Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Vizio Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Introducing the E-series slim frame design. The Vizio 42" Class 1080p LED HDTV 120Hz, E420i-A0 is shattering the mold in a way only Vizio can, with high-quality design and picture at the best value. Enjoy crystal-clear action and eye-popping images in 1080p Full HD and 120Hz effective refresh rate. A stunningly slim outer frame on this Vizio 42" LED Smart HDTV (3.23" ultra-slim) lets you enjoy TV with a narrower border around the picture for a more immersive experience. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Vizio 42" Class 1080p LED HDTV 120Hz, E420i-A0. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.539 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(523 Reviews) 440
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
361
4 stars
120
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation94%492 out of 523reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
136 Questions | 247 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
361
4 stars
120
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great product to replace 20+ yr old TV.

12/07/2013
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is the perfect size to fit in th space I have. It replaces a TV that is 20+ years old that is too heavy for me to lift. I am 80 yrs old and can move this TV by myself. I could set it up with my existing connections myself. With a HD connection I will get an even better picture. The sound leaves a lot to be desired, but I had read that thin TVs have this problem even before I purchased it. I read that a lot of people buy a separate sound system and that is something I will explore.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

The best purchase I have made

12/07/2013
By ,
Mansfield, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This VIZIO Smart HDTV is simply beautiful. I can streamline from my MAC, I can use the built in SMART aps, such as Netflix, etc. It is easy to assemble and hook up to anything. I have it configured for both Cable and Wireless. Great sound even without additional speakers. It has a ton of choices on how you would like to view the picture such as zoom, panoramic, football (I know!), and other choices. Wonderful picture quality. Tons of features. Best purchase I have ever made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Love Vizio products

11/09/2013
By ,
Panama City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture. Does not have component connection for older DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

A great tv for a great price

01/01/2014
By ,
Northwest OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were forced into replacing our Sony Flat Screen due to a freak malfunctioning satellite box. We read numerous reviews and checked out lots of TV's in a variety of markets, online and locally. Vizio had an awesome picture and Walmart had the best deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

This is a very, very good TV!

06/25/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not the biggest, but I had to fit into a specific space and this was all that I could fit.
Setup was very easy. HDMI is the way to go and this has plenty of ways to hookup items to display. This is my first Smart TV and it is very neat. My 10 year old has discovered Gilligan's Island on YouTube. Very light and great picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Good value for the price

12/09/2013
By ,
South Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was my first Smart TV purchase. This allows us to stop using the PS3 for streaming and was surprised at the other streaming options that were available. We paid for the item online, cheaper, and picked it up at the store the same day. It was easy to set up and we started watching right away. The buttons on the remote are a bit small for me but perfect for my wife. All in all I am happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

I recommend this TV

12/31/2013
By ,
Sacramento,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value.
Great picture quality.
This size TV is perfect for a duplex or 2 bedroom apartment or town home.
If you are not an incredibly pretentious individual with overcompensation issues this unit will suffice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great TV for the price

11/29/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the most part this is the tv that I wanted. The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 is because I don't believe there is an auto off feature after the tv detects there is no incoming signal from a device. My Scepter 32" TV has this option. This tv has great picture quality. The speakers sound pretty decent as we'll. Way better than the Scepter model that I have. This tv is hooked up to a Vizio 2.1 sound bar as we'll.
Definitely worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

TV was broken and Vizio won't replace it

02/26/2014
By ,
Lancaster, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought a new 42" Vizio as a gift for my mother and when I went to set up the new TV it had lines on the right side 1/3 of the screen. Called Vizio tech support and they had me send photos. Nobody from Vizio ever followed up on the case so I called and they claim it is not a manufacturer defect so they will not replace my brand new $448 TV. The worst customer service experience I have ever had with any company. I also bought a 60" Vizio for myself but will not even take it out of the box. After this experience I am forced to return it for another brand for fear that it will not work and I will be out another $700.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

very good especially the sound

12/13/2013
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was expecting full internet. It is WiFi sure enough but it does not have a browser and you can not add channels outside what you are forced to which for the most part is based on Yahoo. Maybe i should have researched it some ore. Other than that this is a good product for the price. maybe they will get the hint and add browsing via software update.,
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

A great TV for the average person

11/17/2013
By ,
Mattituck NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The TV I got from Walmart was $20.00 more but came with a bunch of APPs like Youtube and Yahoo. The picture is good and so is the sound. Easy to negotiate remote control and just a great value for the $478.00 I paid. I've been playing Youtube shorts and movies all day and having a great time with my new TV. No matter what TV I looked at for reviews there was some negative comments. I can't understand what people's expectations are? You can't go wrong with this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

overall, good

07/13/2013
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Besides a misunderstanding with store personell about a refund for a broken model, the TV I bought is a good replacement. Picture quality is not a good as the plasma I replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

42 inch Vizip

12/09/2013
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TV has a very nice picture, decent sound, and easy setup for everything except the wifi. I cannot get it to connect to my wifi in the house. My phone works next to it, a Samsung wifi DVD player works next to it, but I can't get this smart TV to connect. I intend to call Vizio customer support to find out what the heck is going on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Best large purchase I've made in years!

01/18/2014
By ,
WNY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light weight, easily handled by one person.
20 minutes for simple set up, no-fuss programming, immediate connection to home wifi, and one click to install all the apps. I don't have cable so needed a new antenna...had to reposition the antenna and scan 4x to get all the regular channels.
Sharp picture, excellent sound for a 20'x20' family rm. Remote buttons are small, but operation is simple. Love the online Help Manual--although not needed for any of the process.
Netflix movie had to buffer 4x throughout the viewing. Facebook works...haven't tried the other apps or anything in the USB yet.
Only disappointment--TV doesn't recognize my wireless mouse or wireless keyboard...but then, it didn't advertise that it was able to do so.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Excellent Buy

04/12/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Vizio TV because I've had a 28 in Vizio TV for over 4 years and had no complains. I recently read that JD Powers and Associates rated Vizio #1 with customer satisfaction in purchasing an HD TV, so I didn't hesitate when I saw the price for this Smart TV. My mother has a similar 42 in Smart TV from Samsung that does not work any better or worse than mine, which she paid almost $300 more for. Overall the picture quality is excellent, The sound is amazing for my small bedroom, and all the apps and widgets on this TV makes this TV a necessity. The only thing I regret about this TV is not buying it sooner. I actually plan on purchasing a 60 in Vizio Smart TV for my living room SOON. This TV is a must buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Good quality at a fair price!

12/06/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did an exhaustive search for a TV with the features we wanted at a price within our budget.
I've owned a Vizio before for the past 4 years, but lost it to a flood this year. So I'm familiar with their quality. I did check out other manufacturers but ultimately decided to stay with the Vizio.
More than we expected at a fair price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great way to shop

12/18/2013
By ,
50036
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have three vizio TV's and they all have worked great. the walmart.com ship to store makes sure you will get your product at the price you want. The shipments arrive on time and when walmart said they would.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

High quality & great value

12/14/2013
By ,
Coralville, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first HDTV and so far I'm very impressed. Had it about two weeks. Easy to set up and operate. Recommend using Ethernet cable for seamless streaming. Picture quality is outstanding! The sound is great too. Loving the free month of Netflix.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

love this tv !

05/01/2013
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv is not my first vizio so I expected a lot and was worried about some reviews. This was sure worth more than the price, quality is excellent both picture and sound. The set up was also super easy, and youtube/Netflix arw both easy streaming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

great smart tv

12/10/2013
By ,
tucson,Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Totally recomended , the sound and image quality is excellent, this smart tv is so fast, the control dont have the alphabet, you have to type the words ussing the key ok in the controll, but you can buy the control whith the alphabet types ...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 441 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  23 Next