Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hewlett Packard HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8

The Sleekbook 14-B017NR HP 14" Pavilion Laptop is the everyday laptop that's anything but ordinary. Get exclusive innovations like HP CoolSense to keep you comfortable and HP ProtectSmart which helps keep your data safe from bumps. Enjoy long battery life or swap it out to keep playing without recharging. At less than an inch thin and under four pounds, the HP Pavilion Sleekbook 14 is perfect for life on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%12 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8

Fine product if you are Windows 8 savvy

11/14/2012
By ,
Fort McCoy, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product lives up to its advertising. Only comes in Windows 8, so if you like FireFox, forget it. I do miss having a built in disc player/burner but a good peripheral can be had for about $50.00. If you are not up on Windows 8 prepare to go back to school.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
14507
gene
Posted 12/01/2012
does this item have a built in disc player, burner
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8

Will get the job done

01/04/2013
By ,
Selma, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
INITIAL REACTION
At this price I was very skeptical about what this PC could offer when I saw the bundle price for all of the items that were included. With that said, prior to the purchase I began the research process by looking for more info on the Pavilion offered...not much was available, so I figured it was a fairly new system.
RESEARCH
Looking over the specs with the hard drive size, processor, and speed I could not be happier so far. I'll be using this laptop for training over the next 8 months so I'll see how high the satisfaction level stays by then, but out of the box I'm very content.
OS (Windows 8)
As I explained my hesitation to my co-worker about Windows 8, he made me realize that it is mostly geared towards those familiar with similar set ups...I own an iPad and an Android device, so those interfaces familiarized the learning curve associated with Windows 8. So far, I figured out most of the basics and intermediate controls...this took a little bit of time, but by the end of the day I was explaining how to use it and use the Tiles and shortcuts to my wife - not a pro, but I was proficient.
OVERALL
Great laptop for what I need...I can't give it 5 stars because I can immediately see the benefit if it were touch screen, but using the touch pad in a similar fashion gets the job done for scrolling, zooming, and swiping. Also, the screen resolution and clarity is not as great as our main laptop (may be due to the smaller size). Back lit keyboard would be nice and the touch pad is super sensitive, but again, I could not be happier overall with this PC at this price and is perfect for students, travelers, and first time Win 8 users (price is usually about $579 for the laptop alone).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 3 for HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8

Great laptop, just not quite what I expected.

02/01/2013
By ,
Memphis, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I need to read what the hardware is better, I have never seen a full sized laptop without a disk drive. Loved the ram memory capacity of the machine, but I just couldn't live without the disk drive. I took it back to the store and exchanged it for one that was at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 4 for HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8

Nice for a large laptop

01/24/2013
By ,
AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a bit heavier than expected; but it seems sturdy. The display and keyboard are really good. The power cord is too bulky. Windows 8 is a pain.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8
02/07/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bundle is a great value. Love the sleekness of this computer. High quality picture and lots of memory. Only thing is, this does not have a CD/DVD rom/player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 6 for HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8

Gift for grandson

01/04/2013
By ,
chicago,il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
He loves it and states that it is awesome
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8
03/11/2013
By ,
rochester,ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i recieved it in the mail and 2 days later it just stopped working i had to send to hp to get it fixed ..i was really upset because they told me this product was not supposed to be shipped because it had a glitch.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8

Great laptop

02/18/2013
By ,
san antonio, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how slim this laptop is. Everything has worked great. It's so easy to get use too even my 5 year old loves this laptop because it's easy for him. Love the Windows 8 system..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8

Great laptop

01/15/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the sleekbook for school work and I absolutely love it. I can carry it in my bag without it weighing me down too much. Screen is perfect size as I can use it on the train.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8

Good laptop for price

01/11/2013
By ,
Nacogdoches, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great laptop! Laptop is lightweight and thin. Really nice screen/display. Only downside is that the keyboard does not light up...oh we'll for the price it's a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8

Great laptop for at homers.

01/17/2013
By ,
Roseburg, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for home use. Very quiet and fast enough for home every day use. Pretty slick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP 14" Pavilion Sleekbook 14-B017NR Laptop PC with Intel Pentium 987 Processor and Windows 8
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5