Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Vizio Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Introducing the E-series slim frame design. The Vizio 42" Class 1080p LED HDTV 120Hz, E420i-A0 is shattering the mold in a way only Vizio can, with high-quality design and picture at the best value. Enjoy crystal-clear action and eye-popping images in 1080p Full HD and 120Hz effective refresh rate. A stunningly slim outer frame on this Vizio 42" LED Smart HDTV (3.23" ultra-slim) lets you enjoy TV with a narrower border around the picture for a more immersive experience. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Vizio 42" Class 1080p LED HDTV 120Hz, E420i-A0. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.539 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(523 Reviews) 440
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
361
4 stars
120
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation94%492 out of 523reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
136 Questions | 249 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
361
4 stars
120
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Nice TV with lots of features

06/19/2013
By ,
Coatesville, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice TV with lots of features once you figure them all out and a few quirks it seems to have. Picture Quality is very good and the sound seems fine. Lots of apps and options, but no QUERTY remote which makes accessing them a pain sometimes, but you can use a wireless computer keyboard plugged into the USB port as I did. Some of the apps such as YouTube seem to lock up occasionally after much use. It has WI-fI connectivity, but at least for me, I had to end up running a CAT 5 ethernet cable directly from my router to the TV as streaming video via the WI-FI was too slow and performance was terrible. In my case my router was at the other end of the house a few rooms away so that may have been the problem, even though the TV showed a good signal strength. A good feature is the audio out jacks, but would be nice if it had a second set of audio in jacks also. This is my first smart TV experience so I have nothing to compare to, just my actual observations so far. Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

TV Great. Box lacking cables/connectors

11/26/2013
By ,
Crowley, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I guess I would have to agree with most of the reviews I have seen. It is a quality TV product and the TV meets my expectations and consistent with previous reviews. BEWARE!!! My greatest surprise and dissapointment was the complete absence of any connectors or cables. The single cable included with this TV, was the power cable to connect to A/C power. And if material cost savings was Visio's intent, they could have omitted that, and saved a few more cents if they had made their connector on the TV compatible with the typical standard cable used for most A/C wall to equipment that I see on most other electronic equipment. I personally have 15-20 of those on hand. But Visio omitted any other cables or connectors (Coaxial, Optical, RJ, or any. Nadda, zilch, zero, none !!!!!
Again, Fortunately, I had HDMI and Audio connectors with my Directv box, Sound system, and DVD players, and did not have to make an UNEXPECTED trip back to purchase a cable to setup and use the VISIO TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Gurnee, IL
Lack of connecting cables
Posted 12/18/2013
I agree that lack of the cables and connectors is an inconvenience and therefore, deserves 4 stars. Furthermore, when being compared it to the other TVs in this price range, it's like comparing apples and oranges. Therefore said review is valid and appropriate. Based on this review, I will likely be looking for a different brand.
-10points
Customer Avatar
Fond du Lac, WI
Cables/Connectors
Posted 12/08/2013
Do you know of any other $500 TV that includes cables and connectors "you" need and Forgot to purchase? You can't take off a point because you didn't research what you bought and what you need to hook something up. You have to dock a point off yourself.
+23points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great TV - great deal

08/29/2013
By ,
Madisonville,KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a 42" Vizio in May 2012 at my local Walmart. We have had a great experience with it, which is why I chose to buy another one for the basement. The new set has a more streamlined appearance and updated apps. My only issue was with delivery. After finding that the two closest stores were out of this model, I got impatient and ordered it off Walmart.com. It came off the FedEx truck with a shattered screen. I was surprised that there was no addtional protection for shipping. The only thing between the TV and the outside world was a slim piece of cardboard and a thin sheet of foam. On the bright side, my local Walmart store had the TV in stock when I called and was able to go and make a return. I got my new TV and it looks/sounds great. In all fairness, I believe this was more of a FedEx issue than a Walmart issue, but I learned a lesson. From now on I will use Walmart.com to review products, but I will go to the store for fragile items.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Best TV I've seen on the market!

11/04/2013
By ,
Waterville, ME.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best TV I've seen on the market. Easy to maneuver. Didn't have to adjust any of the picture settings, all the channels were perfect in color, contrast, clarity, and depth. I have seen models that cost twice what this one did, and their pictures weren't half as good. This is the cream of the crop. I will always get VIZIO TV's from now on. I am totally impressed. The LED makes the colors and picture much crisper, and there isn't the blurring of background images you get with other models. I can easily access you tube through my WIFI to my computer, and bring up an on screen keyboard to click on letters to type into the search, and it's easy as texting to use. I was surprised as to how much material on you tube comes in hi-def. You can also do Netflix and other apps. The audio is about average when you add volume, but with an audio system , sounds amazing. A truly great product for the money. Look no further.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

So far, so good

11/27/2013
By ,
Poteau, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this TV for my daughter for Christmas this year. I wanted a smart TV that she could run Netflix off of easily. When I got it home I unboxed it and set it up to make sure everything worked right so we still had time to exchange it if there was anything wrong. The TV was super easy to connect to wifi and set up. When you turn on the TV it walks you through it all. Being the first smart TV we have bought I wanted to see all it had to offer. The TV was easy to navigate through and had more things you could do then I had expected. The picture when running Netflix wasn't as clear as I had expected but very well could of been my Internet connection and not the TV. The sound wasn't bad sounding in a bedroom. I don't know how it would sound in a big open room though. Overall I was very pleased with this TV and if it continues to preform well over then next couple months I plan on buying another to replace my bedroom TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

I love my SMART Vizio

02/04/2014
By ,
Manhattan, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Vizio....the first one I bought was too small (29"), but I still have it! It is also a smart tv...I now have a 42" Vizio Smart TV. The TV does take a little bit longer to turn on than most other tvs I have owned, but I just had to get used to it. This is a great value. I shopped around. I ordered the tv on a Tuesday and it arrived on the Friday. AMAZING. I am a 44 year old, single chick that had the tv hooked up to my surround sound bar, cable, wireless internet....in less than 45 minutes of receiving the tv at my doorstep. LOVE IT! Instructions were very clear. Hex wrench comes with the tv....stand took me 3.5 minutes to put together. You won't be disappointed. Picture is clear, so easy to access Netflix, the remote is the same as my other Vizio. Per another review, I also purchased a BRAND New Original VIZIO Internet Qwerty keyboard remote for VIZIO E420i-A1 E500i-A1 E601i-A3 E320i-A0 E601i-A3 LCD LED TV for $11.00 plus $5 shipping from amazon....but I haven't opened it yet, as I haven't needed it. Again, you won't be disappointed. Enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great tv and great price for a NORMAL person

07/24/2013
By ,
Silver Spring, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I know some people are serious aficionados and maybe this tv not for them. I love it. The colour is great. It was so easy to hook up. Three 'complaints'. One, I listened to reviews for this and other flat tvs and ordered a sound bar. It is so not necessary. We're not deaf so level 30 works well #35 when baby insists on making noise#. We live in an apartment and 50 would disturb neighbours can't imagine turning up to 100.
Two, granted this is due to my own ignorance, I didn't know I needed to order a separate cable for HD. Items let you know if batteries are included or not it would have been nice if they had done so for that. But gotta say even without the HD the picture is phenomenal.
Three, again this is due to my own ignorance, I can't figure out how to hide all the chords. Obviously I will have to go on the web and ask the world to help me with that.
Again, this TV is great. Nice colour. Sound great #my home is not a theatre so I don't need the walls to rattle, I just want to be able to hear and enjoy#, the teenager loves the widgets. I love that I don't have to hook up an LCD to watch Netflix and HuluPlus.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Great TV - Needs a better remote

11/25/2013
By ,
Roanoke, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great TV at a great price. The model was given high reviews by CNET and Digital Trends and it lived up to its 2nd place rating. The colors and sharpness are as reported and the sound is fine. We have it in a 14 x 20 family room and you do not need a sound bar. The only problem I have is using the standard remote to type searches into the Smart TV screens - MAJOR pain. I solved the problem by purchasing a New Original VIZIO Internet Qwerty remote with Keyboard for only $11.75 from Sourcing Remote. This is the same remote you get with the higher prices M series by VIZO. The remote is just like the original but with a full keyboard on the back - what a time saver. Do not why VIZIO does not make this standard on all Smart TVs. With this addition the TV is an truly great package.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Not so Smart TV...

06/17/2013
By ,
Maricopa, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this this tv for my bedroom. I selected a Smart tv with WiFi because I only wanted it to watch Netflix and not to hook up to my cable service. It arrived as expected at Sit to Store, and was in very good condition. It was easy to unpack and attach the stand. It was also very simple to get it to talk to my WiFi, BUT even though it was receiving a good signal from my router (also on the same floor, but in another room) it said my signal was not strong enough to stream movies. I would get into a show maybe 5 min and it would freeze, not even buffer. I ended up moving a SMART DVD player into my room so I could get Netflix. Other than that the picture is Fantastic and the Sound is Wonderful. I would still recommend this tv, just be prepared to add a streaming device in case you encounter the same issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Santa Rosa Beach.Fl.
Posted 01/25/2014
I have the same problem. It does not connect with the Internet via wifi.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Awesome TV for price

01/28/2013
By ,
Watertown, Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this TV on line at 7 PM after checking out specs on numerous TV's & Brands & it was ready for pick up at our local Walmart store by 8:30 the next morning. Took less then 10 minutes to set up TV & plug in CD player. We only have a cheap $35.00 antenna & not cable, but we have over 60 channels available to us & "eye popping" color.
This is our second Visio TV & we were impressed with the color & pictures of our previous purchase several years ago, but the picture & colors on this TV is incredible.
The picture is visible & very clear even up close to the right or left of the TV, adjusts to ambient light automatically, & the very narrow outside frame allowed us to buy a larger screen TV for our older TV cabinet.
It gives a big screen experience at a very low cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+110points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

I love it!

11/30/2013
By ,
Sierra Vista, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the Vizio 55" smart TV over a year ago and I love it. So, now we bought the 42" for the bedroom. It's exactly the same. The picture quality is great. What I love most is the Smart TV part of it for Netflix. We were using a DVD player that had Netflix; it was always slow, it froze to the point where it wouldn't power off, we actually had to unplug the DVD player to reset it and hope and pray we could get our show to start again. It was happening more than once in an evening and I got so frustrated we decided to just get this Vizio 42" since we were so happy with the big one in the living room. I love it to pieces. At this point, with other problems I've had with TVs in the past, I will always make sure what I buy is the Vizio Smart TV. It's worth the money but also in comparison to other brands, it's not really expensive anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Good product, but setup instructions are poor.

01/26/2014
By ,
Charleston, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice TV. The picture is good, and the sound is really not too bad. The design is simple and elegant. I have not tried to use the internet features yet.
But the setup instructions that come packed with the TV are awful! I have cable and followed the instructions carefully. The TV then told me that it could not find any stations. I was about convinced that the tuner was bad, and I would have to take it back, but I downloaded the full manual from the internet, and read that. There is a whole additional setup that you must do to identify the local channels, which is not mentioned in the brief written instructions. After I did that, the TV was fine.
It was also much more difficult to link to the internet than the written instructions indicate. I finally manged to do that after about an hour of reading the manual, and fiddling with the setup procedure. Haven't tried to use anything yet, so I don't really know how it will work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Pleasantly Surprised

01/04/2014
By ,
Minneapolis,MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only owned this TV for about a week so I can't be really explicit about my review. After reading all the hype that Vizio wrote about their product I was pleasantly surprised at the performance of this TV. The picture and color are better than my Sony Bravia and the sound is deeper and richer than my Sony too. I like the slimline frame as it gives the impression that the TV is actually a bit bigger than it actually is. The only thing that I don't like is the fact that there aren't more timers in the features. My LG has an on/off timer that can be set daily or weekly to turn the TV on and off at set times that I wish would have been included in Vizio's package. I haven't tried all the smart Apps yet, but that's not one of the reasons why I bought this TV. All in all it was a good price on a good TV. I would definitely recommend this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

From a power user.

11/02/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this TV for everything from gaming on my console to watching a Blu-ray and having my desktop hooked up to it. The price is a real bargain, which is better than other TVs of smaller size and without the smart TV features. I am very satisfied with the picture quality and number of customizable options the product feature. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

This is a very easy tv to set up

06/21/2013
By ,
talihina, oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boy was I surprised. My friend bought another brand, and his is so hard to program. This on has a very easy program that you don't have to do all that hunting, and squinting to see the lettering. I set it up not knowing it had a program that you can follow that shows you what to do. I forget the old saying, "read the simple instructions first." I had no problem at all.
Also, order some audio adapters for the video coming off the TV for the ear phones. They have the mini 3.5 plug-in, and the ear phones are RCA plugs. you need an adapter for them. At least I needed one. They only cost a few dollars. I paid $3.99 for mine. Walmart has them.
This has a great picture, I am in a small room, I am right up on it, and it is clear as can be.
My friends who watch the other new one in the lounge says mine is twice the TV the other one is.
THIS A GREAT TV.......I AM VERY, VERY HAPPY WITH IT. And I am hard to please.. I took back three printers until I got it right.. Oh, another thing, I plugged it into my lap top, and got on line, went to Walmart, looked at things, played games on Pogo. Great to play games where you can lie back, and relax at the same time. I'm lazy........ddd
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Solid TV for the money

04/04/2013
By ,
Bryan, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have looked at a variety of TV's over the last 3 months and it seems there are always trade-offs between one mfg. and another. I want smart/internet TV with a solid, rich, LED high def (1080P) picture. But I also want a good array of inputs and outputs - IDEAL INPUTS: 3 HDMI, 1 component, 1 composite, 1 VGA for a PC connection, 1 RCA audio input, IDEAL OUTPUTS: Digital audio out, RCA audio out, and HDMI ARC. Good luck finding that TV...
I bought a Samsung 5300 Smart TV- NICE, superior picture, superior GUI and apps, but it lacked the inputs and outputs. Gave that TV to my girlfriend because it was too cool to return.
I bought the Vizio e420ia0 because it has digital and RCA audio outs. The picture is not as rich as Samsung's, but it is a good picture for the money (a little bright for my taste, but still top flight 1080P). The app, and the GUI are "O.K" and hopefully the TV will update to install Redbox and Cinema Now soon. The remote control is pretty cheap, small, and hard to read, but it works O.K. Samsung's remotes are backlit, and superior in every way. I am sure a nice universal remote can fix this problem.
All in all, a decent TV for the money. And for those die hard analog people who still use their tube/transitor stereo's for sound, RCA audio outs are a dying breed and this TV has them.... SOLD!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Either I got a lemon or this TV is junk

03/07/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have no idea how this TV got these reviews on this site. Everyplace else I look and it doesn't get nearly the same reviews.
Bought this TV the colors are washed out, anything dark is just a block of black with no definition, the quality of the picture is significantly worse than the 720p 6 year old TV it replaced, the remote won't work further than 3 feet from the TV and maybe the worst part is you switch to an input and wait literally 30 seconds before you see an image. The internet features are great but if I have to get off the couch to and walk up to the TV to use the remote it is pointless. No qwerty keyboard on the "smart TV" remote so you are dealing with a remote that barely works and lags but wants you to type out info to utilize the internet features. So you press a button 6 times nothing happens 4 times then it presses it twice and you are passed the screen you need to be on.
Maybe I got a lemon but the picture routinely just changes colors and faces will have a pink ring around them and I have to turn off the TV and back on to reset the color.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 03/21/2013
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your TV. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Awesome TV!

01/30/2013
By ,
Orange County, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this TV! I upgraded from a 32" Vizio that I purchased 4-5 years ago and regret not buying one of these sooner. The thin bezel around the screen allows me to have a big screen without taking up much space. There is a Netflix button right on the remote and it loads right up, I use it everyday. I am an avid gamer, and let me tell you, the PS3 look amazing. With the 2,000,000:1 contrast ratio and 120hz, its flawless. With tax and the 3-year protection plan it came to under $600, you can't beat that with a bat. Buy this TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+158points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

Amazing HD pic when watching HDTV or Video

12/15/2013
By ,
Clayton GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top 3 most important: #1 3 HDMI ports and cable and red white yellow. (side of tv offers 1HDMI and an audio out)
#2 Works with surround sound (your standard TV/sat/cable volume on the remote will control your surround sound system volume)
#3 Pic is the best you will ever find.
I had a Vizio 37" flat screen 1yr old. I saw a deal on a Samsung smart TV 46" and wants a bigger TV, nothing wrong with my old Vizio 37" TV. The Samsung would not work with my surround sound and still be able to control everything with 1 remote. So I went back to Vizio with this 42" it fits where the standard 37" was. Because the 37" had a big border and the new tv has a slim one. 1/4" difference. Watching the football game on DirectTv in HD. You could count the grass, when the cameras were in close to a player you could see smudges on the glair of their helmets!!! I hadn't thought about it till now, but other than 1 Philips 48" all other TVs here are Vizio. I only was looking for great deals during blackfriday or local adds... NEVER SEARCHING FOR A BRAND, just what the product had to offer, who ever had the most bang for your buck won!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vizio E420i-A0 42" 1080p 120Hz Class (3.23" ultra-slim) LED Smart HDTV

First one worked for about 4 hours, then died

10/28/2013
By ,
Sacramento
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very disappointed that after spending the better part of a day setting it up, getting the right cables and cords, connecting my components and entering all my user names and passwords for the "SmartTV" features...it worked for only a few hours then went all stripes on the screen , then all black and no TV picture at all. Next, I spent HOURS on the phone with Vizio who offerred to send a technician in about 10 days to look at it. THEN the Vizio customer service person told me three times to "discuss it with my husband" and let her know if he wanted a technician or ?? Is this 1950? I was SO ENRAGED that I really didn't want a Vizio TV. I bought it online because I have a VERY small car, so the thought of returning it in person to Walmart was not a good one.However, a friend came over with a truck and helped me go to my local Walmart who cheerfully took my return, (not a refund) and I bought another of the same model at the higher, in store price. I now love this TV. It is really a beautiful picture and lovely extra features. The Netflix feature takes some patience to load and get going, but I am happy that Walmart had the good price and cheerful return after Vizio was so insulting and non-helpful. I would reccomend Walmart, not Vizio customer service, but the second TV seems to be a good one. This one has lasted a week so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 441 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next