Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Char-Broil Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Char-Broil Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Enjoy cooking as much food as your heart desires with the Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker. It features 1,280 total square inches of cooking surface so you can smoke multiple large cuts of meat at a time. The Char-Broil Offset smoker features multiple dampers for natural heat and smoke control and a humidity gauge to monitor the cooking temperature. Other features of the American Gourmet smoker include a front shelf and built-in bottle opener. The Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker is ideal for cookouts with the family or a community event.
Average Customer Rating:
4.269 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%71 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 108 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Good smoker for the money!

12/23/2012
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this smoker as an early Christmas gift for my son. He LOVES it! He cooked some pork for BBQ, a brisket and some chicken the first time he used it. This unit has some serious room in it. Everyone raved about how good everything was. He was proud to show off his new smoker. I believe he would recommend this for the novice or experienced griller.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Really large cooking area!

07/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value, easy to assemble, need to mod it a bit (better thermometers, baffles, exhaust changes) to really get it working great but a good starting point for a large smoker. In my first go, I smoked 5 racks of ribs, 2 chickens, a large pork shoulder and 16 - 20 sausages. Not the most durable smokers out there - season the smoker per the directions and I would buy a cover to help prolong the life of it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Waiting on Charbroil

08/26/2014
By ,
Hixson, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought 2 of these smokers in May ( 1 for myself and 1 for my son )and already the paint is coming off and is starting to rust! I know the warranty says it doesn't cover paint but this Shouldn't be happening after only a few uses! I have contacted Charbroil and will follow up with this review after I see what they want to do about it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
From Charbroil09/16/2014
We're very sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want you to enjoy using your grill. Whenever an issue is encountered please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be able to best assist.Charbroil
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Very helpful

05/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It holds heat very well. Don't have to stay right on top of it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Great Smoker Grill!

04/18/2014
By ,
Waxahachie, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1280 sq " very large. Will hold 3-4 briskets on long grill. Follow directions and don't loose parts. There are exactly the parts needed in the box, no extras! When 'seasoning' the grill first 2-3 times, be careful not to build too hot a fire. about 15 charcoal briquets and let them turn grey before adding wood chips to season insides. Should cook for 4-6 hours, 2-3 times before cooking food. I used Crisco spray oil each time on inside. No bubbling or chipping of paint. (Don't know what they are talking about.) Yes smoke comes out everywhere, it's a SMOKER! Not a big deal. Was able to maintain 250f temp on 2nd seasoning by adding 2 briquets and 1 chip each 30 minutes. Kept it going for 5-6 hours each time. Keep temp under 450f at all times.
Con: Temp gauge is cheap. Go to Lowe's or Home Depot and buy a $9 'real' gauge like Char-Broil #361423 plus a 2-2.5" fender washer and replace the Warm-Good-Hot gauge because it is not accurate! [Can't upload pics - web won't let me]
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LA (the state)
Excellent Review!
Posted 09/03/2014
To Mrfixit01: Just purchased one of these charcoal grill/smokers. Thanks for all of the helpful hints and the additional information on how to season the grill as well as improve upon it. I only wish you had been able to load your pictures like some of the other reviews have done. I would really have like to have seen your finish product. Again, thanks for all the tips. Appreciate you taking the time and making the efforts to share them with us! Very useful. Regards, Soaring Eagle
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

First Smoker

05/08/2013
By ,
Fulton, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smoker. After hearing all the stories from my buddies at work, I had to try smoking food. After looking at reviews from different retail stores, I chose this offset smoker at Walmart. It was fairly easy to put it together, I did it myself in about 45 minutes to an hour. I seasoned the smoker first by rubbing the inside of the smoker with Canola oil, and then stoked it up I smoked baby back ribs that same weekend and they were absolutely amazing. The outside of the firebox bubbled and the paint blistered when I seasoned it and you will smell paint burning. Get yourself a can of high heat paint to touch it up. From what I read and see, it happens to all of them. Smoker seems to hold the heat well. There are modifications you can make to help alleviate smoke/heat loss. Youtube has plenty of videos to help with cooking and mods. Definitly worth the money. If you are thinking about getting into smoking, go for it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

So-So!

09/20/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not bad, but not really suited for smoking, or grilling. The metal is not the stout metal you get with smokers. Due to the thin metal it's necessary to line the bottom of the barrels with a couple of layers of heavy duty tin foil. If you don't line the bottom the charcoal drops through the gates and can cause enough heat to bubble the paint. It is nice for grilling due to the nice surface area. The rack can be adjusted to three different heights. Smoking is a hit or miss if you've never done it before. It has too many gaps and leaks like a sieve. The temp gauge is a joke. It reads something like this: Sort of hot, Ideal and charcoal hot. Luckily you can get a replacement (universal) temp probe. You'll need a 3/4 drill bit. Luckily the metal is thin and you can pop a hole in it to put the gauge. For those that are new to smoking-locate the new gauge as close to the surface area of the racks (but not close enough for it to touch rack) If this was a top end smoker you wouldn't even be able to shoot a hole in it. Had a real smoke that had a temp gauge located in a bad area, Apparently the people that build these have no clue on how to smoke meat) I've smoked ribs and they turned out okay, but did not turn out as well as they should have due to the leaks. You lose a lot of heat and smoke!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

ok....

11/18/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The grill was fairly easy to put together and it has a lot of room for cooking for a large family. The grill does have a great adjustable rack to help with cooking things to the right temp. These things are why it has stars. The first time we used the grill the bottom rack bent under the heat of the coals.... and the entire bottom of the drum is now missing all of its paint from the heat as well. The grill racks have not cleaned as easily as we would have liked, and we have yet to use the smoker. Functionality of the grill works, but quality stinks
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Lot's of Space

07/11/2014
By ,
Cheboygan,Mi.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love,Love,Love all the space. Hold's heat very well.And I'm seem to almost use all the space all the time.Love to grill and this grill keep's me from having to use 2 grill's. I just wish I understood why after 2 month's my fire rack is getting all deformed like. It's like it is warping or something. Gonna have to find a new one pretty soon.But other than that I love to use my grill at least every other day.Unless it rain's.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

If I could do it...... ect.....

04/09/2013
By ,
Owensboro, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT smoker!!!!! I am a TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury) survivor, and I put it together myself :). I read directions step by step, and one thing a lot of ppl don't know about, is to "brush all interior surfaces, including grills and grates with vegetable cooking oil" then build a small fire on the fire grate" and lighting it and letting "burn" for "2 hrs, the longer the better". Common for you to do this for any new smoker/grill with a painted surface. It helps protect the inside/outside from rusting. I did as directed (didn't want to wait to smoke, but hey......) and have smoked in it 4 times, no rust ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

out door cooker/smoker

04/09/2014
By ,
Mineola, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We found it on Welmart's on line thing, and ordered it. The product came as Walmart's timing and all, then the guys put it together for us, help deliver it to our truck. Just wonderful. It's sound, strong, and we've started using it, even ordering a cover from it from Char-Broil.
Walmart treated us great and really appreciate it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

We love this smoker!

01/22/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great big cookspace, and very versatile for the money. ONE TIP: Drill a few small holes in the bottom of the fire box to allow moisture from wood chips to drain. Otherwise, the fire box will rust out. This is our second grill, because we did not do this previously.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

great for the price

11/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I dont think you can find a better smoker in this price range.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

fire box very weak for heat wont last long

06/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the material used for the fire box is very weak and wont last long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From Charbroil06/12/2014
We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and always want to make sure that you are able to take advantage of all that your offset smoker has to offer. Has a case been created with us? Please give us a call. Our phone number is 1-800-241-7548 and our knowledgeable grill service specialists are more than happy to best assist.Charbroil
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Not a bad smoker for the money

01/17/2013
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You get what you pay for. If your a weekend smoker/griller it's not bad for the money. You will end up making some modifactions IE drilling drain hole in fire box. Also get some firetape to fill the gaps between the top and bottom of the firebox. I cut the grate for the firebox since when I smoke I don't charcoal only wood gives me more room in firebox. Happy smoking to everyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Great smoker

03/15/2013
By ,
Palmdale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves this smoker, although, the metal is thin, the first time we used it, the paint came off on the hot spots, it says you can grill in it, but it's better as a smoker. Bue all around we really love it and do recommend it to buy, you will be very happy with it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ridgeville
offset smoker
Posted 06/08/2013
purchased smoker has 3 holes in bottom . one is for grease cup why does it have 2 more? need to know if this is suppose to be there or are we missing a part?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Good Backyard Grill, needs fine tuning

04/17/2013
By ,
St. Louis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good smoker for the backyard, but I would say better in the hands of an experienced BBQ-er'.
It has some faults: It leaks smoke all around, the firebox is not air tight so hard to control temp, and the biggest issue is controlling heat to the grill. What I mean is, there is no damper between the firebox and the grill section, just a big opening. So the tempature in your grill will depend only on the size of your fire, there is really no way to regulate it. I plan on cutting a piece of steel and fabricating a damper for this issue. I also installed two temp gauges on each end of the grill that read actual degrees. Factory gauge reads (cool, ideal, hot)??. With all these little issues, it actually worked really well for my first cook - did two racks of ribs and were excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Great smoker for the price

10/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good, durable smoker, worth the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

nice pit but sorry shipping

02/20/2013
By ,
dayton, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
overall this is a nice pit for home bbqing. how ever the shipping was very lousy... the box arrived looking like it had been in a train wreck... the hardware packet was open and some of the screws were missing. there were numerous dents and dings on the various metal parts.. while i would recommend this pit i would say to pick it up at the store instead of having it shipped to your home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

ok smoker

09/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just what I expected after reading reviews. Good product for the money. Had to beat and pry like doing body work. It gets beat up in the shipping. Charbroil badge broken would like to get a replacement. Built cheap. You get what you pay for. But it turned out some good ribs. If you could get one right off the manufacturer line before it got handled you would have something . would only recommend if you are mechanical inclined.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1 2 3 Next