Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

The Straight Talk LG L40G Cell Phone has all the basics you need to connect on the go. Download over 450,000 apps on Google Play, which is part of the Android operating system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.967 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(244 Reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
69
3 stars
21
2 stars
19
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation79%193 out of 244reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
69
3 stars
21
2 stars
19
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Big Screen charges fast

04/30/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews before purchasing this phone. I have been very happy with it except for one thing. The owners manual is short and basically non-existent. Beware of the screen it is easy to butt dial people even if you lock the screen. Have butt dialed 911 more than once. If you shut off the Bluetooth by mistake, do yourself a favor and just shut off the phone and turn it back on. If you try to turn in back on from settings you will be waiting forever. Camera works great and so does the video function. I would purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 22 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Too Early

04/29/2013
By ,
Horseheads ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a smart phone neophyte and cannot compare this phone to any others. However, so far, I love the phone. Works great and you can't beat the price with functions it has. A better camera would be nice, but this one works fine for what I want it to do. I think the value is terrific.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 23 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great phone for the price

04/28/2013
By ,
Union, Mo.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this phone for about a month and love it. I have a work phone that is a I phone 4 and I would take the LG over it. The only problem I have seen so far, is there are no plugs to block debris from getting in the charging port. I really enjoy this phone, and got a 32 GB micro sd card so I have plenty of room to download music. My wife and son will be upgrading to this phone in the near future.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 24 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone
05/05/2013
By ,
Jackson, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is great. The plans offered are very affordable. The over all quality of the phone is good. The screen resolution is not as good as what I am use to but after using it for a few days it wasn't that bad. The options offered are pretty cool and are user friendly. The camera takes great pictures and the flash is a nice option. This was a great phone for 150.00. This phone works off of ATT towers which has impressed me very much. I had sprint service before and I was always dropping calls and not having signal, so the ATT service is way better than Sprint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 25 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

First smartphone...

09/05/2013
By ,
Vista,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the LG Optimus Extreme L40G as a gift for a friend who already uses Straight Talk on an antiquated phone. I wanted to upgrade her phone, and after some searching, found this one. I haven't actually seen it yet, but she says its working great, and absolutely loves it! I also gave her a 3-month prepaid unlimited talk/text/data plan, which was a bit of a hassle trying to order. This is a good savings over a month to month plan, and is delivered by email. In the end, I gave her the money so she could purchase the plan herself. Aside from a shipping delay of several days longer than originally listed, (frustrating because I told her it was coming, so she was very excited, then disappointed when it took longer) I'd have to say this was a great purchase. All in all, this phone has great features and the price was outstanding! Would definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 26 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

I am impressed

04/26/2013
By ,
Shippensburg, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While this is not my first "Smart Phone", this IS my first really SMART phone. Totally blows away most of my friends verizon 4g phones with their Android 2.0. Very fast, multi-tasking a breeze.
My only *itch is a really poor manual. The manual assumes the consumer knows a great deal about LG phones, AND, LG smart phones at that.
Use the tutorials available online and blogs to really learn how to use this phone.
This is a T-Mobile phone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 27 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

l40g AKA optimus extreme AKA L5 E610?

04/20/2013
By ,
the sticks, iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is my first android phone and ive only had it for a week. overall i really like it so far. i was choosing between the samsung galaxy proclaim (a cdma phone piggybacking on verizon) and this one (gms phone running on att) , both priced @ $150.
i ended up with this because it uses a newer version of the operating system (android 4), has a larger screen and supposedly better camera. additionally, i foolishly assumed that being gsm, it would work overseas (more about this below)
the phone is snappy and intuitive but comes full of the usual google privacy infringing software. the camera leaves some to be desired: poor focus, excessive shutter times, so-so colors makes it an entry level phone cam, 5MP or not. i appreciate the large screen. but for reading it is blown out of the water by an iphone or even a $60 e-ink reader. of course, the former is more expensive and the later only good for reading, so its an unfair comparison. for what it is, it works! the battery life is ok for a smartphone, a few days if you dont use it too much and dont run apps that use gps etc.
the description claims it comes with 1G of memory, but per the phone it is actually 2.5G, of which the preinstalled apps only takes a small fraction. from searching the internet i believe this phone is the same as the L5 E610 (or possibly 612) sold outside the US. this is useful if you want to root the phone as there is little info on the l40g but a lot on the L5. dunno if it applies for this one, waiting for someone else to risk theirs first :)
the only thing i do NOT like has more to do with Straight Talk than this phone. Even though this GSM phone is designed to work anywhere in the world, ST has really gone the extra mile making sure that will not happen. i can understand that ST doesnt allow international roaming as they would have no way of passing the foreign charges back to you, but they have also locked this non-subsidized phone so it cannot even be used with a local sim card while abroad. they stone wall you when you ask them for an unlock code to your - not theirs - phone. your only recourse is to install spotify and call via local wifi networks. oh well. all in all its still a great phone. i would recommend it to anyone looking for a decently priced smartphone primarily for US usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+53points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
the sticks, iowa
re: madmerlin
Posted 04/23/2013
thanks for the comment. i am aware of the international $60 plan. unfortunately, it will only allow you to call foreign numbers while you are IN the USA (which you can also do much cheaper by installing skype on your phone) . it will not allow you to roam on foreign networks while on vacation and, again, ST has locked down your unsubsidized phone so as to prevent you from buying a pre-paid local sim card to use during your trip. the bottom line is that straight talk is a great alternative in mainland USA and no good at all while abroad :)
as an update to my original review, i'd like to mention that my criticism against the camera may have been on the harsh side. under ideal conditions (non-moving subject/outdoor daylight), it can actually take quite pretty pictures and videos.
+9points
Customer Avatar
Kokomo In
RE: joje from the sticks, iowa
Posted 04/23/2013
ST has an international card you have to buy... its $60... Walmart... same place you get your $45 card... or, you can add it to your phone from the internet through the ST website...
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 28 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great

06/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
phone is great. battery life is almost 2 days with a full charge, enough memory to download all of my favorite apps and more, typing is easy especially since I had trouble typing on a touchscreen. sometimes i do get disconnected from internet access even though I have full bars but its rare. otherwise, great phone great price great carrier
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 29 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

My entry to smart phones/straight talk

06/02/2013
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had long wanted to upgrade my phone, but my nationwide carrier offered only basic phone for talk, or almost doubling my monthly bill to get any talk/text/web. Headed to Straight Talk with some anxiety, having read the bad reviews re customer service. I ordered this phone on the website - not much choice in my local store. Bought the service card in the store, and was able to activate in about 10 minutes on line with minimal hassle. opting to get a new phone number. After trying it out for a couple weeks, signed up for automatic refills. We'll see how it goes. This specific phone: Pros - nice feel, good display, much info available on line, many nice features for a non -tech-savvy guy like me. Cons - more difficult to find accessories for than more popular phones. Overall - quite happy, hope there are no service glitches.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 30 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

4.0 is a lot better thsan 2.3

04/28/2013
By ,
Fort Walton Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I originally bought a Huawei Asend Y that had a 2.3 Android OS. This was garbage and always crashing and not allowing me to add contact. Also said memory was low all the time. When I saw this phone with a better OS (assuming 4.0 is better than 2.3) I invested in it. So far no problem except it won't let me save programs to the micro SD card. I suppose I could use the SD card to hold my music. Other than that I am very happy with this phone. My suggestion is to spend the extra cash and buy this phone over anything else out there with a 2.3 OS!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 31 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

I really like this phone.

05/03/2013
By ,
SNB, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a smart phone and so far this one is doing everything I wanted. I like being able to add apps. The Android 4.0 is great.
I am still learning about the different features of this phone.
I like the text messaging balloons and when I am talking on the phone the reception is better than my previous phone.
I admit this is the first smart phone I have had and I am very happy with it and would recommended it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 32 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

great phone for a good price

07/09/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just went to straight talk. Wanted a good phone at small price to see how good the service really is, and i have to say i am not disappointed. I ordered 3 for the for the family, and we all love them. I like that we were able to get the phone insurance at a much cheaper price than with our old contract phones. This phone has alot more memory than our 150 mb smart phones that we were stuck with for the last 2 yrs. We have had no issues with these phones or with straight talk. We even went out of state and the phones still worked great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 33 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

get a different phone

07/11/2013
By ,
manteca,ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had an lg optimus q....loved it...so i got another lg....ugh...this phone lags...is slow even when loading home screen..netflix menu buggy...speaker stinks...resolution is bad...u can only look at screen straight on...returning it asap!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 34 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great Smart phone for the price

06/14/2013
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Sound: bought for my older mother who is hard of hearing and she can hear just fine on it.
Good service
Easy to use internet and email
It is definitely not an iphone or anything but it is a great smart phone for the low cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 35 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great phone at a great price

04/30/2013
By ,
cypress,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone. It meets all my expectations. I purchased the smaller lg version on black Friday. I knew I was going to love this one. It has the 4 inch screen. It does everything the smaller phone does and more. I would recommend this phone to all my family and friends who are looking to purchase a very nice phone at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 36 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great phone

06/02/2013
By ,
Oregon coast
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With my last phone, android, I was always getting the warning about storage room. This one has lots of storage, more memory. I haven't had any problems at all, apps work fine, camera is great. I'm happy with this phone. It's a really good smart phone for those not wanting to have a ton of music downloaded on their phone, and lots of apps.
The touch screen is 4", and much better for texting for us with old fingers. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 37 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

ANSWERING A CALL

07/12/2013
By ,
Huntsville, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As expected with one exception. I have trouble answering the phone (receiving incoming calls). I swipe screen starting with ringing phone icon, swipe different directions, tap icon and other. Still most caller hang up before I have success in answering.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 38 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Good phone

11/27/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with my phone. I haven't had any problems with it and it does everything I want it to. I am able to download apps off of Google Play (Pinterest/Candy Crush etc) which is a huge plus!! The camera works nicely and it even includes a flash. I chose this phone because it runs off of AT & T. The reception is great. The only downfall is the battery never stays charged! I can go online or use an app and watch the battery percentage drop before my eyes. In a minutes time I watched it drop by 4%.. Otherwise this is a great phone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 39 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

A good value for the money, I reccomend it to anyo

06/24/2013
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone will provide the everyday user with virtually everything that they could ever want. If you are a Novice li9ke me, it will take you a little while to learn how to operate it, but once you do, it is a blast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 40 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Super, Superb, Intuitive. Join Smart Phone Era Now

07/01/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm new to the smart phone fad. Now I'm sorry I waited so long. The LG L40G is intuitive and easy to use. And Smart Talk is easy to use as well. This is a great beginning for those whom are thinking of getting into the smart phone era.
My only concern is Straight Talk customer service people are a bit hard to understand but if you have a little patience they strive to assist you. Just be patient, customer service sincerely wants to help you.
What prompted the move is Straight Talks cost is very low for the unlimited services nation wide. I replaced my land line and kept my same land line number. The cost was a wash. Now I have total portability with access to my same number I had for 30+ years and on the go texting and internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
21-40 of 204 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next