Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

The Straight Talk LG L40G Cell Phone has all the basics you need to connect on the go. Download over 450,000 apps on Google Play, which is part of the Android operating system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.967 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(244 Reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
69
3 stars
21
2 stars
19
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation79%193 out of 244reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
69
3 stars
21
2 stars
19
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Love it

04/26/2013
By ,
harrison, AR.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is the best, gets done every thing I need in a phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 62 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

good for texting

02/14/2014
By ,
columbiana ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love this phone but sometimes when i am in the middle of doing something the screen go's black and will not come back on,i have also tried several times to change the ringtone and it will not change.The ringer starts out real low and by the time it gets louder and i hear it,i already missed the call.I can not lighten the camera.I guess what i really like about this phone is the texting is very easy.lol
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 63 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone
05/24/2013
By ,
Las Vegas,NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you live in Las Vegas, NM do not purchase this phone the internet will not work in this area due to it being an AT&T phone. The signal is not good internet only worked off wi-fi. I did like the functions of the phone so iI went with the LG Optimus Showtime which is the upgrade for $50 more and it runs off the Verizon towers better phone for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lake Wylie
I say let the punishment fit the crime...
Posted 05/26/2013
If I understood the overall opinion/message here, the issue reviewer has here is he/she bought the wrong phone for their area/ coverage. Doesn't seem fair to penalize the score of the phone when phone was not the cause of reviewers complaints...rather the reviewers lack of research...just saying
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 64 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great for calls, internet browser needs work

08/31/2013
By ,
Deland, Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the phone because it runs on the ATT network, the only thing available in my neighborhood with a decent signal. The phone had great signal and would have met my needs for making and receiving calls. The problems arose when using the internet on any secured website, ie your bank or work website. Once you entered the secure web site the phone stopped working. I contacted straighttalk and they checked eveything that they knew to check with no success in finding the problem. The screen was not very vivid and appeared to be faded even with the brightness set at the highest leverl. Very hard to see the screen when outside. I had to switch back to the old LG ZIP running on Verizon until I can find a suitable phone running on ATT. This would be a great phone with better screen resolution and the software bugs worked out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 65 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

LG Optimus works for me !

11/29/2013
By ,
Buffalo,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old phone was a samsung SCH-M828C . This was the first android phone i owned . The phone always had to be re-started because it would lock up . The low memory icon was always popping up also . After talking with some friends and a sales person at walmart I got the LG Optimus Extreme . I could not be happier so far . I really love this phone . I went from a 3.2" screen to a 4. 0" . The 5 megapixel camera is outstanding ! The seed is so much faster and I have not had to reboot the phone once. The battery seems to last all day . I listen to sports talk and music all day and I have no issues at all . It was well worth the price !!!! Every app that I had on my old i have installed on the LG and no LOW MEMORY ICONS !! I don't really use all the options but for what i need it's outstanding . Very light also !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 66 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Its not what I wanted

02/11/2014
By ,
Coos Bay, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its not the phone I wanted, its the one I could afford. Its my first smartphone and I LOVE it. very easy to use. I might read all of the book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 67 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Countless complains about camara

12/11/2013
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
about impossible to get a clear shot. zoom is bad. if you have kids you want to take pictures with or anything that moves often, this is not the phone for you. My cheaper phone was better at getting a clear shot. Its also very wide, hard to hit the far keys. having to replace because its messed up in many ways. had about 10 months
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 68 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

My first smartphone and I love it!

01/27/2014
By ,
Meridianville, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone for beginner or longtime user!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 69 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Starts out okay, then quickly goes downhill.

10/14/2013
By ,
Utah
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a comprehensive review of this phone over the last 5 months:
Day 1: Not bad, but off the bat the slower processor is noticeable as there is a slight delay in finger movements. Impressed with the ~2 day battery life.
First week: Not a single custom screen protector available from any provider which is a big con because this screen scratches VERY easily. Downloaded a few games, phone cannot process even the low performance needs games properly.
1 month later: Phone is beginning to run slightly slower, removed any aftermarket apps and it did not solve the problem.
2 months: Phone is unable to remove itself from wifi networks when out of range. Data will not go through at all when it is doing this.
3 months: In addition to wifi networks, if I went somewhere where there was no service and return, phone requires a restart to reconnect to a network.
4 months: No notification sound for incoming texts or calls occasionally, still no apps installed.
5 months: No notification sound nor screen lighting up for texts or calls whatsoever. Restarts make no difference and every possible setting changed and visited every forum for android, straihgttalk, and lg for a solution to no avail.
Bottom Line: I am in my mid 20's and am fairly tech savvy, I am able to build computers and understand how they work so I am not someone who doesn't know how to work with technology. The water damage marker is still unblemished and the phone has not been dropped and treated very carefully. This is a cheap phone but even so you do not get what you pay for. Not to mention the AWFUL customer service Straighttalk provides. Save the 150 and put a deposit on a decent phone from a legitimate provider.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 70 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Nice phone I will activate it soon.

12/17/2013
By ,
Winnsboro, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This looks like a nice phone. I'm excited about changing from Verizon under contract to Straight Talk with no contract.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 71 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

I am pleased

09/15/2013
By ,
Ferndale, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am old and wanted a smart phone some day. I finally decided to get one. I am well pleased with it. I am still learning all its functions but am intrigued with all t will do. I hope to get more apps for it to help me in other areas of my life. Thanks so much for the good serevice in getting tdhis phone to me in the appropriate time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 72 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Slow to function and camera horrible

09/08/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Processor was WAY TOO SLOW, to use for works, apps, or anything else! Camera does not have "stay hand" features. NOT good for "multitasking" as stated. Horrible phone. Returned & CSM said most come back due to beyond slow processor. ONLY thing good was the."do not disturb" feature on phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 73 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Large screen. Easy to see!

12/05/2013
By ,
Blountville TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can actually see the screen and it is so much easier to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 74 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

so far so good !!!

10/30/2013
By ,
43302
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first smart phone ,but so far it works great! Smarter than me so far but still learning ,good reception , better than expected. overall satisfied!! Glad I bought!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 75 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Works for me

07/03/2013
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find my phone super easy to navigate and it has all he features I desire. Takes great photos and battery life allows me to do whatever I need to do throughout the day, then charge it at night. I do have to say if fast paced games (ie: Temple Run) are important to you, this may not be the phone for you, I can't seem to get it to keep up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 76 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Would be a great phone if Wi-Fi & Bluetooth worked

08/13/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have been unable to get the Wi-Fi to connect to my home network. I have computers, tablets, and other phones that connect just fine. The phone will connect to an unsecure network. The Bluetooth doesn't see my Jawbone ERA headset. Very disappointing. I was working my way to ditching Verizon.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 77 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Don't bother

10/01/2013
By ,
AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm so disappointed with my phone. It lags all the time. The sound will just stop working and you have to restart the phone to get it too work. The camera takes terrible pictures....No, I'm not happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 78 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

not what i expected for the money I paid for this

09/04/2013
By ,
Vermont
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
too many techincal issues with this phone. it could just be a defect just for this phone not the whole model series. can't custom or download ringtones like my cheeaper phone. and it doesn't hold connection with internet well
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 79 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Worst phone to get!!!

10/03/2013
By ,
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is only good when you don't plan to use the apps. I bought this phone to replace my old samsung galaxy proclaim, big mistake. I should have just bought a new proclaim instead of downgrading to this piece of junk. Sure it has android 4.0, but its mislabled for 800MB of RAM. WRONG! It actually only has about 400MB of usable RAM. So any app or even type too fast lags it down. The typing software is so buggy, I can barely text a word before the keyboard vanishes for a good ten minutes, or completely stops working. So whatever you do, don't get this phone. Its a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 80 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

I love my new phone!

05/01/2013
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had some issues transferring my old telephone number with T Mobile to Straight Talk. The first individual with Straight Talk was hard to understand and I got frustrated. But than, I got bumped up to some one who helped me get through this. I was having a problem with my old pin/password holding up the process. Great job!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
61-80 of 204 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  11 Next