to see the head if you're edging. I may put on a shield that goes on the shaft so I can rotate it for different uses. It seemed to bog down sometimes when on it's side for edging.
I WOULD recommend this to a friend or someone else.
I think like all these two stroke engines, they're a little hard to start. I'm in Nor Cal so it's not very cold here. I have a little different starting technique than what they explain in the manual. I do press the primer several times and the throttle. Then I hold the trimmer by my left hand, put the choke in position 1, place one of my left fingers under the throttle and hold it half way down and pull the cord. As soon as I hear it wanting to start I put the choke on 2, keep the throttle half way down and pull the cord. I noticed on this one that it needed to warm up for a several minutes on position 2 choke and I started trimming with it in that position. Then I went to no choke. After you shut it off for a bit you may have to repeat the steps, but it starts easier. With this one and the others I've owned it seem holding the throttle in half position makes it a bit easier to start.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

POOR DESIGN

04/27/2013
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this trimmer at my local Wal Mart and it was a big mistake on my part. It is a very poor design. While it does have plenty of power and uses a thick cutting line it is extremely difficult to use. It is much heavier than any other trimmer I've owned and it is not properly balanced so it is a constant challenge to keep it at the proper angle for trimming without tearing up the ground. I've tried adjusting the handle but that does not work for me so I am in as constant "stoop" using it. It is impossible for me to do any close detail trimming without hitting the ground or what I'm trimming around. It appears to me the shaft it to short. You would think the company that makes these would put a little more thought and R&D into its product before it goes on the market. The only reason I gave it 1 star is because I could not go any lower. I am totally disgusted with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Design flaw= string gets wrapped up in the gap at

06/26/2013
By ,
Lehigh Acres Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the string gets caught inside the little gap at the top of the spool
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Don't buy this. Run away as fast as you can.

04/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wow... This is probably the worst purchase I have ever made.
I have a Weed Eater brand Twist N Edge that finally gave up after about 8 summers.
I saw this one on a previous trip to Wal-Mart and thought it looked like a good unit. I should have listened to the other 1 star reviews.
Used it for about 20 minutes and the string stopped feeding. Remove the reel and noticed that the indexing tabs were warped. Must be the heat that is generated in the angled part of the drive shaft as this part was almost to hot to touch.
It's going back and I will never buy a Murray product again.
I gave it 1 star because I couldn't give none (or negative).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Piece of junk

10/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product quit after 3 months and manufacturer will not honor the warranty for the deficient carburetor.
It is also very awkward since the screws do fit correctly to hold the two pieces together properly. Piece of JUNK
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Doesn't run right out of the box

05/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money, it's a fantastic weedeater... That's if you're prepared to work on it straight out of the box.. The carb is set-up to meet EPA standards, which means it barley runs.. The fuel jets have to be re-adjusted and it takes a special tool to adjust them... You'll have to take it in for service OR do what I did.. Take a Dremel with a cut off wheel and cut a slot in the top part of the flat head jets.. It took me longer to plug the Dremel in than it did to cut the slots for a small flat head screwdriver.. Once you have the slots cut and can adjust it.. IT KICKS ...
I"M VERY HAPPY WITH IT..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

hard & noisey

06/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tech support was kind but without the adjustments just mentioned earlier on cutting slot for screw driver. Unit runs hard, noisey & head ran hot as doesn't respond to carburetor adjustments in manual. This model does quick connect attach at center but stated no attachments. I ended up returning & played $100 more for Wal-Mart Snapper model that is much nicer, like the straight handle & more
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

worst I have ever owned

08/27/2014
By ,
no. mississippi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this trimmer in the spring.To the reviewers who say I just dont know how to operate it I say I have owned multiple gas trimmers in my life,I know how.This trimmer will not run at all in open choke position,must keep it in 2nd position to use it at all,and it has little power there!The shaft is considerably shorter than any I have ever had before,hard on the back.The cutting head now turns app.1/8 ln on the shaft,no way to tighten it.My recommendation if you are considering one of these is look elsewhere,apparently from the reviews you might get lucky and get a good one but you might also get the twin to mine.I have owned several things made by Murray and they have all been good until I bought this!Very disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Excellent Product & Value

05/23/2014
By ,
Dtroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for being the lowest price straight shaft I could find. Very pleased with my purchase. Product did require assemble, but was simple and quick. Started first time and has worked well.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next