Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gateway Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gateway Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

The Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop exists to fulfill one goal: to be just what you need. This everyday, everywhere Windows 7 Home Premium laptop is simple to use, letting you focus on your tasks at hand. And this B820 Intel Celeron Processor laptop delivers the time-tested technologies you desire even as it offers the kind of efficiencies you love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.411 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(146 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
32
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation90%131 out of 146reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
32
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Really nice computer

01/10/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, this thing got here like 2 days early, do big kudos on the shipping!
I am not super tech savvy, so I can only talk to my experience and usage. The computer is clean and looks brand new, would never know it was refurbished. It is faster than my last computer, even though it is pretty much the same as the Compaq it replaced. I have always been a Compaq fan, but this Gateway has changed my mind. The screen is bright, has great resolution and is big enough for eyes that need reading glasses on other computers.
I have had it a couple of weeks and it is working really well and has no problems with any apps or hardware. I upgraded to Windows 8 and it works really well on this computer, but still on a learning curve with the OS so I can't say for sure that I will remain in love. I can say that I can play games online, social media, emails, edit websites, write my book and everything else I do without any issues. At this point would absolutely buy again and recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 2 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

GREAT!

12/06/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was in need of a laptop to take around with me and a little netbook wasn't going to do and this laptop was a great bargain for the price!!Has hdmi port to plug in your hd devices,3GB of memory,dvd-cdRW,3 usb port,plenty of hard drive space,great looking hd LCD screen,wi-fi built in ,and built in webcam!My advice to do FIRST THING is buy some blank DVDs and burn system recovery discs.They will restore your system should anything go wrong.And second,please get rid of the Norton anti virus and get one of the better FREE anti-malware anti-virus programs like Avast! or Anvisoft.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+69points
Review 3 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
12/03/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased one for both myself and husband, and so far so good. It was a great value for the brand, the only issue I have is on both of the computers the front panel on both are partially open, not sure if this is because of it being refurbished, but even with this, they both work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 4 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Very Good Laptop!

03/01/2013
By ,
Savannah,Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received in the mail a few days earlier than expected and my daughter really appreciated that!It looks practically brand new I can't even see the slightest bit of wear or tear on it.I live in a two story home and my daughter uses it upstairs for her own use and the wifi and everything works great.Videos stream lovely and boots up quick.This has been my first gateway laptop i've ever bought and it is definetly worth every penny wal-mart is selling it for because it is superb.There is no lag between anything,Dvd's play well and also burns em good too.Battery works great,Holds a good couple hours of charge.Webcam is also a plus,My daughter loves using it to talk to friends and close relatives.All in all I think it's great and would highly reccomend to any one or parent to please a computer greedy Teen lol.Also the Windows 7 loaded on it is a great platform,much better than vista and 8 in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Might as well be brand-new

11/28/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been a while since I've upgraded my system, so I might have had low expectations, but I'm very pleased with this laptop and feel it was an excellent value. The machine is super quick, has great picture and sound, and has a bright, clear screen that's even easy to use outside in the sun. Everything worked perfectly right out of the box, and the system has been refurbished so thoroughly I can't even tell it isn't brand new.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+124points
Review 6 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great deal if you need a basic computer.

02/21/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an adult returning to college and on a tight budget so I needed a laptop, but cheap! This fit the bill. It's not fancy, but it works and does what I need it to. It has nice display and lots of memory. I was a bit put out by the keyboard, it has the numbers off to the right side and so it squeezes the letters together, but I have gotten used to it. I haven't noticed any glitches, but I have only had a few weeks. This will be the second refurbished computer I have purchased from Walmart, the first one is a desktop for the family and I have had that one for almost a year and it has had no problems. Who ever is the third party that "fixes up" the returned computers seems to do a good job for Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
01/03/2013
By ,
Spartanburg, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to say that this is a good sturdy computer. I have three kids so every once and a while it gets knocked around but it does hold up. I am how ever going to be upgrading the memory from a 3GB to an 8GB just because i am a student and have to download a lot of information on a daily bases. Also if you want to play video games the graphics are actually pretty good. It holds up well and their are not many glitches. I think though by upgrading my memory the computer will be able to handle all the information that is going threw the processor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Computer was like brand new and works wonderful

01/23/2013
By ,
Andover, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't bother with installing Windows 8 though...I did and it's about to get removed. Windows 7 works much better and is so much less of a headache.
This laptop is/was great with just windows 7. It's not the fastest laptop on the market, but for the price, it can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 9 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Love this gateway

12/06/2012
By ,
clintion
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i know this laptop is not new. but it is a good one . i love windows 7 i'm glad it dont have windows 8 .becouse windows 8 is no good at all.i think windows 7 is the best and faster.it say it dont have no Support and Warranty: but if u look on line it say it as 90 days of Support and Warranty:
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 10 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Smooth performance at a GREAT price!

01/30/2013
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a Birthday/Christmas gift for my girlfriend. After doing hours of comparing laptops online I decided on this one. And I couldn't be happier. It offers a great balance of upscale features such as the dual layer DVD burner, integrated webcam, card reader, HDMI output, 320GB hard drive, 3GB of memory, and more at an unbeatable price. I was a little concerned about how the Intel Celeron B820 processor was going to perform, but my worries have been put to rest by how smooth the system runs. It does everything we need it to do smoothly and quickly. And I also was a little hesitant about buying a refurbished item, but again my worries were a moot point as the unit looked absolutely brand new when we unpacked it and has performed flawlessly since. I was thinking of upgrading my desktop, but after seeing how smooth this unit is I am seriously considering buying another one of these instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Fantastic computer for my 15 yr old grandson

01/02/2013
By ,
Calumet 'city, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer has exceed my expectations for price and quality. I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a computer that has a lot of the perks that a more expensive one has.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Very disappointed the computer did not work and ha

12/02/2012
By ,
Worcester, Ma.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The computer was purchased as a gift.
Some of the functions did not work and there is no support for refurbished computers.
We were able to return the computer, but were very disapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+21points
Review 13 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

I was skeptical

03/08/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical at first, not because it is refurbished but because it is a gateway. I've never had a gateway and usually when I think of good quality computers I think of dell or hp but I went along and got this because it was simply the cheapest and my mini hp laptop broke. The pictures on here do not give this computer justice. I'm so glad it has windows 7. It looks so nice and works great !! I'm still getting used to the multitouch pad and full keyboard but I love it. The sound isn't good on Netflix but everywhere else so far is alright. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a cheap yet NICE laptop
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Perfect for the price

12/05/2012
By ,
Buffalo,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great.. Worth the money, bought this for my 10 year old daughter, she loved it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 15 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

great deal

12/20/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Gateway laptop. I couldn't believe the price when I came across this deal.
Say what you like about Gateway PCs, they offer more for a lower price. HDMI, VGA, 3 USB, Ethernet (RJ-45), multi card reader, mic-in/speaker-out, AND around $100 LESS than other PCs with the same options.
With the "Easy Windows Transfer" offered by Microsoft now, I had it uploaded with all the files from my old PC (vista Home Premium) in just a few hours.
Can't beat the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 16 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great way to ease into the laptop scene!

03/06/2013
By ,
Milton, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, this thing has been just great. We needed a spare computer to check e-mail and to use for recipes in the kitchen. I don't want a "smart phone" because my "dumb phone" works just fine, I cannot imagine surfing the internet on a phone screen anyway, and I love this big monitor on this portable device. Battery seems to last an o.k. amount of time, but it really is not a big deal to plug this thing in. We have a converter for our car that things can get plugged into, so when the battery runs, we'll just plug the thing in.
I bought this for $298. It's my first laptop. We had considered replacing our desktop computer with a laptop the last time we had to purchase a new computer and I am glad we decided not to do that. The keyboard on a laptop is uncomfortable and awkward for a REAL typist like myself. Now, a kid today has typically never learned how to really use a keyboard using all four fingers and right thumb ... for a hunt and peck typist, a laptop keyboard probably doesn't feel any different than a regular one, but for those of us who learned to type in the stone age BEFORE computers there is a difference. I type 85 to 90 words a minute on a normal keyboard. That ain't gonna happen on this thing!
I love that this laptop came with Windows 7, and a number of other pre-loaded programs that are good enough for what I plan to use this thing for. Office Starter is on here and it is ample for my word-processing needs. There is no Powerpoint on "starter" so if that is what you are needing, you'll have to go ahead and buy the full Microsoft Office. I remember the old days when that was just included on your system when you bought it, but if you are a computer company and trying to look like your computers are WAY cheaper than your competition, making all of these things which should be standard "extra" options is a great way to stick it to your consumers. We're all held hostage by these people, so I'm not sure why I'm still ticked off about this. Oh, well.
The laptop itself is pretty big. I had looked at a netbook and probably would rather have had that size item, however, I wanted to be able to stick a movie into a DVD drive and not be all trying to worry about "streaming" movies straight to my laptop from the internet. I have no idea how that might work, how much memory I would need, how tech savvy I would have to be to make that happen so the simplicity of having a DVD movie and sticking it straight into the machine appeals to me. I don't want to be out here complaining about the lack of memory on my new laptop which is only 3gb expandable to 8gb whatever that means!
So, if you, like me, want to get a system plug it in and be surfing the moment this thing arrives at your home, this is the thing for you!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 17 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
12/22/2012
By ,
Danbury, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clean in working condition and fast delivery. I would not know is a refurbished computer.
Pros: a good price for a laptop with this specs.
Cons: none so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 18 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good investment for first time user.

01/30/2013
By ,
Allen Park,MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far this is GREAT NOTEBOOK my adult son has never had the need for a computer with his work so this is a first for him and so far he's very pleased
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

not a working computer

12/25/2012
By ,
Afghanistan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
difficult to use. constant windows blue screen and programs suddenly closing with no warning right out of the box.
also, the mouse pad quit working during the first week of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for Gateway Refurbished 15.6" NE56R10u Laptop PC with Intel Celeron B820 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
03/10/2013
By ,
kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this computer for only a week now, and I really like it. My old lap top was a Gateway like this one, so I'm very happy. I also wanted a windows seven. This lap top is refurbished, but you would never know it...nice and clean. I'd say if you need a laptop, try Walmarts refurbished ones. For the price you cannot go wrong.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 106 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next