Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Vizio Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(203 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
115
4 stars
56
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation87%176 out of 203reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 150 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
115
4 stars
56
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Outstanding Pcture but Average Sound

02/03/2014
By ,
Newfield, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this, wall mounted in master bedroom. After adjustment, the picture is outstanding. It is easy to wall mount because of the 100mm x100mm vesa mount pattern. The small base mount screws are used for wall mount, but the TV is very light, and very stable after mounted. The sound is poor, but after turning surround sound off, and using the advanced equalizer, I was able to adjust it to where it was almost acceptable.Unfortunately this TV doesn't not have a headphone jack to plug in a set of computer speakers. I have a set of Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers that sound great and I was not using. I ordered a 2x RCA (red and white) to 1x 3.5mm headphone jack harness from amazon for less than three bucks. I plugged the harness into the audio out on my Comcast HD box, and disabled the volume lock on the cable box so I can control the volume via the remote (if plugged into the audio out on the TV, the volume can not be controlled via the remote.) Now, with excellent sound and picture am very pleased with my purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Bad Purchase

01/14/2014
By ,
Holland Mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TV appeared ok when I first received it. After 2 months the picture went blurry and had lines through the screen.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 01/28/2014
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your TV. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great TV

08/28/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched quite a bit before I purchased this TV. I found the biggest complaint seemed to be sound quality, but that was a common theme in most of the TV's in this size range. I have found the sound on this TV to be perfectly fine. I was expecting to have to purchase a sound bar, but I am very happy with it as it is.
I especially like the picture, but that is a very subjective thing. It is very crisp and clear and it has several features that enable you to easily fine tune it to your taste.
I found it very easy to set up, except I did have to call my cable company (Charter) for assistance b/c I could get audio, but no picture. They quickly assisted me in making an adjustment and all was good.
The on line price is cheaper than store purchase so I ordered on line. Turns out they had one in stock at the store and I was able to pick it up the day I ordered it.
Kudos to Vizio because they have an 800 customer service number and you can actually speak to a LIVE person! Very helpful and impressive in this day of poor customer service!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great tv for a great price.

02/10/2014
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best feature--beautiful picture! Many options with settings esp with color and image that are an upgrade from our last flatscreen tv purchased 5 years ago. One surprise: the screen captures reflections of lights and windows in the room unless light is far to the side. This is easy for us to remedy by pulling shades during the day and turning on lights strategically at night. But our older tv has a near zero reflection screen. The sound and volume are quite adequate for general listening (no big bass end) but the speakers are rear mounted so that WHERE you mount this tv will probably make a huge difference. Ours is on top of a stand in a corner and the sound is free to reflect off the walls. In a tightly enclosed cabinet I think the sound COULD be diminished- (I read some other reviews that seemed to indicate this)- so one might need to add external speakers if they have tv in a cabinet. This tv is much BIGGER than our older set--did I mention the beautiful picture?-- and cost $100 less so we still consider this to be a great deal and a recommended purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

replacement TV

08/27/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This LED TV is a replacement for my Vizio VL037M. The picture quality is good, though calibrating for the best picture is a huge pain. Calibration is also a necessity with this TV, as the factory settings look pretty terrible. Once calibrated, though, it looks fantastic.
It's only got two HDMI ports, which is really odd, but it's not a dealbreaker. Keep that in mind if you have a cable box and game consoles, though, as it will limit what you can plug in at a time.
The speakers are okay, for what it is. I will likely buy a sound bar later on though.
It's super light, which is wonderful if you plan on wall mounting. The stand is super solid and very well made, so there is little worry of it ever falling over due to the odd bumb here and there.
All in all, this is a great little TV for the price if you have the time to properly calibrate the picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great TV. Try these settings.

09/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this tv and I love it. Adjusted the picture with ease. Using over the air antenna picture looks great. Using the xbox it looks fantastic.
Easy to use menu and remote. Disable the auto brightness and set it yourself for a much better picture.
Select Calibrate
Auto brightness cntrl off
Backlight 90
Brightness 54
Contrast 91
Color 54
Tint -1
Sharpness 10
Color normal
Black detail high
Backlight control off
Reduce signal noise low
Reduce block noise low
I found these give a nice picture. Remember you have to do it for each device
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Went out after 13 months

04/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After 13 months, one month past warranty, the screen went out. We had bought a 55" Vizio six months after the first Vizio thinking it was a good brand. Now we are hoping the 55" has a life span of more than a year. Vizio won't do anything to help, except sell us an 89.00 3 year warranty on the 55 inch, because it is only six months old. Funny thing is, we bought a Sanyo and an Element from Walmart for our kids rooms because they were cheap, and they are still working great three years later.
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

A wonderful TV option.

12/31/2013
By ,
Cleveland Ohio. USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new TV. It is bare bones. No wifi, no smarts. Just good solid quality.
I do not feel I need added features because I can integrate thee things through the simple use of DVD player and game machines.
The picture quality is as good as a higher end set. I chose the 39 inch screen because of price considerations. the sound is a bit weak, if you want a loud TV. But it is so simple to add extra speakers it doesn't matter. I often watch something with just the native sound wich is quite adequate. However, I did go an extra step and downloaded a good color analyzer. The results are fantastic. I think the only difference between this and a higher end TV is that this one was not calibrated at the factory. Big deal. the color calibrator works just as well.
Three thumbs up!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great value and product...

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome deal bought it for my daughter and she loves it so that means I a satisfied customer..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV
12/28/2012
By ,
Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third Vizio HDTV I own. I am never disappointed, The first one I bought over 5 years ago and is still our main TV. This one gives me a 39inch screen that most 37inch screens couldn't fit in. The screen is clear crisp and easily set to my preferred specs. The LED back-lighting is great but as I have read in other comments, I had to turn off the auto adjust feature to get it the way I like... Make sure you have a HD feed to get the most out of this HDTV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Tom

09/01/2014
By ,
Bradenton Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good valve and good price. Bought for bedroom to watch Football on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great item for the price!

01/27/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were told by co-workers that Vizio was not a great buy and not top notch... The Vizio we bought is TOP NOTCH! We decided on buying another tv for our home and really did our homework. We had it for a month now, and so far, its super. We have our surround sound and dvd, and vcr and direct Tv all hooked to it, not a problem. This tv runs for a long time, many hours, and its not hot to feel. so the LED really does stay cool. We love our tv and hope it will last for a long time to come, and hope I can still give it a five star rating a few yrs. down the road.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great for the price

08/21/2014
By ,
Ridgecrest, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this TV when our son poured a glass of water into our old one. we shopped around and found this one. The only thing I wish that was better on this TV was the sound. The sound quality is good mind you, but with a 5 year old in the house we had to setup a surround sound system. other than that this TV is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great TV! Great Price!

09/27/2013
By ,
Milledgeville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of this TV is great. Full and clear 1080p images look amazing. I mainly use this for playing Xbox and experience no lag at all with the tv response time. The price tag is pretty good for a tv of this size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great for college apartments

08/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So for the tv has been great. It is perfect for the apartment. The picture is very clear and it was very easy to set up.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Poor sound quality

12/11/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The picture is acceptable, but off-axis viewing loses color saturation quickly.
The sound quality, however, is a deal-breaker. I don't expect concert quality sound from what is essentially a bedroom TV, but the sound on this set is hollow and thin and too bright. It sounds like a low fidelity clock radio. There are no bass/treble audio controls, so the out-of-the-box sound is all you get. If you are planning to use external speakers, then this TV might be fine. Otherwise, I'd skip it and find something else.
I returned this TV and replaced it with a Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

It has EPG but only for current viewed program

10/12/2013
By ,
Marion, Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've just set the set up. I've gone through all the menu items, it is missing several features that the 2005 set it's replacing has for HDTV use OTA.
EPG Electronic Program Guide
OTA Over The Air ie. Antenna input
It does not have the ability to show the next 12 hours of EPG data, that broadcasters are required to transmit. It can only show the program title, and description for what is currently being displayed. The previous set also could acquire the current time, and had a setting to display this on screen all the time, which was a handy and useful feature.
The price beats anything at Bestbuy. When I looked for a set there, their sales associate had no desire to find a remote, and knew nothing about any of their products with a program guide display feature.
At Walmart, the associate took the time to go where the remotes were stored, found a remote for the VISIO as it had a guide button, and showed me it had this, but because no stores have any antenna connections, only their canned sales feed, I had to buy the set to see if it worked. It works, but not the way it should. All TV manufactures should be required to comply with the full specification for EPG.
The picture looks good, I never could see much difference between display sets other then viewing angle. The sound works as expected.
I payed $368. and see it's cheaper online at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

I just don't know!!!!!!!!!

07/28/2014
By ,
MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't want to give this TV a bad rating because the adjustments I made are on me. But I have fooled around with the picture setting for a week and just can't seem to get it right for me. I get the picture great for night time viewing but during the day have this washed out look to it. My computer sits alongside it and when glancing at the TV, it looks hazy from the side view. I am not seeing this crisp, bright picture quality I see on these sets in the stores. It could very well be due to the brightness of my living room so hesitant to blame the TV for this. A glare-free screen would have done wonders, I believe.
I have it set to "calibrated" and also zoom to get rid of the borders all the way around. Could be something gets lost in the zoom setting? I purposely did not order a "smart" TV to keep this simple. Unlike the others here, I have no problem with the sound. The TV sits in a 24x20 living room and I find no problem with the sound but if I was using it for gaming, then I would probably add a sound bar.
What I do find a bit annoying in today's market is that the user manuals need to be downloaded. Seems to me they could toss a manual in on the deal when it costs $45 for ink for our printers! Some people don't HAVE a printer. I just paid $1,000 for a computer and same deal with that. I would have been happy to pay another $10 for a printed manual myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MI
Now I know!
Posted 07/29/2014
I wanted to add to my earlier post. I did some more settings and now I love this TV. I turned the back light setting to OFF and that took care of my problems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Excellent value can't be beat

12/29/2012
By ,
Albany, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second Vizio TV in our home and as we need to replace other older TVs we will get Vizios to do the job for us. The picture quality simply can't be beat for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vizio E390-A1 39" 1080p 60Hz LED (2.95" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great TV for a great price

06/06/2014
By ,
Lincoln University, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another terrific TV product from Vizio. This is the 3rd Vizio I have purchased to replace older TVs in my house. I cannot speak to durability at this point for this particular TV, but I have a 47 inch in my family room that I bought 3 years ago and it is holding up really well. The picture quality is still as outstanding as the day I bought it. Overall, I think a buyer would be hard pressed to find a better TV for a better price anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next