Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tracfone TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Tracfone TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

The TracFone Alcatel Cell Phone has all the basics you need to connect on the go. The Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phone features big buttons so it's easy to use and hands-free speaker so you can get some work done while you talk. With the Tracfone Cell Phone, you enjoy text messaging, voice mail, Call Waiting, Caller ID, large lighted keys and a background noise reducer. Additional benefits of the Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phone include long battery life, hearing Aid Compatible (HAC) Rating: M4, voice dialing, voice command, auto redial, alarm clock and 1,000 contact address book. The TracFone Alcatel Cell Phone also includes polyphonic ringtones and TracFone Airtime Balance Display that shows you how much airtime you've used and how much is left, so you control your costs. The TracFone Alcatel Cell Phone requires no activation fees, contracts, monthly bills or credit checks. Nationwide long distance included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.044 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation78%53 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
208 Questions | 186 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Like the big buttons

11/15/2012
By ,
AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Previously I had a TracFone and was able to transfer minutes to this new big button phone. I like the big buttons, the loud ring (you can lower sound if you want) and there are many features with it. I also like the cradle for charging. Overall I am very satisfied. My only slight complaint is that the buttons are sensitive and even when I turn it off and it is in my pocket, sometimes it turns on. I solved this by buying a slim camera case just the same size and placing a cardboard piece in the case and it no longer randomly turns on. I use the phone for emergency only. Also, it does not have a place for attaching a lanyard to it (no holes) and so the camera case also solved that problem. I crocheted a short string, attached a clip from a craft store, and now the case serves as security and protective features for the phone as it is attached to my pocket. For the men you can purchase a generic cell phone cover that clips onto your belt but for me that was too bulky. Great phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+163points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WISCONSIN
HELP PLEASE
Posted 01/20/2014
I HAVE THIS PHONE AND IT IS LOCKED AND I DONT KNOW HOW TO UNLOCK IT CAN YOU HELP ME?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Inexpensive, Double Minutes

01/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use landline phones all the time and rarely have a need for a cell phone. Needed something inexpensive so tracphone seemed to be the best alternative for us. I was tired of the cheap LG that came with the signup and so decided to get something that was strictly a calling phone with really no smartphone stuff. The double minutes is very handy. The flashlight on this model was something we can use in case of power outages and also includes an FM radio. Not a bad one at that. The buttons are big not huge but bigger than most cell phones. The voice seems pretty good on it although I haven't had the phone very long. Easy to use for somebody that wants just a simple phone with no extra features. Very inexpensive with tracfone. The monthly bill is about 7 bucks per month. Not bad for an extra phone. Overall its not an iPhone but it functions very well. A definite buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

YOU ARE NOT GONNA BELIEVE IT BUT:

04/05/2014
By ,
Virginia beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seriously i have never written a review that i can remember but i had to let you know my wife said she found out that i had left my phone, this phone with the big numbers, in my pants and she had washed it, she even said she had left my pants soaking in the washing machine for over 24hrs. no kidding, she goes to work at 2 p.m. and works till 2 or 3 a.m ok. anyhow i didn't know about the washing incident so i saw the phone on the table and plugged it into the charger, a day later my wife tells me about what happened with her letting my phone soak in my pants because she didn't check my pants and we laugh about it. it only cost less than 30 bucks so when i got home i took the phone off the charger and called her on her phone WE COULD NOT BELIEVE IT WORKED!!! THE PHONE IS DAMAGED BECAUSE YOU CANT SEE THE DISPLAY REALLY WELL BUT THE DARN THING WORKED! oh, also if you get it be sure and buy the double minutes card.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

A return to common sense and a great phone!

07/12/2013
By ,
Carlstadt, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been with TracFone for a long time, something like 20 phones between my wife and I. Our last TracFone's LG840's were a big disappointment. So many problems with the touch screen we just gave up after six months. The Alcatel A382 makes the best case for less is more. No camera, no internet and no WIFI. Just an easy to read and use reliable telephone. The charging stand gives it the look and feel of a wired house phone and the size is comfortable in the hand. In particular the larger keys make answering and using it comfortable. The size is easy to see and hold but thin & light enough for the pocket. We have a couple of laptops and digital cameras and truth be told the camera phones are at best a compromise. The TracFone Alcatel A382 is a return to basics, but in a good way. Yes, we gave up the house phone long ago since we both have TracFone's and the Alcatel A382's we purchased from Walmart have been just wonderful.
I have to note the new system TracFone is using to switch over your number right from the phone is much easier than before. The system reads your minutes and number and forwards it to the new phone all you read is the new serial number. A pleasure from start to finish!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Great Phone

05/23/2014
By ,
Akron, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom has Dementia and is in a Nursing home, and for her to have their phone it would cost $15. a month.
She calls so little maybe less then 30 min. a month. So I can buy her a 60 min. card and get 120 min. that last 3 months. Do the math $45.00 for 3 months or $20.00.
I need to see if I can get it to ring for a longer time before it goes to voice mail she can't hear it till it get loud and by that time it's to late. it starts off ringing low and dose get louder but dose not ring long enough for her to be able to get it out.
And with her Dementia I did good to get her to be able to remember as much as she has, I do not think I will ever try to teach her voice mail and texting is out.
The big buttons make it so much easier for her to use because she has bad hands.
The Walmart* site said it would not work in Her zip code but it dose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

four bars but no signal

08/05/2014
By ,
Houston, Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought the Alcatel A382 for my mother a year ago on her birthday. It is being used in Houston, TX 77043 zip code.
The Walmart website says it will not work in pretty much any Houston zip code I enter, but the stores in Houston carry is as does Target so it *should* work. It did work too for the better part of 10 months.
The phone was fine until back in about June 2014 then I would call her and it would fail to ring the phone while I was given her voice mailbox that she never used. She also would try to dial out and it would say "dialing" but the phone never did dial. The phone always shows 3 or 4 bars.
Powering off and then on worked for a short while but the phone would then revert to the aforementioned behavior after a few minutes. Sometimes after powering on it would say something like "emergency calls only" for about 5 minutes then maybe allow it to work normally or not.
I called TracFone three times in about 6 weeks and all they went through came back to my powering it off and on and them declaring the phone to be "working". The phone was under warranty and when I asked where to send it the representative refused to allow me to do so because it was "working".
I bought a new A382 last week which initially worked, but shortly began to have the very same problem of not being able to send nor receive calls. It was returned for an LG306G phone and that works without issues. Transferred the old phone number to the LG phone and the problem is solved. The Alcatel is now gathering dust.
Bottom line: there seems to be something wrong between the Alcatel phones and tracfone's service. A bad cell tower or something that caused the phone to only work briefly then not on two different phones purchased almost a year apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Long in coming

11/13/2012
By ,
Rocky Mt. VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent phone for my senior Mother. Large keys and print. Fast shipping & perfect service from Tracfone. Dropped her Verizon phone from our family plan and this will save her some money since she only uses her cell phone in emergency situations. She will never text or surf - just needs good quality phone service. THE ONLY PROBLEM was that the Walmart web site said this phone would not work in her zip code - not true. After her phone arrived, it was "sold out" so others must have disregarded the warning as well. The Tracfone web site stated this phone would work in her zip code. Just a problem with the Walmart web site and not the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Tracfone is the way to go...

11/17/2012
By ,
Cushing Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We saw this phone advertized on TV and my wife wanted one because of the big easy to read numbers. Tracfone web site sells the same phone for for about $10 more and so it made more sense to buy from Wal~Mart. The only problem I have is the Wal~Mart site said it would not work in my zip code but I bought it anyway because I have 3 other Tracfone's and it works fine, Tracfone said it would work and it hooked up with AT&T no problem. The extras are great too there is a flashlight, FM radio, a clear easy to read screen and double minutes for life.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+188points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Trenton, Michigan
Volume
Posted 05/11/2014
This is a great phone-However, I keep missing calls because of the volume when it rings is so low. I have it turned up as loud as it gets and could barely hear the ring.
I read the Terms and Conditions in the book, paragraph 8: THE CONSUMER UNDERSTAND THAT THE PRODUCT CONSIST OF REFURBISHED EQUIPMENT THAT CONTAINS USED COMPONENTS, SOME OF WHICH HAVE BEEN REPROCESSED. I must have got a Refurbished part. Had the phone 2 days and will return tomorrow.
0points
Customer Avatar
FWB, FL
TRACFONE-----NEED HELP PLEASE.
Posted 03/19/2014
I HAD A VERY SMALL TRACFONE IT WAS GOOD EXCEPT JUST TO TINY, I NEEDED BECAUSE MY MOM HAD A STROKE SO I NEEDE TO BE ABLE TO KEEP IN TOUCH WHILE I WAS RUNNING ERRANDS. AND I COULD CALL FROM INSIDE OF STORES. BUT 1 BOUGHT THIS TRACFONE AND I CANT USE INSIDE OF ANY STORES. THEY EVEN SENT ME A NEW SIM CARD, BUT STILL CANLT CALL OR RECIEVE CALLS WHILE INSIDE OF STORES. DOES ANYONE ELSE HAVE THIS PROBLEM? AND COULD ANYONE HELP ME WITH THIS. I DONT KNOW HARDLY ANYTHING ABOUT CELL PHONES. ..=
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Great Basic Phone!

02/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for just a basic phone...this is it! Big numbers, easy to use, no "plan" needed. "Pay-as-you-go" is convenient as I only use this phone for emergencies. I was also able to transfer all my accumulated minutes from my previous phone to this one. I've had this phone for about a month and have had no problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Overall pleased...

11/09/2012
By ,
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Has the look and feel of a quality item. Am using just outside of Philadelphia in Cherry Hill, New Jersey. Ported my old number from ATT with no problem. So far I am very pleased but I have only been using for a week.
Only cons...I haven't found any way to break my "contacts" down in to categories...family, friends, takeout, etc so that means a lot of scrolling. Also they provide you with cord for computer connection but for what...can I put my contacts in to a "phone book" and download to another phone if this one breaks?
Invest in a double or even triple minutes deal/card and have ready for when you activate your phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Great phone for Elderly!

11/23/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks Tracfone for coming out with a cell phone that my 90 year old mother can use. She wanted something that didn't have a monthly plan and that had large numbers and good audio. Great product!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

This is a GREAT Phone!

11/16/2012
By ,
South West Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My fat fingers love this phone! The screen is easy to ready and the menu and contact list are easy to read.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

NICE LITTLE PHONE

01/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a nice phone. It's just basic without any extras, but it does the job. Everything is easy to read, and that makes using the phone very easy. I would recommend this phone if you're looking for something simple and easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington State
Only one star?
Posted 02/01/2015
This GREAT comment is not appropriate for only one STAR! LOL
Love Wal-Mart!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

good phone for your eyes

11/14/2013
By ,
Phila. Pa.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The phone is good so far I have listed my contact information. ONe feature is that while you are talking on the phone, you can view a menu item such as the calendar, and not get disconnected. I have also stored notes which is handy. I don't know if it will cover me on minutes yet as I have 800 minutes a month, a 400 minutes plan prepaid card but the double minutes phone is great. I may have to purchase more minutes in the future. So far the phone is good and I hope to keep using it as I purchased it for its minutes plan and its a great savings.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Perfect

02/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using a Tracfone for years but wanted a newer version. The fellow at Walmart was great and transferred my phone number, days and minutes for me. I find the clarity better and the menu easy to handle. Because we don't have a land line I use it all the time. My husband also has one so we can connect when we are out.
Thank you for a reasonably priced product that works so well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Moms phone

02/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 84 yr old mother to use and she can use it very easy and she can hear it and see the large numbers
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Just Love my new Tracfone!!!!!

01/20/2013
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beats being a slave to an unmentionable carrier for 9 years. I can obtain enough minutes to last me for approximately 3 months or more. This would be strictly for emergency. I love this new phone. I keep it in a camera case that way it will not turn itself on when it's in my purse. Very easy to understand and I have figured that out on my own. Thanks Walmart love this "Big Easy" phone!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Great cell phone for my dad

11/11/2012
By ,
Brewer,ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right at this moment my father has a Tracfone Flip phone and he saw the commerical for this cellphone We purchised this cell phone for my father for christmas It has really huge buttons on the cellphone easy to use and DOUBLE MINUTES!! for life!! how good is that i would recamend this to senor citisons
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

great size

02/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The larger size with the larger buttons are easy to use. The lock feature also prevents the placing of unwanted calls.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for TracFone Alcatel A382 Cell Phone

Big and Easy says it all!

11/12/2012
By ,
Newfield, New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for one that wants the simpler way of using a cell phone. I liked it so much that I ordered another one as a spare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
WV
Posted 12/01/2012
Even though it doesn't have a camera, can it receive picture messages?
0points
Customer Avatar
Medina NY
GREAT PHONE
Posted 11/14/2012
I WAS LOOKING FOR A PHONE WITH BIG NUMBERS THAT LIGHT UP. FOUND THIS ONE AND I LOVE IT, SOME SITES SAID IT WOULDN'T WORK IN MY AREA BUT TRACFONE SAID IT WOULD AND IT DOES WORK FINE. NO CAMERA BUT I JUST WANTED A BASIC PHONE TO TRAVEL WITH. I'VE ONLY HAD IT A COUPLE DAYS BUT I CAN'T WAIT TO USE IT AGAIN. CLEAR LOUD SOUND ALSO. AAAAAAA PLUS !
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next