Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tracfone TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Tracfone TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

The TracFone Cell Phone has all the basics you need to connect on the go. With the Tracfone LG Phone you get free double minutes for life. The Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phone has a compact flip phone designed and provides access to the mobile web so you can use hundreds of apps and surf the web on the go! A 1.3 megapixel camera with digital zoom with video recorder built into this Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phone means you can send photos and video to friends and family whenever you want. With the Tracfone LG Phone you can send instant messages, multitask, and listen to your favorite songs with a built-in MP3 player (cable not included). Additional features of the TracFone Cell Phone include a voice recorder and playback, alarm clock, hands-free speaker and External Caller ID. Add up to 1,000 contacts in your address book of this TracFone Cell Phone. Includes battery, charger, activation card, service guide and user manual.
Average Customer Rating:
3.254 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation60%33 out of 55reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
172 Questions | 179 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Great phone on the cheap!

11/02/2013
By ,
Presque Isle, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've seen a lot of reviews here mentioning this phone or others not getting good reception. I found out a long time ago that it is best to contact a Tracfone engr. You have to call CS support and have them escalate the problem to a engr. The reason is that even the phones that pop up when you input your zip code will not always work!!! Point I purchased the Samsung S390G which suppose to be available for my area so I ordered it on TracFone's site. Well 6 months later after many emails and phone call they finally escalted it to an engr. He said that the phones that they show are available and working in your area may not always be true!!! So he sent me. The LG 440g which works like a charm and I get 5 BARS!!!! So this goes to show you don't always believe what their website says. You need to talk to a engr. and have him/her check if the phone you want actually will work!!! Basically buyer beware, but if you do your research I have never had bad service just bad phones that the website picks for you!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

LG440G

06/30/2014
By ,
Tejas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK. I don't get all the people out there who have to text or web browse or all that. All I need is to dial a phone number, talk and hang up. I do not text, I do not do pictures, I don't care about videos.... what is wrong w/ the world today? Who cares about Twitter? People, there are far more important things in life than internet browsing music and videos. Good grief. Get a phone for one purpose. Make a phone call. Done. End of story. I would recommend this phone. Flip Phones are the way to go because, Hello, "they are protected".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Disappointment

07/03/2014
By ,
IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have never had a problem with calls, so probably should have given a higher review. However, this phone is not to work in my area. I do not buy online but in a larger WM center, have phones set up there. Associates know how to set up with a zip code to facilitate the phone, TracFone reps do not have that knowledge and will never deal with them again. Problem is that takes great pictures BUT EMAIL does not function. Go online and read Q/A posed by customers on TracFone site. Techs can not resolve problems but regular reviewers assist by presenting informative information on getting this phone set up correctly and clear assist on how to work with problems. Very disappointed. Battery life on my phone 48 hours, but is a year old. Getting rid of this week. Was an emergency purchase, wanted camera, not such a waste of money are great reception and have used out of state. Alabama and Florida had no reception.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Well-known glitch in this phone-

12/27/2012
By ,
Marcy, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy this phone unless you don't care about sending or receiving pics and videos-which is is designed to do. Much to my chagrin, soon after purchasing, I soon discovered that this is a well-know problem with this style Tracfone phone. Proves it pays to do some research before buying...sigh. I have complained to Tracfone since purchasing. They called me and "fixed" it, on numerous occasions. It works for one day, then it reverts right back to not sending or receiving multi-media messages. Finally, the customer rep said they were sending a replacement-a Samsung model to replace this LG. Tracfone rep said I would receive replacement in 3-5 days. Well, it's been well over 3 weeks, and nothing. I contacted them 3 more times since they said they were sending a replacement, and they keep telling me the replacement is "in process". I give up. I don't care if I get a replacement now or never. I would steer clear of this piece of junk. Nothing but problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Long shipping time, doesn't work in my area.

09/14/2013
By ,
Enterprise, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I searched for the nearest Wal-Mart that had a flip-type TracFone in stock, as I'd ruined my old one and needed it fast. Found one in stock at a very nearby store, ground shipping should have been one or two days. But the phone shipped from somewhere in Texas--took a week to get here.
Tried to activate the phone. Tracfone's on-line activation does not work. Called the number on the activation card, went through the phone tree, then the automated activation routine. Also didn't work. Was transferred to a real person--apparently somewhere in southern Asia or India. After far too long on the phone, I was finally informed that this phone would not work in my area. So why was it in stock at a Wal-Mart in my area?
TracFone sent me a new phone--but it isn't new, it's re-conditioned, and the backplate doesn't fit. It's currently held on with duct tape.
I'm not happy with Wal-Mart, and I'm not happy with TracFone, but I finally have a working phone after two weeks of effort ans waiting.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

LG440G -- You get less than what you pay for

05/11/2014
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not a "tech nerd," like one poster said about those dissatisfied with this phone. I don't use the web or anything but calling and voice mail. I've had my phone about a week now and it doesn't ring for calls coming from outside my calling area. My sons tried calling me on Mother's Day and the phone didn't ring at all. I tried calling it from Google Voice. The first time, I could hear the ringing, but the phone itself did not ring until the fourth ring, when it went to voice mail. The second time, the phone actually did ring. I just bought this phone to have something for calling, but it's no good for that if I can't answer the calls because they don't come through. I will attempt to get someone in the U.S. to give me some satisfaction, but I doubt I will. I've used Net10 phones before and the only way I got any satisfaction was to hunt down the CEO's number and get in touch with customer retention. Unfortunately, I have lost that number, so I will have to search again. I refuse to talk to regular customer service in another country. It's useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Good Basic Phone

02/15/2014
By ,
Fredericksburg, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went back to a flip phone because its easier for me to carry in my pocket without accidently hitting buttons on the open face style. It's a good basic phone that works well in my area. Nothing fancy but then I don't need all the bells and whistles like my teenagers do. The only thing I wish I could get for it is a cover, its black and they have a way of finding their way to the washing machine, so a bright cover would help a great deal in preventing that from happening. I have looked everywhere and can't seem to find one for this model. Other than that, I would say for the price its a good buy and easy to replace should it go for a swim.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Bought as a cheap PHONE ONLY.

12/19/2012
By ,
Mainland-USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Expected Use: Phone Only, does that well and lots more.
Replaced three "contract" phones with LOW usage that
cost almost $1000 a year with these.
Total cost of these: $375 for all...
Got one $100 card per phone for a year.
With the double minute for life of phone deal, and assorted
promos along the way we wound up with 1,156+ minutes per phone.
(Only bought a single 400 minute card for this phone remember...)
Plus, When you buy a year card, they last a year.
Even my free minutes and month "rolled over" with the addition of the card,
so I got almost 14 months service covered.
DISCLAIMER: This will not work out the same for people that might use
the phone a lot or kids that will for sure. (Ours old Contract phones were 550 min
per month (total, all 3). Almost all were lost each month...)
Our old "family plan" was only using 40 minutes a month, due to free calls between
phones. I don't think they give that "discount" for "in family" or "in network" calls.
I may be wrong.
The memory is slight. "Free": 98050 KB
ONLY physical unput is a USB Mini5 jack. (No cord supplied.)
Comes with charger, but charges with my other chargers from a PALM Pixi, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Richland MS
Telephone cover
Posted 10/07/2013
Does walmart carry a phone cover for the LG440G? If not, can you direct me to someone who does?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Good basic phone

07/06/2013
By ,
Evansville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for the basics, just to keep in touch when away from the house. The sound quality is great in our area, but haven't tried using the phone out of the area. The display fonts sizes are adjustable, and the alert volumes for incoming calls have several levels as well as options such as ring and vibrate at the same time. Setting up the contact list is very simple. The log of calls is helpful and the minutes/service days remaining notification is readily available on the standby screen. The voice dial feature works well. After using my phone for 1 month I then bought the identical phone for my husband. TracFone ported our phone numbers from our previous contract carrier to our phones successfully for us. Even though the new TracFones were the same models, one phone required a new SIM card to be able to use the ported #; TracFone sent the new SIM card out immediately overnight FEDEX. Customer service is satisfactory so far. The battery holds a charge through standby and talk time for about 10 days, but we do not make a lot of calls so I can't predict the length of the charge when used frequently. It charges in about 2 hours. The literature says that the phone can be used for e-mail and browsing, but we have not used that feature. The camera is acceptable, but again that is not a priority for us.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Inexpensive phone with many features.

07/04/2014
By ,
West Lebanon, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love TracFones and pay less than $10 per month for service. This particular phone brings me into the new world by allowing me to take and send photos, access email, etc. It is very easy to use, and I like the flip-phone because I don't have to worry about the screen getting destroyed in my purse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Good basic flip phone; useless browser

09/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is an amazing value for around $15. In addition to decent basic features, it has a voice calling mode that really works well! The only thing I did not like is the "web browsing" feature -- if you accidentally press just one button, you are connected to the web and begin paying charges by the minute. Keep this out of the hands of children! The web browsing is nearly useless on such a tiny, non-touch screen, though OK to have in a pinch. They should have provided a menu command to allow you to disable it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Low cost cell phone

12/23/2013
By ,
Tippecanoe County IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family now has 3 of these phones, cumulative usage about 5 man-years.
We use this almost exclusively as a telephone.
No significant problems with either this phone or Tracfone service.
Double minutes with this phone make it quite low cost for our usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Great phone for the price

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is has all the features we use and it is very durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Great phone for the money...

11/30/2012
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look I know you'll read some bad reviews on this phone... but... it works great... the speakers work great... I paid 19.88 for the phone... bought one year of time with 3000 minutes for 221.00 (including all the taxes)... how could anyone complain about that... lol... this phone works as advertised and then some... LG phones are rugged and long lasting... You can't go wrong with this phone... I just purchased another for my son with one year and 1050 minutes... just can't go wrong...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Great Phone

04/30/2014
By ,
Ormond Beach, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the phone for over 6 monthes, no problems,hardly ever have to charge it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

This phone may be defective...?

10/22/2013
By ,
Richmond, MO.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has been nothing but a headache, it drops calls and hard to hear the person talking to you, does not receive all my voice mails and text messages. One time a friend had been texting me for several days and I received nothing, then all of a sudden I get all the messages at once one right after another....what? All of this wasn't discovered until it was to late to return it... good thing it was cheap. I wouldn't recommend buying this phone, although some reviews are good there is that chance you'll get a defective one like I did. There's even been times when it didn't ring when in fact I was getting calls, and then the voice mail did not kick in, this I found out later from the people who were calling me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

like overall use of cellphone

03/02/2014
By ,
so.portland,me.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works very well for me..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Great Pay as You use Phone

09/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't find a better phone for the money. It meets all my needs and cost me about $13 per month to use. It will even bluetooth with my Alpine deck in my truck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

Poor Customer Service

12/27/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone for my 12 year old son for emergency use and have been totally dissatisfied so far. After activating the phone, I went to add the 60 minute airtime card. When I scratched the card to reveal the code, the numbers came off with the coating. I called customer support and they advised the only way to get the minutes added to the phone was to Fax the receipt, and copy of the front and back of the card to them. I explained to 3 more "supervisors" that I do not have access to a Fax machine but could scan the items and email them or post to a web site. Unfortunately, Tracfone is not sophisticated enough to receive this any information any other way except Fax! Beware of a company that claims to be #1 in Prepaid Cell Phone, but can only receive your information via antiquated Fax!!! I probably cannot return the phone since it has been activated, and probably will not hear from Customer Service for any resolution.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for TracFone LG440G Cell Phone

im layed off and needed a good phone

12/23/2012
By ,
lufkin,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yes im one of the ppl in the usa layoff i needed a cheap but good phone this is it try it i did and im happy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next