Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Char-Broil Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Char-Broil Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Enjoy cooking as much food as your heart desires with the Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker. It features 1,280 total square inches of cooking surface so you can smoke multiple large cuts of meat at a time. The Char-Broil Offset smoker features multiple dampers for natural heat and smoke control and a humidity gauge to monitor the cooking temperature. Other features of the American Gourmet smoker include a front shelf and built-in bottle opener. The Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker is ideal for cookouts with the family or a community event.
Average Customer Rating:
4.324 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%62 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 91 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Good smoker for the money!

12/23/2012
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this smoker as an early Christmas gift for my son. He LOVES it! He cooked some pork for BBQ, a brisket and some chicken the first time he used it. This unit has some serious room in it. Everyone raved about how good everything was. He was proud to show off his new smoker. I believe he would recommend this for the novice or experienced griller.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Really large cooking area!

07/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value, easy to assemble, need to mod it a bit (better thermometers, baffles, exhaust changes) to really get it working great but a good starting point for a large smoker. In my first go, I smoked 5 racks of ribs, 2 chickens, a large pork shoulder and 16 - 20 sausages. Not the most durable smokers out there - season the smoker per the directions and I would buy a cover to help prolong the life of it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Very helpful

05/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It holds heat very well. Don't have to stay right on top of it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Great Smoker Grill!

04/18/2014
By ,
Waxahachie, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1280 sq " very large. Will hold 3-4 briskets on long grill. Follow directions and don't loose parts. There are exactly the parts needed in the box, no extras! When 'seasoning' the grill first 2-3 times, be careful not to build too hot a fire. about 15 charcoal briquets and let them turn grey before adding wood chips to season insides. Should cook for 4-6 hours, 2-3 times before cooking food. I used Crisco spray oil each time on inside. No bubbling or chipping of paint. (Don't know what they are talking about.) Yes smoke comes out everywhere, it's a SMOKER! Not a big deal. Was able to maintain 250f temp on 2nd seasoning by adding 2 briquets and 1 chip each 30 minutes. Kept it going for 5-6 hours each time. Keep temp under 450f at all times.
Con: Temp gauge is cheap. Go to Lowe's or Home Depot and buy a $9 'real' gauge like Char-Broil #361423 plus a 2-2.5" fender washer and replace the Warm-Good-Hot gauge because it is not accurate! [Can't upload pics - web won't let me]
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

First Smoker

05/08/2013
By ,
Fulton, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smoker. After hearing all the stories from my buddies at work, I had to try smoking food. After looking at reviews from different retail stores, I chose this offset smoker at Walmart. It was fairly easy to put it together, I did it myself in about 45 minutes to an hour. I seasoned the smoker first by rubbing the inside of the smoker with Canola oil, and then stoked it up I smoked baby back ribs that same weekend and they were absolutely amazing. The outside of the firebox bubbled and the paint blistered when I seasoned it and you will smell paint burning. Get yourself a can of high heat paint to touch it up. From what I read and see, it happens to all of them. Smoker seems to hold the heat well. There are modifications you can make to help alleviate smoke/heat loss. Youtube has plenty of videos to help with cooking and mods. Definitly worth the money. If you are thinking about getting into smoking, go for it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Lot's of Space

07/11/2014
By ,
Cheboygan,Mi.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love,Love,Love all the space. Hold's heat very well.And I'm seem to almost use all the space all the time.Love to grill and this grill keep's me from having to use 2 grill's. I just wish I understood why after 2 month's my fire rack is getting all deformed like. It's like it is warping or something. Gonna have to find a new one pretty soon.But other than that I love to use my grill at least every other day.Unless it rain's.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

out door cooker/smoker

04/09/2014
By ,
Mineola, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We found it on Welmart's on line thing, and ordered it. The product came as Walmart's timing and all, then the guys put it together for us, help deliver it to our truck. Just wonderful. It's sound, strong, and we've started using it, even ordering a cover from it from Char-Broil.
Walmart treated us great and really appreciate it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Good smoker overall

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, this can be assembled by one person, but much easier with two (as recommended). Two issues with this: 1)Fire box had water in it after a rain. Drilled hole for drainage; 2)Paint on the bottom of the fire box lasted less than two uses. As with all of my grills and smokers, I anticipated this and have grill paint on hand in order to repaint to make the grill/smoker last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

fire box very weak for heat wont last long

06/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the material used for the fire box is very weak and wont last long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From Charbroil06/12/2014
We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and always want to make sure that you are able to take advantage of all that your offset smoker has to offer. Has a case been created with us? Please give us a call. Our phone number is 1-800-241-7548 and our knowledgeable grill service specialists are more than happy to best assist.Charbroil
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

If I could do it...... ect.....

04/09/2013
By ,
Owensboro, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT smoker!!!!! I am a TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury) survivor, and I put it together myself :). I read directions step by step, and one thing a lot of ppl don't know about, is to "brush all interior surfaces, including grills and grates with vegetable cooking oil" then build a small fire on the fire grate" and lighting it and letting "burn" for "2 hrs, the longer the better". Common for you to do this for any new smoker/grill with a painted surface. It helps protect the inside/outside from rusting. I did as directed (didn't want to wait to smoke, but hey......) and have smoked in it 4 times, no rust ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

We love this smoker!

01/22/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great big cookspace, and very versatile for the money. ONE TIP: Drill a few small holes in the bottom of the fire box to allow moisture from wood chips to drain. Otherwise, the fire box will rust out. This is our second grill, because we did not do this previously.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Not a bad smoker for the money

01/17/2013
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You get what you pay for. If your a weekend smoker/griller it's not bad for the money. You will end up making some modifactions IE drilling drain hole in fire box. Also get some firetape to fill the gaps between the top and bottom of the firebox. I cut the grate for the firebox since when I smoke I don't charcoal only wood gives me more room in firebox. Happy smoking to everyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Great smoker for the price!

06/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have all ready smoked a 12 lb. Boston Butt, 8 lb. Beef Brisket on this grill...first time at smoking foods. However, a little research and all turned out excellent! This smoker was easy to assemble, and easy to operate. I do suggest a little better temperature gauge with numerical readings.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

The Best!!!

05/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best purchase I made for my husband. Also, this is not a paid advertisement. I bought it for Father's day 2 yrs ago. There was no problem putting it together. All parts were there. No burn outs with the use. Lots of grilling fun. We used it during the spring, summer, fall and winter season (Ohio). Yes, it was snowing some days. It is a great grill. Loved it! Now since my husband enjoyed it so much. I will be buying one this year for my nephew. Who also enjoys grilling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

great grill, smoker part is ok

04/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First this is the one of the best grills to purchase. I went from a square grill to this one and the difference is amazing. I use less charcoal, i only use about a fourth of the space for charcoal at one time, 5 x 7 sq briquettes and about 2 layers thick. This allows you to cook directly over the flame and then move to top rack to finish cooking. I have cooked for several large gatherings and this grill always performed well, covering about half of the charcoal area a couple of briquettes thick, watching the air flow keeps the temp near perfect. I cooked about 50 hamburgers, 20 hot dogs and 20 brats easily. The side smoker can be used a small grill which is perfect for steaks, and allowing the rest of the grill for baked potatoes or what ever you choose.
Second, as a smoker, its not as good, yes it does smoke and does a decent job but you have to watch it. The metal is not as heavy and the rule of a smoker is low and slow, so i only use a small fire and feed it often to keep the fire low and in the low area of the ideal section on the thermometer. With patience and a warm day, i have smoked some tender ribs and chicken and often get asked when im going to have some more ribs!
Follow the seasoning directions and not overheating, this grill will last a long time. This grill will make you look like a pro at your next gathering.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Good smoker

04/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Paint burned off side fire box upon first use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From Charbroil05/07/2014
We're sorry to hear of the paint issue. Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be more than happy to look into this.Charbroil
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Good Backyard Grill, needs fine tuning

04/17/2013
By ,
St. Louis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good smoker for the backyard, but I would say better in the hands of an experienced BBQ-er'.
It has some faults: It leaks smoke all around, the firebox is not air tight so hard to control temp, and the biggest issue is controlling heat to the grill. What I mean is, there is no damper between the firebox and the grill section, just a big opening. So the tempature in your grill will depend only on the size of your fire, there is really no way to regulate it. I plan on cutting a piece of steel and fabricating a damper for this issue. I also installed two temp gauges on each end of the grill that read actual degrees. Factory gauge reads (cool, ideal, hot)??. With all these little issues, it actually worked really well for my first cook - did two racks of ribs and were excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Great smoker

03/15/2013
By ,
Palmdale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves this smoker, although, the metal is thin, the first time we used it, the paint came off on the hot spots, it says you can grill in it, but it's better as a smoker. Bue all around we really love it and do recommend it to buy, you will be very happy with it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ridgeville
offset smoker
Posted 06/08/2013
purchased smoker has 3 holes in bottom . one is for grease cup why does it have 2 more? need to know if this is suppose to be there or are we missing a part?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

It is what it is

04/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy unless you have money to waste. Spend the extra $125.00 and buy the Oklahoma Brand!! We will be lucky to get one season out of this grill. VERY POOR QUALITY MATERIALS!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From Charbroil04/30/2014
We're sorry to hear of the issues encountered. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want to get you back up and grilling. Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and one of our knowledgeable grill service specialists will be more than happy to best assist.Charbroil
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Waxahachie, TX
Not sure what problem is!
Posted 04/29/2014
The same size Ok smoker is $428. The smaller one is $268! I have fired mine up 5 times since buying it. Followed directions as I posted above and have had 0 problems. For the money it is a nice smoker and most other (93%) people agree. It cooks well, looks good, had no problems assembling it. Not sure what your problem is or what you expected. Sorry for your issues. Perhaps you should speak to the store manager?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Easy Smoker to use

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My smoker came on time and is very easy to use. I use it almost every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next