Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

The Straight Talk LG L40G Cell Phone has all the basics you need to connect on the go. Download over 450,000 apps on Google Play, which is part of the Android operating system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.979 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(243 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
69
3 stars
21
2 stars
19
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation79%193 out of 243reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
69
3 stars
21
2 stars
19
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Big Screen charges fast

04/30/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews before purchasing this phone. I have been very happy with it except for one thing. The owners manual is short and basically non-existent. Beware of the screen it is easy to butt dial people even if you lock the screen. Have butt dialed 911 more than once. If you shut off the Bluetooth by mistake, do yourself a favor and just shut off the phone and turn it back on. If you try to turn in back on from settings you will be waiting forever. Camera works great and so does the video function. I would purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 22 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Too Early

04/29/2013
By ,
Horseheads ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a smart phone neophyte and cannot compare this phone to any others. However, so far, I love the phone. Works great and you can't beat the price with functions it has. A better camera would be nice, but this one works fine for what I want it to do. I think the value is terrific.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 23 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great phone for the price

04/28/2013
By ,
Union, Mo.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this phone for about a month and love it. I have a work phone that is a I phone 4 and I would take the LG over it. The only problem I have seen so far, is there are no plugs to block debris from getting in the charging port. I really enjoy this phone, and got a 32 GB micro sd card so I have plenty of room to download music. My wife and son will be upgrading to this phone in the near future.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 24 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone
05/05/2013
By ,
Jackson, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is great. The plans offered are very affordable. The over all quality of the phone is good. The screen resolution is not as good as what I am use to but after using it for a few days it wasn't that bad. The options offered are pretty cool and are user friendly. The camera takes great pictures and the flash is a nice option. This was a great phone for 150.00. This phone works off of ATT towers which has impressed me very much. I had sprint service before and I was always dropping calls and not having signal, so the ATT service is way better than Sprint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 25 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

First smartphone...

09/05/2013
By ,
Vista,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the LG Optimus Extreme L40G as a gift for a friend who already uses Straight Talk on an antiquated phone. I wanted to upgrade her phone, and after some searching, found this one. I haven't actually seen it yet, but she says its working great, and absolutely loves it! I also gave her a 3-month prepaid unlimited talk/text/data plan, which was a bit of a hassle trying to order. This is a good savings over a month to month plan, and is delivered by email. In the end, I gave her the money so she could purchase the plan herself. Aside from a shipping delay of several days longer than originally listed, (frustrating because I told her it was coming, so she was very excited, then disappointed when it took longer) I'd have to say this was a great purchase. All in all, this phone has great features and the price was outstanding! Would definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 26 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

good for texting

02/14/2014
By ,
columbiana ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love this phone but sometimes when i am in the middle of doing something the screen go's black and will not come back on,i have also tried several times to change the ringtone and it will not change.The ringer starts out real low and by the time it gets louder and i hear it,i already missed the call.I can not lighten the camera.I guess what i really like about this phone is the texting is very easy.lol
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 27 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

I am impressed

04/26/2013
By ,
Shippensburg, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While this is not my first "Smart Phone", this IS my first really SMART phone. Totally blows away most of my friends verizon 4g phones with their Android 2.0. Very fast, multi-tasking a breeze.
My only *itch is a really poor manual. The manual assumes the consumer knows a great deal about LG phones, AND, LG smart phones at that.
Use the tutorials available online and blogs to really learn how to use this phone.
This is a T-Mobile phone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 28 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

l40g AKA optimus extreme AKA L5 E610?

04/20/2013
By ,
the sticks, iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is my first android phone and ive only had it for a week. overall i really like it so far. i was choosing between the samsung galaxy proclaim (a cdma phone piggybacking on verizon) and this one (gms phone running on att) , both priced @ $150.
i ended up with this because it uses a newer version of the operating system (android 4), has a larger screen and supposedly better camera. additionally, i foolishly assumed that being gsm, it would work overseas (more about this below)
the phone is snappy and intuitive but comes full of the usual google privacy infringing software. the camera leaves some to be desired: poor focus, excessive shutter times, so-so colors makes it an entry level phone cam, 5MP or not. i appreciate the large screen. but for reading it is blown out of the water by an iphone or even a $60 e-ink reader. of course, the former is more expensive and the later only good for reading, so its an unfair comparison. for what it is, it works! the battery life is ok for a smartphone, a few days if you dont use it too much and dont run apps that use gps etc.
the description claims it comes with 1G of memory, but per the phone it is actually 2.5G, of which the preinstalled apps only takes a small fraction. from searching the internet i believe this phone is the same as the L5 E610 (or possibly 612) sold outside the US. this is useful if you want to root the phone as there is little info on the l40g but a lot on the L5. dunno if it applies for this one, waiting for someone else to risk theirs first :)
the only thing i do NOT like has more to do with Straight Talk than this phone. Even though this GSM phone is designed to work anywhere in the world, ST has really gone the extra mile making sure that will not happen. i can understand that ST doesnt allow international roaming as they would have no way of passing the foreign charges back to you, but they have also locked this non-subsidized phone so it cannot even be used with a local sim card while abroad. they stone wall you when you ask them for an unlock code to your - not theirs - phone. your only recourse is to install spotify and call via local wifi networks. oh well. all in all its still a great phone. i would recommend it to anyone looking for a decently priced smartphone primarily for US usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
the sticks, iowa
re: madmerlin
Posted 04/23/2013
thanks for the comment. i am aware of the international $60 plan. unfortunately, it will only allow you to call foreign numbers while you are IN the USA (which you can also do much cheaper by installing skype on your phone) . it will not allow you to roam on foreign networks while on vacation and, again, ST has locked down your unsubsidized phone so as to prevent you from buying a pre-paid local sim card to use during your trip. the bottom line is that straight talk is a great alternative in mainland USA and no good at all while abroad :)
as an update to my original review, i'd like to mention that my criticism against the camera may have been on the harsh side. under ideal conditions (non-moving subject/outdoor daylight), it can actually take quite pretty pictures and videos.
+9points
Customer Avatar
Kokomo In
RE: joje from the sticks, iowa
Posted 04/23/2013
ST has an international card you have to buy... its $60... Walmart... same place you get your $45 card... or, you can add it to your phone from the internet through the ST website...
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 29 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great

06/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
phone is great. battery life is almost 2 days with a full charge, enough memory to download all of my favorite apps and more, typing is easy especially since I had trouble typing on a touchscreen. sometimes i do get disconnected from internet access even though I have full bars but its rare. otherwise, great phone great price great carrier
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 30 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Good phone

11/27/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with my phone. I haven't had any problems with it and it does everything I want it to. I am able to download apps off of Google Play (Pinterest/Candy Crush etc) which is a huge plus!! The camera works nicely and it even includes a flash. I chose this phone because it runs off of AT & T. The reception is great. The only downfall is the battery never stays charged! I can go online or use an app and watch the battery percentage drop before my eyes. In a minutes time I watched it drop by 4%.. Otherwise this is a great phone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 31 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Its not what I wanted

02/11/2014
By ,
Coos Bay, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its not the phone I wanted, its the one I could afford. Its my first smartphone and I LOVE it. very easy to use. I might read all of the book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 32 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Terrible Phone

03/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't know if anyone else has had issues with this phone but it is extremely unresponsive. If your talking and try to hang up, the screen won't light up so that you can. If someone is calling you, same thing happens, screen stays black and you miss your call. It was a great value and otherwise a great phone but is always on the fritz.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

4.0 is a lot better thsan 2.3

04/28/2013
By ,
Fort Walton Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I originally bought a Huawei Asend Y that had a 2.3 Android OS. This was garbage and always crashing and not allowing me to add contact. Also said memory was low all the time. When I saw this phone with a better OS (assuming 4.0 is better than 2.3) I invested in it. So far no problem except it won't let me save programs to the micro SD card. I suppose I could use the SD card to hold my music. Other than that I am very happy with this phone. My suggestion is to spend the extra cash and buy this phone over anything else out there with a 2.3 OS!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 34 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great phone/ Love Straight Talk

03/05/2014
By ,
Greensburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After being a Verizon customer for many years we were finally sick of all the hidden fees and bad customer service. I did the research and decided to switch to Straight Talk...best decision ever. I ordered 2 of these for my husband and I and we haven't had any problems with the phones. The battery life isn't great but I can get though a day or two without charging it. The service is wonderful.... better service than Verizon which is hard to believe, but is true.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

My first smartphone and I love it!

01/27/2014
By ,
Meridianville, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone for beginner or longtime user!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 36 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

No Complaints Here

02/19/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, so good! I've had the phone for a couple of weeks, and I love it! I'm new to the smartphone world (I'm too cheap)! So, when I finally found a Straighttalk smart phone for such a deal with all of the features I was looking for (and works in my VERY rural area), I thought it was too good to be true! But, it wasn't! I love the functionality & simplicity. It looks sharp, the touch screen is nice, the camera's not super, but workable. I love the flexibility & options with Android. Honestly, I don't think you could get more for your $ with this thing! I'm a fan.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

My entry to smart phones/straight talk

06/02/2013
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had long wanted to upgrade my phone, but my nationwide carrier offered only basic phone for talk, or almost doubling my monthly bill to get any talk/text/web. Headed to Straight Talk with some anxiety, having read the bad reviews re customer service. I ordered this phone on the website - not much choice in my local store. Bought the service card in the store, and was able to activate in about 10 minutes on line with minimal hassle. opting to get a new phone number. After trying it out for a couple weeks, signed up for automatic refills. We'll see how it goes. This specific phone: Pros - nice feel, good display, much info available on line, many nice features for a non -tech-savvy guy like me. Cons - more difficult to find accessories for than more popular phones. Overall - quite happy, hope there are no service glitches.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 38 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

great phone for a good price

07/09/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just went to straight talk. Wanted a good phone at small price to see how good the service really is, and i have to say i am not disappointed. I ordered 3 for the for the family, and we all love them. I like that we were able to get the phone insurance at a much cheaper price than with our old contract phones. This phone has alot more memory than our 150 mb smart phones that we were stuck with for the last 2 yrs. We have had no issues with these phones or with straight talk. We even went out of state and the phones still worked great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 39 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Great Smart phone for the price

06/14/2013
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Sound: bought for my older mother who is hard of hearing and she can hear just fine on it.
Good service
Easy to use internet and email
It is definitely not an iphone or anything but it is a great smart phone for the low cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 40 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Extreme L40G Pre-Paid Smartphone

Not what i expected for 150..

02/24/2014
By ,
Duncannon Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For $150 i expected it to be alot better quality. Feels cheap, the memory on it is a joke. DO NOT plan on playing games or multi task. Even using the google maps app it lags up after you close it. NOT WORTH THE MONEY. Compared to my last phone, the only thing better is the signal/service, but without 4G...This is the worst android phone i have ever purchased. Be warned...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 203 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next