Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Android™ 2.3 3.7" Touch Screen 3 MP Camera Stylishly thin and light Water Resistant microSD™ Card Slot with 32 GB Support
Average Customer Rating:
3.082 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation61%59 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Great phone for the price!

04/30/2013
By ,
Christiansburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone because I lost my LG Optimus Dynamic. Let me say, I have never been so happy to lose a cell phone. Walmart.com said that the Defy wouldn't work in my area, but as long as you aren't too far out in the country, it works just fine. The Motorola Defy XT does have a slight problem with overheating, but as long as you don't run applications while it is charging it usually isn't a problem. It also has some useless default applications that you can't delete, and an older Android interface, which really isn't a big deal but it can be a little annoying. Otherwise this is a fantastic phone. It does pretty much everything that my Nexus 7 tablet can do. I should also add that this phone has quite a storage capacity. I haven't had any problems with it so far and I couldn't be happier. If you need a good phone on a budget, this is your best option on Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 2 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Great phone with a great price!

02/22/2013
By ,
Saint Petersburg, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cellphone does get hot when your running several applications, last time I checked all phones run hot and lose battery power after running multiple things. I would compare this phone to a apple iphone 4 S in terms of quickness and reliability with a network. The phone has been also known to fade off the 3g network onto another means of getting data through. Othwerise, this phone is great, durable, and fast. Compared to the precident and optimus, this phone blows them out of the water. Hopefully my feedback was helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+107points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Straight Talk Moto-DEFY-

12/01/2013
By ,
N.B.Mass.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent phone !!! Great to use,FITS-PERFECTLY in the hand !!! Fits in belt holders Perfectly !! The phone has a 3-d type (,it is NOT 3-d ) screen and pics/vdo's are crystal-clear. Any one who has this phone will certainly be pleased !!! Many internal items to find and activate.You'cn even cut down the amount of screens,I have only 3-screens to save on memory.(comes with 5-screens activated ). (this is my second-DEFY-I owned one from another-carrier ) P.S. Put in a 32-gb ms-card and you'll never run outa' space for pics,vids,ect......ENJOY !!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Nice Phone

03/03/2013
By ,
Edinburg, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone replaces a Samsung Proclaim phone that had network dialing issues that Straight Talk couldn’t resolve with Verizon. Because I still like the Straight Talk cost factor I decided to give the Motorola Defy a try running on the Sprint network. With their 30 day return policy I knew I could get my money back if I didn’t like it.
This phone runs the same Android Gingerbread software but has different features than the Proclaim. Grouping of app icons is a plus for sure. The unusual thing is the Proclaim scrolled horizontally and the Defy does this vertically. I always thought this was the operating system but it must be a manufactures choice. The phone also has a compass and an FM radio feature. The phone also has a slightly longer screen that allows easier use of the touch screen keyboard. If there is one minor problem it would be the camera at default setting takes a soft picture. I was able to correct this with a sharpness change it the camera setting.
I have only had the phone a couple days but all seems to be good and a nice step up from the Samsung Proclaim. I really didn’t have any issues with the Proclaim other than the dialing network issue with Verizon that couldn’t be corrected that I’m sure was a fluke. I would recommend both but the Defy is the better of the two.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Wish I would have NEVER bought this!!!

12/11/2012
By ,
Holland, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I previously owned the precedent and loved it. It broke so I needed a new phone. Was orginally going to go with the Proclaim since it ran on Verizons network however thought this was a better phone (Defy) and it had a better camera.
The camera is 5mp with a flash (my old phone was only 3mp without a flash). This Motorolla Defy takes the WORST pictures even with the flash on. Only takes good pics if you are outdoors and sometimes then they still are not good quality. My old phone took way better pics and did not have as "good" of a camera.
The phone does not hold a charge long. Again, I will refer back to my old phone which I paid 1/2 the price for...it charged and held a charge for a couple days. This phone has to be charged several times thoughout the day or I am left stranded without a phone if I am out an about.
I have not had any problems as far as downloading apps go, of course it is slower because it runs on Sprints towers (wish I would have bought the Proclaim).
I cannot return it...because it is past the 30 days allowed or I WOULD!!!
If you do not take a lot of pics and don't mind charging your phone a few times a day...spend the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone
12/29/2012
By ,
perry,mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went from an iphone to the defy. And couldn't be happier. It pretty much does everything my iphone did and has the same apps for half the price. The battery does get warm but doesnt effect the operation of the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+138points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Motorola Defy XT 555C

10/19/2013
By ,
Altoona Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good phone. I read many reviews on this phone before I purchased it. On a scale of 1 to 10 I give it an 8.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Don't buy

05/07/2013
By ,
Garner, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is a headache. I've been with Straight Talk since they came out and this phone is the worst I've ever had. The signal only picks up one bar even with the WIFI turned on. Mobile data is not 3G, it's 1G which doesn't allow you to download apps, unable to get on the Facebook app and many other problems. Calls get dropped for no reason, phone calls don't come in and text messaging only works when you go to messaging. The phone shut off frequently, the screen turns on and off by itself when trying to text or go into apps. The phone says error when trying to download apps. Contacts don't show up when you go to contacts. The phone in general was not made for the Raleigh or Garner area.
I spoke with a representative about the over heating difficulty and they said that was a flaw with this phone. It's the battery that over heats while on the phone, charger or texting. They will not send out new batteries that will replace the one given with this phone. Unless you like slow phone and don't mind over heating this is not the phone for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Could not get phone programmed for our area.

12/26/2013
By ,
Upper Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We could not get the phone programed to work for the area that we live in. Very frustrated that my zip code was asked when I was ordering and they said it would work off of our local towers (ATT and Verizon).
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+17points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone
11/25/2012
By ,
Fortson Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the phone but the battery gets hot and does not last very long. The apps are very nice and the phone even has a flashlight I love it. Straight Talk had to reset it now I have 3g service they are hard to get in touch with but very helpful and nice once you get through. I love the unlimited plan it's nice not to have to worry about mins.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+118points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Decent

05/15/2013
By ,
Glasgow Ky
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I received my phone I loved it until about probably 4 or 5 hours after using it. I downloaded some apps and was playing on them and in the middle of the games me phone would freeze up and you would have to take the battery out to get it to do anything and reboot the phone. I at first thought that it was a new phone and maybe it wouldn't do it again. Then it started happening more and more, even in the middle of being on facebook or anything. I finally just returned the phone to walmart and I will have to purchase another phone at a later date. I love the look and the functioning of the phone (other than the freezing). It does run fast and has a quick response time to the touch screen just like the iphone just wish it didn't freeze. If this problem was fixed than I would refer this phone to anyone. Great phone other than that.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

I hate this phone

12/30/2013
By ,
New Orleans, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is awful if you use your phone a lot. Despite that fact that I was told that it works off all cell towers, it does not and drops calls regularly. It also has very little storage. Even with the majority of the apps I downloaded being on the sd card, I am constantly having to clear data off he phone because it just doesn't have the space you would expect. I literally only have 2 downloaded apps stored on the phone. Everything else came on the phone or is on the sd card. The sd card has a good bit of space, but it won't let you store anything but downloaded apps on it. I really wish I didn't get this phone, but am stuck with it for a while. The only thing this phone has going for it is the fact that it is durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Kiaha

12/12/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I went from a cheap phone to this upgrade. I put up with it for over a year until I could not stand it any longer. I am not phone savy and I took me a while to learn how to use this phone. If I had known sooner it would have went back to the store ASAP. I loved the fact that this phone had email and facebook unlike my other phone. My biggest complant is my cheap phone had better coverage. I had no service going over the mountain everyday to work. Kinda want that in case of an emergency. Also I got no coverage at my son's house at all. Everyone else did and again my cheap phone did. When I called to see what the problem was they basically said it was the technology of the phone sorry about your luck. Just purchased a Galaxy III and get awesome service.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

The phone may be alright but the service is bad.

07/04/2013
By ,
Washington CH, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I recently purchased this phone for my teenage daughter to get away from the old tracfone she was using. She was excited about this phone and it was an early birthday gift to her. Unfortunately, the service is not good. She was at a local ballgame the other day and sent a message to one of her friends. Many hours later, it said it was still sending. I don't know if it was because it was stormy the last two days, but she can receive messages but it takes forever to send. I'm not talking a minute. I'm talking many hours. She is frustrated and borrowing my Verizon phone to send messages. This was one reason for buying her a phone to begin with, so she could get away from her Tracfone and have her own nice phone. When I put my zipcode in, it tells me this phone should work for my area. I guess it works, just not all the time. Quite a disappointment for the service but she likes the phone itself.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Motorola DEFY

12/03/2012
By ,
Kentwood, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim with Straight Talk and I loved the phone. I wanted to switch to something bigger so I purchased a 4" LG on ebay which ended up not being fully compatible with the BYOP program. So I purchased this instead since it had the flash on the camera and a front facing camera as well.
Initially I thought "I can deal with this. " But it hasn't even been 24 hours and it has been nothing but headaches. Its laggy, Every time you plug in the USB cable it makes an annoyingly loud jingle which you cannot disable, You can't even access the SD card from your PC even though the phone comes with the drivers for your PC on the phone itself that automatically installs. The phone feels cheap, the back cover is ridiculously difficult to remove...which is one reason I cannot understand why Motorola designed it with a battery cover lock! 1 bar consistently for signal, 3G drops to 1x constantly. The Samsung Galaxy Proclaim had full bars all the time and I never had my 3G drop. Both phones use the Verizon CDMA towers so i don't understand why this is happening.
The phone isn't very functional with customizing. The Samsung Galaxy Proclaim was very functional and customizable. I'm returning this today and going back to the Proclaim since I can't get the Galaxy S Showcase in my area...though its supported out here.
I am very computer savvy and phone savvy and I went through every troubleshooting method out there. I was on the line with Straight Talk's techs for an hour. I called Motorola and they couldn't figure it out either. This is just a bad phone. Maybe even defective. I'm not taking a chance and getting another one. I'll go back to what was working for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+94points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone
05/21/2013
By ,
knoxville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is amazing! I havent had a single issue with Battery life and never felt the battery get hot even with heavy usage. It has all the apps i need and i love the google market to find more apps. Nothing about this phone has shown me that there was anything wrong with it or wont be an amazing phone for what i need. Love this phone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Great phone, great value.

04/27/2013
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for a week and love it. The screen is very responsive and 3g coverage has been as good as expected. I really like the navigation app it comes with, the voice recognition has been excellent. The only negative I have is that while using navigation there have been a few times when it has lost gps signal and I have had to close it out and restart navigation for it to pick it up again. As some other reviews have said, battery life is not the greatest, but with a car charger that is not a big issue for me. The price just dropped $30 too so it is an even better value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Great Phone For the Price. WORTH IT!

06/04/2013
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this phone a few weeks ago. It's a good phone for $150 (What I paid for). The back camera is actually better than I thought. But the front camera really sucks. You can see the pixels when you take a picture with the front camera. The texting is also really nice. It has the Swype feature. Where you can slide your finger around to text. Im not sure about others. But my phone runs off Verizon towers. My service isn't that great until I get closer to the city. But all of my phones have been like that. Verizon, ATT, Sprint, Metro. All of them. I was a bit skeptical about getting a smart phone with straight talk because of the rumors about the data cap them shutting off your service if you use to much data. I have been using my internet like crazy. And it still runs fairly fast for 3g. Ive used close to about 700mb by using Facebook, Email, Youtube and Etc. No slowed down service. I haven't had much problems with the battery. It last me all day even with constant use.
Cons: When I try to call somebody it will some times call somebody else in my contacts and not the one I selected.
Battery does get hot when in constant use. Especially when it's charging. But that's only if you use it while charging. I found it reads the temperature when it charges and if it gets too hot. It suspends the charge.
The memory even though it comes with a SD card seems a bit low. I constantly I have to delete stuff.
Other than a few cons it does really well. If it had a better camera and more memory. Id choose it over the iPhone any day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone
01/07/2013
By ,
Monticello ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cool phone with a lot of features. But... Horrible service. This phone operates on sprint towers. In a city area this may not b a bad phone to buy. But if you live in a some what rural area this phone will not work. I exchanged it for the Samsung galaxy proclaim for straight talk. I'm much happier with the proclaim which operates on Verizon towers. Overall I recommend the Samsung galaxy proclaim.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Motorola Defy Cell Phone

Great phone!

12/14/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just switched from Verizon to Straight Talk, this is my first phone with Straight Talk and it is wonderful! I am saving so much money by switching and the coverage has been the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next