Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Samsung Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Watch your favorite on-demand movies from CinemaNow, YouTube and Netflix on the Samsung BD Blu-ray Player, E5400. Built-in wireless LAN allows you to stream content to your Samsung Wireless Blu-ray Player from your computer, while the HDMI port allows you to connect the device to your PC or television for improved viewing. The Samsung Blu-ray Player supports multiple playback formats, including DVD-Video, Blu-Ray video, CD-R/RW, CD DA and DVD+/-R/RW. DTS surround sound and Dolby Digital/Digital Plus/True HD decoding offers premium sound quality for your content.
Average Customer Rating:
3.852 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(332 Reviews) 318
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
168
4 stars
69
3 stars
27
2 stars
14
1 star
54
Customer Recommendation75%240 out of 318reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
61 Questions | 169 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
168
4 stars
69
3 stars
27
2 stars
14
1 star
54
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Great Player

02/16/2014
By ,
greenwood sc 29646
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good product has wifi built in and lan. works very well and I would recommend this product to anyone. And for the price you cannot go wrong
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

performs as advertised, all functions

01/21/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had thie Samsung BD-E5400 less than a week. AFTER UPGRADING THEIR SOFTWARE RIGHT OFF THE BAT I have tested and used all functions except Pandora. I use AT&T uVerse (at 3.5 mbps) with the default wireless security setting of WPA. I have viewed Blu-Ray and normal DVDs without a problem, YOuTube, and, after upgrading my Netflix for streaming, Netflix worked fine, even at the "good" setting (0.5mbps)-- defined online at Netflix. (Before upgrading to their streaming program, my attempted logon to Netflix hung. The device was defined to Netflix but the signon hung in the red signon screen. I had the inexpensive, 2 DVDs a month program that allowed viewing of 2 streaming videos a month to my primary device -- in my case, laptop. Once I upgraded, bingo, signon was quick and I could view their streaming offerings.)
So, so far, so good. I hope it remains so. I saw lots of dings against this model before buying -- some indicating erroneous info or essentially user related mistakes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Great Player for the Money

03/29/2013
By ,
Lake Ozark, Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this player at the Walmart Store for $78.00 on 3/22/2013. Did not have any problems with this Samsung Blu-Ray, Model ES5400, player, which some purchasers have written about. The connection to my Wi-Fi router went smoothly and without any trouble, but took some time to type in the 26 character security key. Beware that one must punch the special keys to go from lower to upper case as well as numbers and symbols. Study the displayed keyboard before you start entering the security key. Connection to the internet was quick as well as upgrading the firmware. Do not forget to upgrade the firmware, which in mentioned in the on-screen setup. This player has met all of my expectations. Do not pass up this player because some of the earlier reviews rated it with one star. This is the forth Samsung product I have purchased in the past few years and I have been pleased with all of them. Also, there was a three month extension on the one year warranty because I believe there may have been a problem with production of this product in the beginning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Nice Player

12/09/2012
By ,
Sturgis, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took the Blu-ray player out of the box last night and connected it to my TV. Everything seemed to power up fine. The remote was a bit confusing right away - it might have helped if I read the manual first - but I was able to load and watch a Blu-ray disk and was very happy with the results. I did notice before the movie a comment about upgrading - so after watching the movie I tried to update the software. It turned out to be a very easy process (the shipping version was two versions old so it was a good idea to upgrade). When I tried to look at some of the other internet options the player did seem to get stuck on a log-on screen for one of the optional services (I think it was Netflix) but I eventually got back to the home screen. Other than that everything seemed to work fine. All in all I am very happy with the purchase (so far).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

DOA and poor outsourced support

12/12/2013
By ,
Daytona Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always considered Samsung to be a quality product. I have a TV which was repaired out of the original warranty period due to a recall / acknowledged problem. That's service!
I just opened My Blueray player which I received as a gift, It was DOA. After what must have been an hour dealing with a young lady who my wife and I could hardly understand, I was told I needed my receipt for service. The tech lacked even basic knowledge of the unit, its features and use.
Something like this poisons a brand in my mind, I will not buy it for me, I definitely would not buy for someone else as a gift.
What separates a name brand product from a cheap knock-off is the level of service offered, and the thought that that the company stands behind their product. I found no value in the name.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Never
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Very nice for the price.

04/03/2014
By ,
Inverness, Flrorida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Threw out my old dvd player which was not a blue ray. This is my second blue ray dvd player. I like this one, it matches up well with my newer Samsung 32" TV. It is loaded with different capabilities. I love the push button control on the top. This thing appears to be capable of doing just about anything. It works well and is pretty easy to operate. I don't have all the skills to use the technology but look forward to learning. I haven't really used everything just yet but will eventually. I caught the thing on sale and couldn't be happier. I did try a cd disk with it and the music was great. I didn't know you could do that with a dvd player. You can't miss with this one at the price of $69.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Great product for the price

02/24/2014
By ,
Antlers Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player is awesome. After reading some of the negative reviews I was a little worried but it works great. Netflix works great and I love the Pandora radio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

what a difference

01/06/2014
By ,
nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!!what a difference in picture resolution with this blu-ray player versus the old dvd player. i read reviews from walmart and other sites on this blu-ray and there were mixed reviews.so i only purchased because i got it at an unbelievable price$$ .some of the reviews complained about trying too play blu-rays and DVDs and not being able to get them to work, using Netflix and having buffering and other issues.I have not had a problem with playing blu-rays or old DVDs or getting Netflix to play i have also used the vudu which is preinstalled on the device and all work perfect. but i did do the system update when setting up my device, which is pretty much mandatory on most smart or wifi items these days.the update is so easy if you* read* yes read the instructions before you start there should be no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Great Player, love the wireless and netflix

12/09/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these on black Friday because I wanted a way to play netflix in my bedroom and living room without having to use my xbox or computer. The wireless feature is awesome and works great, I don't know why they would sell anything that's not wireless anymore. Netflix works great on the player and the play/pause/fast forward buttons on Blue ray are much more responsive then on my old player. I'm glad I got two of them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Don't even bother

02/13/2014
By ,
Lillington, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this blue-ray 6 months ago based on a recommendation from a friend and with it being only $45 it was a no brainier. I bought a refurb the first time that was DOA. you'd have thought I'd have learned my lesson but being Samsung I gave them another chance. The second one worked. Setup was simple and the blue-ray player worked fine until today. Did the updates etc. was loving it. In attempting to watch a blue-ray it froze, I unplugged it and now it won't even work. And it also seems the remote is now faulty. It will power the device however none of the buttons work. I press Netflix and now the DVD player wants to work but when it comes to using the remote to selecting play....it doesn't even work. Netflix is another issue. If Netflix is your main deciding factor for making this purchase don't even bother. Heed everyone's warning about it freezing. I've unplugged this Monstrosity more times than I can count. I've read where the antenna may be faulty....you ain't lying. Netflix works fine on my other devices. Just disappointed. I would not recommend this product. It was great when it worked but I never thought after 6 months it would stop working. And it had to die during this snowstorm when I could enjoy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

PLEASE DO NOT BUY

03/29/2013
By ,
conover
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this has got to be the biggest piece of junk ever made by samsung ,even down to the remote. the unit cuts off ,blacksout ,locks up during every use ,weather it be a blu-ray disk or netflixs.i have to unplug it daily to get back to a movie, i also have very good internet signal for netflix ,the unit actually says so/ plainly a piece of JUNK
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

sorry, it would not work properly

12/16/2012
By ,
chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these mainly for netflix since my xbox broke. Within the first week it completely froze up and I could not turn it off. I had to unplug it and reboot the whole machine. So, I returned it and got another one. Unfortunately, the same thing kept happening with the next one, plus the disk tray would get stuck. It plays DVDs/blu-rays fine. However, the netflix app is slow and freezes up too much. I am doing research to try to find one that is better for netflix streaming.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Not very impressed

01/04/2013
By ,
Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had it for a month and it worked well most of the time. It looks nice and is very compact, but the glossy plastic surface is a real dust magnet. It was easy to hook up and use. The buttons (not really buttons in the traditional sense, they are touch sensitive - VERY touch sensitive) on top are easy to access as long as you don't put it in a cabinet. There are no lights on the front to indicate when the power is on; the power button on top just lights a little. The video and audio quality are very good with BD or DVD discs. The preloaded apps are nice, but a little slow and there is no internet browser nor was there any way to add additional apps. The remote has good functionality, but the buttons are a little small for my big fingers. I found it difficult to feel where specific buttons are while using it in a dark room.
My biggest complaints are that the disc tray stopped working after only two weeks and it would frequently freeze up when using the apps, especially when exiting them. (couple times a week or more) When it freezes you have to hold the power button on top of the player until it resets. Overall, the problems just outweighed the good features, which left me very unimpressed with this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Blue ray player

05/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product came to be not working. We tried several cords before I had to take it to Walmart and exchange it for something different because they didn't even have this in the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Didn't even last a week!

03/29/2013
By ,
Chantilly, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sooo disappointed with this product. It was EXACTLY what we wanted and for a great price. We have only had it less than a week and now it is frozen. The light turns on and off and it opens and closes but that is it. Nothing comes up on the TV screen and won't even play a DVD! Getting ready to return it, but I have been doing a lot of research and there really isn't another good option out there. Might just go with a Playstation again :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Do not buy if you like Netflix - it. won't work!

12/08/2013
By ,
Chestertown, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this player from Walmart with the hopes of streaming Netflix, and I am sorely disappointed. Netflix is 100% functional everywhere else in my house, even my outdated smartphone, but it constantly freezes on this unit. A quick scan on google shows that I'm not alone. I have many other Samsung products throughout my house and purchased this unit based on their performance. What's worse is that when the unit freezes it must be unplugged...which means that I need to move my entertainment center every time! I will be removing this unit and replacing it with something that WILL WORK, not this pretty paperweight. I will be tossing this unit out and replacing it as soon as possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Excellent product

05/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's an excellent product I bought for my mom ,because I already has one
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Ick

12/02/2013
By ,
Yreka, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got it out of the box, plugged in, made terrible noise and door wouldn't open. Am returning.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Not what I expected.

04/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This unit works very well with DVDs and Blu-Ray discs but is disappointing when it comes to using the wifi. For example trying to use Netflix through the player is annoying. It takes too long to load. It freezes up. It takes 5-10 seconds for the unit to respond to the remote and it won't hold the 1080 resolution. I'm afraid it's going back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Very nice blu-ray player

06/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this Blu-ray. It was easy to set up and easy to use. I like the small design and it works well. Didn't realize that it did not come with the HDMI cable so had to go out and purchase one. Good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next