Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tracfone TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Tracfone TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

The TracFone Cell Phone has all the basics you need to connect on the go. With the Tracfone LG Phone you get free double minutes for life. The Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phone has a compact flip phone designed and provides access to the mobile web so you can use hundreds of apps and surf the web on the go! A 1.3 megapixel camera with digital zoom with video recorder built into this Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phone means you can send photos and video to friends and family whenever you want. With the Tracfone LG Phone you can send instant messages, multitask, and listen to your favorite songs with a built-in MP3 player (cable not included). Additional features of the TracFone Cell Phone include a voice recorder and playback, alarm clock, hands-free speaker and External Caller ID. Add up to 1,000 contacts in your address book of this TracFone Cell Phone. Includes battery, charger, activation card, service guide and user manual.
Average Customer Rating:
3.147 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation60%41 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
186 Questions | 202 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Great phone on the cheap!

11/02/2013
By ,
Presque Isle, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've seen a lot of reviews here mentioning this phone or others not getting good reception. I found out a long time ago that it is best to contact a Tracfone engr. You have to call CS support and have them escalate the problem to a engr. The reason is that even the phones that pop up when you input your zip code will not always work!!! Point I purchased the Samsung S390G which suppose to be available for my area so I ordered it on TracFone's site. Well 6 months later after many emails and phone call they finally escalted it to an engr. He said that the phones that they show are available and working in your area may not always be true!!! So he sent me. The LG 440g which works like a charm and I get 5 BARS!!!! So this goes to show you don't always believe what their website says. You need to talk to a engr. and have him/her check if the phone you want actually will work!!! Basically buyer beware, but if you do your research I have never had bad service just bad phones that the website picks for you!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Phone nightmares

11/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My first phone last me over 4 years but its battery was slowly dying. So I bought this one in may. I wish I didn't. I discovered after my boss called me in a panic that it was holding onto my texts. When she called my cell 3 times it went through to voice mail on her end but my phone didn't even realize that it was being called or had missed the call. A day later I received 6 texts (5 from her 1 from another person) at once all of them days old. I've moved my phone to a place that I get 3-4 bars, cleaned my messages, replaced my battery, and turned my phone on and off. It worked for a couple days then started up again. So I don't know when my phone holds texts or whose calls i'm missing. If you think that this is just a random fluke i'll give you another reason not to buy. When my phone is acting like a good boy it reseals and sends me old messages at random times of the day. If you value your work relations or friends don't buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Long shipping time, doesn't work in my area.

09/14/2013
By ,
Enterprise, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I searched for the nearest Wal-Mart that had a flip-type TracFone in stock, as I'd ruined my old one and needed it fast. Found one in stock at a very nearby store, ground shipping should have been one or two days. But the phone shipped from somewhere in Texas--took a week to get here.
Tried to activate the phone. Tracfone's on-line activation does not work. Called the number on the activation card, went through the phone tree, then the automated activation routine. Also didn't work. Was transferred to a real person--apparently somewhere in southern Asia or India. After far too long on the phone, I was finally informed that this phone would not work in my area. So why was it in stock at a Wal-Mart in my area?
TracFone sent me a new phone--but it isn't new, it's re-conditioned, and the backplate doesn't fit. It's currently held on with duct tape.
I'm not happy with Wal-Mart, and I'm not happy with TracFone, but I finally have a working phone after two weeks of effort ans waiting.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Well-known glitch in this phone-

12/27/2012
By ,
Marcy, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy this phone unless you don't care about sending or receiving pics and videos-which is is designed to do. Much to my chagrin, soon after purchasing, I soon discovered that this is a well-know problem with this style Tracfone phone. Proves it pays to do some research before buying...sigh. I have complained to Tracfone since purchasing. They called me and "fixed" it, on numerous occasions. It works for one day, then it reverts right back to not sending or receiving multi-media messages. Finally, the customer rep said they were sending a replacement-a Samsung model to replace this LG. Tracfone rep said I would receive replacement in 3-5 days. Well, it's been well over 3 weeks, and nothing. I contacted them 3 more times since they said they were sending a replacement, and they keep telling me the replacement is "in process". I give up. I don't care if I get a replacement now or never. I would steer clear of this piece of junk. Nothing but problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

LG440G -- You get less than what you pay for

05/11/2014
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not a "tech nerd," like one poster said about those dissatisfied with this phone. I don't use the web or anything but calling and voice mail. I've had my phone about a week now and it doesn't ring for calls coming from outside my calling area. My sons tried calling me on Mother's Day and the phone didn't ring at all. I tried calling it from Google Voice. The first time, I could hear the ringing, but the phone itself did not ring until the fourth ring, when it went to voice mail. The second time, the phone actually did ring. I just bought this phone to have something for calling, but it's no good for that if I can't answer the calls because they don't come through. I will attempt to get someone in the U.S. to give me some satisfaction, but I doubt I will. I've used Net10 phones before and the only way I got any satisfaction was to hunt down the CEO's number and get in touch with customer retention. Unfortunately, I have lost that number, so I will have to search again. I refuse to talk to regular customer service in another country. It's useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Disappointment

07/03/2014
By ,
IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have never had a problem with calls, so probably should have given a higher review. However, this phone is not to work in my area. I do not buy online but in a larger WM center, have phones set up there. Associates know how to set up with a zip code to facilitate the phone, TracFone reps do not have that knowledge and will never deal with them again. Problem is that takes great pictures BUT EMAIL does not function. Go online and read Q/A posed by customers on TracFone site. Techs can not resolve problems but regular reviewers assist by presenting informative information on getting this phone set up correctly and clear assist on how to work with problems. Very disappointed. Battery life on my phone 48 hours, but is a year old. Getting rid of this week. Was an emergency purchase, wanted camera, not such a waste of money are great reception and have used out of state. Alabama and Florida had no reception.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Basic Good Phone

10/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is basic and it does exactly what a phone supposed to do. I like it very much and it doesn't have the bells and whistles. The quality is better than what I expected, the quality good for the purchased price. I am very pleased with my purchased!
***Here is a tip: the airtime display of the minutes and service days are OPTIONAL, if you don't want that to be on display go to the Prepaid icon (menu) and go to Airtime Display and you can turn that feature on or off (you can have one or the other or neither).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Bad product..

12/06/2014
By ,
Canon City, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this product in my area and later find Wal-Mart website says phone will not work in my area. No kidding. Reception is horrible and the audio is the worst ever. If you turn it up, it sounds like a very bad speaker. If you turn it down, you can't hear clearly. I would not recommend this phone to anyone. I am going to have to upgrade and throw this thing away. I like Tracfone but this product not what you want for an urban area.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

just what I needed

12/05/2014
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a phone for emergencys and this one LG440G is perfect for my needs. My wife has a contracted phone with a major company and has a monthly bill which in its contract has unlimited talk and text so when were out I turn mine off and we use hers. This Tracphone is a perfect fit for me I'm not into all the fancy extras just talk and maybe a text now and then. No montly charges is great. I have had this phone a week so far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Versatile, inexpensive phone

12/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While it isn't a smart-phone, the LG440G does a good job of providing actual telephone and text connectivity. Because it's a TracFone, it travels well--that is, it works in almost every part of the country, and connects to whichever local carrier has the best signal. Typically the charge in the battery lasts 3 to 4 days, fully charges in less than 1/2 hour. Web connectivity can be slow, but it is nice to have when it's really needed. For the price, it's hard to beat.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

I give up

10/14/2014
By ,
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After about 10 months I give up and will buy another phone. This one is a big pain. The battery goes from 3 bars to Zero. I have seen 2 bars once. And when its low it has a very annoying alert. If I can't charge it right then I have to shut the phone off. More importantly is the sound, it is bad really often, garbled, static, etc. Most of the time I have to put it on speaker to be able to have a conversation. I read the reviews and thought I would take a chance since it was a good price, and had the features I wanted. I was unlucky. I won't get another LG.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Good Basic Phone

02/15/2014
By ,
Fredericksburg, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went back to a flip phone because its easier for me to carry in my pocket without accidently hitting buttons on the open face style. It's a good basic phone that works well in my area. Nothing fancy but then I don't need all the bells and whistles like my teenagers do. The only thing I wish I could get for it is a cover, its black and they have a way of finding their way to the washing machine, so a bright cover would help a great deal in preventing that from happening. I have looked everywhere and can't seem to find one for this model. Other than that, I would say for the price its a good buy and easy to replace should it go for a swim.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Does what its supposed to do.

11/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My tweenie has lost and broken 3 cell phones in the last1.5 years. This is perfect and cheap. Plus no internet access. Nothing fancy shmancy. Just make a call/text and get a call/text.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Bought as a cheap PHONE ONLY.

12/19/2012
By ,
Mainland-USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Expected Use: Phone Only, does that well and lots more.
Replaced three "contract" phones with LOW usage that
cost almost $1000 a year with these.
Total cost of these: $375 for all...
Got one $100 card per phone for a year.
With the double minute for life of phone deal, and assorted
promos along the way we wound up with 1,156+ minutes per phone.
(Only bought a single 400 minute card for this phone remember...)
Plus, When you buy a year card, they last a year.
Even my free minutes and month "rolled over" with the addition of the card,
so I got almost 14 months service covered.
DISCLAIMER: This will not work out the same for people that might use
the phone a lot or kids that will for sure. (Ours old Contract phones were 550 min
per month (total, all 3). Almost all were lost each month...)
Our old "family plan" was only using 40 minutes a month, due to free calls between
phones. I don't think they give that "discount" for "in family" or "in network" calls.
I may be wrong.
The memory is slight. "Free": 98050 KB
ONLY physical unput is a USB Mini5 jack. (No cord supplied.)
Comes with charger, but charges with my other chargers from a PALM Pixi, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Richland MS
Telephone cover
Posted 10/07/2013
Does walmart carry a phone cover for the LG440G? If not, can you direct me to someone who does?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Good basic phone

07/06/2013
By ,
Evansville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for the basics, just to keep in touch when away from the house. The sound quality is great in our area, but haven't tried using the phone out of the area. The display fonts sizes are adjustable, and the alert volumes for incoming calls have several levels as well as options such as ring and vibrate at the same time. Setting up the contact list is very simple. The log of calls is helpful and the minutes/service days remaining notification is readily available on the standby screen. The voice dial feature works well. After using my phone for 1 month I then bought the identical phone for my husband. TracFone ported our phone numbers from our previous contract carrier to our phones successfully for us. Even though the new TracFones were the same models, one phone required a new SIM card to be able to use the ported #; TracFone sent the new SIM card out immediately overnight FEDEX. Customer service is satisfactory so far. The battery holds a charge through standby and talk time for about 10 days, but we do not make a lot of calls so I can't predict the length of the charge when used frequently. It charges in about 2 hours. The literature says that the phone can be used for e-mail and browsing, but we have not used that feature. The camera is acceptable, but again that is not a priority for us.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Great for a backup emergency phone.

12/17/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone as a backup emergency phone for the winter while plowing/general backup. For a 10$ Phone and 20$ card I got 150 days of service and that should last me through the winter. For me, minutes are useless on this phone, I would only ever need 30 minutes at any given time. My problem was finding a phone plan that was extremely cheap for days of service. Tracfone's service prices are the lowest I can find for what suits my needs. Around 7$ a month is well worth the peace of mind to me.
I bought this phone at the end November and fully charged it when I got it, it has been off for 99% of the time since then and still shows 100% battery when I have checked it. I have had no fatal software/hardware problems to report with the phone. The call quality was great with the voicemail setup, and few test calls I have done. I have had 3G service any time I have had the phone on. The only "problems" I have had with the phone are these: The key clicks are LOUD and annoying. Phone feels extremely flimsy overall. Battery cover dosent seem to sit/fit quite right. And then there's the browser button... To have a shortcut key permanently bound to a "I'm going to mess your day up and cost you all sorts of money" short cut is beyond my comprehension. Anytime I have played with the phone I usualy startup the browser by mistake more then once. Seriously stupid in my opinion. 2 stars because of the browser shortcut key. If it was easily changeable I would rate the phone much higher. If I was using the phone as a primary 24/7 it would be a deal breaker for me.
In the end I would recommend the phone depending on usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

excellent choice

11/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Resourceful for son to use to contact in emergency.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Low cost cell phone

12/23/2013
By ,
Tippecanoe County IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family now has 3 of these phones, cumulative usage about 5 man-years.
We use this almost exclusively as a telephone.
No significant problems with either this phone or Tracfone service.
Double minutes with this phone make it quite low cost for our usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Great phone for the money...

11/30/2012
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look I know you'll read some bad reviews on this phone... but... it works great... the speakers work great... I paid 19.88 for the phone... bought one year of time with 3000 minutes for 221.00 (including all the taxes)... how could anyone complain about that... lol... this phone works as advertised and then some... LG phones are rugged and long lasting... You can't go wrong with this phone... I just purchased another for my son with one year and 1050 minutes... just can't go wrong...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

This phone may be defective...?

10/22/2013
By ,
Richmond, MO.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has been nothing but a headache, it drops calls and hard to hear the person talking to you, does not receive all my voice mails and text messages. One time a friend had been texting me for several days and I received nothing, then all of a sudden I get all the messages at once one right after another....what? All of this wasn't discovered until it was to late to return it... good thing it was cheap. I wouldn't recommend buying this phone, although some reviews are good there is that chance you'll get a defective one like I did. There's even been times when it didn't ring when in fact I was getting calls, and then the voice mail did not kick in, this I found out later from the people who were calling me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next