Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Murray Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

The Murray 17", 25 cc, 2-cycle straight shaft gas trimmer provides you with extended reach to trim under bushes, decks and around obstacles to complete light trimming chores. Featuring a powerful, 2-cycle engine with assisted pull start technology, the straight shaft gas trimmer is simple to start and convenient to use with its dual-line bump-feed trimmer head.
Average Customer Rating:
3.204 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation64%28 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

JUNK save your money and buy something else

03/22/2014
By ,
north florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst trimmer I have ever purchased. The shaft is too short. It vibrates so badly my hands and wrists swell unless I wear gloves. It is miserably difficult to start and keep running smooth. It might be ok for a small yard but I have over two acres with lots of trees and ornamental shrubs. Its going to the dump if I can't get my money back for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

I like the Murray 17" Trimmer, but

04/07/2014
By ,
Stilwell, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 6'2" in height, and the Trimmer hurts my back, because it isn't long enough. other then that it runs great, starts every time. the price was good. if Murray make's an 6" to 8" extinction for the shaft I would buy one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Use the PRE-MIX gas oil off the shelf!

04/10/2013
By ,
Columbia, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having many problems with power equipment that wont start or wont run properly when it does. I find myself again looking for another trimmer this spring,my previous weedeaters,some I have used and mixed my own gas and oil for 15 yrs and I never had a problem.now I have purchased 3 in the last 3 years! same problems run good when new 2 months old,they become hard to start or wont start,if they do start they wont run long enough to get any thing done. this has happened with 2 stroke blowers also. Everyone says its the ETHANOL FUEL causing all the problems.and waranty folks will tell you its YOUR FAULT whatever happened to your unit,I been mixing gas/oil over 40 years with a ratio rite, never had problems like this until recent years. I read reviews at all the big online retailers, and If you go straight to the worst reviews instead of the highest you will find the same complaints and problems on all manufactures products! except the ultra high price models! so I chose to roll the dice on this one it had the straight shaft I wanted, it could be a little longer,Im 6 feet tall but it is no big problem. the price sealed the deal AT $80 it was $20 cheaper than the comparable Weed Eater at tractor supply, which I already have 3 of that wont run. I m going to use the premix fuel for the rest of season in this one. to see if it really makes a difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
McPherson, KS
Pre-Mix gas isn't necessary
Posted 08/30/2013
You see, the quality of gas isn't what it used to be. I suggest you put STABIL in your gas, and it will last a lot longer, and your machinery will work better.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Don't buy

07/04/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quit three months after I purchased it. Still under warranty. Took it to an anthorized service center. Trouble was a defect in the carburetor. Cost $30 to repair. Warranty would not cover the defect because the manufacturer blames the problem on the ethanol in our fuel. It eats up the rubber fuel lines used on the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Impressed!

03/07/2013
By ,
Nor Cal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm on a tight budget so I had to stay under $100 (I know, I know). So far I'm impressed with the Murray. I was surprised with the power and the cutting ability. I had a $69 Homelite UT32605 from HD that I abused for years. The bushing above the head finally gave out. It's not replaceable because it's crimped on. I would have had to buy a new, complete shaft for $50+ shipping. The current reviews on the Homelite that I had were not good, so I stayed away. There were no reviews on this Murray but I thought I would give it a shot.
I decided to go for a straight shaft (despite some reservations) because you can replace/repair the bearing at the end of the shaft if it goes out and I have read they seem to be a bit more durable. I use trimmers for household use and at my rental to clear 1-2' weeds and along fences. I liked the extra reach of a straight shaft and it gets debris a bit further away from you. I thought it was a little easier to handle than a curved shaft for weed clearing. I'm glad I went with the straight shaft.
The bump feed (at least with the factory loaded line) worked VERY well. In fact, I had to be a bit careful because if I touched the spool at all it would feed line .... be sure to not inadvertently touch the head to the ground like I do while you're trimming.
I gave it 4 stars only because I haven't had it long enough to know if it's durable or what problems it might have later. So far, it's been great.
PROS: lots of power, good balance, nice reach, very good bump head for line.
CONS: I liked the large shield and it worked well, but it does not rotate so it's a bit difficult to see the head if you're edging. I may put on a shield that goes on the shaft so I can rotate it for different uses. It seemed to bog down sometimes when on it's side for edging.
I WOULD recommend this to a friend or someone else.
I think like all these two stroke engines, they're a little hard to start. I'm in Nor Cal so it's not very cold here. I have a little different starting technique than what they explain in the manual. I do press the primer several times and the throttle. Then I hold the trimmer by my left hand, put the choke in position 1, place one of my left fingers under the throttle and hold it half way down and pull the cord. As soon as I hear it wanting to start I put the choke on 2, keep the throttle half way down and pull the cord. I noticed on this one that it needed to warm up for a several minutes on position 2 choke and I started trimming with it in that position. Then I went to no choke. After you shut it off for a bit you may have to repeat the steps, but it starts easier. With this one and the others I've owned it seem holding the throttle in half position makes it a bit easier to start.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

POOR DESIGN

04/27/2013
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this trimmer at my local Wal Mart and it was a big mistake on my part. It is a very poor design. While it does have plenty of power and uses a thick cutting line it is extremely difficult to use. It is much heavier than any other trimmer I've owned and it is not properly balanced so it is a constant challenge to keep it at the proper angle for trimming without tearing up the ground. I've tried adjusting the handle but that does not work for me so I am in as constant "stoop" using it. It is impossible for me to do any close detail trimming without hitting the ground or what I'm trimming around. It appears to me the shaft it to short. You would think the company that makes these would put a little more thought and R&D into its product before it goes on the market. The only reason I gave it 1 star is because I could not go any lower. I am totally disgusted with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Design flaw= string gets wrapped up in the gap at

06/26/2013
By ,
Lehigh Acres Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the string gets caught inside the little gap at the top of the spool
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
05/01/2013
By ,
Suwanee GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little piece of machinery. Does the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
07/06/2013
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been trying to find a weed eater at a decent price that seemed like it would work. My father-in-law has a Craftsman trimmer similar to this one http://www.sears.com/craftsman-32cc-4-cycle-straight-shaft-weedwacker-8482-gas/p-07173193000P?prdNo=2&blockNo=2&blockType=G2, that I have used many times and found very easy to use. Much like the more expensive Craftsman, this trimmer was extremely easy to assemble and can be separated into two parts for storage if space is needed.
The only reason that I do not give the trimmer five stars is because it has the common bump feed style trimmer head. To fix this problem I also bought a replacement head that uses easy to change single strands instead of the horrible bump feed line. The new head makes trimming the entire yard quick and painless. I no longer have to deal with the line failing to feed properly causing me to have to stop and take the trimmer head apart. I simply cut several pieces of line before I start and keep them in my pocket so as they get too short I put a new strand in place. They do make a trimmer with this style head but it was $40 more and the replacement head was only $18.
I have used several trimmers in my life both gas and electric. There is nothing worse than being limited by the size of the extension cord or in the alternative having to wind up a huge cord at the end of the work. The gas engine provides enough power to trim the yard even when the grass is overgrown and thick. The engine does cause a lot of vibration but that is to be expected with this size engine just like the Craftsman listed above.
Overall I would definitely recommend this trimmer to people. It is a great value and worked just like it should.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

good buy

06/12/2013
By ,
RI and Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Finally got a wacker that starts right up. A little heavy and a little short for tall people (I'm 6'2) but starts, runs and cuts great. I have had all kinds of wackers over the years and this and a Craftsman I had, have been the best for reliability and value. Plenty of power and starts great if you just follow the mix instruction closely. No problems here.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

EXCELLENT TRIMMER FOR THE PRICE

04/19/2013
By ,
Millbrook, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this as back up for my lawn business and I am very happy with it so far. It was quick and easy to put together, filled it up with gas, and within 30 seconds had it trimming weeds. I don't know about the longevity of it, but so far I am pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Computer to store order.

04/25/2013
By ,
Louisville, Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got a text the very next day that my weedeater had arrived at my home store, Quick friendly service, plus my wife is happy because we have no more weeds in our yard....
Happy wife Happy life....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Works good but HEAVY

04/22/2013
By ,
Shelton, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really wish this came with a shoulder strap because it gets heavy fast. Trimming was easy and seems to have a lot of power. I've used better line before, the line on this trimmer broke off easily so I went through quite a bit fast.
Overall its a great trimmer if you dont have a whole lot of work to do. Otherwise I'd suggest getting one that's either lighter weight or get a shoulder strap.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Great value

06/04/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty good trimmer at a great price. Easy to follow instruction, breeze to assemble. Started right up following the instructions concerning priming and 1,2,3 choke sequence. Fired right up on pull number 5 at choke sequence 2. Day 1 has been a very pleasant surprise for a trimmer at this low price. Here's to hoping it holds up for many years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Almost the trimmer I wanted.

04/26/2013
By ,
Cleveland,TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a 50+ woman who just bought this Murray trimmer. Good price, very easy to put together, not to heavy for me to use, and I also took out the pre installed string and put in new (very easy). But when I finally got it started it would die every time I pulled the trigger. I referred to the handbook and adjusted the screw, still would not work. After about an hour of trying to get it to run and a blister on my finger from pulling the cord I gave up. Maybe someone with knowledge of small motors could keep it running. I will take it back and get a different brand because I believe that a new 79.00 trimmer should work without a lot of effort.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

WORST PURCHASE EVER!!!!

04/21/2013
By ,
Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this hunk of junk out of the box and put it together. Followed the instructions to a T. Still even after break in the thing still won't accelerate without having to pump the trigger and runs like junk. I went with this not only for the price but all my life Murray have been good equipment. Not the case here. This one is going to the curb and i'm buying a Husky or Stihl .. Higher priced but well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer
06/13/2013
By ,
NW Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not even get it to start after many, many tries. Do NOT buy it b/c you will just have to return it. Don't waste your time like I did !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

its ok

04/25/2013
By ,
mineral ridge
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
just bought and used for the first time.I bought this one because of the straight shaft.Personal preference I guess.Easy to put together.Seemed like it needed to warm up awhile before it would run with no choke.Engine may have a break in period before it runs better.Not too heavy.I just use it at home around my house.Its definitely not a shindaiwa!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

Excellent trimmer for the price!

08/23/2013
By ,
us
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have purchased Murray products in the past and have always been pleased with them.
I was on a tight budget and wanted a straight shaft weed eater and found this one at the right price.
Assembly took me 15 minutes and I was ready to go!
Starts very easy and does an excellent job!
Would highly recommend this trimmer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Murray 17" 25cc 2-Cycle Straight Shaft Gas String Trimmer

The price was right!

08/21/2013
By ,
Wichita,KS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I finally got to try out my new string trimmer. Was very disapointed. I trimmed for about an hour, half of that time was spent unwinding grass from around the head. I previously had a Poulan which I wore out and seldom had this problem with it. Guess I should have stayed with the Poulan brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next