Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

The Straight Talk LG L40G Cell Phone has all the basics you need to connect on the go. Download over 450,000 apps on Google Play, which is part of the Android operating system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.979 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(243 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
69
3 stars
21
2 stars
19
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation79%193 out of 243reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
69
3 stars
21
2 stars
19
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great phone for a great price

06/20/2013
By ,
Winter Park, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Previously I owned an LG Optimus Q and thought I would miss the qwerty keyboard but have not missed it a bit. The talk to text works excellent. This phone is twice as fast for web browsing, checking email, FB ect. It is lightweight and thin and battery life is better also. Oh and the price was $30 cheaper than the Q. Overall I am very satisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 62 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great phone for the price.

10/09/2013
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So this has been a great phone for the price. It is not as nice as my previous smart phone but the plan price can't be beat. This is our 1st straight talk phone and our biggest concern was signal but so far it has been great. As for the phone itself most features (screen size, processor speed, RAM, camera resolution, etc.) are all less than top of the line phones like iPhone and Galaxy S4 which is expected but considerably better than the less than $100 stating phones. Over all a good balance of price vs features. One area that this little phone does not disappoint is battery life also my old phone now feels like a brick compared to the weight of this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 63 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

lg optimus extreme

02/02/2014
By ,
wooster ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first smartphone and so far i really like it. Only small neusance is if I turn it off it takes awhile longer than my old phone to turn back on. I've only had it s few days but is pretty easy to learn how to use it. Overall I am happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 64 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

GREAT PHONE, GREAT PRICE!

08/05/2013
By ,
salisbury, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone has all the bells and whistles without the obnoxious price.
I did my comparison with the Samsung Galaxy 2.
The Galaxy has a more powerful camers and a front facing camers as well.
LG only a 5 mp, rear facing camera.
The LG holds a strong charge for a couple of days.
For long trips, Mapquest in route will eat up a charge, so i keep mine plugged in the car adapter while in motion.
So far so good, only had the phone for two weeks!
Straight Talk is the way to go, works well, strong signal and even works out in the wilderness!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 65 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great phone

06/16/2013
By ,
Georgia,albany
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered my phone off of line it's a down side that its not in stores but the camera and stuff is very good but another downside is it doesn't have a front camera but that ok
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 66 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Smart phone cheaper

09/23/2013
By ,
Lillington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May not be an iphone but works just as well and a whole lot cheaper. Have straightalk service and my phone loads as fast as the iphone that a friend has. Paid only a fraction of the price he did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 67 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Large screen. Easy to see!

12/05/2013
By ,
Blountville TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can actually see the screen and it is so much easier to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 68 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone
07/05/2013
By ,
Hartland,MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only thing missing is a front camera. Easy to set up and good speed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 69 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

LG Optimus

02/02/2014
By ,
Huntingdon PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Phone
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 70 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

LG Optimus Extreme

10/04/2013
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best Straight Talk phone that I have purchased. It has a large screen with crisp and clear colors and 5 home screens. The internal memory is a vast improvement over past smart phones with the ability to disable certain built-in apps to be able to free up even more internal storage. The camera does have a flash but NOT the ability to zoom in at all and this is a bit of a let down but I can work around that. There is an edit feature for your pics which helps to make up for not having the zoom feature. I've had the phone for a few weeks now and I love it. The biggest "con" would be that this phone (and all of my other Straight Talk smartphones) is NOT compatible with Adobe Flash Player so you won't be able to watch every format of videos or play certain games. Other than that this is a great phone for the money that is spent on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 71 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone
09/17/2013
By ,
Jacksonville Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product. Very easy to navigate. Straight talk you are the BOMB
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 72 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great smartphone for a beginner

12/27/2013
By ,
Elko, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first smartphone, I have found it easy to to navigate. Getting used to the touch screen has been my biggest challenge for texting and inputing passwords. It can be very touchy. My fingers sometimes touch the wrong keys due to small size but I love the phone over all. It is an awesomely priced phone for all that you get. Downloads are easy enough. My kids are so glad I finally upgraded. Sorry I waited so long.
I went online with Straight Talk and it was a breeze to get my phone number transferred over and activate my new phone. I did it all online! I like the idea of being able to auto renew. If you are considering a smartphone for the first time, then I would recommend this one. Do your homework though and read through the reviews. I found alot of them very helpful in deciding if this was the right phone for me and my area. Be sure to check out the specifications and who services the phone. Some phones look exactly the same but they may not be serviced by Straight Talk, they may be serviced by Verizon. I am in an area where we have both AT&T and Verizon. I was previously with AT&T and wanted to stick with a phone that was supported by AT&T.
The one thing I was dissapointed in was that when the phone is shut off, the set alarms will not work, The phone has to be on in order for the alarm to work. This is the only reason I did not give it 5 Stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 73 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone
05/29/2013
By ,
Houston Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my phone. It's taken me about a week and half to put all my contacts in and figure out how to download everything. I was tired of. AT&T contracts. I would buy this phone again. It does more than my other (contract) phone did and its $45.00 a month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 74 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Does not work in 86315 zip code

09/10/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone online to work in the 86315 & 95126 zip codes based on the Straight Talk/Wal-Mart website. It worked great in 95126 but doesn't work in 86315; I have to go two blocks away at the edge of the 86314 zip code for it to work. The guys in the local Wal-Mart says this is a known issue with GMS phones using the AT&T or Verizon networks. Only the Sprint/CDMA phones work here. Straight Talk refuses to believe that so I have to go through their entire troubleshooting process. 1st: they are mailing me a new sim card which takes five days 2nd: if that doesn't work (which Wal-Mart says it won't# then they mail me the same phone & another sim card 3rd: if that doesn't work they won't tell me the next step. Based on local knowledge they should refund my money and let me buy a CDMA phone that works on the Sprint network. Instead I am without phone service until this gets resolved. Also when I dial 911 #as a test) it has an address three blocks from my home. 911 says Straight Talk needs to get this straightened out; Straight Talk says 911 needs to make a manual fix. I will be interested in how long this takes & the final resolution.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 75 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone
04/23/2013
By ,
Benton, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very sturdy phone well worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 76 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great for the price

07/26/2013
By ,
Gunnison, co
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone works off of att towers, I am not a fan of att, the service is ok. The phone is great, lots of super features, for half the price of a contract plan this is a good deal. Only dissapointment is that I thought this phone would work off Verizon. If that doesn't matter then this is the phone to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 77 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Had High Hopes for this phone

05/27/2013
By ,
Noblesville, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this phone based on all the five star reviews. I think it functions fairly well, and if it were not for the line that goes straight across the phone about 3/4 of an inch down from the top within the first six weeks of owning it, I would be really happy with it. Seems pretty no frills, basic, but that is what I was originally looking for, The screen cold be a little clearer period. Voices sound clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 78 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

so far so good !!!

10/30/2013
By ,
43302
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first smart phone ,but so far it works great! Smarter than me so far but still learning ,good reception , better than expected. overall satisfied!! Glad I bought!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 79 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

If the camera is important to you, do NOT buy it!!

07/26/2013
By ,
Carson City NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The photos really were bad. Very blurry at times and when zooming in, the clarity got worse. I will NEVER recommend an LG phone after experiencing this. I love to take photos and not have to carry a camera with me. Even if shopping, it's great to take a picture of an item, send to email so I can look up reviews before buying. Or, I love to take a picture of a cool dog or video of a friend's kid. With the LG camera, FORGET IT!!! I returned the LG, and for the same exact price, I got the HUAWEI Ascend Plus. The store people said the last Huawei Ascend got returned a lot, but not the Plus. This phone, WOW, the photos are exceptional. Forget the LG, save your money and the hassle. It's not worth it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 80 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Love it! Love it! Love it!

07/05/2013
By ,
OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first updated LG whatever phone, and I really like it. It was pretty easy to handle, I wish more accessories were available for this phone, but overall I Love it! Thanks Walmart for this option for a Straight Talk phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
61-80 of 203 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  11 Next