Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

The Murray 17", 25 cc, 2-cycle straight shaft gas trimmer provides you with extended reach to trim under bushes, decks and around obstacles to complete light trimming chores. Featuring a powerful, 2-cycle engine with assisted pull start technology, the straight shaft gas trimmer is simple to start and convenient to use with its dual-line bump-feed trimmer head.
Average Customer Rating:
3.485 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
13
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation68%46 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 59 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
13
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great product with an excellent value price.

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not to sound cliche, but I read all the reviews about this product and felt comfortable enough to purchase it.I wanted a straight shaft for my husband that had a reasonable price. He has health issues so this type of trimmer was much better for him than a curved one. Meaning he doesn't have to bend and reach as much. It is working out great for him in that aspect. One thing I think I should address is what kind of made me hesitant a little, some of the reviews stated there was a problem starting the trimmer. I asked my husband about this showed him the reviews and he said that is not a problem. He said if most men have used a 2cycle gas ignition system this trimmer would work just fine. Starts on the 2nd pull,cuts with power,and is easy on his back. Line feeds with ease. I would recommend this product. Have a great day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great Trimmer

06/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this trimmer about 2 weeks ago (My other one got stolen off my patio) and man this thing can put out some power, I cut the edges of my back yard that had grass about 3ft tall (to my knee) and this thing just blasted through it.
I did buy some Professional Trimmer String, which is very thick, and allows this trimmer to cut very thick brush.
I don't understand why there are so many 1 star reviews, I'm assuming they don’t know how to work a gas trimmer (They got Electric Now-a-days if you can't handle gas#.
When you first start it #Brand New#, OF COURSE it's going to run a little odd #It's never been started before#. All I did was after I put everything together I started it and let it sit in the yard running for about 10 minutes #To start breaking it in#, after that it runs like a CHAMP, and you don’t need to let it sit every time just that one time when you first start it out of the box.
I took it to my dad’s last week and showed him and this thing ripped through weeds his Troy Built was struggling on. I went over there the other night and guess who went to Wal-Mart and got them one #My dad did# and is loving it.
Great, Great Trimmer, Ignore the 1 star reviews; they either don't know how to use a 2 cycle trimmer or promoting some other brand.
Mine usually starts in 3-5 pulls, First you prime it #4-8 pumps#, then you put in #1 #Full Choke#, While in full choke pull it 2-3 Times until it tries to start up, then put it in #2 and pull again, mine usually starts after about 2 pulls on #2.
Also the trimmer that got stolen was the Curved Shaft Version of this Trimmer, I had it for 2 years #Before it got stolen) and it still ran like it did the first day I bought it, so this trimmer will stand the test of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Works----but.

06/08/2014
By ,
MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Everything you've read about the shaft being too short is true---by about 8 inches. Assembly and start up was quick, simple and easy. Louder than expected, my neighbor said it sounds like a chainsaw. On the initial run and use, about 1/2 hour, it seemed to get overly hot and bog down. When I let off the throttle it stalled and would not restart. Once cooled, however, it started easily and has since, hot or cold. The elbow between the straight shaft and the cutting head quickly becomes very hot---poor lubrication? Now each time the trimmer is started the cutting head drags and is very slow to reach cutting speed---problem with the elbow? Carburetor mixture is too lean and the unit will only run well at about 1/2 choke. I've not figured out how to adjust the low and hi-speed screws. The trimmer does tangle easily in very tall, fine grass and is time consuming to clear. I've solved that by taking off the top 1/3 to 1/2 of such grass first and then coming back for the rest. My Homelite lasted 22 years. I'll be surprised if this one makes 2 years. But, it was under $70, even with the 2 year policy, which I expect to be using. Be prepared.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

heavy shaft, short-price to value excellent

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As some reviewers stated it has a short handle and is heavy.Thank the lawyers. The guard is most of the weight thanks to people complaining and suing over injuries.I think it may be bullet proof. IF you follow directions it is wonderful. line clogging all the time?Go from the left to the right throwing the grass and dirt away from you and keeping the string feed clean.Starting is full choke,full throttle,pull till it sounds like its trying to start,then full throttle half choke,start and warm up. All 2 strokes need full throttle to start. Some do it for you this does not. I can not,absolutely can not buy an electric string trimmer,a proper 12 gauge cord,a cord reel, for the price of this trimmer. I am very happy with this purchase and have had zero problems.I like the fact it is not carb compliant. California air resources board ruins all good motors and carbs.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Excellent Trimmer

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first gas trimmer that I have ever owned.
I assembled the trimmer in about 5 minutes, followed the instructions and it started right up.
The power of this trimmer really caught me off guard.
There is a night and day difference between this trimmer and electric trimmers.
With my electric trimmer I would have to go over the same spot a few times to cut the weeds in my yard and sometime the weeds would just get pushed over without being cut.
With this Murray gas trimmer you only need to go over a spot once and it cuts everything in its path.
The string that this trimmer comes with is very durable.
I used very little while trimming my yard.
Murray brand replacement spools of string are reasonably priced, around $7 at my local Walmart.
The curved shaft model of the Murray trimmer is $10 cheaper, but I decided to go with the straight shaft because I read that the straight shaft model is easier on your back if you are taller, I am 6'2".
The trimmer is very easy to maneuver and it's feels lighter than the electric trimmer it replaced.
The freedom of this gas trimmer is great. No more wrangling a hundred feet of extension cord for me. I don't think I will ever buy an electric trimmer again.
Will purchase this brand of trimmer again when the time comes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Awsome trimmer

06/26/2014
By ,
pittsburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves this trimmer. He is very tall and was impressed that he didnt have to hunch over while using. He is also thrilled that he can get the universal attachments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Works awsome

05/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading reviews from all stores...Theres pretty much the same with all trimmers. However what makes this trimmer is the price and a straight shaft. If you have shoped around like I did, Straight shaft trimmers are more expensive by about 10.00 to 20.00 more. Not this one. The price is cheaper than most in comparison of all 2 cycle 25cc. My grass edge was about knee high and 2 feet deep to the fence. assembly and prep was very easy, start up was great, and this Murray powered through the high grass without skipping a beat. And walmart sells attachments that do fit, but for the most part, it worked great, job well done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Lasted a little less than a year.

07/07/2014
By ,
Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product works well for a little while but after 11 months of weekly usage for about 15 min a week, it died. Over the winter I drained the fuel for storage. Spring told a different story for my trimmer. At first I would have to turn the choke selector to "2" for it to stay running. I cleaned the carb to no avail. Today I started my normal ritual of taking it out, giving the tank a shake to mix the fuel and yanked...nothing. Tore down the carb and nothing looks out of place. Now I am writing this review and searching for a carb, tank and lines to repair what I think to be defective. Aside from this issue, the head will clog in 6-8in of grass and, as noted by other consumers, the elbow for the shaft->head gets extremely hot. I tore my apart and repacked with different grease which helped immensely.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

hard & noisey

06/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tech support was kind but without the adjustments just mentioned earlier on cutting slot for screw driver. Unit runs hard, noisey & head ran hot as doesn't respond to carburetor adjustments in manual. This model does quick connect attach at center but stated no attachments. I ended up returning & played $100 more for Wal-Mart Snapper model that is much nicer, like the straight handle & more
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Don't buy this. Run away as fast as you can.

04/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wow... This is probably the worst purchase I have ever made.
I have a Weed Eater brand Twist N Edge that finally gave up after about 8 summers.
I saw this one on a previous trip to Wal-Mart and thought it looked like a good unit. I should have listened to the other 1 star reviews.
Used it for about 20 minutes and the string stopped feeding. Remove the reel and noticed that the indexing tabs were warped. Must be the heat that is generated in the angled part of the drive shaft as this part was almost to hot to touch.
It's going back and I will never buy a Murray product again.
I gave it 1 star because I couldn't give none (or negative).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great trimmer!

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trimmer was easy to put together and started right up with no trouble. This cut through the waist high grass with no trouble and did the same with the weeds. I am 57 yrs young. I love this trimmer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Excellent Product & Value

05/23/2014
By ,
Dtroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for being the lowest price straight shaft I could find. Very pleased with my purchase. Product did require assemble, but was simple and quick. Started first time and has worked well.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

like it

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good for price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Doesn't run right out of the box

05/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money, it's a fantastic weedeater... That's if you're prepared to work on it straight out of the box.. The carb is set-up to meet EPA standards, which means it barley runs.. The fuel jets have to be re-adjusted and it takes a special tool to adjust them... You'll have to take it in for service OR do what I did.. Take a Dremel with a cut off wheel and cut a slot in the top part of the flat head jets.. It took me longer to plug the Dremel in than it did to cut the slots for a small flat head screwdriver.. Once you have the slots cut and can adjust it.. IT KICKS ...
I"M VERY HAPPY WITH IT..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Good Product

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great investment
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Worth the money so far

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought and used for the first time today. My old one had broke some time ago, so my yard really needed to be done with a trimmer. I'm 6'1", and let me tell you, my back is sore from having to bend a little to reach the grass. I feel its a little on the heavy side. It does not come with a neck strap to hold some of the weight. For 5 bucks, I also bought the can of pre-mixed fuel. Its a synthetic oil additive, and it ran just fine with it. I believe you can fill up 3 times on a can. I filled it 2x and I believe there is still enough for a third. The trimmer tried to start on the third pull, I put the choke on the second setting and it started right up letting it warm up a few seconds before putting it on the third (no Choke) setting. Only thing i'm not used to on this one, when running, the trimmer head doesn't turn till you give it the gas. It really does a nice job when you have it in full throttle. Bumping the base of the trimmer to advance the string, barely had to bump the grass for it to advance. But it did consume a lot of fuel, but remember I haven't trimmed the yard for some time. I'm sure next time it will be easier and less fuel. To put together, connected the shaft to the motor housing and tightened the allen headed bolt (wrench provided) and I had to attach the guard at the base. Two screws that were pre-started, just had to remove them, put on the guard and re-install the Phillips screws. Real simple. I do like the straight shaft compared to the curved. You can get into tighter places with it. I think i'm going to keep buying the fuel they have there as well. For 5 bucks and already made just pour it in and its to the right mix ratio already. Their machine their fuel, hopefully it will last me for a good while.
Hope this info helps you out in your decision making.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Very Impressed

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews on the Murray Straight Shaft Trimmer and decided to purchase one at Walmart.The assembly was just as simple as the the instructions indicated. I followed to the letter on instruction for first time start up. It is so true.This trimmer started perfectly. If you do what the instruction say to do,you will not have any difficulty starting it.I did find it alittle heavier than my Homelite,but gave me the feel of a powerful trimmer. Very satisfied with my purchase.Would recommend this to anyone. Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Use the PRE-MIX gas oil off the shelf!

04/10/2013
By ,
Columbia, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having many problems with power equipment that wont start or wont run properly when it does. I find myself again looking for another trimmer this spring,my previous weedeaters,some I have used and mixed my own gas and oil for 15 yrs and I never had a problem.now I have purchased 3 in the last 3 years! same problems run good when new 2 months old,they become hard to start or wont start,if they do start they wont run long enough to get any thing done. this has happened with 2 stroke blowers also. Everyone says its the ETHANOL FUEL causing all the problems.and waranty folks will tell you its YOUR FAULT whatever happened to your unit,I been mixing gas/oil over 40 years with a ratio rite, never had problems like this until recent years. I read reviews at all the big online retailers, and If you go straight to the worst reviews instead of the highest you will find the same complaints and problems on all manufactures products! except the ultra high price models! so I chose to roll the dice on this one it had the straight shaft I wanted, it could be a little longer,Im 6 feet tall but it is no big problem. the price sealed the deal AT $80 it was $20 cheaper than the comparable Weed Eater at tractor supply, which I already have 3 of that wont run. I m going to use the premix fuel for the rest of season in this one. to see if it really makes a difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
McPherson, KS
Pre-Mix gas isn't necessary
Posted 08/30/2013
You see, the quality of gas isn't what it used to be. I suggest you put STABIL in your gas, and it will last a lot longer, and your machinery will work better.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great light weight trimmer.

07/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With use as a light weight trimmer should last several years. The extended coverage was inexpensive enough that decided to get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

I like the Murray 17" Trimmer, but

04/07/2014
By ,
Stilwell, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 6'2" in height, and the Trimmer hurts my back, because it isn't long enough. other then that it runs great, starts every time. the price was good. if Murray make's an 6" to 8" extinction for the shaft I would buy one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next