Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

The Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical is loaded with features designed to help you comfortably achieve the fitness results you've been looking for. With 24 built-in workout apps pre-loaded into the console, you can step on and select a workout of your choice with the touch of a button. Each workout is powered by Google Maps which automatically adjusts the elliptical's resistance to match the terrain. Plus, with a compatible music port for an iPod, large LCD display and a CoolAire workout fan, the Gold's Gym 510 elliptical makes your workout comfortable and entertaining.
Average Customer Rating:
2.44 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation44%11 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Does the job....

05/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this to get me on track to losing some weight and getting healthier. Overall its a good elliptical but there are just some things that bug me. Nothing functionality wise but just annoyances. When I am on the elliptical the bottom connection squeaks a lot and I do my workouts at night when my kids are asleep and my youngest son shares a wall with my room so when that thing squeaks I'm almost positive he can hear it while he's trying to sleep. Its just annoying and makes you want to finish that much sooner. I do wish there were more storage areas on this guy as there is really only one true "storage" which is the cup holder.
I do however wish that I would have paid a little extra to have one where the "wheel" is in front rather than in back. I'm sure it doesnt make much difference but its just personal preference to me. Other than all of that its a really good little machine and I enjoy using it 3+ times per week.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Actual buyer, actual user all 240lbs. of me

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are wanting a $3500 piece of equipment from a professional gym, then you shouldn't be here in the first place. If you want a maintenance free piece of equipment, then you shouldn't be looking at workout equipment period. As with all workout equipment, this elliptical will need to have preventative and routine maintenance. When you unpack the equipment, make sure you don't throw anything away until you verify all parts are accounted for. The one and only problem I had was with one of the caps being the wrong size, which was rectified immediately by Walmart without me having to take the elliptical back to the store. Read all the instructions first before assembly (I'm a 42 year old male with a background in aviation propulsion and I was not too proud to read the instructions). Some of the bad comments I read, were due mostly to initial assmbly where there were grinding noises after set up. Do not tighten down the load bearing and moving parts until all is assembled, as the instructions state. This prevents the binding that is causing the grinding. Make sure you grease the moving parts liberally. Other comments were about loud thunking noises while being used. This is because, as my 90 lb son found out, you cannot bounce or let your heel hard impact the step. If you are doing this, you are using this or any other elliptical wrong. They will all make that sound. Make sure the elliptical is level. This unit has a load bearing center leveling foot that works really well. This unit works well, including the two speed fan, the MP3 input and speakers, and the controls and programs. While you can use batteries for the controls, I recommend that you buy a power adapter that is rated for 6Volts DC and 2Amp. Have fun and be safe.
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Tighten thoroughly and maintain form

05/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using for supplemental work for running, with having a toddler and a newborn baby. Used 20-45 minutes 3-5 times/week , and less now that the baby is getting older. Works very well as long as you are using good form. It did start to squeak after about a week of use but I retightened everything on the front and it has been fine ever since.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

LOVE THIS MACHINE

05/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was able to put it together by myself in an hr. , took my time and read the directions carefully... Was super easy to put together.. its easy to move by yourself, once its put together.. I used it for 30 mins today and it is smooth, and quiet... needs 4 D batteries which do not come with it for the lcd screen to display..i bought the ac adapter for it and it works just as good.
only down fall the grease that comes with it is a mess. I ended up with it in my hair(don't ask) but other than that so far it works for me..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Lemon

03/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this machine to replace a proform I had for over 5 years (no warranty). Something told me to get the additional warranty that Walmart provides and I am so thankful that I did. I am on my 3rd repair call in less than a year. Finally, the repair company indicates that there is nothing more they can do to fix the machine and I will be receiving a full refund.
I work out daily and the inconvenience alone is worth a 1 on this review. However, other things that were a problem were the fact that the pre-programmed workouts did not work properly, there was absolutely no tension change. I could only get tension changes if I used the manual program.
Again, I purchased this machine in May of 2014. My first call to file a claim due to the machine being extremely noisy and the wheel base not moving properly was in December, 2014. My next call to file a claim was February 2015 with the most recent of May 2015.
I am disappointed with the quality of the machine but would recommend an extended warranty to anyone purchasing equipment from Walmart. It is the one good thing that works. Waiting on my refund so I can replace this lemon.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

90 day warranty says it all, it is junk

08/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's pure luck if this machine works for you for a year. I researched and researched and figured I was safe even though there were some bad reviews (depending on where you read). While it's hard to believe that such a simple device could break, this made in china machine is a cheap imitation. I had the 510 eliptical for 4 1/2 months when it just started grinding. After taking it apart to see if it could be adjusted, it was apparent that it had self destructed. When I called the factory, they told me the warranty was 90 days and that was that. Even their manager said 90 days. I can't believe anything that cost $400 (w tax) wouldn't last at least a year. I knew it was tinny as I had to tighten up all the screws with ratchet allen wrenches. I didn't care that the pulse reader is laughable watching the numbers jump 30 points up and down. I didn't care that you couldn't feel the fan or that the power supply was an extra purchase (who wants to use batteries?). If somebody says the pulse reader or fan is great, you can believe that it's a review by an owner.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Dont waste your time or money, poor construction

11/10/2013
By ,
San Diego
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First off im only writing this in hopes of saving at least one person the headache this purchace will most likely cause.
This was very poorly constructed and would creak and sway when in use and at only 190 lbs I find this outrageous with a 250 max weight limit. The staff at the store was very helpful with my return yet I was out 3 hours of assembly time plus the time and gas used back and forth. I spent more on this one over the 310 model in hopes of getting more quality, nope still lacking in that department. Please save up the extra money and get something more solid. I wont cheap out on quality if its something you want to last, and if you work out on a regular basis it should last! Hope this helps someone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

The Rumors Are True!!

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought all the reviews were crazy, and that the people writing them perhaps did not assemble it correctly, but I was mistaken. It does make that noise everyone talks about, and it also wobbles. Please stay away from this machine! I took mine back fully assembled, and the sad truth is: if you want a great elliptical, you're going to have to pay big money. Do not be stubborn like me, and think you're going to buy a good machine, where others have not (the, "not every machine can be bad theory"). I use ellipticals daily at my gym, and know quality when i use one, so I hope you listen. There's a reason why they don't have these machines at the actual Gold's GYMS!!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Great machine, easy to assemble.

11/05/2013
By ,
Perris, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great elliptical machine. It feels solid, the pre programmed work outs are great, and really get you sweating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Manufacturer Defect

02/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this Elliptical 7/19/2014. Used very little until February 2015. Used it for 30 minutes at a time for five days straight till it broke. I had made no adjustments. It was setup the way it came from Walmart. I have pictures that show a manufacturer defect. Part of the front pulley that the belt runs on broke in two. It was round and a bearing fit in it. I called to get the part from manufacturer. They told me that I had to buy the Eddy mechanism for $347. The whole machine is priced at $348 at Walmart now. They did offer me a discount on the part, but I do not want to put $200 in something that is going to break soon. I believe they count on people not using it much, because it does hurt when you just start using it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Just put it together and not disappointed

12/29/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just put this thing together and I can only assume that those people who have had difficulties probably couldn't point out a screwdriver. It went together very easily and even though the instructions say it requires two people, that can only apply if the first person does not have the use of both arms. I did it alone at a casual pace and it took about 2 1/2 hours. I tried it out when complete and was pleasantly surprised at its silence but we'll see how it goes over time. Price point was a major consideration for me and based on my experience thus far I would recommend this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
Update to my review
Posted 04/01/2014
A few weeks of use and the Eddy Current device on this broke and because it is cast I cant just re-weld it back together. I called customer care at Icon Fitness and they were very helpful and processed an order for a new one. Now a month later, the part is supposedly on back order and my machine is dead. The only response I seem to get now is "it's still on back order, sorry for the inconvenience". So, I am revising my review to: DO NOT BUY THIS OR ANY OTHER GOLDS GYM PRODUCT. Icon Fitness handles all of their customer service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Great Elliptical for home.

04/18/2013
By ,
Whitesboro, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this elliptical for my wife, she uses it everyday and she likes it very much. Bought it from there online store and when it was delivered the box was in rough shape. When I opened it and took everything out of the box there was only one piece of plastic that was broken that covered the upright at the base. I called ICON customer service and got right through and told them what I had found and they where very helpful and sent out a new piece which took two weeks to receive which was not to bad. The instructions where easy to follow and the only thing that I did is the piece that the upright slides over and then you bolt it to, before I put the upright in place I put some grease all around that section that the upright slides onto. The reason I did this is because when you bolt the upright onto this piece when you are using the elliptical it will make noise because the two pieces of metal are rubbing against each other. With the grease in place there is no noise and it is very quit. You have to remember that it is not a high end machine at $399.00 so with that said we are very happy so far with this machine and we hope that it holds up over time. We also purchased the extended warranty for three years for $39.00. covers everything even wear and tear parts. Remember to check all the bolts every few days for the first week or so because they do come loose so I used some blue thread locker and it worked great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

easy

02/22/2014
By ,
Glen Ullin Nd
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read some of these reviews and finally decided I would find out for myself what this was about. I am not a mechanically inclined person at all, I put this machine together by myself, it was very simple. Just read the instructions. It runs very smooth. I am very impressed. I used to workout on a commercial elliptical, this one is just as nice and perfect for me. Here's to getting and staying healthy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

squeaks and rocks when i move on it

11/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this and just cant bring myself to use it as it squeaks and rocks while im on it. ive tried adjusting the hight but no luck. put it together and didnt try it out til my mom moved out so by then i had no box. havent known what to do with it and it just sits in my room and has become a clothes rack lol
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Great Elliptical for the Price

02/17/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really wanted something basic that could get the job done. The other $4000 units just were way out of my budget and most of the functions I really didn't need. After looking at a lot of models under $500 I decided to try this one. I am very please thus far and have been enjoying the workout daily.
Assembly was pretty straight forward. I took my time and things worked out well. I think the average person could assemble the unit within a couple of hours. The only mistakes I made were because I didn't read the instructions fully.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

You will be disappointed!

02/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Note: Breaks quickly. To see how easy this is to repair, call Gold's Gym. It's primarily the Eddy Wheel which they will discount you to a price of 160$. The support is not good! It will only work for a few months.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Don't Waste Your Money!

10/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learn a lesson from me and don't waste your money! I thought this machine would be great, considering I had purchased Gold's Gym fitness products in the past without any issues or regrets. However, this elliptical is super flimsy and very cheap quality. Be smart and don't throw $387.00 of your hard-earned money out the window!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Moderately priced, moderately built

06/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This model was easier to assemble than previous years models from Gold's. The main brace came loose during first use. I also had to disassemble wheel covers to replace the belt which had not been properly tensioned at the factory. I also had to drill a new hole and place a bolt and nut assembly through the main brace to prevent the whole thing from working loose. I also had to do a lot of noise abatement by applying lots of duct tape where metal rubs on metal. I knew what I was buying as high quality machines are much more expensive. My fixes are holding up for now, however I must tighten all screws and nuts before every use. Squeaks will drive you nuts unless you apply lubricants.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

It works

05/18/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Two people are not necessary to put this together. I did it in four hours with one useable hand/arm. The hardest part is connecting the wiring as some wires are just short. The plastic covers on the joints for the arm bars do not snap together and had to be thrown away. All necessary parts and tools are packed together. At most you will need a phillips head screwdriver as one isnt included. The console is either battery or dc adapter powered. Both must be purchased seperately. The advertising says there are something like 14 or 24 workout apps included with the machine. So far, I havent found them! There is also no IFit card unless you purchase it seperately from golds gym. I seem to remember the ad saying the card was included too. Have some grease handy because the "included grease" was nonexistent. And you will need some to get the arms together. This machine is heavy but can be moved by one person unless its on carpet. The wheels are ridiculously small and require the machine to almost stand on its end.
Overall, it is an elliptical. Im just disappointed that it doesnt have the perks that were listed in the product information. Of course, I could be wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 510 Elliptical

Though many positive reviews...Never Buy this!

01/06/2014
By ,
Tupelo , MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took a risk buying this even after many negative reviews. Realized it later, its no worth of time and money. aligning the parts is easy. But just after 10-15 strides it started making dunking noise. Did not stop even after re-greasing it. Well not sure should I blame the quality of equipment or not.
Though it says 14 resistance levels, you wont realize the difference between levels, even the maximum level is dead easy to stride.
No adapter nor battery included! need to order separately!
Better to invest few more dollars and buy a good one!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next