Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

The Straight Talk LG L40G Cell Phone has all the basics you need to connect on the go. Download over 450,000 apps on Google Play, which is part of the Android operating system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.967 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(244 Reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
69
3 stars
21
2 stars
19
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation79%193 out of 244reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
69
3 stars
21
2 stars
19
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great phone

06/02/2013
By ,
Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up. Updated OS (Android Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0) compared to other Straight Talk Androids. Easy to use and love that it syncs my contacts with my computer and Nexus tablet. Downside: It is slippery to hang on to and has somewhat squared off corners. All my previous phones have all been rounded off at the corners, which I much prefer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 62 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Does not work in 86315 zip code

09/10/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone online to work in the 86315 & 95126 zip codes based on the Straight Talk/Wal-Mart website. It worked great in 95126 but doesn't work in 86315; I have to go two blocks away at the edge of the 86314 zip code for it to work. The guys in the local Wal-Mart says this is a known issue with GMS phones using the AT&T or Verizon networks. Only the Sprint/CDMA phones work here. Straight Talk refuses to believe that so I have to go through their entire troubleshooting process. 1st: they are mailing me a new sim card which takes five days 2nd: if that doesn't work (which Wal-Mart says it won't# then they mail me the same phone & another sim card 3rd: if that doesn't work they won't tell me the next step. Based on local knowledge they should refund my money and let me buy a CDMA phone that works on the Sprint network. Instead I am without phone service until this gets resolved. Also when I dial 911 #as a test) it has an address three blocks from my home. 911 says Straight Talk needs to get this straightened out; Straight Talk says 911 needs to make a manual fix. I will be interested in how long this takes & the final resolution.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 63 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

LG Optimus works for me !

11/29/2013
By ,
Buffalo,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old phone was a samsung SCH-M828C . This was the first android phone i owned . The phone always had to be re-started because it would lock up . The low memory icon was always popping up also . After talking with some friends and a sales person at walmart I got the LG Optimus Extreme . I could not be happier so far . I really love this phone . I went from a 3.2" screen to a 4. 0" . The 5 megapixel camera is outstanding ! The seed is so much faster and I have not had to reboot the phone once. The battery seems to last all day . I listen to sports talk and music all day and I have no issues at all . It was well worth the price !!!! Every app that I had on my old i have installed on the LG and no LOW MEMORY ICONS !! I don't really use all the options but for what i need it's outstanding . Very light also !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 64 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Love it! Love it! Love it!

07/05/2013
By ,
OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first updated LG whatever phone, and I really like it. It was pretty easy to handle, I wish more accessories were available for this phone, but overall I Love it! Thanks Walmart for this option for a Straight Talk phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 65 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

If the camera is important to you, do NOT buy it!!

07/26/2013
By ,
Carson City NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The photos really were bad. Very blurry at times and when zooming in, the clarity got worse. I will NEVER recommend an LG phone after experiencing this. I love to take photos and not have to carry a camera with me. Even if shopping, it's great to take a picture of an item, send to email so I can look up reviews before buying. Or, I love to take a picture of a cool dog or video of a friend's kid. With the LG camera, FORGET IT!!! I returned the LG, and for the same exact price, I got the HUAWEI Ascend Plus. The store people said the last Huawei Ascend got returned a lot, but not the Plus. This phone, WOW, the photos are exceptional. Forget the LG, save your money and the hassle. It's not worth it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 66 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Terrible Phone

03/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't know if anyone else has had issues with this phone but it is extremely unresponsive. If your talking and try to hang up, the screen won't light up so that you can. If someone is calling you, same thing happens, screen stays black and you miss your call. It was a great value and otherwise a great phone but is always on the fritz.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 67 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great phone/ Love Straight Talk

03/05/2014
By ,
Greensburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After being a Verizon customer for many years we were finally sick of all the hidden fees and bad customer service. I did the research and decided to switch to Straight Talk...best decision ever. I ordered 2 of these for my husband and I and we haven't had any problems with the phones. The battery life isn't great but I can get though a day or two without charging it. The service is wonderful.... better service than Verizon which is hard to believe, but is true.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 68 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Nice phone I will activate it soon.

12/17/2013
By ,
Winnsboro, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This looks like a nice phone. I'm excited about changing from Verizon under contract to Straight Talk with no contract.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 69 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

No Complaints Here

02/19/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, so good! I've had the phone for a couple of weeks, and I love it! I'm new to the smartphone world (I'm too cheap)! So, when I finally found a Straighttalk smart phone for such a deal with all of the features I was looking for (and works in my VERY rural area), I thought it was too good to be true! But, it wasn't! I love the functionality & simplicity. It looks sharp, the touch screen is nice, the camera's not super, but workable. I love the flexibility & options with Android. Honestly, I don't think you could get more for your $ with this thing! I'm a fan.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 70 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

ATT tower needed

02/08/2014
By ,
Sussex County, Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this phone was to be able to work in my area BUT ATT does not work in my zip code. Did fine outside my home area but no good at home where I needed it the most. Nice phone if ATT is your tower but otherwise no good :-(
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 71 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Large screen. Easy to see!

12/05/2013
By ,
Blountville TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can actually see the screen and it is so much easier to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 72 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Love it

04/26/2013
By ,
harrison, AR.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is the best, gets done every thing I need in a phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 73 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great for calls, internet browser needs work

08/31/2013
By ,
Deland, Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the phone because it runs on the ATT network, the only thing available in my neighborhood with a decent signal. The phone had great signal and would have met my needs for making and receiving calls. The problems arose when using the internet on any secured website, ie your bank or work website. Once you entered the secure web site the phone stopped working. I contacted straighttalk and they checked eveything that they knew to check with no success in finding the problem. The screen was not very vivid and appeared to be faded even with the brightness set at the highest leverl. Very hard to see the screen when outside. I had to switch back to the old LG ZIP running on Verizon until I can find a suitable phone running on ATT. This would be a great phone with better screen resolution and the software bugs worked out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 74 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Not what i expected for 150..

02/24/2014
By ,
Duncannon Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For $150 i expected it to be alot better quality. Feels cheap, the memory on it is a joke. DO NOT plan on playing games or multi task. Even using the google maps app it lags up after you close it. NOT WORTH THE MONEY. Compared to my last phone, the only thing better is the signal/service, but without 4G...This is the worst android phone i have ever purchased. Be warned...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 75 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

so far so good !!!

10/30/2013
By ,
43302
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first smart phone ,but so far it works great! Smarter than me so far but still learning ,good reception , better than expected. overall satisfied!! Glad I bought!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 76 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone
05/24/2013
By ,
Las Vegas,NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you live in Las Vegas, NM do not purchase this phone the internet will not work in this area due to it being an AT&T phone. The signal is not good internet only worked off wi-fi. I did like the functions of the phone so iI went with the LG Optimus Showtime which is the upgrade for $50 more and it runs off the Verizon towers better phone for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lake Wylie
I say let the punishment fit the crime...
Posted 05/26/2013
If I understood the overall opinion/message here, the issue reviewer has here is he/she bought the wrong phone for their area/ coverage. Doesn't seem fair to penalize the score of the phone when phone was not the cause of reviewers complaints...rather the reviewers lack of research...just saying
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 77 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

I am pleased

09/15/2013
By ,
Ferndale, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am old and wanted a smart phone some day. I finally decided to get one. I am well pleased with it. I am still learning all its functions but am intrigued with all t will do. I hope to get more apps for it to help me in other areas of my life. Thanks so much for the good serevice in getting tdhis phone to me in the appropriate time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 78 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

ok phone

02/02/2014
By ,
paducah, ky
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Phone has lots of good features and looks nice. But has no back camera for selfies and processer very slow. Click icon then have to wait several seconds for camera to open and function. Flash is super bright but the pics can be edited with edit app to tone down washout. Ok camera for the money. Pics turn out ok and batery life pretty good. Some trouble connecting to internet when not in wifi. 50-50 chance of getting the connection. But over all is good starter smart phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 79 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Excellent phone for the money

02/01/2014
By ,
Hudson Valley of NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The LG Extreme and Straight Talk service are great. Phone does everything I need and more. It is the perfect size to fit on my pocket yet has a large easy to read screen. I have had AT&T for many years with no problems and I really can't tell I have switched anything except I got a new phone and the cost is a lot less. I should have done this a long time ago but didn't believe it would be this easy. I am recommending that my friends and family make the switch as soon as they can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 80 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

decent phone

02/27/2014
By ,
Santa Fe NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phone operates ok but the optimus dynamic has features this phone lacks such as assistted text spell check & sugestions
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
61-80 of 204 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  11 Next