Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Vizio Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Introducing the E-series slim frame design. The Vizio 42" Class 1080p LED HDTV 120Hz, E420i-A0 is shattering the mold in a way only Vizio can, with high-quality design and picture at the best value. Enjoy crystal-clear action and eye-popping images in 1080p Full HD and 120Hz effective refresh rate. A stunningly slim outer frame on this Vizio 42" LED Smart HDTV (3.23" ultra-slim) lets you enjoy TV with a narrower border around the picture for a more immersive experience. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Vizio 42" Class 1080p LED HDTV 120Hz, E420i-A0. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.539 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(523 Reviews) 440
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
361
4 stars
120
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation94%492 out of 523reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
136 Questions | 248 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
361
4 stars
120
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great product to replace 20+ yr old TV.

12/07/2013
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is the perfect size to fit in th space I have. It replaces a TV that is 20+ years old that is too heavy for me to lift. I am 80 yrs old and can move this TV by myself. I could set it up with my existing connections myself. With a HD connection I will get an even better picture. The sound leaves a lot to be desired, but I had read that thin TVs have this problem even before I purchased it. I read that a lot of people buy a separate sound system and that is something I will explore.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

love this tv !

05/01/2013
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv is not my first vizio so I expected a lot and was worried about some reviews. This was sure worth more than the price, quality is excellent both picture and sound. The set up was also super easy, and youtube/Netflix arw both easy streaming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

The best purchase I have made

12/07/2013
By ,
Mansfield, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This VIZIO Smart HDTV is simply beautiful. I can streamline from my MAC, I can use the built in SMART aps, such as Netflix, etc. It is easy to assemble and hook up to anything. I have it configured for both Cable and Wireless. Great sound even without additional speakers. It has a ton of choices on how you would like to view the picture such as zoom, panoramic, football (I know!), and other choices. Wonderful picture quality. Tons of features. Best purchase I have ever made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Pleased with the purchase

03/20/2013
By ,
Brenham, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart delivered the product in about 5 days after purchase. Set up was fairly easy. The service department is great at Vizio. Had a problem hooking up our Blu-ray player and called Vizio and they walked us through set-up. Overall, we couldn't be more pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hot Springs, AR
Shuts off by itself
Posted 08/08/2013
I have been pleased with this tv except it shuts off by itself. It only does it when I am using Netflix app. It hasn't happened on regular tv but we watch mostly Netflix. The tech told me to unplug it and plug it back in. Usually that helps but the last week or so it isn't working by doing that. We know it's going to happen when the picture freezes, then bam tv off.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 85 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Very good tv!

03/14/2013
By ,
Cullman, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture is excellent, the led is great, the auto screen brightness works great too ,the SRS surround sound is very loud, and crisp in the living room. The apps work great and good speed to run them all quickly. Very good tv for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

I found that this product is one of the best...

03/09/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found that for the money that this is one of the best HDTV's on the market. I would be more than happy to recommend this Vizio HDTV to my friends and family. I think, no I know that I will buy more Vizio product in 2013...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great TV for the price

11/29/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the most part this is the tv that I wanted. The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 is because I don't believe there is an auto off feature after the tv detects there is no incoming signal from a device. My Scepter 32" TV has this option. This tv has great picture quality. The speakers sound pretty decent as we'll. Way better than the Scepter model that I have. This tv is hooked up to a Vizio 2.1 sound bar as we'll.
Definitely worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Good value for the price

12/09/2013
By ,
South Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was my first Smart TV purchase. This allows us to stop using the PS3 for streaming and was surprised at the other streaming options that were available. We paid for the item online, cheaper, and picked it up at the store the same day. It was easy to set up and we started watching right away. The buttons on the remote are a bit small for me but perfect for my wife. All in all I am happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

For the price, you get high quality

02/11/2013
By ,
McKinney Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The customer service one order and picked was excellent. Best yet that I have received when picking up. It always seems that when I order online, the pick up is horrible among other stores... thank you for it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

My First Smart TV.

05/15/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv as a gift to myself! I've had this tv for one full day so far. I am soooo happy with my choice after looking long online, staring long at tv's in the store and hopping from one store to the next (Im a bit indecisive and picky when Im spening money). I finally made my choice to fit my budget without going way over my head and found something modern to fit my lifestyle. There is nothing I can say negative so far about my new purchase. I wanted to leave a review so early so if there was something that came about, I could reflect back on this moment and so could anyone reading these. I also read reviews before buying so I know how important another person's reactions are when making decisions on buying something more than just a couple bucks. You want to make sure you get your moneys worth without being concerned with the term "you get what you pay for". Even though this tv was affordable and inexpensive for a "SMART TV", its still is a chunk out the bank account. In my opinion, the price couldve been more than $498 (with tax I got it for $530 and some change) considering the value of the tv. I dont regret my decision not one bit. GO FOR IT!! You will NOT be disappointed. Vizio's arent nowhere near bad like Ive heard a few people say. Dont knock it til you try it! My lovely new found distraction!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Good TV for the price

05/03/2013
By ,
Sand Springs, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value brand TV. My third Vizio. I did like the M-series better, but not $100 better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

A great tv for a great price

01/01/2014
By ,
Northwest OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were forced into replacing our Sony Flat Screen due to a freak malfunctioning satellite box. We read numerous reviews and checked out lots of TV's in a variety of markets, online and locally. Vizio had an awesome picture and Walmart had the best deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

A great TV for the average person

11/17/2013
By ,
Mattituck NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The TV I got from Walmart was $20.00 more but came with a bunch of APPs like Youtube and Yahoo. The picture is good and so is the sound. Easy to negotiate remote control and just a great value for the $478.00 I paid. I've been playing Youtube shorts and movies all day and having a great time with my new TV. No matter what TV I looked at for reviews there was some negative comments. I can't understand what people's expectations are? You can't go wrong with this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great Value!

08/26/2013
By ,
Cut and Shoot, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We took our time buying this TV. We compared several brands side by side and always came back to the same two. One was a major brand, and the other was the Vizio. We could see no difference between the two as far as picture and sound quality, so we chose the lower-priced Vizio. We have had it only a couple of weeks, but we have not been disappointed. It was easy to set up, and we really appreciate the ability to stream video from the internet through the built-in Wi-Fi, which eliminates the need for additional hardware. Overall, this appears to be a great purchase, and we would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

very good especially the sound

12/13/2013
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was expecting full internet. It is WiFi sure enough but it does not have a browser and you can not add channels outside what you are forced to which for the most part is based on Yahoo. Maybe i should have researched it some ore. Other than that this is a good product for the price. maybe they will get the hint and add browsing via software update.,
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV
03/14/2013
By ,
Bay City, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture quality could be better on non HD channels. A little dissapointed in that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

I recommend this TV

12/31/2013
By ,
Sacramento,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value.
Great picture quality.
This size TV is perfect for a duplex or 2 bedroom apartment or town home.
If you are not an incredibly pretentious individual with overcompensation issues this unit will suffice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

LED's are very clear.

03/08/2013
By ,
Cabot AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked at many models. This one was the best for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Bought this for my sister & it is wonderful

06/09/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my research and found this to have all the features I wanted, and had great reviews. Then I searched for Price, Walmart had the best, hands down, I had it delivered free, to the store in her area...it was quick, they had it the same day, and everything went smooth. Thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Just fits in my TV stand

02/26/2014
By ,
St. Joseph, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had been looking for a new TV. And looking on the internet I came across this one. When I found that this Company was American and as far as I could tell they were built in America, that made it a first priority of mine to check it out. I read many other reviews about this particular TV and decided that is what I wanted to purchase. After bringing home and setting it up it took a little work to get it connected to Wi-Fi. After trial and error I finally got it set up to the way I wanted. I am very pleased with this Television and would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a new one. I am looking at purchasing a sound bar in the future to make the sound even more better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 441 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  23 Next