Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

This Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone provides you with the features you need and even calls 411. No high-speed Internet or landline is required with this Straight Talk Home Phone, and it is compatible with your existing corded or cordless phone. With this Straight Home Phone, you can also keep your current number or get a new one. This Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone is a portable wireless device and service plans are sold separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(521 Reviews) 475
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
311
4 stars
121
3 stars
20
2 stars
16
1 star
53
Customer Recommendation87%455 out of 521reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
795 Questions | 1,609 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
311
4 stars
121
3 stars
20
2 stars
16
1 star
53
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Not what I expected for the price.

04/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The telephone has a lot of static and it is very hard to understand people. On speaker phone forget it, you have no idea what others are saying... I would not recommend this as I am very disappointed with it's operation.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Great replacement for the land line.

03/17/2014
By ,
Holland Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My land line wasn't working and when I called repair they told me they would get to it in a week. It was over a week before the fixed it. In the meant time I decided it was time to try Straight Talk out!!
I purchased this home phone thinking I would need an external antenna and amplifer to make it work. The signal level in my home for Verizon is not great. With our cell phones we have move around to keep a call going. With the Straight Talk Home Phone we get one blinking LED and at times it will go solid, indicating weak to ok signal. When I make a call it just plain works. Doesn't matter about weak signal level. Audio quality is great, better than my land line in some instances. I wish I had tried this out a year ago. I picked mine up at the local store and bought a card for the month. Went home and set it up with a new number. Four days later I had my land line number transferred over to the Straight Talk.. Saving $65/month using Straight Talk!! Just Love It!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Great Product

01/02/2014
By ,
Harlem, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took 2 business days to port home number from AT&T, but I was notified 3 times of the time it would happen. I was very pleased with the way Straight Talk handled the transaction. Everything worked perfect. Verizon has good signal here and the voice quality is very good. You can set the device near a window, hook up your wireless answering system, place phones thru out the house and you are good to go. You can use the Verizon answering service for voice mail, or the one on your home phone. I opted to use my home phone answering system because I get notification on each wireless phone if I have a voice message. The voice answering system on the device will light up blue, but you have to look at the device to see it. If you have placed the device near a window out of the way, that is not convenient. The power on and signal lights are very bright with the room light off and can be annoying. I placed scotch tape over the lights and darkened with a magic marker. Now they are perfect. Overall, very happy so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+104points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Clanton, Alabama
100% correct!
Posted 03/02/2014
Larry, I totally agree with your review. My experience went exactly the same. Mine has worked great for nearly 5 months now.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

straight talk home phone no internet needed

02/09/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This straight talk home phone is great for someone computer illiterate with, no use for an internet connection -and really not savvy with cell phones. THIS is the perfect alternative. Sure beats the cost of a land line and straight talk has most of the toys included. Seems to be working great and not difficult to set up - after the initial investment of $80.00 only $15.00 a month gives you unlimited national telephone calls - $30. for international. You can buy the refill cards at Walmart and fill from the phone. Since the costs of internet and phone keep rising with really no competition this is something to seriously think about. I understand that it functions with Verizon 4G. AT&T is a competitor to this but given their bad rep I would stay away. Besides AT&T costs less at initial investment but more per month. I would like to state I do not own this product but set up for someone else. He reports that I am his "phone angel".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

I love this Wireless Home Phone !! Great !

01/01/2014
By ,
Portland, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a Great Concept !! I have been using this since April 2013 and not one
problem. 9 months now. You do need a good cell phone signal, which I have.
Never a dropped call or a weak scratchy call. I am in southern Maine.
Unlimited long distance calls in the USA.
And all this for about $16.50 per month with tax and the E911 fee of 99 cents.
The back-up battery inside lasts at least 24 hours if you have a power outage,
but you must connect a basic non-wireless home phone during the outage.
It felt so good to drop my land line carrier (Fairpoint) which was about $27 per
month for basic service with No long distance, No caller ID, etc.
Every 3 months I purchase 3 refill cards at WalMart and enter the ID #'s online.
The Straight Talk system holds them on file and uses them as needed.
And I can transport this unit to my vacation home on weekends and have my
primary phone number there for the duration.
I'm SOLD on this product !! Thanks Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Horrible experience

12/12/2013
By ,
OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I bought this phone, I decided I would buy prepaid cards each month instead of paying with my credit card online. So when I called to set up my phone, I was surprised they asked so much personal information. They asked for all my contact info, my birth date, and my social security number! Plus, the guy on the phone was rude. When he asked for my social, I told him I didn't give out my social over the phone and said I'd rather set up my phone online. I asked him to erase the info I gave him in the system so I could do it online. He said he did, but when I went online it wouldn't let me activate the phone because it said it was already in the system. So, I called again and finally got someone to erase me out of the system so I could go online. When I went online, it also asked for my social security number. I don't see why that is necessary. I'm not setting up a monthly bill, I'm paying with prepaid cards! So, I returned the phone to Walmart. It's not worth the hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Adamsville, AL
Straight Talk
Posted 04/07/2014
Being on a limited income, I thought this would be a great value for me. I read all the features and decided to buy it. I haveno concerns on the service, it is fine BUT......the main reason that sold me was the fact that 411 was included at no extra charge. I am visually impaired and I am unable to look up numbers in a directory. Since having the Straight talk...I have TRIED to use the 411 feature unsucessfully...it is horrible. It is an automated system and no way to get in touch with a live operator. It says over and over "Sorry I didn't get that"....I do speak English very well but sadly the people you speak with at Straight Talk don't. They get short with you and offer no help. I have notified the FCC and they are checking into the matter. I HAVE to have 411 due to my disability...other than that...Straigt Talk is a good value.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/14/2014
If you were transferring your phone number, you have to give them the last 4 digits of your SS # so your previous phone company can verify it is you. All they asked me for were the last 4 digits.
+9points
Customer Avatar
midwest
I was never asked for Social Security #
Posted 12/17/2013
I registered 2 of these devices (one for my mother and one for myself) and I was NEVER asked to provide our social security numbers. I registered online and activated them on online. I did not transfer our landline phone numbers but went ahead with getting new phones numbers on each unit. Maybe they ask for a social security number if you are trying to keep your old landline phone number and if you are trying to transfer over your old number to the straight talk home phone unit so they can verify you are truly the owner of the old landline phone number.
+14points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Better than Verizon Home Phone

12/10/2013
By ,
WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Coming from using the Verizon Home Phone Connect the first thing you notice is the lower price yet this is still using the Verizon network while the key to this service out performing Verizon's is the Straight Talk Black Box itself, it is much bigger and of superior design which makes this service work where Verizon won't...the antenna is much bigger, a lot more circuits, sim card capable and all around a much more complex device that simply does everything better than the Verizon Box.
You can still take your phone with you and still have 3 hours talk time with the battery backup.
Customer service is far better than Verizon because YOU DON'T NEED IT while setup was a bit dodgy (poor instructions) but ultimately a bit of patience I got it going in about 45 minutes.
The Website for Straight Talk is just lousy and slower than slow so if you need to know your account balance just dial the toll free number and you can get what you need easily.
Ultimately, Customer service is a bit rough but the phone works where Verizon's would not.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Good But Beware Of International Calls

02/13/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nationwide Calls: Fantastic. Better than having VoIP phones.
International Calling: BEWARE!!!! Straight Talk advertises "free unlimited calling" to many destinations (including Dominican Republic and Mexico). This is what I discovered:
Mexico -including to cellphones: Calls were connected easily. No issues detected.
Dominican Republic (Land-lines Only): Unable to connect. Not one of the numbers I tried to call were connected, including the calls to the American Consulate in Santo Domingo.
This morning I contacted Customer Service and asked them about this issue and the ST representative could tell me was "Sorry but those numbers in Dominican Republic cannot be called".
I told the representative to contact the appropriate department of their company and tell them to list the Dominican prefixes that can be reached with Straight Talk Home Phone or, otherwise, remove the name "Dominican Republic" from their calling destinations advertisement because that represents a misleading add.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+215points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Baltimore
Report Message
Posted 04/07/2013
Sorry. Message is fine. My error.
vlb4
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

So far, So good!

02/28/2014
By ,
central MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just set this up yesterday. We live in a rural area where Verizon cell phones work the best, so I was encouraged that this product uses the Verizon network. I was leery of giving up our land line till I knew this worked, so I set it up with a new number first. I found the on line setup process to be easy and quick. (I am 60 and moderately technical.) It worked! My husband said I sounded better on it than on our land line. Then, I used chat to port my old number. Initially I was 23rd in line at chat and the estimation was a 15 min. wait. The wait ended up being less than 3 minutes. The chat contact was able to get everything going to port my number. 2 hours later, I got a call and was told that my land line company would port my old number to the Straight Talk Home Phone on 3/3 at 1pm. Until then, we have our old land line. I will review again if we find there are any snags; but, so far, the voice quality was good and the set up easy. I look forward to signing up for automatic, monthly payments if the first month goes well. One less bill in the mail. One less thing to remember. AND we are saving $30 a month! (Figuring in the cost of the machine, we will break even after 3 months.) Yea!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Great alternative to land line phone service

07/29/2013
By ,
Morrisville PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone service two months ago. It arrived in the time Walmart said it would. It took me approx. 10 mins. to totally set everything up, very easy installation. Just followed the instructions on the booklet and called to set up the answering service, which activated the system, it was so simple. We have Verizon Fios and so the connection is superb. The reception is clear and you would not know it was a wireless system. I just hooked up our house phone to the system and all our programed numbers are intact. I am a senior citizen and in all my years of phone service I have never had one that was so affordable. $15. a month and taxes and surcharges total $1.15. I am amazed.
I do not like using the cell phones as the younger generations do so this is great for me, I still have a house phone.
One other plus, we have eliminated all the nuisance calls. The only calls we now receive are from people we have given the number to.
I would recommend this phone to all my friends and family. I am so totally pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+175points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Terrible Setup Experience

08/02/2013
By ,
Racine, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought straight talk for my folks who wanted to save money on their land line which was costing them about $35/mo. I brought the unit to their home and tried to set it up. I called the 800 number provided and had nothing but trouble. The first operator was difficult to understand but even worse, she did not know what she was doing. She kept putting me on hold so she could ask her manager how to proceed. Finally I asked to talk directly to the manager figuring that would save some time. If the first operator was difficult to understand, the manager was worse. I finally asked to talk to an American operator. They must not have one because the third one was just as bad as the last. But even though most of my problems were language based, what I did get was that they did not understand what I wanted to do which was port over a traditional AT&T land line. It was like they had never done that before even though Walmart advertises that capacity all the time.
Stay away from Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

No problems at this point

10/17/2013
By ,
Crown Point, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We dropped our landline (VOIP service) with a major provider in order to save on the monthly bill. It took a couple business days to port our number but it was done successfully and service begun on the day Straight Talk said that it would be started. Audio quality is not perfect but is certainly acceptable and about equal to our major provider service. The only disappointment is that the caller ID feature is by number only, not number and name. We can live with that in order to save about $30 per month. Be advised that this service does not support data/fax service so if you need to send a fax from home you will need to learn to send "computer faxes" which can be done with free programs. If the monthly service remains at $15, this is a wonderful way to save on your monthly phone bill while having a fully functional and quality phone service. You might give up just a little but you will save a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Great deal for me

02/07/2014
By ,
Statesville North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great for me just a couple of things to take in consideration. Frist make sure Verizon cell phones works in you area, if it does and has good coverage your set. Second thing make sure you have a good signal in the room you put it in and you do have the option to mount it on the wall. Since most people will use cordless phones in the other rooms of house make sure you use the newer phones that have the Dect. 6.0, they work on freq. of 1.9GHz which want have the interference form other wireless products in the house, the older phones work on 2.4GhZ which will pick up noise form other wireless device in the area. For $15 a month you get call waiting, call forwarding, 3 way calling, caller ID and voice mail and long distance, AT&T charges $29 a month for just local calling. One other thing I would call them to set this up it is easier then doing it online and it will take 1 to 2 business days to port you number if you choose to keep you number, I did mine on a Sunday and it was finished on Tuesday night. If you have your internet with your phone they might cut it off so check before you do it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Great system to have! Will save you money!!

05/26/2013
By ,
Snow Hill, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my mom to save on her telephone bill. I ported her old telephone number online through straight talk from centurylink. (I tried to get her to get a new number but she would not hear of it!! Go figure!!) It took about two days for the number to be ported but she could still use her phone with centurylink during the porting process. Once the number was ported, I just keyed in the number for service with straight talk and the set up was easy. Now she can call nationwide without having an expensive phone bill. It's hard to imagine having a phone bill for less than $16 a month with taxes!! U do the math!! If I ever decided to get another home phone, it will be through straight talk. I have been with straight talk wireless for 4 yrs. and the service has been great. I make sure the phones I purchase uses AT&T or Verizon towers/networks for the area I live in. It feels good to have a phone bill for less than $47 a month with taxes.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Perfect alternative to a home land line phone

03/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This device is awesome. It saves me about $30/mo. It uses Verizon cell towers. I ported my AT&T land line number which can take awhile. A customer rep called me from Straight Talk and told me they had put in the request and in two days at 1pm EST AT&T would release the number and I could activate the device. It worked. The volume is louder and there is less line noise (hissing and clicking) than the old land line. Once and awhile you do hear a small echo similar to a regular cell phone, still much better than my old land line. I connected my home base phone which allows for four cordless phones and they all work. Caller ID, if a caller's name is in my base phonebook it will appear (with the number) on the phone display, otherwise only the number appears.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Works even with very little signal!

02/06/2014
By ,
michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a Cell Dead Zone, okay yes there are still some out there. Most cell phones get no signal with in our home, walk outdoors and you get very little signal. When we bought this I admit I was scared if I turned it on and transferred our main number it wouldn't work so we'd lose the number. Finally I got brave and so glad I did, with auto-fill or auto-pay I only pay $16.77 (taxes) for a month rather than $50 or more. Unit is better then I could have hoped for here, with no real signal it sits in our window and get good enough signal to work perfectly fine. Even on bad weather days, and the backup when power goes out is great! Just grab a phone with a cord and plug it in to dial. Straight Talk did this one right by not needing high speed internet to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Works as stated. Would buy again.

01/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this the straight talk home services thru walmart.com and picked up in the store since this was the best price. We were looking to get out of a high monthly phone payment thru our cable provider. You can't go wrong with $15 per month, plus the cost of the system. For most people you will come out ahead after 4 or 5 months of use. Reception has not been a problem for us since we get good cell phone coverage in our home. We had a couple of hick-ups in the initial set up, the online process froze at the very end, resulting in a 30-45 min call to straighttalk in which we had to redo everything. That was a minor issue however and they were able to resolve the issue for us. Number was ported over without trouble. Overall a good buy and I would recommend to others as long as you get good cell phone signal in your home :).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Great Product...

03/16/2014
By ,
Orem, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Purchased for my mother who is in an assisted living facility. She was being gouged by CenturyLink for $76.00 p/month for a land line. I was able to easily install this device and now her bill will be $16.50 p/month with the taxes. One thing to pay careful attention to is to totally plug the power plug into the back of the unit. The unit will come on and act like it is going to function but will cut off after a few minutes. This is because the unit is running off of battery back-up power...and the battery was only partially charged when I installed it. After I discovered that the power plug was not totally plugged into the back...the unit has functioned perfectly and the clarity is remarkable. I would recommend this device to anyone wanting to save a ton on phone expenses.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Excellent for many reasons

04/05/2014
By ,
white plains
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent device and support. Voice quality is excellent, support to back it up and an easy to use web site. Once set up it is equal to a regular phone in all respects. It operates without the need or extra expense of an internet connection. It can help deflect the cost of going over your minutes on your cell phone and even pay for itself in that respect. It can give you that second phone number to help keep only your important contacts on your cell phone number and the ones you rather not have off your cell phone. Your current phone number can be transferred ( ported ) to it without a problem in a few days so everyone can still reach you at the " same old number ". A credit card account is not needed if you buy the phone cards for it and you can add as many cards ( time ) as you want whenever you want. Overall a great device and a bargain also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Wireless Home Phone

Works like a charm

05/26/2013
By ,
Camas, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mounted it in the window of my river-front house looking over the river and get just about perfect reception (Camas WA). Works better than i ever thought. Wired it directly thru my original home phone system so I have 3 cordless phones upstairs, an antique princess phone, (can receive calls on that one but can't dial out on a non-touch old dial style phone) and downstairs have 3 Vtech cordless phones and another old dial~out antique that i can talk on but not dial out of course. Call forwarding works perfectly using *72Number and *73to release. Uses the VZN network without the drama of dealing with Verizon (that's another story for another day). Compliments my ST iphone perfectly. Learned about it from a retired Electrical Engineer that dabbles in this stuff and has one in his RV. When i travel i'll take it with me and put it in my RV and just hook it up to the batteries instead of porting my home # over to a cell like i uesd to have to do
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 476 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next