Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Introducing the E-series slim frame design. The Vizio 42" Class 1080p LED HDTV 120Hz, E420i-A0 is shattering the mold in a way only Vizio can, with high-quality design and picture at the best value. Enjoy crystal-clear action and eye-popping images in 1080p Full HD and 120Hz effective refresh rate. A stunningly slim outer frame on this Vizio 42" LED Smart HDTV (3.23" ultra-slim) lets you enjoy TV with a narrower border around the picture for a more immersive experience. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Vizio 42" Class 1080p LED HDTV 120Hz, E420i-A0. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.54 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(524 Reviews) 441
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
362
4 stars
120
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation94%493 out of 524reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
362
4 stars
120
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

My First Smart TV.

05/15/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv as a gift to myself! I've had this tv for one full day so far. I am soooo happy with my choice after looking long online, staring long at tv's in the store and hopping from one store to the next (Im a bit indecisive and picky when Im spening money). I finally made my choice to fit my budget without going way over my head and found something modern to fit my lifestyle. There is nothing I can say negative so far about my new purchase. I wanted to leave a review so early so if there was something that came about, I could reflect back on this moment and so could anyone reading these. I also read reviews before buying so I know how important another person's reactions are when making decisions on buying something more than just a couple bucks. You want to make sure you get your moneys worth without being concerned with the term "you get what you pay for". Even though this tv was affordable and inexpensive for a "SMART TV", its still is a chunk out the bank account. In my opinion, the price couldve been more than $498 (with tax I got it for $530 and some change) considering the value of the tv. I dont regret my decision not one bit. GO FOR IT!! You will NOT be disappointed. Vizio's arent nowhere near bad like Ive heard a few people say. Dont knock it til you try it! My lovely new found distraction!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 82 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV
03/14/2013
By ,
Bay City, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture quality could be better on non HD channels. A little dissapointed in that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 83 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great TV

02/04/2014
By ,
Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchase this TV because of the many features it offers. I'm still learning the quirks and gimmicks on this model. This is my first Vizio product. The picture quality is great for me and the sound as well. I'm not impress with the apps that came with it. I can't download Google play apps. Everything seems connected to Yahoo. I thought for a smart TV I would be able to access the web. That is not the case. The remote buttons are small; but durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 84 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

LED's are very clear.

03/08/2013
By ,
Cabot AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked at many models. This one was the best for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 85 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Love Vizio products

11/09/2013
By ,
Panama City, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture. Does not have component connection for older DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 86 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Very good TV for the price

03/01/2013
By ,
Meridian, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This new TV replaced an older 720p 32" Vizio. Wanted a larger screen full 1080p with a minimum of 120Hz. The old TV pixeled out during fast paced action sequences. So far we're very happy with the picture quality. The sound left something to be desired so I purchases an optional Vizio 32" sound bar with the subwoofer. Now it looks and sounds GREAT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 87 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Fantastic Upgrade at a Great price!

02/22/2013
By ,
Jackpot, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Granted we have only had this TV for a few days, we love it. The smart TV features are amazing, and something we arent used to, but the picture quality is amazing, the sound is phenomonal, very light and easy to set up, and an HDMI cable purchased allows us to hook our laptop to it as well, which is a fun perk. The auto adjusting sound takes getting used too, but given time, I think we will love the feature, just takes some getting used to (my car does the same thing with the radio and I became accustomed to it over time). Maybe time will expose some things we dont like, but so far, we love it. Fantasic to watch HD channels, movies, cartoons, News etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 88 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Bought this for my sister & it is wonderful

06/09/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my research and found this to have all the features I wanted, and had great reviews. Then I searched for Price, Walmart had the best, hands down, I had it delivered free, to the store in her area...it was quick, they had it the same day, and everything went smooth. Thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 89 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Beware!

02/04/2014
By ,
Pennslyvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am taking my glorious review back that I gave this t.v. only just yesterday! I had this t.v. for about 2 weeks and tonight in the middle of my program it turned off!! I will be returning it as soon as possible! It was a beautiful t.v. when it was on. WELL IT LASTED FOR THE SUPER BOWL! What a shame they don't make them like they use to. Bring back the big picture tube t.v.s back, they last longer!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 02/06/2014
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your TV. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 90 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great Value!

08/26/2013
By ,
Cut and Shoot, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We took our time buying this TV. We compared several brands side by side and always came back to the same two. One was a major brand, and the other was the Vizio. We could see no difference between the two as far as picture and sound quality, so we chose the lower-priced Vizio. We have had it only a couple of weeks, but we have not been disappointed. It was easy to set up, and we really appreciate the ability to stream video from the internet through the built-in Wi-Fi, which eliminates the need for additional hardware. Overall, this appears to be a great purchase, and we would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 91 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great product to replace 20+ yr old TV.

12/07/2013
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is the perfect size to fit in th space I have. It replaces a TV that is 20+ years old that is too heavy for me to lift. I am 80 yrs old and can move this TV by myself. I could set it up with my existing connections myself. With a HD connection I will get an even better picture. The sound leaves a lot to be desired, but I had read that thin TVs have this problem even before I purchased it. I read that a lot of people buy a separate sound system and that is something I will explore.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 92 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Good value, affordable and easy to set up.

02/03/2014
By ,
Scott Depot, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
More TV than I needed, but the price was just a few dollars more than what I had intentionally budgeted. No regrets, but a smaller unit would have been OK too.
No HDMI cable included, but it was clearly stated as such so no big surprise.
Out of the box installation (used stand provide, no wall mounting), and set up took about an hour.
Soggy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 93 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

The best purchase I have made

12/07/2013
By ,
Mansfield, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This VIZIO Smart HDTV is simply beautiful. I can streamline from my MAC, I can use the built in SMART aps, such as Netflix, etc. It is easy to assemble and hook up to anything. I have it configured for both Cable and Wireless. Great sound even without additional speakers. It has a ton of choices on how you would like to view the picture such as zoom, panoramic, football (I know!), and other choices. Wonderful picture quality. Tons of features. Best purchase I have ever made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 94 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Easy set-up, great picture quality average sound.

03/05/2013
By ,
Glen Allen, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy set-up, great picture quality average sound. I will probably look at getting the Vizio sound bar to improve the sound quality. The apps are fun to use, would defininately recommend purchasing a Smart TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 95 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great TV for the price. Girlfriend likes gift.

01/02/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terrific picture and sound. I would have liked a hard copy of the user manual instead of just the quick start guide, but it is available on the TV or for download. I bought a Vizio sound bar with built-in bass, but the TV's sound without the sound bar is very good with plenty of volume. Remote buttons are a little small. Wish that I could control sound bar from TV remote instead of needing a separate remote.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 96 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

A great TV for the average person

11/17/2013
By ,
Mattituck NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The TV I got from Walmart was $20.00 more but came with a bunch of APPs like Youtube and Yahoo. The picture is good and so is the sound. Easy to negotiate remote control and just a great value for the $478.00 I paid. I've been playing Youtube shorts and movies all day and having a great time with my new TV. No matter what TV I looked at for reviews there was some negative comments. I can't understand what people's expectations are? You can't go wrong with this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 97 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great TV for the price

11/29/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the most part this is the tv that I wanted. The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 is because I don't believe there is an auto off feature after the tv detects there is no incoming signal from a device. My Scepter 32" TV has this option. This tv has great picture quality. The speakers sound pretty decent as we'll. Way better than the Scepter model that I have. This tv is hooked up to a Vizio 2.1 sound bar as we'll.
Definitely worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 98 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

excellent value but some issues

07/19/2013
By ,
Chicago western burbs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Smart TV is an exceptional value and I am glad I bought it. However, the remote has rather small keys that require careful usage. It also lacks keyboard support. That is, in the Internet mode to key in a string of characters you must use the remote cursor keys. There is no support for using a 3rd party keyboard -- so tedious cursor key action is required.
One way to mitigate this issue is to use your PC to build a queue of videos to watch (specifically on Netflix) then select them via the TV interface -- without the need for a lot of key action.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 99 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV
05/28/2013
By ,
Oakland, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this for my bedroom and love it. It takes a second to power up but I almost like the quality better thn my 62' sharp.. My room is pretty small but it doesn't look 2 big in the room once we put it on the wall. I love that I can now watch Netflix in our room n not stuck in the living room or having to move the wii..
Everyone has complained about the sound in previous reviews but we haven't had a problem.. Maybe because its in a bedroom and not a main room like a larger living room...
I also love how it does sync with my laptop so it makes for easy streaming
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 100 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV
03/07/2013
By ,
Hanford, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv has an excellent picture, lots of great features. Love the internet access. Good value for the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
81-100 of 442 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  23 Next