Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Char-Broil Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Char-Broil Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Enjoy cooking as much food as your heart desires with the Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker. It features 1,280 total square inches of cooking surface so you can smoke multiple large cuts of meat at a time. The Char-Broil Offset smoker features multiple dampers for natural heat and smoke control and a humidity gauge to monitor the cooking temperature. Other features of the American Gourmet smoker include a front shelf and built-in bottle opener. The Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker is ideal for cookouts with the family or a community event.
Average Customer Rating:
4.436 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation95%37 out of 39reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 72 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Good smoker for the money!

12/23/2012
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this smoker as an early Christmas gift for my son. He LOVES it! He cooked some pork for BBQ, a brisket and some chicken the first time he used it. This unit has some serious room in it. Everyone raved about how good everything was. He was proud to show off his new smoker. I believe he would recommend this for the novice or experienced griller.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

First Smoker

05/08/2013
By ,
Fulton, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smoker. After hearing all the stories from my buddies at work, I had to try smoking food. After looking at reviews from different retail stores, I chose this offset smoker at Walmart. It was fairly easy to put it together, I did it myself in about 45 minutes to an hour. I seasoned the smoker first by rubbing the inside of the smoker with Canola oil, and then stoked it up I smoked baby back ribs that same weekend and they were absolutely amazing. The outside of the firebox bubbled and the paint blistered when I seasoned it and you will smell paint burning. Get yourself a can of high heat paint to touch it up. From what I read and see, it happens to all of them. Smoker seems to hold the heat well. There are modifications you can make to help alleviate smoke/heat loss. Youtube has plenty of videos to help with cooking and mods. Definitly worth the money. If you are thinking about getting into smoking, go for it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

out door cooker/smoker

04/09/2014
By ,
Mineola, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We found it on Welmart's on line thing, and ordered it. The product came as Walmart's timing and all, then the guys put it together for us, help deliver it to our truck. Just wonderful. It's sound, strong, and we've started using it, even ordering a cover from it from Char-Broil.
Walmart treated us great and really appreciate it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Not too impressed

04/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not too happy that the grill came welded in a corner inside and also is dented on the outside of the grill where it had been welded! The grates do not fit properly inside the grill and they always fall inside where the charcoal is! The top rack is bent and slanted down towards the grates
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Easy Smoker to use

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My smoker came on time and is very easy to use. I use it almost every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

If I could do it...... ect.....

04/09/2013
By ,
Owensboro, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT smoker!!!!! I am a TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury) survivor, and I put it together myself :). I read directions step by step, and one thing a lot of ppl don't know about, is to "brush all interior surfaces, including grills and grates with vegetable cooking oil" then build a small fire on the fire grate" and lighting it and letting "burn" for "2 hrs, the longer the better". Common for you to do this for any new smoker/grill with a painted surface. It helps protect the inside/outside from rusting. I did as directed (didn't want to wait to smoke, but hey......) and have smoked in it 4 times, no rust ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

We love this smoker!

01/22/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great big cookspace, and very versatile for the money. ONE TIP: Drill a few small holes in the bottom of the fire box to allow moisture from wood chips to drain. Otherwise, the fire box will rust out. This is our second grill, because we did not do this previously.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Not a bad smoker for the money

01/17/2013
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You get what you pay for. If your a weekend smoker/griller it's not bad for the money. You will end up making some modifactions IE drilling drain hole in fire box. Also get some firetape to fill the gaps between the top and bottom of the firebox. I cut the grate for the firebox since when I smoke I don't charcoal only wood gives me more room in firebox. Happy smoking to everyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Nice

12/26/2013
By ,
Dallas, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Paint chips but overall good for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

It's ok

12/04/2013
By ,
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lots of space for lots of meat. Alot of smoke escapes, paint peels. Have to make some small modifications. When I got it from the store it was already assembled which can be a good thing for some people but made it harder to transport. It smokes food and for the price I can't complain too much. Got it for more of a starter smoker than anything else. Cooked spare ribs on it they turned out fine. More my fault than smoker. The Brats were great though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Good Backyard Grill, needs fine tuning

04/17/2013
By ,
St. Louis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good smoker for the backyard, but I would say better in the hands of an experienced BBQ-er'.
It has some faults: It leaks smoke all around, the firebox is not air tight so hard to control temp, and the biggest issue is controlling heat to the grill. What I mean is, there is no damper between the firebox and the grill section, just a big opening. So the tempature in your grill will depend only on the size of your fire, there is really no way to regulate it. I plan on cutting a piece of steel and fabricating a damper for this issue. I also installed two temp gauges on each end of the grill that read actual degrees. Factory gauge reads (cool, ideal, hot)??. With all these little issues, it actually worked really well for my first cook - did two racks of ribs and were excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Great smoker

03/15/2013
By ,
Palmdale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves this smoker, although, the metal is thin, the first time we used it, the paint came off on the hot spots, it says you can grill in it, but it's better as a smoker. Bue all around we really love it and do recommend it to buy, you will be very happy with it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ridgeville
offset smoker
Posted 06/08/2013
purchased smoker has 3 holes in bottom . one is for grease cup why does it have 2 more? need to know if this is suppose to be there or are we missing a part?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

OMG!!

05/05/2013
By ,
Godley,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this smoker on 5/3/13 and I seasoned it the way that was called for and just today I smoked beef back ribs my very first ribs ever!! and they came out perfect. I could not be happier with my smoker. I plan on cooking a brisket this Memorial day and I know it will be great!!! Oh and by the way I put it together by myself except for the fire box. I needed help.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

More Smoker for the money

05/31/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembly was straight forward and well diagrammed only 2 screws were missing from the hardware pack and were something you could pick up anywhere.
The only issue to watch out for is the charcoal grate in the main drum of the smoker.
If the charcoal gets too hot it can bow or warp.
The cooking / smoking grid was so big that you might be able to do a whole pig or several briskets at the same time and if you are using it to cook burgers and dogs it will defiantly take care of large family reunions or hungry cub and boy scouts.
Product is an incredible value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Very nice smoker

02/11/2014
By ,
Chatt TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price it exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

nice pit but sorry shipping

02/20/2013
By ,
dayton, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
overall this is a nice pit for home bbqing. how ever the shipping was very lousy... the box arrived looking like it had been in a train wreck... the hardware packet was open and some of the screws were missing. there were numerous dents and dings on the various metal parts.. while i would recommend this pit i would say to pick it up at the store instead of having it shipped to your home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker
09/02/2013
By ,
oklahoma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Metal is too thin on firebox.Just purchased a week ago. Directions to assemble easy to follow. Followed Directions to cure before use, still had paint to peel, on outside from the heat, especially on firebox. Do not think will last long do to the thin metal.Would not purchase again would opt to spend more for a better quality that would last, But since have used once am stuck.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
From Charbroil10/30/2013
We're sorry to hear of the issues encountered with your offset smoker. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and definitely want to make sure that you are able to take advantage of everything this offset smoker has to offer. Paint peeling can sometimes occur from high temperatures. Has a case been created with us? If not, please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be able to further assist.Charbroil
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker
03/16/2013
By ,
Pacific City, Ore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this smoker and they shipped it to my door in 6 days in great condition. It doesn't take 2 people to put it together as suggested, I put it together in an hour by myself. It has great step by step instructions and was all there when it arrived. I start my fire with charcoal and then put wood on that and continue with wood throughout the smoking process. It smokes meat wonderfully and there is an awesome amount of room. This is a wonderful smoker at a great price.Thank you Wal-mart
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

It works just fine

08/20/2013
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It isn't professional grade so don't expect it. A backyard smoke enthusiast or a part time griller will enjoy it perfectly. It went together well if you followed the directions. Season it well (we did) and I am sure you will get years of use out of it with care. For the money, it seems to be the highest quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Deluxe Offset Smoker

Best gift ever

08/30/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The best gift I ever got for myself was for my husbands birthday! I bought him this smoker and haven't had to cook a meal since lol!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next