Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tracfone TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Tracfone TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

The TracFone Cell Phone has all the basics you need to connect on the go. With the Tracfone LG Phone you get free double minutes for life. The Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phone has a compact flip phone designed and provides access to the mobile web so you can use hundreds of apps and surf the web on the go! A 1.3 megapixel camera with digital zoom with video recorder built into this Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phone means you can send photos and video to friends and family whenever you want. With the Tracfone LG Phone you can send instant messages, multitask, and listen to your favorite songs with a built-in MP3 player (cable not included). Additional features of the TracFone Cell Phone include a voice recorder and playback, alarm clock, hands-free speaker and External Caller ID. Add up to 1,000 contacts in your address book of this TracFone Cell Phone. Includes battery, charger, activation card, service guide and user manual.
Average Customer Rating:
3.13 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation57%26 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
144 Questions | 114 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Great phone on the cheap!

11/02/2013
By ,
Presque Isle, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've seen a lot of reviews here mentioning this phone or others not getting good reception. I found out a long time ago that it is best to contact a Tracfone engr. You have to call CS support and have them escalate the problem to a engr. The reason is that even the phones that pop up when you input your zip code will not always work!!! Point I purchased the Samsung S390G which suppose to be available for my area so I ordered it on TracFone's site. Well 6 months later after many emails and phone call they finally escalted it to an engr. He said that the phones that they show are available and working in your area may not always be true!!! So he sent me. The LG 440g which works like a charm and I get 5 BARS!!!! So this goes to show you don't always believe what their website says. You need to talk to a engr. and have him/her check if the phone you want actually will work!!! Basically buyer beware, but if you do your research I have never had bad service just bad phones that the website picks for you!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Long shipping time, doesn't work in my area.

09/14/2013
By ,
Enterprise, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I searched for the nearest Wal-Mart that had a flip-type TracFone in stock, as I'd ruined my old one and needed it fast. Found one in stock at a very nearby store, ground shipping should have been one or two days. But the phone shipped from somewhere in Texas--took a week to get here.
Tried to activate the phone. Tracfone's on-line activation does not work. Called the number on the activation card, went through the phone tree, then the automated activation routine. Also didn't work. Was transferred to a real person--apparently somewhere in southern Asia or India. After far too long on the phone, I was finally informed that this phone would not work in my area. So why was it in stock at a Wal-Mart in my area?
TracFone sent me a new phone--but it isn't new, it's re-conditioned, and the backplate doesn't fit. It's currently held on with duct tape.
I'm not happy with Wal-Mart, and I'm not happy with TracFone, but I finally have a working phone after two weeks of effort ans waiting.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Well-known glitch in this phone-

12/27/2012
By ,
Marcy, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy this phone unless you don't care about sending or receiving pics and videos-which is is designed to do. Much to my chagrin, soon after purchasing, I soon discovered that this is a well-know problem with this style Tracfone phone. Proves it pays to do some research before buying...sigh. I have complained to Tracfone since purchasing. They called me and "fixed" it, on numerous occasions. It works for one day, then it reverts right back to not sending or receiving multi-media messages. Finally, the customer rep said they were sending a replacement-a Samsung model to replace this LG. Tracfone rep said I would receive replacement in 3-5 days. Well, it's been well over 3 weeks, and nothing. I contacted them 3 more times since they said they were sending a replacement, and they keep telling me the replacement is "in process". I give up. I don't care if I get a replacement now or never. I would steer clear of this piece of junk. Nothing but problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Good Basic Phone

02/15/2014
By ,
Fredericksburg, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went back to a flip phone because its easier for me to carry in my pocket without accidently hitting buttons on the open face style. It's a good basic phone that works well in my area. Nothing fancy but then I don't need all the bells and whistles like my teenagers do. The only thing I wish I could get for it is a cover, its black and they have a way of finding their way to the washing machine, so a bright cover would help a great deal in preventing that from happening. I have looked everywhere and can't seem to find one for this model. Other than that, I would say for the price its a good buy and easy to replace should it go for a swim.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Low cost cell phone

12/23/2013
By ,
Tippecanoe County IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family now has 3 of these phones, cumulative usage about 5 man-years.
We use this almost exclusively as a telephone.
No significant problems with either this phone or Tracfone service.
Double minutes with this phone make it quite low cost for our usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

like overall use of cellphone

03/02/2014
By ,
so.portland,me.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works very well for me..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

This phone may be defective...?

10/22/2013
By ,
Richmond, MO.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has been nothing but a headache, it drops calls and hard to hear the person talking to you, does not receive all my voice mails and text messages. One time a friend had been texting me for several days and I received nothing, then all of a sudden I get all the messages at once one right after another....what? All of this wasn't discovered until it was to late to return it... good thing it was cheap. I wouldn't recommend buying this phone, although some reviews are good there is that chance you'll get a defective one like I did. There's even been times when it didn't ring when in fact I was getting calls, and then the voice mail did not kick in, this I found out later from the people who were calling me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Bought as a cheap PHONE ONLY.

12/19/2012
By ,
Mainland-USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Expected Use: Phone Only, does that well and lots more.
Replaced three "contract" phones with LOW usage that
cost almost $1000 a year with these.
Total cost of these: $375 for all...
Got one $100 card per phone for a year.
With the double minute for life of phone deal, and assorted
promos along the way we wound up with 1,156+ minutes per phone.
(Only bought a single 400 minute card for this phone remember...)
Plus, When you buy a year card, they last a year.
Even my free minutes and month "rolled over" with the addition of the card,
so I got almost 14 months service covered.
DISCLAIMER: This will not work out the same for people that might use
the phone a lot or kids that will for sure. (Ours old Contract phones were 550 min
per month (total, all 3). Almost all were lost each month...)
Our old "family plan" was only using 40 minutes a month, due to free calls between
phones. I don't think they give that "discount" for "in family" or "in network" calls.
I may be wrong.
The memory is slight. "Free": 98050 KB
ONLY physical unput is a USB Mini5 jack. (No cord supplied.)
Comes with charger, but charges with my other chargers from a PALM Pixi, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Richland MS
Telephone cover
Posted 10/07/2013
Does walmart carry a phone cover for the LG440G? If not, can you direct me to someone who does?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Good basic phone

07/06/2013
By ,
Evansville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for the basics, just to keep in touch when away from the house. The sound quality is great in our area, but haven't tried using the phone out of the area. The display fonts sizes are adjustable, and the alert volumes for incoming calls have several levels as well as options such as ring and vibrate at the same time. Setting up the contact list is very simple. The log of calls is helpful and the minutes/service days remaining notification is readily available on the standby screen. The voice dial feature works well. After using my phone for 1 month I then bought the identical phone for my husband. TracFone ported our phone numbers from our previous contract carrier to our phones successfully for us. Even though the new TracFones were the same models, one phone required a new SIM card to be able to use the ported #; TracFone sent the new SIM card out immediately overnight FEDEX. Customer service is satisfactory so far. The battery holds a charge through standby and talk time for about 10 days, but we do not make a lot of calls so I can't predict the length of the charge when used frequently. It charges in about 2 hours. The literature says that the phone can be used for e-mail and browsing, but we have not used that feature. The camera is acceptable, but again that is not a priority for us.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Can't turn off browser

04/16/2014
By ,
Ohio :)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We got this for an emergency phone for my sister and I can not figure out how to disable the browser. Every time you click the right soft key button it goes to the browser and deducts airtime minutes for nothing! Very annoying!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Would not work for me

01/25/2014
By ,
Warwick, RI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In my experience, this phone worked when it felt like it and didn't when it didn't. It would receive some calls and not receive some calls (from the same number). It placed some calls but would not place other calls also even to the same number. Sometimes, though it indicated it was in service, when I placed either a local or long distance call it would say "calling" and then faintly beep and just not make the call. The battery looked fully charged. Other times it would say "not in service" which was mystifying, since I was at home in the same spot where I placed most of my calls. Sometimes it just worked OK. Finally, it started not ringing the phone at all but just putting all calls straight through to voice mail.
The battery shows 3 bars when full. In a day or two it went suddenly down to two bars, and then one, and just stopped working. In re-charging it, it was difficult to know whether I had charged it enough or not. There could be some more complaints I might not remember.
Maybe it works better in a different location but I've had no problems before with other cell phones at this location.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Great phone for the money...

11/30/2012
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look I know you'll read some bad reviews on this phone... but... it works great... the speakers work great... I paid 19.88 for the phone... bought one year of time with 3000 minutes for 221.00 (including all the taxes)... how could anyone complain about that... lol... this phone works as advertised and then some... LG phones are rugged and long lasting... You can't go wrong with this phone... I just purchased another for my son with one year and 1050 minutes... just can't go wrong...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Broke the first day!

10/22/2013
By ,
Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone because my other phone had broken, well I brought it home and plugged it in and it wouldn't even turn on! So I brought it back, with the receipt and they gave me a new one. Well this time it turned on so I charged it and put the minutes. Well I took a picture of my dog for my wallpaper and as soon as I hit save as for the wallpaper, the thing shut down and never turned back on! I wouldn't waste your money on this phone, save your money and get a decent one.
Sorry about the background and the lighting in the video, I'm remodeling my house and I shot this at night.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone
08/13/2013
By ,
OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Love everything about the phone expect that it won't ring most of the time. If I get a weak signal on 3G the phone goes straight to voice mail, won't ring. If it drops back to the Edge network it will ring every time. A phone that only rings 25% of the time is useless. No way to turn off the 3G network. I have called customer service 5 times in the last week, what a joke...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Poor Customer Service

12/27/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone for my 12 year old son for emergency use and have been totally dissatisfied so far. After activating the phone, I went to add the 60 minute airtime card. When I scratched the card to reveal the code, the numbers came off with the coating. I called customer support and they advised the only way to get the minutes added to the phone was to Fax the receipt, and copy of the front and back of the card to them. I explained to 3 more "supervisors" that I do not have access to a Fax machine but could scan the items and email them or post to a web site. Unfortunately, Tracfone is not sophisticated enough to receive this any information any other way except Fax! Beware of a company that claims to be #1 in Prepaid Cell Phone, but can only receive your information via antiquated Fax!!! I probably cannot return the phone since it has been activated, and probably will not hear from Customer Service for any resolution.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Expected better from LG

01/27/2013
By ,
Nashua, NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lost my motorola tracfone and the only non-touchscreen option available was the LG 440G. This is a noisy phone. As in every single bell, whistle, buzzer, chime, etc is turned on by default at full volume. Spent nearly an hour going through everything to shut stuff off or turn down the volume and there were still things I couldn't deactivate like buzzing when a call is answered. Battery life is good off a call, I can usually go about a week before recharging it. Talk time though is poor. Was on a long call yesterday and low battery indicator came on in less than an hour. Recharged it to 2 bars quickly, then within 15 min got the low battery warning again. Never had that problem on my old phone. This phone is also stupidly lacking some simple options, like I can't enter a subject line for text messages.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South-Central Pennsylvania
Old trac fone better than newer ones
Posted 07/28/2013
About 8 years ago I bought a Motorola model 120c. It worked really great and picked up signals about any where. This year I replaced it with an LG 440G. This phone lost connection in many areas that my old Motorola never did. I like the look and feel of the LG but it is worthless in many spots that most other phones pick up. I'm seriously thinking of transferring my minutes back to my old Motorola. I do not care if people make fun of my old phone because it picks up much better than the new LG Tracfone. I'd like to hear if others are having this same problem. Trying to contact Tracfone is a joke also..
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

It's a phone

02/01/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A couple of years ago Verizon charged me $129 for a flip phone just like this one for my husband who can barely make a phonecall let alone text or surf the web. So when I bought the tracfone LG440G for $9.99 I felt I was getting a real bargain. It's a nice phone....does what it's supposed to do and then some. And it is not $129 which is what counts the most. You really cannot go wrong. If this is the type of phone you like, then this one will do everything the more expensive ones will do and it feels like quality in your hand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

CALLS DROPPED

03/07/2014
By ,
Carrollton, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this phone for my husband who likes flip phones. From Day 1 found that 50% of calls are dropped. My family has multiple carriers and we can't reach him. When we call, it sounds like his phone is ringing and after 2 rings goes straight to voice mail. On his end, his phone very rings, vibrates or shows a missed call. I have called Tracfone multiple times and their troubleshooting is terrible. I have spoken to 5+ (techs) and none understand English well. They spend over 10 minutes doing the same t/s each time and then say it is fixed. I would buy another phone but their customer service is so poor.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

im layed off and needed a good phone

12/23/2012
By ,
lufkin,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yes im one of the ppl in the usa layoff i needed a cheap but good phone this is it try it i did and im happy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

would be a 5 star if:

08/24/2013
By ,
wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my phone, would have gave it 5 stars, except that I can't get web or email to work, Never connects. So I can't send pictures. Talked to a tracfone rep and she said those features don't work in my area (Wisconsin). That makes no sense to me, so am going to call again.
Some people have complained about the sound. No complaints here! Sound is loud and clear. There is an audio "Senior" setting, which I have set to "on", so maybe that's why mine works so well. I love the flip part, no more ghost dialing, and it turns on and off automatically when flip is up or down.
If I can get the web or email to work, I'll change my rating to 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next