Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone has all the basics you need to connect on the go. With the Straight Talk Huawei Phone you can download over 450,000 apps on Google Play, which is part of the Android operating system. This Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone features Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) operating system, 3.5" touchscreen and a 3 megapixel camera so you take photos and send them to friends and family in an instant! Additional features of this Straight Talk Huawei Phone include MP3 player, 800MHz processor, microSD card slot with 32GB support, instant messaging and GPS capabilities. With the Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone you also enjoy 3G/WiFi connectivity, 800MHz processor, 5 home screens, gravity sensor/tilt and shake and a phonebook that holds up to 1,500 contact entries. This phone will only work with the Straight Talk $45/30-day Unlimited Service Plan or the $60/30-day Unlimited International Service Plan.
Average Customer Rating:
3.259 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(216 Reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
49
3 stars
14
2 stars
13
1 star
65
Customer Recommendation60%129 out of 216reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
294 Questions | 417 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
49
3 stars
14
2 stars
13
1 star
65
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Good basic phone

02/09/2014
By ,
Covington, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone about a year ago. It looked nice, had the fb and other app capabilities, and was on sale for $79. It works with Verizon towers so the coverage is pretty good most places I go. My complaints are that even with the extra SD card this phone has told me its memory is full since a few days after I got it. The only apps I have on it are fb, Pandora, and my yahoo email, all of which I clear the cache for at least once a day (if not 4-5 times). It causes my internet to crash constantly when I'm looking for something like a store coupon while I'm standing in line or a business I need to look up the number for. It does have a pretty long battery (about 12-24 hrs depending on how much I use it). Pictures are not high quality as expected from only 3 mp.
Overall I would say I'm pretty satisfied with the actual phone calls but not the internet and app capabilities. I would recommend this for older people or someone who rarely uses the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Ok phone if you don't plan on downloading..

11/28/2012
By ,
Post Falls, ID
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I went with Straight Talk because a friend of mine had it and his phone was awesome! He had the ZTE Merit, but I didn't want to spend $130 on a phone and chose this one because it was close to the one that he had. This phone was pretty fast when I first started using it. Now that I have had time to download things to my phone, it is not running as fast as it should be and it causes me to force close my apps a lot. I have music downloaded on my phone and I was playing it through my home system one day and the music stopped in the middle of the song for no reason! It even opened up an app that I didn't need/want opened. Great value, but just keep in mind that you get what you pay for. You pay a cheap price, you get a cheap phone. The first time I dropped my phone, the back came off and it's a pain in the you know what to get back on if you don't have it on just right. If you want a smart phone this isn't the best one to choose. Great if you want something all touch screen, but don't expect to download too much on this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Great phone! Cant beat it!

01/17/2013
By ,
Factoryville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is great! I was trying to decide between either this model or the galaxy because both run off the verizon network. I decided to go with this because it was 50 bucks cheaper at walmart and the only difference in both phones was the processor. Well let me tell you this phone is great and LIGHTNING fast! comming from sprint we had horrible service this is amazing. I think what alot of people dont know who have problems with the straight talk service is EVERY MODEL PHONE RUNS ON A DIFFERENT NETWORK! so you have to do your research! if verizon gets the best coverage where you live then go with a verizon phone, if at&t does then find a at&t phone. Finally if sprint does, same there find one that runs off the sprint network. If you find the model phone you like on walmart.com website, if you read though the reviews on the phone people post what network each phone runs off of. That is the best advice I have to give, if you find one that runs off the network in your area then I cant see why anyone would not be happy with straight talk. we LOVE IT!!!!!! A+++++++ all the way thank you straight talk! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Great phone for the money

12/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maybe this will help someone out that is looking at this phone. When I first started looking at Straight Talk phones I was clueless. I wanted a smart phone but did not want to pay a lot of money being money was the whole reason I dropped my over price other cell carrier. When I first saw this phone there was no reviews on it so I was unsure. It was in my price range and did everything I wanted according to the specs. I have had the phone for approximately 3 months and have had no issues. After I bought mine, I went back a few days later and bought one for my wife. It streams Pandora with no issues and I have watched a few movies without issues. Youtube is also without issues and I can get on various web sites without problems. These are the main things I do other than talk and text. It uses Verizon towers, so if you don't have Verizon coverage in your area it will not work. I haven't had any problems with calls any where I've been so far. So far, I have been pleased with the phone. I pay $90 a month for me and my wife and we have unlimited everything. I was paying more than that with my last carrier and did not even have a smart phone. I can't see ever going back to a contract type plan. If you get tired of Straigh Talk just stop paying when you feel like it. No hidden fees and no penalties.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Outstanding Android phone- cheap price! 3G!

11/25/2012
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this phone to replace another ST phone that was on a network I had bad luck with in my area, and wanted to go back to Verizon. Upgraded to the Android phone. Love it! Use it as my camera, video camera, MP3 player, radio, Facebook, Youtube, Google Calendar synced with my computer, Love the GPS navigation, and my daughter plays Angry Birds! It is like having a computer in my pocket. I love it and am so happy that I upgraded. I don't know how I lived without this functionality before. Can't beat the price too. Buying the same for all my kids for Christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Excellent phone for the price

12/10/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone about a month ago for approximately $100. It includes a 4 GB SD card (already in the phone), charger, and a headset.
+Uses Verizon network with a large coverage area. I had no signal problems in urban and rural areas. Hard to beat $50 a month for unlimited calls, text, and data. People who uses the same carrier experience throttle after 2-2.5 GB of usage a month. I use the phone regularly for RSS feeds, 3-4 minute youtube videos, and casual browsing. I have only used up 1 GB of data in nearly one month.
+Call quality is great. No problems with speakerphone and decent voice quality for sending and receiving.
+Excellent build. The back feels smooth and the phone is light. I experience no sensitivity (or lack of) problems.
+Includes a GPS. The GPS isn't perfect navigation wise. It does provides maps and a somewhat accurate reading of your location.
+Uses android 2.3 operating system. About 80-90% of applications are compatible to this phone. A few apps (some heavy-set games in particular) require more processing power than this phone can handle. For a $100 phone, the processor is very good. You can check email, listen to music, browse the web, etc.
*For a $100 phone, the camera is what you would expect. Roughly 3 megapixel camera with no flash.
*The internal memory is not much, less than 200 MB. Most apps allows you to install on a SD card. To prevent memory problems, be sure to set SD card as your preferred install location.
*The screen is average. I am not sure if this is common for most smart phones, but you will experience some problems viewing the screen outside in a very bright area. The viewing quality is as expected. The viewing size is adequate.
-The mic on the headset is terrible. If you plan on using the voice recording feature or make videos with sound, invest on a decent pair of headset or microphone.
Unless you plan to us a phone for playing heavy or making videos, I definitely recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+150points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone
12/13/2012
By ,
MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone because I could not afford the one I really wanted to get. I Love the phone. the fact it runs on verizon towers that is awesome. the down fall is I cant seen to get all the apps i wanted to work on the phone and not a lot of storage space. I was told at the store all straight talk phones have a 2bg of storage. I tried to download a background app and can not. It says not enough storage space on the phone for that. That's ok I have a friend who can hook me up or get them off my computer. The phone so far as not gave me much problems. storage is small but that's ok it does what I want it to do. Talk, Text and web for 45.00 a month cant beat that. Love the price of this phone. I read the reviews on this phone and most all were good. I went with this one. I would tell anyone looking for a good cheap phone to get this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Does what it needs to do

12/14/2012
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone is great love being able to get on the internet fast for weather or news. Except the battery don't seem to last long if you are on the internet for a long time but i added a battery saver app and a task killer app and now the battery lasts forever... so if anyone does get this phone i would suggest you to find those two apps right away and download them they work together and will save your battery the task killer will shut of things you aren't using to save the battery and also shuts off the internet while not in use when is really handy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Great 1st smartphone

02/20/2013
By ,
Chanute,Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first smartphone and I love it!You do have to go to amazon,to get a cover,but the phone itself is great.
I have downloaded several apps,and all work well.
I do also have a kindle fire,so it was perhaps easier for me to figure some of this stuff out.
I did download the actual user manual for this phone also.I found it gave me answers to a few more questions I had.
Do get abigger memory card,it will take a 32 gb,card.
With the $45.oo a month plan,I am really enjoying using this phone.Great value!
The BEST screen protector,is from a company called Zagg.You can get one from them,actually made for this phone.
I can connect to facebook and share pictures,messaging is easy,also.
If you dont need alot of big memeory-type games,this is a great phone choice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Too Many "Low on Space errors"

02/14/2013
By ,
Safford, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE if you use a lot of apps. This phone has very little internal memory.
Mine is showing right now 78mb used and 41mb free. Constantly going in and closing apps to get the internal memory up. I installed 32gig sd card and moved every possible app to the external memory card. I mostly use the phone to listen to pod casts going to and from work. 1 hour drive each way. When someone calls me, I call hear them through the radio aux jack, but they can not hear me with my mouth up to the phone.
Browsing is constantly crashing and closing.
Used the Restart feature too many times to clean up why it was crashing all the time.
Believe it or not, I did use the radio feature a lot. Came in handy at the gym for their TV's mounted on the wall.
Too many flaws.!
I am grateful I bought the extended warranty so I can take it back. I have used it for 28 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
greeneville tn
Posted 09/14/2013
that's what mine does, but this wasn't the phone I bout my other one that I had was a $160 dollar phone an it wouldn't hold a charge so I called an they sent me the Huawei iv only had it a month an its been messed up the whole time. im ready to switch to something else because a lot of other people that have straight talk there phones have been messing up all the time to.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Worst phone I have ever had.

10/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Barely any space, always closes the browser, always closes the apps. It was a complete waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

awesome just awesome

11/04/2012
By ,
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have been pleased with straight talk so far and most android phones die pretty quickly i was pleasantly surprised to see how long this phone keeps its charge even with constant use and i love some of the new features this phone has
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+189points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Great phone for a great price.

11/01/2012
By ,
Escanaba, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is pretty much just like the zte merit except it runs on verizon instead of at&t. The verizon network is much better. Android phone for 99.00, cant beat that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+289points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
bruceton tn
Service
Posted 05/13/2013
I can not get service in ky, It saids it will work, but cannot not get any, does any one no why
0points
Customer Avatar
longmont
phone dont work
Posted 04/04/2013
these phones are no good at all!!!
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

awesome totally awesome how sweet it is

11/17/2012
By ,
london,ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great phone i had it since monday and it awesome it has good coverage and good for an android phone it has a good battery life on it if u dont use the internet u can turn the internet of and the battery works for at least a couple days i would definately recommend this phone...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Great smartphone for the price

09/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
$99 is a fair price for this Huawei (pronounced huh-wa-way). I actually got it for a little less because mine was refurbished, great deal. It's running Gingerbread OS (version 2.3) and I think it performs very well for this price. I find that when apps are installed or uninstalled it's a good idea to re-start the phone to allocate memory. It comes with a power cord, USB cord, and battery. The battery panel is incredibly hard to remove once it's on so study the pressure points before you snap that bad boy in place! Oh, and go ahead and install the 4GB microsd card which goes in the battery compartment. It comes with some apps but there are so many more to download from the Google Play store. Be patient when you first start downloading because the phone stores them in the Settings folder, where you have to finish installing. There's also a hidden STATUS screen overlay, can access by touching the top of the screen and swiping DOWNWARD, this is a separate screen from the 5 home screens. Anyway, it's a fine Verizon phone, great cover, for the money, been playing with this all weekend. I recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

I LOVE MY Huawei!

11/20/2012
By ,
KM,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this phone. It is easy to use, fast, efficient, easy to carry, and store. For the price it is a major score! LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone
11/18/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone lets me use all the Android apps as well as email and text. It is fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Great little smartphone

12/02/2012
By ,
Las Cruces, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only had it for a week but is a GREAT value for the money. Runs off Verizon towers, downloads apps flawlessly, very intuitive interface, never drops calls, long batt life----even dropped it and it works fine. How could you go wrong? Came over from Sprint after 15 years from them after they doubled plan fees for smartphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

Low Memory

11/19/2012
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had a few issues with apps hanging up, no big deal it happens. However I've been quite disappointed with it's memory. Granted they give you a 4 gb sd card with the phone it's practically useless. Most if not all the preloaded apps I can't transfer to the sd card so already out of the "box" it's low on memory. I had Facebook and other apps installed but then the phone had an error and no longer recognized that the apps were installed. I believe most of which I had already moved to the sd card to free up space on the phone. Now I can't re-install Facebook as I keep getting an error. I've had issues with the LG Optimus S and hanging up on apps. However I've never had these kinds of issues that I'm having now with the Huawei.
I'm not sure if this is specific to my phone or if it's an issue with the model of the phone from the manufacturer. I would proceed with caution when buying this model and test it out within the time frame given so that it can be returned if you encounter similar memory issues. I rated it as a mid level on value due to the potential it has to be a decent android phone with some of the bells and whistles. Granted you won't get the best camera quality, flash capability, or a 3D screen. However if you like things such as Facebook, E-mail, Calendars, small web searches, GPS, phone calls of course, texting, and a decent little camera than this phone will work for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Huawei Ascend Y Cell Phone

First "Smartphone"

11/20/2012
By ,
Middletown, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone and the first one had several thin lines running across the very top of the screen. It's not a $300 phone so I was okay with having to return the first one. Once I got the replacement phone I was THRILLED! I love it. It may not have a lot of memory but it's perfect for me. I don't need nor will I ever use a lot of apps or games and it serves it purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 196 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next