Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

The Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical is loaded with features designed to help you comfortably achieve the fitness results you've been looking for. With 24 built-in workout apps pre-loaded into the console, you can step on and select a workout of your choice with the touch of a button. Each workout is powered by Google Maps which automatically adjusts the elliptical's resistance to match the terrain. Plus, with a compatible music port for an iPod, large LCD display and a CoolAire workout fan, the Gold's Gym 510 elliptical makes your workout comfortable and entertaining.
Average Customer Rating:
2.533 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation47%7 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

90 day warranty says it all, it is junk

08/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's pure luck if this machine works for you for a year. I researched and researched and figured I was safe even though there were some bad reviews (depending on where you read). While it's hard to believe that such a simple device could break, this made in china machine is a cheap imitation. I had the 510 eliptical for 4 1/2 months when it just started grinding. After taking it apart to see if it could be adjusted, it was apparent that it had self destructed. When I called the factory, they told me the warranty was 90 days and that was that. Even their manager said 90 days. I can't believe anything that cost $400 (w tax) wouldn't last at least a year. I knew it was tinny as I had to tighten up all the screws with ratchet allen wrenches. I didn't care that the pulse reader is laughable watching the numbers jump 30 points up and down. I didn't care that you couldn't feel the fan or that the power supply was an extra purchase (who wants to use batteries?). If somebody says the pulse reader or fan is great, you can believe that it's a review by an owner.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Moderately priced, moderately built

06/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This model was easier to assemble than previous years models from Gold's. The main brace came loose during first use. I also had to disassemble wheel covers to replace the belt which had not been properly tensioned at the factory. I also had to drill a new hole and place a bolt and nut assembly through the main brace to prevent the whole thing from working loose. I also had to do a lot of noise abatement by applying lots of duct tape where metal rubs on metal. I knew what I was buying as high quality machines are much more expensive. My fixes are holding up for now, however I must tighten all screws and nuts before every use. Squeaks will drive you nuts unless you apply lubricants.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Just put it together and not disappointed

12/29/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just put this thing together and I can only assume that those people who have had difficulties probably couldn't point out a screwdriver. It went together very easily and even though the instructions say it requires two people, that can only apply if the first person does not have the use of both arms. I did it alone at a casual pace and it took about 2 1/2 hours. I tried it out when complete and was pleasantly surprised at its silence but we'll see how it goes over time. Price point was a major consideration for me and based on my experience thus far I would recommend this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Update to my review
Posted 04/01/2014
A few weeks of use and the Eddy Current device on this broke and because it is cast I cant just re-weld it back together. I called customer care at Icon Fitness and they were very helpful and processed an order for a new one. Now a month later, the part is supposedly on back order and my machine is dead. The only response I seem to get now is "it's still on back order, sorry for the inconvenience". So, I am revising my review to: DO NOT BUY THIS OR ANY OTHER GOLDS GYM PRODUCT. Icon Fitness handles all of their customer service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Great Elliptical for home.

04/18/2013
By ,
Whitesboro, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this elliptical for my wife, she uses it everyday and she likes it very much. Bought it from there online store and when it was delivered the box was in rough shape. When I opened it and took everything out of the box there was only one piece of plastic that was broken that covered the upright at the base. I called ICON customer service and got right through and told them what I had found and they where very helpful and sent out a new piece which took two weeks to receive which was not to bad. The instructions where easy to follow and the only thing that I did is the piece that the upright slides over and then you bolt it to, before I put the upright in place I put some grease all around that section that the upright slides onto. The reason I did this is because when you bolt the upright onto this piece when you are using the elliptical it will make noise because the two pieces of metal are rubbing against each other. With the grease in place there is no noise and it is very quit. You have to remember that it is not a high end machine at $399.00 so with that said we are very happy so far with this machine and we hope that it holds up over time. We also purchased the extended warranty for three years for $39.00. covers everything even wear and tear parts. Remember to check all the bolts every few days for the first week or so because they do come loose so I used some blue thread locker and it worked great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

It works

05/18/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Two people are not necessary to put this together. I did it in four hours with one useable hand/arm. The hardest part is connecting the wiring as some wires are just short. The plastic covers on the joints for the arm bars do not snap together and had to be thrown away. All necessary parts and tools are packed together. At most you will need a phillips head screwdriver as one isnt included. The console is either battery or dc adapter powered. Both must be purchased seperately. The advertising says there are something like 14 or 24 workout apps included with the machine. So far, I havent found them! There is also no IFit card unless you purchase it seperately from golds gym. I seem to remember the ad saying the card was included too. Have some grease handy because the "included grease" was nonexistent. And you will need some to get the arms together. This machine is heavy but can be moved by one person unless its on carpet. The wheels are ridiculously small and require the machine to almost stand on its end.
Overall, it is an elliptical. Im just disappointed that it doesnt have the perks that were listed in the product information. Of course, I could be wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Dont waste your time or money, poor construction

11/10/2013
By ,
San Diego
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First off im only writing this in hopes of saving at least one person the headache this purchace will most likely cause.
This was very poorly constructed and would creak and sway when in use and at only 190 lbs I find this outrageous with a 250 max weight limit. The staff at the store was very helpful with my return yet I was out 3 hours of assembly time plus the time and gas used back and forth. I spent more on this one over the 310 model in hopes of getting more quality, nope still lacking in that department. Please save up the extra money and get something more solid. I wont cheap out on quality if its something you want to last, and if you work out on a regular basis it should last! Hope this helps someone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Great Elliptical for the Price

02/17/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really wanted something basic that could get the job done. The other $4000 units just were way out of my budget and most of the functions I really didn't need. After looking at a lot of models under $500 I decided to try this one. I am very please thus far and have been enjoying the workout daily.
Assembly was pretty straight forward. I took my time and things worked out well. I think the average person could assemble the unit within a couple of hours. The only mistakes I made were because I didn't read the instructions fully.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

easy

02/22/2014
By ,
Glen Ullin Nd
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read some of these reviews and finally decided I would find out for myself what this was about. I am not a mechanically inclined person at all, I put this machine together by myself, it was very simple. Just read the instructions. It runs very smooth. I am very impressed. I used to workout on a commercial elliptical, this one is just as nice and perfect for me. Here's to getting and staying healthy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Great machine, easy to assemble.

11/05/2013
By ,
Perris, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great elliptical machine. It feels solid, the pre programmed work outs are great, and really get you sweating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Though many positive reviews...Never Buy this!

01/06/2014
By ,
Tupelo , MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took a risk buying this even after many negative reviews. Realized it later, its no worth of time and money. aligning the parts is easy. But just after 10-15 strides it started making dunking noise. Did not stop even after re-greasing it. Well not sure should I blame the quality of equipment or not.
Though it says 14 resistance levels, you wont realize the difference between levels, even the maximum level is dead easy to stride.
No adapter nor battery included! need to order separately!
Better to invest few more dollars and buy a good one!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Handle issues

01/20/2014
By ,
Hinesville, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easy to put together, and easy to use, but it's difficult to hold on to the stationary handles because of the handles attached to the steps. Magnetic resistance worked well, but the display had some blank spots.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

It only worked for 4 months!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

02/09/2014
By ,
Carson Nv.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased a Gold’s Gym Stride trainer 510 Elliptical from Wal-Mart November 4, 2013 the unit became unusable on February 9, 2014. It in all fairness it helped me lose 20 pounds in this timeframe, however I can't afford to purchase this kind of equipment every 4 months! Do not buy this unit, spend a little more money and get something that will last!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

horrible machine

02/19/2014
By ,
california
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we got this and put it together, that wasn't hard at all but the second time I got on to do my workout. the whole thing was squeaking and shaking. we went back to make sure everything was tightened enough and it was. this product is horrible. not worth the money, not worth the time. taking it back this weekend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical
07/19/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Had to add some tape to connection of upright made really squeaky sound,even with screws set tight.This is the only flaw.Overall for the price its reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Don't don't don't buy :(

07/25/2013
By ,
McAllen, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not worth the money !! Misaligned parts, made it very difficult to assamble, plastic parts did not snapped because of misalignment, when being used it was unbalanced , very unsteady and the bolts started to unscrew, restistance didn't work and the screen didn't light up .You get you pay !! But I didn't know it was going to be this bad is. I wasted my time and my husband had a hard time put it together and then he had to take it all part ....in and out and returning etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.