Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

This Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone provides you with the features you need and even calls 411. No high-speed Internet or landline is required with this Straight Talk Home Phone, and it is compatible with your existing corded or cordless phone. With this Straight Home Phone, you can also keep your current number or get a new one. This Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone is a portable wireless device and service plans are sold separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.156 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(623 Reviews) 577
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
373
4 stars
135
3 stars
24
2 stars
21
1 star
70
Customer Recommendation86%534 out of 623reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
901 Questions | 1,887 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
373
4 stars
135
3 stars
24
2 stars
21
1 star
70
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

great product good price

08/25/2014
By ,
ws , nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
had it for one week so far no problems what so ever
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Irregular service & terrible customer service

08/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this in jan 2013. ported my old number (took a week) and began using the service. It was a great deal only $15 a month verses $50. It worked good for almost a year and then started having issues. Sometimes you couldn't place a call no dial tone,sometimes you couldn't receive a call. It would go to a voice mail that you cannot turn off or adjust the number of rings before it picked up.I would unplug the battery and plug it back in to let the unit reset and would work for a few hours to a few days, and then start with the same problems. I called customer service and after getting to the right department they would have me do the same thing. put in a code to re program the unit. I did this 6 times over a couple of months. Every time I would call all they could tell me was put in this same code. And I would be calling again within a few days. I even purchased another unit and set it up. within a few days the same problems. I have a good signal coming to the unit and have tried it in several locations in my home but same problems. Apparently customer service including tech support have a written script to tell customers and have no way of helping beyond that script.
I would not recommend this product.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

beats the other guys service

08/19/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hard to set up as the web page kept locking up. had to set the system up and port in my old number via the customer service site [by phone]. I will continue to evaluate as time goes on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Great home phone

08/17/2014
By ,
Marion, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely satisfied!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Good Idea but has major peoblems

08/14/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Straight talk advertises that you can bring your own phone and number with you. But that isn't always the case. I had a Land Line phone and I wanted to use it with my existing phone number. The phone was not a problem, but they could not port my number to straight Talk. They said my number was not compatible with their system. I spent more than 3 hours trying to find out why my number with Frontier Communications was not compatible with Straight Talk. They would not give me a reasonable answer.
Part of the problem is that I was talking with people from South Africa, Guatemala, the Philippines etc. With the help of a computer whiz I was able to get the phone number for the corporate Head Quarters in Florida. After talking with this individual he stated that if my old phone would have had a Sim card that the number could have been ported over. (Sounds like a cel phone to me, I don't know if the average land line phone uses Sim cards)
So I asked about returning their system and he promptly connected me back to somebody in Guatemala. (Most of these people have accents that range from hard to very difficult to understand)
My experience with the Straight Talk Home Phone system has been a disaster. Nice idea, but not really functional in all situations.
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

3 hours and its going back

08/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've gotten a run around for 10 days and it still isn't active due too no ones fault but straight talks
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

We're pleased over the first five months

08/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We set this up because cable telephone fails during power outages, and our cable telephone cost increased to over $52 per month. I did have language barrier on one call to support, but S.T.-Tracfone did call us every day for over 20 days while the cable company delayed number porting. Despite the horror stories in certain reviews, I give customer service a six grade out of a possible five stars! We did have to keep our old provider that extra 20 days, but Straight Talk advanced our S.T. account for those 20 days once the port was complete.
Why four stars out of five? Cellular by its nature is less clear; not the provider's fault, but the factor needs to be taken into account. Also there's no caller name under Caller ID, just the number -- not a problem for me, but this may be notable for some. In the end this device paid for itself in less than three months, and my monthly cost now is $15.94 including our state sales tax. To us that's a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

lots of hype, little truth

08/07/2014
By ,
bristol, ct
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
purchased Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone modem on line. Trying to save some cash on my home phone bill, and get a service that was not connected to DSL. ATTEMPTED to activate service on a Sat./Sun. evening/morning. Didn't get my # transferred and service working for 6 days! Though their ads indicate how simple, quick and easy it is suppose to be. And the paperwork included with the modem, indicates that activation usually takes a few minutes to a few hours, in some cases 2 business days. My experience was way off the charts! I don't have a cell phone or any other phone available for use, so this left me without any phone access for 6 days, very annoying and frustrating! Now that the service is actually "working" the connection is horrible! Even though my phone is on max volume, I can barely hear whomever is on the other end, the connection seems weak and low, and there is crackling on the line. I contacted ST customer service multitudes of time and found the majority of them to be impatient, unhelpful and rude! Even though I told them I had no other phone, they told me on several occasions to call customer service, which meant borrowing someone else's cell phone, or leaving the house to use someone else's phone, or try to find a public phone! I am unimpressed and unsatisfied with the switch. With all the advancements we are supposedly making in technology, I can't believe the aggravating hassle I had to endure, simply to switch my phone service!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Love this phone...BUT...

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
**&* landline prices are ever increasing, so I decided to tell them "buh-bye!"
For less than the price for 1 month of **&* landline, I was able to purchase this phone & 1 month of service...from now on my phone bill will be just $15.00 a month!!!
My old number ported to this phone in 2 business days. I have a cordless phone with 3 extra handsets, and they all work perfectly with this system. The sound quality is better than before...I had to decrease the volume on my phones! I am very happy with the sevice, and with straight talk customer service!
Now for the "but"...I ordered this online, shipped to my home, to save a trip into town...(my purpose in ordering online, was to save a trip to my local store. I have a broken shoulder, & I am not allowed to drive at this time)
I was unable to activate it, because apparently WalMart online shipping DOES NOT scan this type of electronics before shipping! I had to have someone make a special trip to my local store, so I could "return it & re-buy it" to get a register scan on it, so it could be activated.
I give this phone highest ratings, but if you order it from WalMart online, have it shipped to the store (you'll have to make a trip there with it anyway) & MAKE SURE THEY SCAN IT AT A REGISTER!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Sounds great.

07/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got one for me and one for my sister, setting it up was easy, nice size, nice and loud. nice and bright, no static can hear great. It is new but so far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Good way to save money

07/31/2014
By ,
Indianola,IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, if your only line of commuication is a landline, this may not be for you. For $15 dollars a month I can put up with a few dropped calls or a little echo. We really haven't had many problems with it. Most people say we sound like we are on a cell phone. Which makes sense as this system runs off a cell tower. We live in a valley area, even with a moderate signal, our reception has been good. Keep the hub as far from your wi-fi as possible and place as near to a window as you can. I wish the hub costs a little less, but wal-mart sometimes sells them for $50 on black Friday. Regardless, I am saving at least $40 off my bundle deal I had with my dish company by dropping my landline. I think the system is well worth the investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Will not activate

07/30/2014
By ,
Cynthiana, Ky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I tried to activate this unit straight talk tells me it was not scanned and I need to take it back!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Great for the money

07/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this phone for 3 months and i am very pleased with the service. very affordable too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Perfect alternative to expensive landline

07/29/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a straight talk cell phone user for over 3 years I was eager to say goodbye to the cable line telephone. With Hulu and Netflix beating out cable by a long shot I still wanted a home phone. Porting the number took about 5 days but everything transferred over smoothly, straight talk contacted me and let me know when the transition would be made. After dialing the *22890 to program the phone everything worked perfectly. I have my original number ported from my cable company and now have a $15 dollar phone bill. Easy as pie. The service is clear and works like a charm. If you are hesitant to make the switch, don't be. Stop feeding the phone and cable companies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Beats Internet-based and Landline Phones

07/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The landline carrier kept jacking up prices without warning which is why we cancelled our landline service over a year ago. We switched to an Internet-based service that constantly required resetting the interphase box and nobody could hear us anyway. Finally, we tried StraightTalk and our friends and family can hear us again. StraightTalk has been a major improvement compared to where we've been and the price is unbeatable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Great Product at a great price!!

07/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this phone! Actually I ordered it for m sister and she loves it! I think it is a great phone and the price is fabulous!!! You cannot beat the $15 a month for national calls or the $30 a month for international cards simply unheard of! I highly recommend!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Great Product!

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I placed the order for this product at our local walmart because they were out of stock. The cashier placed the order to walmart.Com and had it shipped directly to my home. Package arrived in 5 days. Upon setup of the device, we never could get it to work. When I called Straight Talk represenative, I was told I had to take the phone BACK to my local walmart to have it scanned. Really???? Walmart had to buy my device back from me then resell it to me again so it could be scanned! Really???? Finally activated once we got back home. Service is great, signal is great, happy with the overall product. I would advise to drive the eXtra miles to a walmart than to order from Walmart. Com.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TX
Same problem!!
Posted 07/31/2014
My device arrived yesterday, and when I tried to activate it, it said that I entered an "invalid serial number". Called Straight Talk and was told that I have to take it to Wal-Mart, to have it scanned! Never heard of anything so stupid!! They need to write in their description, that if you order it from Walmart.com you WILL be inconvenienced, because you will have to drive to the store, get a refund, then re-buy it so they can scan it. Such nonsense!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
ditto
Posted 07/28/2014
I had the same problem...ordered it online, had to make a special trip to "return it, and re-buy it"! grrrr...so much for the "convenience" of purchasing this item online! LOVE this product though!
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 38 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Love it

07/20/2014
By ,
wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful phone system for only $15.00 per month. It includes caller ID, call waiting, unlimited nationwide long distance, and 3 way calling. What a bargain.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Great product!!!!

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You would think the product wouldn't work properly like there would be flaws but its definitely and GREAT product calls are crystal clear. I would and have recommended this device. 15 dollars a month you can't beat it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Every day the box blinks stating I'm not connected

07/15/2014
By ,
Hendersonville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have no problem with my cable company Morris Broadband. My internet and cable TV work fine. I have to unplug most wires and plug them in again, and then it seems to work fine. Why does this happen all the time?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Springfield, MO
More info?
Posted 07/21/2014
This device has nothing to do with cable TV or internet service; I'm not sure what you mean by "connected". Which light(s) are blinking? The square blue light on the top of the Straight Talk home phone shows power on/off. The lights on the front - from left to right - are for: 1)voicemail, 2)battery charge, and 3 & 4)signal strength. These shouldn't be affected by removing and reconnecting wires.
Here is a link to the manual with photos:
http://img.deviceanywhere.com/tracfone/pub/30000/docs/SG%20EN.pdf
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
21-40 of 578 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next