Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tracfone TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Tracfone TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

The TracFone LG840G Cell Phone has all the basics you need to connect on the go. The LG840G Phone is app capable, with a 3.2" touchscreen and a built-in MP3 player. This TracFone Cell Phone features the pay as you go flexibility of TracFone, with free triple minutes for life. Send and receive calls, texts, MMS picture messages, instant messages and even international text messages with the TracFone LG480G Cell Phone. The phone has room for up to 1,000 contacts in the address book. With a talk time of up to 3.7 hours and a standby life of up 13 days, you will be ready to connect most anytime. Included with the LG480G Phone is the battery, charger, activation card, service guide and user manual.
Average Customer Rating:
3.982 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
37
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation85%93 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
398 Questions | 512 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
37
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

A decent cell phone, and good price.

06/25/2014
By ,
St. Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While it's not a smartphone, it has a lot of features that smartphones have. It takes decent photos and videos, has wi-fi connectivity, tho I never use that. It's just used as a telephone. Triple minutes are a bonus. With an inexpensive USB to MicroUSB cable (as low as $3 online), you can download the pics & video to your pc without using minutes (a couple sample pics included here.)
This tracfone is an inexpensive way to have a cell phone if you don't use it a lot. We get by on a 3 mo 60 min card (=180 min with triple minutes) for 19.99+tax every 90 days. We use it for emergencies only, so minutes just pile up.
One note: If you check to see if the phone will work in your area (mine is St. Paul, MN) the result may show it doesn't work. It shows it will not work in my area. But, since I already had one, I knew it did work. This one was a gift. I'm not sure why it comes up that way on the online test.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Great phone ofr Safelink wireless.

03/27/2014
By ,
Margate, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone to replace my old TracFone flip-phone. I belong to SafeLink Wireless and can't use an actual Android Smartphone, so I checked this phone out and am very happy with it. It is Wi-Fi capable, so I can use the web wherever there is a Wi-Fi signal (my house, restaurants, etc.) to check my account, weather, movies...whatever. Got it on sale too for $39.95 which was a great price for what it is. It has a built in MP3 player and comes with a 2gb memory card, but it can be upgraded to use a 32gb memory card so you can take a lot of music with you. You have to buy the data cable and ear-buds separately but they only cost like $2.00 to $4.00 each. I recommend getting a case for it so you don't crack the crystal display by putting it in your back pocket. All-in-All I am really happy with this phone being an in-between to the old flip-phone and Smart Phone. And it is usable with SafeLink Wireless.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

phone does what it does

05/05/2014
By ,
Demotte Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know about other people. but if you want a phone that does what it said it would this is it. problem is people want more then what comes with the phone. if they read , it will tell them what it does before they buy it. and it does what it said it will. nothing more nothing less. so read first before you buy. this is not an apple phone with all the bells and whistles. but it is a good phone and it will work just fine. if you search the internet without using the built in wy fi. you will get nailed with minutes. but but but it you link your phone to your wifi. you can email. search the web and pretty much anyting else. for free. just don't expect to much. this is a phone not a portable computer. so use common sense people . when you purchase a phone . make sure it will do what you want. or go else were. but best bang for thebuck on this phone thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Good if you are content with it.

12/11/2013
By ,
South Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had never even used a cell phone before I bought this on Black Friday. I figured TracFone was the way to go for someone who would not use a cell phone much. Then it was a matter of figuring which TracFone to buy. The LG 840G was the only Triple Minutes TracFone that the WalMart had in stock and looked more advanced than cheaper phones. I also bought a Fellowes Tough Camo Universal Cell Phone Case for it. I see you can buy skin for an LG 840G over the Internet. The LG 840G TracFone is not very practical for surfing the Net, especially when you are using up TracFone minutes, but it does have WiFi. The LG 840G does have AccuWeather on it. There doesn’t seem to be a Java radio app for it, but I use Yourmuze.FM over the Internet. I tried Opera Mini browser, UC Browser and One Browser, but I decided I would stick with the standard LG browser. The LG 840G doesn’t come with a flashlight, but I downloaded a colored flashlight Java app onto mine from Opera.com.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota
Posted 07/11/2014
I couldn't make calls and it said "check call restrictions - 34" and that it should be normal in 24 hours and I called Tracfone and told them about it and they would have sent me a new phone in 3-5 days but my phone service was working again within 24 hours.
I was mad that my service could be interrupted at any time for no apparent reason, but hopefully you can live with it if it seldom happens and is corrected in 24 hours.
0points
Customer Avatar
Bloomington Il.
Told it would not work in my area
Posted 01/11/2014
My LG840G works great in my area. Why was i told it would not?
-1point
Customer Avatar
South Dakota
Posted 01/08/2014
"for me, i want a super loud speakerphone for driving on the LA freeways with the windows down. i wish there was a 100 watt visor bluetooth speakerphone. i want a speakerphone to make my ears bleed, rupture my ear drums and shatter my windshield."
"SuperTooth HD features two speakers with a 5 watt audio output and a 5.4 watt amplifier, making it three times more powerful than any other speakerphone."
0points
Customer Avatar
South Dakota
Bluetooth car speakerphone compatibility
Posted 01/07/2014
I thought the LG 840G was a little hard to hear, and I didn't want to wear a Bluetooth headset all the time. I bought a used Motorola Roadster Bluetooth car speakerphone. My LG 840G TracFone does work with it except it has no Voice Command or Voice Dialing. But that is not necessarily a big problem in an off-road vehicle. If I want to call the last person who called me, I just push the Phone button. If I think I will want to call somebody in my Contacts list, I put him on my Favorites list so I can dial him up with two On button squeezes and two taps on the touchscreen. The Motorola Roadster has a 2-watt speaker. If you need a louder speaker, you may want a 4-Watt Motorola Roadster Pro or a 3-watt Jabra Tour or a 7.5-watt Jabra Freeway.
+1point
Wall charger
Posted 01/04/2014
All new Tracfones come with an AC wall charger. This phone does not come with a car charger but if you already have one it will likely work with this. If you need to buy one this phone has a micro-usb connector and that's what you should look for.
0points
Customer Avatar
Question
Posted 12/30/2013
Does tracfone come with home or car charger?
0points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 5 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Excellent phone for the price

05/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone over a week ago at Best Buy because it cost $10 less than Walmart or Radio Shack. Walmart site says this phone does not work in my postal code area but it works perfectly. I had a tracfone Samsung phone which I replaced with this This is not as good as the Iphone or other "smarter" phones but for my use it is perfect. The price of the phone, the data plan (tripled minutes for life) makes this a very economical and effective cell phone. The wifi capability is a plus so one saves on phone and data minutes when in wifi range. I would prefer a different browser though but since I do not use the internet much with this phone this is not an issue for me.
Battery life is excellent. The phone is durable!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

A step up from a flip phone. easy to use .

12/09/2013
By ,
Denver, Pa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for a xmas present. Had an older model tracfone, a flip phone. It texts easier than the old flip phone model. Get triple minutes, which i like. Set the phone up via the 800 number, tried to use the internet but did not work for me. The letters are very sensitive to the touch when trying to text, must use your fingertips. Bought a case from Amazon which fits well. Did not need all the gadgets that other expensive phones have. bought it to update and to text. The instruction book that came with it could be more detailed, had to use the internet to figure out some set up items on the phone. It cost $49.00 from Walmart. It has a nice bright screen and easy to read. The camera is just so-so but did not buy for taking pictures. Not sorry i bought this, it was within my budget and would suggest anyone that just needs a phone to talk or text to look at this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Crozet, VA
Loudspeaker?
Posted 03/24/2014
I am hearing impaired. Does TracFone LG840G have a loudspeaker?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

A good upgrade from the LG800G

09/27/2013
By ,
Dolores, Co.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I upgraded to the LG840g from the 800g as it had been about two years and I knew the product had a limited lifespan. The 840g is a superior product in many ways; the touch pad is more sensitive,
the camera is more pixilated, the sound seems better, the Fone picks up WiFi so you don't have to use minutes to access the web, the text type is larger, and so on..... The reason I didn't give it five stars is I found the QWERTY pad to be too sensitive for my touch - although that may get better with time and I found there was no way to install 911 emergency on speed dial as I had on the 800g. I also found the on-line tutorial to be lacking in information on setting up the fone. Other than that I think the LG840g is a very fine product for the price and I would recomend it to anyone wanting to use the TracFone system.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Best NO CONTRACT value out there.

09/15/2013
By ,
Toccoa, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracfone offers the BEST no-contract plan in America, PERIOD. They beat all the rest. This phone offers TRIPLE minutes for life. Do the math: $60 phone + $100 1-Year service card with 400 minutes equates to $160 for a full year of service and 1200 minutes. Do a simple Google search for a current promotional code for extra minutes. I was able to get an additional 350 minutes!!! I was paying $900 a year with a contract phone through AT&T. I saved $740 a year moving to Tracfone after my contract expired. AND I was able to port my number very easily, without even having to speak to someone at customer service (you can do that all at www.tracfone.com). The service is just as good as AT&T. Yes, this is also a SMART phone and it is 3G capable and has built in Wi-Fi for online access. I don't use the Web portion of the phone much. I was only using about 100 minutes a month through AT&T, so this phone will last me the better part of the year with the minutes as well. People should wise up and get out of their contract nightmare and go with Tracfone, they are better than ANY of the no-contract programs out there, even better than Straight-Talk!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+165points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Thank you
Posted 12/20/2013
This is the best review of ANY product from Walmart that I have ever read. Clear, concise, and thoroughly informative. Even about some of the "details" that help finalize a decision. Your time composing this was well spent. Again, thank you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Better than I expected.

02/01/2014
By ,
Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm enjoying using this phone. It has the 3 main screens, which I love. Super easy to use each function. The texting keyboard is great! Really sensitive, but I've gotten really good at it very quickly. And I'm usually terrible at that. The sound is great. Speaker phone is a little scratchy for me. But it is nice and loud. Which is what I need it for. The only thing I had to remember not to do, don't hold the phone close to your face because it pushes buttons on there! lol It takes decent pictures. Not great but not too terrible. I haven't tried the video function yet.
So far, I'm very pleased with this phone. I got it for Tracfone and it was $10 cheaper at Walmart. Nice! And it was available right away. I love ordering online and picking up at the store. It saves me tons of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Phone is pretty good but ...

01/28/2014
By ,
GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For many years been a Tracfone phone light user (400 mins a year) and have gone thru several versions from clam shell Motorolas to LG800 for non techy wife to the LG840 for myself. For the best internet experience I installed Opera Browser and it saves a huge amount of minute charges. Example, 2 minutes vs 12 minutes in a recent internet surf.
Internet, using either Opera or the installed browser, is clumsy in either case. Screen resolution and size are small, besides a laptop is better for surfing if you can find a hotspot while travelling, otherwise the phone will do in a pinch. The LG840 will call up my Gmail.
The audio sound for calls and the ringer is low on my phone but music playback has increased sound levels in the setup and is proper volume level. Not sure why the Phone has two levels for audio.
No charge for WiFi is real nice. Bluetooth syncs easily in 2010 Toyota and is a pleasure to use that way since audio volume quality is terrific. Also bluetooth ear piece works well. No problems with the network from a trip between Atlanta and Dallas. Believe it is ATT.
Anyway, with Tracfone being a fair priced service compared to all the others, Ease of buying minutes on line, and the basic features of the phone for light use, I am reasonably happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Not a Galaxy Class phone, but...

12/24/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cancelled service with one of the major carriers, brand "T", due to lack of coverage at my residence. I wasn't sure whether I wanted to be locked into another 2-year contract, so I got this phone to do a "trial run" of AT&T service coverage. My previous phone was a Samsung Galaxy SIII.
I really, REALLY like this little "dumbphone." Sure, it doesn't have all the apps & features of a true "smartphone" but, it handles phone calls & texting just fine. If I want to play on the internet, I have a tablet and a laptop computer to use.
Also, it connected to the Sync system in my car & handles all those functions well, including the "voice dial" command built into Sync. Truth be told, this LG connects to the Bluetooth in my car quicker than the Galaxy S ever did.
The build quality of this phone belies its' low price. It feels much more substantial than did my Galaxy S. Call quality is very good, also. I do miss the "swype" function on the Android OS of the Galaxy, when texting. At least this phone has a full "virtual" keyboard, so none of the prehistoric repetitive pressing of the number keys, to form words. Battery life is phenomenal, compared to a "smartphone" - I've had this LG on continuously for 3 days now & still have 3/4 battery life remaining. I'd usually have to recharge my Galaxy before a full day was over.
IF I decide to go to AT&T, I only wish I could "port" this phone to their service. I'm not sure if this is possible, even though this phone operates on the AT&T network.
For the price, I can't imagine being able to beat the usability of this phone. The "triple minutes" is an added bonus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
If you go to AT&T
Posted 01/04/2014
They have the LG Xpression or the Pantech Renue which are similar software to the 840G, hardware is different. Batteries are only 1000 mAH but will probably get good standby time because they're not constantly hitting satelites like smartphones.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Good bang for the buck.

05/11/2013
By ,
Flint,Tx.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I have used track phones for years and have seldom been disappointed. This is by far the most advanced phone we senior citizens have owned. We now no longer embarrass our Grand children when we pull out our phones. It does everything it advertises except support a 32Gb music memory card. Tried a 16GB memory card and it caused the SIM card to crash. Turns out the max it will support is 4GB. That should store hundreds of songs with no problem so it is not a big deal for us. Coverage is outstanding. I have converted many of my friends and neighbors to track phones and they have been grateful, as their phone bills have gone down drastically and service has often improved to boot!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Good phone

03/08/2013
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always only had tracfones, and this one is the best by far. I love that it is a touch screen and that it can use WiFi. The only thing I still have not been able to do on it (and this is after calling LG and Tracfone) is set up my email (yahoo) by using the mail icon. I can get to my yahoo mail using the browser, but that is more steps. The mail icon is meant to set up to use quickly and easily and yet I still can't get it to work. It takes great pictures, too. I would give it 5 stars if I could get the mail icon to work the way it is suppose to. Anyone have suggestions? And now that cases are available, I have purchased one that fits exactly for this phone so it is protected if I drop it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Beaumont, TX
LG 840G
Posted 03/27/2013
Any idea how many text messages it holds before you have to delete them? Thanks.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Would not recommend

06/06/2014
By ,
warriors mark, pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you live in area code 16877 forget it . . . no reception. It uses battery life even when it's not on. Recharging constantly. Uses minutes for everything, even stuff that says you sent and didn't send or messages received , etc. It's hard to see anything on internet and it uses a lot of minutes for internet.
I like my old flip phone better, glad I didn't roll over minutes to this phone. I hardly ever recharge my old flip phone and I let it on a long time and it hardly uses any battery life.
All I wanted was to use the phone and it does do that but I hate the fact it uses up so much battery life and I'm constantly having to recharge it, especially when I don't use it much and it uses battery life even when I don't use it. OK to make calls if it works in your area but not for 16877. I kept it over the return option of 15 days so I can't return it. I'll keep it for a spare.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

OK, This isn't a Smart phone, but it isn't Dumb

09/08/2013
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This isn’t the newest phone out there with all the bells and whistles, but it is a very good phone with lots of added perks. Touchscreen, Wi-Fi, music player, Bluetooth, internet, camera, video camera Qwerty KB for messaging and more. My previous Go phone- Z221 started to have issues so I bought the LG840G Tracfone. Great signal strength, and cheaper than AT&T go phone per minute. You get triple minutes FOR THE LIFE OF THE PHONE when adding time so for a $99.99 / 365 day card you get 400 minutes x 3 + 250 free minutes= 1450 minutes. Roughly 7 cents a minute. You can add a micro SDHC card for up to 32GB of memory. That’s a lot of music or pictures. I have over 700 song on it and still have 13 GB free, and that’s on a 16GB sdhc card. Drag and drop, simple. If you don’t want contracts and don’t live on you phone this is a great deal. They also have other plans and deals. Granted Tracfone’s customer service isn’t based in the US and they do have a accent, but I had no problem understanding them when I had a problem activating it. Lots of number coded to enter and everything went well. OH and if you have a Wi-Fi connection the internet is FREE no minutes used, but be sure you have the Wi-FI turned on! Java based operating system and in my area it uses the AT&T towers. Also I went to set up voicemail and it was already done? It was using my old AT&T voice mailbox, old messages from using AT&T still in the box, go figure? Happy with the purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Good for a pay as you go phone!!

12/03/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the voice recorder, audio features and music player!!
I use the phone very little so I pay as required. Don't use wi-fi features very often also.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pensacola
Transfer Minutes
Posted 03/21/2014
I had a Net10 phone that got damaged. Can I transfer the minutes I had left to a TracPhone phone? When my Net10 phone starts up it says racPhone on the beginning screen.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone
07/24/2013
By ,
Zebulon, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little phone for people who use it for emergencies or for limited use. Web browser is not that great, it won't let me download free ringtones from other sites. Overall I like the phone for the needs that I have, and I have used TracFone's for many years and love the service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Great Phone Altogether

01/14/2013
By ,
Kelso, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone three to five days ago. It was easy to activate and goes beyond what I expected. I had a TracFone LG800 prior to this phone and its just as easy to figure out. It does more multitasking than the 800. It also is easier to send messages and things like that because the button areas are bigger and to me it seems that the sensors are stronger. My 800 gave out quickly. I hope this one lasts. So far I have fallen in love with it.
You can do more with this phone. I have listened to music while typing a text message which any other phone I had and the Fusion my sister had wouldn't let you do. The buttons are large enough for the 'sausage' fingers I have. It has three customizable main screens which are easy to use just swipe a finger left or right. I don't have to take out the battery to put the msd card into it. The msd card is very easy to plug in, just slid into its slot. The back is easy to take off, put a nail under it and lift. It doesn't open in my pocket like my last one did. The picture quality is much better. I can take a picture inside without turning a flashlight onto it. I also like that it has wifi which wasn't an option on my other phone. I like that it automaticly locks itself so I'm not 'butt dialing.' It gave me an additional minutes for activation and let me transfer my minutes. I like that the speaker when listening to music or using speakerphone isn't in the back and instead on the same side as the microphone area. I love that it can read up to 32 gb msd cards without slowing so much you are waiting for 15 minutes before you can listen to music sort your pictures or notes or anything like that. It has been wonderful
The only downside I feel is that the headphone jack is on top rather than the bottom but I'll adjust. There is no other downside unless the phone gives out in 3 months like the last one did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+362points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
poughkeepsie ny
lg 840g tracfon smart
Posted 09/14/2013
not so smart fon. I try to go on yahoo finance to get a stock quote took over 5 minutes. On my laptop it takes 7 seconds. What can I expect for $80 a year, no mistake. I have triple time for life ,which means $20 for 180 minutes for 3 months.
I was at target for 4 hrs with a nice sales woman. When I left the phone was still not activated. I was told it takes 24 hrs to activate, since I was keeping the same phone # from my old phone ,yet changing my carrier from t mobile to att. At 24 hr point phone still not activated ,so I go online and start the process all over for the 5th time. Half way thru I get a message "serial # in use already. I turn on phone and time is correct. I have a dial tone.
Also My old tracfon never got reception at home .This one does.
0points
Customer Avatar
Beaumont, TX
LG 840G
Posted 03/27/2013
Do you know how many text messages the phone will hold before it needs to be deleted? Thanks.
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone
08/18/2013
By ,
Coos Bay, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never had a touch phone before so this is taking some time to explore everything. My last phone was a LG and you couldn't ask for a better one. It's camera finally went after six years and lived through a lot of drops on the floor. So tried another LG and so far not disappointed at all. Triple minutes, hey it's going to save me money. I'm not a web user with a phone, so don't now how it would fair if you used it for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for TracFone LG840G Cell Phone

Great phone at such a low price

06/04/2014
By ,
Tunkhannock, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit even includes WiFi thus reducing the need to use minutes to connect to the Web or email. The learning curve is very short if you are touch screen aware today. The Bluetooth capability works well with the system in the car to give a true hands free car phone. I put some test music files on the SD to test and it actually sounds quite good. The only thing I miss is the speakerphone, but that would have required a thicker unit or higher price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next