Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GoPro GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder

GoPro GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder

GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder is smaller, lighter and WiFi enabled. This GoPro Camcorder makes it easy to capture and share your world with just the touch of a button. With professional-quality HD video and five megapixel photos, you can use this HERO3 Camcorder to get an immersive wide-angle capture of your favorite activities. With built in WiFi, this GoPro HERO3: White Edition enables remote control via optional WiFi remote or live video preview and remote control on Smartphones and tablets running the free GoPro app. With a wearable and mountable design, this GoPro Camcorder also has professional 1080p at 30 fps, 960p at 30 fps, 720p at 60 fps and more video capture, as well as a burst of three frames per second.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(140 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
28
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation89%124 out of 140reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 105 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
28
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder

Awesome for cheapest version

08/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really love the way the pictures came out. I was a little worried at first. Easy to use and set up with the Gopro iPhone app. Great for a little camera!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder
This review is fromGoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder.

Excellent Product I use it for my Mountain Bilke

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm using the camera for my Mountain Bike Rides and it's perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder
This review is fromGoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder.

good clarity video

09/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great! Used it at the lake, great videos in water and out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder
This review is fromGoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder.

A great camera for action

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great camera for action
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder
This review is fromGoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder.

Would have been a 5 "IF"

08/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality camera, outstanding image quality. The only issue is: having difficulty, WiFi connection with a Droid X. Both GoPro and Verizon have attempted to assist. Appears there is a bug n the phones software. Would boost to a 5 if resolved. Other then that two thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder
This review is fromGoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder.

Good starting point, long review.

08/13/2014
By ,
Pekin, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these cameras to film my gigs. The very first thing you need to get for these are SD cards, they don't like cheap SD cards, they also need to be class 10. I have a class 4 cheap 16GB microSD for it, it don't behave right. I updated both the cameras with it but it freezes up all the time. There is no fix for that besides get a really expensive SD card, and for two cameras, that costs half a camera. I think it depends on the bundle you choose.
The audio isn't the best in the waterproof case, thats why they made another door with ports on it, I never tried it out because I bought a professional audio interface for two studio mics that will give me a better stereo effect to guarantee good sound.
It does not have a screen so you'll have to just aim it, unless you have the app, you can preview the camera over it's wifi, but its only to get the shot just right, the delay in the video feed is horrible, thats why they call it preview. It has a very, very wide shot that I don't think you can adjust, I have not had much time to toy with the settings. If you're just starting in video, I'd recommend that you get something that you can view what you're shooting at. You can buy a touch screen to go on the back, but that is around 80 dollars.
I bought the gopro cameras because of the small size, plus they'll be my secondary cameras while I purchase a primary camera that is more for the professional side of recording. Basicly my intentions were to have both cameras on stage then have another camera with a screen so I can get good shots then when I go to position to get a different shot, I can edit some gopro footage in. I bought some mic stand adapters and they act as a tripod.
One concern, you can't access the jacks through the case when mounted, unless you go buy a frame that allows that. You'd have to sacrifice the waterproof ability for that. Maybe the only reason you'd want to access the jacks while having the camera mounted is because you can connect a external microphone or a monitor. If you plan to do some podcasting, I'll leave the research up to you because I don't podcast, I know someone that does and he uses a video card on his computer to record HDMI in from the camera. I don't think you can have it plugged into a USB to charge and still use it.
If you're a musician, this camera may be right for you, it all depends on how you're going to get your sound, whether that's from external microphones or directly from a soundboard, you decide. The camera is mounted to a plate that comes in the box, you can use that as a stand and put it on some equipment case, press record and leave it, I'd make sure you swap batteries a few times if your gig is long.
If you're someone that films small skits, this will be fine for you, as long as you position the camera just right, I don't think that'll be a problem, it has such a wide angle. One problem, if you don't have a steady hand or a tripod, better find one or the other because it don't have a video stabilize feature, the picture is solid and moves with the camera. I've seen some competitor cameras around the same price but lacks the features gopro has, only difference is the video stabilize mode. I wouldn't hold the camera anyway because of my shaky arm and you hear everything that happens to the case, if you swap a grasp, you hear it.
The waterproof case is somewhat hard to snap open, thats how you know its waterproof(up to 197 feet). Again you can swap the door for the one with the ports, by the looks of it, looks difficult. The camera does somewhat get warm and if you are using the camera in a dry climate, look up a guide to changing the back door because I don't know.
This camera was really meant as a action camera, that is why its small, don't have a screen and has a universal mounting option. Its meant to mount to your helmet, bike, surfboard or just to your forehead... This is a very good starting point if you're just getting into filming.
I'm happy with it for my use, its really simple, compact and it packs a punch for it's size. I have used it for quick snapshots to post online and the quality is good. There may be better options but that may leave your price range. The accessories are somewhat expensive. This review is long, there is much more I could cover, but I don't want a list of every use for this camera as long as the nile river. Do your research, I did mine for couple months, think it took way too long because I missed out on some good moments. Be prepared to buy a bunch of accessories costing about the same as the camera(if you want to be professional).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder
This review is fromGoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder.

My daughter loves this camera!

08/13/2014
By ,
West Hartford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera for my daughter to bring with her when she studies abroad this school year. She wanted something small and had heard how great this camera is. Apparently it is because she has been using it continually and she hasn't left yet! She loves that she can view and send the pictures instantly on her phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder

love my gopro

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this camera!
Only thing I wish is the micro hdmi cabke came with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder
This review is fromGoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder.

Great Camera...

08/03/2014
By ,
lake city, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GoPro cameras are awesome..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder
This review is fromGoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder.

to cool

08/01/2014
By ,
oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
to many uses, and best price on net,even beet amazon
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder

Works well

06/05/2014
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product that works as advertised.
Only negative at all is the very poor instructions that come with it. For someone not familiar with using one it is difficult to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder

awesome!

06/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only problem is the add said I'd get to pick a free mount and there was no where to do that?!?
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Free Mount
Posted 07/05/2014
I was looking at the same bundle and never could figure out how to add my "mount of choice".
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder

Awesome!

05/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product....was disappointed with Walmarts fulfillment.....received a back order notification then a few days later it shipped. Upon delivery found the GoPro box within the shipping box to be "worn" and obviously re-packaged. The battery and charger cable were missing. Walmart later made it right but ruined my ability to give it as a birthday gift which was the purpose of my order. The camera itself is incredible! Definitely worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder

Shipping by Walmart very bad!

05/21/2014
By ,
jupiter fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Camera received had been used. Box was torn up and it had been visibly used. Casing around camera was scratched. All attachments had been opened. Very upset with Walmart, mainly about sending me a floor model/ or a returned camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder
This review is fromGoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder.

gopro review

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got this product but so far very happy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder

Excellent

05/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent product at a very good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder
This review is fromGoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder.

Any GoPro is a good GoPro. But not an easy start

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It takes a little to get used to the menu system. Down load the software from the site so you can work with video on your computer and once you can master putting music to an action video you'll be hooked.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder

Exceeds expectations

03/26/2014
By ,
Austin, AR 72007
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little camera and waterproof case is a surprisingly well made and easy to understand device. It exceeded my expectations in that the clear case is extra durable, the instructions are very clear and straightforward, the picture/video is excellent, the sound is excellent, the mounts work very well, the battery life is 6 hours, the recharge time is only minutes. The micro camera is nearly all battery. The view in the ad of the camera is actually the clear thick plastic waterproof case. The camera itself is only 2 1/4" wide x 1 5/8" high x 7/8" deep. It has a large wide angle lens that captures a very wide area. I did notice fish-eye effects as I drove along. By this I mean that oncoming telephone poles, for example, would start bending inward as I approached. The lens distorts the edges of the view by curving the scene into a rounded periphery. Other than this the camera works perfectly. I drive with it dash mounted to record road wear at construction sites and the video and sound are crystal clear, there is no blurring or bouncing even on dirt roads. I was very impressed. This is a very well designed action camera mounted in a very rugged clear plexi-plastic case. I am very pleased with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder

excelente

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excelent
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GoPro HERO3: White Edition Action Camcorder

not very user friendly... my wife returned it

02/25/2014
By ,
Meridian, MS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was not happy with it... No screen to review pictures. Got a better camera for my wife's needs
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next