Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Samsung Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Watch your favorite on-demand movies from CinemaNow, YouTube and Netflix on the Samsung BD Blu-ray Player, E5400. Built-in wireless LAN allows you to stream content to your Samsung Wireless Blu-ray Player from your computer, while the HDMI port allows you to connect the device to your PC or television for improved viewing. The Samsung Blu-ray Player supports multiple playback formats, including DVD-Video, Blu-Ray video, CD-R/RW, CD DA and DVD+/-R/RW. DTS surround sound and Dolby Digital/Digital Plus/True HD decoding offers premium sound quality for your content.
Average Customer Rating:
3.872 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(305 Reviews) 291
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
157
4 stars
62
3 stars
25
2 stars
12
1 star
49
Customer Recommendation76%221 out of 291reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 145 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
157
4 stars
62
3 stars
25
2 stars
12
1 star
49
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Great Player

02/16/2014
By ,
greenwood sc 29646
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good product has wifi built in and lan. works very well and I would recommend this product to anyone. And for the price you cannot go wrong
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

performs as advertised, all functions

01/21/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had thie Samsung BD-E5400 less than a week. AFTER UPGRADING THEIR SOFTWARE RIGHT OFF THE BAT I have tested and used all functions except Pandora. I use AT&T uVerse (at 3.5 mbps) with the default wireless security setting of WPA. I have viewed Blu-Ray and normal DVDs without a problem, YOuTube, and, after upgrading my Netflix for streaming, Netflix worked fine, even at the "good" setting (0.5mbps)-- defined online at Netflix. (Before upgrading to their streaming program, my attempted logon to Netflix hung. The device was defined to Netflix but the signon hung in the red signon screen. I had the inexpensive, 2 DVDs a month program that allowed viewing of 2 streaming videos a month to my primary device -- in my case, laptop. Once I upgraded, bingo, signon was quick and I could view their streaming offerings.)
So, so far, so good. I hope it remains so. I saw lots of dings against this model before buying -- some indicating erroneous info or essentially user related mistakes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Very nice for the price.

04/03/2014
By ,
Inverness, Flrorida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Threw out my old dvd player which was not a blue ray. This is my second blue ray dvd player. I like this one, it matches up well with my newer Samsung 32" TV. It is loaded with different capabilities. I love the push button control on the top. This thing appears to be capable of doing just about anything. It works well and is pretty easy to operate. I don't have all the skills to use the technology but look forward to learning. I haven't really used everything just yet but will eventually. I caught the thing on sale and couldn't be happier. I did try a cd disk with it and the music was great. I didn't know you could do that with a dvd player. You can't miss with this one at the price of $69.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Great product for the price

02/24/2014
By ,
Antlers Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player is awesome. After reading some of the negative reviews I was a little worried but it works great. Netflix works great and I love the Pandora radio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Great Player for the Money

03/29/2013
By ,
Lake Ozark, Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this player at the Walmart Store for $78.00 on 3/22/2013. Did not have any problems with this Samsung Blu-Ray, Model ES5400, player, which some purchasers have written about. The connection to my Wi-Fi router went smoothly and without any trouble, but took some time to type in the 26 character security key. Beware that one must punch the special keys to go from lower to upper case as well as numbers and symbols. Study the displayed keyboard before you start entering the security key. Connection to the internet was quick as well as upgrading the firmware. Do not forget to upgrade the firmware, which in mentioned in the on-screen setup. This player has met all of my expectations. Do not pass up this player because some of the earlier reviews rated it with one star. This is the forth Samsung product I have purchased in the past few years and I have been pleased with all of them. Also, there was a three month extension on the one year warranty because I believe there may have been a problem with production of this product in the beginning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

DOA and poor outsourced support

12/12/2013
By ,
Daytona Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always considered Samsung to be a quality product. I have a TV which was repaired out of the original warranty period due to a recall / acknowledged problem. That's service!
I just opened My Blueray player which I received as a gift, It was DOA. After what must have been an hour dealing with a young lady who my wife and I could hardly understand, I was told I needed my receipt for service. The tech lacked even basic knowledge of the unit, its features and use.
Something like this poisons a brand in my mind, I will not buy it for me, I definitely would not buy for someone else as a gift.
What separates a name brand product from a cheap knock-off is the level of service offered, and the thought that that the company stands behind their product. I found no value in the name.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Don't even bother

02/13/2014
By ,
Lillington, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this blue-ray 6 months ago based on a recommendation from a friend and with it being only $45 it was a no brainier. I bought a refurb the first time that was DOA. you'd have thought I'd have learned my lesson but being Samsung I gave them another chance. The second one worked. Setup was simple and the blue-ray player worked fine until today. Did the updates etc. was loving it. In attempting to watch a blue-ray it froze, I unplugged it and now it won't even work. And it also seems the remote is now faulty. It will power the device however none of the buttons work. I press Netflix and now the DVD player wants to work but when it comes to using the remote to selecting play....it doesn't even work. Netflix is another issue. If Netflix is your main deciding factor for making this purchase don't even bother. Heed everyone's warning about it freezing. I've unplugged this Monstrosity more times than I can count. I've read where the antenna may be faulty....you ain't lying. Netflix works fine on my other devices. Just disappointed. I would not recommend this product. It was great when it worked but I never thought after 6 months it would stop working. And it had to die during this snowstorm when I could enjoy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Not what I expected.

04/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This unit works very well with DVDs and Blu-Ray discs but is disappointing when it comes to using the wifi. For example trying to use Netflix through the player is annoying. It takes too long to load. It freezes up. It takes 5-10 seconds for the unit to respond to the remote and it won't hold the 1080 resolution. I'm afraid it's going back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Nice Player

12/09/2012
By ,
Sturgis, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took the Blu-ray player out of the box last night and connected it to my TV. Everything seemed to power up fine. The remote was a bit confusing right away - it might have helped if I read the manual first - but I was able to load and watch a Blu-ray disk and was very happy with the results. I did notice before the movie a comment about upgrading - so after watching the movie I tried to update the software. It turned out to be a very easy process (the shipping version was two versions old so it was a good idea to upgrade). When I tried to look at some of the other internet options the player did seem to get stuck on a log-on screen for one of the optional services (I think it was Netflix) but I eventually got back to the home screen. Other than that everything seemed to work fine. All in all I am very happy with the purchase (so far).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

uhg

04/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Streaming locks up all the time and you have to unplug unit to unlock.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

what a difference

01/06/2014
By ,
nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!!what a difference in picture resolution with this blu-ray player versus the old dvd player. i read reviews from walmart and other sites on this blu-ray and there were mixed reviews.so i only purchased because i got it at an unbelievable price$$ .some of the reviews complained about trying too play blu-rays and DVDs and not being able to get them to work, using Netflix and having buffering and other issues.I have not had a problem with playing blu-rays or old DVDs or getting Netflix to play i have also used the vudu which is preinstalled on the device and all work perfect. but i did do the system update when setting up my device, which is pretty much mandatory on most smart or wifi items these days.the update is so easy if you* read* yes read the instructions before you start there should be no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Samsung Blu Ray

04/20/2014
By ,
Seattle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't got to watch a full movie on it. But I love Samsung products. This is a good one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Limited apps

04/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this Blu-ray player because it has Wi-Fi capabilities. In my quest not to get cable I planned to get Netflix and Hulu. Weeelllll....it only has Netflix, Vudu, Cinema Now, and YouTube apps on it. There is no capability to download anymore apps or access the Samsung app store :o( Complete and total bummer. Had I known this before I purchased it I totally would NOT have gotten it.
Otherwise, it works fine so far. Haven't tried playing any Blu-ray movies in it yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

WiFi!

04/11/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're like me and you are looking for an inexpensive way to connect your Netflix to your TV this is the product you are looking for. If u have a not smart TV like I have then grab an inexpensive HDMI cable while you are shopping. Setup was fast and easy and we have been enjoying our Netflix ever since. Popped in a cheapo $5 dvd not even a blue ray disc - works GREAT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Not for Netflix users!!!!!! Run away!!!!

04/01/2014
By ,
tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great blu ray, DVD, Pandora, YouTube, and that's all I have tried on it! As far as the whole Netflix, it is awful! I turn off and unplug this baby on average 4 times a day! It freezes, as well as stop playing with a code of 701 (in Netflix). I have called and had to deactivate the blu ray twice already. The Netflix associate told me that this is NOT NORMAL! He advised me that if it keeps doing this than I should contact Samsung and see why this device keeps on kicking me out of Netflix mainframe. I know most people want this because of Netflix. THE IS GREAT BUT RUN AWAY NETFLIX USERS!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

great blu-ray

04/12/2014
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My only issue with having this blu-ray is figuring out how to hook it up to my old TV seems that no one has the converter box that I need for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

great product

03/11/2014
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a bluray player and love Samsung. It is very nice and works well. Easy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

best product for the money

04/12/2014
By ,
marion
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my husband loves it and thats enough for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Sent it back...

04/05/2014
By ,
Dallas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After ordering and receiving the product, I opened everything and set it all up. Even connected the device to my high speed wireless router only to find that the connective ness was terrible. Connecting to Netflix tool forever even though other devices were connecting immediately. There is no display on the front of the player so you have no indication of what is occurring. Not happy.. Returned the item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung BD-E5400 Blu-ray Player

Great blue ray with wifi

04/08/2014
By ,
Aiea, Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player is very compact, but has everything we needed, particularly wifi for streaming. We don't have a smart tv, and this player streams media very well. Been watching Netflix and YouTube, listening to Pandora, and it does a good job. Very pleased with this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 135 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next