Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Brother Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

The Brother LS2350 Sewing Machine with DVD is great for beginning sewers and those looking for a reliable, budget-friendly and virtually hassle-free machine. This Brother LS2350 Sewing Machine with DVD features 20 stitch functions, intuitive dials for changing the stitch width and length, an easy bobbin winder and a built-in sewing light that illuminates your work area. With the included with this Easy-to-use Sewing Machine is a foot pedal controller, you can start and stop the machine with a touch of your foot while keeping your hands free to maneuver your fabric. Also included are a built-in free arm for sewing or hemming cuffs and pants, built-in accessory storage, two sewing feet and two starter spools of thread. Get started by following the included DVD instructional video, and you'll be sewing in no time.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation89%31 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

Good Beginner Sewing Machine

11/26/2012
By ,
Canton, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this as my first sewing machine because of the affordable price. At first, I got a little frustrated while threading the machine because the operation manual was confusing at times, but after I watched the DVD I was able to figure it out. I started practicing on scrap peices of fabric and then I made a pair of fingerless gloves. Afterwards, I tried to change the thread to a different color, but when I took out the bobbin case some other parts fell out of the machine. I thought I put them back in right so I started to sew but the machine wouldn't work. Turns out the parts fell back out. I was really close to calling customer service, but I eventually put the parts back in right without help. Another thing I am displeased with is that the upper thread breaks now and then, and ocassionally it gets caught in the machine, even though I am threading it correctly.
Overall, it was worth the price but I can see myself buying a more advanced sewing machine next year. Definately for a beginner. If I had paid anymore than I did for this machine, I would be very displeased, but since it was cheap I am okay with it. I am able to do all the projects I want to do with it. I reccomend it for someone who is just learning to sew.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Morgan, Colorado
your tension is to tight
Posted 03/17/2013
adjust the tension and you thread wont break.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

Good basic machine

11/27/2012
By ,
Rockford, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good basic machine with metal parts. Yes it will need oiling. The owner's manual is easy to understand and has good pictures. The included DVD shows step by step how to set up the machine and maintain it. ie: where, how, and how much oil as well as general cleaning. The manual shows how to install a zipper and how to construct a button hole. It is old school. You will learn how to do it the old way. The owner's manual also covers (briefly) quilting and embroidery. There is a plastic cover for the feed dogs. The quilting and embroidery are done freehand. It also covers sewing multiple layers. Make certain to use a heavy duty needle when sewing heavy weight fabric such as denim.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+52points
Review 3 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

Long long time ago, in a tailor shop far away...

11/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Note the words "20-Stitch FUNCTIONS", not 20 different stitches. Keep reading... This machine is for those who want, from time to time, to make a pillow case, or curtain, or if you are skilled enough, to do size alternations on a sport coat, pants, etc.. About 45 years ago I was a tailor but I no longer had a sewing machine. Recently, after losing some weight, I took a sport coat in for alternation at the "best" alteration shop in town. They botched it. So, I bought this el-cheapo machine at Walmart on Black Friday, because: 1) it was cheap, and 2) it can sew a straight line, vary the stitch length, and handle different types of thread. The machine was cheaper than the botched "professional" alteration charge. I was able to take-in the jacket sides and back seam on a heavy tweed wool sport coat and resize the fine satin lining with no problems from the machine whatsoever. In fact, the machine reminds me of those machines "back in the time"; a well made basic tool. It is all you really need unless you are into making suits/dresses from scratch/pattern, or are into high volume production sewing work. The machine does not do a blind stitch (for hems), but, I always blind stitch by hand (I'm a perfectionist -- according to the local alteration shop). This machine allows you to vary the stitch width and length -- that's what the two big knobs are for on the front. The little lever just to the left of the knobs lets you set the needle on center, or 1/8" left, or 1/8" right -- for making a button hole (really? -- make a button hole?). The left knob sets the stitch width, enabling you to make zig-zag stitches up to 1/4" wide; or set it to zero for simply a "zero width" straight stich. The right knob sets the stitch length from "none" to about 1/8" between stitches. By varying the settings of these two knobs, you have 20 different stitch "functions". The lever below the right knob is the reverse lever -- push it down and the sewing reverses until to release it. Finally, and very important, there is a little knob on the front, down by the needle area. That knob controls the top thread tension. It is very rare to see that feature anymore -- and essential if you use different kninds of thread (cotton, poly, combo) and thread thicknesses. Brother does not list it on their site (they seem to disavow all knowledge of it) and the only place I could find it "Brother LS-2350" was Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+178points
Review 4 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

just purchased

11/23/2012
By ,
florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
just purchased this today.. did a little stitching with it,practice and then mended some clothes. It seems a bit cheaply made,but with the price can't complain. the handwheel is very stiff,may ease with a little use. I'll come back in a month or 2 and let you know more.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+143points
Review 5 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

Great basic machine.

12/03/2012
By ,
Viper, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Technically I have had this model of machine for 12 years :) However, I am purchasing a new one. This machine is perfect for beginners, easy to thread, and simple to use. I LOVE IT! The only reason I am buying it again is because the bobbin winder has finally died and my machine is kind of on it's last leg. I use it primarily for costumes, simple children's dresses, curtains, and pillow cases. It does need to be oiled or it will drag and bunch the thread. Not the best for really thick material like denim but it will go through upholstery fabric like the faux leather.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Review 6 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

I recommend this machine to everyone!

05/24/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not know how to sew when I bought this machine. I now consider myself a pretty darn good seamstress. This machine works great, comes with excellent instructions (make sure you read them), and is a great value! I have used this machine to mend jeans, make Halloween costumes, sew cloth napkins, hem curtains, make over 20 fleece and felt vests for my child's preschool, and I have about 20 more projects lined up. I have owned this machine for 4 years and purchased it on a Black Friday. Forget about spending $100's of dollars on a fancy machine, because this one is all most people need. I tell all my friends to buy this one...my mother, a long-time seamstress, even owns one now and loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

Great Price...Disappointing quality.

02/21/2013
By ,
Spokane, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine for my daughter who is in her 20's. She was unable get the sewing machine to work correctly so I went over to her place.
I'm a sewer and quilter of many years operating many different machines.
I had to adjust the tension and it still was not making correct stitching without nesting on the bottom and creating loops on the top.
This machine also does not come with an attached thread cutter.
When you push the foot pedal down...you have to push it all the way down...which is not normal. The needle does not move for several seconds, the motor is loud and sounds like it is straining. When the needle does start to move...it's one speed...fast.
Sewing machines "do not" function this way.
We may have just gotten a lemon and are returning this sewing machine.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 8 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

Great for beginners

03/10/2013
By ,
Spring Valley, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm not a professional but all I can say, its easy and simple to make simple projects. didn't need to watch the dvd.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 9 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine
03/10/2013
By ,
Lacey, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my granddaughter. She is just learning how to sew. It is perfect easy to use and well made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 10 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

works great!!!

04/04/2013
By ,
New Iberia, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this sewing machine i just buy it to do some mending on my husband pants for work and it work perfectly i really love it and for the price i think its an awesome product...:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 11 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

Tension was not good

02/09/2013
By ,
la
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not get the tension correct on this machine. I turned it all the way up to 9 and loops still appeared on the wrong side (bobbin side.) Watched DVD, checked repeatedly that everything was correct, finally went to the Sewing Center and was informed the tension was too low. The machine was defective out of the box. Returned it and bought a Singer instead. It cost 2x as much, and this is a case of I got what I paid for. Don't waste your time or money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 12 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

Nice little machine for small projects

03/24/2013
By ,
Cornelius, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this machine for my granddaughter, who is learning to sew, so far it has met all expectations and she loves out. For the price, a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

LOVE IT!

03/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this machine almost everyday. Great item for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine
04/10/2013
By ,
franklin,ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great sewing machine for a beginner:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 15 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

Cute machine for small sewing jobs

11/30/2012
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A word of caution if you ship this item. It ships in its own box so contents are displayed. I wish I had known that because this Christmas present is no longer a surprise as I sent it ahead to my daughter. I told her to expect a package and not to open it before Christmas! Lol I cannot say for sure that there were not warnings about this and how it would be packaged for shipping but I didn't notice, nor did I expect this situation. Just writing this as a 'heads up' for others who want to keep their purchase a surprise!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine
03/09/2013
By ,
Yakima, Wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only gotten to test it out since I'm a college student in the middle of finals, but from what I've seen so far it works pretty good and is easy to thread.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 17 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

Great and Great Price!

04/20/2013
By ,
Lancaster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine was a great buy. I love the easy to follow instructions. It sews great and is very easy to use. Especially good for beginners.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine
05/26/2013
By ,
Yakima WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice machine, works very well, easy to use. Very satisfied with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 19 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

Great easy to use product!

04/01/2013
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm still trying to find that perfect tension, but other than that- so easy to use. Perfect for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Brother LS2350 20-Stitch Functions Sewing Machine

You get what you pay for

11/17/2013
By ,
Grants Pass, Orergon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this machine as a christmas present. I have basic sewing skills and have used machines off and on for the last 25 years. This machine broke after I used it the 2nd time. Sadly it has been a few months after it was purchased. The cost of repair would have been more than the replacement of the machine. The frustration and repeated attempts to get the machine to work were worse than the thought of buying a decent machine to begin with. BUYER BEWARE!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next